Maj. John D. Adams, of Little Rock, stands out in striking characteristics as a son of the Southwest, distinguished for business talent and integrity of purpose. He was born in Dixon County, Tenn., June 23, 1827. His father, Hon. Samuel Adams, who was a native of Halifax County, Va., and born in 1805, afterward became a State senator, president of the senate, and, for a time, Governor of the State of Arkansas. In 1824 he married Miss Rebecca May, a native of Dixon County, Tenn., born in 1807, and a daughter of John W. May, who served as the captain of a company under Gen. Jackson, and was wounded in the Battle of New Orleans. In the spring of 1835 they emigrated to Johnson County, Ark., where the mother died in 1840. The father continued to reside in Johnson County until 1846, when he was elected treasurer of the State of Arkansas, and removed to Little Rock, where he made his home until the time of his death, the sad event occurring in February, 1850. To their union were born five sons and one daughter, (who is also the eldest of the family) and Martha Izabella (now the wife of Dr. D. S. Mills, of Pine Bluff, Ark.) are living. John D. Adams was reared a farmer boy in Johnson County, Ark. His father being a man of superior abilities gave his children the advantages of a practical education, considering this one of the best legacies to leave them, and trained his children in the school of virtue and industry. In 1846, when but a lad of eighteen years of age, John D. Adams volunteered for the Mexican War, joining Company C, commanded by Capt. George W. Patrick, in Yell's mounted regiment, and at the expiration of his term of enlistment was honorably discharged at Comargo, on the Rio Grande. His captain, in speaking of him, says: "John D. Adams was a noble boy, a gallant soldier, and as true and noble a young man as I ever knew. He was my orderly sergeant, and was so faithful, so competent, and so clever to all that every man in the company loved him. In the battle of Buena Vista, he was struck on the arm by a ball that did not penetrate his thick coat sleeve, but so bruised the flesh as to make a painful wound, the flesh sloughing and leaving a large permanent scar. In Memphis, twenty-two years later, on my return from California, I again met him and requested to see the wounded arm. He drew off his coat, rolled up his sleeve, and there I saw the scar as large and distinct as it was on his first recovery; and I found more, that prosperity and distinction had not changed the heart of my young friend. He is not only a noble, true and splendid business man, but a wise one - a useful man in every sense of the word." Such a tribute from his old neighbor and commander, thirty-five years after their military service, coming, too, from one not unknown to fame, and of varied public service, is one of which any man may justly feel proud. Maj. Adams was private secretary to Gov. Thomas S. Drew from 1847 to the end of his term in 1850, and this worthy old Arkansan always spoke in terms of highest praise of Maj. Adams as a man of noble, generous heart, open-hearted and sympathizing, and as useful a man as ever did business in Arkansas. But in writing a biography of Maj. Adams we could not do better or state the case more accurately than by giving the eulogy paid him by his intimate friend, Gen. Albert Pike, who says: "I have known John D. Adams from his boyhood. He served a year in a regiment of Col. Archibald Yell on the march to and in Mexico, being at the battle of Buena Vista, and returning to Arkansas when his term of enlistment expired. There, as has always been the case, he was liked by every one for his unvarying good-humor, his readiness to do a favor, and his unstinted generosity. Afterward he was for many years a merchant in Little Rock, dealing in general merchandise. He married and built a house at Little Rock, where he resided for a period of several years before the war broke out between the States. Not successful as a merchant, he engaged in steamboating, owner by himself, and in partnership with Thompson Dean, of Cincinnati, during many years, of boats running on the Arkansas River and from Memphis to Little Rock, and Fort Smith and New Orleans, in which he displayed large business capacity, promptness and decision in action, great enterprise, courage and perseverance in surmounting obstacles and overcoming difficulties. When the State of Arkansas seceded, an attempt was made in the convention to confiscate the interests of Mr. Dean in their boats running on the Arkansas River, but the influence and popularity of Mr. Adams defeated the attempt. The march of events put an end to his steamboat enterprises, but he had in the meantime become a planter of cotton, and continued to be so during the war. His Personal attention to this being only occasionally needed, he entered the service of the Confederate States and was chief quarter-master under Gens. Hindman and Holmers, with the rank of major, continuing in service until the close of the war, and proving himself to be an active, energetic, spirited and faithful officer. Such was his faith in the cause and his devotion to it, that almost at its close he invested the proceeds of his cotton in bonds in the Confederate States; but when the cause was lost and he ruined by it, he accepted the result with unflinching courage and indomitable good-humor. After the war he established the commission house of Dean, Adams & Goff, at New Orleans, making advances on and selling cotton, and again established a line of boats from Memphis to Little Rock and Fort Smith. Since then he has been fiscal agent of the State of Arkansas, proprietor of the Arkansas Gazette, and a large contractor for many years for carrying mails. Meeting with reverses at different periods, he has always recovered from them quietly. He now devotes himself chiefly to his business of mail contractor, managing his steamboat interests and cotton planting. He is prosperous, fortunate in his family, owning a beautiful residence in Little Rock and dispensing a lavish hospitality, always foremost in the support of all measures and enterprises for the benefit of his city or State, with ever open hand and ever generous heart. One sees at a glance, by his erect, portly figure, frank, open countenance and hearty laugh, that he is one who does not permit the cares and vexations of life to harass and annoy him. Few men have displayed such resources as he under difficulties and embarrassments. His perfect integrity, honesty, truth and honor, have always been his best friends and enabled him to arise to his feet when prostrated by misfortune, under the pressure of which others would have remained prostrate for life. His intellect is clear and alert, always enabling him to say and so that which is most to the purpose, and surest to lead to success." During his residence here, Maj. Adams has done as much as any other citizen toward the advancement of Arkansas, but being of a modest, unassuming disposition, he has shunned rather than sought public office. A descendant of those sturdy northern races of England, Scotland and Ireland, he has inherited all the traits of character and sterling integrity, the attributes of those people. He is in every respect a self-made man, having begun at the bottom of the ladder and climbed steadily upward. At times, beset by adversity which threatened to hurl him to the bottom of the chasm, his indomitable will which refused to bow to adverse circumstances has carried him safely through. There is no greater please in life than to look back over a past usefully employed, and be able to trace our progress in such tokens as awaken nought be admiration and esteem. Such enjoyment is afforded in its fullest measure to Maj. Adams, and his eminently successful career in life is a wholesome example to the youth of the rising generation, for it shows how certain he who, crying "Excelsior," and pressing manfully forward, will surely reap the reward. Maj. Adams was united in marriage with Miss Catherine Yeiser, a daughter of Dr. Daniel Yeiser, of Danville, Ky., and born in March, 1828. They were married at Little Rock, the beautiful wedding service of the Episcopal Church being performed May 2, 1848. The results of this union have been four sons and one daughter, of whom but two still survive, as follows: Samuel B. Adams (member of the firm of Adams & Boyle, of Little Rock) and Dean Adams (secretary and manager of the Pulaski Gas Light Company). Maj. Adams and his estimable wife, as is also their son, Samuel, are respected members of the Episcopal Church, in which Maj. Adams and his son officiate as vestrymen, and of which organization Samuel is treasurer. They now reside in Little Rock, where they have a pleasant home, surrounded by the comforts of life, and enjoy in the sunset of their age the fruits of their early labors. In closing, Gen. Pike says: "He is withal a true and generous friend, a most kind and genial man of right royal nature, large hearted and forgiving, in nothing bigoted or narrow or vainglorious. The State of Arkansas may well feel proud of him, and it will be a sad day for many when his kindly, generous heart shall cease to beat."
Mrs. Marie Archer, of Little Rock, an estimable and much respected lady owes her nativity to Berlin, Prussia, where her birth occurred on November 18, 1858, she being the daughter of Theodore and Emily (Echert) Strauss. The father was born in Berlin, in 1820, but attained his growth elsewhere in the Kingdom. He was an expert bookkeeper, and was in the lumber business from early manhood in Berlin. He was married in that city by a famous Lutheran minister named Strauss, and to his union were born four children, three sons and one daughter, of whom our subject is the youngest. The children were all born in Berlin and are names as follows: Waldemar, Albert, Paul (who died when a child) and Marie. The family moved to England when Mrs. Archer was a child, and her father embarked in the commission business in London for about two years, after which he emigrated to America, leaving his family in London in order to educate the sons at Cambridge and Oxford Colleges, from which they have diplomas. Theodore Strauss had to leave Prussia during the Revolution, as he was a Republican and opposed to the Crown. He came direct from London to St. Louis, Mo., and there engaged in his old business, first as lumber dealer and afterward as lumber inspector for the city. His wife followed to America at the close of the war, and there lived many years. Leaving St. Louis, Theodore Strauss went to Malvern, Ark., where he joined his sons in the lumber business, and there died in 1888. The mother, Emily Eckert, was born in Berlin about 1824, is still living and resides at Little Rock with her daughter, Mrs. Archer. Mrs. Marie Archer was married in St. Louis, Mo., in 1873, to William B. Archer, and three children were the fruits of this union: Wallie B., Cora E. and Elsie M. Mrs. Archer came to Little Rock in July, 1889, and engaged in keeping a private boarding house, in which business she has continued with successful and popular results. She is a member of the Presbyterian Church. The maternal grandfather was a Prussian veteran, fought in the battle of Waterloo as a lieutenant, and received the Iron Cross. On the Eckert side the family belong to the nobility, and have in their possession a coat of arms.
W. E. Atkinson, attorney general of Arkansas, was born in Shelby County, Ala., on Jul 24, 1852, and is a son of W. W. and Barbara (Drake) Atkinson, natives of the same State. The father was a prosperous farmer in Alabama before the war, and during that event, a strong sympathizer with the Confederacy. Both parents are now residing at Falcon, in Nevada County, Ark., where the father is engaged in planting and commercial life. Five children were born to their marriage, all of whom are living and are residents of Arkansas. William E., the principal of this sketch, was reared in Arkansas, having come to this State when only five years old, received his education at the public and high schools of Arkansas, and also at the Falcon Academy. When nineteen years of age, he entered the law department of the Washington & Lee University at Lexington, Va., under Judge Brookenbrough and J. Randolph Tucker. Mr. Atkinson graduated from this institution, in the class of 1872, and located at Rosston, in Nevada County (then, the county seat), remaining there until 1877. Then removing to Prescott, he first formed a partnership with Col. Ed A. Warren, now editor of the Texarkana Democrat. He was subsequently a partner of Mr. T. E. Webber, the present prosecuting attorney of the Seventh judicial district, and later with Mr. W. V. Thomkins. At the present time he is in partnership with Messrs. W. V. Tompkins and M. W. Greeson, the firm being Atkinson, Tompkins & Greeson. In politics Mr. Atkinson has always voted the Democratic ticket, and has served as justice of the peace of Caney Township, in Nevada County, and also as mayor of Prescott for one term. In the summer of 1888, he was a candidate before the Democratic primaries for attorney general, and during the canvass had but one opponent, who, however withdrew before the primaries, and at the convention Mr. Atkinson was nominated by acclamation, and was elected on September 3 by a handsome majority. His first marriage occurred on May 14, 1874, to Miss Hattie Williams, of Falcon, Ark., by whom he had four children, two of them yet living: Sherman H. and Halycone. Mrs. Atkinson died January 24, 1883, and Mr. Atkinson's second marriage occurred on December 24, 1884, to Miss Lillie Williams, a sister of his first wife, by whom he had two children, one of whom, Willie W., still lives. Mr. and Mrs. Atkinson are both members of the First Baptist Church, and in secret societies the former belongs to Capitol Lodge No. 49, Knights of Pythius, at Little Rock.
Thomas W. Baird, manufacturers' agent, Little Rock, Ark., has been a resident of this city for the past nine years, although his actual residence in the State covers a period of about twelve years. He was born in Boonville, Cooper County Mo., and remained there until ten years of age. His parents were Thomas W. and Mary A. (Carter) Baird, of Erie, Penn., and Danville, Ky., respectively. The former, who was a prominent steamboatman on the Mississippi, Arkansas and Ohio Rivers, died in 1853, while the mother is still living at age of seventy-nine, in Louisville, Ky. When ten years of age, Thomas W. accompanied his parents to the vicinity of Louisville, Ky., where he received a fair English education, and after his father's death, went into the steamboat business. He also had an uncle, Capt. William Baird, whose name was famous on western waters in early days, he being commander of the first iron steam- boat built for traffic in the rivers of that section, the "Valley Forge." After six years of river life, young Baird entered the employ of the Adams' Express Company, where he remained during the Civil War, traveling through Kentucky, Tennessee and Georgia. He next moved to Bowling Green, Ky., and embarked in the hardware business, continuing in the line for ten years, after which he was engaged by the Blymeyer Manufacturing Company of Cincinnati, Ohio, to travel for them, his territory lying through Arkansas, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Tennessee, and in the winter of 1880 he located in Little Rock. Mr. Baird was married on May 7, 1863, to Miss M. P. Huddleston, of St. Louis, by whom he has had three children: Harry P. (with his father in the capacity of shipping clerk), Irene and Mamie. Mr. and Mrs. Baird are both members of the Christ Episcopal Church. In secret orders Mr. Baird has been a life-long Mason.
T. W. Baldwin, one of the most prominent citizens of Argenta, was born in Meggs County, Tenn., but moved to Missouri in 1843. He is a son of James C. and Sarah A. (Underwood) Baldwin, both natives of Tennessee, and of English descent. Mr. Baldwin first came to the State of Arkansas in 1868, and has resided here ever since. He located in Argenta in 1875, and for ten years carried on a live-stock commission business, in which he was very successful. He is now practically retired from active commercial life, but has an interest in one of the largest mercantile houses in Argenta, and owns considerable town property besides his own handsome residence. On December 31, 1863, Mr. Baldwin was married to Miss Sarah R. Parker, of Arkansas, by whom he had one child that died in its third year. They have an adopted daughter, five years old, upon whom they lavish great affection and care, and who promises to become a lady of true worth. Mr. Baldwin is a member of the Royal Arch Chapter, Little Rock Lodge No. 2, and has belonged to Blue Lodge since 1869 besides serving as representative to the Grand Lodge on several occasions. In politics he is a strong Democrat, and a valuable man to his party, his influence in the community having great weight upon any matter in which he takes an interest. He is one of the leading citizens of this section, and manifests a commendable willingness to share in push- ing forward the development of the county; this, added to his generosity and rare personal qualities, rendering him very popular. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and take an interest in all religious and educational matters.
Dr. J. N. Barnett. Few men are better known in Pulaski County or have attained a higher degree of perfection in their profession than has Dr. Barnett. He was born in Alabama in 1834, and is a son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Holingshad) Barnett, of North Carolina and South Carolina, respectively. The Doctor received his education in the City of New Orleans, and also graduated from the University of Louisiana in that city in 1857. He first commenced to practice medicine in Noxubee County, Miss., during the same year, and continued to reside there until 1875, when he moved to Argenta, Ark., where he has been practicing ever since. In 1858 he was married to Miss Anna Boyakin, a talented young lady of Mississippi, by whom he has had three children, and after the loss of his first wife he was married to Miss Louisa Slocum, who has made the Doctor's home one of the most attractive in Argenta. Dr. Barnett is a member of the Masonic order, I. O. O. F. and Knights of Honor. His charitable disposition, unim- peachable character and integrity have made him a valued and popular citizen, and as a professional man his practice at one time was one of the largest in Pulaski County. Of late years, however, he has relinquished not a little on account of failing health, and now enjoys a lucrative office practice, in connection with which he carries a select stock of drugs. During the Civil War he entered the Confederate army, and joined Company C, Wright Invincibles, Fourth Mississippi Regiment, and served for some time. In politics he is a strong Democrat, having first voted for Buchanan.
George L. Basham, attorney at law in Little Rock, was born in Johnson County, Ark., March 23, 1848; and is the son of O. and Martha (Patrick) Basham, natives of Virginia and Alabama, respectively. The former, who was born in 1810 (his wife's birth occurring in 1826) came to Arkansas in 1839, and was in a regiment stationed at Fort Gibson during the Mexican War, serving one year. He was a member of the legislature during the terms of 1851, 1852 and 1853, and was State treasurer in 1861 and 1862. Mr. and Mrs. Basham were the parents of nine children, eight of whom are now living. Entering the Confederate army in 1861, he served until his death, in September, 1864, at the charge of Pilot Knob, Mo. At that time he was a lieutenant-colonel. His widow is still living at the old homestead in Johnson County. George L. attended the subscription schools of his birthplace, and in his sixteenth year entered the Confederate army, enlisting in Capt. Comb's company, Hill's regiment, and participating in the battle at Pilot Knob, being with Price on his last raid. Upon his return he was discharged near Marshall, Tex., May 28, 1865. After the war he resumed his studies, and in 1871 attend- ed St. John's College at Little Rock. He began the study of law under Gallagher & New- ton in the fall of 1872, and was admitted to the bar in the winter of 1878. For one and one-half years Mr. Basham was in partnership with a Mr. Ford, but the latter's death occurred a few years after, and since his death Mr. Basham has practiced alone; and while never having held a political office he has been city and county attorney, and his good judgment, refined and strong speech, would and do win for him approval and admiration from men of keen intelligence. On October 1, 1870, Mr. Basham was marr- ied to Miss Julia P. Beall, daughter of Milton Beall, a descendant of the Mississippi Bealls. Her mother's people were of German extraction. Mr. and Mrs. Basham are the parents of three children: Nuberry L. (almost two years old) and two little girls who died in early childhood. Mr. Basham practices in all the courts, circuit, supreme, chancery and United States courts. He is also engaged in the real-estate business, in which he has been quite successful. Politically he is a Democrat, and is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Himself and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and to all enterprises of an educational, social and religious nature he is a liberal contributor.
A. D. Beach, of the Beach Abstract Company, Little Rock, Ark., owes his nativity to New York State, where his birth occurred in 1849, and in that State he grew to man- hood and received his early education. He followed civil engineering for about ten years on the canals of New York and its various railroads, as well as in the New England States and in Canada, and served one year in the employment of the United States, in preliminary ship canal survey across the Isthmus of Darien. He attended the Centennial Exposition at Philadelphia in the summer of 1876, and came south in 1877, locating in Little Rock, Ark., which change was made for the benefit of his health. Here he has established the Beach Abstract Company, of which he is the business manager. Besides attending to the business of the Abstract Company, after locating in Little Rock Mr. Beach was in the employ of the Iron Mountain, and also the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad, and traveled over this portion of the State, paying taxes for them. In 1881 he wedded Miss Mary Hendree, in Atlanta, Ga., and she has borne her hus- band four children: Virginia H., Lewise B., Edward H. and Alberta D. Mrs. Beach was born in 1855, and after performing the noble duties of wife and mother, she was called away from her young children and husband on January 17, 1889. She was a member of the Episcopal Church. Mr. Beach is the son of Robert and Rhoda (Douglass) Beach; the for- mer was born in Saratoga County, N. Y., and the latter in Onondaga County, of the same State. Robert Beach was a farmer, and died at the age of seventy years. The paternal grandfather of our subject was a native of New York, and became a pioneer settler of that State. He and his two eldest sons were soldiers in the War of 1812. The mother of A. D. Beach is of Scotch descent, and a descendant of the Douglasses of Scotland.
Orvill Bearden, a leading farmer and well-known citizen of Lonoke County, was born in Alabama o June 16, 1823, and is a son of James and Mary (Jones) Bearden, the father a native of Georgia, and born in 1759. He was one of the first settlers of St. Clair County, Ala, and died in that State at the age of one hundred and fifteen years. The mother was born in Virginia about the year 1703, and died in 1873. They were the par- ents of nine children, of whom eight lived to maturity. Orvill was the youngest of this family and was reared in alabama and educated in the public schools of that State. He was married in August, 1845, to Miss Elizabeth Washburn, of the same State, who died in 1865, leaving him five children: One daughter is now a widow; Jane, Sabine (wife of J. M. Morgan), Joseph C. and Amanda (wife of J. M. Hall. He was again married on Sept- ember 23, 1865, his second wife being Mrs. Michette, an attractive widow lady, who bore him one child, Thomas M. Mr. Bearden moved from Alabama to Prairie County, Ark., in 1849, and in 1858 he came to where he now resides. He here owns 320 acres of valuable land, and has placed about 150 acres under cultivation. The land is well adapted for stock raising, and is watered by several natural springs. It is, in fact, some of the finest soil in that section, and has been greatly improved since Mr. Bearden came upon it. In 1862 he enlisted in Company C of the Second Arkansas Mounted Rifles, and served almost through the entire war. In 1864 he was captured at Cassville, Ga., and taken to Rock Island, Ill., where he was confined for about ten months before being paroled. He took part in a great many of the important engagements and minor skirmishes, and bore himself bravely throughout his entire army career. In politics he is a Democrat, and cast his first presidential vote for James K. Polk. Mr. Bearden is a representative citizen, and a popular man with the entire community. His sterling worth and fine character have won for him a host of friends, and his influence is very great, both politically and otherwise.
David Bender, one of the oldest and most respected citizens now living in Little Rock, Ark., was born in Huntingdon County, Penn., in 1809. He remained in his native State until December, 1839, when he concluded to come to Arkansas, and locate land claims on soldiers' patents he had obtained. In this enterprise he was successful, and while traveling over the State at that early day he found the people, the pioneers of Arkansas, as hospitable as any people he had ever met. Soon after getting his land business settled, he engaged as salesman in a dry-goods store in Little Rock, in which capacity he remained until 1843, when he concluded to go into business for himself. With this end in view he paid a visit to New York City, purchased a small stock of goods, and returning, engaged in general mercantile pursuits on his own responsibility. In this as in all his other business Transactions he had for his motto the word "Honesty." He purchased nothing but the best goods, and so well was he liked as a business man, and so rapidly did his business grow, that he soon found himself in possession of a trade, by order or otherwise, from all over the State. At that day a variety of first-class articles was hard to find, and Mr. Bender found himself in constant receipt of orders from professional men, whose trust he never betrayed in price or quality of goods. Many an aged couple, whose grandchildren are now occupying honorable places in Arkansas, will remember Mr. Bender kindly as having furnished them the wedding apparel through the mail when other modes of transportation were tedious and uncertain. Thus his trade grew until he became one of the most flourishing mer- chants in the State. He continued in business with unabated vigor until 1862, when the Civil War forced him to discontinue. He was a Union man in principle, and having traveled over the East and North, knew full well which way the list of arms would determine the cause. Over this question he was by no means silent, but remonstrated strongly with friends and acquaintances. He advocated that "secession would kill slavery." the truth of which prophecy has been fully demonstrated. Mr. Bender enjoyed the perfect confidence of the Confederate soldiers and officers while in charge of Little Rock, and when this city fell into the hands of the Federals he was recommended to the authorities as a stauch Union man, and his advice and council was sought by the men in command. In this situation Mr. Bender was the instrument of many kind deeds to the needy on either side. During the war he lived on a farm close by Little Rock. After that eventful period, his fame as a merchant having reached them, he was induced to enter the wholesale business in Little Rock with Woodruff & Co., of Chicago. This alliance lasted a few years and subsequently Mr. Bender went in with a man by the name of Cole, the style of firm being Cole & Bender. This firm closed by bankruptcy, and Mr. Bender lost many thousands of dollars. He has ever since been dealing in land, and although he sustained some very heavy losses he still owns several thousand acres. Mr. Bender was married in Pennsylvania, the first time to a Miss Elder, and the second time to a Miss Whipple, of Vermont. He has been a native of eastern States many years, and is a strong member of the Presbyterian Church.
Dr. Edwin Bentley, United states army surgeon, Little Rock, ARk. As a leading exponent of general surgery in its many various branches, Dr. Bentley is worthy of mention in a review of the foremost professional man of this locality. He was born in Connecticut in 1850, and holds diplomas from four of the leading medical schools in the city of New York. He is one of the most successful practitioners, and has been prominently connected with the Medical Department of Arkansas University since its beginning or organization. He entered the United States army early in life, and has figured thus far as a surgeon in the employ of the United States. He was prominently identified with some of the most renowned medical colleges of the West, when located principally on the Pacific slope. From there he went to New Orleans, and thence to Little Rock, where he is now residing, and where he is not only held in great respect as a professional man, but is social and genial in all his intercourse with the public.
Dr. J. L. Blakemore, Little Rock, Ark. Dr. Blakemore's career as a practitioner is well and favorably known to the many who have tested his healing ability, and, although young in years, he has been unusually successful, promising a bright outlook for the future. At present he is the second assistant physician of the State asylum at Little Rock, which position he fills in a manner satisfactory to all. He was born in Sebastian County, Ark., in 1862, grew to manhood in that county, and supplemented his common- school education with a course at Emery & Henry College, Virginia, graduating in 1885. Having concluded to pursue the study of medicine, he attended his first course of lectures at Memphis, Tenn., and afterward was a student at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn., from which he graduated in the spring of 1887, being appointed to his present position in July, 1888. He is the son of Dr. William and Nannie (Tramel) Blake- more, the former a native of Tennessee, and a physician of good standing in Greenwood, Ark.
Dr. Thomas P. Blunt, one of the leading physicians in Pulaski County, was born in that county on August 1, 1856, and is a son of William S. and Polly Ann (Lamb) Blunt, the former a native of Maryland, but reared in Bowling Green, Ky., where his parents died when he was a boy. After the decease of his parents he went to reside with an uncle, with whom he remained until attaining his maturity, when he removed to Pulaski County, Ark., where he was married to his first wife, Miss Elizabeth Kirkpatrick, who died in 1850. The following year he was married to Mrs. Eliza Marshall, who died in 1852, and in 1858 he was married to his third wife, Miss Polly Ann Lamb. This lady also died after a happy married life, and he was married a fourth time, his next wife being Mrs. Elizabeth Lee. He resided in Maumelle Township a great many years, and was a millwright during that time, but the declining years of his life were spent in Little Rock, where he died in September, 1880. He was a valued and highly esteemed citizen during his residence in Pulaski County, and built a great number of mills throughout Central Arkansas. The Doctor's mother, who died in August, 1861, was a daughter of Judge David R. Lamb, a native of Tennessee, who was one of the earliest settlers of Pulaski County, where he served as judge of the county court for a number of years. The Doctor was the second child in a family of two sons and one daughter. Though early deprived of his mother by death, his subsequent training was most carefully attended to by his stepmother (Mrs. Elizabeth Lee at the time of her marriage to Mr. Blunt), and the Doctor refers tenderly to her kind and earnest efforts to properly guide him, ascribing to her all the credit for whatever position he has reached in later life. He received a common-school education in his youth and in 1878 began to study medicine in the office of Dr. J. M. Pintle, a well-known physician of Little Rock. Since that time he has practiced with good success, and his name has become a household word in many homes throughout Pulaski County. He was married in 1878 to Lulu, a daughter of John and Mary S. Custer, of Little Rock, Ark., the former a prominent contractor and builder of that city. After a very short married life Mrs. Blunt died, in June, 1870. In 1880 the Doctor met and won Miss Annie Henry, the daughter of George W. and Mary J. (Davis) Henry, of Tennessee, and by this union has had one son and one daughter. After their marriage the Doctor and his wife resided in Little Rock and vicinity until 1889, when he moved to Maumelle Township, where he owns 700 acres of land, in different tracks, and has about 200 acres under cultivation, all of which he has made by his own enter- prise, tact and good judgment. As an illustration of his pluck and determination in overcoming all adverse circumstances, and rising superior to those calamities that would utterly prostrate an ordinary man, it would be well to add that, on his marriage, the Doctor was presented with $500, by his father, as a wedding gift. This was all he ever inherited or received outside of what he made himself, but in 1882 he had increased it to such an extent that the less of his finest farm represented $5,000, which was washed away by the flood in that year. In 1888 his cotton-gin, one of the finest in that section, was devoured by fire; but, despite the misfortune that seemed to follow him, he has gone to work again with a perseverance that is worthy of the highest admiration, and has once more accumulated a comfortable fortune. Doctor Blunt also deals considerably in real estate, and his shrewdness in that line has enabled him to be very successful. He is a Democrat in politics, and, with his wife, attends the Methodist Church.
Frank Botsford, chief of police, Little Rock, Ark., was born in Onondaga County, N. Y., on September 26, 1888, and is a son of Amazeah Bradford and Emily Thrall Botsford, of New York. The father died in 1879 at Waukegan, Ill., while the mother is still living at the age of eighty-three years, and resides at Little Rock. Their son Frank, the principal of this sketch, was reared at Port Huron, Mich., and re- ceived a good English education in that city, as also at Little Fort, now Waukegan, Ill. In his youth he was brought up and instructed in the duties of farm life and also assisted his father in handling lumber. During the great gold excitement on the Pacific Coast he went to California and mined for several years, and also engaged in railroading. In December, 1869, Mr. Botsford came to Little Rock, and for two years, he was the warden of the Arkansas penitentiary. The following year he was appointed chief of police, but only held that office for one year, when he entered the sheriff's office and remained there for several years. In the year 1882 he was again elected chief of police by the city council, and has served continuously ever since, a period of almost seven years. The force at present consists of the following men: one chief, two sergeants, sixteen patrolmen, two sanitary officers, one day prison keeper and one man in the same capacity for the night. Under the able management of Chief Botsford, the police force has undergone a complete change for the better. His men have become better disciplined, more efficient and do the work of a city double its size. Mayor Whipple, recognizing Mr. Botford's ability, reappointed him in the spring of 1889, and his good judgment in making this selection is now evident to both mayor and citizens. Mr. Botsford was married in 1858 to Miss Harriett Freland, but lost his wife by death in 1866.
Rev. S. H. Buchanan, D. D., is one of the well-known citizens of Little Rock, and since 1870 has been pastor of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church at that point. This church he organized and by faithful labor for the Master, and by consistent and ear- nest endeavor, he has now a large congregation in the city and his church is firmly established. His early education was acquired in the common schools and in Cane Hill College, of Washington County, Ark., in which establishment he took the degree of A. B., graduating at the age of twenty-one; and in 1861, when twenty-three years of age, he finished his theological course in the University of Lebanon, Tenn. When the alarms of war were sounded he did not at first espouse either cause, but until 1862 was pastor of a church at Monticello, Ark. He then became chaplain of a regiment in the Confed- erate army, and until the cessation of hostilities remained faithful at his post. In the year 1866 he was not engaged in ministerial labors, but the following year he went to Bentonville and succeeded in organizing the Cumberland Presbyterian Church at that point, remaining as its pastor until the year 1870, since which time he has been a resident of Little Rock. His birth occurred in Washington County, Ark., March 5, 1888, and his marriage to Miss Annis Feemster, of Fayetteville, Ark., April 15, 1802, their union resulting in the birth of three children: W. F., Ruth and S. H. Dr. Buchanan is a profound scholar and is especially gifted in the languages and in mathematics, his contributions to various mathematical and scientific journals being very interesting, and are universally quoted as the highest authority. He inherits Irish blood from his father and Scotch blood from his mother, and in the Doctor is embodied the quick wit and light heartedness of the former race, and the shrewdness and good judgment of the latter. His family have been Presbyterians for many generations back. His father, who was also a Presbyterian minister, espoused the cause of Christianity in his early youth. The latter was a native Kentuckian and in his early youth removed to Arkansas, which State continued to be his home until his death at the age of seventy-six years. The mother is a Virginian and although she has attained the age of eighty-one years, is yet hale and active. During the present year (1899) Dr. Buchanan planned to attend a reunion of his old army brigade at Hope, Ark., and to preach to his old comrades from the same text that he last did at the close of the war, the third verse of the 125th psalm, but was prevented by sickness in his family.
H. Buddenberg, president of the Buddenberg Furniture Company, one of the prominent commercial interests of Little Rock, was born in Hanover, Germany in 1846. During his boyhood he was apprenticed to a cabinet-maker, a trade which he thoroughly learned in its various branches in three years. To this he gave his attention for two years before coming to America, and after arriving in this country located in St. Louis, where he started in business for himself at the corner of Sixteenth and Chambers Streets. At first he employed four men in his factory, and the furniture was made almost entirely by hand; but one year later his business had increased considerably, so that he pur- chased horses and worked by horsepower. After two years he bought a boiler, engine and machinery, and established a regular manufactory, employing about forty men. His busin- ess rapidly advanced under his judicious management, and in 1880 he employed 130 men, having the largest and most complete furniture factory in St. Louis, occupying a large four-story brick building and brick warehouse, the erection of which cost him $14,000. During the same year he sold out his immense business and removed to Little Rock, where he went into the Little Rock Furniture Company as third partner. He afterward disposed of his interest in that firm and established his present business, which is one of the most successful in the furniture line in Little Rock. Mr. Buddenberg was married on June 11, 1868m in St. Louis, to Miss Caroline Meyrose, a native of Germany, by whom he has had eight children, five of them yet living: Annie, Minnie, Louisa, Henry and Joe. Mr. and Mrs. Buddenberg both attend service at the Lutheran Church.
Augustus L. Breysacher, M. D., Little Rock, Ark. Dr. Breysacher is well known and universally respected throughout the State, not only as a successful and skillful physician and surgeon, but as a genial, whole-souled gentleman. He was born February 2, 1831, and is the son of George and Elizabeth (Keller) Breysacher. His father was born in Strasburg, Germany, graduated at Heidelburg University of that country, and later emigrated to America, locating in Ohio, where he practiced medicine for a number of years. Some time in the 30's he moved to Missouri, located in St. Louis County, near the city of St. Louis, and there practiced medicine until he was very old. He spent the latter part of his days among his friends in Ohio. Dr. Augustus L. Breysacher passed his boyhood in St. St. Louis County, Mo., and supplemented his common-school education with a literary and classical course in St. Xavier's College, Cincinnati, Ohio. He passed a rigid examination in the Missouri Medical College, St. Louis, and graduated from that institution in 1859. Receiving an immediate appointment as acting assistant surgeon in the United States army, he was sent out to "the Far West" border, Camp Alert, Kas., and his first year's practice was among the soldiers on the frontier. At the end of one year he returned to St. Louis, Mo., and practiced medicine nine months. At this time the agitation of Civil War claimed the attention of all thinking men, and Dr. Breysacher cast his fate with the Confederacy. During his service of nearly four years, he was not an hour absent from duty, which was always on the field, as surgeon successively of battery, staff, brigade and corps, with Hardee. These ser- vices, rendered so faithfully, gave him a breadth and professional experience seldom afforded to any man. The surrender found him still at his post at Greenville, N. C. Soon after the war he located at Pine Bluff, Ark., and there for six years he was actively engaged in the practice of medicine. Removing then to Little Rock, he located permanently, identifying himself with the medical profession, of which he is an honor- ed member. Recognizing the deficiency in the knowledge of medical science among the practitioners in may parts of the State, and the fact that no satisfactory advancement could be expected for years to come, unless the facilities for attaining such know- ledge were placed close at hand, the Doctor became a strong advocate for having located in Little Rock a medical school. In this he was sustained by other leading physicians, and the result of the agitation was that he and seven others formed a joint-stock com- pany, purchased a building, and opened the Medical Department of Arkansas Industrial University. This institution has grown beyond the hopes of its most sanguine advocates, until graduates from it practice not only in the city of Little Rock and over the State, but in neighboring States as well, and the fame of the institution is established. Dr. Breysacher has been professor of obstetrics ever since it was founded. He was married in 1867 to Miss Carrie D. Pynchon, of Huntsville, Ala., daughter of Edward E. Pynchon, a native of Massachusetts, and descendent of John Pynchon, "the worshipful major," who founded the city of Springfield, A. D. 1635-40. Dr. Breysacher has three children: Harriett P., A. L., Jr., and Mabel. The Doctor is a member of the Arkansas State Med- ical Society, of which he has been treasurer since its organization, of the American Medical Association, and of the Pulaski County Medical Society. He was a delegate to the International Medical Congress at Philadelphia in 1876, and is a member of the Episcopal Church.
George Russell Brown, president and principal owner of the Press Printing Company, State printers of Little Rock, owes his nativity to Rochester, N. Y., where his birth occurred October 10, 1852. He was the eldest in a family of four children, born to the union of Leverett Russell and Catherine (Ostrander) Brown, both natives of the State of New York. In 1852 the father embarked in the patent-roofing business, and the same year moved to Hamilton, Canada, where he continued the same business. In 1857 he moved to Galesburg, Ill., followed his former occupation, and in 1860 became connected with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, and later with the Chicago & Northwestern, running the first trains from Harvard Junction, Ill., to Madison, Wis. He then went east and followed railroad contracting for several years on the New York & Oswego Mid- land. He came to Arkansas in 1871, to take position as conductor on the Cairo & Fulton Railroad, now St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern, and ran the first passenger train from Little Rock to Little Red River, a point across the river from where the town of Judsonia is now situated. Mr. Brown is now connected with the United States mail ser- vice in Arkansas, and makes his home in Little Rock. His son, George Russell Brown (the subject of this sketch), attended the free schools of Galesburg, from 1858 to 1865, and then in Madison, Wis., from 1865 to 1868, after which he was a carrier on the Wisconsin State Journal, when that paper was owned by Atwood & Rublee. He returned with his parents to New York State in 1868, and subsequently attended school at Deposit, Broome County, for one year. At that time he was apprenticed to Watson & Stow, publish- ers of the Deposit Courier, and worked the first year for $1.25 a week. The second year he received $5 a week and the third year $8, when his trade was completed. He went to Binghamton, the county seat, and there worked on the Times, under D. E. Cronin, now an author and artist of New York City. Mr. Brown arrived at Little Rock, in September, 1872m and obtained a position as compositor on the Gazette, when it was owned by Wood- ruff & Blocher. In 1873, he was appointed reporter of the same paper by J. N. Smithee, then editor, and who was afterward State land commissioner. The following year he was promoted to city editor, and in 1875 was reporter on the Star, an evening paper, the apparatus of which was afterward purchased by Mr. Smithee, who established the present Arkansas Democrat. He was with this paper under the ownership of Smithee, Blocher & Mitchell, and Mitchell & Bettis, but resigned the position of city editor in 1883, having bought stock in the Arkansas Gazette. Mr. Brown was then appointed city editor of that paper, was soon promoted to the office of secretary, treasurer and business manager, and one year later was elected president of the company, which position he held until June 14, 1889, when he disposed of his stockholdings to Horace G. Allis, and purchased controlling interest in the Press Printing Company, incorporated Sept- ember, 1887, with $25,000 capital. They do an extensive business, aggregating from $80,000 to $100,000 a year. They also print and publish the Arkansas Press, a weekly paper owned by Mr. Brown and Charles H. Lewis. This paper is devoted to real estate, building, banking, railroad, river, manufacturing, timber, mineral and agricultural news, having classified reports from the various counties of the State. Mr. Brown was married in Memphis, Tenn., to Miss Mary E. Bateman, daughter of the late Dr. Bate- man, November 25, 1878. To this union have been born two children: Katie Russ (born November 16, 1880, at Memphis) and Eleanor Courtney (born at Little Rock, December 19, 1882). Mr. Brown is a member of Damon Lodge No. 3, K. of P., of Little Rock, and also a member of Little Rock Lodge of Elks.
John F. Calef, proprietor of the Capital Hotel, the largest and most popular hotel of Little Rock, is a native of Alabama and the son of Josiah Bartlett Calef, who was a prominent merchant in Mobile for over thirty years. He is also a direct descendant of Josiah Bartlett, one of the memorial signers of the Declaration of Independence. He was born and lived in Mobile, Ala., and up to 1883 was engaged in the cotton business in Mobile and Little Rock, coming to this city in 1881, where he still gives his attention to cotton interests. In the spring of 1884, Mr. Calef, in company with John W. Deshon, purchased the Capital Hotel, and continued in partnership until 1888, when he bought his partner's interest, and has since conducted the business alone. Mr. Calif was married in 1885 to Miss Emily Churchill, daughter of ex-Gov. Churchill, one of the well-known citizens of Arkansas, and a man who has been called upon to serve his native State in various prominent official capacities. The Capital is probably the best-known hotel south of St. Louis, being very large, well-arranged, and fitted with all modern improvements. Indeed, it is to Little Rock what the Palmer House is to Chicago, and the Southern Hotel to St. Louis. The popularity of this "home-comfort hostelry" is largely due to the personal supervision of the proprietor, who under- stands exactly the wants of his guests.
Jonathan Wilson Callaway. In reviewing the lives of prominent citizens of Little Rock, the name of J. W. Callaway is justly given an enviable position, for it is difficult to find one of the present day more entitled to honorable mention, or who possesses to such an extent the universal esteem of his acquaintances. Born in Arkadelphia, Clark County, Ark., January 27, 1834, he is the son of Jonathan O. Callaway, who came to Arkansas with his father, John Callaway, in 1817. John Hemphill, the maternal grandfather of J. W. Callaway, came to Arkansas from South Carolina in December, 1811, and in 1814 erected large salt mills one mile east of the present site of Arkadelphia. For this purpose he purchased about sixty sugar-kettles in New Orleans, which were used in the manufacture of salt. The labor employed was principally that of the negroes brought by Mr. Hemphill from South Carolina. These salt works were operated mostly by the family until 1851, and supplied a large territory. They were rebuilt in 1861, and were operated by the Confederate States Government during the late war, and several additional furnaces were erected at the same place during that time by private enterprise. Grandfather Callaway came to the Territory of Arkansas from Fredericktown, Mo., and settled near what is now Arkadelphia. The family were pioneers in Kentucky with Daniel Boone, and with him went to Missouri. Flanders Callaway, a brother of the paternal grandfather, married the daughter of Daniel Boone, and Callaway County, Mo., was named for Capt. James Callaway, a son of Flanders Callaway. For many years Jonathan O. Callaway was engaged in the salt works of his father-in-law, John Hemphill, but at the time of his death, in 1854, was an extensive cotton planter. At the age of sixteen years Jonathan Wilson Callaway was employed as copyist in the county clerk's office, and subsequently held the position of book-keeper in a large establishment. In 1858 he began merchandising in Arkadelphia, which was abruptly discontinued at the breaking out of the war, that active part be taken in the struggle. He was appointed first lieutenant in Capt. Flanagin's Company (E), McIntosh's regiment, later being made commissary of subsistence in the regimental brigade and division. He was afterward assigned to duty as assistant to the chief of bureau of subsistence for the Trans-Mississippi Department, with headquarters at Shreveport, La., and Marshall, Tex. His final surrender was made with the Confederate forces, at Shreve- port, at the close of the war, in May, 1865, following which he walked the whole dis- tance back to Arkadelphia. In October, 1865, Mr. Callaway embarked in the commission business at Camden, Ark., which he continued until 1872, a part of the time residing at New Orleans in connection with his business interests. In 1874 he was elected clerk of the State senate, and in 1876 received the nomination of the Democratic State Convention for clerk of the chancery court, to which position he was elected. Removing to Little Rock he held the office for five terms, or ten years, then voluntarily retiring, much to the regret of those whose interests he had so well and faithfully served. The year 1867 witnessed his marriage with Miss Annie Vickers, and to their union three children have been born: Lizzie, Mary and Estelle. Mr. Callaway occasionally acts as commissioner or receiver of the Pulaski Chancery Court, and is lending his valuable assistance in populating Arkansas with immigrants and developing the immense resources of the county and State. He enjoys a wide acquaintance and the respect and esteem of a host of friends.
Maj. W. P. Campbell, the well-known Clerk of the Arkansas Supreme Court, has been a resident of Arkansas for thirty-one years, and was born in Muhlenberg County, Ky., on August 23, 1838. He was a son of Alexander and Sarah W. (Kincheloe) Campbell, natives of Ireland and the State of Kentucky, respectively. The father, though born in the Emerald Isle, was of Scotch descent, and a farmer by occupation. He left his native country and came to America about the year 1808, settling in Kentucky, where is resided the remainder of his days, dying in 1846 at the age of forty-six years. The mother continued in Kentucky after his death until 1875, when she came to Arkansas to take up her abode with her sons, and died in that State at the age of seventy-six years. W. P. Campbell was reared on a farm in Kentucky until his fifteenth years, receiving a fair English education at the public schools of his native place, after which he was em- ployed as clerk in a business house at Nebo, Ky. One year later he went with his brother- in-law, J. M. Percival, to Arkansas, locating at Powhatan, and was there engaged in the drug business. He remained at Powhatan one year and a half, when, becoming settled at Augusta, Woodruff County, he embarked in the same business and continued until September, 1860k when he commenced the study of law with James H. Patterson. The follow- ing year he enlisted in what was known as the First Arkansas Mounted Riflemen, with the rank of third lieutenant, and was afterward promoted successively to the intervening ranks until commissioned major of his regiment at Murfreesboro. On December 31, 1862, he was wounded in the left leg by a minie ball, which fractured the bone and caused ampu- tation, and three days later he was captured and held prisoner of war for about four months. After being released the returned home and remained until the following fall, when he rejoined his command and was made commissary, remaining in service until Feb- ruary, 1865. Reaching home he farmed for a year, and in 1866 was elected clerk of Woodruff County, serving as such until July, 1868, when, as he remarks, "I was recon- structed out of office." Maj. Campbell gave his attention to mercantile life until 1874, when he was re-elected clerk of the county, discharging his official duties until 1882, but declining a renomination. In the summer of 1882 he received the nomination of the Democratic State convention as commissioner of State lands, and was elected that fall, serving until March, 1884, when he resigned and once more entered into business. In 1886 he was appointed clerk of the supreme court by that body. In secret societies Maj. Campbell is a member of the Odd Fellows, Knights of Honor and Knights of Pythias fra- ternities, and in religious belief he is an Old School Presbyterian and belongs to the First Presbyterian Church of Little Rock, in which he is also an elder. He was married in October, 1868, to Miss Virginia C. Davies, of South Carolina, and their union has given them four daughters and five sons. Mrs. Campbell and her five oldest children are also members of the same church.
William Armour Cantrell, M. D. In every community, the career of some one man may be traced by a thoughtful observer as an influence for good or evil in that especial community, elevating the standard of morals and manners or degrading it, and so acknowledged as the blessing or bane of his fellow citizens. The subject of this sketch is justly accorded a conspicuous and honored place among those whose course of action has gone to promote the welfare and moral excellence of Little Rock, the city of his adoption and the field of his manhood's achievements. Forty years of citizenship have tested the worth of principles of integrity, habits of regularity, moderation, fore- sight, the beauty of dignity, virtue and courtesy, and no clearer proof is needed than that given in the result to show that the peculiar characteristics of the individual go far to promote the prosperity of the multitude. In life as in nature, all streams may be traces to their source. If that be pure, no turbid tributaries can permanently pollute the parent stream. Dr. William A. Cantrell is one of a host of grandchildren of Stephen Cantrell, Sr., who seems to be the earliest progenitor of the family on record in this country. He was born in 1758, near Abington, Va., where he was brought up, with one brother and two sisters older than himself. His father died during his boyhood. On approaching manhood he wandered into North Carolina, where he was employed in the ser- vice of the continental commissioners of the State. For his zeal and perseverance in the performance of these services, he received a grant of 640 acres of land in Tennessee, as shown by the records of Davidson County, April, 1788. He went to Tennessee either with, or shortly preceding the astounding expedition of Col. John Donelson, a brave and wealthy old Virginian surveyor, the destined father-in-law of Gen. Andrew Jackson. This company of emigrants, with their dauntless leader, to avoid crossing the wilderness between Jonesboro and Nashville, then infested with 20,000 Indians, the most warlike and intelligent of their race, attempted and accomplished the journey "down the river Holstein to the Tennessee, down the Tennessee to the Ohio, up the Ohio to the Cumberland to a new home." During the years of 1795 and 1796, Stephen Cantrell commanded as captain a company of sixty-three men, in the famous Nickajack expedition against the Indians. He was known to have said, in those days of early adventure, that he "prized a lump of salt or bread as large as his fist, more than he would have prized a lump of solid gold of equal size." About 1782 he married Mary Blakemore, daughter of Capt. John Blakemore, who, with his family, accompanied the Donelson expedition to Nashville. Stephen Cantrell, Sr., and William Montgomery were the first representatives from Sumner County to the first legislature of Tennessee, which convened at Knoxville, March 28, 1796. He died at his place in Sumner County, February 5, 1827, aged sixty-eight years and some months. His wife, Mary Blakemore, born March 8, 1865, died August 2, 1849, aged eighty-four years. The family numbered eleven children, viz: Stephen, Sarah, Otey, Alfred, John, William, Zebulon P., Mary, Darby H., James M. and George Clinton Cantrell, nine sons and two daughters, besides an adopted son, John Cantrell, who be- came a wealthy salt manufacturer and merchant on the Kanawha River, W. Va., and an influential man and member of congress. Stephen Cantrell, Jr., the eldest son (father of our biographical subject) was born in Sumner County, Tenn., at his father's place, March 10, 1783, and was brought up there receiving an education as ample as the country afforded. When a young man he entered the store of George Michael Deaderick, with the view of qualifying himself for mercantile pursuits. In the course of time he became interested with Mr. Deaderick as junior partner, and so continued until the death of the latter, in 1816. Perhaps this partnership opened the way for another life-long one, with the lovely niece of his business associate, for this notice appeared in The Impartial Review, of Nashville of date, January 17, 1807: Married on Thursday evening last, Mr. Stephen Cantrell to the agreeable and justly admired Miss Juliet Wendell, both of this place. Some years later Mr. Cantrell engaged in merchandise with Mr. Hinchey Petway, of Franklin, Tenn. They had stores in Nashville and Franklin and interests in cotton planting near Florence, Ala. During this period he served as commissary and quarter- master in the Creek War, pension agent of the Government, mayor of the city of Nash- ville, magistrate of the county and president of the Bank of Nashville, successor of his former partner, George Michael Deaderick. About 1825 he withdrew from business pursuits entirely, and retired to his farm five miles west of Nashville. This place subsequently became the property of Mark R. Cockrill, the celebrated sheep raiser and wool grower. Some years later, he was induced again to embark in the cotton commiss- ion and steamboat trade of Nashville and New Orleans. From heavy ventures in cotton a disastrous failure ensued, involving the labor of a life-time. The death of his wife, in 1839, was the climax of these misfortunes, and in 1843 he retired to a small cotton farm near Pine Bluff, in Jefferson County, Ark., separated from his friends and the companionship of his children, except that of the youngest surviving, Dr. William A. Cantrell, who went to live near him, and attended him at the time of his death, in 1854. Mr. Cantrell's wife was the direct descendant of David Diedrich, of Wurtemburg, Germany, who may have been the identical hero whose old saddle bags supplied the charming Knickerbocker "History of New York," edited by Washington Irving, and who was the progenitor of the Deaderick and Cantrell family, here under consideration. The kingdom of Wurtemburg, Germany, of which Stuttgart is the capital, suffered much in consequence of the "Thirty Years' War" and Roman Catholic intolerance, being almost entirely Lutheran. The emigration from that place to our shores needs no further ex- planation than that offered in our motto, "Peace and Liberty." David Diedrich was born in Wurtemberg, and emigrated to the United States before the Revolutionary War (in which he served as a soldier), not later than 1750. He settled first in Pennsylvania, but afterward removed to WInchester, Va., which had been settled by Pennsylvania Germans in 1732. He was a member of the Lutheran Church as early as 1764, as shown by the copy of the paper deposited in the corner stone of the church there at that date. After his emigration to this country he married a lady of American birth, but German ancestry, whose name was Boher. The two conversed exclusively in German. The children of this marriage (who accepted the anglicised name of Deaderick) were David Deaderick, Jr., George Michael, Thomas, John, Susanna and Elizabeth. The wife survived, and afterward married Dr. May, an Englishman, by which union there were three children: Samuel, Frank and Rosanna May. The eldest son, David Deaderick, Jr., who married Margaret Anderson, sister of Joseph Anderson, United States senator from Tennessee, and appointed by President Monroe first comptroller of the United States treasury, settled at Jonesboro, Tenn., January 1, 1795, and the other three brothers established themselves at Nashville. The youngest of David Deaderick's children is James W. Deaderick, who has filled the office of chief justice of Tennessee since 1870. George Michael Deadrick, the next brother (mentioned before as senior partner of Stephen Cantrell, Jr.), was a prominent and influential man in the early days of Nash- ville, from 1785 to the period of his death. He was a large property holder in the town, and on Brown's CReek, two miles south of it, and was extensively engaged in merchandise. The ground of Deaderick Street, leading from the public square southwest to Cherry Street, was donated by him to the city of Nashville, and hence received its name. His habit and style of living was liberal, his intercourse with others courteous and kind, his principles upright and humane. His style of dress was that of the Continental period, top boots, short pantaloons, silver knee-buckles, swallow-tailed coat, slightly powdered hair, arranged with a queue. When the moss and lichens were removed from his tombstone, which may yet be seen at his old residence at "Westwood," the only legible inscription on it was his name, "George Michael Deaderick, president of the Bank of Nashville." in view of limited space, all mention of the other two brothers, Thomas and John, and Elizabeth, the younger daughter, may be omitted, and the history of Susanna Deaderick, the elder daughter, continued, who became the wife of David Wendel, Sr., and mother-in-law of Stephen Cantrell, Jr. Whether David Wendel, Sr., came with the Deadericks to Tennessee or not, is a matter of conjecture. There is a tradition that two brothers Wendal emigrated from Germany to the United States and afterward separated, one going north and the other south. A descendant of this latter, David Wendel, married Susanna Deaderick. They had nine children, viz: David Wendel, Jr. (married Sarah Nelson), William (never married), Rebecca (married Judge Foster), Rachel (married J. P. Wiggin), Rosanna (married Judge Howell Tatum), Polly (married Judge Bennett Searcy), Elizabeth (married Col. Robert Searcy), Juliet Ann Deaderick (married Stephen Cantrell, Jr.,), Matilda (married Alfred M. Carter). Juliet Ann Deaderick Wendell, whose marriage with Stephen Cantrell, Jr., January, 1807, has been noticed before, was born in Winchester, Va., April 8, 1787. At the time of her marri- age, the Searcys, Fosters, Tatums and Wiggins were prominent and influential citizens of Nashville and its vicinity. They were high minded and progressive people, kind and hospitable almost to a fault. Mrs. Cantrell was richly endowed with personal attrac- tions, and proved an ornament to the circle. Tall and graceful in movement, with a sweet benevolence of countenance, clear blue eyes and soft voice, she attracted every- one, and her piety, charity and compassion for suffering in any form riveted the friendship of all who knew her intimately. She was for many years a devout communicant with the Presbyterian Church. She died, deeply lamented by her devoted family, July 3, 1839. A miniature picture, taken in girlhood and caused to be copied by her grand- daughters (Mrs. Decatur Axtell, of Richmond, Va., and Mrs. Benjamin S. Church, of New York City) for the different members of the family, is in possession of Dr. Cantrell, a relic of almost a century. The children of Stephen Cantrell, Jr., and Juliet Ann Deaderick Wendel were: George Michael Deaderick (married to Clara Walker), Mary Ann (married to Dr. T. J. J. Howard), Emmeline Susanna (married to Alex. A. Casseday), Elizabeth Searcy (married to Abram Van Wyck), Matilda Carter (married to William F. Mason), Elvira Searcy (married to Edwin Ferguson), David Wendel (born 1832, died 1885, William Armour (married to Ellen M. Harrell, Margaret Armstrong (born 1829, died 1834. William Armour Cantrell, M. D., the eighth member of the group, was born January 22, 1826, at his father's farm near Nashville. At a later date the family removed to the city, where he attended the primary schools until her was thirteen years of age. He was then sent to Princeton, N. J., and placed at Edgehill Seminary, where he made good record as a student. While there he met with the great bereavement of his life, the death of his mother. Preceding this came the financial wreck of his father. He was recalled and became a student at the Nashville University, but soon began the study of medicine with his cousin, Dr. James Wendel, of Murfreesboro, Tenn. In 1845 he entered the medical department of the University of Louisville, Ky., where his kinsman, Dr. Lunsford P. Yandell, Sr., professor of chemistry and pharmacy, was one of his preceptors. Drs. Gross, Short, Cobb, Drake, Miller and Caldwell occupied chairs at the same time, and S. S. Nicholas was president of the department. Dr. Cantrell grad- uated at this university March 6, 1847. The year following he spent in New York, where he received the appointment of assistant physician in Bellevue Hospital. He was then appointed to relieve Dr. Winterbottom as physician of the Nursery Hospital at Black- well's Island, and remained there during the summer of 1848. The following year he went to New Orleans, La., where, feeling qualified, he proposed to enter upon his life work. The solitary condition of his father, however, impelled him to abandon this pur- pose. After one winter of medical experience at New Orleans, where he treated yellow fever in epidemic form, he established himself at Pine Bluff, Ark., in the vicinity of which his father resided, and later, at Little Rock. Here, in 1849, he met his future wife, Miss Ellen M. Harrell, who had lately arrived with her family from Nashville, Tenn., fleeing from cholera, then decimating the city of Nashville. On February 13, 1852, Dr. Cantrell and Miss Harrell were married in Little Rock, by the Rev. A. R. Winfield. During what proved to be the last year of his father's life, Dr. Cantrell took his family to live on an adjoining plantation, and was with him at the time of his death, in September, 1854. Afterward he resumed his practice in Little Rock, where he rapidly built up a solid reputation as a practitioner. In 1857 he purchased three lots on the southwest corner of Scott and Fourth Streets, where he built an ornamental frame cottage. This he sold afterward to Ex-Gov. Miller, then auditor of State, and purchased lots on the northeast corner of Scott and Seventh Streets, where he built a commodious two-story brick building, in which he has resided with his family since 1860. He also invested in real estate near the city, which, in the course of years, has be- come valuable property. During this long interval he has filled successively and honor- ably the positions of city physician, county physician, president of State board of medical examiners, president of College of Physicians and Surgeons, delegate to the public health association, besides attending to a heavy practice among the most intell- igent refined and wealthy families in the community. He is the only surviving member of the first medical society of Little Rock, which he helped to organize, the managing board being R. A. Watkins, M. D., president; W. A. Cantrell, M. D., secretary; A. W. Webb, M. D., Craven Peyton, M. D., George Sizer, M. D., Corydon McAlmont, M. D. In 1861 he was appointed surgeon of First Mounted regiment of Arkansas, in the Confederate army. After Lee's surrender, he was solicited to take charge of the United States Post Hospital, at Little Rock garrison. He accepted and held this position of acting assist- ant surgeon during the command of Brevet-Maj-Gen. Arnold, captain Light Battery G, Fifth artillery, and that of Col. C. H. Smith, Twenty-eighth Infantry, a period of five years. His record as physician at this hospital added much to the reputation for sagacity and skill already earned. Very lately he has had charge of the sick at the school for the blind in this city. Dr. Cantrell is sixty-three years of age, enjoying good health, is in comfortable circumstances, and blessed with a wife and seven child- ren, the youngest of whom, a son, has just completed his nineteenth year. His home, built in the old Southern style, with wide hall, verandas front and rear, spacious rooms and windows is seated in the center of four lots, shaded with elms, maples, fruit trees and evergreens of his own planting. It looks like a vertible home, with fine specimen fowls enjoying the lawn, the rearing of which, together with gardening, affords the proprietor a chosen relaxation from the arduous duties of his profession. It has been the scene of merry-makings without number for children and youth, and one of the centers of art culture to the literati, so well represented by his accomplished wife and children. The making of this home is a fair exponent of the energy and domestic virtues of the builder, whose only inheritance was sound health, sound discipline and sound prin- ciples. Dr. Cantrell became a confirmed member of the Protestant Episcopal Church in 1855, and served as a member of the vestry of Christ Church, Episcopal, Little Rock, during the incumbency of Rt.-Rev. Henry C. Lay, bishop of Arkansas and rector of Christ Church, Rev. J. T. Wheat and Rev. P. G. Robert, and is now junior warden of the same, Rev. Wallace Carnahan, rector. While the social amenity of his disposition and grace of manner have caused him to be sought by the most polished circles, the earnest simplicity and sympathy of his nature have endeared him to the most humble in rank. Like a full river, bravely bearing its own burdens to the sea, yet dispensing life and refreshment on every side, his course has shown a long succession of private and public services, proving that the prominent desire of his soul has been to be useful. The children of Dr. and Mrs. William A. Cantrell, all born in Little Rock, and to each of whom has been given a classical education, are: Lillian (who finished her course of study at St. Mary's Hall, Episcopal, Burlington, N. J., married to Joseph Lovell Bay, of St. Louis, Mo.), Ellen May (graduate of Franklin College, Holly Springs, Miss., married to Decatur Axtell, C. E., of Elyrin, Ohio), Daisy (first graduate of Arkansas Female College, married to Lucius Junius Polk, of Columbia, Tenn.), Wendell (born October 28, 1860, died October 1, 1861, Isadore (graduate of Arkansas Female College, married to Philo Hiram Goodwyn, of New Orleans, La.), Bessie (graduate of Arkansas Female College, un- married), Deaderick Harrell (student at Washington and Lee University, Virginia, lic- ensed as an attorney and counselor at law, June 24 1889), William Armour, Jr. (now student at University of the South, Sowanee, Tenn.) They have had eleven grandchildren, Mrs. Ellen Catherine Harrell, the widow of Rev. Samuel Harrell, late of Halifax Court House, Va., whose history would grace the annals of womanhood anywhere, deserves honorable mention here. Four children were born during the brief period of her wedded life, viz: John Mortimer, Ellen Maria (who died when about three years old), Mary Eliza and Ellen Maria second (who was named for the deceased baby sister). After the death of her husband, who ended his career as preacher and teacher before he reached the meridian of life, Mrs. Harroll nobly determined to exert all her powers to supply his loss, and her affections thereafter seemed to flow in one undeviating channel, that of motherhood. She resolved to quit the scenes made desolate by this calamity and seek a home in Tennessee. Crossing the mighty barriers that intervened, in company with a party of friends, she arrived in safety at the place of her destination in 1839. When the young widow, with her little family of three children, reached Nashville, from the home of Jacob Donelson, in Rutherford County, where they had been entertained for some months, she had one friend, as she thought, with whom she deposited $1,000 at interest, bravely resolving to maintain her children by her own genius and industry. She rented a large brick house that had lately been a church, and opened a school. The venture proved successful, otherwise the family might have lapsed into oblivion, for the "friend," a respectable citizen and head of a family, betrayed her trust, and the $1,000 was lost, irrevocably. She rallied from the shock, and for four years labored unceasingly, and at length entered upon her reward. There may be some still living in Nashville, who remember a scene at the market-place on the public square; when the then handsome brick residence near the northwest corner of Vine and Union Streets, built with a concert hall in the rear, by William Nash, professor of music, was cried at auction to the highest bidder. On the outskirts of the throng of men assembled there for real-estate exchange, was seen the small and trim figure of the widow, attended by her son, a handsome boy of ten, and two little daughters. A veil, half removed, disclosed a magnetic face; a broad, square brow, shaded with brown waves of hair, clear, fair complexion and intense blue eyes, then almost black with restrained emotion, as they were bent on the auctioneer. The bidding went on, rose and languished. A slight flutter of a white handkerchief and the sale was accomplished. The little group retired and entered into the new partnership of a solid home. There was now no obstacle in her path that might not be overcome. Faithful in her church duties as communicant, teacher in Sunday-school and almoner for the poor, she found strength and inspiration to accomplish the object of her life. The children each completed the usual classical course of study, with music and art combined. The son graduated at the University of Nashville, and was one of the class orators at commencement. The daughters took diplomas from the Nashville female academy. The elder daughter, Mary, also took a post-graduate course at Patapsco Institute, Maryland, where the learnedly famous Mrs. Almira Lincoln Phelps presided. During he fearful scourge of cholera in 1848 and 1849 Mrs. Harrell leased her property, and, with her family, took refuge in Little Rock, Ark. She opened a school and finally concluded to remain. She disposed of her property in Nashville afterward, and invested in cotton lands on the Arkansas River and slaves. She died in Little Rock, at the residence of her son-in-law, Dr. W. A. Cantrell, to whom she went for medical attention, under permit of Maj.-Gen. Fred W. Steele, then in command of the United States troops at this place. Thus was extinguished in forest seclusion amid the fumes of prejudice, war and barbarism, a light that had burned with steady brilliancy for a quarter of a century, diffusing warmth, light and color to all who came within its range. She was buried, at her own request, by the Rev. E. Steele Peek, Federal, Episcopal chaplain of Maj.-Gen. Steele's division. In this choice she disclosed the ruling passion of her heart, sympathy for the oppressed, for this clergyman had recommended himself to her by his holy ministra- tions and dying support to the young "rebel," Owen, who was condemned and executed as a spy at this place, to the undying regret of all. This holy, gentle man, offered daily prayers at her dying bedside also, and preached a funeral sermon over her re- mains. When the news came, a few years later, of his death on the Pacific shore, her bereaved children, with profound emotion, echoed the word selected by him on the occasion of their mother's burial, "Let me die the death of the righteous, and let my last end be like his!" By way of supplement to the foregoing biographies, a clipping from the Little Rock Republican, of date January 7, 1888, is appended, where, in a series of "Personal Sketches," written by the Hon. W. Jasper Blackburn, editor, this sketch is given: Mrs. William Cantrell is a lady of scholarly attainments, and from early life has evinced an ambition for literary work. At the age of sixteen, she wrote a series of stories for Godoy's Lady's Book, then the most popular literary journal in the United States. Since her marriage to Dr. Cantrell she has made various valuable contributions to magazines and newspapers, usually over a nom de plume; but, realizing that all her time and talents were justly due her growing family, she laid aside her pen, and for over twenty years had done little writing, though often tempted to by her natural proclivities. A series of papers entitled "Romance of History," and a story called "Vesta" are among her most successful productions.
Rev. Wallace Carnahan, the rector of Christ Church at Little Rock, Ark., and an eminent and much respected citizen, is a native of the Old Dominion, where his birth occurred April 18, 1843. His father dying when he was eight years old, his mother removed with him to Newport, Ky., and there he received his literary education. He studied law and was admitted to the bar, and afterward practiced for about three years in partnership with the late Hon. Thomas L. Jones, member of Congress. At this period of his life, Mr. Carnahan's attention was drawn to the ministry of the Episcopal Church, and feeling called to that work, he abandoned the bar and entered upon the study of theology, which he pursued under Bishop Smith, and the Rev. John N. Norton, D. D., and was ordained to the Diaconate by Bishop Smith, June 9, 1869, and ordained to the priesthood by Bishop Green, in 1870. He spent the first four years of his ministry in the diocese of Mississippi, and the seven years that followed in Western Texas as a missionary. From Texas he was called to Grace Church, Anniston, Ala., and that parish was the field of his labors for six years. From Alabama he was called to Christ Church, Little Rock, September 1, 1886. In this church Mr. Carnahan's work has been greatly blessed, and he is recognized as an able and eloquent preacher. Rev. Wallace Carnahan was married in Mississippi to Miss Mary S. Hart, a daughter of Capt. John D. Hart, a planter of Madison County, Miss. Mr. Carnahan is the son of James and Caroline (Smith) Carnahan, natives of Virginia. The grandfather was born in County Antrim, Ireland, and was a noted Orangeman. The mother was a daughter of Maj. Henry Smith, a native of Maryland and one of the original settlers of Wheeling, Va.
L. D. Cassinelli is a native of Italy, born near Genoa, September 23, 1840, and came to America with his parents when seven years of age. The father located permanently in St. Louis, Mo., and here the subject of this sketch received his education in the Christian Brothers' College of that city. After leaving school, he worked in the fruit business until about the age of sixteen, when he left St. Louis and went to Tennessee, thence to Alabama, Louisiana, Maryland, New York, and finally Missouri, before settling down to business. He has been obliged to depend upon himself for a livelihood since the tender age of ten years, and understands thoroughly what it means to "hustle for a living." He came to Little Rock, Ark., in 1870, and was here united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Bertola, a native of Austria, who bore him one child, a son, Louis Humbert. Mr. Cassinelli is engaged in selling fruit, and is interested in the real-estate business. He also follows farming, and raises fruit of all kinds which are sold on the main street of Little Rock. Mr. Cassinelli is a large, fleshy man, and is a member of the Roman Catholic Church. He owns ten lots in the suburbs of the city and 112 1/2 acres of land close to the city. He is noted for his honesty and integrity, and is one of the best citizens of Little Rock. What is termed genius has little to do with the success of Mr. Cassinelli; keen perception, sound judgment and a determined will, supported by persevering and continuous effort, are essential elements to success in any calling, and their possession is sure to accomplish the aims hoped for.
Hon. Benjamin B. Chism, Secretary of State, is a life-long resident of Arkansas. He was born in Logan County, in 1845, being the son of Dr. S. H. Chism, a native of Tennessee, who, when an infant, was taken by his parents to Missouri. He received a good education at Jefferson City, and early chose the medical profession for his occupation through life, finally coming to Arkansas in 1840, and locating in what was Scott (now Logan) County, where he practiced until his death. He was a highly respected citizen and successful physician, and was State senator from 1848 to 1852. He died in 1863, at the age of sixty-nine years. He was married to Miss Jeannatte Logan, a daughter of Col. James Logan, of Missouri, who was appointed one of the commissioners to locate the State Capital at Jefferson City, and who came to Arkansas in 1823. He was a descendant of the Logan family, who were contemporaneous with the Boone family of Kentucky. The county of Logan was named for him after his death. Mrs. Chism died when our subject was an infant. B. B. Chism was reared in Logan County and educated in the schools of Charleston. When sixteen years of age, he enlisted in the Seventeenth Arkansas Infantry, Confederate army, in which he served from May, 1861, to May, 1865, being engaged in the battles of Oak Hills and Elkhorn, and he commanded a company at the battle of Corinth when only eighteen years of age. Following this, he served on the brigade staff of Col. Griffith. After his return from the army, Capt. Chism engaged first in farming, and next in the mercantile business. In 1874 he was made colonel of the State militia by Gov. Baxter, and in 1887 was tendered an honorary appointment by Gov. Hughes, as a member from Arkansas on the staff of Gov. Gordon, of Georgia, to meet President Cleveland at the Georgia State Fair. In the summer of 1888, he was nominated on the Democratic ticket for secretary of State, and was elected by a large majority. Capt. Chism is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is a modest man, of dignified habits, but sanguine in disposition, and a friend whom it is one's good fortune to know. His highly complimentary vote is a fitting testimonial of his great popularity among the rich and poor of the citizens of Arkansas.
Charles Choinski, a representative farmer, and one of the leading merchants of Pulaski County, was born in Poland, on November 17, 1858, and is a son of T. and L. Choinski. The father was born in Poland, and a graduate of two of Germany's most famous universitias, in one of which he was afterward a professor for a number of years. He took part in the struggle that Poland made to throw off the yoke of Russia, and after the war was over migrated to America. He first settled in Milwaukee, Wis., in 1873, and after learning the English language, his superior knowledge upon other branches soon placed him as a teacher in the public schools of that city, and professor of German language in "Engelman's Academy." In 1876 he left Milwaukee and moved to Pulaski County, bringing with him a colony of 200 Polish families, who had left their native country on account of the dark cloud of Russian tyranny that hung over it and made them slaves. In 1847 he was married to Miss L. Dembinska, by whom he had ten children, seven of them yet living, Charles being the fifth child. The Choinski's are of noble birth, their forefathers being among the leaders of the aristocracy in former days and favorites of the king. Charles Choinski came to Pulaski County with his parents when eighteen years old. He was educated in the public schools of Milwaukee, and instructed in the higher branches by his father, and before twenty years of age started in business for himself at Marche, and has been successful at every turn. In 1884 he was united in marriage to Miss Martha J. Ray, a daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Frazier) Ray, of Tennessee and Alabama respectively. Three children were born to this union: Roy, Carrie and Josephine. Mr. Choinski rapidly made a reputation for himself and became widely known in the surrounding country. When only twenty-one years old, he was honored by the people of Pulaski County in being elected to represent them in the legislature, and served through the term of 1882 in a manner that won distinction for himself and gave satisfaction to his constituents. For a number of years he has been postmaster of Marche. In politics he is a strong Democrat, and in religious faith attends the Catholic Church.
C. W. Clark, one of the best known citizens of Little Rock, and probably the largest brick manufacturer in Arkansas, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, on August 28, 1848. His father, Z. W. Clark, was a native of Pennsylvania, and in early life a cooper, but in later years adopted a farmer's life in which he was very successful. His wife was, be- fore her marriages, a Miss Sarah A. Stout, of Ohio, who is still living and resides in Auburn, Neb., while the father died at St. Joseph, Mo., in 1878. C. W. Clark, in his young days, was known as a "hustler," if that strong yet appropriate term may be used; in other words he was a worker, a man of untiring energy and with the brains and skill to carry out whatever he undertook. During his early manhood, he drove a team across the plains eight different times, four trips being made in the dead of winter. He next entered the drug store of H. C. Lett, at Brownsville, Neb., in order to learn the business; but after eight months' experience, his health failed him and he was forced to find some other occupation where physical labor would bring back his strength. He then engaged with Mr. C. W. Wheeler, a carpenter, and for three or four years remained at that trade, at the end of which time he went to St. Louis, where he resided for six years, and in November, 1877, moved to Little Rock to do some work for a St. Louis contractor. While here he contracted to build a house for Mr. Samuel O. Smith, and subsequently one for Mr. W. S. Davis. By this time he concluded to locate here, and upon taking another contract to erect a house for Mr. R. W. Martin, he entered into partnership with Mr. John H. Thalman. Mr. Clark's next work was in building the fourth story of the Arkansas Industrial University at Fayetteville, and while there first received the idea of entering into brick manufacture. After coming back to Little Rock, he purchased his present property, borrowing $500, to make the first payment, and $1,000, with which to commence operations. The business went along smoothly until June, 1880, when he secured his first large contract, which was to erect the State Lunatic Asylum at a cost of $144,440, taking 4,500,000 brick to complete this building. In the winter of 1887, two wings were added to the Asylum, and 2,000,000 more brick were used. After the building was completed, he bought out his partner's interest and purchased seven additional acres of ground, and has now made his business one of the great successes of the State. Mr. Clark always keeps posted on the best real-estate markets, and his investments are sure to be valuable. He owns considerable property at Birmingham, Ala., the Pittsburg of the South. He was married on January 23, 1879, to Miss Susie R. Quinn, a daughter of Dr. J. W. Quinn, one of the pioneers of this city. They are both members of the Winfield Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Clark's brick-yard is beyond doubt one of the largest in the State. He uses the most improved patterns of machinery, and employs from fifty to seventy-five men at his establishment, and last year turned out 3,500,000 brick, and this year will probably aggregate 4,000,000 brick.
Charles W. Clay is a name well known in business circles throughout Pulaski County, for it stands as the representative of a man who is noted for his enterprise. Mr. Clay was born in Granville County N. C., in 1831, and is a son of Pleasant and Mary (Malory) CLay, born in North Carolina in 1796 and 1803 respectively. The parents were from Virginia and North Carolina, where they were married. The father became a prosperous and highly respected farmer, dying there in 1876,and the wife following him in 1887. Pleasant Clay was a son of Peter Archie Clay, of Mecklenberg, Va., an old Revolutionary soldier, of Scotch-Irish parentage, who died in North Carolina, as did also Charles Malory, the father of Pleasant Clay's wife. Charles W., the oldest child of four sons and two daughters, received very little education in his youth, but upon reaching maturity he obtained knowledge by his own efforts. He commenced clerking at fourteen years of age, and continued in that capacity until twenty-two years old, when he started in business on his own account. In 1856 he was married to Miss Fannie, fourth daughter of Col. James and Edna (Rowland) Stirk, of Pennsylvania and North Carolina respectively, and settled down with his bride in Granville County, N. C., whence they moved to Arkansas in 1869. Six children were born to this union: Sophia (widow of John Skinner Fletcher, deceased, now wife of Dr. Richard Chennault, of Arkansas), and wife of Dr. F. P. Keller, of Texas, Thomas L. (who married Miss Bettie Thompson, of Alabama) and James Stirk Clay (the youngest of the four living children). In 1869 Mr. Clay came to Pulaski County and commenced farming at a point on the river, where he resided for seven years. He then moved to his present home, about eighteen miles west of Little Rock, where he owns a splendid tract of land, and has placed some 100 acres under good cultivation. In addition to his farm, he is interested in ginning and milling. He is a man of great integrity and fine business qualities, and a representative citizen of Pulaski County. He served as justice of the peace for several years, and at the present time is holding the office of deputy assessor. Previous to that time he was deputy sheriff, and has filled every office with distinction. Mr. Clay has been a member of the A. F. & A. M. since his twenty-first year, and at the present time belongs to Mary Williams Lodge No. 307, of which he has been treasurer for a number of years. He is also a member of the Agricultural Wheel, and, with his domestic wife a member, attends the Missionary Baptist Church.
Fred B. Coleman, one of the principal stock raisers and dairymen of Pulaski County, was born in Peoria, Ill., in 1851, and is a son of E. B. and Mary Ann Coleman, the father a native of New York State, and the mother from Illinois, in which State they were married. Fred, was partly reared in Illinois, and came to Arkansas with his parents in 1864. The elder Coleman established a fruit and nursery business, and his son re- mained with him until 1877, when the father died. Young Fred then opened up the Evergreen dairy, and ran the same in connection with a stock business. He has the graded Jersey stock, which he is now crossing with the Holstein, and milks about fifty cows per day, collecting from them on an average seventy-five gallons. Aside from his dairy and stock interests, he owns 300 acres of valuable land, all of which is under fence, and 100 acres in a fine state of cultivation. Mr. Coleman's dairy interests are among the largest in Pulaski County. He has secured a lucrative patronage by his square and honest methods of doing business, and as a stock dealer he owns some of the finest cattle in that section. In 1881 he was married to Miss Anna Rogasku, a daughter of John and Wandy Rogasku, by whom he has three children: Flora, Mamie and Minnie, the latter being twins, who have since died, as also his wife, who died in 1885. During the Civil War, Mr. Coleman served in the Federal army as sutler of the Second Arkansas Infantry (holding a commission when he was fourteen years old), one year and a half, belonging to the Second Arkansas Regi- ment. In politics he is a Republican, and in religious faith a Roman Catholic. He is one of the leading spirits in all public and private enterprises that tend to the advancement of his county.
Dr. E. Collins is one of the leading dentists of Little Rock. He entered the profession when a mere boy, and although the average life of the dentist is about thirty years, after a practice of forty years he is still in the vigor of his manhood and the oldest practicing dentist in the Southwest. He is a native of Ohio, being reared until his sixteenth year in the town of Ripley, Brown County, and is a descendant from sires of some Revolutionary fame. He is the youngest of his parents' family, the elder of whom is still living at the age of ninety-five years and comes from an ancestry of great longevity. At the age of sixteen, being anxious to adopt some profession, he chose that of dentistry, and left the home of his childhood to enter upon the career of his choice. Going to Xenia, Ohio, he commenced the study of his profession under the guidance of his brother-in-law, Prof. J. Yapt, a gentleman whose genius and skill, and the publi- cation of standard and other works upon dental surgery, have long since obtained for him a world-wide reputation. After completing his preparatory course of three years, young Collins determined to seek his fortune farther west, and left Xenia for Cincinnati. Arriving at that city, he immediately took passage upon a canal-boat packet for Connersville, Ind., a town of some 3,000 inhabitants, situated in the beautiful and fertile valleys in the White Water River. In this town and neighboring country he commenced the practice of his profession, and in his leisure moments continued to study his specialty, together with general medicine and surgery. After a year's residence in Connersville, he met and was married to his present wife, Miss Mary A. Smiley, a lineal descendant of the same Puritanical stock from which President James Buchanan was an illustrious scion. The issue of this union was three children, two of whom reached maturity and still live: one a son (a young man of promise in the medical profession), the other a daughter (the wife of Judge Y. W. Wilson, of Little Rock). Dr. Collins practices in Connersville and vicinity for about fifteen years, when he was called to fill a vacancy in the faculty of the Ohio COllege of Dentistry at Cincinnati, the same institution from which he graduated in 1854. This being a time when civil war was convulsing the country, and business of all kinds was at a standstill, save that of carrying on the bloody struggle, he resigned, as the position was not sufficiently remunerative to justify a longer continuance. After a time other fields more promising opened to his view, and he again went westward, locating at Bloomington, Ill. Here he made many friends and acquired a large and lucrative practice, but at the end of five years a change came over the spirit of his dreams; his daughter married and must needs migrate to the city of Little Rock with her husband; hence, in a short time, dissat- isfied at having his little family dissolved, the Doctor followed them to the city, landing here on December 15, 1869. He has remained here an honored citizen of this community, serving the afflicted public in a manner commensurate with his superior knowledge and skill; dealing ever generously with the poor and justly with the rich. In former years he has done much with his pen and otherwise to build up his profession, and enlighten the public mind with respect to its merits. He is a deep thinker as well as a bold and aggressive writer upon subjects that affect the public welfare, and has allowed no obstacles, religious or political, to deter him from the exercise of his inalienable rights as a man and citizen. His theology is pre-eminently that of Nature, which he claims teaches that the invisible things of universal nature (God, if you please) can in no wise be known save through and by the things that are seen or tang- ible to the physical senses, guided by an unfettered reason and conscience. As an inventor, Dr. Collins has conceived several devices, chief among which is the Railroad Coach Heater, which has just been passed upon by the patent-office officials and allowed. This invention is destined to supersede all others for that purpose, as it will be an incalculable saving of property to railroad corporations, and a great source of comfort and increased safety to the life of the traveling public.
The following sketch reached the publishers too late to insert in regular order, and consequently is given prominent mention at this place: *** Francis H. Conway, county surveyor of Pulaski County, Ark. A number of years passed in a sincere and earnest endeavor to thoroughly discharge every duty incumbent upon the official positions Mr. Conway has filled, have served to show that he has established the reputation of being an accurate business man. He was born in St. Louis, Mo., on May 17, 1848, and was the youngest son of Frederick Rector Conway, and his wife, Martha L. Conway, a native of Orange County, Va., and a daughter of James and Lucy (Burton) Collins. Frederick Rector Conway and Martha L. Collins were married on May 18, 1836, in Howard County, Mo., and had in all six children, all natives of St. Louis, Mo. The eldest, James Rector Conway, was born on April 7, 1837, and died on September 14, 1837. The next was Lucy Ann Conway, born on December 15, 1838; Thomas Frederick Conway was born on July 29, 1841; Andrew May Conway, October 8, 1842; Mary Elizabeth Conway, born October 18, 1845, and died January 4, 1848. The mother, Martha L. Conway, died on June 1, 1849, and was buried in lot No. 329, in block No. 93, in Bellefontaine cemetery, near St. Louis, Mo., where her two children who had died were buried; and there her brother, May B. Collins, was afterward interred. Francis H. Conway, the youngest child mentioned, was placed by his father with his brother-in-law, William Shields and his wife, Eliza Shields, in Boone County, Mo., who took care of him six or seven years until his father moved from St. Louis to Boone County, and settled near Columbia. In the year 1859 Frederick Rector Conway was married to Mrs. Ellen A. Jarvis, a daughter of Richard Chinn, of Kentucky, and the widow of Dr. Jarvis (deceased). By this marriage two sons were born. The elder, James Langridge Conway, born January 31, 1861, is a printer in Kansas City, Mo., and the younger, Elias Cabell Conway, born about two years subsequent, is engaged in mining near Silver City, N. M. At Silver City, N. M., Thomas Frederick Conway, a lawyer resides, and his sister, Lucy Ann Conway, lives with him. Andrew May Conway makes his home in Ashley, Pike County, Mo., and is a physician. Francis H. Conway, lives in Little Rock, Ark. None of the children of Frederick Rector Conway have married, except Dr. Andrew May Conway. Thomas Conway, the father of Frederick Rector Conway, moved with his family from Tennessee (where he had settled after he was married) to Missouri, and resided for some time in St. Louis, afterward going to Howard County, Mo., and settling and making a plantation three miles east of Glasgow, and ten miles west of Fayette, the county seat of Howard County, where he lived until his death. Frederick Rector Conway, remained in St. Louis, and after the lapse of years was made United States recorder of French and Spanish land claims in Missouri, Arkansas and Louisiana, and was one of the board of three commission- ers (the other two being Dr. Lewis F. Lynn and J. J. Harrison) for adjudicating French and Spanish land claims in Missouri, Arkansas and Louisiana, and he was also afterward United States surveyor general of the district composed of the States of Missouri and Illinois, which was the last public office held by him. He died on December 16, 1874, and was buried in the cemetery at Columbia, Boone County, Mo., in the same lot where the remains of his father, Thomas Conway, and his brother, Thomas Asbury Conway (who was the sixth son, and who had been a merchant and die about the age of twenty-four years) now rest. His mother, after she became a widow, went and lived with her youngest son, Elias N. Conway, at this home in Little Rock, Ark., until her death, and was there buried in Mount Holly cemetery; there in the same lot is also buried her fifth son, William Conway, who had been judge of the circuit court, and also a judge of the supreme court of the State of Arkansas. Frederick Rector Conway has in all six brothers and three sisters. His oldest brother, Henry Wharton Conway, was a lieutenant in the war with England, in 1814 and 1815, under Gen. Jackson, until detailed to aid Com. Laurence, in battle of Mobile Bay, which resulted in the capture of the British fleet there. After the war was over, Henry Wharton Conway was retained in the regular army of the United States, until he resigned. After the United States land office was established at Little Rock, for the district of Arkansas, he was appointed the first receiver of public moneys of the United States, for said district, and not long after, he was elected delegate in congress, for the Territory of Arkansas, and was subsequently twice re-elected to that position. After his third election, he received a wound in a duel, from which he died on the ninth day, and was buried at the Post of Arkansas. Henry Wharton Conway was the oldest child of Thomas and Ann Conway, and next came their daughter Eliza, who married William Shields, a native of Maryland, for many years county surveyor of Boone County, Mo., and an accurate and efficient business man of the strictest integrity; he and wife, Eliza, having died, were buried in the cemetery at Columbia, leaving two of their children surviving: Mrs. Sarah Maria Pratt ( of Columbia, Boone County, Mo., now the widow of the late George C. Pratt, who had been a professor in the State University of Missouri, and afterward a civil engineer on various railroads, and subsequently secretary for the board of railroad commissioners of Missouri, and after that, before his death, was elected and served for many years as one of the railroad commissioners), James Rector Shields (the surviving son of William and Eliza Shields, is a lawyer, now of Wichita, Kas). James Severe Conway, the second son of Thomas and Ann Conway, was the first United States surveyor general of public lands, for the district of Arkansas, and after- ward the first Governor of the State of Arkansas, and he died at his residence, at Walnut Hill, La Fayette County, Ark., on March 3, 1855, and was there buried; his widow subsequently died, and was also buried there. Next came Frederick Rector Conway, the fourth child, and third son mentioned, and following him was John Rector Conway, the fourth son, who was a physician of high standing, and died and was buried in San Fran- cisco, Cal. Then came William Conway, before mentioned, and afterward Sarah Hundley Conway, whose first husband was Joseph M. Sheppard, who was a merchant, and later, until his death, a surveyor of public lands of the United States, and is buried in Mount Holly cemetery, at Little Rock, Ark., leaving surviving him his widow and three children: Thomas C. Sheppard (who was a first lieutenant in the Confederate Army, during the last Civil War, and was killed in battle, near Atlanta, Ga.), and his younger brother, William A. Sheppard (who was a soldier in a regiment of Confederate troops of Texas, died while in service at Pine Bluff, Ark., and was buried there). His daughter, Ann Elizabeth Sheppard, first married Thomas Cryar, a cotton planter on Big Red River, Ark., and some years after his death, she married Dr. Bronson, of Columbia, Hempstead County, Ark., and they now live, near Los Angeles, Cal., where Dr. Bronson is a pract- icing physician. Next came Thomas Asbury Conway, before mentioned. All of the relatives of Francis H. Conway, herein referred to, are dead. Elias Nelson Conway, the seventh son was auditor of public accounts of the State of Arkansas twelve years, and afterward Governor of the State of Arkansas for eight years, and went out of office November 14, 1860, since which time he has declined to hold any office, and is still living in Little Rock, Ark. Mary Ann Conway married William Pelham, who was United States surveyor general for the district of Arkansas, and after the acquisition of New Mexico and the adjoining country to the Pacific Coast was appointed surveyor general of the public lands of the United States for the district established, with the office at Santa Fe, N. M., and held the office until he resigned, and returned to his home, near Manchack Springs, Tex., where he died, leaving his widow and one child: Mrs. Teneyck (who is also a widow), surviving him, and they are both still living. Thus all of the ten children of Thomas and Ann Conway, the grandfather and grandmother of Francis H. Conway, are mentioned. Thomas and Ann Conway were natives of Virginia, and their children were all natives of Greene County, Tenn.
J. J. Culbertson, manager of the Southern Cotton Oil Company, Little Rock, Ark., has been a resident of that city ever since the erection of the mill. He is a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, which he left when very young, and took up his abode in New York City, where he was reared and spent the greater portion of his life. While there he was engaged in the dry-goods commission business, and this his business tact and enterprise made very successful. Continuing in that line until the year 1882, he entered into the cotton-seed oil trade, and first located at Paris, Tex., where he joined in with a party of capital- ists from Montgomery, Ala., erecting the cotton-seed oil-mill at that point, under the firm name of Culbertson, Gaston & Co. This mill was absorbed by the American Cotton Oil Trust, and some time afterward the Southern Cotton Oil Company was organized, with Mr. Culbertson as manager of the Little Rock mill, which is now one of the principal industries in that section. In secret societies he is a member of the American Legion of Honor, Royal Arcanum, and also belongs to the Mechanics' Building & Loan Association. Mr. Culbertson's marriage occurred in 1881, to Miss Emily Lee, of Plainfield, N. J. Three children have been born to their union: Emily, John J., Jr., and Florence. Mrs. Culbertson is a devout Christian lady, and a member of the First Baptist Church.
Charles E. Cunningham, a well-known resident of Little Rock, Ark., was born in Frederick County, Md., July 1, 1823, and was one of five children, four sons and one daughter, born to James Cunningham and wife. Capt. James Cunningham was a British officer, and came to America shortly after the War of 1812. He located in Frederick County, Md., and there married a Miss Catherine Campbell, a native of Maryland. The daughter and Charles (the subject of this sketch) are the surviving members of this family, the father, James Cunningham, having died in 1833 and the mother in 1834. After her mother's death, Miss Cunningham went to live with and was chaperoned by Mrs. Jane Washington, at Mount Vernon, and afterward married Mrs. Washington's nephew, Thomas B. Washington, of Jefferson County, Va. During the war, Mrs. Washington was living at Charlestown, Va., but was banished out of the lines, and also lost two sons with Stonewall Jackson. She is now residing in England. Charles E. was educated in the schools of Maryland and Virginia, receiving a practical English and classical education. In 1849 he was married to Miss Elizabeth A. Jones. Mrs. Cunningham died in 1883. By this union eight children were born, three sons and five daughters: Kate C. (living at home and now editing the Woman's Chronicle, a popular paper of Little Rock), Nannie R. (wife of S. B. Sparks, of Warrensburg, who is State senator of his district), Mollie, (unmarried, died at the age of twenty-one), James W, (living at Sedalia, and is assist- ant paymaster of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad), Bessie (wife of John J. Cockrell, a son of Senator Cockrell, of Missouri, and living in New Mexico), George E. (holding a responsible position in the establishment of Thomas W. Baird, of Little Rock, Ark), Nettie (wife of J. E. Clark, of Warrensburg) and Charles F. (at home). Mr. Cunningham was in the first immigration to California, across the plains, in 1849, and, after his arrival, engaged in freighting with Mexican pack trains, and mining. He returned in 1853, having been quite successful. In 1854 he moved to Johnson County, Mo., but, his eyesight failing to some extent, in 1862 he went to St. Louis, and placed him- self under the care of Dr. Pope, a celebrated occulist, deriving great benefit from the treatment received. He resided there until 1865, when he moved to Little Rock, and engaged in the lumber traffic, owning and operating a saw-mill, planing-mill, etc. In this departure he was also fortunate, and has since retired from business. The school board of Little Rock found in him an officient and influential member, and one whose opinion was never far from right. His first vote for president was cast for Henry Clay, but after coming to Arkansas he was a Democrat, through the reconstructive days, then going over to Peter Cooper, in 1876. Since that time he has been a third party man, and, though stanch to his party principles, he takes no special interest in local politics. In 1882 Mr. Cunningham was nominated by the Greenback party, to mae the race for congressman at large against Breckenridge, and in 1883 the Wheelers nominated him to make the race for Governor against Hughes and Judge Gregg. At the Cincinnati convention, held in May, 1888, he was nominated on the Union Labor ticket for vice-president. It is quite unnecessary to add that Mr. Cunningham is a popular gentleman, for his career through life, as a public and private citizen, has been an enviable one, and his record such as any might be proud to possess.
Isaac A. Dale, one of the oldest living citizens of Little Rock and one of the eminently respectable men of the county, was born in Middle Tennessee on January 1, 1823, and reared on the farm, where he remained until eighteen years of age. He then served an apprenticeship at the carpenter's trade, working at this until 1847 in Nashville, Tenn., after which he commenced steamboating as an engineer. He settled in Little Rock, January, 1840, and traveled up and down the Mississippi River and all its tributaries for twenty years, and can relate many interesting incidents connected with his trips. He then took charge of the steam fire-engine at Little Rock, ran it over twenty years, when he had to give it up on account of failing health. To prevent ennui, he erected a small store, and this he conducted for some time. During the late war he was a member of the State militia. He selected for his companion in life Miss Nancy F. Long, and four children are the fruits of this union: Drucilla R. (wife of L. M. Kumpe), Matthias A., John L. and Horace G. Mr. Dale is the son of John E. and Anna F. (Green) Dale, natives of Eastern Maryland, born in 1785 and 1795, respectively. The parents moved to Tennessee in 1809, and there the father followed agricultural pursuits. He was a powerful man, was six feet one inch in height, and weighed 205 pounds. He died in 1840. The mother's death occurred in 1873. Twelve children were born to this union, nine of whom grew to maturity. The paternal grandfather was of Welsh descent, and lived for many years in Snowhill, Md., and served four years in the Revolutionary War. Isaac A. Dale has a powder-horn used by his grandfather at that time. The maternal grandfather was captain of a ship, and died and was buried at sea.
Monte C. Davies was born in Decatur, Ill., in 1856, being a son of L. and Elizabeth (Carter) Davies, natives of Maryland and Kentucky, respectively. Moving to Macon County, Ill., in 1855, the senior Davies came to Little Rock in 1871, and was senior member of of the book and stationery firm of Davies and Son & Co., in which business he was engaged up to the time of his death, in 1887. He was the father of five children, three of whom are still living: A. A. (who continues in the business), M. C. (our subject) and Leonidas. Mrs. Davies died in 1873. Monte Davies was but fifteen years of age when his parents moved to Little Rock. He then attended school until entering the store when his father and bro- ther, where he remained until 1880, being appointed mail carrier at that time, and two years later finance clerk under Postmaster Edgerton; afterward he was made money-order clerk, and finally assistant postmaster. In 1884, while in the postoffice, he entered into partnership with T. B. Rayburn, a photograph artist of Little Rock. In 1889 the firm dissolved partnership, and Mr. Davies has since continued the business alone, and has been very successful. He is probably the only artist in the South who takes life-size pictures direct from the camera, having the largest camera west of the Mississippi. Mr. Davies is a member of Bayard Lodge No. 8, A. F. & A. M. He is a prominent Democrat and a highly respected citizen.
Dr. Roderick L. Dodge, one of the earliest citizens of Little Rock, was born in Hartland, Vt., on September 7, 1808, and grew to manhood in that place. He graduated from Dartsmouth College in 1834, after taking a full course in medicine there, and subsequently at the Philadelphia Medical college. In 1835 he went as a missionary physician to labor among the Indians, under the patronage of the "American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions." After some years spent among the Creeks and Cherokees on our western border, he was induced to enter the United States army as surgeon, at Forts Gibson and Coffee. In 1842 he came to Little Rock, and located here to practice his profession, afterward embarking in the drug business upon the site where Carroll's shoe-store now stands, on East Markham Street. In later years, he was engaged in a private banking business, and at one time was the only banker in the city. Dr. Dodge remained in the drug business for over thirty years, at the end of which time he sold out to what is now the C. J. Lincoln Drug Company, and has retired from business for about fifteen years. He was one of the origin- ators of the old Little Rock Gas Company, and was always interested in the upbuilding of his city, several of its finest brick blocks having been erected by him. Dr. Dodge was never a politician, but was called upon by his friends and citizens to act as alderman and mayor. He is a man of sterling worth and honesty, always self-dependent and straight- forward. He was made a member of Western Star Lodge No. 2, of Little Rock, in 1843, and from that time to this, has advanced in the fraternity. He is also a member of Union Chapter No.2, Occidental Council No. 1 and Hugh de Payne Commandery, of which he was Eminent Commander at one time, all of Little Rock. In these orders he has held nearly all of the offices at different times, and for a great many years was Grand Treasurer of all the Masonic grand bodies. In 1878, on account of ill-health, he resigned every office he was holding at that time, but by a vote of the Grand Lodge, he was made a permanent member, and at their request a fine portrait of himself hangs on the wall at their headquarters. Dr. Dodge was also treasurer of St. John's College for several years, and for about forty- four years has been a ruling elder in the First Presbyterian Church of this city, having been largely interested in the development of that congregation, and devoted to its interests ever since. He was married to Miss Emmeline Bradshaw, a native of New England, who accompanied him West. They were the parents of two children: Ellen E. (who afterward married the Rev. WIlliam A. Sample, of Fort Smith, but who died about two years ago) and Dr. S. D. Dodge, a practicing physician of Little Rock. Some time after his first wife's death, Dr. Dodge married Miss Eliza Bradshaw, by whom he had eight children, six of whom are yet living, viz: George E. (A prominent attorney of this city), Mary S. (wife of Col. William G. Whipple, mayor of Little Rock), Anna E. (wife of Fred S. Staff, a well-known attorney of Franklin, Ind.), Lucy J. (wife of D. L. Gray, a planter of Pulaski County, residing in Little Rock), Emma J. (widow of Charles E. Kidder) and Minnie (wife of Gen. B. W. Green, of the treasury department at Washington, D. C.). Dr. Dodge is still living, at the age of eighty-one years, and enjoying comfortable health, as is his estimable wife. They are among the oldest residents of Central Arkansas, and are highly esteemed by every one.
Rev. Dr. John Dye is the efficient superintendent of the State blind asylum at Little Rock, of which institution he has been in charge since the year 1842. His early career was not devoid of those hardships and trials which marked the early life of the majority of the prominent men of today, but he has nobly surmounted the many obstacles strewn in his pathway, and in his present position, as superintendent of the blind asylum at Little Rock, he has shown himself to be eminently fitted to discharge the duties of this responsible place. During the Civil War, he was an active participant on the side of the Confederacy, and served first under Gen. Hardee, and later under Newton. While at Bates- ville Ark., he was taken prisoner by the Federals, and remained in captivity until the close of the war. Upon returning home he engaged in teaching school, continuing for two years, then joined the ministry, having from his earliest boyhood has a desire to become a minister of the Gospel, and in this capacity became distinguished. He remained in the White River Conference until 1883, then came to Little Rock, and became connected with the Arkansas Methodist, a weekly journal published in the interests of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and was associated as editor with A. R. Winfield. The name of Dr. Dye has become a familiar one throughout the State, for he has been an active advocate of all modern reforms, and through the columns of his paper has fearlessly expressed his views of matters and things at all times. He was elected to his present position in the asylum in 1866, and while filling this position has found a useful field for his talents and energies. Upon taking charge of the establishment, there were only fifty-six students, whereas now there are 156 regular attendants. Dr. Dye is an active member of the I. O. O. F., the Royal Arcanum and the K. of P. His father, Henry C. Dye, was born in Fairfax County, Va., and came to Arkansas the year before it was admitted into the Union as a State. He was a member of the State legislature at one time, and was instrumental in building the Iron Mountain & Southern Railroad. He also located and classified all the land north of the Little Red River to the Missouri. His wife was Miss Dorma Matthews.
Michael W. Eagan, chief of the Little Rock fire department, was born in Knego County, Ireland, on March 31, 1850, and is the son of John and Catherine Eagan. The mother died shortly after Michael's birth; and when he was at the age of three years, the father came to America with the balance of his family and located at Memphis, Tenn., where he died in 1859. Michael W. Eagan was reared in Memphis, and educated at the public schools of that city. When eighteen years of age, he moved to St. Louis, in order to better complete his education in the printer's trade, and resided there for ten years, being employed mostly as a pressman. In 1878 he came to Little Rock, and entered into the employ of the Democrat, and later on with the Union Printing Company, in which concern he was a stockholder. He afterward returned to the Democrat, and remained with them until the year 1888, when he was elected chief of the fire department by the "boys," having previously served two and one-half years as volunteer chief of the department without pay. The department now numbers about two hundred men, three engines, four hose-carts and two hook-and-ladder trucks, and during the Southwestern Fireman's Association Tournament at Clinton, Mo., the Kramer Hose Company captured the second prize for coupling, over a great number of competitors. Since 1878, the year that Chief Eagan first became a volunteer member, the fire department has been greatly improved, horses being purchased, as well as engines, trucks, etc., and a perfect discipline being maintained. He is considered an efficient officer, a gentleman, and enjoys a widespread popularity. Mr. Eagan was married in St. Louis, in 1873, to Miss Bridget Sullivan, by whom he has had five children, two yet living, Maggie and Nellie. His wife and children are members of the Catholic Church. In secret societies Chief Eagan belongs to Missouri Lodge No. 1, A. F. & A. M., at St. Louis, the oldest Lodge west of the Mississippi River.
Hon. James Philip Eagle, Governor of Arkansas was born in Maury County, Tenn., August 10, 1887, but has been a resident of Arkansas for half a century. He is a son of James Eagle, whose father, Joseph Eagle, a native of North Carolina, was a son of Philip Eagle, who was the son of Adam Eagle, who was the son of Marcus Eagle, who came to America from Switzerland in 1743 and settled in Pennsylvania. Philip Eagle served as a private soldier in the Continental army. After that event he settled in Rowan County, N. C., where he made his home until the time of his death. His son, Joseph Eagle, grandfather of James P. Eagle, left North Carolina in the year 1829 and located in Maury County, Tenn., where he farmed and also followed his trade of brickmason. He was united in marriage to Miss Cena Furr, also a native of North Carolina, by whom he had a large family of children. In 1841 Joseph Eagle and his family removed from Tennessee and came to Arkansas, where he resided until his death, in 1844, his estimable wife surviving him until the year 1861. James Eagle, the eldest child of this family and the father of Gov. Eagle, was eighteen years of age when he left North Carolina for Tennessee, where he lived ten years. Coming to Arkansas in 1839, he first located in Pulaski County, now Lonoke, about twenty miles northeast of Little Rock, and there opened up a farm, which called he followed all his life with success. During the Civil War he went to Texas as a refugee, and died near Austin, in the State, in the fall of 1863. James Eagle was a man of remarkable energy and perseverance, as was illustrated by his career through life. He started as a poor man, but by using good judgment in his financial transactions and stock deals, slowly built up a competence and then a fortune. At the opening of the Civil War he owned about thirty slaves, besides valuable farms, stock and other property, and was one of the most substantial men in this section of country. His wife was, before marriage, a Miss Charity Swaim, of North Carolina, who moved to Tennessee with her parents, William and Polly (Wetherby) Swaim, and whose death occurred in 1880, in Lonoke County. James Philip Eagle was but two years old when his parents moved to Arkansas. He was reared on a farm, and had his full share of the hard work that usually falls to the lot of a farmer's son, such as splitting rails, log rolling, building fences, plowing, etc., and remained with his father pursuing the duties of farm life until the outbreak of the rebellion. He then enlisted in the Confederate army, becoming a member of the Fifth Arkansas State Troops, though shortly afterward he was transferred to the Second Arkansas Mounted Riflemen, commanded by Col. James McIntosh. He entered the ranks as a private soldier, but when a vacancy occurred, in the fall of 1861, he was elected by the members of his company to fill the position of second lieutenant, and in the spring of 1862 was promoted to the captaincy. He subsequently obtained the rank of major in recognition of his gallant services, and remained in that position until the Confederate Congress passed a law consolidating the Confederate forces, on account of the ranks being thinned; when Gen. D. H. Reynold's brigade was consolidated into one regiment, known as the First Arkansas Mounted Regiment, dismounted, of which H. C. Bunn was appointed colonel and James P. Eagle lieutenant-colonel. In this position Col. Eagle surrendered with his regiment at Greensboro, N. C. During his service he was wounded at Peach Tree Creek, near Atlanta, and laid up for over two months by the wound. Previous to this, on December 31, 1862, he was captured at the battle of Murfreesboro, Tenn., and sent to Camp Chase, Ohio, and subsequently to Fort Delaware, where he was exchanged. His actual service covered the period from the battle with Apotholahola, in the Indian Territory, until the surrender, taking part in the battles at Pea Ridge, Richmond, Murfreesboro, Chickamauga (under Gen. Joe Johnston from Dalton to Atlanta), and (after recovering from his wound), at Franklin, Nashville and Bentonville, N. C., besides a number of others of lesser note. After the war he returned to find that his father had died during his absence, that the remainder of the family had gone to Texas, and that his home was broken up. He pluckily went to work, however, to put his farmer's home in some recognizable shape, and built himself a cabin in which to live. He cultivated the land, and fortune seemed to so smile upon him that he was soon enabled to purchase more land. As the years went by, his success increased, and he added to his lands until now he owns several thousand acres. Seeing the necessity of a more thorough education, he attended school for one year and a half after the war, part of this time being spent at the Mississippi College (Baptist denomination), at Clinton, Miss., he being thirty-five years of age at that time. In 1867 he united with the Baptist Church and in 1870 was ordained to preach. Since then his labors have been given to districts where the denomination was not able to pay a minister, and where the Gospel was needed, never asking and never receiving a cent for his ministerial work. He has presided over the Arkansas Baptist State Convention for ten successive years. During his absence in Kentucky, in 1872, he received an unsolicited and unexpected nomination from the Democratic party for the State legislature, and after making a canvass of the district was elected by that body. He served his term, and also a term in the called legislature of 1874, being appointed, with two others, by that body to represent the State and adjust the claims arising out the the Brooks-Baxter war. In 1877 Col. Eagle was again a member of the State legislature, and in 1865 was once more elected to the same position, the last time being elected speaker. In 1888 he received the nomination of his party for the Governorship of Arkansas, after a five days' session of the convention, and on the 187th ballot. He was elected by a good majority. The Governor was married, on January 3, 1882, to Miss Mary Kavanaugh Oldham, of Madison County, Ky. Mrs. Eagle is one of the most cultivated and charming ladies of Arkansas, Like her sister Kentuckians, her beauty and womanly graces are proverbial, and her gentle, kindly disposition has won her many friends in every nook and corner of the grand State over which her husband presides. She is well fitted to be the wife of the Governor of Arkansas, whose administration has been just and highly satisfactory to the people.
R. A. Edgerton, postmaster at Little Rock, and a resident of that city since the year 1865, was born in Pawlet, Rutland County, Vt., on October 27, 1840, and is the son of Marson Edgerton, also a native of the same State, as was his father, Reed Edgerton, born in 1790, his father being Jacob Edgerton, born in Norwich, Conn., in 1761, who was a son of Simeon Edgerton, a captain in the Continental army during the Revolution, who fought at the battle of New London, his birth occurring in 1732; he is a son of Joseph Edgerton, also a native of Norwich, Conn., and in fact the genealogy of this family can be traced back to Puritanical days. Marson Edgerton removed from his native State and went to New York City, where he embarked in the tea business. His death occurred in 1876, at the age of sixty years, and he, like all the other male members of the Edgerton family, from Simeon down, who have died, are buried in the little cemetery at Pawlet, Vt. Marson Edgerton was married to Miss Betsy Melissa Brown, by whom he had one son, Rollin A, (the principal in this sketch). His first wife died on July 8, 1847. He subsequently married Miss Lucy Gregory, by whom he had two children: Edward and Charles, the latter still living. This wife died in 1861. Rollin A. Edgerton was reared in his native town, and educated at the public schools at that place, and also at the St. Lawrence Academy at Potsdam, N. Y. After finishing his course of study, at the age of seventeen years, he went to Fremont, Ohio, where he obtained employment as clerk in a hardware store. He remained with the same firm until the Civil War commenced, and then, in response to President Lincoln's call for 75,000 men for three months' service, he enlisted as a private in Company F, Eighth Ohio Volunteers, and when mustered out held the rank of sergeant. He immediately afterward was mustered in the three years' service as sergeant in the Seventy-second Ohio, and then promoted to a second lieutenancy, and afterward first lieutenant, taking part in the battles at Shiloh, Siege of Corinth, with Grant at Grand Gulf, the first battle at Jackson, Siege of Vicksburg, second battle at Jackson, besides a number of others. He was granted the first permit to discharge army officers to trade at Little Rock, and located here in business shortly after the war had ended, remaining in mercantile life until the year 1870, when he was commissioned receiver of public moneys for the Little Rock district by President Grant. He creditably filled this office for four years and was appointed postmaster by President Arthur, on December 31, 1881, serving four years in that office to the satisfaction of the people. Mr. Edgerton was elected secretary of the Little Rock Cooperage Company in 1879, and was connected with the Exchange Bank of that city, serving as its vice-president. He was also president of the Baring Cross Bridge Company, until its purchase by Jay Gould, and was one of the directors of the Iron Mountain Railroad during the same period. On January 1, 1866, Mr. Edgerton was married to Miss Emma A. Downs, a daughter of James Downs, of Fremont, Ohio. Two sons were born to this marriage, Charles R. and Morgan B. Mrs. Edgerton and her youngest son attend the First Presbyterian Church. Col. Edgerton is a member of the G. A. R., and also the Loyal Legion. He was reappointed by President Harrison to his former position of postmaster at Little Rock, in August, 1879, and took charge of the office on September 1, succeeding Col. Thomas W. Newton.
R. M. Enders, M. D., ranks among the foremost of the leading physicians of Little Rock, and his career as a physician, no less than as a citizen, has been of widespread benefit to the community. He was born in Baton Rouge, La., in 1846, and there, at an early age laid the foundation for a good literary education, under Prof. McGruder, one of the most eminent educators of the South. At the age of nineteen years, he commenced the study of medicine under his father, Dr. P. M. Enders, and later attended medical lectures at the University of Louisiana at New Orleans, and upon leaving this institution, in 1869, he bore with honor the title of Doctor. His first location was made on the Arkansas River, below Pine Bluff, but after a residence there of a few years he removed to Dardanelle, remaining in this location four years. He has established an enviable reputation over a large portion of the State during his practice here, but at this point in his career, he was obliged to seek a more congenial climate on account of the health of his family, and with this end in view, he went to Orange County, Fla. After remaining here five years and finding his wife's health no better, he removed to Southern Texas, and finally came to Little Rock, where he at once began the practice of his profession. Dr. Enders was married in Arkansas, to Miss Editha Kimbrough, by whom he has the following children: John K., Samuel M., Ethel B., Eddie N., Robert M., Jr., Griffith and Henry Bennett.
John C. England, private secretary of Gov. J. P. Eagle, was born in Brownsville, the old county seat of Lonoke County, on January 18, 1850, and is a son of William Harrison England, of Georgia. The father was a prominent merchant in Kosciusko County, Miss., for a number of years before coming to Arkansas, and arrived in the latter State in the year 1849, locating at Brownsville, then in Prairie County. He established the first hotel ever opened in that town, and was afterward elected town treasurer, holding that office until his election as county clerk, which position he filled up to the time of his death, in April, 1860, at the age of forty-five years. In politics he was an old-line Whig, but was elected to his last office as an independent candidate, defeating one of the most popular men in that county, William Goodman. He was three times re-elected, and at the time of his death the office was filled by his former opponent. The elder England was married to Miss Laureva Boyette, a lady of French descent, who was born in Georgia. They were the parents of seven children, of whom four are yet living, and all residents of Arkansas. The mother is still living, and resides in Lonoke County with two of her children. John C. England was reared in Brownsville and educated at the schools of that place and at Hickory Plains, but his schooling was interrupted by the Civil War, which proved very disastrous to his family. During that event he obtained a position as clerk with the firm of Smart & Chamberlain, at Huntersville (now Argenta), but soon afterward went to Hicks Station and established himself in business, remaining there until the surrender. He then joined his brother in a business venture, but finding that his inclin- ation toward the law was too strong to resist, he determined to make that his calling in life. For several years he studied law in the office of Messrs. Gantt & Bronaugh, the leading law firm in Prairie County, and in 1870 was admitted to the bar, and began to practice his profession at Devall's Bluff, where he remained until 1873. He next came to Lonoke, and practiced with success until the year 1887, being attorney for the Little Rock branch of the Cotton Belt Railroad, and during that year moved to Little Rock, where he was shortly afterward appointed private secretary to Gov. Eagle. Mr. England became business manager of the Devall Liberal while at that place, which paper succumbed, after several months of publication, from lack of support, although one of the brightest news- papers in that section. In 1872 he actively assisted in establishing the Prairie County Democrat, and was local editor and business manager, and six months later bought out his partner's interest and moved to Lonoke County, where the name was changed to the Lonoke Democrat, and in 1879 was sold to his brother, Mr. J. E. England. Mr. England has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since his twenty-first year, and has passed through several degrees. He also belongs to the Knights Templar, Knights of Pythias and Knights of Honor. In January, 1875, he was married to Miss Nellie Chapline, of Lonoke County, who was born in Greenville, S. C. Five children have been born to this marriage, of whom four are yet living: Wilhelmine, Nellie, Ralph and an infant daughter, Maud. In religious belief Mr. England is a member of the Baptist Church, and is a liberal contributor to all religious and educational enterprises.
Chief Justice E. H. English (deceased) was born March 6, 1816, in Madison County, Ala. His parents moved to Limestone County, near Athens, when he was still young and resided there until their death, young English being reared on a plantation and attending the public schools of that county until he had attained his fourteenth year. He then completed his academic education, at the town of Athens, but even afterward pursued in private the classics and higher branches of English study. He was greatly aided in this by Mr. James Frazier, a graduate of the famous University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and also of the no less noted University of Virginia. When making his choice of a profession, Mr. English unhesitatingly adopted the law and entered the office of the Hon. George H. Houston, who was afterward Governor and United States Senator for Alabama. Mr. English was admitted to the bar in 1839, and when only a little over twenty-one years of age, was elected to the State legislature from Limestone County, Ala. He was afterward re-elected for one term, and at its expiration commenced to practice his profession at Athens, where he remained until the year 1844, then coming to Little Rock, Ark. At this place his career in the law was one of the most brilliant and successful in the legal annals of Arkansas. In the fall of 1844, he was appointed by the supreme court reporter of its decisions, and during his occupancy of this position, published eight volumes of his reports, from the Sixth to the Thirteenth Arkansas, inclusive. In 1846 he was elected by a joint vote of two houses of the Arkansas legislature to digest the laws, and performed this work to the entire satis- faction of every one in eighteen months. In 1848 he was a candidate for associate justice of the supreme court, but was defeated by Judge Walker. In November, 1854, he was elected chief justice for six years, to fill the unexpired term of Chief Justice G. C. Watkins, and until the close of Judge Watkins' term, had the honor of presiding with and over the judge who had defeated him in 1848. In 1860 he was re-elected unanimously for a full term of eight years, but at the close of the war, he resumed his law practice at Little Rock, continuing until 1874, when he was again elected chief justice. In the allotment for classification, under the constitution of 1874, he drew the middle or six years' lot, and that term expired with 1880. The same year he was re-elected without opposition by the people, for a term of eight years, and on September 1, 1884, his labors ceased, and he was called before the presence of a just and merciful God, to be judged as he had judged others. Judge English was twice married; first in Athens, Ala., September 30, 1840, to Miss Julia A. Fisher, one of Athen's most beautiful and accomplished daughters, who died in 1871. His second marriage occurred in July, 1872, to Mrs. Susan A. Wheless, of Nashville, Tenn., an attractive and cultivated lady, who survives him. Asa Freemason, Judge English was eminently distinguished. He joined the fraternity at Athens, in 1843, and when quite a youth, he was made Master of his lodge. At Little Rock he affiliated with the Western Star Lodge No. 2, and in 1845 was elected Master of that lodge, which office he held for many years. In 1840 he was elected Grand Master of the State, and after a lapse of ten years, was again elected to that office for ten years, at the end of which time he was re-elected. He held the chief place in his Chapter as a Royal Arch Mason, as also in his Commandery as a Knight Templar, and had passed through the various degrees. He was elected General Grand High Priest of the General Grand Chapter of the United States, and his name is familiar to Masons over the entire world; the Masonic decisions of Grand Master English having been translated and read by many tongues and places, the very pages of which were unknown to him. Judge English was a Christian gentleman, and had joined the Methodist Church early in life in his native State.
P. D. English, deputy clerk of the supreme court of Arkansas, was born in Athens, Ala., January 2, 1846, and is a son of Chief Justice Elbert H. and Julia (Fisher) English. He was reared in Little Rock, and has resided in that city the greater part of his life. At the age of fourteen years he left school, and was appointed deputy clerk of the supreme court, and continued in that capacity until 1864, when he joined Gen. Fagan's escort, and remained with him until the close of the war. After that event he returned to Little Rock, and worked for the firm of Scott, Lawson & Co., where he remained for several years, and then commenced the study of law in his father's office. After being licensed to practice, in 1867, in continued in his profession until 1870, and then entered the Washington and Lee University at Lexington, Va., from which institute he graduated the following year. He next returned to Little Rock, and entered into partnership with his father, under the firm name of E. H. & P. D. English, but in 1873 he moved to Texas, where he resided for one year and then came back to Little Rock. Mr. English then turned his attention to farming, continuing in that occupation until 1880, when he was appointed deputy clerk of the Arkansas Supreme Court, by L. E. Barber, clerk of that court, and has served in that capacity ever since. Mr. English is also secretary of the Arkansas Collecting, Detective and General Intelligence Association at Little Rock. In secret societies he is Chief Templar of Little Rock Lodge No. 1, I. O. G. T., and Grand Treasurer of the Grand Lodge I. O. G. T., of Arkansas. In religious belief he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and is secretary of the board of stewards. Mr. English was married on February 15, 1887 to Miss Katie L. Speirs, of Columbus, Miss., by whom he has had two children: Marguerite and Katherine. Mrs. English is a member of the First Presbyterian Church.
Thomas Essex, one of the most prominent men of Little Rock, was born in St. Louis, Mo., December 15, 1837. His father, James C., was born in 1811, and his mother, whose maiden name was Rebecca Lee, was born in Ireland in 1818, the youngest of fifteen children. She came to America when only nine years of age with grandparents (Lee) and settled in Illinois near St. Louis, afterward moving to that city. The grandfather, Thomas Essex, was a cele- brated physician in England, who came to this county and settled in Tennessee at an early day. The father of our subject left home when a boy, and settled in St. Louis, where he still resides, at the advanced age of seventy-eight, and his estimable wife, seventy-one years old. Thomas received his primary education in the private schools at St. Louis, and at the high school at Arcadia, Mo. In 1854 he entered McKendree College, at Lebanon, Ill., where he received the degree of A. B. in the class of 1858, and degree of A. M. in 1860. After his graduation he read law in the office of Hon. Thomas C. Johnson, of St. Louis, and was honored with the degree of LL. B., in the Cincinnati Law School, in 1861. Mr. Essex then settled in Ironton, near Arcadia, Mo., where he resided for some fifteen years, part of the time teaching at the Arcadia school, and later giving his attention to the practice of law. In conjunction with W. H. Winfield, afterward a resident lawyer of Little Rock, Ark., he edited and published for some time the Iron County Register, in the interests of the Democratic party. This paper is still in existence, and is published by the editor to whom it was sold as soon as the county went Democratic. In June, 1866, Mr. Essex was married to Miss Adeline V., Daughter of Benj. and Caroline (Murry) Hypes, natives of Virginia, and residents of Lebanon, Ill. To this union one child has been born, Carrie Lee, an attractive lady, who has been given every advantage of schooling, having graduated at the Little Rock University, in the class of 1898. Both the parents of Mr. and Mrs. Essex are living; the former celebrated their golden wedding in September, 1884, her parents en- joying a similar anniversary in November of the same year. Mr. Essex was elected, in 1867, to fill an unexpired term in the Missouri Senate, representing the then Twenty-fourth senatorial district, embracing the counties of Iron, Madison, Wayne, Butler, Reynolds, Shannon, Carter, Ripley and Oregon. He was re-elected in 1870, for the full term of four years, and the last two years of that service was president pro tem of that body. In Dec- ember, 1875, Mr. Essex moved to Little Rock, and took charge of the land department of the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railway, and in January, 1876, was regularly appointed land commissioner thereof. In 1881 he was made tax commissioner of the Missouri Pacific, in Arkansas, in addition to his position as land commissioner. The affairs of the land department of the Little Rock & Fort Smith were added to his charge in February, 1889. After coming to Little Rock, Mr. Essex became a member of the order of Knights of Honor, and is now Past Dictator; Little Rock Lodge No. 452; of the Royal Arcanum, now Past Regent; Quapaw Council No. 97, and of the Knights of Pythias, now Past Grand Commander and Supreme Representative of Damon Lodge No. 3, also charter member of Pioneer Division No. 1, U, R. and A. D. C., for Arkansas, Staff of Major General, with the rank of Colonel. He is President of Section 594 E. R., and was elected Grand Chancellor at the organization of the Grand Lodge of Arkansas, in 1881. In 1883 he was elected Supreme Representative and re- elected in 1887. At the Supreme Lodge, in session at Cincinnati, in 1888, he was elected a member of the board of control of the Endowment Rank for a term of two years.
William Farrell, Sr., an extensive lumber merchant of Wrightsville, is a native of Canada, and came to Arkansas in 1880, from Ludington, Mich. He is sole proprietor of the well-known Wrightsville mills (saw and planing), the property possessions also embracing one dry-kiln and a private railroad, running back into the timber regions about nine miles. This railroad will eventually extend twenty-four miles, in order to reach desirable timber localities. Mr. Farrell owns 51,000 acres of land covered with magnificent forests, which, at the rate of his present astonishing business, must soon be cleared. The business is rapidly increasing, and thought now only seventy-five men are employed, that number will soon be inadequate to carry on the work demanded. The stock invoices not less than $250,000, to which additions are constantly being made. The straightforward and honest method that is manifested in the transaction of his business, ensures for Mr. Farrell, what he well deserves, a liberal and continuous patronage. He is widely and favorably known throughout a wide territory.
Col. A. W. Files, interested in the law, real estate and brokerage business, and one of the leading citizens of Little Rock, was born in Tuscaloosa, Ala., being a son of Oliver and Nancy (Stone) Files, who moved from Tuscaloosa to Ashley County, Ark., in 1848, when their son was nineteen years old. Young Files was educated in the high schools of his native State, but his school-days were terminated upon his parents' removal to Arkansas. He assisted his father upon the plantation in their new home until the fall of 1849, when he entered the mercantile house of Messrs. Cohn & Gellespy, and remained with them until the sheriff of his county induced him to accept a deputy-ship. He served in this capacity for two years, and the two years following had entire charge of the office. In 1858 he was elected clerk of Ashley County, and remained in that position for ten years. During the Civil War he was assigned to the quartermaster's department of the Trans- Mississippi department, and was also under Sandy C, Faulkner (the original Arkansaw Traveler) in the ordnance department. In 1868 Col. Files was removed from office by military order, after which he entered into mercantile life, and also obtained a license to practice law. In commercial circles he was a member of the firm of Files Bros., and subsequently with Files, Boyd & Co. He continued in this dual capacity until the year 1876, when he withdrew and devoted his entire time to law, his practice having assumed fair proportions. It 1874 he was elected to the special session of the legislature, and was one of the hardest workers in that body for a constitutional convention, at the same time declining a nomination as a member of same. In 1880 Col. Files was again elected to the legislature, and in the summer of 1882 he was a candidate for State auditor before the Democratic convention, his principal opponent being Dr. M. M. MaGuire, of Dardanelle. However, Col. Files received the nomination, and was opposed before the people by Mr. H. P. Barry, on the Independent ticket, but he was elected by a majority of 50,000, and in 1884 was nominated by acclamation in the Democratic convention and re-elected by a large majority. He served in that capacity until January, 1887, when he retired from office, and in April of the same year formed a partnership with Mr. H. C. Hinton, formerly book-keeper with Auditor Files, for the purpose of carrying on a real estate and brokerage business. This enterprise has been successful, and the firm enjoy a large business in that line in Little Rock. In July, 1889, Col. Files was elected general manager of the Arkansas Collecting, Detective and General Intelligence Association, a greatly needed and extensive institution, whose business extends throughout the State. In religions faith the Colonel is a member of the Second Baptist Church at Little Rock, and also treasurer of same and superintendent of the Sunday-school. Besides this, he is treasurer of the Arkansas Baptist State Convention, and also of the State Mission Board. He takes great interest in educat- ional matters, and is one of the directors and treasurer of the Ouachita Baptist College, at Arkadelphia. Col. Files was married on June 13, 1854, to Miss Sarah T. C. Crook, daughter of Hon. W. D. Crook, of Drew County. Ten children have been born to their union, of whom five are yet living: Lelia G. (wife of John L. Hawkins), Abbie J. (wife of J. W. Clingman), Ruth, Harry and Ethel. His family are also members of the Baptist Church.
James H. Flemming, real-estate dealer, surveyor and civil engineer, of Little Rock, is a native of Shelby County, Ill., and a son of Peter and Anna (Owens) Flemming, natives of Ohio and Tennessee, respectively. Mr. Flemming went to Illinois in 1829, and engaged in farming. He helped locate the county seat at Shelbyville, and was subsequently elected sheriff, serving in the capacity for eighteen years, after which he was elected county judge, and then judge of the criminal court, thus continuing for twenty-four years. In all, he held offices of public trust and confidence for forty-two years. He died while in the latter position, and when returning home after a day's session, being stricken with heart disease and dying without a struggle. Mr. and Mrs. FLemming were the parents of eleven children, eight of whom are living, and two of whom are residents of this state: James H. (our subject) and Mary (wife of S. G. Oller, a resident of Saline County). Mrs. Flemming died about 1857, at the age of forty-one. James H. was reared in Illinois on a farm, until about twenty years old, after which he clerked in a store nearly a year, and was then elected constable of Jordan Creek district before he was twenty-one, but qualified after reaching his twenty-first birthday. He was deputy sheriff and constable under his father for six years. Coming south, he engaged in trading horses and mules, and later entered into farming in Hernando County, Miss., for eighteen months, when the war broke out and he returned home, as it happened, on the last train on the Illinois Central, which ran from Memphis to Cairo. He then took a contract to furnish Messrs. Hall & Durkee ties for the railroad which was being built east of Shelbyville, and which is now known as the Illinois & St. Louis Railroad. About a year later, he came south and located in Devall's Bluff and Little Rock, and took a contract from the Government to furnish the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad with general supplies, which position he held from July, 1864, until the close of the war. After this he embarked in the mercantile business at Lonoke and Austin, and then purchased a place down the river, and resumed farming a few years. Taking a contract subsequently to build seventy miles of railroad for the Arkansas Central (now the Arkansas Midland), he constructed only thirty miles, as no remuneration was forthcoming and he was obliged to give it up. He was then occupied in farming for two years, after which he was appointed deputy sheriff. In 187- Mr. Flemming was nominated by the Republican Central Committee as candidate for circuit clerk, and was elected, but was counted out by the Democrats. Mr. Flemming is a strong Republican, and is a member of the Lincoln Club of Little Rock, and of the county central committee; he was appointed a delegate from Little Rock to the Liberal Republican National convention at Cincinnati. Of late years he has been a planter, but is now disposing of his stock, and is devoting his time to surveying and civil engineering. He is one of the prime movers in building the Little Rock & Choctaw Railroad, of which he is also one of the directors, and is a member of the Society of Surveyors, Engineers and Architects of Arkansas. Mr. Flemming was married in May, 1877, to Mrs. Cornelia A. Cook. They are the parents of one boy, James, now deceased. Mrs. Flemming is connected with the Second Presbyterian Church.
Hon. Thomas Fletcher, a retired merchant, and one of the most brilliant lawyers that ever practiced before the bar in Arkansas, as well as a pioneer of that State, was born in what is now Randolph County in the year 1819, and is a son of Henry Lewis and Mary (Lindsey) Fletcher, of Tennessee and Kentucky, respectively. The parents were married in Christian County, Ky., and in 1815 moved to what is now Randolph County. In 1825 they moved to that portion of Pulaski County which is now Saline, where the father died in 1840, and the mother followed him in 1856. He was one of the earliest settlers of Arkansas, and became on of its leading citizens and influential men. His father was John G. Fletcher, of Tennessee, who died in Lawrence County, Ark., in 1825, and his father- in-law, Caleb Lindsey, was a native of Christian County, Ky., and one of the earliest settlers of what is now Randolph County, Ark. Thomas Fletcher was the second child in a family of ten. He received a good common-school education in his youth, and on reaching his maturity began teaching school himself. On September 6, 1844, he was married to Lucinda, a daughter of Stephen Beaver, of Henderson County, Tenn., by whom he had a family of ten children, three daughters yet living. After his marriage he settled on a large farm in Owens Township, about fifteen miles west of Little Rock, where is resided until 1869, with the exception of two years, in which he served through the Civil War. Since then he has resided in Little Rock, and intends to make that city his future home for life. Mr. Fletcher is one of the largest land owners in Pulaski County, owning altogether about 2,500 acres. He has 1,000 acres in Owens Township that contain valuable copper, lead and silver deposits, which he is working to some extent, and from which he expects to realize considerable benefit in the near future. He also owns a granite quarry near Little Rock that has proved to be a good investment, and considerably business and residence property in that city. From 1858 to 1862, Mr. Fletcher served as sheriff of Pulaski County, and in 1862 was elected to the State legislature. In 1866 he was again elected sheriff, but after about twenty months service was legislated out. He was licensed to practice law and carry on a real-estate business in 1868, continuing the latter occupation up to 1880. From Nov- ember, 1885 to 1888, he was appointed United States Marshal for the eastern district of Arkansas, and the discharge of his duties while occupying that position, as well as all other public offices that he has held, gave universal satisfaction. Before the war Mr. Fletcher was a Whig, but since that event he has voted the Democratic ticket, and his support of that party has been as strong as it was valuable. He is a member of Magnolia Lodge No. 60, A. F. & A. M., at Little Rock, and the Agricultural Wheel. Mrs. Fletcher, who is a devout Christian lady and attends the church of that name, has been of consid- erable help to her husband, in his active life, by her good advice. Their sons: Henry Lewis (is a prominent planter), Richard (a cotton dealer) and John (who has adopted his father's profession, is treading in the same path cut out by the older man, and is making a fine record in the law). All three of the sons reside in Little Rock, and are among its wealthiest and most prominent citizens. Mr. Fletcher is, perhaps, the best-known citizen of Pulaski County, not only through his wealth and influence, but from his brilliant and honorable political career, which has never been excelled by any man of either party.
John F. Foley, ex-superintendent of Little Rock Cooperage Company. In any reliable history of Pulaski County, the name that heads this sketch must be given an enviable place among the business men of Little Rock. His experience has been varied but at the same time one that reflects credit on him as a man, He was born in Galena, Ind., in 1851, grew to manhood in Lafayette, Ind., and served an apprenticeship as a cooper. He first worked at his trade in 1866, continued the same in Lafayette until 1868, when he went to Louisville, Ky., and there worked at his trade until 1872. He then went to Galveston, Tex., remained there two years, and then went back to Lafayette, where he was married and lived for eight years. He then came to Little Rock, and after working here for about ten days he became superintendent, and continued in that capacity for six years, or until March of the present year (1889), when he embarked in the retail liquor business. He was married to Miss Mary E. Bowman, a native of Delphi, Ind., born on July 1, 1852, and three children are the result of this union: Nina, George and Joseph. Mr. Foley is the son of Samuel H. and Margaret H. (Vail) Foley. The father was born near Lexington, Ky., and worked at the cooper trade in Southern Indiana, Jeffersonville, Greenville and Galena. He was warden of Southern Indiana prison for two years. He was about twenty-five years in business for himself, at Galena and Greenville, Ind. He died September 19, 1889, at Peoria, Ill., where he had been living for four years. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and a Republican in politics. Margaret H, Vail was the daughter of Maj. Joseph Vail, of Galena, Ind., and a native of New Jersey. He was in the War of 1812 from Ohio, and was a farmer in Galena, Ind. The paternal grandfather Foley was a native of the Old Dominion, and for many years ran a flat-boat on the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. He died with yellow fever in Kentucky. The maternal grandfather, a Garrison, was born in England, and died in Indiana. The maternal grandmother was ninety-seven years of age at the time of her death, and the maternal grandfather was one hundred and four. The father was seventy-nine years of age. Mr. Foley is a member of the I. O. O. F.
F. L. French, M. D., city physician, Little Rock, Ark. Although young in years, Dr. French has already made for himself a representative name, and is known all over the county as a successful practitioner. He owes his nativity to Minnesota, where his birth occurred in 1860. Nine years later he came with his parents to Little Rock, and here received his literary education in public schools. He commenced the study of medicine in 1879, in the Industrial University of Arkansas (medical department), and after passing a thorough examination, graduated in 1882. Starting his career as a practitioner in the country, at the end of a year he came to the city, and located in his present place. Here he has built up quite an extensive practice, and is a promising young physician. He was elected city physician in 1885, and has been re-elected each spring since to the satisfaction of all. He was appointed county physician two years previous to his choice as city physician, His extensive practice outside of official duties, and his work as secretary of the city board of health (of which he is an ex officio member), now demand the greater part of his attention, though he is also connected with the State Medical Society and Pulaski County Medical Society. He is a member of the K. of P. The Doctor's father, G. M. French, a native of Canada, is at present a civil engineer, and resides in Hot Springs. Dr. French is prosector of anatomy in the Medical Department of Arkansas Industrial University, and is one of the prominent men of the county.
Jacob Frolich, secretary and manager of the Gazette Publishing Company, Little Rock, is a son of John and Marie Elizabeth (Herrman) Frolich, natives of Bavaria and Prussia, respectively. Mr. Frolich came to America when a little boy, first landing at New Orleans. From there the family went to a point near Vincennes, Ind., on the Wabash River, lived several years at Searcy, Ark., and later on moved to Evansville, where the parents passed on the remainder of their days. Mr. Frolich was educated in private schools, and part of the time by a private tutor. When looking about for some profession to enter, he deter- mined to learn the printer's trade, and had mastered that calling when only sixteen years of age. He then went south, and found employment at St. Louis, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, and several other cities, and worked steadily at his trade until the Civil War commenced. His sympathies being with the South in that struggle for supremacy, he enlisted in the Confederate army, serving the last two years in the first company of the Washington Artillery of New Orleans. After the war was over, he went to Memphis, Tenn., and engaged on the Memphis Appeal, remaining with that paper one year. His next location was at Searcy, Ark., where he established the White County Record, of which he was editor and published for twelve years, and then sold out. In 1878 Mr. Frolich was elected secretary of State, and served three terms successively, or six years in all. In 1885 he was appointed as chief of the mineral division of the general land office at Washington, and one year later was made chief of the financial department of the United States patent office. In June, 1889, he returned to Little Rock, and became interested in the reorganization of the Gazette, and was elected secretary and manager, the position held by him at present. Mr. Frolich was married on September 2, 1869, to Miss Mollie Gaines Finley, a daughter of Dr. John B. Finley. Three children have been born to this union: Pearl, Finley and Herman. In religious belief Mr. Frolich is a Presbyterian, and Mrs. Frolich and her daughter are members of the Episcopal Church at Little Rock. In secret societies he belongs to the Masonic fraternity, at Searcy, Ark. When Mr. Frolich took the position as secretary of State, that office was a burden to the State, but, by the exercise of good common sense and executive ability, he made it pay its own expenses, and even prove a source of revenue. While holding this position, at the solicitations of numerous friends and members of the General Assembly, he wrote several hundred letters to prominent men, in different sections of Arkansas, requesting their individual views as to the best method of deriving a State revenue. Acting upon these replies, and guarding against any infringement of the (rather limited) State constitution, he formed the general revenue bill which was adopted by the next general Assembly, and is the one now in use, with the exception of some modifications, made to meet the demands of a rapidly growing State. Personally, Col. Frolich is a man highly respected, and one of the leading citizens of Little Rock, though modest and unobtrusive in his manner.
Walter A. Galloway, one of the leading merchants and a popular resident of Pulaski County, was born in that county on November 22, 1844, and was educated in the schools of that neighborhood. At the early age of seventeen years, he gave up his books to follow the fortunes of war, and enlisted in Company F, of the First Arkansas Mounted Riflemen, his uncle, M. G. Galloway, commanding the company. His experiences through that struggle were many and varied, and on several occasions he was wounded while in the thick of battle. He was in the battles of Richmond, Ky., Pea Ridge, Helena, Ark.; Mansfield, La.; Pleasant Hill, La., and a number of minor skirmishes. After the war was over, he returned to Pulaski County, and commenced farming up to the year 1871. He then went into business at what is now Galloway Station, on the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad, and opened up a general merchandise store, to town being named in his honor. He continued in business at that point for three years, and then moved to Kerrs, in Lonoke County, where he entered into the same line of business in connection with farming. In 1879 he came to his present place in Pulaski County, and established a general merchandise business in which he has been very successful ever since. He carries an excellent stock of goods, valued at about $5,000, and owns something like $7,000 worth of real estate in his county, consisting of 820 acres of land. Besides this, he owns 280 acres of valuable land in Lonoke County and several buildings in the town of Jacksonville. On January 10, 1867, he was married to Miss Lavena T. Heanes, of Mississippi, but lost his wife on May 16, 1882. The marriage gave them eight children, of whom six are yet living: David, Jennie L., Maggie, Katie, Annie, Emma. Mr. Galloway was again married in 1882, his second wife being Miss Susan S. Smith, of Georgia, by whom he has had four children: Edna and Elenore (deceased) and Walter A. and Susan S. (yet living). Mr. Galloway's parents were James B. and Margaret A. (Shall) Galloway, the father a native of Virginia, who was one of the earliest settlers of Pulaski County, having arrived here in 1830. His parents were R. L. and Maria Galloway, who came to Arkansas the following year. In 1849, when the gold fever was spreading its contagion from the Pacific to the Atlantic, James Galloway was one of the first of those venturesome '49ers to cross the plains and dig for the glittering metal in California. On his return, four years later, he commenced farming and merchandising, which occupations he continued in up to the time of his death, in 1861. The Galloways are of Scotch descent, their forefathers coming from Scotland to America at an early period in this country's history. Walter A. Galloway is a representative business man and an influential citizen of Pulaski County. He has been postmaster of Jacksonville since 1882, and holds the postoffice in his place of business. A member of the Masonic order he belongs to Jacinto Lodge No. 216, and has also been a member of the Grand Lodge, representing that body as a delegate on several occasions. In politics he is a Democrat, and a man of valuable aid to his party in this section. He has held the office of justice of the peace for one term in Lonoke County, and one term in Pulaski County, and has been school director in his district since 1879.
Lawrence D. Gleason, proprietor of the leading restaurant of Little Rock, was born was born in Ireland, and came to America when only eight years old. He was reared in Cleve- land, Ohio, and received his education in the public schools of that city; in boyhood days becoming apprenticed to Mr. Jacob Lohman, of Cleveland, with whom he remained four and one-half years, learning the carriage-trimming trade. Going south, he first settled at Nashville, Tenn., and subsequently at Chattanooga, Tenn., Huntsville, Ala., Jackson, Tenn., and Memphis. After the war, he engaged in the restaurant business in the last named city, and was proprietor of the well-known "Sam's House," on Jefferson Street, until the year 1870, when he came to Little Rock and opened up a restaurant on the corner of Markham and Main Streets (the present site of the Bank of Little Rock). Though burned out on December 14, 1876, he quickly resumed, and started in the Benjamin Block (now Allis), in 1877 returning to the new Metropolitan Block. Seven months later, he went to the Union Depot and operated the hotel there for ten years, but in November 1888, established his present business on the northeast corner of Markham and Louisiana Streets, where he also has a garden and dairy, furnishing his own vegetables and milk. Here he enjoys the patronage of Little Rock's best citizens. Mr. Gleason was married in 1858, to Miss Mary McCabe, by whom he has had six children. They are members of St. Andrew's Catholic Cathedral.
John Albert Goodson, constable of Owen Township, and a prominent farmer in that section, was born in Cass County, Ga., in 1844, and is a son of John F. and Eliza (Abernathy) Goodson, of North Carolina, born in 1811 and 1812, respectively. The parents were married in 1833, and after their union moved to the State of Georgia. In 1855 they came to Montgomery County, Arkansas., where they resided until 1860, and then settled in Pulaski County, where the father died in 1875. The mother, who is a Baptist still survives him. The elder Goodson was a well-known farmer and constable in Pulaski County, and was also a member of the A. F. & A. M., belonging to Mary Williams Lodge No. 307, at the time of his death. He was a son of Joel Goodson, of North Carolina, who died in Georgia, where his father-in-law, Nathan Abernathy, also died. John Albert Goodson was the seventh child of eleven sons and five daughters, of whom eight are still living. Schools were very scarce during the period of his youth, consequently his education was not all that he desired. However, what he accomplished by his own efforts in that direction, coupled with his natural ability and quick perception, enabled him to success- fully cope with the world in after life. He was married in 1874, to Mary J., daughter of Sherid W. and Sarah M. Nowlin, natives of Georgia and Arkansas, respectively. Eight children were born to this union, all of whom are living with their parents on the farm. Mr. Goodson owns 320 acres of valuable land and has placed 100 acres under cultivation, having accumulated the greater portion of it by his own industry and good judgement in business transactions. In politics he is a stauch Democrat, and has served as constable for six years, and from 1883 to 1885 he filled the position of postmaster of North Point. He has also been a member of the A. F. & A. M., Mary Williams Lodge, for over eighteen years, and has held various offices in that fraternity. From 1872 to 1873, Mr. Goodson carried the mail from Little Rock to Perryville, and then for eighteen months had charge of the route from Little Rock to Maumelle. He next carried the mail from Little Rock to North Point, and was then appointed postmaster at that place. Mrs. and Mrs. Goodson both attend the Missionary Baptist Church, Mrs. Goodson being as popular with the community as her husband.
Dr. George W. Granberry, a prominent physician and surgeon, of Jacksonville, Ark., was born in Russell County, Ala., September 13, 1848, being a son of Richmond and Zilpha (Duncan) Granberry. The father was a native of Jefferson County, Ga., born in 1817. His parents were Thomas and Claricy (Yarbrough) Granberry, both from the State of Georgia, who moved to Mississippi, when Richmond was in his sixth year. After a residence of a few years in Mississippi, they returned to Georgia, moving to Alabama in 1837, but during their declining years decided to again return to Georgia and pass their last days in that State. Thomas Granberry was a well-known Baptist preacher, and of Irish descent. Mrs. Zilpha Granberry was born in North Carolina, in 1820, and was the daughter of Edmond and Nancy (White) Duncan; the father a native of North Carolina, and of Scotch descent. Mr. Duncan was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and fought in a regiment from his native State. He escaped the siege and capture of Charleston with his regiment, by being mounted in place of a sick trooper, and taking part in the disastrous expedition with Gen. Moultrie to Monk's Corner, where the command was surprised by Tarleton, and cut to pieces. Mr. Duncan was among the fortunate few who escaped the butchery that followed, and after- ward served under Gen. Green until peace was declared in 1783. He settled in Georgia in 1812. Upon the visit of Gen. Lafayette to the United States in 1834, he was among the few old veterans left to greet that venerable patriot. Richmond and Zilpha Granberry were the parents of nine children, four of whom are yet living, the oldest son Benjamin F. Gran- berry, being killed in the Confederate army. The others died from natural causes. Dr. Granberry was reared in Alabama until twelve years of age when his parents moved with him to Panola County, Miss., where he was educated in the public schools. On September 27, 1862, the Doctor enlisted in Company H, Second Regiment Mississippi Partisan Cavalry, Capt. C. H. Johnston, and served in the Confederate army until the close of the Civil War, surrendering at Meridian, Miss., May 13, 1865. Upon reaching his eighteenth year, he commenced the study of medicine, attending his first course of lectures at Memphis, Tenn., in 1868-69. Returning home, he entered a printing office at Water Valley, Miss., and was afterward connected with Capt. R. M. Brown, editor of a paper called the Mississippi Central, at that town. He occupied that position for four years, when he became news editor of the Tennessee Baptist, published at Memphis, Tenn., and acted in that capacity until 1880. He then entered the Memphis Hospital Medical College, in that city, having previously take a course of lectures at that institute, and graduated in 1881. In the same year he moved to Jacksonville, Ark., and commenced the practice of his profession, and has remained in that town ever since. He was married on April 30, 1871, in Water Valley., Miss., to Miss Eleanor Neville, who was born in Yalobusha County, of that State, and a daughter of Whitley W. and Frances (Milam) Neville, the father a native of North Carolina, and a well-known physician, and the mother from Alabama. Seven children were born to the Doctor's union with Miss Neville, five of them yet living: Benjamin F., William D., Edmond W. (deceased), George W., Lillie M., Maude E. (deceased) and Eleanor. Dr. Granberry is a stanch Democrat, and cast his first presidential vote for Horace Greeley, the nominee of the Democratic party, in 1872. He received the nomination of his party, for representative of Pulaski County to the legislature, in 1886, and was elected; was renominated in 1888, and was re-elected but resigned before the expiration of his term. He was an active and influential member, and took rank among the most effective and eloquent debaters upon the floor of the General Assembly. The Doctor is a prominent member of the I. O. O. F., having been initiated at Water Valley, Miss., in 1870, and has taken the Encampment degrees. He was a member of the Grand Lodge, at Canton, Miss., in 1873, and at Vicksburg in 1874; and is now a member of Banner Lodge 146, at Memphis, Tenn. Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, as are nearly all of the descendants. Dr. Granberry's profession brings him in contact with all classes and character of men, and his popularity with each and every one is due as much to his personal traits as to his reputation as a practitioner.
Frank P. Gray, president of the F. P. Gray Dry Goods Company, No. 206 Main Street, Little Rock, and one of the city's leading business men, was born in Augusta, Ga., being a son of James A. Gray, a prominent citizen and dry-goods merchant of that place. The elder Gray was a noted manufacturer and well known in commercial circles through- out the South, being president of the Summerville Cotton Mills at Augusta. His wife was a Miss Arabella O'Conner before her marriage, by whom he had seven children, only three of them yet living and all residing at Little Rock: Mary E. (wife of Joe P. Quinn), Frank P. and James A. (the latter studying law with Messrs. Caruth & Erb, leading attorneys of Little Rock). The father's death occurred on June 29, 1880, and the mother followed him on October 3, 1881. Frank P. Gray was reared and educated in Georgia, but later on attended Seaton Hall College at South Orange, N. J. His close application to study seriously affected his health, and he was forced to abandon his college and go abroad, traveling through England, Ireland and France until he was once more restored to his former strength. After a two years' stay in Europe he returned home and embarked in the dry-goods business with his father at Augusta, Ga., remaining with him until his death. Soon after, he formed a partnership with Mr. Joe P. Quinn, and carried on the same line of business at Entonton, Ga., continuing for eighteen months, and in 1884, came to Little Rock, Ark., where the firm of Quinn & Gray was established. Subsequently it became known as the Quinn & Gray Dry Goods Company, with F. P. Gray as its president; later Frank P. Gray withdrew and formed the F. P. Gray Dry Goods Company. This company ranks among the first of the many well-known dry-goods houses of Little Rock, and its success is certainly due, in a large measure, to the foresight, business tact and enter- prise of its able president. Mr. Gray is one of the foremost citizens to give his aid to any worthy enterprise, and is one of the most popular men in commercial and social circles in Little Rock.
Joseph Griffith, of the firm of Griffith & Brisbin, insurance agents at Little Rock, is a native of that city, his birth occurring on Main Street between Fifth and Sixth, July 5, 1845. His father, Henry Griffith, was born of English parents on board a ship from England to America. The elder Griffith, was reared at Harper's Ferry, Va., with four other brothers, and learned the gunsmith's trade in his youth. From there he went to Louisville, Ky., and in 1839 came to Little Rock, Ark., where he resided up to the time of his death, in 1868. He carried on is adopted avocation with great success at Little Rock for a number of years, but his health failing after the war, forced him to retire from active life. In politics he was an old line Whig, and held the office of city constable for sixteen successive years, his opponents finding it impossible to defeat him at any election, and in secret societies he was a prominent member of the Odd Fellows. He made his way through the world in a manner that found him many friends and rapidly pushed him to the front, his high sense of honor, tact and ability making him well known and respected. Mr. Griffith was married at Louisville, Ky., to Miss Mary Boyd, by whom he had nine children, six sons and three daughters, and six yet living: Sarah J. (wife of John M. Frazier, of Engstrom & Frazier, merchant tailors), Mary E. (widow of M. H. McGann), Annie E. (wife of John W. Earland, a prominent truck merchant), Joseph (the principal of this sketch), William R. (deputy State treasurer of Arkansas) and Thomas E. The mother is still living at a good age and in splendid health. Joseph Griffith was reared in the city of Little Rock and passed an uneventful life until his fifteenth year, when the Civil War commenced and all his youthful ardor was fired to become a soldier. In February, 1862, he enlisted in William E. Woodruff's battery, and served as an artillery man for six or eight months, being assisted to the ordnance de- partment at Tyler, Tex., where he remained for about three years. After the war was over, he returned to Little Rock, and entered into the employ of Thomas Scott, city collector, but remained with him only a short time, when he accepted a position as clerk in the old Anthony House. He subsequently kept a store on the Fort Smith & Little Rock Railroad, ten miles northwest of the city, and later on was constable of Big Rock Township from 1876 to 1878. In the latter year, he was elected county treasurer of Pulaski County on the Democratic ticket, filling that office with great credit for ten years, and after being relieved of his position in 1888, retired from politics altogether. On January 1, 1880, Mr. Griffith entered into the insurance business with Mr. John M. Brisbin, and the firm is now one of the strongest in that line at Little Rock. In secret societies he is a member of Little Rock Lodge No. 452, Knights of Honor, and Baynard Lodge of the Knights of Pythias. He has also been a member of the Pat Claiborne Fire Company for twenty-two years, and is at present treasurer of that company, as well as secretary of the Arkansas Nursery Company. Mr. Griffith was married on May 15, 1872, to Miss Clarlie O. Hite, a daughter of William H. Hite, an old resident of Little Rock. Eight children have been born to this marriage, of whom seven are yet living: Daisy, Nellie, Mamie, Ricky, Annie, Ed and Florence. The one deceased was named John.
L. H. Hall, M. D. (deceased), was one of the most talented physicians in the State of Arkansas, and secured a reputation which placed him among the front ranks of the medical fraternity. He was born in Tennessee, in 1830, and at the age of ten years was taken by his parents to Mississippi, where he grew to manhood, receiving a good classical education in the schools of that State. At an early age he became imbued with a desire to make medicine his profession, and began his medical studies under his father, who was a talented physician, and from his earliest youth was familiar with the different drugs. After several years preparation, he entered the Memphis Medical College, of Memphis, Tenn., and after taking one course of lectures began practicing with his father, continuing until the session of 1860-61, when he again entered the college and graduated in the latter year. He then returned to his old home in Mississippi, and entered the Confederate army as a private soldier, although his sympathies at first were with the Union. He assisted in organizing Company B, turned it over to an uncle, and joined the ranks as a private, but did not long remain such, for after the battle of Inka he was elected to the position of first lieutenant, and a short time afterward became surgeon of his regiment. He was captured at Fort Donelson, Port Hudson and Danville, Ky., being surgeon of Bell's brigade when last taken, and was afterward appointed chief surgeon, of Chalmer's division. He was paroled at Gainesville, Ala, at the close of the war, and returned to Mississippi, where he built up a fine medical practice, and remained until December, 1870, then moved to Arkansas, locating at Devall's Bluff. In 1880 he removed to Lonoke, and after February, 1888, was a successful practitioner of Little Rock. He was married, in Mississippi, to Miss Helen M. Sanders, a daughter of Col. R. T. San- ders, of that State, who was a grandnephew of Daniel Boone. Their union resulted in the birth of eleven children, five of whom are living: Annie (Mrs. Bilheimer, of Little Rock, Ark.), George F., Lula (Mrs. Allen), Harry W. and Pearl. The mother of these children died in 1880, and three years later Dr. Hall espoused Mary J. Arnold, of Georgia, by whom he had three children born to him, one who is living, Pat W. Hall. The Doctor was a son of Joseph G. and Ann W. (Jenkins) Hall, the former being a native of Massachusetts, born in 1789. He was a physician, and practiced in West Tennessee the greater part of his life. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was wounded at Lake Champlain. His death occurred in Mississippi, in 1867. His father was also born in Massachusetts, and there made his home until his death. The great-grandfather, David Hall, of Sutton, Mass., was a Congregational minister for many years, and was pastor of one church for sixty years. Dr. Lemuel H. Hall died in Little Rock, ark., September 23, 1889.
Mr. P. Hanger, a resident of Arkansas since 1834, was born in Boone County, Ky., in 1807, and is the son of Frederick Hanger, a native of Pennsylvania. When quite a young man, P. H. went to Virginia, and after several years returned to Kentucky, where he carried the mail on horseback across the country, from Cincinnati to Lexington, for some time. After that he was employed in a store belonging to one Mr. Fisher, in a small town called Ghent, on the Ohio River. For his services in this store he was given $100; quite a fortune it seemed to then then, and it has since proved to be the only salary he ever received, as since that time he has been his own master. For some years previous to 1834, Mr. Hanger was engaged in boating up and down the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers, starting from Cincinnati with a stock of general merchandise and trading all along the shore, and one winter took a contract to furnish planters on the Red River. In 1894, he settled in Chicot County, at Gaines' Landing, and there built his cabin. He was almost as far (Seem- ingly) from civilization as Robinson Crusoe, for there were no roads at all, only an occasional trail made by the cattle wandering through the woods. In 1838 he sold cord- wood to the steamboats, and carried on a general merchandise business. He next went to Van Buren, Crawford County, and opened a mercantile business, but failed there. His next venture was to rent a farm, and for several years made brick, and, as he worded it, did anything that turned up. In 1848, he came to Little Rock, and has since resided here. He bought the stage contracts from Little Rock to Hot Springs and Fort Smith, carrying all the mail from 1848 to 1862, having all the contracts in that State. At the beginning of the war, his horses were taken from him, thus peremptorily closing up that business. Near the close of the war he started to New Orleans with a cargo of cotton, tobacco and sugar, but it was destroyed by fire before reaching its destination. Since that time Mr. Hanger has been engaged in planting. He was a member of the legislature from Chicot County, in 1837-38, and is now a member of the Presbyterian Church. He was married June 18, 1850, to Miss Matilda Cunningham, who bore him seven children, two of whom are still living: Fred (born in 1855) and Mrs. Ratcliffe (born in 1853). Mrs. Hanger died in 1865, and Mr. Hang- er was married again to Miss Ann M. Gaines, a very estimable lady and respected by all who knew her. Mr. Hanger is always interested and gives liberally to all enterprises of a worthy character. He has done a large amount of building and opened up a number of acres of land.
Fred Hanger, a well-known business man of Little Rock, and son of Peter Hanger, one of that city's pioneers, is a native of Little Rock, and has made that place his home during his entire life. He is proprietor of Hanger's Ginnery and Pickery, and also secretary and treasurer of the Arkansas Granite Company. Out of the city's many popular citizens, both in commercial and professional life, comprising the younger generation, there are none more favorably known nor respected than Mr. Hanger. He is genial, enterprising and pro- gressive, and takes a deep interest in the welfare of his native home, being recognized as unbounded in his liberality when it comes to matters of public good. A few years ago Mr. Hanger erected and put in successful operation his ginnery and pickery, which is one of the best paying industries in the city. He also owns a plantation of about 500 acres, mostly in cotton. The Arkansas Granite Company is one of the largest quarry companies in the South, and also one of the most successful. Mr. Hanger was married on January 8, 1877, to Miss Frances Harrow, of Ottumwa, Iowa., by whom he has had two children: Kenneth and Albert. His home is a bright one, and he is rich in the affections of his wife and child- ren.
James K. P. Henderson, one of the best-known men in Pulaski County, and a substantial farmer and stock raiser, was born in Marshall County, Miss., in the year 1844, and is a son of Simeon and Mary Ann (Burks) Henderson, natives of Virginia and North Carolina, respectively. The parents were principally reared and married in the State of Mississippi, where the mother died when James was only two years old. The father was married twice, and became a very prominent farmer in Tate County, Miss., where he died in 1860. He had been a member of the A. F. & A. M. for a great many years, and was a son of William Henderson, a native of Ireland, who emigrated to America with three other brothers when all were young men. John F. Burks, the maternal grandfather of James Henderson, came to Arkansas about the year 1847, and died in Jefferson County in 1878. He became a leading citizen and a very influential man during his residence in Jefferson County, and his funeral was one of the largest ever seen in that section. James K. P. Henderson was the third child of three sons and one daughter. His education had been somewhat neglected in his youth, owing to the poor opportunities offered for schooling in his section, but like hundreds of other self-made men, he has always been equal to any emergency by his fertile brain and ready wit. When sixteen years of age, he joined Company K, of the Ninth Arkan- sas Infantry, and served actively until the surrender, operating in Arkansas, Mississippi, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Alabama. He was captured at Baker's Creek, shortly before the fall of Vicksburg, and taken prisoner to Indianapolis, where he was confined for eight months. He was then paroled and returned to his home, but after a short period of inactivity, he rejoined his command at Lost Mountain, Ga., and served all through the campaign in that State, finally surrendering with Gen. Johnston, at Jonesboro, N. C. During Mr. Henderson's gallant service for the Confederacy, he was severely wounded twice, but happily recovered each time. After the last gun had been fired and the smoke of battle cleared away, he returned to Tate County, Miss.m where he resided until 1875, and then moved to Pulaski County, Ark., his present home. He owns 167 acres of good land, and has placed about seventy-five acres under cultivation, all of which he has made by his own exertions since the war. In March, 1874, he was married in Tate County, Miss., to Mrs. Lucy Ann Bumpass, a charming widow and a daughter of Harvey and Rebecca Burford, of Ala- bama. Mr. Burford died in Tate County, and, with those peculiar selections which Cupid sometimes makes, Mrs. Burford's second husband was Mr. Henderson's father. Mrs. Henderson died June 1, 1882, after a married life of devotion and love. In politics Mr. Henderson is a democrat, and a stout upholder of that party's men, and his truth and integrity in every phase of life have won the respect and admiration of all.
Capt. John L. Hicks, a successful planter of Ashland Township, was born in Phillips County, Ark., in September, 1846, being one of six children in the family of Allen W. and Mary J. (Lamb) Hicks. The former was a native of North Carolina, where he met and married Mis Lamb, of the same State. In 1826, moving to Tennessee (Madison County), he resided there for fourteen years, but in 1840 immigrated to Arkansas, and first located in Phillips County. He afterward moved to Little Rock, taking up his residence where his son now lives in Ash Bottom (in 1852), at one time in Pulaski County. Here Mr. Hicks operates quite an extensive plantation. When Lonoke County was made, a large portion of his place was taken into that territory. He now has upward of 500 acres of land in an excellent state of cultivation, in connection with which is a heavily timbered tract of about 100 acres. J. L. Hicks grew up on the place which he now owns. He received a good education at the higher schools and colleges of his native State, becoming thoroughly qualified to full any position in after life, and when quite young (running away from school to do so) he enlisted in Maj. W. E. Woodruff's battery, and served till the close of the war, surrendering at Washington, Hempstead County. He was commissioned captain by Govs. Garland and Baxter, and participated in the battles of Prairie Grove, Mansville, Jenkins' Ferry and Helena, also at the surrender of Little Rock, where a large portion of his company was wounded. Capt. Hicks has resided in Little Rock a portion of the time since the war; he was elected and served as treasurer of that city for one year, at the expiration of that time resigning. In 1876 he was married in Phillips County to Miss Emma B. Hicks, a daughter of Edwin A. Hicks. Mrs. Hicks was educated in Phillips County, and is an estimable lady, enjoying the friendship of a wide circle of acquaintances. One son has been born to this union, Allen W., now past his twenty-first year. Capt. Hicks was chairman of the first Democratic central committees of Pulaski County, after the reconstruction. He is a liberal contributor to all enterprises that betoken the good and advancement of the county, enthusiastic in behalf of its growth, and by his influence and enterprise has come to be well and favorably known.
Isaac J. Hicks, deputy county clerk, Little Rock, Ark. The public serves of Mr. Hicks have been characterized by a noticeable devotion to the welfare of this county, and his ability and fidelity in all his positions of public trust have been fully recognized by the people. He was born in Prairie County (a portion of which was cut off and is now Lonoke County), Ark., and was the third in a family of four children born to Isaac C. and Eliza M. (Smith) Hicks, the latter being the first wife of Mr. Hicks. The father was born in Anderson County, Tenn., January 1, 1828, and his parents were natives of Alabama. From that State they moved to Tennessee, thence to Indiana, and there resided until Isaac C. Hicks was eight years of age, when they came to Arkansas and settled in Saline County. Here he passed his time in working on a farm and carrying the mail from Little Rock to Hot Springs, and in attending school a short time, paying tuition out of his own meager earnings. He was a poor boy and was obliged to fight his way in life. At the age of nine- teen, Mr. Hicks selected Miss Eliza Martin Smith as his wife, in Pulaski County, with whom he lived happily until her death, in 1856. He was afterward married to Miss Nancy J. Gray, and his third marriage was to Mrs. Lizzie Gray (nee Burns), a direct descendant of the Scotch poet, Robert Burns. She still resides in Lonoke County, Ark. After his first marriage, which occurred in 1847, Mr. Hicks moved to Prairie County, Ark, followed farming and hunting, residing the while on Prairie Long, at a point where his son, Isaac J. Hicks, was born, May 9, 1853, still known as Hicks Point. From there he moved to Brownsville, then the county seat of Prairie County, and followed blacksmithing, but soon traded the shop for a fine horse, which he exchanged for a stock of goods, and from that time he began his career as a merchant. He was an active member of the A. F. & A. M., and of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. At the breaking out of the war, in 1861, Mr. Hicks practically gave away his stock of goods and enlisted in the Confederate army, comm- anded by Capt. J. M. King, of the Arkansas Cavalry, and was in the first battle fought west of the Mississippi River (Oak Hill or Wilson's Creek). In this engagement, he was wounded in the left hand so badly that he returned home and did not rejoin the army. At this time he settled at a point two and half miles south of Brownsville, on the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad (which he had named Hicks Station, a name which clung to it until 1869, when the town was moved to what is now known as Lonoke), and resumed the mercantile business. Here is was the leading spirit in the organization and improvement of the new town, and was its first mayor. He was an extensive land owner, doing a good deal of farm- ing in connection with his commercial business. During his service in the army, he was second lieutenant of his company, and his brother, J. C. M. Hicks, was first lieutenant. At the battle of Wilson's Creek, both the captain and first lieutenant were wounded, and before receiving his wound the command of the company devolved upon the second lieutenant. Mr. Hicks, J. C. M. Hicks died in imprisonment at Springfield, Mo. He was a lawyer, and was practicing at Fayetteville, Ark., before the war. Isaac C. Hicks died October 10, 1872, from illness contracted while on a visit to Memphis with his son, the subject of this sketch. Isaac J. Hicks has the following brothers and sisters: Margaret E., W. H. and James H. (the last named being at present sheriff of Lonoke County.) His half- brothers and sister are: Thomas J. (editor and proprietor of the Dardanelle Post), Joseph J. (a railroad engineer), Lulu, John W. and Minnie D. (who died at the age of seven years.) His uncle, W. F. Hicks, is at present editor and proprietor of the Lonoke Democrat, and representative in the legislature from Lonoke County, and is ex-senator of that district. The subject of tis sketch attended the subscription schools until about fourteen years of age, and was then taken in his father's store, where he kept books; he was also in the postoffice, and attended to the correspondence until his father's death, when he was eighteen years of age. He, with his brother, W. H., and the uncle, W. F., then contin- ued the business carried on by the father, under the firm title of Hicks Bros. & Co. This business was conducted for about two years, when Isaac was married to Miss Hattie L. Fewell, a native of Arkansas, on November 2, 1875. She is the daughter of William M. Fewell, an old settler from Tennessee and a native of North Carolina, where the family is quite numerous and well known. After marriage Mr. Hicks engaged as book-keeper and clerk, and followed this occupation at Lonoke until October, 1878, when he came to Little Rock. He was here engaged as clerk with Fletcher & Barron three months, and in January, 1879, was employed as clerk in the office of the secretary of State, under Col. Jacob Frolich, continuing here for three years, when he was compelled to resign on account of ill-health. After this he purchased a farm and moved to the country, where he resided for three years, after which, having regained his health, he moved to Lonoke to take charge of the sher- iff's office for his brother, as chief deputy, continuing thus about fifteen months. He then came to Little Rock to act as deputy county clerk for Mr. Williams (the county clerk) and this position he is still filling. In 1884 Mr. Hicks was a candidate in the conven- tion for circuit clerk, but was defeated by a small majority. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and a man universally respected. To his marriage were born five children: Marvin R. (born December 15, 1877), Jefferson F. (born December 9, 1879, Trusten C. (born June 18, 1883), Floyd H. (born February 25, 1886) and Sterling B. (born December 12, 1887), all of whom are living. In his political views Mr. Hicks is a Democrat. His great-grandfather was a native of Ireland.
Wilbur Fisk Hill, county judge of Pulaski County, was born March 15, 1855, on a farm near Clarksville, Red River County, Tex. He spent his early life on the farm, and at stock raising in Western Texas, and when eighteen years of age, entered the Confederate army, under that eminent soldier and statesman, Gen. Albert Pike, participating in the battles of Prairie Grove, Mansfield, La., and a number of others. In the latter battle he was severely wounded. After his four years' service in the war, Mr. Hill matriculated at McKonzie College, Texas, where he made preparation to enter the Cumberland University at Lebanon, Tenn., in 1870, and from which he graduated in 1872, in the literacy department, with the highest honors. In June 1873, he opened his law office in Little Rock, and immediately rose to success. He found time, however, to edit and compile the Arkansas Justice, a work that has been so useful and of such great worth, that a second edition has been issued. Perhaps his services with the Arkansas Justice and his future success, while dreaming of the flights of oratory of Demosthenes and Cicero, was due to the charms of Cupid, for it was in these years that he was captured in matrimonial bliss, marrying a charming, sensible wife, to whom seven children have been born, only two surviving. In 1884 he was nominated by the Democratic party as a candidate for county judge, was elected by a large majority, and during his first term of office, built the Pulaski County jail. He was re-elected in 1886, and during his second term commenced the erection of the fine county court house, now just completed, having purchased the ground for the same during his first term at $5,500, which is now valued at $15,000. Judge Hill gave such satisfaction, that in 1888 his name was placed on the Union Labor ticket, as well as on the Democratic, and his election was unanimous. The finances of the county have undergone a radical change since Judge Hill's introduction to his office. When he was first elected, county scrip was worth 85 cents on $1. The June following his taking office, he published a notice, calling in all of the county scrip, and it paid it at par, and has been rated at par value ever since. Again, when he entered office, the county had a total debt of $450,000. Judge Hill paid it off and reduced it to $360,000 out of the taxes of 1886. He issued 360 $1,000 bonds and went north to sell them, so that he might fund the debt. At Chicago he was laughed at, and at New York he met with success hardly better. He was plucky, however, and bound to succeed, and finally sold them to the Boatmen's Savings Bank of St. Louis at par. He then paid off the judgments against the county, and has since paid two installments of interest on the bonds. The bonds were quoted, after the first install- ment of interest was paid, at 10 per cent above par, and are now worth 15 per cent above par. Judge Hill certainly deserves a great deal of credit for this master stroke in the direction of county finances. In the five years of his administration, he has built about fifteen miles of turnpike, and about 100 bridges, the county being almost destitute of them when he went into office. His expenditures for public improvements have aggregated almost $250,000, which amount has been saved out of the ordinary county revenues, with no increase of taxes. In the city, property has doubled in value, and is greatly increased in the surrounding country in the county. In February, 1888, the county court established a convict camp for the making of county roads, by criminals convicted of other than penitentiary offences, and this has become a permanent institution. In the spring of 1889, Judge Hill was an independent candidate for supreme judge of Arkansas, and received a vote of 40,062.
P. O. Hooper, M. D. The Hooper family, or rather that branch to which the subject of sketch belongs, were early settlers of Arkansas, Alanson Hooper being the first one of the family to locate here, He was born in the "Bay State," in 1787, and after reaching manhood removed to Louisiana, where he espoused Miss Magdaline Perry, a native of that State; and a few years following the celebration of their nuptials, they removed to Arkansas, where the mother died in 1877, at the age of seventy-seven years. The father died in 1850, aged sixty-three. Dr. Hooper, their son, was born in the State in which he now resides, in 1833, and received his literary education in Little Rock and in Nashville, Tenn. After attaining a suitable age and being imbued with a desire to study medicine, he entered the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, Penn., from which he graduated in 1856. Upon returning home, he practiced his profession until the opening of the Civil War, then joined the Con- federate army, and was appointed president of a board of examining surgeons, and in this capacity served faithfully all through the war, being at the time of the hostilities in the State of Louisiana. After peace was declared, he returned to his home in Little Rock. where he found ample scope for the development of his talents, and soon became one of the acknowledged leaders of his profession, not only in his own, but also in adjoining States. Great credit is due to him for the establishment of the State Insane Asylum, and to him, with a few others, almost wholly belongs the credit of its establishment. He was president of the board of trustees of the asylum until 1883, when he accepted the superintendency in order to see that all his plans were carried out relative to the building, grounds and methods of treating the inmates. After several years of arduous labor, he can now look upon the result of his many weary days of toil with pardonable pride and pleasure, for the institution is a model of its kind and is conducted in an admirable manner. Dr. Hooper is one of the physicians who helped to organize the Medical Department of the Arkansas Industrial University, and was dean of the faculty for some time, and still gives lectures in the college on mental and nervous diseases. He was president of the American Medical Association that met at St. Paul, Minn., in 1883, and now belongs to the State Medical Society and the New York Medico-Legal Society. He has shown his approval of secret societies by joining the Masons and the I. O. O. F. He was married in the State of Arkansas, in 1859, to Miss Georgie Carroll, a native of Alabama, and by her has three sons and two daughters: Katie (wife of Samuel J. Churchhill), Bernie, Perry, Philo and George.
Col. John W. Hopkins, a prominent real-estate dealer and farmer, of Mabelvale, was born in Rowan County, N. C., in 1820, and is the son of James F. and Lucy (Henly) Hopkins, both natives of the same State, who moved to Tennessee when JOhn was but five years old, and from there to Tippah County, Miss., where the father died about the year 1841, at the age of fifty-five years, his wife following him in 1877. James F. was the son of Richard Hopkins of Scotch and Irish descent. The maternal grandfather of Col. John W. was Darby Henley, of Scotch, Irish and English descent, who died in Rowan County. Col. John W. Hopkins was the third son of four sons and three daughters and received a somewhat limited education in his youth, almost all of his schooling being had by his own efforts, owing to the poor school facilities to be found at that time. He was married in 1840, in Tippah County, Miss., to Elizabeth Craig, a daughter of John and Susan Craig. Mrs. Craig died in Tennessee when her daughter was very young, and the father married again and removed to Tippah County, Miss., where he resided until his death. He was a soldier in the Creek War, and fought with Gen. Jackson at New Orleans. His father was James Craig, of Scotch and Irish descent, who was also in the Revolutionary War. Mrs. Hopkins was born in Lincoln County, Tenn., and has been the mother of five children, of whom two are still living: James Franklin and John T. (the latter is one of the leading lawyers of Little Rock.) Col. Hopkins resided in Tippah County, Miss., and carried on a successful real-estate business until 1855m when he moved to Memphis, Tenn., and continued in the same business, as well as merchandising. In 1862 he gave up his business at that point and moved to Little Rock, where he opened up a large produce and grocery store, but his main business was dealing in real estate. In 1874 he settled on his present farm at Mabelvale, where he owns 500 acres of valuable land, with about 200 acres under cultivation. Altogether he owns between 20,000 and 30,000 acres of land in Mississippi and Arkansas, and before the war his prosperity was even greater, owning at that time about 125,000 acres, and being worth probably half a million dollars, all of it being made by his own tact, shrewdness and enterprise. The Colonel was sheriff of Tippah County, Miss., for two years, and held the office of mayor of Little Rock for fourteen months, when the office was taken charge by military authority in 1867. In politics he was formerly a Whig, but since the war has always voted the Demo- cratic ticket. He was a Union man and strongly opposed to secession. Col. Hopkins has been a member of the A. F. & A. M. for a great many years, belonging to the Royal Arch Chapter, and with his wife attends the Christian Church. His son, James F. Hopkins, by profession a civil engineer, was born in Tippah County, Miss., in 1845, and was educated at the public schools of Memphis, Tenn., until the outbreak of the war, when he was then instructed by his father. In 1864 he joined Capt. Nowland's company of Anderson's battalion, and served until the end of the war, being paroled at Little Rock in June, 1865. He took part in the fight at Pilot Knob, and operated through a good portion of Missouri (the Trans-Miss- issippi Department), also accompanying Price in his raid through Missouri. In October, 1866, he entered the Virginia Military Institute, at Lexington, Va., and graduated captain of Company B, in 1870, and after leaving the college he went into the real-estate business with his father, continuing with him ever since. He has also done considerable surveying in Pulaski and adjoining counties, and in 1872 was elected county surveyor of Pulaski County, but failed to get the office. He is a Democrat, politically, and in secret orders is a member of the A. F. & A. M., and a college fraternity called E. N., which he organized while attending college, in 1869, and which has extended to various colleges in the North and South, and now has a membership of over 2,000. He is also a member of the agricultural Wheel, and in religious faith is a Presbyterian, as is also his wife. He was married, in 1870, to Miss Jennie A, daughter of John W. and Elizabeth Barclay, of Virginia and Kentucky, respectively, but who have resided in Lexington, Va., for the past forty-five years, where Mr. Barclay is a prominent merchant.
Hon. Joseph W. House, an attorney, of Little Rock, and prominent at the legal bar of this locality, was born in Hardeman County, Tenn., June 12, 1847, and is one of four children born to Archibald House and his wife, who came to White County in 1858. His ancestors were of Scotch and Irish extraction, and immigrated to America in a very early day, being one among the original settlers of Tennessee. Joseph W. received his education in the subscription schools of the locality in which his boyhood was passed. When sixteen years of age, he entered the Confederate army as a private, and served in that capacity until the close of the hostilities, being with Price on his raid, and as far as active engagements were concerned that ended his war career. After the war he returned to his home in White County, and attended school, afterward teaching. In the meantime, he took up the study of law, and was admitted to the bar in May, 1870, shortly after commencing the practice of his profession in Searcy, where he remained until November, 1885. The enviable reputation, which he rapidly achieved, only less than his recognized ability, led to his appointment as district attorney at that time, and he filled the office until April, 1889, when the change of administration induced him to resign. He was a delegate on the new constitution in 1874, and in the fall of the same year was sent to the senate from Faulkner and White Counties. Mr. House was among those who had the honor of casting an electoral vote for Cleveland, in 1884. He was married in February, 1882, to Miss Ina Dowdy, and they are the parents of four children. He and wife are members of the Presby- terian Church. In enterprises tending to the advancement of educational and other worthy movements, Mr. House is liberal, exerting considerable power in his county, and aiding by his means and influence toward the general progress of his adopted home. Since his retirement from office, he has devoted himself to his profession, and in this, as all of his other undertakings, he has attained substantial success.
W. S. Hutt, one of the leading grocery merchants of Little Rock, Ark., is a native- born resident of this city, and a man whose honesty and integrity is unquestioned. He attended Commercial College in Lexington, Ky., and soon after the war he and his father engaged in business in Little Rock. Although the father died but recently, the business has been in W. S. Hutt's name, and greatly under his control, since that time. He does an extensive business, and is a young man in whom all the people of Little Rock place implicit trust. This is the oldest retail establishment in the city, and one of the most prosperous. The building, of two stories, is 150X25 feet. W. S. Hutt is the son of A. J. and Francissa E. (Gaines) Hutt, both honored and respected citizens. The father was born in Charleston, Kanawha County, W. Va., and when a young man went to Pittsburgh, Penn., where he remained until about 1837, and then came to Little Rock. He saw true pioneer life in Little Rock, and many a time has he hunted game over the present location of the city. He has amassed considerable money up to the time of the breaking out of the Civil War, but lost considerable during that eventful period. He was a man respected and es- teemed for his sterling integrity, sober, sound judgment, broad intelligence and liberal progressive ideas. He was married in Little Rock, and reared a family of several children. His wife, and the mother of the subject in this sketch, is still living and resides in Little Rock. Mr. Hutt became well known all over the State, and was Grand Master of the I. O. O. F. of the State. He took an active interest in political affairs, and held many positions of trust and honor in the city of Little Rock, of which he served as mayor.
William P. Hutton, the popular district manager of R. G. Dun & Co.'s mercantile agency, at Little Rock, was born in Tennessee, and is a son of William M. Hutton, who was one of the proprietors of the Memphis Appeal early in the 50's, also one of the founders of the Memphis Avalanche. The subject of our sketch was reared in Tennessee, and spent the great- er portion of his life in Memphis, up to within eleven years ago, when he became connected with the R. G. Dun & Co.'s mercantile agency. About five years ago, he was selected to take the management of the territory contingent to Little Rock, having an experienced and trained mind, a thorough knowledge of the wants of trade and a genial nature, besides possessing a character of sterling worth, which was at one recognized by his patrons. The business in Arkansas, under his management, has prospered and developed to a large degree. Mr. Hutton is a man of untiring energy and devoted to his work, and the popularity he enjoys among business men is mainly due to their recognition of his ability in handling the delicate question of credits. He has established a branch office at Fort Smith, and presides over one of the most prosperous branches of the great system of R. G. Dun & Co. in the Southwest. His territory is rapidly growing, and the agency he represents is the oldest and largest, whose information is valued by all merchants, financiers and business men in general, who recognize it as the leading authority on credits. Mr. Hutton assists in making the patrons of this great institution appreciate its importance in Arkansas as it is appreciated elsewhere.
John Ingram. The earliest evidence of the history of this illustrious family is obtained from family annals, kept from generation to generation and handed down from father to son. About the year 1680 Sir Nedom Ingram appears as a prominent citizen of Worchestershire, England. He was pure Scotch blood, and belonged to that sturdy, old and honored historical religious sect called "The Waldenses." An active advocate of the Protestant reformation, he was among those who (at that time) courageously encouraged, both in word and deed, the dissemination of that light which was first manifested under "Crammer's" preaching, he who has been aptly styled "The Morning Star of the Reformation." Sir Nedom Ingram, it seems, was twice married, and had four sons, two by his first wife, Emanuel and Joseph Ingram, and by his second wife, Nedom and Thomas Ingram. At a later day, about the beginning of the seventeenth century, Joseph and Thomas emigrated to the colony of North Carolina, in North America, settling first near Raleigh. Joseph Ingram is reported as marrying a Miss Rains, and had several children, among whom where two boys named Nedom and Shadrach Ingram. In time both married, and Shadrach Ingram had four children: Nedom, Joseph and Shadrach, and one girl, Elizabeth Ingram. Shadrack Ingram, who was the grandfather of John Ingram, the subject of this sketch, was born in Edgecombe County, N. C., about the year 1767, and married Elizabeth De Loche, who was also born in the same county in the year 1765. Her ancestors emigrated from France about the year 1590, to escape Catholic persecution, and settled in the colony of Virginia. After Shadrach Ingram's marriage, he settled down to farming with slave labor in that county, his good old father having left him, and all his other children, a moderate competency. Soon after the beginning of the present century, he moved to the Territory of Tennessee, and located near Lebanon, in Wilson County, where he continued farming on an extensive scale for that day and time. He served faithfully through the War of 1812 against Great Britain. Some time between 1830 and 1834, he (Shadrach Ingram), like many other good-hearted, but unfortunate men, became the security of a friend and the result was financial ruin. All his little fortune was swept away, leaving him and his family almost homeless and penniless, Soon after, leaving Wilson County, Tenn., he moved to Washington County, Ark., in 1836 or 1837, where he again opened a farm and did the best he could, though in the latter years of his life he and his good wife were cared for by their youngest son, Shadrach Ingram, Jr., until their death, which occurred between the years 1855 and 1859. A true and noble man, sincere and honest, none ever lived who loved his wife and children more devotedly and affectionately. Although his ancestors were Scotch and he was a native American, his love for the old land, as well as an ardent and devoted advocacy of educational and religious training, were among the most prominent traits of his character. He had eight children, four boys and four girls. All of them are now deceased, except three: Shadrach, Dilley (Sherry) and William Ingram (the father of John Ingram). William Ingram was born near Lebanon, Tenn., March 16, 1815, and remained with his father until seventeen years of age, when he went to the State of Illinois, near Carrollton, where, in his eighteenth year, he became a member of the church (Old School Baptist). There he also met and married Miss Elizabeth A. Pearson, of Puritan stock, March 6, 1833. She was born April 17, 1817, in Gibson County, Ind. Early in the September following their union they started for the Territory of Arkansas, arriving at Fayetteville in October, and settling near that (then) small village, where Mr. Ingram commenced farming and preaching. Arkansas was then a wild and dreary wilderness, and when he went out to preach he could do no better than some of his earliest predecessors, go out without scrip or purse, because wild meat and honey were plenty, and both proved an acceptable diet in those days. On the night of November 10, 1833, Mr. Ingram and wife went out on the mountain (four miles from town( to sit up with old Uncle Johnnie Miller, who was quite ill, some eight or ten persons also being present. During their night watch, and about 2 o'clock A. M., on the morning of the 11th, the whole heavens were singularly a-light by an immense blaze, which upon discovery, was found to proceed from a great meteoric shower; this occasion of "the falling stars" has ever been a matter of historical comment. In their extreme anxiety many kneeled and prayed to God to preserve them from a burning world, though others, and the more curious, watched the proceeding until it's close. Rev. Mr. Ingram and his wife are both living and well, still residing near Fayetteville, at the age of seventy-four. He is as regular in his devotions to the ministry and the service of his Divine Master, as he was in starting out fifty-five or fifty-six years ago, and indeed more so, the trust which he once had having been found by experience to be the only sure dependence, the beauty of which increases with years. Mr. and Mrs. Ingram are the parents of seven children, four boys and three girls: Mrs. Mary Davis (the eldest, living in Washington County:, John (subject of this memoir, in Little Rock), Miss Elizabeth A. (died in 1864), Jones P. (a successful farm near Waveland, in Yell County), Miss Irena (lives with her respected father and mother), Sandy O. Ingram (also a farmer in Washington County) and Albert J, Ingram (the youngest). The parents reside on the family homestead, and Albert J, is a successful farmer, well-to-do, and it is under his roof that the old people (his parents) and his youngest sister find a home of cheerful welcome, loving care, and all the needed comforts in their declining years. His father, now seventy-four years old, whose ministry runs back to his eighteenth or nineteenth year, is one whose life has been well spent, like Samuel of old, a servant of the most high God. Not only may he look back upon a life well spent in his efforts to call others to repentance, but he can and does sincerely enjoy the proudest heritage of all mankind, that of knowing that his ancestors, for several centuries back, have been prominent in supplying servants and soldiers for the Cross of Christ. John Ingram, son of Rev. William Ingram, was born near Fayetteville, Ark., May 3, 1836. He remained with his father on the farm and attended the schools of the county, until about fifteen years old, after which he was employed in the circuit clerk's office, under Presley R. Smith, who was a native of Fayetteville, Tenn. Remaining there and also attending school at the Arkansas College (then under the superintendence of Rev. Robert Graham, president) for some time, he subsequently taught a county school about one year, and at the end of that period was tendered and accepted a clerkship in the large and extensive wholesale and retail dry-goods and grocery house of Wallace Ward & Co. At the time of this offer to him, the firm name was Ward & Southmayd, Van Buren, Ark. The year 1861 still found him at this place, but he soon left it to enter the service of his native State, in the great contest for constitutional liberty. In eight or ten months the troops were transferred to the Confederate cause, which cause he served faithfully until the last of May, 1865, when he was paroled with others by Gen. Canby. He arrived here in June, 1865, and has made this his place of residence ever since. Soon after his arrival Mr. Ingram was married to Mrs. E. A. Broughton (formerly Miss Calhoun), who had one child, Mollie Broughton; the latter married Col. A. S. Fowler, a prominent citizen and highly cultured gentleman of this city, who is doing a most extensive and profitable life-insurance business. Mr. Ingram has three children: Sue Ayliff, Charley Calhoun and Carrie Eugenia.
Roscoe Greene Jennings, M. D., of Little Rock, Ark., was born in Leeds, then Kennebec, now Androscoggin County, Me., June 11, 1833, of English ancestry, who settled in Salem, Mass., in the early Colonel period. His great-grandfather, who was a man of wealth, held an office under King George III at the breaking out of the Revolutionary War, and from this circumstance, probably, connected with his severence for royalty through his early training, he became an ardent advocate and follower of the fortunes of the crown of England. In the struggle of the American Colonies for their independence, his lands and property were confiscated, himself and family scattered; and, in order to preserve their lives, he and some portions of his family buried themselves in the wilderness of the eastern territory which afterward became the State of Maine. The subject of this sketch first saw the light of day in a humble cottage on the banks of the Androscoggin River, where he was reared on a farm on which he, when quite young, worked assiduously during the summer months, and attended the country school three months each winter. When he had reached his seventeenth year has had so zealously applied himself to his studies, that he was recommended for and assumed control of the village school he had formerly attend- ed and as a compensation received the, then to him magnificent sum of $14 per month and boarded himself. The success of this undertaking stimulated him to renewed efforts, and with the money he had thus earned he paid his expenses the next fall in attending school at Wayne Village, under O. O. Howard's instruction, who has since become a distinguished general in the United States army. Thus by strict economy he managed to attend the Monmouth Academy and the Kents Hill Seminary at Reedfield, Me., several terms in the fall months, by teaching school each winter following, to obtain the necessary means to enable him to pursue this periodical course of study. July 25, 1851, his father died, and this event changed his plans of entering Bowdoin College, for which he had nearly prepared himself, and which designed he had ever contemplated with all the fervor and ardor of youth. Up to this date he had never traveled farther than Augusta, the capital of Maine, some twenty-five miles distant, and the adjacent towns of Hollowell and Gardner. An almost irresistable desire now took possession of him to travel and see for himself how the people and the country looked in other States. He therefore induced his elder brother, Florus, to loan him $100 (about the mount due him from from his father's estate), the biggest sum of money he ever had in his pocket, or had ever handled. He, in company with a young companion, who, had had some experience in traveling, and who had been to New York City previously, left home for Portland, where they remained a couple of days, and then went to Boston on a steam-vessel. After spending a week in Boston, they proceeded by steamer to New York City, spent two weeks in sight-seeing here and in the first World's Fair in America. The Crystal Palace and its contents were wonders to him almost beyond conception. From New York he wandered into New Jersey, visited Easton, Penn., staged it over the mountains to Lambertsville, Boardentown, and other places of interest in that section of the State, and finally found himself in Still Valley, Warren County, with the small sum of $2.50, with no future prospect of anything to do before him. After a night of agonizing, sleepless worry and fevered rest, he determined to make an effort to secure a school. So, bright and early that morning, he tramped twenty-two miles to a place called Port Golden on the Lehigh coal canal, where, after an energetic effort, he succeeded in inducing the school trustees to employ him to teach the school at this point at $100 per month. There had been no regular school taught have for several years, and he afterward learned that the trustees had given it to him with this unusually large salary, believing that he would follow the fate of all other teachers in a few days, and be thrown out of the window; as the pupils, who were hard customers, and who during the summer drove the mules on the canal towpath, were denominated "canal and New York wharf rats," attended school only for a devilment in winter. He easily passed the examin- ing board for the same reason, when he stated that he weighted 117 pounds, they all laughed and winked at each other, as much as to say, let him have his fill; it will last but a few days. It was a ground hog case, admitting of no delay. He precipitated the inevitable straggle for supremacy on the second day, before they had fully organized, winning a complete victory, and made the school of over 100 pupils a grand success, end- ing it after four months' work and exhaustion of the school's surplus finances. It was while engaged in this school that he determined on the profession of medicine as his future career, and he accordingly commenced the study under Dr. William Cole, a most estimable gentleman, whose special kindness did much toward inducing this course. Closing his school, Mr. Jennings returned to Maine and entered the office of Dr. Alonzo Garcelon, of Lewiston, becoming a member of his family, with whom he remained the balance of his pupilage, attending his first course of lectures at Dartmouth Medical College, Hanover, N. H., and two other courses at the Medical School of Maine from which institution he graduated with honor in June, 1856. Very soon after graduating, Dr. Jennings determined to follow Greeley's injuction and "Go West." He accordingly gathered his little effects together, and a few days thereafter was again in the "Hub City." He had formed no posi- tive objective point to go to, but was inclined to turn to the then Territory of Kansas. While stopping at the American House, Boston, he was approached by a person who repre- sented himself as an agent of a large emigrant company who were going to Kansas to settle there, in the interest of Anti-slavery. He was offered a fine repeating rifle, accoutre- ments, ammunitions, etc., and a free railroad ticket to Leavenworth. This offer seemed so extraordinary to Dr. Jennings, and possessing very limited means, he did not feel as though he should decline it without a better and fuller understanding of the sub-strata object and principle involved in so subtle a proposition. The farther he investigated and the more he saw, he became convinced that to accept this offer with all the binding re- strictions encircling it, he must re-renounce his independence and political manhood forever. Up to this period of his life he had paid very little attention to politics, and did not consider that he had received that amount of education in this, to him, comparatively unknown wilderness, as far as he knew anything of the economic and prob- lemic political doctrines. In local politics he had voted just as he felt disposed to favor the candidates, wholly without regard to the party they represented. He therefore followed out the design previously formed, and went to Albany, N. Y., where, by accident, he met a distant relative he had never seen before---a Mr. Robert Jennings---with whom he remained a week, enjoying the hospitalities of his relative, a rich pork-packer. From here he went to Buffalo, and was also very agreeably entertained by John A. Pitts, the great threshing machine manufacturer, who had married a sister of Robert. Thence to Niagara Falls, where he spent another week contemplating the beauties of this wonderful cascade; thence through Canada to Detroit, where he met other distant relatives, nephews of the Albany Robert---Mr. William H. Jennings---the former a resident of Rochester, and the latter of Lapeer, Mich. Here he was prevailed upon to go to Lapeer and practice his profession. He did so, and remained there the balance of the year 1886 and nearly all of 1887. Dr. Jennings soon secured a very good practice in Lapeer and the new and fertile country around it. Here he met Gen. L. Cass, and had the pleasure of dining with him on several important occasions. He also formed the personal acquaintance of several other [inviduals], who afterward rose to marked distinction, politically, and through other channels, viz.: Zach, Chandler, Moses Wisner, Col. A. C. Baldwin and others. While in Michigan he formed the acquaintance of many of the afterward celebrities of the two, yes, all political parties, viz.: John C. Breckenridge, of Kentucky, W. H. Seward, of Albany, N. Y., and many other political speakers, who visited Pontiac and Detroit during the memorable canvass of this period. although his practice was rapidly increasing in Lapeer, and he was surrounded with every prospective yet he still yearned for other scenes and surroundings; and accordingly, late in December, 1887, he concluded to go south, and so "pulled up stakes" and went to Chicago. Here he met Dr. A. D. Frye, with whom he had studied medicine and attended lectures together, a bosom friend and companion, a brother of Senator W. P. Frye, of Maine. They held a regular reunion for a few days, when, bid- ding him good-by, Dr. Jennings went direct to Cairo, Ill., over the Illinois Central Railroad, and took passage on the Great Republic, a magnificent Mississippi River steam- boat, for New Orleans, La. This journey seemed enchantment itself. All was new; boat, people, everything he saw seemed wonderful and picturesque in the extreme, and none less to him than the peculiarities of the negroes, or colored people. The great majestic river seemed alive with all sorts and conditions of boats and barges, and scarcely half an hour would elapse without passing or meeting some craft or other, and at night, the beauty of the spectacle seemed a thousand times enhanced and deepened; so much so, that sleep was out of the question, until the eye and ear were satiated, and nature had be- come wearied with this grand and ever changing vision. Such was the impression made upon the Doctor, that, although years, long, weary, eventful years have since passed, the vision has never faded. The commerce and travel of this might river were then the pride and glory of the people everywhere in the South, and the ties that this character of social travel occasionally formed became often as lasting as the lives of the parties who were thus limitedly thrown together. At the Crescent City, the Doctor again met a distant relative, Capt. Lote Jennings, whom he had never met before, and other friends who soon seemed like old acquaintances. Remaining here a few days, he embarked on a steamboat for Camden, Ark., and thence by stage to Washington, where his eldest brother. Hon. Orville Jennings, resided. Here he at once entered upon the practice of his pro- fession by forming a co-partnership with Dr. Benjamin P. Jett, an old and highly re- spected physician of this place. In 1860 Dr. Jennings purchased Dr. Jett's drug store, and ran it in connection with his practice until he disposed of it and entered the Confederate army, as surgeon of the Twelfth Arkansas Regiment, Col. E. W. Gantt command- ing, to which he had been appointed and duly commissioned. This regiment was organized at Arkadelphia, and after being in camp at this place for about a month, moved from there to Little Rock, thence to Des Arc, and there took transportation boats for Memphis. In marching through Little Rock, Dr. Jennings was so much pleased with the place that he immediately wrote his brother, that should he be so fortunate as to survive the struggle then commencing, he should certainly got here to live the remainder of his life. The regiment was encamped throughout Oct, 1861, on the Raleigh road, about three miles from the city of Memphis, where it suffered immensely from measles; 950 out of about 1,100 men had this disease. On November 1, the regiment was sent to Columbus, Ky., arriving there a few days only previous to the battle of Belmont. In December following, it was transferred to New Madrid, where it remained throughout the winter of 1861-62. In March following, the fort at this place was captured by Gen. John Pope's army, the regiment escaping to the Kentucky and Tennessee side of the Mississippi River. The night of the evacuation, Dr. Jennings was ordered to accompany all the sick and wounded men at the fort by steamboat to Memphis, turn them over to the post-surgeon there, and return to his command, if possible, after discharging this duty. The boat succeeded in passing Point Pleasant, twelve miles below, without observation, where a Federal battery had been stationed to prevent the escape of the Confederate forces, and arrived at Memphis with 150 odd sick, wounded and disabled. Here Dr. Jennings found the hospital excess- ively crowded, and without any room for others. He was accordingly ordered to proceed with his boatload of sick, wounded and disabled men, and also take charge of another steamboat, with about the same number of sick, to accompany him, and to proceed to Helena, ark., and thence to Vicksburg, and establish Confederate hospitals there, re- move the sick to them, employ civil physicians and surgeons to attend them, and on completion of this duty to return to his command. This duty was performed as rapidly as possible, notwithstanding that the authorities at Vicksburg had not made the least preparation for their reception and care. Dr. Jennings then returned to Memphis by rail, and, as soon as possible, to his regiment on a gunboat from Memphis, where he arrived just in time to participate in the abandonment of Island No. 10, and the capture of his regiment, or almost the whole of it. April 7, 1862, at Tiptonville, near the mouth of the Obion River, Dr. Jennings was taken with the balance of the command, but in the darkness of the night got separated and wandered about in the woods nearly two weeks before he could effect his escape. He got hold of a Butternut suit of clothes, which he put on over his uniform, and visited the Federal camp going on board, a gunboat as a "swamp native;" his unkempt appearance from scudding under bare poles and sleeping in the bottoms, served greatly to strengthen this personated individual. He found an old boat one day, and thought he could calk up its numerous cracks and crevices, so that a dark night he could pass the Federal fleet, and make his way in this frail craft down the "Father of Waters." He worked faithfully on the old boat with such implements at his command, viz.: an old knife and an old shirt, and thought he had succeeded admirably, but had never tested it for want of opportunity and limited time. So the first dark night he managed to drag it to the edge of the water, the river then being excessively full with overflowed banks, and with an old board rudely shaped as a paddle, he wormed his way through the thicket of willows that skirted its border, and boldly struck out into the deep, dark waters of this mighty river. Nothing could be seem but the distant lights of the great fleet of boats comprising the Federal navy of conquest, and to pass them the frail little craft. Dr. Jennings alone commanded, must hug the opposite or Missouri shore closely, or it would be observed and brought to. He struck the current, and sensibly felt the little craft spin and whirl like a kite played in the wind, but the situation and the novelty of the undertaking gave zeal and courage to the occasion. It was momentary, for a change in the motion of the boat became painfully perceptible, and conveyed an impression of weight, as though it would overturn at once with diffi- culty of maintenance of equilibrium. His feet and legs felt wet and cold, and putting down his head he found the skiff was full of water, and liable to founder in a moment. The head of the skiff was now turned toward the shore it had left but a few minutes be- fore, and propelled with all the energy human skill could exert; the effort was success- ful, and in a moment, none too soon, the rapidly sinking boat reached the willows again, and as luck would have it, the side of a hugh forked tree anchored to the short was felt, and in a moment more Dr. Jennings was straddle of it, and soon had his boat drawn partially upon it, when wet, weary, and completely exhausted, lie patiently waited the first gleam of the dawn of day, to see how to extricate himself from the unfortunate dilemma he now found himself in. Relief came in time, and with light he found his way back to firm land again. Nothing daunted by this failure, he the next day made an arrangement with a fisherman to carry him across Redfoot Lake in his skiff, giving him a $10 greenback note, all the money he had except a few Confederate notes. The lake was over ten miles wide at this point. The next morning early they started, pushing away from the Federal picket gradually, until they got behind some cypress treetops, when they struck out through the various channels among the cypress trees, great numbers of which were standing, and presenting a truly wonderful appearance with their boughs ex- tended, some places way above the water, and at others in it. This lake was the result of several earthquakes, and an actual volcanic eruption in the Mississippi River on the New Madrid side, when a lake south of this point was raised up, and a cypress swamp on the Tennessee side sank down correspondingly, and became known afterward as Redfoot Lake, with these trees left standing at varying heights, with their dead branches presenting a weird and ghostly appearance; and to add to this unnatural scenery they came upon two rafts, on which two or three decomposing dead bodies of soldiers, who had endeavored to escape over this same route, were lying, and in the dead branches of the cypresses were quite a number of vultures who had been feasting upon them. The sight was sickening in the extreme, and they hurriedly passed by them and landed near a little place called Wilson. Dr. Jennings then footed it to Troy, carrying his surgical instruments in an old gunny-sack. Here he lodged over night, and in the morning tramped on his way along the track of the railroad to the Obion River. Here the bridge had been burned, and he succeeded in crossing it on a raft, nearly losing his life in the effort. He went on through Trenton to Humboldt. He found an engine with a few box-cars nearly ready to leave. He jumped aboard and went on to Jackson, thence to Grand Junction and into Mem- phis, where he found quite a remnant of his regiment. After a couple of days' rest he went to Corinth, Miss., and reported to D. W. Yandall, M. D., medical director of Gen. Beauregard's army. In a few hours thereafter, Yandall was superseded by Surgeon Ford, who ordered Dr. Jennings to report to Brig. Gen. John R. Jackson. This order was dated April 28, 1862. Gen. Jackson's brigade of Gen. J. M. Wither's division, consisted of the Seventeenth, Eighteenth, Twenty-first and Twenty-fourth Regiments of Alabama, and Fifth Regiment of Georgia. After the Farmington engagement, which followed in the earlier portion of May, Dr. Jennings was attacked with camp fever, entered the hospital at Corinth, and upon receipt of an indefinite sick-leave, went to Lafayette Depot, thirty-three miles east of Memphis, to Col. C. D. McLean's plantation, in accordance with a previous promise made Mrs. McLean who, on account of personal attention to her sick son WIlliam, desired to reciprocate favors in case of his sickness. Dr. Jennings remained at her house for several months, very dangerously sick; and though recovery was deemed so extremely doubtful that every preparation was made for his burial, he survived with a partial paralysis of the left half of his body, from which he did not fully re- cover for a long period. In August following he was able to travel, although on crutches, and was conveyed in a buggy to Holly Springs, Miss., thence by rail to Jackson, Vicks- burg and Monroe, La., and thus on to Camden and Washington, Ark., which he reached some time in November, 1882. At this place he gradually improved, and in the spring thought himself sufficiently able to return to his command. He traveled from Washington, Ark., to Jackson, Miss., alone on horseback with this object in view, but on completing the journey from Vicksburg to Jackson in the rain, he was again, at that latter place, attacked with acute rheumatism, which, as soon as he was able to travel (resigning his commission and passing an examining board), he slowly rode back over the same road to Washington, Ark., where he remained weak and feeble, until he (through permission) came into Little Rock, Ark., where he arrived on March 17, 1884. When he entered Little Rock, he was nearly naked, his clothes were ragged, and he did not have means enough at his command to purchase himself a very common meal of victuals. He found friends here that offered him immediate assistance, and he at once entered as a contract (or assistant army surgeon) in the United States army, being first given the Twelfth Michigan battery, then the Fifth Ohio, and then the garrison at Fort Steele (which fort had just been completed), and in a short time the officers' hospital at the Woodruff building, and thence service at the St. John's general hospital. In 1865 four assistant army surgeons, who had been assigned consecutively to the small-pox hospital, each contracted the disease, and as none of them had recovered sufficiently to return to duty, Dr. Jennings was ordered to take charge of it, which he did. After the St. John's hospital was dis- continued, Dr. Jennings was given the Freedmen's hospital. When this latter was closed, Dr. Jennings, who had, notwithstanding his varied official positions, done a limited private practice, now devoted himself exclusively to it, and soon acquired reputation and standing in all his relations with the profession and citizens. When the Brooks- Baxter embroglio occurred in April, 1874, he sided with the cause of Gov. Baxter, and was appointed surgeon-general of his forces. He served faithfully through this trouble, but through some neglect or carelessness of the general officials, is the only officer of this renowned State that was never mustered out of service. In reality, therefore, he is the only surgeon-general of Arkansas to-day, as none other has since been appointed. Dr. Jennings has, therefore, been in the practice of his profession in the city of Little Rock almost twenty-six years. He has been intimately associated with the city, county and State medical organizations, in which he was one of the original movers, and has served as secretary and president of each society. He was also one of the founders of the Medical Department of the Arkansas Industrial University, and still acts as the secretary of the faculty, which he has done since its organization, in 1879. He is therefore well known throughout the profession of the State, and through his long membership in the American Medical Association, which dates from 1869, among the leading members of the profession throughout the United States. In April, 1869, Dr. Jennings married Miss Gertrude E. (daughter of William A. Elliott) of Camden, Ark., by whom he has had three children: Octavia, Orville and Elliott Crews. He still practices his pro- fession in the city of Little Rock.
C. Jennings, M. D., is a faithful laborer in the cause and advancement of the science of medicine, and is recognized as such by his fellow-men. He is a native of [Hempsted] County, Ark., born in 1857, and in his early days received an excellent literary education, being a graduate of St. John's College of Little Rock. He began his medical studies in the University of Louisiana at New Orleans, graduating in 1883, and afterward entered Charity Hospital of that city as a resident student, having the advantages of that institution for two years during his medical course. From this he also graduated in 1883. Returning to his home in Little Rock, by sterling worth and skill, he became quick- ly recognized by the people of Little Rock as a leading member of the medical fraternity, and in the few years of his residence here has built up a practice which he only ex- pected to secure after years of arduous labor. He belongs to the Pulaski County Medical Society, also the State Medical Society, and in his religious views is a member of the Episcopal Church. His wife, whose maiden name was Jean M. Venor, was born in Tennessee, and by Dr. Jennings is the [mother] of one child: Edwin R. The Doctor is a son of Orville and Julia R. (Black) Jennings.
J. B. Johnson, a prominent merchant and one of the principal farmers in Pulaski County, was born in Crockett County, Tenn., on January 15, 1865, and is a son of W. E. and Pearilee (Wells) Johnson, the former a native of Missouri who moved to Tennessee in 1864, and the mother a native of the latter State. The parents had seven children born to their union, of whom J. B. was the third. The father fought through the Civil War in the Con- federate army, and left the struggle with a brilliant record gained on the battlefield. His death occurred in 1887, but his widow still survives him, as does also the paternal grandfather, at the age of seventy-six years. J. B. Johnson was reared in Crawford County, Tenn., until his sixteenth year, when he moved to Pulaski County, Ark., and commenced farming. On his arrival he had almost nothing in the way of wealth, but he has set an example since then that might well be followed by many young men of the present day---a career which would win for them also the respect and high position that he enjoys. He is now one of the leading men and representative citizens of his county. In 1887 he entered into partnership with Mr. Burton Mainard and established a business at Roland, in which they carry a stock of goods worth from $1,500 to $8,000, and have control of a patronage that is as large as it is lucrative. Aside from his business interests he owns 300 acres of valuable land, and has placed thirty-five acres under cultivation, all of it being the result of his own enterprise and good management. In September, 1887, he was married to Miss Millie Oglesby, by whom he had one child; and the hardest blow that has come to him was the loss of both mother and child. In politics he is a Democrat and a strong supporter of that party. He was elected constable of Roland Township in 1886, and in 1888 re-elected to the same position. Mr. Johnson is a straightforward, outspoken man, of a kindly, but fearless disposition, and is very popular with the citizens of Roland Township.
Gen. Daniel W. Jones, formerly attorney-general of Arkansas, but now one of the lead- ing practicing lawyers in Little Rock, was born December 15, 1839, in the then Republic of Texas. He is a son of Dr. Isaac N. Jones, of Granville County, N. C., a physician of noe while residing in that State, but who at the time of Daniel's birth was a member of the Texas Congress. In politics the elder Jones was a Whig, and a leader of his party. Shortly after the birth of his son he removed to Arkansas and purchased a large plantation in Lafayette County. The greater portion of his time was spent in Washington, Ark., but while at his plantation inspecting the machinery of his gins and presses, a boiler in one of the gins exploded and killed him instantly. This occurred February 11, 1858. His wife before marriage was a Miss Elizabeth W. Littlejohn, of Oxford, N. C. The issue of their union was eight children, of whom seven lived to maturity and five yet remain. The mother died January 27, 1867, at the age of sixty-two years. Daniel W. was reared in Hempstead County, and received a good education at the high school of that place. When twenty years of age he commenced the study of law with the late Judge John R. Eakin, of the State supreme court, but the Civil War commencing in 1861 interrupted his studies. He enlisted in Gratiot's regiment of State troops, and remained with them until after the battle of Oak Hills when the regiment was then disbanded. Mr. Jones then raised a company of his own, of which he was made captain, and that body was mus- tered in as Company A, of the Twentieth Arkansas Confederate troops. At the battle of Corinth he was severly wounded by being shot through the body. At that time he had been promoted to the rank of major, but upon his recovery, in December, 1862, he was made colonel of the regiment and served in that rank until almost near the close of the war, when he was given command of a brigade. Gen. Jones was married on February 9, 1864, to Miss Margaret P. Hadly, of Ashley County, Ark., and shortly after the war had ended resumed his law studies and was admitted to the bar in September, 1865. He commenced practicing in the same year at Washington, Ark.,and in January, 1866, was appointed prosecuting attorney without any solicitation on his part, his appointment being made by Gov. Murphy on recommendation of members of the bar of that county. After his time had expired, the General continued his practice until 1874, when he was elected prosecuting attorney of the Ninth judicial circuit, serving one term. In 1876 he was presidential elector for the then Second Congressional district, for Tilden and Hendricks, and in 1880 was a presidential elector at large in Arkansas for Hancock and English. In 1884 he was a candidate for attorney general before the Democratic conven- tion. He was nominated and elected in September of that year, and in 1886 was a candid- ate for re-election and had no opposition. Since his retirement from office (January 18, 1889), he has continued in the practice of law, but has made his home in Little Rock since 1885. Gen. Jones is a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows fraternities and also of the State Bar Association. He is also a stockholder in the Little Rock board of trade. In religious belief he belongs to Grace Episcopal Church. Seven child- ren have been born to him and his wife, of whom five are yet living, two daughters and three sons: Claudius (who was married to Miss Gabie Beauchamp, by whom he has a daugh- ter named Virginia), Elizabeth W., Bobbie N., Daniel W., Jr., and Howard H. Mrs. Jones and the remainder of the family are also members of the same church.
Hon. John T. Jones, State senator from Little Rock district, and a prominent planter of Pulaski County, was born in Albemarle County, Va., in 1842, and is a son of Thomas and Sarah E. (Bunch) Jones, of the same State. The parents remained in Virginia until John T. had reached the age of about five years, and then moved to Hinds County, Miss., where the father died in 1866, and the mother in 1871. The elder Jones was a successful and wealthy planter. None of his riches were inherited, but all made through his own industry and good management. He was a Whig in politics, and a strong Union man, but when the Civil War commenced he remained true to the soil that gave him birth, and cast his fortunes with the Southern States. He also fought in one of the early Indian wars, and, although his services in the last great struggle were with the Lost Cause, his name deserves a place in history for his bravery. He was a member of the A. F. & A. M., and a prominent man in both the Masonic order and in public life. Reuben Jones, his father, was also a soldier in some of the earlier wars of this country, as was also Benjamin Bunch, the maternal grandfather of John T. Jones. John T. was the second child in a family of four sons and two daughters, and was educated in the subscription schools of Mississippi. When the Civil War commenced he joined the Twelfth Mississippi Infantry, and served through the entire period in the army of Virginia, taking part in the battles of Bull Run, Seven Days' Battles around Richmond, Fredericksburg, Antietam, Chancellors- ville and Gettysburg, being captured at the latter place. He was taken prisoner to Washington, D. C. and confined in the old Capitol Prison for awhile, and then transferred to Point Lookout, Md., and kept until November, 1864, when he was exchanged and returned home. Soon after this he joined Wirt Adams' Company, in Gen. Forrest's army, and went to Selma, Ala., where he was engaged in several hot skirmishes until the war was ended. After the surrender he returned home and took charge of his father's farm, as his oldest brother had been killed in the Confederate army, and the father was then in feeble health. In 1889 he was married to Miss Martha E., a daughter of Lewis and Martha E. Bell, by whom he has had six children, two sons and two daughters yet living: Ida (wife of George Prothro), Thomas P., Minnie and Fleming. In 1872 Mr. Jones moved with his family to Pulaski County, and settled in Maumelle Township, where he purchased two farms of 400 and 160 acres, comprising some of the best land in Central Arkansas. Since 1885 he has resided in Little Rock, where he has bought a comfortable home, in order to properly educate his children. In 1868 Mr. Jones was elected sheriff of Smith County, Miss., and served two years. Upon his arrival in Pulaski County he was elected justice of the peace, and served until 1882, when he was elected to the lower house of representatives, and in 1884 re-elected. In 1886 he was elected to represent the Tenth district (Pulaski and Perry Counties) in the State senate for four years, and during the Cleveland administration was also deputy United States marshal for the Eastern district of Arkansas. During his first term in the legislature he was chairman of the committee on public roads and highways, and a member of the committee on elections. He has been chairman several terms of important committees, and a member of agricultural, public charities and various other committees. In politics he is a Democrat and a leader in his party, his intellect, shrewdness and in- fluence making him a valuable friend and a formidable enemy. He is a member of the Agri- cultural Wheel and the A. F. & A. M., belonging to Mount Moriah Lodge, Mississippi, since 1866. Mrs. Jones was a devout attendant of the Baptist Church from her fourteenth year until her death, and was a very charitable Christian lady. She died in May, 1886.
Judge Eben W. Kimball is a native of New Hampshire and was born in 1839. His ancestors on his father's side, came from England in 1626, and settled in Watertown, Mass., but his father's mother was born in Ireland. On his mother's side they are traced from Scotland and Wales, and he thus unites in one stream the blood of the four quarters of the Isle of Great Britain. Eben was educated in Massachusetts at the Salem Latin school, the first public school in the country, and afterward entered Harvard College, and read law in Salem, where he practiced his profession for several years with signal success. He was elected to the legislature of Massachusetts before he was twenty-one years old, and served with much honor and credit. Becoming settled in Indianapolis, he took a leading rank among the bar of that State, where he won his full share of credit against such opponents as Harrison, Hendricks and McDonald. In 1874 he moved to Little Rock, where he now resides. His practice is largely in the United States courts, and he has been remark- ably successful in litigation concerning county and municipal bonds, and in suits against corporations generally. He is the attorney of all the leading insurance companies, and of foreign investment companies, as well as of the First National Bank, the Arkansas Indust- rial Company, Gas Light, and many other large corporations. He is said to be the best cross-examing lawyer in the State. Judge Kimball has always been a strong Republican, and when in Indiana he stumped the State with Gov. Morton in his famous race against McDonald, Gov. Morton pronouncing him to be among the foremost of political orators. He stumped Western Missouri with Col. Van Horn, for Grant in his last presidential campaign. His political affiliations, however, do not deter him from entering heartily into every move- ment for the improvement of Arkansas, and the fact that he is not in accord politically with the majority in his State, is never thought of when brains and energy are needed. He, however, manages to keep out of office, and is among the foremost dozen men now bring- ing Arkansas to the front. He has been special judge many times in various courts, and is a member of the bar of the supreme court of the United States. Everybody calls him "Judge" Kimball, and when asked how he came by that title he replied: "Some men are called "Judge" because happen to be elected such, others because they are judges of the law. I don't be- long to the former class." Mrs. Kimball is a beautiful and charming lady, and has display- ed more than ordinary skill and talent in painting on china and in oil. They have two attractive young children; his eldest daughter is the accomplished wife of George B. Rose, Esq., of Little Rock. The eldest son, Horace Kimball, is a rising young lawyer, who inherits much of his father's brilliancy and good judgment. Judge Kimball is a great organizer, and any movement in which he is interested runs smoothly and systematically, the work being all carefully planned beforehand, and men to carry out each portion of it selected with rare good judgment; as a consequence, great results are accomplished with- out friction or undue disturbance. The late State exposition of the resources of Arkansas and State Immigration Convention, are illustrations in point. Judge Kimball was the pres- ident of the exposition, and the master mind behind the immigration convention, the most unanimous and generally approved movement that has ever taken place in the State, the constitution of which was written by him. Judge Kimball is an ideal companion to men who value that sort of refined and strong speech which made Dr. Johnson so attractive. He possesses a quickness of conception and an aptness of illustration that at once silence the conversational bore and win admiration from men of keen intelligence. His marked gentleness of manner, and the sympathetic play of his wit, invite friendship and confi- dence. He never wounds a friend, and there are no dregs of bitterness in the rich draught of his mirth. Judge Kimball is now engaged in the practice of law, in which it is need- less to say, he is more than successful. He is a director in the Arkansas Insurance Com- pany, which he organized, is president of the Little Rock & Choctaw Railroad, of the Layman Safety Car Coupler Company, of the Arkansas Abstract Company, and is largely interested in the development of the minerals in Northern Arkansas. He is one of the most eloquent of "after dinner" speakers, and his response to the toast "The Commercial Trav- eler as a Factor of Civilization," at the great banquet of the Travelers' Protective Association at Little Rock, in 1889, in pronounced one of the most brilliant speeches of his life. No higher encomiums can be passed on him than by simply calling attention to the positions he has held with such honor and credit, and the respect and unqualified esteem that is given him throughout the country. His is a record that the rising gener- ation should at least try to follow.
J. W. Knott, proprietor of one of the leading restaurants of Little Rock (under the Capital Theater), is a native of Middle Tennessee, and was born in Maury County, near Columbia, July 17, 1844. He is a son of William M. Knott, also a native of the same county and State. When sixteen years of age Mr. Knott enlisted in Capt. Rucker's company in Twentieth Tennessee Infantry, and served in that regiment until the battle of Murfreesboro, where he had a brother killed. Then joining the Fourth Tennessee Cavalry, he served under Gen. Forrest, until the battle of Chickamauga, where he was made a prisoner, and held as such, until June 5, after the war closed. He then returned to Tennessee, and was engaged in trading for some time, following which he entered the Rail- way News and Dining-room business, in 1876. He came to Arkansas in 1880, and successfully conducted the Railway News and Dining-room business, until 1886, at which time he sold his railway business. In 1885 he purchased the confectionery stand adjoining his present place of business, and two years later opened up a restaurant---that business now receiv- ing his attention. He has built up a large and profitable patronage. Mr. Knott comes of one of the best Tennessee families, and by strict integrity, fair dealing and close attention to business affairs, he has won the confidence and respect of all good people. Mr. Knott is a member, in good standing, in the I. O. O. F. and Knights of Honor lodges, and is an upright and useful citizen.
Fred Kramer, Jr., member of the firm of Raible & Kramer, wholesale candy manufacturers at Little Rock, was born in that city, and is a son of Mr. Fred Kramer, a prominent Ger- man citizen of Arkansas. The latter served as mayor of Little Rock for eight years, and inaugurated most of the improvements that are now being put in operation in that place. His wife, who was a Miss Adeline Richards before marriage, was also a native of Germany. They were the parents of five living children; of these, Fred, Jr., was reared in the city of his birth, there receiving a good education in the public schools. Fred is assistant foreman of one of the companies of the Little Rock fire department (No. 4) and also belongs to the order of American Fireman of Arkansas. He is a young man of fine business ability, and has charge of the office work and also the foreign order department of his firm. In religious belief he is a member of Christ Episcopal Church.
Martin L. Kumpe is a native of Alabama, but has been a resident of Arkansas for over thirty years. He is a son of John Kumpe and Lucinda (Maples) Kumpe, natives of Germany and Tennessee, respectively. John Kumpe, a well-known citizen of Little Rock for over thirty years, came originally from Hessen County, Germany (where he was born April 6, 1807) to American, when eighteen or nineteen years old. He was a gardener by trade, and for the first three years spent in this country he was employed in the Botanical Gardens at the city of Washington. He then went to Huntsville, Ala., and some time afterward to Tuscumbia, Ala., where he was engaged in the confectionery business, and where he was married. In 1846, disposing of his interests, he commenced farming, continuing until 1859, when he sold out and moved to Little Rock, where he resumed the confectionery business. In 1872 his son, Martin L., purchased this outfit, and Mr. Kumpe retired from active business life. He erected two large brick buildings in that year, and a couple more in the following two years. Mr. and Mrs. Kumpe were the parents of fourteen child- ren, nine of whom are living: Mary (wife of John Drehr), Edward E. (who is a resident of the Indian Territory), Ann, (wife of Thomas Parsel), Martin B. (the subject of this article), Elizabeth (wife of J. W. Carden), Charles, Gertrude (now Mrs. Scharer), Carrie, (now Mrs. Haley) and Henry P. Mrs. Kumpe is still living, and is in her seventieth year. In the year 1862 Martin L. Kumpe (our subject) went into his father's store as clerk, in which capacity he continued until 1872, when he bought out his father and continued the business up to 1879, his brother Charley then becoming proprietor. In 1881 he was on the police force, and served for about eight months in this capacity, after which he went into the sewing-machine trade. Mr. Kumpe has been twice married. First in June, 1872, to Miss Parsel, who died the following year. His second union, on September 8, 1875, was to Drucilla Dale. They were the parents of one child, Fannie, now thirteen years old. Mrs. Kumpe is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. Kumpe belongs to Damon Lodge No. 8, Knights of Pythias.
W. J. Landrum, traveling salesman for Thomas W. Baird, successor to Baird & Bright, dealers in machinery, Little Rock, Ark., is a native of Mississippi, and was born in Holly Springs, Marshall County, in 1852. His father, John F. Landrum, was born in Tennessee in 1832, and up to the breaking out of the late war was a well-to-do farmer, but, like many others, suffered serious losses. He was married, in 1850, to Miss Mary A. Edmonson, of Virginia, and the daughter of Sidney and Lucy C. Edmonson. Mrs. Landrum was born in 1833, and was an attractive and interesting woman. To the union of Mr. Landrum and wife a family of seven children were born, only three of whom are now living: W. J., B. F. and Lucy C. (the wife of John C. Skelton.) John F. Landrum immigrated to Arkansas from Mississippi in 1855, and located in Des Arc, Prairie County, where he pur- chased land in the woods and built a log-house, soon having the place in cultivation. He served in the late war, first going out in the cavalry, in 1861, but after a short time he was appointed manager on the Confederate side of the Atlantic Hospital, where he remained until 1863. He was then taken ill and died soon after. His wife married again in 1865, her second choice being Mr. Samuel Wagoner, a native of Kansas, and by whom she had one daughter, now deceased. Mrs. Wagoner died in Little Rock, in 1867, in the full faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church. W. J. Landrum began a life for himself in 1872, engaging as fireman in the employ of the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railway, which position he held for two years. He then worked at the boiler and machinist business at Little Rock until 1885, at the expiration of that time accepting the position of traveling salesman for Baird & Bright, in which he has since successfully remained. In 1875 his marriage with Miss Emma C. Davis, of Little Rock, was consummated. Mrs. Landrum was born in Murray County, Ga., in 1859, being the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Davis, natives of Indiana, who moved from that State to Georgia, in 1863, and located in Murray County. The father died in 1872, and after his death Mrs. Davis emigrated to Arkansas and settled in Pulaski County, where her death occurred in 1873. She was a devout member of the Meth- odist Episcopal Church. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Landrum five children have been born, only two now living: Ora C. and Oscar S. Mr. Landrum owns eighty acres of good land in Izard County, Ark., and also eighty acres in Pulaski County. He is a member of the A. F. & A. M., and a stanch Democrat. Mrs. Landrum is an earnest worker of the Methodist Episcopal Church and, with her husband, enjoys the esteem and universal respect of the community. Mr. Landrum is one of the oldest commercial travelers on the road in point of experience, and is a courteous, affable gentleman, enjoying an extended acquaintance.
Isaac Lawrence made his first visit to Arkansas in the winter of 1847-48, as a commercial traveler for a mercantile house in the East. He remained two and a half months, during which time he traveled 1,600 miles in the State and Indian Territory, more than half the distance on horseback and without weapons. His birthplace was in Connecticut, and his natal year, 1814. Trained to mercantile pursuits, he began business at the age of twenty in his native county, going thence to New York in the same business, and when so engaged
Robert W. Lemastee, the popular postmaster at Halstead, and also a prominent merchant and farmer of that place, was born in Spartanburg, S. C., in 1829, and is a son of Wesley and Orpha Lemastee, of the same county and State, born in 1806 and 1812, respectively. The father resided in Spartanburg County all his life, and is buried there, while the mother passed the remainder of her days in Georgia, where she died in 1856. Her husband was a prominent farmer and a son of Richard Lemastee, of Virginia, who died in South Carolina over one hundred years old. His father was George Lemastee, who emigrated from England to America, and served in the Revolution two years after which he settled in Virginia and then in South Carolina, where be became a wealthy farmer and an influential citizen of his adopted country. Robert was the second child in a family of six sons and one daughter, and like many of the self-made men of the present day, he received a limited education in his youth. One reason for this was on account of the scarcity of schools, and then the father died when Robert was only eleven years old, thus throwing the main support of the family upon him. In 1853 he moved to the State of Georgia, and was there married to Lucinda, a daughter of Coleman and Nancy Hames, of South Carolina. Mrs. Lemastee's parents left their native State and settled in Georgia, where his mother died, and the father, who is a prominent farmer, still resides. Mr. Lemastee remained in Georgia until 1866, spending four years of that time in Philipps' Legion of Georgia troops in the army of Virginia, and fighting under Gen. Longstreet at Chattanooga, Bull Run, Sharpsburg, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Antietam, Mission Ridge, and a great number of other engagements, also serving part of the time as a member of the pioneer corps. In April 1865, he surrendered with Gen. Lee at Appomattox and returned to his family in Georgia, where he remained until 1866, and then moved to Yell County, Ark., where he settled for four years. In 1870 he moved to Pulaski County, and proceeded to clear up a tract of land in the woods. He now owns 160 acres, ad has seventy acres under cultivation. Besides his farming interests he has established a general merchandise store, and carries a fine stock of goods, and since 1886 has been the postmaster of Halstead, his present prosperity coming to him through his own enterprise and industry. In politics Mr. Lemastee is a Democrat, and in secret orders he is a member of the A. F. & A. M., Alexander Lodge No. 353. Himself and wife, who is a devout Christian lady, have attended the Methodist Church for over forty years.
James H. Lenow, M. D., occupies a chair in the Medical Department of the Arkansas Industrial University, his branch being the diseases of gentio-urinary organs and Syphilis. The only son in the family of James and Indiana (Leake) Lenow, he was born in Memphis, Tenn., on February 18, 1850. James Lenow died at Louisville, Ky., June 9, 1850, while en route to Virginia to pay a last visit to his aged mother. His estimable wife survived him until July 17, 1865. They were the parents of one daughter, Josephine, whose birth occurred in Fayette County, Tenn., in 1844. She was twice married, first to Mr. Frank T. Cochran, who died in 1872, and the second time to Dr. John A. Watkins, of Tennessee. She died April 25, 1886, leaving two sons, one by each husband. Dr. James H. Lenow was educated in the Kentucky Military Institute, graduated from that institution in June, 1870, and received the degree of A. B., and in 1876 the degree of A. M. Having determined upon the practice of medicine, he immediately began its study in New York, and after a thorough course was graduated with high honors in the class of 1872, from the Jefferson Medical College, at Philadelphia. In 1872 he located in Little Rock, and since that time has been actively occupied in the profession of his chosen occupation, admin- istering carefully and with person interest to the wants of suffering humanity. For seven years he was the physician in charge of the State penitentiary, and also held the position of city and jail physician for a number of terms, only resigning the position of city physician to accept a chair for two terms in the city council. In 1877 Dr. Lenow was health officer of the city, and is now medical examiner for both the Mutual Equitable and Manhattan Life Insurance Companies, of New York. In November, 1883, he was married to Mrs. Ella D. Fones. Two children have been born of this union: Jamie and Horace. The Doctor is liberal, and contributes largely to anything that tends to the advancement of Little Rock.
R. W. Lindsey, M. D. In Union county, Ark., April 11, 1846, R. W. Lindsey first saw the light of day. He is the son of Caleb Lindsey, originally from Christian County, Ky., who was born in 1807, and came to Arkansas in 1818, settling in Lawrence County. After a few years' residence here he moved to Little Rock, and then to Saline County, with his father, Caleb Lindsey, Sr., the latter dying in 1826, in Saline County. His son, Caleb, was married in 1837, to Rebecca Brillhart, of Lawrence County, Ark., and they became the parents of seven children, only three of whom attained their majority. At the present two are living: R. W. and H. B. Some years after the father's death (which occurred in 1856) Mrs. Lindsey married Mr. Cornelius Cralock, and is now residing in Ashley County. Dr. R. W. Lindsey received an excellent education in youth and lived on a farm in Ashley County until January, 1863, when he enlisted in Company A, Fifth Louisiana Cavalry, for a war experience. After serving until the close of the war, or rather until the news of Lee's surrender arrived at Alexandria, La., the command was disbanded, and he returned home. He was in several skirmishes, but none of particular importance. In 1868, Dr. Lindsey began to wade through the dry and ponderous volumes of medical lore, but subsequently came off victorious. He studied with Dr. William Thompson, in Little Rock, and remained with him for two years, following which an attendance upon the lectures at the University of Nashville (where he graduated in February, 1872) ably qualified him for a professional career. He first hung out his modest little sign in Plum Bayou, a village in Jefferson County, Ark., and though it would scarcely attract the passer-by, his reputation as a competent physician soon became recognized, for he enjoys a lucrative practice for nine years. In 1881 Dr. Lindsey came to Little Rock, and has built up an enviable practice, where he has remained ever since. He is a good citizen, generous and enterprising, and contributes liberally to all public movements. He was married in Little Rock, December 31, 1874, to Miss Fannie Hensley, a native of Cabell County, West Va. Their offspring consists of two boys: Caleb Wright (born August 18, 1876) and William Edwin (born October 11, 1878, at Plum Bayou, Ark). They are aged respectively thirteen and eleven, and both healthy, well-developed children.
Capt. Felix G. Lusk, one of the leading members of the Arkansas bar, and a practical farmer, was born in Sevier County, Tenn., in 1829, and is a son of Maurice R. Lusk and Jane Matthews. M. R. Lusk was born in Buncombe County, N. C., in 1801, and his wife in Sevier County, Tenn., in 1807. They were married in the latter county, and in 1826, re- moved to Newmarket, Ala., where the mother died in 1840. In 1842 Mr. Lusk was again married, and in the same year moved to Lewisburg, Ark., and in 1846 they again changed their location to a point near Malvern, Ark., where both died in 1856. The father was a shoemaker by trade, and was very much interested in military matters, being captain of militia in Alabama. He was a son of Joseph Lusk, of Irish descent, who fought in the Revolution with Gen. Marion; and Joseph Lusk's father was John Lusk, one of seven brothers who came from Ireland to America at a very early period of this country's history, and who separated at Jamestown, Va., each going to a different State. Jeremiah Matthews, the maternal grandfather of Capt. Felix G. Lusk, was of Irish descent and born in Virginia. He was a courier during the Revolution under Gen. Marion, and afterward settled in Tennessee, where he resided a great many years, and was one of the pioneers of Sevier County. Capt. Lusk was the third child of six born to his parents, and received a good common-school education. He commenced a good common-school education. He commenced farming for himself when sixteen years old, remaining at it one year, when he was apprenticed to the tannery business for three years. After that he followed the trade of carpentering until the war, when he enlisted in Company K, First Arkansas Infantry, having come to Arkansas in his boyhood, and was appointed orderly-sergeant, in which he served until 1862, when he was promoted to a captaincy, thus serving for three years; he was seignior-captain, hence the oft-mentioned colonel. He took part in the first battle of Manassas, the engagements of Shiloh, Farmington (Miss.) Perryville (Ky.), Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge and all the Georgia campaigns in which Joe Johnston and Hood commanded up to the fall of Atlanta. Immediately before the latter, he was sent into the State of Arkansas on detach duty to hunt up deserters, which was then a dangerous mission to perform. He continued in that capacity until April 2, 1865, when he was captured at South Bend, just after crossing the Arkansas River, and imprisoned at Little Rock until after the general surrender. He was captured three times during the war, but made his escape by a daring break for liberty, never remaining a prisoner longer than ten months, except the last time, and was wounded in two engagements, slightly. After the war he settled in Little Rock, and commenced his trade as carpenter, also dealing in real estate. In 1884 he moved to Mabelvale, and continued practicing up to 1888, when he changed his location to his present farm, one and one-half miles southwest of Mabelvale, where he has eighty acres in one tract and forty-six acres in another, besides owning land in Saline and Lonoke, all of which the Captain has accumulated by his own shrewdness, good business ability and energy. In politics he is a Democrat, and has always voted that ticket, having been appointed deputy clerk of Hot Spring County, and for a period served as constable and deputy sheriff of Columbia County. He was afterward deputy clerk in Little Rock, and justice of the peace in Prairie County for about one year. In 1866 he was married to Mrs. Martha L. Lee, a charming widow, and a daughter of John and Lucinda Quindley, of Tennessee and Georgia, respectively. This wife died July 16, 1878, and in January 1879, he was married to Mrs. Mollie A. Kimbrough, a pleasant and agreeable widow lady, and a daughter of Nathan and Catherine Morgan.
H. D. McCowan, superintendent of the Eagle Ginning & Cotton Pickery, Little Rock, was born in that city on February 15, 1858, and is a son of Gabriel McCowan, a native of Edinburgh, Scotland. The father was a prominent Mason who had attained the thirty-third degree, and was an associate of Gen. Albert Pike, Albert Mackey and Judge E. H. English. He came to America in 1849, and located at Little Rock where he established himself in business and resided until the year 1871, when his death occurred. He was engaged in the wholesale dry-goods business, and also operated the first tannery ever erected in Arkansas, in partnership with Mr. Alex George, now deceased also. He was also a director and stockholder in various other enterprises in Little Rock and was one of its most widely known and influential business men. The elder McCowan was married to Miss Elizabeth Mandel, a native of Hanover, Germany, their nuptials taking place at the city of Port Gibson, Miss. Five children were born to this union of whom four are yet living, as is also the mother who resides with her son, the principal of this sketch. H. D. McCowan was reared during the greater part of his earlier life in New York City, and received his education at Eastman's business college in Poughkeepsie, N. Y. While living in New York City he was employed by one of the leading varnish firms, and that, coupled with his commercial training received at Poughkeepsie, made him thoroughly efficient to enter into business on his own account. After leaving college he came to Little Rock, and for the first four years of his arrival was cashier of the Arkansas Gazette. He afterward went into the machinery business with Messrs. R. L. Cobb & Co., and remained with that firm until they went out of existence, and for the past five years has been employed by the present firm, whose business has been greatly enlarged and prospered under his able and efficient management. The entire establishment is in Mr. McCowan's charge, and his entire time is devoted to the large volume of business that they command. In secret societies he is a member of Lonoke Lodge No. 8, Knights of Pythias, and also belongs to the order of American Firemen and is vice-president of the Council. Mr. McCowan belongs to and is secretary of the Pat Cleburne Fire Company No. 1 and has been connected with the Little Rock department for nineteen years. He was married on December 7, 1881, to Miss Ida Lewis, a niece of S. Navra, a prominent merchant of Little Rock. Three children have been born to this marriage, of whom two are yet living, Clifford and a baby boy.
Dr. M. J. McHenry, a prominent physician and surgeon and dealer in drugs, chemicals and sundries at Jacksonville, is a native of Shelby County, Ala., and was born in 1843. His parents were M. H. and M. M. (Moore) McHenry, the former born in Virginia in 1804 and dying at the home of his son in Pulaski County in 1888. The father moved with his parents to Alabama while in his boyhood, and there attained his maturity and was married. In 1847 he moved with his wife to Union County, Ark., where he reside until 1874, and then came to Pulaski County. He became a very prosperous planter, and was a noted politician in both Alabama and Arkansas, having served in the Alabama legislature for one term, and several times elected sheriff of Shelby County, in that State. He was a Democrat and an influential man with his party as well as an enterprising citizen. His wife was born in Georgia in 1816, and died one year before her husband at the home of her son in Pulaski County. They were the parents of nine children, of whom seven grew to maturity and five are yet living, on residing in Texas and the remainder in Arkansas. Two of the sons gave up their lives for the Confederate cause during the last war. Dr. McHenry was the second child of this family, and was reared principally in Arkansas and educated in the public schools of that State. His chosen profession was medicine, and he took one course at the New Orleans Medical Collage, afterward graduating from the University of Maryland at Baltimore in 1870. He first commenced practicing in Columbia County and then moved to Jacksonville, Ark., in 1871, which place he has made his home and practiced ever since. At the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted in the Confederate army and served almost four years, becoming, when Capt. Wallace's company was organized in Union County, a member, and being actively engaged for the remainder of the war; entering as a private, he was promoted to first lieutenant and finally took command of the company, his promotion being won solely on his merit as a gallant soldier. In 1872 he was married to a Miss Scott, of Louisiana, a daughter of Col. Thomas Scott, and by this union had one son, Garland H.m who resides with his father. The Doctor lost his first wife in 1874, and four years later he was married to Miss Estelle Teague, of Alabama, by whom he has had four children. Dr. McHenry has been in the drug business ever since his arrival in Jacksonville, and carries a very select stock of goods. He is one of the leading physicians of Pulaski County, and is recognized as standing at the head of his profession, his large practice and wide popularity fully attesting to that fact. He owns 109 acres of valuable farming land, and has an interest in some 280 acres of mineral land containing lead and silver, which, from present prospects, will yield him a fortune in the near future. He is a Democrat in politics and a strong supporter of that party, and has served one term in the legislature to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. The Doctor is a courteous and pleasant gentleman in every way, and his many good qualities have won him a host of friends. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, as was also his first as well as his second wife.
Angelo Marre (deceased was a native of "Sunny Italy" and was born in Genoa, in 1842. When about twelve years old is came to America with his parents, and when the war broke out entered the army in the defense of the rights of Tennessee, the State of his adoption. He served throughout the entire war with the courage and ardor of America's own sons, and after that was employed on the detective force in Memphis. In 1872 he left Memphis and came to Little Rock, where he engaged in the liquor trade. In this business he was very successful, amassing a large fortune, but after a time he retired from the active conduct of business interests and turned his attention to city and county politics. He served several terms as alderman from the second ward, and a realization that he was in any position or office was assurance of the careful and successful discharge of the duties intrusted to his care. For one term he was a member of the board of public affairs, and at one time was selected by the Republican party as their candidate for sheriff. At the time of his death, which occurred in February, 1889, he owned a large interest in, and was president of, the Edison Electric Light Company of Little Rock. At the Catholic Church of Little Rock, in 1877, Mr. Marre was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Bacigalupo. They were the proprietors of the Crystal Palace, of Memphis, Tenn., and were victims of the yellow fever plague of 1878, dying within a few days of each other. The obituaries written at the time of their death spoke of them in unqualified praise. Mrs. Marre survives her husband, and is a charming lady, and a great favorite in her large circle of friends. Little Rock owes much to Mr. Marre, for, ever alert for any enterprise that was conducive to the building and growth of that city, he spared neither money nor labor to accomplish the desired results.
Dr. M. C. Marshall, one of the most prominent dentists in Little Rock, was born in Maysville, Ky., where is father, Dr. Hammond Marshall, practice dentistry for a number of years. The elder Marshall was a native of Maine, and was well known throughout New England and the Northern States as the inventor of the galvanized sheet-iron burial casket, which took the place of the old cast-iron and lead caskets then in vogue. He was afterward engaged in the manufacture of these at Cincinnati, Ohio, but on the out- break of the Civil War moved his entire plant to Nashville, Tenn. The blockade at this point prevented his obtaining any galvanize sheet-iron, and being in sympathy with the Confederacy, he converted his establishment into a factory for manufacturing shot, shell and sabers for that Government. At the fall of Fort Donelson, he left Nashville within a half-hour's notice, and went to Atlanta, Ga., and soon after removed part of his machinery to that place to re-establish his factory, remaining in Atlanta until the day of his death, in September, 1874. Dr. Hammond Marshall was at one time a resident of Fayetteville, Ark., from 1854 to 1860, and while there took out a patent on his cele- brated burial cases. He was married to Miss Mary Maddox, a native of England, who came to America when in her second year. Dr. M. C. Marshall was only four years old when he came to Fayetteville with his parents, and before he was fourteen years old he was a member of Gov. Joe Brown's militia, and served six months in that body. After the war he felt the need of a more thorough education than he had, and attended night school, paying his own way through. He then entered a large general-supply establishment and remained with the firm until his twenty-second year, when he removed to Oxford, Miss., and comm- enced studying dentistry under the instruction of his elder brother, Dr. W. H. Marshall. After a few years' study he began the practice of his profession, and in 1877 was married to Miss Alice Kittrell, of Black Hawk, Miss. Here he met with a great sorrow, as he lost his young wife [ere] they had been married a year. Afterward he went to Philadelphia and graduated in the College of Dentistry, in the class of 1880, following which he returned to Mississippi, where he was again married, in 1883, to Mrs. Cora Wilkings. Removing thence to Little Rock, Ark., he has since resided here, and has now reached the top round in the ladder of his profession. His success is assured, his practice one of the largest, and his comfortable offices at 501 Main Street, in the Watkins Block, are well arranged for comfort and convenience. Teh Doctor is secretary of the Southern Dental Association, and also fills the same position for the State Dental Examining Board. He is interested all the affairs of his profession, and assisted in the organization of the State Dental Association, being president of that body in 1888. Before leaving Mississippi he was appointed a member of the first Board of Dental Examiners, under the laws of that State, and elected president of that body. In secret societies he is a prominent member of the Knights of Pythias, Knights of Honor, and of the Masonic fraternity.
James A. Martin, one of the most prominent civil engineers and surveyors in Arkansas, residing at 607 West Fifth Street, Little Rock, was born in Pulaski County, Ark., and has made Little Rock his home almost all of his life. His father was Jared C. Martin, a native of what was then the Cherokee Nation, in Georgia, who was a son of John and Elizabeth (Allen) Martin, of Ireland. The grandparents removed from Georgia to Cape Girardeau, Mo., by wagon, at an early period, where their son, Jared C., was reared, and remained until his fifteenth year, when he came to Pulaski County to join a brother, Hutchison Martin, who had preceded him about three years. The brother was living at that time on the river front, opposite the foot of Main Street. The site has long since been washed away, and the Arkansas River now flows where his house stood. Jared operated a ferry-boat for his brother for some time after his arrival, and then carried the mail for two years from Little Rock to Arkansas Post. He was subsequently engaged in farming, and followed that calling for the remainder of his life. He represented Pulaski County in the State legislature two terms, and was then appointed to fill an unexpired term of Gen. John Hutt, who was removed from the office of State treasurer, and at the expir- ation of that term was elected for the succeeding one. His death occurred on November 7, 1857, at the age of fifty-one years. His wife before marriage was Miss Mary Douglass, of Sumner County, Tenn., who was born in 1809. They were the parents of eleven children, of whom five are yet living, four sons and one daughter: James A., William A., Mollie D. (wife of James J. Martin, of Little Rock), Jared C., Jr., and Henry G. (also civil engineers at Little Rock.) The mother died February 14, 1877, at the age of sixty-eight years, and both parents are buried on the old homestead in Fourche Township, Pulaski County. They were members of the Christian Church, and devout Christian people. James A., the principal of this sketch, was reared on the homestead farm, and received the best education offered by the schools of that period. His father at one time erected a school-house himself, and employed the best teachers to be found, but afterward sent James to Sumner County, Tenn., where he attended school for one year. After his return to Arkansas he commenced farming, and when twenty-two years old, he was married to Miss Huldah Tracy Toncray, of Memphis, Tenn., a daughter of Silas T. and Orpah (Hansbrough) Toncray. After his marriage he continued farming for one year, and then purchased his present residence. Mr. Martin studied surveying with a man by the same name, but no relation, and in the fall of 1858, he commenced surveying for the Government, remaining at that occupation for six years. He put in four years as deputy State treasurer, under treasurers John Quindley and Oliver Basham, and was appointed treasurer on the death of the latter who was killed at Pilot Knob, Mo. During the last two years of the war he was a member of Capt. Watkin's company, in Hawthorne's regiment, and served as clerk in the adjutant's office, under Gen. Fagan most of the time. He subsequently served in the same capacity under Gen. Hawthorne, and spent the last four months of his service in the Topographical Bureau of the engineer's department, at Shreveport, La. Since the way he has been engaged in engineering and surveying over the States of Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Louisiana and Indian Territory, and assisted in locating the Cairo & Fulton Railroad (now the Iron Mountain), and the Little Rock & Fort Smith Railway, also the Little Rock, Mississippi River & Texas Railroad, the road from Monticello to Texarkana, also from Van Buren, Ark., to Arkansas City, Kas. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Martin, of four are yet living: Silas C. (a civil engineer, of Little Rock, who was married to Miss Fannie E. Martin), Mollie O. (wife of Charles Fowler, in charge of the city trade for C. F. Penzel & Co.), Frank Douglas and James Cook. The entire family are members of the Christian Church, to which Mr. Martin has belonged since 1848, and has been connected with the Little Rock church of that denomination since 1853, holding the office of elder. He is also a member of the Arkansas Society of Surveyors and Engineers.
Capt. James R. Miller, one of the best-known men in Arkansas, and president of both the Street Railway Company and the Arkansas Industrial Company, two of the largest corporations in Little Rock, though a wealthy man, is devoid of the pride and arrogance of the semi-millionaire. On the contrary, he is of a jolly, social disposition, open, free-hearted, and the acme of hospitality. The following tribute to his worth, as a man, was written by his life-long friend, Opie P. Reed, editor of the Arkansaw Traveler: "One of the best-known men in Arkansas is Capt. James R. Miller. He has never sought notoriety, has never attempted to place himself in the line of the public at large, but the public turned about, bowed and smiled upon him. At the close of the war he was a moneyless boy, his only capital being the half-forgotten rudiments of the printer's trade. He did not go over to the shady side of the street, where the boys sat upon goods-boxes, telling war stories and spitting through their teeth, but went out into the sunshine of conflict. The printer's trade was not progressive enough for him, and he threw it aside. His quick eye and unerring judgment soon enabled him to get a foot hold, and in a wonderfully short time he began to be mentioned as a rising man. The tide of fortune flowed his way; his perceptions grew keener and his judgment ripened; the fruit of tireless work was growing yellow on the tree of enterprise. He was now what the world terms a rich man, but his work was only begun; he had made his own fortune, and now he would assist in making the fortunes of others. He left Memphis, the scene of his early operations, and went to Little Rock. He did not go to speculate as a non-producer, but to build the largest cotton-seed Oil-mills in the world. One day an old negro stopped a citizen on the street and said: 'Look yere, didn' you call dat w'ite man gwine long yander Cap'n Miller?' 'Yes.' 'Wall, is he de man dat's got all dese yere oil-mills and street-kyars an' sich?' 'He;s the man.' 'Wall, I nebber know'd dat befo'. W'y, he's de man dat gin me or dollar one day w'en I was haungry. I didn' know who he wus, an' I went up to him, I did, and says, "Lok yere, boss, I'se haungry. Ain' you got er loose dime erbout yere cloze?" He look at me, he did an' I thought sho' he gqine hit me: but he rushed out er dollar an' says, "Here, you d---n raskil!" I didn' stop to argify wid him bout not bein' er raskil, I tell you.' Capt. Miller is especially the friend of the young man who is trying to rise; and he has the satisfaction of knowing that he extended the first helping hand to many young men who are no becoming prominent in Arkansas. He is how at the head of the street-railway system of Little Rock, which, under his management, has grown to be the most perfect system in the South. Capt. Miller has an elegant home, a handsome and brilliant wife, and one of the most beautiful little girls in the world."
Dr. L. W. Millett, prominent and popular as one of Little Rock's dentists, is from Maine, having been born in that State September 19, 1859. He is the son of Thomas and Elmira (Day) Millett, both of whom were natives of the Pine Tree State, but of French descent, their parents having come to America at an early date. When quite young Dr. Millett, having been left an orphan, went to live with an older brother. He attended school at Gorham's Seminary and Westbrook, and later began the study of his profession with Dr. French, of Portland, Me., completing his course at the Boston Dental College. He then practiced for five years in Farmington, Me., and in November, 1884, came to Little Rock, establishing his office at 315 1/2 Main Street, where he has since been located. Dr. Millett married in 1882. His wife is a very charming lady, her maiden name being Inez G. Davis, and a daughter of Charles E. Davis, of Farmington Falls, Me. They are the parents of one bright little lad, Roscoe G. (born in September, 1884) Mr. and Mrs. Millett are members of the Congregational Church, and the former is a member of Damon Lodge No. 3, K. of P. He is also a member of the Arkansas Dental Association. The Doctor has has occasion to feel proud of his extensive practice, which, in comparison with that of older established dentists, is certainly an extra- ordinary one.
H. F. Mons, manager of the Anheuser-Busch Brewing Association, at Little Rock, Ark. This thorough-going business man was born in the Kingdom of Prussia, Germany, in 1831, grew to manhood there, received a thorough education and afterward followed mercantile pursuits until he emigrated to America, in 1857. He landed in New York City, and although not familiar with the English language soon picked it up and remained in that city until 1859. He then went with an overland train to the West, crossed the plains with an ox train, and was here engaged as clerk for some time. In 1860 he returned to the East, invested his money in various kinds of business in the city of St. Louis, Mo., and there remained until the breaking out of the war, when he enlisted until the breaking out of the war, when he enlisted in the Union Army, the Fourth Missouri Reserve Corps, Company I, commanded by Gov. Brown, and was in service four months. He then re-enlisted in the Twelfth Missouri Infantry, and remained until the close of the war, occupying the position of regimental quartermaster. He participated in the following battles: Bentonville, Pea Bridge, attack on Vicksburg, Canton, Missionary Ridge and Lookout Mountain. After cessation of hostilities Mr. Mons embarked in the general mercantile business at South Point, Mo., and remained there six years, when he started a wine farm in Franklin County, Mo. About three years later he returned to St. Louis and engaged with Anheuser-Busch Brewing Association, where he remained until 1883, when he was appointed to come to Little Rock and establish the present brewing agency. By his marriage, which occurred in Franklin County, Mo., to Miss Mary Krotzch, a native of Louisville, Ky., born in 1839, were born two living children: Julius E. and Leo Arthur. Mr. Mons' father, Julius Mons, comes of a long line of German ancestors. He was cook for King Frederick III, of Prussia. E. F. Mons is a pleasant, social gentleman and a man held in high esteem for his honesty and integrity. He is a member and adjutant of the G. A. R. and in his political views affiliates with the Republican party.
Col. E. B. Moore, president of the Famous Life Association of Little Rock, Ark., and one of the best-known citizens of that place, is a native of Tennessee, and was born on January 23, 1842. He is of Scotch-Irish descent, his maternal great-grandfather coming from Ireland, and his paternal grandfather from Scotland. William Ward Moore, his father, a native of Halifax County, N. C., was a tailor by trade, afterward a prominent merchant and justice of the peace in White County, Tenn. He was married in the latter place to Miss Isabella Bryan, daughter of Maj. William Bryan, one of the leading farmers of that county. In 1858 Mr. Moore went to Fayetteville, Ark., where he was engaged in merchandising and operated a saw-mill. During the war he went to Clarksville, Tex., where he dealt in cotton and traded on a considerable scale with Mexico, but later on he returned to Fayetteville, where he opened up and kept a first-class hotel. His death occurred in that city, while his wife died in Eureka Springs, on May 5, 1880, at the age of sixty-five years. Both parents were members of the Methodist Church. Nine children were born to their marriage, of whom Col. E. B. Moore, the principal of this sketch, is the third. E. B. Moore was educated at the excellent private schools of Sparta, Tenn., where he was also reared, but obtained the most of his literary knowledge at the "cases" in the printing office of the Arkansan, at Fayetteville, which paper was edited by Pettigrew & Bondinot. He entered that office in the spring of 1859, and the following year was appointed postmaster of Fayetteville by President Buchanan, being reappointed to the same office by the Confederate Government, when the Civil War commenced. In March 1861, he enlisted as a private in the first company raised for the war in Washington County (Capt. Bells), being a part of the Third Arkansas State Regiment under Gratiot. On the organization of the company he was appointed second sergeant, and shortly afterward was made orderly-sergeant. On the organization of of the regiment, in 1861, he was made regimental commissary with the rank of captain, holding this rank until the disbandment of the State troops four months later, and their enlistment in the regular Confederate service, where Mr. Moore's gallant actions in the field won him rapid promotion still further in the ranks. During his army career he took part in the battle of Oak Hill, on August 10, 1861, where he was so severly wounded by a minie-ball entering the right thigh and coming out through the right hip, that he was confined to his bed for nine months, and was forced to walk on crutches for four months more. After partially recovering from his wound, he left home once more and became a member of Capt. Palmer's company of Confederate scouts, and operated for about ten months in Northwest Arkansas, taking part in the battle at Fayetteville, and a number of others. The exposure connected with this service caused his wound to break out fresh, and at one time he was at the point of death, forcing him to rejoin his father's family, who had refugeed to South Arkansas. From there they went to Clarksville, Tex., where Col. Moore remained four months, and again the earnest persuasion of his family, once more entered the ranks in Cabell's brigade, where he remained until the final surrender, taking part in the battle of Mark's Mill, and a number of hard skirmishes. Col. Moore was reared by an old line Whig, his father, but in politics he has always been a stanch Democrat. In 1875, 1876, 1878 and 1880 he served as a delegate to the Democratic State Convention, and in 1878 was elected as representative from Washington County to the State legislature, being re-elected in 1880 and 1882, and is the only man who was ever elected three consecutive times from that county to the State legislature. In 1808 he purchases and commenced the publi- cation of the Fayetteville Democrat, successfully continuing as the editor of that paper until 1884, when he was nominated by his party and elected as secretary of State. He served four years in this office, but before his time had expired he was elected to his present position in the insurance association, and on July 1, 1880, was made president of the Arkansas Collecting, Detective and General Intelligence Association of this city. Col. Moore is also a prominent stockholder in the Gazette Publishing Company. In secret Societies he is a member in high standing of the Odd Fellows, and in 1879 was unanimously elected Grand Master of the State Grand Lodge. He is also prominently connected with the Knights of Honor and Knights of Pythias fraternities. Col. Moore was married at Fayetteville, on February 9, 1889, to Emma J., a daughter of Col. George W. North, of Harper's Ferry, Va. Mrs. Moore is a descendant of Lord North, King George III's prime minister, who was so intimately connected with the Revolutionary history of this country. She is a woman of intellectual and Christian character, endowed with a pleasing manner and great social attainments. But in spite of her large circle of friends by whom she is loved, and the attractions necessarily a part of her life as a leader of Little Rock society, she is a devoted wife and mother and makes her home one of the brightest in that city. Col. and Mrs. Moore have four children: Fred W., Cora E., George W. and Sallie Bell.
Bernard Murray, retired, Little Rock, Ark. This much-respected and honored citizen was originally from County Kildare, Ireland, where his birth occurred in 1818, and where he remained on the farm with his parents until thirty years of age. He then married, and in order to throw off the burden of allegiance to the British crown and gain the advantages offered by our vigorous republic, he and wife came to America. He left Dublin, Ireland, in April, 1846, and twenty-one days later arrived on American soil, where he pursued his trade, that of painter and grainer. They located first in Lowell, Mass., and being a very skillful workman he had no difficulty in finding employ- ment at his trade, and soon had accumulated considerable money. Then desiring to see more of the United States, and knowing that his skill as a workman would secure him employment in any of the principal cities of the new country, he concluded to travel, and he and wife first went to New York City. There they remained for some time and then went to New Orleans, thence up the great Father of Waters to St. Louis, and from there to Louisville, Ky., where Mr. Murray found employment to suit him, and a pleasant home. Here he applied himself assiduously to his trade, gaining a wide reputation for his skill as a workman, and was upright and honorable in all his dealings. While in Louis- ville, the Mechanics' Institute offered a diploma for the most skilled workman to be found in his business, and though there were many competitors, Mr. Murray was rewarded with the diploma. He remained in Louisville from the spring of 1850 to 1857, when he came to Little Rock, Ark. Although the past record of Mr. Murray has been such as to reflect the highest credit upon him as an adept in the art of painting, and although he had earned goodly sums of money, yet, by some mysterious process, the "filthy lucre" always slipped from his hands and found its way back into general circulation instead of filling his private coffers, and when he arrived in Little Rock he was without a cent and in debt. But thrift and skill never yield to adversity, but smile at poverty, He went to work with a determined spirit, employed other men to do the rougher work, while he himself put on the finer touches, and by thus pushing his business was soon on the high road to prosperity. He worked in Little Rock, contracting, etc., from 1857 until 1883, and can now spend his declining years in ease and comfort. He has made many friends in the city, and is universally respected. He and wife have been blessed with a large family of children, all of whom are living: Mrs. Margaret Jarrett, Mrs. Sarah J. Harding, Noah, B. J., Ed, C., Frank J., Joseph and Mary. The mother of these children died at the age of thirty-nine years. Mr. Murray and family are all members of the Roman Catholic Church.
C. E. Nash, M. D. In recording the names of the faithful practitioners of medicine in this locality, that of C. E. Nash will always be given a prominent and enviable position. There are two ways to gain a reputation, one by the influence of friends, and the other by individual application and true worth. The latter applies to Dr. Nash, who has certainly reached the top round of the ladder in that most noble of all professions. He is a native of Missouri, and was born in St. Louis in 1826. His father, John T. Nash, was born, reared and educated in Virginia, and graduated with honorable distinction from a medical college of that State. He was exceptionally well read and delivered many lectures that received favorable comment in the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, Penn. In 1812 he moved to the State of Missouri, and although wealthy, he became an active medical practitioner simply for the love of the science. He owned a valuable plant- atation near old Jamestown, and also possessed considerable land on which the site of St. Louis is now situated. Reverses overtook him while in the zenith of prosperity, and he was compelled to resign all his property, his lands being sold at 10 cents per acre. He sold his wedding suit, and even lacked $15 of paying his debts; his death occurring while in the prime of life, and when about forty-five years of age, one hundred miles from home and during a visit to a patient. His demise was deeply lamented by his many warm friends. His wife, Anna (Bland) Nash, was born in Prince Edward County, Va., of Scotch origin, her father having emigrated to America at an early day. She was a cousin of Robert Lee's mother, also being closely related to John B. Randolph, and a number of the old families of the Old Dominion. Hon. Richard Bland, of Missouri, is a very near relative of Dr. Nash, the subject of this sketch. Mrs. Nash was left destitute with four children to care for, and nobly did she perform the duties imposed upon her. Dr. C. E. Nash was her third son, and at his home in Alabama she died, in 1863, at the age of seventy-two years, the Doctor at that time having charge of a hospital in that State. C. E. Nash's early youth was spent with his brother-in-law, Robert A. Watkins, with whom he made his home after attaining his eighth year. His early educational advantages were excellent, as Mr. Watkins was the first secretary of the State of Arkansas, holding the position four years, and thus favored he Doctor with an excellent knowledge of business affairs in his office. The records of that time are in his handwriting, and his instructions were received from Mr. Watkins and Gov. Conway. Having had a desire to study medicine, he entered the drug store of Dr. R. L. Dodge with the intention of making that science a study, and after becoming thoroughly prepared became a student at the University of St. Louis, from which institution he was graduated in 1849 as a regularly qualified physician. The remainder of the year, and until 1858 he practiced in Helena, Ark., and at the same time attended to his plantation in Mississippi, just across the river. Upon this he moved in the last- named year, keeping up his practice on the west side of the river in the meantime. During the war he had charge of the Confederate Marine Hospital, located at Salem, Ala., but after the cessation of hostilities and upon returning home he found all the buildings and fences on his plantation a complete wreck. He borrowed money, paid off debts that he had contracted before the war, and continued to manage this farm until 1882, when he sustained heavy losses from overflow. In 1884 he returned to Helena, and in 1886 settled in Little Rock, where he is now following his profession. Dr. Nash's residence is situated on Scott Street, and besides this he owns considerable property in Helena. He was first married to Miss Mary Frances Epps, who was born in North Carolina, and died in 1880 at the age of fifty-one years, having borne eight children: John T., Alexander E. and Charles E., all deceased, the first two dying at home and the latter in Memphis, Tenn., of yellow fever. The daughters are Mary E. (wife of William B. Lindsey), Anna, Virginia, Shirley (deceased) and Sarah E. His second wife was Miss Fannie Mosley, who was born in Georgia. She is the daughter of Capt. Mosley, who was a well-known and prominent citizen of Jackson, Miss. Mrs. Nash and her sister Mary organized and success- fully conducted a female college at Jackson, Miss., for a number of years. They are ladies of culture and refinement, and were very popular as teachers as well as favorites in society, as they now are. Dr. Nash, on his paternal side, is a relative of Francis Nash, of Revolutionary fame, and related to Francis Nash, a soldier in the War of 1812, and also to Judge Nash, of North Carolina. The Doctor is, as he well deserves to be, a popular gentleman and physician, and those who are fortunate enough to secure his services when necessary realize that his coming means the alleviation of their suffer- ing. In social circles he is equally popular, always being surrounded by an attentive and appreciative company, who thoroughly enjoy his sparkling wit, interesting episodes and brilliant repartee.
Thomas J. Oliphint conceded to be a prominent member of the legal fraternity of Little Rock, was born near Murfreesboro, Tenn., March 22, 1842. In 1844 his parents moved to West Tennessee, and to White County, Ark., in 1854, where he was given excellent educational advantages, which he improved to the utmost, as is clearly demonstrated by his brilliant career as a subsequent practitioner of the law. Entering the Confederate service as a volunteer in 1861, he served until the close of the war, Gen. Pat Cleburne being his first colonel. After the battle of Shiloh he was trans- ferred, and joined the Trans-Mississippi department of the cavalry service, and was lieutenant in one of the most dashing companies in the service. He was with Price on his famous raid through Missouri, where he was captured, then becoming imprisoned at Little Rock until the close of the war. Being left destitute, in common with so many of his comrades at that time, he pluckily went to work and learned the photographer's art. In the meantime he read law, and was licensed to practice, which he successfully followed in White County for two years, when in 1875 he located in Little Rock, where he has since resided. He now carries on a general practice, but makes a specialty of railroad cases. As to his prominence and standing as a lawyer, it is only necessary to state that on the present circuit court calendar (October, 1889), there are 278 cases, of which he has twenty-eight, besides a fine practice in the chancery, supreme and United States court. The fact is presented in its full significance when it is known that there are about seventy-five resident and practicing lawyers in Little Rock. Mr. Oliphint does not especially pride himself on his practice, for, as monuments to his untiring industry, are Oliphint's "Digest of the Supreme Court Reports." He now has ready for the press Oliphint's "Revised, Rearranged and Annotated Edition of Rose's Digest," for which there is a great demand among the profession. In addition to his other works, he has in preparation a supplementary digest, covering the ten reports subsequent to Oliphint's, and for which he has a large list of subscriptions in advance of its publication. He loves law books above all others, and has the satis- faction of knowing that he possesses one of the finest libraries in the State. One of his peculiarities is, that he makes it a rule to expend a certain amount for books each month, and as this amount is never less and often more than $20, it is seen that the collection in a few years must certainly be a very fine one. Being thoroughly inbued with the love for his profession, never tiring in his labors, he enjoys the fruits of an extensive and lucrative practice, and the confidence and esteem of the bench and bar of the State. The year 1867 witnessed his marriage to Miss Georgia Maxwell, of Searcy, White County, who was the daughter of the Hon. David Maxwell. David Maxwell was prominent for many years in State politics. For nine years Mr. Oliphint was happy in his wedded life, but Death, the grim destroyer, robbed him of his beautiful wife just in the zenith of their happiness. A few years later, he met and became acquainted with Miss Eva Kimberling, of Point Pleasant, W. Va. The acquaintance ripened into an engagement, and their marriage was celebrated, in July, 1878. In his marriage relations Mr. Oliphint is exceedingly happy and fortunate. Olive branches numbering five boys have blessed their union, four of whom are living; and of his boys he is perhaps prouder than all else in this world. The oldest is ten, and the youngest one year old. His aspiration is to live long enough to educate and transmit to them his profession and his library. He is a member of the Eighth Street Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and his habits are such as any young man would do well to, at least, endeavor to imitate. Pleasant and genial in his manner, never intentionally wounding a friend, he is a gentleman whom one always likes to meet, nothing but pleasure resulting in such a privilege.
E. J. Owens, recognized as among the prominent business men of Little Rock, was born in the Emerald Isle, his birth occurring in Moagham County, in 1841. At the age of thirteen he began to learn the tailor's trade from his father, who was a boss tailor. After completing that calling he worked in various places, among them being Glasgow, Scotland, and in 1863, turned his face toward the land of the free. Here he was employed in large establishments in Philadelphia and New York, and in 1864 accepted a position as first cutter in an extensive house in Pottstown, Penn. After returning to Philadelphia (where he remained for a few months) he went to the oil regions, and during the seven months with that firm he built up their trade about three times larger. At this successful point of his career his health failing him, necessitating an immediate change of climate, he went to Hot Springs, where a great improvement followed, and after a short stay he again embarked in the mercantile business, which proved very successful. Following a residence in Hot Springs for nineteen months, Mr. Owens came to Little Rock in 1871, and the trade that he has, by his own exertions, built up to its present dimensions, is indeed encouraging. In fact the establishment is second to none in the city; from 1873 to 1881 he employed more men in his business than any one house of a similar nature in the State. In 1877 Mr. Owens was married to Miss Margurete O'Conner, and to this union four children have been born, three now living: Mary E. (one of the best musicians and scholars of her age in the school of the city), Catherine M., Marguerete and Edward Francis (who died when quite young). Mr. and Mrs. Owens are devout members of the Catholic Church, and are all to the front in giving their aid to worthy enterprises. Mr. Owens is an original thinker, and in his political views, thought formerly a stanch Democrat, since the Union Labor party came into existence, he has supported the principles of that party. In 1888 he was elected and seated as a member of the State legislature.
Esten Peloubet, a lumber dealer of Central Arkansas, and also a manufacturer of yellow pine lumber, was born at Boonton, N. J., in 1848, and is a son of Asa B. and Caroline B. (Van Winkle) Peloubet, of Athens, N. Y., and Powerville, N. J., respect- ively. The parents were married in New Jersey, and resided in that State until the year 1860, when they moved to New York, but shortly afterward returned to New Jersey, where the wife died. In 1868 the elder Peloubet was again married, and moved to what is now Alexander, Ark., where he established a lumber business, which he conducted very successfully until his death, in 1882. He was a son of L. M. F. C. De Peloubet, a native of France, and Elizabeth Alcott, of Massachusetts, U. S. A. His father was forced to flee from France, owing to a part he took in the French Revolution. Subsequently he received an imperial pardon from Bonaparte. Esten Peloubet was the second child of three sons and three daughters, of whom only himself and one sister are yet living. He received a first-class high-school education in his youth, and in 1882 went into partnership with his father. The business previous to that had been Peloubet & Pierce, but in 1882 it was changed to Peloubet & Son, and so continued until the father's death, when Esten conducted it alone. In 1872 Mr. Peloubet was married to Miss Amanda Cook, of New Jersey, who died in 1879, leaving three sons. In 1885 he was married to Jennie E., a daughter of William Phillips, formerly of Spring- field, Ill., where Mrs. Peloubet was born, and has one daughter by this union. In politics he is a strong Republican. He owns valuable land, with a fine saw and planing mill property, and has established a large patronage by his methods of doing business, being a man of integrity, and one in whom confidence can be placed with every degree of safety. Mrs. Peloubet is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is well known for her kind and charitable nature.
J. S. Pollock, cashier of the Exchange National bank, and one of Little Rock;s best- known citizens,was born in Erie County, Penn., fifty-one years ago, and is a son of Charles and Elizabeth (Wallace) Pollock, of the same State. Both parents lived and died in Pennsylvania. J. S. Pollock was reared and received a good common-school education in his native State, and when nineteen years old went to St. Louis. In 1858 he made a trip to New Orleans down the Mississippi River, in order to learn the duties of a steamoboat clerk, and on his return trip his boat, the "Maj. Crosman," burst her boiler when opposite New Madrid, and burned to the water's edge. Mr. Pollock escaped by jump- ing into the river, and remained in the water for two hours. He was an expert swimmer, but his powers of endurance were about to succumb when he was happily rescued by reach- ing out and securing a plank that was floating by. He was found in an unconscious condition lying across the plank, and was afterward confined to his bed for some time, owing to the shock to his system, but finally recovered. In the summer of 1858 he obtained a position as second clerk on the "D. A. January," and during the same fall obtained a position as a clerk in the St. Louis postoffice, having once before occupied the same position for fifteen months in his native State. He remained in this place until the fall of 1862, and then moved to Memphis, Tenn., to take charge of the chief clerkship of the postoffice in that city, after it was captured by the Federal forces. He remained in Memphis for thirteen months and then, at the request of Postmaster-Gen. Montgomery Blair, he went to Vicksburg to take charge of the postoffice there as a special agent. In June, 1864, under the directions of the postoffice department he came to Little Rock, to take charge of the postoffice here as special agent, and in the spring of 1865 was appointed postmaster by President Lincoln, but his commission was signed by President Johnson (President Lincoln having been assassinated in the meantime. In the fall of 1870 he was removed from the postoffice in favor of James L. Hodges, but in the fall of 1871 Mr. Hodges was removed and Mr. Pollock reappointed, serving until the spring of 1875, when the entered the First National Bank as teller, and later pro- moted to the office of assistant cashier, remaining in that capacity until February 1, 1882. About that time Messrs. J. H. McCarthy and W. P. Homan, railroad contractors and partners in business, concluded to start a bank and came to Mr. Pollock, asking him if he would accept the office of cashier. He agreed to do so, and resigned his position from the First National Bank, and immediately helped to organize the one he is with at present. The board of directors of the First National Bank, together with the president, Col. Logan H. Roots, gave Mr. Pollock a fine testimonial upon his retirement. In 1870 Mr. Pollock was married to Miss Lizzie Knight of Little Rock, a daughter of Col. J. E. Knight.
T. B. Rayburn, a leading photographer of Little Rock, has been a resident of the city nearly all his life. He was born in Clark County, and coming here when only ten years of age, commenced learning the photographer's business with B. S. Alford, then a prominent artist in the city. After remaining with him for over four years, and being in the employ of several others up to 1885, he formed a partnership with M. C. Davies, entering into business for himself, under the firm name of Davies & Rayburn. In April 1889, the firm dissolved partnership, and Mr. Rayburn opened up a gallery at his present well- known location. Since embarking in this calling, he has spent three years at India- napolis, Chicago, and other northern cities, in learning all modern improvements in his profession, and now is able to do as fine work as any artist in the South. Mr. Rayburn enjoys the distinction of being the first photographer in the State to make celluloid portraits, or retouching by chemical process; to take first photograph by electric light in the State, also the first photograph by magnesium light, and was the first artist to photograph the well-known caves near Batesville. He is one of the leading artists in Arkansas, and enjoys a large patronage, being especially chosen by theatrical people to do their work.
Irving and Ben F. Reinberger, prominent attorneys of Little Rock, are natives of Missouri, and the sons of John M. and Ricka Reinberger, who were originally from Prussia. John M. Reinberger came from Rawitz (Prussia) in 1853, and the mother from Krotoshin (Prussia), in 1852, both beginning life in the land of their adoption in New York City, where they were married in 1854. They remained in New York for some years, but residing in St. Louis at the time of Irving's birth, which occurred in 1860, and Ben's in 1864. After a short time another change of residence found them in Cincinnati, where they lived for twelve years. Lexington, Ky., was subsequently their abiding-place, and six years later they came to Little Rock, Ark., where they now live. Irving's first school- days were passed in the public schools of Cincinnati, and afterward in the Kentucky University in Lexington, where he was one of the brightest and most favorite of pupils. At the age of sixteen, he learned the cigar-maker's trade, giving this his attention for twelve years, and after coming to Little Rock, he was occupied in the manufacture of cigars. Notwithstanding that his time was nearly all taken up in the close application he gave his business, he found time to study law, and after a strict and rigid examin- ation before the supreme court of the State of Arkansas, which he passed with honor, was given carte blanche to practice his profession where he chose. In 1884, at Lexing- ton, Ky., he was married to Miss A. McCormick. Ben, as he is known by his friends, attended the same schools as his brother, and his early youth gave promise of his oratory powers, which have come up to the standard of excellence. His oratorical in- clinations naturally led him to turn to the law for relief, and while a salesman in a dry-goods store he began his studies, to be continued under the direct supervision, and in the office of George H. Sanders. These studies he continued for two years, and at the end of that time he passed his examination before Chief Justice Cochriel, and by him was admitted to the bar. Both brothers have a shrewd and highly commendable spirit, and by their untiring industry have achieved their present enviable position. They are young men of push and enterprise which, added to their recognized ability, will make for them prominent places among the bar of Little Rock. They are members of the Jewish Church.
R. Richardson was born in Watertown, N. Y., March 20, 1885. He removed from there with his parents to Aurora, Ill., in 1843, and resided there until the breaking out of the war, enlisting in the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and serving during the war. He was engaged in the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds at Montgomery, Ill., until 1874, and then became connected with C. J. L. Meyer, of Fond du Lac, Wis., and Chicago, in the same business until 1880, when he associated himself with R. McMillen & Co., of Oshkosh, Wis., in the same business. In 1886 he located in Little Rock, in a general manufacturing and lumber business under the firm name of Richardson & Rutherford, their place of business being Sixth and Centre Streets. The value of the plant is $50,000, and the capital stock paid up is $40,000. About forty men are employed, with an outlay of $100,000 a year. The trade, which is rapidly in- creasing, is both wholesale and retail, and consists of all kinds of building material. Mr. Richardson was married at Elgin, Ill., in 1858 to Miss Eliza Akeis. Three children have blessed their union: Charles R. (connected with the Stock Exchange Telegraph of New York), William A. (cashier of sash, door and blind house of Palmer & Co., Chicago), and Harry (a young lad). Mr. Richardson is a Mason of the thirty-second degree; also an Odd Fellow and a Knight of Pythias.
Name may be Jacob R. Rightsell as it is listed in the 1893 Little Rock City Directory. Prof. J. R. Rightsen, the efficient and popular superintendent of the Little Rock city schools, is a native of Illinois, where his youth and early manhood were passed. He comes from "warriors bold" on both the paternal and maternal sides of the house. His grandfather Rightsen was under Jackson at the battle of New Orleans, and his grandfather Waddell was a British officer in the same engagement. The latter was conquered in more ways than one, for soon after the close of the war he resigned his commission and came to America, transferring his allegiance to one of America's daughters. The Professor's early education, the foundation of his future career, was received in the graded schools of Mattoon, Ill. Completing the course there, he entered the Normal school, from which he graduated with high honors, in 1868. The following year he was engaged in teaching, and having been elected to the principal- ship of Peabody school, he came to Little Rock, reaching there the first week in 1870. In December, 1871, he was chosen city superintendent, and has held that position ever since. Owing to the unsettled condition of affairs in the city, during the years of 1874 and 1875 he taught, and in connection with his duties as superintendent, assumed the principalship of the high school. Under his able management, the schools have grown from demanding a corps of twenty teachers, teaching in ten different places (the school-rooms in churches and store buildings), to about fifty teachers, occupying good modern buildings. Prof. Rightsen is a quiet, unassuming gentleman, pleasant and agreeable in his manner, yet impressing one with the decided dignity and strength of his character. No higher encomiums of praise need be passed on him than the simple statement that for nearly twenty years he has held the most important position in educational circles in the State of Arkansas. In his marriage relations he is singularly fortunate. The only thing that mars the happiness of himself and wife is the death of their only daughter, Mary Clyde, whose departure has left a break in the family circle that the two boys, Richard and Willie, are naturally hardly able to fill. Mary died February 7, 1885, lacking but a few days of her eleventh birthday. Prof. Rightsen's wife is the brilliant and accomplished daughter of Chief Justice Wilshin. Their marriage was celebrated August 29, 1871.
Maj. P. K. Roots. Among the well-known and highly esteemed citizens of Little Rock, Mr. Roots, cashier of the First National Bank, stands pre-eminent. He comes of a good old New England family, the founder of whom was Josiah Roote, who first settled on American soil in 1634. The descent is traced in a direct line down to the principal of this sketch, Mr. P. K. Roots, who was born in Wilmington, Tolland County, Conn., in 1838. When quite young, his father moved to the State of Illinois, where he was reared and received a thorough training in the English branches of education. When seventeen years of age, the desire to enter upon a career of his own was too strong to permit of his remaining at home, so he joined a corps of engineers on the New Orleans & Ohio Railroad, with whom he remained until the outbreak of the Rebellion, when he was employed by the United States Government as civil engineer, and was engaged in maintaining and constructing the railroads managed by the military authorities. When these duties were no longer called for, he served as United States deputy surveyor general in Nevada, and from there came to Arkansas, where, in 1871, he was appointed chief engineer of the Cairo & Fulton Railroad. He held this position until the consolidation of that line with the Iron Mountain Railroad, when he accepted the position of cashier of the National Bank of Western Arkansas, located at Fort Smith. By a judicious and conscientious discharge of his duties, his talents as a financier were so well shown, that in 1880 he was tendered the post of cashier of the First National Bank at Little Rock, which position he accepted and immediately assumed the duties of that office. His success has justified the trust reposed in him, and with his brother, Col. Logan H. Roots, the president of the bank, he takes a justifiable pride in keeping that institution in the rank it holds as the principal bank in the State. Maj. Roots is a gentleman of social worth and business integrity. In commercial life he has prospered through his legitimate methods of doing business and keenness of judgment. He has always been economical, the basis upon which all successful men have laid the foundation of their fortunes, yet is ever willing to lend a helping hand to the needy and distressed. Those generous sisters, Charity and Benevolence, find continuous lodgment in his breast, nor is their call ever unheeded. His tastes are strongly domestic, and he finds his only true comfort in the society of his interesting family. Maj. Roots was married in 1866 to Miss Fannie M. Blakeslee, a native of Laona, N. Y., and they are now the proud parents of three children, two sons and one daughter: Willard H. (the oldest, was born in 1867, and is now attending the Institute of Technology at Boston, Mass.), Logan Herbert (born in 1870, is attending Harvard College) and Mary Emily (the youngest, born in 1873). She was attending school in Utica, N. Y., but has been obliged to give up her studies on account of prostration, resulting from overwork, and is now recuperating at home.
Logan H. Roots, youngest son of Prof. B. G. Roots, the famous educator of Illinois, was born on a farm in Perry County, Ill., March 26, 1841. He was early taught that thoroughness and industry were the keys to success. During his school days he manages to earn a very considerable portion of the amount necessary to his maintenance, and graduated at the Illinois State Normal University with the first honors of the class of 1862. Immediately after his graduation he joined the Federal army, and serving therein to the close of the war, made a most creditable military record. He was with Gen. Sherman on the march to the sea, and after participating as an officer on Gen. Sherman's staff in the grand review at Washington, in May, 1865, he came west with that General and was ordered on duty in Arkansas. He formed an attachment for the State and bought a cotton plantation before the acceptance of his resignation as an officer of the army. Though never an office-seeker, he has both held and declined many important official positions. He was the youngest member of the XLth Congress of the United States, was re-elected and also served through the XLIst Congress, which closed on the 3d of March, 1871. He introduced the first Congressional bill that named the great Souther Trans-Continental Route, the Texas & Pacific, and with skillful ability he introduced, promoted and materially aided in securing the passage of many measures of special practical importance in the development of prosperity in the South. The thrift of his youth has attended his manhood, and since his peremptory refusal to accent any political position his success in accumulating wealth has been both rapid and continuous. He is always engaged in enterprises of development. After falling under his energetic management, the telephone was introduced more rapidly in the Southwest than in any other part of the nation, and from this enterprise the Colonel is reputed to have reaped a golden harvest. He has been active in promoting the building of railroads in the South, and has devoted both time and money liberally thereto. He has extensive interests in cotton-seed oil, lumber and other manufactories, and is president of the Lumberman's Association of the State of Arkansas. He is president of the Arkansas Loan & Trust Company, which has been an efficient agency in the introduction of capital for developing enterprises. He is president of the First National Bank of Little Rock, which has always been notably liberal in the encouragement of manufactories and corresponding enterprises, which bank stands to-day, not only the oldest National bank in the State, but unexcelled and unquestioned, the leading bank of this section of the country. These statements, while indicative of the character of his investments, do not embrace anything like an enumeration of the enterprises in which his controlling voice and capital produce success. He is so much a Republican that last year the party State convention unanimously elected him a delegate to the National convention by acclamation, and a person of such universally recognized energy and ability that a convention of as intelligent and enterprising men as ever assembled in the State, four- fifths of whom were Democrats, unanimously made him the president of the Arkansas State Bureau of Immigration, in connection with which movement he has given liberally of his time and means toward making known the wonderful resources of Arkansas. He is an active promoter of numerous humane and benevolent movements, being the largest contributor in the State to each of many systems of philanthropic efforts. And although so busily occupied with divers matters that he never seeks office, he is constantly pressed into official positions connected therewith. He is now president of the Arkansas State Sunday- school Association and also of the executive committee of the Young Men's Christian Association of the State of Arkansas. Is treasurer of the diocese of the Episcopal Church of Arkansas, and one of the deputies chosen by the diocese of Arkansas to the general convention of the Episcopal Church. He has been Grand Master of Freemasons of Arkansas; Grand High Priest of the Grand Chapter, Illustrious Grand Master of the Grand Council, and is now Grand Commander of Arkansas Knights Templar. He is a cultured gentleman who has traveled extensively over the United States, Canada, Mexico and Europe. With a lovable family he enjoys a charming home in Little Rock, noted for its hospitality.
Judge U. M. Rose, one of the leading attorneys of Arkansas, and a man whose brilliant attainments have made him one of the central figures in the Arkansas bar, is a native of Kentucky, and was born March 5, 1834. He is a son of Dr. Joseph Rose, of Virginia, but afterward a noted physician of Kentucky, in which State he had settled at an early period, locating in Marion County, where he died in the spring of 1848. The mother, before her marriage, was a Miss Nancy Simpson, of that State, where she also resided until her death, September 10, 1847. Judge Rose was the fourth child of this union, and as evidences of a legal inclination were perceptible even in his early youth, he was given to Mr. R. H. Rowntree, of Lebanon, Ky., one of the leading lawyers of that section, to be trained in the intricacies of law. He began the study of that profession in Mr. Rowntree's office, and subsequently attended the Transylvania Law School at Lexington, graduating from that institute in 1853. In the fall of that year he was licensed to practice by the court of appeals of Kentucky, and on December 1, 1853, moved to Batesville, Ark., where he practiced until the year 1860, when he was appointed chancellor of the Pulaski County chancery court by Gov. Conway, and held that office until the close of the war. Since then he has been residing in Little Rock, engaged in the practice of his profession. When Judge Rose first located in Little Rock he entered into partnership with ex-Chief Justice of Arkansas, George C. Watkins, under the firm name of Watkins & Rose, but for the last five years he has been practicing with his son, George B., the firm being known as U. M. & G. B. Rose. Judge Rose has contributed considerably to current law literature. In 1865 he compiled and published "Rose's Digest of Arkansas Reports," which has been widely quoted among the legal fraternity. He is a member of three different bar associations, the Arkansas, American and National, and is vice-president of the last-named association for the Fifth United States judicial circuit, embracing the States of Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska and Missouri. His marriage occurred October 25, 1853, to Miss Margaret T. Gibbs, of Kentucky.
C. E. Rosenbaum, one of the best-known men in business circles at Little Rock, was born in St. Louis, Mo., and is a son of Jacob and Caroline (Obert) Rosenbaum, natives of Germany. The father came to America at an early period and settled in St. Louis, which he made his permanent home, and resided there until his death in 1865. The mother is still living and resides in that city. Charles E., their son, was reared in St. Louis and attended the city schools until his thirteenth year, when he was compelled to leave his studies on account of his father's death. He then assisted his older brother in maintaining the support of their mother and sister, and for three years was in the employ of the city government, part of this time being in the city collector's office, but for the greater period being in the weighing department. He then entered a St. Louis business house as office boy at $20 per month, and remained with the same firm for three years, being one of their chief book-keepers when he left. He next entered into the employ of the Union Pressed Brick Works as cashier and book-keeper, remaining with that firm for eighteen months. About that time the Atlas Engine Works of Indianapolis, Ind., opened up a branch house in St. Louis, and Mr. Rosenbaum was engaged by them as cashier and book-keeper. He held this position for several years, and was finally induced by the firm to go on the road as traveling salesman. He filled the position until the branch house was closed up, and the machinery taken by the N. O. Nelson Manufacturing Company, Mr. Rosenbaum remaining to take charge of the Atlas Engine Works' interests in that house. In 1883 he came to Little Rock, and now represents both the Atlas Engine Works of Indianapolis and the N. O. Nelson Manufacturing Company of St. Louis, for the State of Arkansas. Mr. Rosenbaum has the exclusive interests and trade of both firms in this section, and enjoys their fullest confidence, making his business a profitable and pleasant one. In secret societies he is a member of a St. Louis Lodge, Knights of Honor, and Damon Lodge No. 3, Knights of Pythias as also Magnolia Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Union Chapter, Royal Arch Masons and Hugh de Payne Commandery No. 1. Mr. Rosenbaum was married on June 28, 1877, to Miss Ida M. Havlin, of St. Louis, by whom he has had one daughter, May (now eleven years old). Mr. and Mrs. Rosenbaum both attend services at the Congregational Church, and are liberal in their aid to all worthy enterprises. He has recently erected a cosy residence on the corner of Twenty-fourth and Louisiana Streets, which is a model of neatness and home comfort.
Fred Rossner, the leading confectioner and caterer of Little Rock, whose place of business is the center of all that pleases the taste of Little Rock's elite, is a native of Germany, and was born May 12, 1849. He is a son of Johann Gottfriedt Rossner of Saxe-Altenberg, Germany, a prominent contractor and builder in his native country, where he died, in 1874. His wife before marriage was a Miss Christina Mueller by whom he had twelve children, three of whom came to America: Frank (is a prominent marble dealer at Fond du Lac, Wis.), Minna (is the wife of Mr. Henry Mennerick, a harness dealer at Sioux City, Iowa) and Fred (the principal of this sketch). The mother died in her native land about the year 1870. Fred Rossner was eighteen years old when he came to America and landed in New York on May 31, 1867. He had previously learned the stone and brick mason's trade, and immediately went to Sheboygan, Wis., where he found employment on the court house that was then being erected. The following year he went to Fond du Lac, but in the fall of the same year returned to Sheboygan. His brother Frank followed him to America the year after and joined him at Sheboygan. On account of the long and severe winters in the North, Fred left that city and went to New Orleans, where he worked at his trade for some length of time, and then went to St. Louis. In September, 1870, he was engaged by the Little Rock & Fort Smith Railroad to assist in completing a bridge across Piney Creek, but was taken sick and brought to Little Rock, where he was confined in bed for six months. When able to work he was employed by Mr. G. Thom in the cigar and confectionery trade, and remained with him until March, 1873, when he went to work for Mr. A. Kasselberg. He remained with this gentleman until September 1, 1878, and then purchased the stock and trade of the Boston confectionery at 107 East Markham Street. He continued in that way until the year 1884, when he bought out the business of Currell & Grisbel, and in 1884-85 operated two stores. During the latter year he discontinued business on Markham Street, and removed his interests to Main Street. In 1886 he erected the Rossner building, 53x140 feet, composed of brick and three stories high, on the corner of Third and Main Streets, and in March, 1887, moved in his new building. Mr. Rossner manufactures candies and confections for his own retail trade, and also charges nearly all the soda fountains in the city. Besides this he is caterer to weddings, balls and parties, and his trade in that line is the most extensive in Little Rock. In season his ice cream and oyster parlors are the resort of Little Rock's fashionable society, and in addition to this he turns out delicious bread, rolls, buns, pies, etc. Mr. Rossner employs altogether about fourteen men, and the principal reason of his great success lies in the fact that he gives his personal attention to every detail of his business. In secret societies he is a member of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias and the Arkansas Turn Bezirk, embracing the States of Arkansas, Tennessee and Alabama. He is also secretary of the Defiance Hook & Ladder Company, and is also a member of the Little Rock Athletic Club. Mr. Rossner was married august 14, 1878, to Miss Minnie Wendt, of Little Rock, but lost his wife, who died after having borne him two children. He was again married, August7, 1883, to Miss Lou Heitman of Columbus, Ohio, by whom he had four children. The children by his first marriage are Edna and Fred, and by the last marriage, L. (is the only one now living). Mr. and Mrs. Rossner are members of the First Presbyterian Church.
William H. Rowan, a prosperous and well-known farmer and stock raiser, of Pulaski County, was born in Saline County, in the year 1845, and is a son of Thomas and Ruth (Rowland) Rowan, of Alabama, in which State they were reared and married, and in 1836 moved to Arkansas, when it was yet a Territory. The parents settled in Saline County, where the father died about the year 1848, when William was only two years old. The mother was afterward married to Obediah Snow, who died in Saline County, and passed away herself in 1887, in Pulaski County. She was a daughter of Amos Rowland, of Alabama, who fought in the Revolution, and was under General Jackson at the battle of New Orleans. He afterward moved to Saline County, where he resided a great many years, and finally died there at an advanced age. William H. Rowan was the eighth of nine children, and was reared principally in the wilds of Saline County, and, owing to the impossibility of finding schools in that section during his youth, his education was somewhat limited. When only fifteen years old he joined Company E., First Arkansas Infantry, and served twelve months, when he was discharged on account of his youth. In that time, however, he operated through Virginia, Tennessee and Mississippi, and took part in a great many battles, Shiloh being his most notable engagement. After his discharge he returned home, but soon afterward joined Col. Logan's regiment of cavalry, and did dispatch and scouting duty, until the close of the war, when he surrendered at Benton, Ark., in 1865. He was captured at that place, in 1862, and kept a prisoner for two weeks. In 1866 he was married, in Saline County, to Miss Cynthia Scott, of Mobile, Ala., a daughter of Patrick Scott, who died in that State. Mrs. Rowan died about one year after her marriage, leaving one son, Walter who resides with his father. Mr. Rowan is about the oldest settler in his vicinity, and owns 200 acres of land near Alexander, with 100 acres under cultivation, besides eighty acres near Little Rock, all of which he has accumulated by his own industry and enterprise. He is a stanch Democrat.
J. H. Sannoner, a prominent cotton factor of Little Rock, Ark., was born in Alabama as the son of Ferdinand and Frances (Holt) Sannoner. The father was a native of Florence, Italy, and by occupation a civil engineer. He served under Napoleon I (as such) from the time he was twenty years of age until the age of twenty-three, when he came to America. He arrived in the United States highly recommended by authorities in Europe, and received an immediate appointment as deputy surveyor general of Alabama, which position he held nearly all his life. He supervised the surveying of the whole State of Alabama. His appointment as surveyor was received under Gen. Coffee. After an eventful life, he died at the age of sixty-five years. J. H. Sannoner was reared in Tennessee, and when the Civil War broke out he joined the Confederate army and served as lieutenant until after the battle of Shiloh, when he was commissioned captain, serving in that capacity the rest of the war. He was in all the principal battles fought east of the Mississippi River, was at Columbus, Ga., at the time of the surrender, and in a battle after Lee had surrendered, but before the news had reached them. After the war Mr. Sannoner engaged in business at Saulsbury, Tenn., continuing there twelve years, and then moved to Memphis, Tenn., where he remained but a short time in the commission business, until the time of the severe yellow fever epidemic. In May, 1879, he came to Little Rock, Ark., and has since been prominently identified with the cotton business of the city. He also does a retail and wholesale grocery and feed business, in fact all that would fall naturally under the head of a general commission business. He is located at Nos. 607, 609, 611 and 613 Main Street, and the superficial dimension of the building is 100x150, probably the largest commission house in the State, having handled over 6,000 bales of cotton the past year. Mr. Sannoner has been before the public for ten years and enjoys a constantly increasing trade. He was married in North Mississippi, near Holly Springs, to Miss Nannie Bailey, a native of the State of Mississippi, and the fruits of this union are six children: Sue, Elois, James, Mamie, Rory and Birdie. Mr. Sannoner is a member of the Board of Trade, Little Rock; is a stockholder in the Bank of Little Rock, a Knight of Honor, and a member of the Episcopal Church.
J. G. Scarborough, M. D., has been practicing in the city of Little Rock., Ark., since 1870, and from that time has carried the majority of his cases to a successful issue. He was born in Sullivan County, Tenn., in 1835, and in 1842 was taken by his father to South Carolina, where he grew to manhood and was educated, graduating with degree of A. B. from the South Carolina College, at Columbia, in 1855. The three following years of his career were spent in instructing the young and reviewing collegiate course, obtaining, therefore, the degree of A. M. from South Carolina College; during this time he began the study of medicine. After attending college he graduated as an M. D. in the class of 1859-60, and located almost immediately in the town of Fayetteville, Ark., but only practiced a short time, when he offered his services to the Confederacy, and was surgeon of a company of cavalry. The year 1863 he spent in Greenwood, Sebastian County, Ark., but the latter part of the war he acted as assistant surgeon of Jamison's regiment. Upon the proclamation of peace, he located at Washington, Ark., and during his four years residence at that place, in addition to practicing his profession, he was engaged in the drug business, his establishment a drug store, but gave this up to the management of his son, and now devotes his time exclusively to alleviating the sufferings of the sick and afflicted. Dr. Scarborough has been one of the State Board of Examining Physicians and Surgeons for years, and has also been long connected with the American Health Association. He is a man of high literary attainments, is scrupulously conscientious, and wields a wide-spread interest among his fellow-men. His mother, whose maiden name was Sarah Gaines, was born in Sullivan County, Tenn., but shortly after the birth of our subject, she passed to her long home, and her son was reared by his grandmother. Upon her death-bed she told her nearest female friend that she desired her son to be reared a Christian, and years afterward, when he had grown into a man, he found the request written by this friend in an old autograph album, and signed "His mother's best friend." So great an impression did this make upon his youthful mind that he immediately united with the church, and has ever since remained a consistent Christian. He was married in Tennessee, in 1857, to Miss E. J. Inge, and of a family of nine children born to them, five are yet living: W. Inge, John Strother, May, Earl and Guy. W. H. Scarborough, the father of the Doctor, was a Tennesseean, born in 1810. He was a natural artist, and received his instruction under the celebrated painter of New York City, Inman, and had he lived, would have become famous, but death closed his career while in the prime of life. The paternal grandfather was a native of England, and was an early pioneer to the State of Tennessee, being a resident of that State when the first steamboat ascended the Cumberland River. The maternal grandfather was John S. Gaines, a cousin of Edmund P. Gaines, and his wife was Letitia (Dalton) Moore, a relative of Lord Dalton, of England. She was a native of Virginia, and lived to be nearly ninety years of age, as did also her husband. The latter was a planter, and owned Holston Springs, on the north fork of the Holston River. Great-grandfather Gaines was a Tennesseean, and was very highly educated, and wrote a valuable treatise on astronomy.
Prof. W. U. Simons, United States Signal Service sergeant, and observer for the territory of Arkansas, Northeast Texas and the Indian Territory, residing in the suburbs of Little Rock, is a native of St. Louis, Mo., and a son of John and Virginia (Deck) Simons, of Kentucky and Virginia, respectively. The parents resided in St. Louis for a great number of years, where he was engaged in mercantile life and steamboating very extensively until his death, in 1853, from yellow fever, while on a steamboat from New Orleans to Memphis. The mother is still living, and resides at St. Louis. Prof. Simons was reared in that city and educated at the public schools, and also at the McKendrick College, at Lebanon, Ill. In 1872 he entered the Signal Service department, and went direct to Washington for instruction. He was first stationed at Jacksonville, Fla., where he remained from August, 1872, until January, 1876, and was then transferred to Smithville, N. C., remaining there fifteen months. During the summer of 1877 he was stationed at Philadelphia, and next at New Orleans, from 1877 to February, 1879. San Diego, Cal., was his next station, where he remained for one year, and at the last two places mentioned Prof. Simons had entire charge of the Signal Service. In the spring of 1880 he came to Little Rock, and took charge of the station established in 1879. At that time reports were received from three other points only by telegraph, Little Rock being the only station in the State. Now there are forty-nine stations, of which thirteen in the district report by telegraph, and each county in Arkansas reports daily by mail. Indications and warnings are sent out by telegraph to about twenty different points in the district. In 1882 Prof. Simons recommended the establishment of the Fort Smith station which is now in full operation. When he took charge of the work he was the only salaried man in that district, but now there are seventeen, and a monthly paper has been operated for the last two years in the Signal Service, called the Arkansas Weather Review. Prof. Simons has been authorized by the department at Washington to make predictions daily twenty-four hours ahead as to the state of the weather, and during the first month of this new arrangement (July) his predictions were verified by a percentage about equal to the one at Washington, 85 per cent. Prof. Simons was married in St. Louis to Miss Caroline Schick, who died from yellow fever at New Orleans in 1878. He himself suffered from this scourge at the same time, and was stricken down for a month. Three children were born to their marriage, of whom two are yet living: Justin E. and George A. His second marriage occurred in New Orleans, in 1880 to Miss Mittie E. Crawford. In secret societies, Prof. Simons is a member of Capitol Lodge No. 40, K. of P., at Little Rock, and is Chancellor Commander of his lodge, having been the first regularly elected officer to that position after the organization of the lodge, and when he had only been a member of the order two months.
W. N. Slack, the well-known and popular land agent for the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railroad, whose headquarters are at Alexander, was born in Nashville, Tenn., in 1846, and is a son of Robert E. and Lucy J. (Love) Slack, the father a native of Kentucky, and born in 1826, while the mother was born in Tennessee. The parents were married in Nashville, and in 1847 moved to Little Rock, Ark., where the mother died in 1863. The elder Slack was again married in 1870, and moved to the State of Texas, where he commenced farming; his occupation previous to that was contracting and building, in which he made an excellent reputation at Little Rock. During the war he served in the Confederate army, and was assigned to the quartermaster's department at Little Rock. He afterward joined a Texas squadron, and some time later was transferred to an Arkansas regiment, and while in Ashley County, was captured and taken to Little Rock, where he was confined until may 5, 1865. His father was John Slack, of Virginia, and of Irish descent, who died in Logan County, Ark., where he was also a carpenter and builder by occupation. Mrs. Slack's father was Benjamin Love, of Virginia, who fought in the War of 1812, and died in Cleburne County, Ark., at an advanced age. W. N. Slack was the oldest child of five sons and one daughter born to his parents, and was reared and educated in Little Rock, attending private schools altogether. At the age of seventeen years he joined Company A, Tenth Arkansas Infantry, and took part in the battles at Mark's Mill, Mount Elba, Jenkins' Ferry and many others, as well as accompanying Gen. Price in his raids through Missouri. He was captured in Kansas and held a prisoner for seven months in the Gratiot Street prison at St. Louis, at Alton and the prison at Rock Island, Ill. At Lewisburg, Ark., he was severely wounded in the hip, but recovered and lived to return to Little Rock to enjoy the peace he had well earned after passing through nearly all of the most stirring scenes of the Rebellion. While at Little Rock he was employed in a clerical capacity for two years, and afterward went into the cigar and tobacco business for himself, at which he continued for three years. He then moved to Alexander, where he commenced farming, but since 1876 has been more actively engaged as real-estate agent for the Iron Mountain Road, a business that he is well fitted for. He still looks after his farm, however, and owns about 340 acres, of which he has placed 100 acres under cultivation, and owes all of it to his own enterprise and good management. In 1867 he was married to Angie, daughter of John and Sarah B. Ross, of Pennsylvania and Ohio, respectively. Mrs. Slack was born in Newton County, Ark., and lost her father in 1856, the mother surviving him for thirty years. Eleven children were born to this union, of whom two sons and four daughters are still living, and Mr. Slack is determined that they shall obtain the best education obtainable. In politics he is a stanch Democrat, and has served two years as deputy sheriff. He is a member of the A. F. & A. M., Alexander Lodge No. 353, and was Master for several terms, and also belongs to Royal Arch Chapter of Little Rock. Mr. Slack is one of the earliest settlers of Pulaski County, and has watched the city of Little Rock grow up from a small town into its present proportions, and it would only be justice to add that it is to men of his enterprise and character that the county owes its prosperity.
James H. Southall, M. D. The name of this gentleman is one of the most influential in Little Rock, and he is highly esteemed and liked in private life, as well as in his professional capacity. His birth occurred in Smithfield, Isle of Wight County, Va., in 1841, but his youth and early manhood was spent in Norfolk, Va., where he acquired a good education in academies of that city, and others in the States of Virginia and North Carolina. He received his medical instruction under the able auspices of Dr. Robert Tunstall, of Norfolk, Va. In 1859 and 1860 he attended medical lectures at the University of Pennsylvania, and in 1860 and 1861 he attended medical lectures at the University of Louisiana, graduating in the latter school March 1, 1861. He almost immediately, thereafter, entered the Confederate service as assistant-surgeon of the Fifty-fifth Virginia Infantry, and was promoted to surgeon of the above command in 1862, in which capacity he served until the final surrender. He returned to Norfolk, and practiced there until December, 1865, when he came west to Memphis, Tenn., and shortly after located in Crittenden County, Ark., coming from there to Little Rock in 1872. He assisted in organizing the Medical Department of the Arkansas Industrial University in 1879, and until the season of 1886, he occupied the chair of physiology, since which time he has filled the chair of theory and practice. Dr. Southall is foremost in his profession, and a man whose personal appearance will at once indicate his intelligence in whatever society he may appear. He is very popular outside of his profession, and in his studies he does not lightly skim the surface, but dives to the bottom of all subjects, no matter how profound. He was married in Memphis, Tenn., to Miss Gertrude Murphy, a native of that city, and daughter of Maj. J. J. Murphy, and his wife, Mrs. Mary (Mitchell) Murphy, old and respected citizens of that city, their union taking place in 1869. They have two children: Alice and Edith. The Doctor is a son of Turner and Alice A. (Wright) Southall, the former a native of Smithfield, Isle of Wight County, Va. He was a physician and surgeon, graduating from the University of Pennsylvania. He practiced in his native county all his life, and died there when about forty-five years of age. The grandfather, by name James Barrett Southall, was a Virginian by birth, and the first of the name to settle in the Isle of Wight County, Va. There he married a Miss Whitfield, the grandmother, on the paternal side, of the subject of this biographical sketch. The parents of James Barrett Southall were Daisey Southall and Edith (Vandervall) Southall; the former of whom was born in the North of England, and was the first of the name settling in Virginia in the early Colonial times. They were residents at that time of what is known as the Peninsula of Virginia (which it is needless to say, was then, as now, of historic fame; in or about that collegiate center of subsequent years, the borough or town of Williamsburg). On his mother's side, Mrs. Alice Ann(Wright) Southall, (who was born in the city of Norfolk, some eighty-two years ago, the place of residence of her parents), we find that he is a descendant of Co;. Stephen A. Wright, of Revolutionary fame, and his wife, Mrs. Abbey (O'Connor) Wright. Mrs. Alice Ann (Wright) Southall was the mother of seven children by her husband, Dr. Turner H. Southall, all of whom, with the exception of two, died in infancy.
Oscar M. Spellman, United States marshall for the Eastern district of Arkansas, residing at Swan Lake, Jefferson County, was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, September 17, 1844, and is a son of Henry P. and Mary (King) Spellman, natives of New York and Ohio, respectively. The father was a successful farmer by occupation, who moved from his native State to Hancock County, Ill., in 1845, and there resided until the outbreak of the Rebellion, when he settled in Alexandria, Clark County, Mo., and while there organized a Home Guard of six companies, being commissioned by Gen. Lyons for that purpose. After the battle of Athens, in August, 1861, he entered the volunteer service, joining the Seventh Missouri Cavalry, and served until the war was ended, when he was mustered out as a major of that regiment. Maj. Spellman then came to Arkansas and resumed his former pursuit of farming, which he has continued to follow with success. Both parents are at present residing at Sugar Loaf Springs, in Cleburne County. Six children were born to their marriage, of whom four are yet living, and all residing in Arkansas except one daughter, who lives in Warsaw, Ill. Oscar M. was an infant when his parents removed to Illinois, and was there reared and educated, attending the public schools of that State. He was only fifteen years of age when the Civil War commenced, but, subsequently as a private in the Seventh Missouri Cavalry, in which regiment he served until the war was over. At the battle of Lone Jack, Mo., he was wounded, and when the First and Seventh Missouri Regiments were consolidated he received a first lieutenant's commission in Company I. On April 25, 1864, he was captured at the battle of Mark's Mill, and taken to Texas, where he was held as a prisoner of war for seven or eighth months, but on December 4 of that year he made his escape and returned to the Union lines. After the war he came to Arkansas and turned his attention to farming, also dealing in general merchandise. In politics Mr. Spellman is a stanch Republican, and was appointed to his present office by President Harrison for his efficient services and loyalty. In secret societies he is a member of the Knights of Honor at Pine Bluff. He was married August 3, 1869, to Mary, daughter of James L. Johnson, of Swan Lake, Ark., by whom he has had six children, three of them yet living: G. L., Carl and Emma.
L. R. Stark, M. D., is one of the leaders of his profession in Little Rock, Ark., and a physician, whose practice is among the largest in the city. He was born in the "Palmetto State," in 1841, and was a student in the military school of his native State at the time she seceded from the Union, and with a detachment of cadets was ordered to Morris Island, they being the only available troops South Carolina had at the time of secession. Dr. Stark was appointed one of the cannoneers, and was one of the men who fired on the "Star of the West," which act was the immediate cause of the opening of hostilities between the States. As soon as the regular troops of the State had time to organize, the cadets were sent back to school and Dr. Stark graduated from the same in 1862. Immediately after this event he joined Ferguson's battery as lieutenant of light artillery, but resigned this position shortly after the battle of Mission Ridge, and re-entered the service as adjutant of the Tenth South Carolina Infantry, remaining such until the close of the war. He was wounded once at the battle of Franklin, Tenn. After his return from the war, he took up the study of medicine, and for some time studied under a preceptor, R. F. Michel, M. D., in Montgomery, Ala.; then he entered the Charity Hospital of New Orleans, and after graduating from the New Orleans School of Medicine, located in Morehouse Parish, La., and practiced his profession there until his removal to Little Rock, in 1878. He is filling the chair of gynecology in the medical department of the Arkansas Industrial University, and is a member of the State Medical Society, and also of the Little Rock Medical Society. He is also a Master Mason. His wife, whose maiden name was Mary Cannon, a native of Arkansas, has borne him four children, one of whom, named Mary, survives. The Doctor is a son of Thomas T. and Caroline (Raoul) Stark, the former being a physician and a graduate of South Carolina College. The grandfather was born in that State, and was an attorney at law. The maternal grandfather, Jean Louis Raoul de Champmanoir, was born and educated in France. After graduating in medicine in Paris, he was forced to leave his country, on account of his devotion to the Bourbon cause. The maternal grandmother was also of French extraction, being a Huguenot.
C. E. Stephens, one of the best-known business men of Little Rock, and junior member of the large machinery manufactory of D. R. Wing & Co., is a native of New York State. Mr. Stephens has been acquainted with the duties and workings of machinery since his youth, having learned the wood-working and machinist's trade when quite young, in the city of St. Louis. He was afterward employed by various railroad companies, in different parts of the South, his last headquarters in that line being at Selma, Ala. In 1873 he came to Little Rock, being twenty-seven years of age at the time, and for the following two years was connected with the Little Rock & Fort Smith Railroad. He then became associated with Mr. D. R. Wing, in the machinery and repair work line, which business has steadily grown under their able supervision, until it has reached its present proportions, Mr. Stephens having full charge of the office and trade. He is a thorough business man, shrewd, an able manager, and very popular in commercial circles.
Mancil Stone, an enterprising farmer, merchant and proprietor of grist-mill and cotton-gin, in Pulaski county, whose various industries and business interests have given him an enviable reputation, is a native of south Carolina, and was born November 3, 1824. He is the son of Abner and Jane (Langston) Stone, of the same State, who were the parents of three sons. After the mother's death, the father again married, and had eight children by his second union. Mancil was the eldest child of the family, and was reared and educated in the State of his birth. His schooling was somewhat limited in his youth, owing to the difficulty in being able to attend at that period. In 1853 he moved to the State of Arkansas, and was married the following year to Miss Mary V. Ferguson, who was born in South Carolina in 1831, and, later on, moved to Arkansas with her parents, who have since died. This union gave them five children, two sons and three daughters, four of whom are living: E. C. (a partner in the merchandise business with his father), M. A. (president of a well- known commercial college, at Little Rock, and one of that city's most intellectual men), Martha R. and Anna L. The oldest daughter departed this life in 1864. Mr. Stone first established a general merchandise store in July. 1881, with a stock of goods valued at $3,000, and placed his son in partnership with him. Previous to that he built a flour and corn mill, which is now one of the best-paying industries in that section. In addition to this, he owns 160 acres of land, with 115 acres under cultivation, which is situated about fourteen miles northeast of Little Rock, and on some of the finest land in Pulaski County. The farm has three excellent wells, and is well stocked with everything that is necessary on a first-class place, and is valued at $3,000. Before the war Mr. Stone was elected justice of the peace, and served one term. In politics he is a strong Democrat, and a valuable man to that party; while in religious belief he inclines to the Baptist Church.
Prof. M. A. Stone, president of Little Rock Commercial College, is a native of Prairie County, Ark., and was born on September 18, 1861. He supplemented his common- school education by an academic course, graduating at about the age of nineteen years, after which he became a student in Little Rock Commercial College, serving as teacher of telegraphy in the institution from which he had previously graduated. He remained in this capacity until December 28, 1885, when he purchased the institution and became its president. His first effort was to do away with the old routine method of book-keeping, and to introduce regular office work into the school. In order to succeed in this he was obliged to become author of a new series in book-keeping, and this contains many admirable changes which students from other commercial colleges are obliged to learn from actual experience, after having completed a regular course. In order to accommodate his students, Prof. Stone has greatly enlarged the capacity of his school, and has added to the regular commercial course a classical course. The enrollment of students for the scholastic year of 1880-89 was 465. The Professor was married in Little Rock, in 1887, to Miss S. E. McAlmont, and the result of this union was one child, Leona. Prof. Stone is the son of Mancil and Mary V. Stone, of Pulaski County [See sketch of Mancil Stone]. Little Rock Commercial College is the only college of the kind in the State, and is patronized from several different States. The history of the institution is about as follows: It was founded in 1874 by Prof. Aaron Bales who began on a comparatively small scale, but success attended him in all his efforts. Aided by a strong corps of teachers, which included the present president, he built up a large and flourishing school. Forseeing what might be its future needs, he made wise and liberal provisions for the growth of the college by securing for its use the pleasant, convenient quarters it now occupies, in one of the finest buildings in the State. On January 1, 1886, Mr. M. A. Stone purchased the property of the college, and was elected president by its board of directors. The school had already acquired a good standing all over the Southwest, and annually prepares a large number of young persons for the duties of the counting-room. To his advantage, the new president was familiar with the course of study pursued and the methods of instruction when he assumed the management, and was consequently able to take up and continue the work without interruption. The faculty is: M. A. Stone, president and superintendent of the course of instruction; E. M. Chartier, teacher of penmanship, book-keeping and mathematics; E. G. Johnson (assistant secretary of State), commercial law; W. J. Terry (Little Rock bar), civil government and political economy; George M. Hodges, telegraphy and electrical sciences.
Dr. George W. Sutton, a self-made man, and one of the leading physicians and surgeons of Pulaski County, was born in Sampson County, N. C., in 1831, and is a son of Edmond and Polly (Craddock) Sutton, natives of the same county, where they resided until George was about eight years old, and then moved to the State of Louisiana, where the mother died. After a three years' residence in that State, Mr. Sutton returned to North Carolina with his son, and remained there until his death in 1863. The father of Edmond Sutton was also a native of North Carolina, and was named Thomas Sutton. He served with six other brothers in the War of the Revolution, and afterward died in the State of Louisiana. His father emigrated from Scotland to America when very young, and Dr. Sutton's grandfather, Thomas Craddock, was born in North Carolina, where he was a very prominent farmer. Dr. Sutton first commenced the study of medicine in Arkansas, when there was no physician in his section of the country, and seeing the necessity of there being one, he applied himself to that profession with so much diligence and zeal, that, after graduating, he became the leading physician, as well as one of the earliest in Pulaski county; he has lived in the neighborhood of his present residence thirty-three years, and has been practicing medicine for over twenty years. He served about three years in the Confederate army, belonging to Company B, Thirtieth Arkansas Infantry. After the fall of Corinth, he was granted a furlough and returned home; but inactivity was the bane of his existence, and he was soon in the ranks again, this time becoming a member of Col. Newton's regiment of cavalry, in which he served until the surrender at Rockport. The Doctor has always been one of the most enterprising citizens of which Pulaski could boast. He takes a deep interest in educational matters as well as all affairs that in his judgment will improve and advance that county. He was formerly a Whig, but since the war has always voted the Democratic ticket, and is a strong supporter of that party. Dr. Sutton has been a member of the A. F. & A. M. for over twelve years, belonging to Mary Williams Lodge No. 307, and with his wife has been attending the Missionary Baptist Church for about twenty-five years.
Ben S. Thalhimer, proprietor of southwestern Mule and Horse Market, Little Rock, Ark. This enterprising and wide-awake business man is a native of Wittenberg, Germany, born in 1850, and at the age of seventeen years, he left the old country and came to the United States, landing in New York City without friends, money, and without a knowledge of the English language, though with a firm determination to make a success of life. His first work was to peddle goods, but he soon secured a situation in a tobacco house in Philadelphia, where he remained for one year. After this he went to Illinois, and there established a hide, fur and whisky business for himself. Subsequently he engaged as a salesman with a wholesale house in Burlington, and after continuing there for some time he came to Arkansas, where he embarked in the hide and fur business in Little Rock. He then purchased a boat, traded up and down the Arkansas River and its branches, and finished by doing a freight business with his boat. After this he sold the boat business and entered into the grocery business at Little Rock, but later went to Prairie County, Ark., where he ran two general mercantile stores. In this enterprise he lost nearly all the money he had previously made, by doing a too expensive credit business. He made his last move to Little Rock, from Prairie County, about 1884, and established the Southwestern Horse and Mule Market. He formerly had a partner, but bought him out, and is now sole proprietor. In this capacity he has thrived beyond his most sanguine hopes, and now handles more than 2,000 head of mules and horses annually. He is an enterprising man and a good citizen. He was married in 1873 to Miss Fannie Mayer, a native of Germany, and four children have been blessed this union: Sidney, Sally, Jesse and Abe. He is a member of the K. of H., I. O. O. B. and the K. of S. He is a Hebrew, and is the son of Jesse and Menah (Rothschild) Thalhimer, the mother a member of the famous family of Rothschild, of Frankfort and England. Mr. Thalhimer has a life policy on the New York Mutual Life Insurance Company.
Dr. A. D. Thomas, of the Thomas Cotton Press Works, was born and spent the earlier years of his life in New York State, emigrating to Chicago in 1856, where he taught in the public schools and studied medicine. At the breaking out of the war he was one of the first to enlist, and rose to the rank of major-surgeon and was mustered out of service at Post Lewisburg, Ark., in June, 1865. Here he married and engaged in planting, milling and the drug business. He was elected to the State senate from the district of which his (Conway) county formed a part, and served with credit to his district and himself. In 1883 he turned his attention to inventing labor-saving cotton-handling machinery, the principal machine being the first successful self- packing cotton press ever made. The outgrowth of this invention, coupled with the energy and money of D. H. Thomas, is the present extensive brick factory, 50x250 feet, with boiler room extra, also extensive paint shop. The plant covers three acres of ground, and constitutes a regular manufacturing enterprise in Arkansas. D. H. Thomas, also a native New Yorker, came to Arkansas in the spring of 1865, on a visit to his brother and liking the county so well he has since remained here. He located at the same place, Lewisburg, where he also married, and has been engaged in nearly all kinds of honorable business. In 1879, Lewisburg being absorbed by Morrillton which was only one mile distant, he moved there and erected storehouses, and went into the handling of machinery of all kinds quite extensively. In 1885 he sold out and in 1886 came to Little Rock to engage with his brother in the manufacture of the cotton press. He has been very successful in all of his undertakings, and one of the foremost in any enterprise to which he gives his attention. They are among the leading manufacturers of Arkansas, and are genial, whole-souled gentlemen, whose business tact and sociability have been secured for them a host of friends in their new home.
Prof. W. S. Thomas is in charge of the geological and scientific investigations of the land department of the St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railway. He is of Welsh descent, and was born in Waterford, Saratoga County, N. Y. His early years, however, were spent in Norwich, Chenango County, N. Y., where he received an excellent common- school education, supplemented by a thorough scientific course at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, at Troy, N. Y. After completing this he made a tour of investigation for eastern parties, in 1848, through the mineral region of Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa, and his was one of the first reports of importance ever made on the Northwestern mineral region. Upon finishing his work in that section, he went to Washington, D. C. Here he gained a high reputation for his investigations in electric forces, and was tendered by Prof. Joseph Henry, of the Smithsonian Institute, charge of the chemical apparatus that had just been presented to the institute by Dr. Hare, of Philadelphia. This offer, however, he thought best to decline, as he was too well pleased with the mineral wealth of the district he had examined in the West, and was only awaiting the proper opportunity to return there. Several electric appliances, the result of Prof. Thomas' labors, were patented. He was elected a member of the American Scientific Association, and was for many years the youngest member of the society. For two or three years before he came west again (in 1854), Prof. Thomas was connected with the newspaper press of New York City. He returned with ample capital behind him to develop the coal resources of the section around Rock Island. The mines were opened at Carbon Cliff, from which came the first coal that ever reached the Upper Mississippi River by rail, and the first ever shipped west of the Mississippi River. These mines were also the first established coal deposits in Rock Island, Davenport, Iowa City, and other towns in the interior. He was interested in the organization and building of the several railroads in that section, notably the Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis, of which he was director for many years. He remained actively connected with the coal and railroad interests of Illinois and Iowa up to 1876. In 1876, eastern capitalists, who had great faith in the judgment of Prof. Thomas, and contemplated investing in Arkansas mineral lands, induced him to go to that State and carefully examine the antimony region of Southwest Arkansas. After the completion of this examination he felt so thoroughly impressed with the natural resources and capabilities of the State, that he returned to Illinois and disposed of his interests there, and returned to Arkansas to make it his future home. The St. Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern Railway, which had just acquired from the General government its land grant of over one and one-half million acres, decided that it was best to look into the mineral resources of their lands before disposing of them for agricultural products. They engaged the services of Prof. Thomas, and his reports have governed the land department since that time. Prof. Thomas determined to devote his fine farm (the Gov. Rector plantation), fourteen miles southwest of Little Rock, to experimenting, with a view of determining the best agricultural products and breeds of stock for the climate of Arkansas, and the results of these experiments have been very flattering and all that could be desired.
William Thompson, M. D. In addition to some private study, which Dr. Thompson devoted to his profession, he, in 1858, graduated from the Medical Department of the University of Nashville, Tenn., and a long experience in the practice of his profession has made him very efficient and a thorough master of the "healing art." His first experience as a physician was at Thompson's Station, Tenn., but at the end of three years he came to Arkansas and settled ten miles south of Little Rock, remaining here until the opening of the Rebellion. During hostilities he was surgeon of the Ninety-first Regiment of Arkansas Calvary, eighteen months of his service being in the State of Arkansas, but the regiment was disbanded in Texas. In 1865 he resumed practice at his country home, but has since been identified with the city's interests, and is one of its oldest and most respected citizens. He is a member of the Pulaski County Medical Society, and also of the American Medical Association. His wife, Sallie (Dortch) Thompson, was a native of Middle Tennessee. He is a son of Joseph and Martha (Wade) Thompson. Both were Virginians, the former a tobacco manufacturer by occupation, who died in Alabama, in 1864. The paternal grandfather was born in Ireland, and was one of the early emigrants to the United States. Dr. Thompson was born in Virginia, in 1830, and when a child removed with his parents to Georgia, in this State growing to manhood and receiving his literary education.
Charles L. Thompson, one of the most prominent and skilled architects of Little Rock, is a native of Illinois, but chose this country as the land of his adoption in 1886. He received an excellent education in the schools of Illinois, which has been supplemented by continued study and application in later years, so that now he is thoroughly conversant with the leading topics of the day. His ability as an architect is second to none, and the results of his labors show an originality of ideas that are very pleasing to the eye after being satiated with a sameness which so often prevails in the architecture of to-day. On July 24, 1889, he was married to Miss Lillian McGann, a charming young lady, and a general favorite wherever she is known. Mr. Thompson is, and has been very successful in his chosen profession, and enjoys the confidence and respect of the entire community.
P. H. Treadway, M. D., is not only a successful and prominent physician of Little Rock, but he is also one of its leading druggists, and as a citizen is highly respected and esteemed by all who know him. Although he was born in Maryland, and received a portion of his medical education in his native State, he also attended lectures in the West, and later was a student in the Medical Department of the Arkansas Industrial University. After leaving college, he practiced successively in Pulaski and Perry Counties, Ark., coming to Little Rock in 1887, where he has since been an active practitioner. He followed his profession exclusively until January, 1889, at which time he established a drug store at the corner of Seventh and State Streets, where, being a man of shrewdness and excellent business qualifications, he has already built up a paying trade. Dr. Treadway traces his ancestry back to his great-great-grandfather, who was an English gentleman and came to the United States in 1700, settling on Bush River, Md., where he built a home and reared a family, the present generation of Treadways in this country being his descendants. Dr. Treadway's parents, Amos and Margaret (Carroll) Treadway, were born in Maryland, the father being a contractor and builder by occupation, this being his chief calling until his death, at the age of seventy-eight years. Several of the Treadways served in the War of the Revolution. The Doctor's grandfather was in the War of 1812, as well as in the Mexican War.
Nathan F. Trotter, an enterprising agriculturist of Pulaski County, was born in South Carolina, in the year 1816, and is a son of Joseph and Patsey (Brook) Trotter, of North Carolina. The father was born May 14, 1792, and died in 1849 at Vicksburg, Miss. In 1830 he moved from South Carolina to Georgia, where he resided for five years, and then changed his location to Alabama, where he lived until 1848. He then moved to Mississippi, which State was the last he resided in. His wife was born in 1792, and bore him ten children, of whom seven are yet living, and all residing in Arkansas. Nathan F. was the second child of this family, and was reared in Alabama, and there educated. In 1842 he was married to Miss Jane Mitchell, of South Carolina, who was born on December 8, 1821, and this union has given them eight children, of whom six are still living: John, Benjamin B., Georgie A., Nathan, Alex. And Jefferson D. In 1851 Mr. Trotter and his family came to Helena, Ark., and in the following year moved to where he now resides. He owns 300 acres of land, and has placed over 150 acres under cultivation, and his farm is one of the best improved in the county, as well as being an excellent one for any growth. The land is also well adapted for stock raising. At one time he owned 600 acres, but has generously given each of his boys a portion, and reserved 300 acres for himself. Mr. Trotter served about six months in the Confederate army, and occupied that time in gallantly defending his cause. In politics he is a stanch Democrat, and cast his first vote for Van Buren. He has held the office of justice of the peace of his township and filled the office in a dignified and satisfactory manner. In connection with his farming interests, Mr. Trotter operates a cotton-gin, which is one of the best in the county. His enterprise has long been a matter of admiration to the community, and his popularity is all owing to his genial and gentlemanly manner to all with whom he comes in contact, both in a social and business way. Mr. and Mrs. Trotter attend the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
J. B. Trotter, M. D. Among the medical fraternity of Pulaski County, no name is better known than that of Dr. J. B. Trotter. He was born in Fayette County, Tenn., December 15, 1861, being one of five sons born to J. H. Trotter and wife, and from his earliest boyhood demonstrated that he would make his "mark" in life, which he certainly has done. J. H. Trotter subsequently moved to Lonoke County, Ark., where, for eight years, his son, J. B. lived with him. At the end of that time the latter entered upon what has proved to be a successful career. He began the study of medicine in 1880, under G. W. Morrow, M. D., of Tennessee, and in the winters of 1881-82 and 1882-83 he attended lectures at Memphis Hospital Medical College. The year 1883 witnessed his graduation from the college with honors, being the possessor of a bit of paper that licensed him to alleviate the sufferings of humanity in any part of the universe. Fortunately for the people of Galloway, he decided to locate at that place, and that he chose wisely in selecting a situation in which to commence his career is evinced by the liberal patronage that has fallen to his lot. Notwithstanding that the Doctor has had plenty to do in attending to the various demands made upon him, he found time to be captivated by a most estimable lady, and in the spring of 1887 led to the Hymeneal altar Miss Myrtle Stovall. Mrs. Trotter is the daughter of J. M. Stovall, of Jacksonville, Ark. The Doctor owns a fine farm in Lonoke County, besides valuable property in other places.
James Tunnah (deceased) was one of the pioneer business men of Little Rock, coming to that city in 1848. He was born in Dumfernline, Fifeshire, Scotland, on March 21, 1817, his parents, like most of the Scotch race, being people of great longevity. Emigrating to America in July, 1848, he landed at New Orleans, and, in the spring of 1849, with Joseph Clark, his companion from Scotland, located at Little Rock. Both of them were marble and stone cutters, and were the first to establish the marble business in Little Rock, which they carried on under the firm name of Joseph Clark & Co.. until the death of Mr. Clark, in 1852, when the business was transferred to Mr. Tunnah. During the later years of his life, his son, Renton, was taken into partnership with him, and the elder continued actively in the business until his death, on October 9, 1882. He was married November 15, 1853, to Mrs. Helen McPherson Clark, widow of his former partner, but lost his wife, who died February 17, 1877, at the age of fifty-five years. They were the parents of six children, of whom three are yet living: William Chester (book-keeper for W. B. Whorton & Co., Little Rock), James Kirkwood (passenger conductor on the Cotton Belt Railway) and Renton. Those deceased were John Graham, John Walter and Robert Bruce. Mrs. Tunnah had one son by her former marriage, George D. Clark, who died in this city on January 13, 1881. Mr. Tunnah was a prominent Mason of Arkansas, and was Tyler of the Grand Lodge for about twenty years, and was also a representative of the Grand Lodge of Scotland to the Grand Lodge of Arkansas. He was also wharf master and city collector for about twelve years. Renton Tunnah was born in Little Rock on March 16, 1864, and received a good public-school education. When old enough, he was put in his father's establishment to learn the marble-cutter's trade, and in the spring of 1882, the elder Tunnah gave him an interest in the business. When his father died he left no will, and the other half interest in the business fell to Renton, who has since conducted it with success. He owns a nice little residence at No. 208 Gaines Street. Mr. Renton Tunnah is deeply interested in Knights of Pythias matters, and, seeing the necessity of a paper devoted to the interests of that fraternity in the State of Arkansas, he established the Pythian Advocate, which is issued monthly at the rate of $1 per annum, and is a neat, bright and newsy paper. He is a member of Damon Lodge No. 3, Knights of Pythias, and is a Past Chancellor of that lodge, and representative to the Arkansas Grand Lodge. He was married February 26, 1884, to Miss Fannie A. Stevenson, of Little Rock. Three children have been born to this union: Robert K. (born November 28, 1884), Helen (born October 27, 1886) and Renton, Jr. (born December 24, 1888.) Mrs. Tunnah is a devout Christian woman, and a member of the Christian Church. Mr. Tunnah is also a member of Capitol Lodge No. 25, A. O. U. W., and the Order of American Fireman. He is assistant chief of the Volunteer Fire Department of Little Rock.
Prof. M. P. Venable, principal of the classical School of the Commercial College rooms, of Little Rock, was originally from the Old Dominion, where his birth occurred in 1846. He passed his boyhood days in that State, and graduated from the regular course in the University of Virginia, in 1869. He was then engaged in teaching school in his native town until he came to Arkansas. During the above period he gave a portion of his time to the newspaper business, and later was public school superintendent of his home county in Virginia for a number of years. He came to Arkansas in 1875 to take charge of Fort Smith high school and acted as superintendent of the same for eleven years. After this he had charge of the Paris Academy for two years, at the end of which time he came to Little Rock and established the present classical school in connection with Little Rock Commercial College. He is professor of languages and mathematics in the Commercial College also, and makes a specialty of preparing cadets for West Point. He limits his number of students to about forty. Prof. Venable is one of the most proficient mathematicians and linguists in the South, and the student who passes from his hand may consider himself well worth the position to which Prof. Venable has recommended him to apply. The Professor was married in his native State to Miss F. Miles, a graduate of North Washington College, Va., and is now a teacher in Arkansas Female College. Their union was blessed by the birth of four interesting children: George, Fitzhugh, Luther R. and Gertrude V. The great fore- fathers of Prof. Venable were Norman-French, and came to England with the Conqueror. One of them at one time was in charge of the city of Paris. The family came to America in 1852. There were soldiers in this family while in England, and there has always been one member to represent the same in the English navy. Grandfather Venable was an officer in the Revolutionary War, and is the Venable defended by Patrick Henry for killing a cow for beef for the soldiers. Venable was a commissary officer. Prof. M. R. Venable of Northern Virginia during the Civil War, and served three and a half years, surrendering at Appomattox Court House.
Creed T. Walker, cashier and manager of the Bank of Little Rock, and a well-known citizen of that place, was born in Desha County, Ark. His maternal grandfather, Creed Taylor, was a native of Kentucky, who came to Arkansas when it was known as a part of the Louisiana territory, and located in what is now Conway County, on June 8, 1817. He subsequently removed to Jefferson County, on June 8, 1887, having resided in the State of Arkansas for a period of seventy years, being now at the age of eighty-eight years. For a long period he was in charge of the United States land office, having headquarters at Helena and Pine Bluff. During his residence here he surveyed over a large portion of the State, and was a man of energy and daring enterprise, being well known throughout Arkansas. His wife was a Miss Vaugine before her marriage, and a granddaughter of Capt. Don Joseph Valliere, a commander of French troops under Baron de Carondelet, once Governor of the Territory of Louisiana. Creed Taylor was twice married; his first wife bore him three children, all daughters, of whom Eulalie Vaugine is the mother of Creed T. Walker, by her marriage with Robert W. Walker in 1841. Robert W. Walker was a native of Virginia, but removed at an early day to Tennessee with his parents, and was reared in Nashville. He afterward settled in Jefferson County, Ark., and had charge of the United States land office there until his death, in 1868. Creed T. Walker was reared and lived in Jefferson County, Ark., until fifteen years of age. He then attended school at Nashville, Tenn., remaining there until the Civil War commenced, when he joined Pat Cleburne's old regiment, the Fifteenth Confederate States Regiment from Arkansas, but his career in the army was cut short, by being captured at the battle of Perryville and kept a prisoner until the war ended. On being released he went to Kentucky, and at Harrodsburg obtained a position in the Commercial Bank of Kentucky, remaining there for one year. He subsequently returned to Arkansas, and engaged in Steamboating on the Arkansas and Mississippi Rivers, remaining in that business four years, and in January, 1870, entered the banking house of S. H. Tucker, in Little Rock. In September, 1878, he left that firm to accept a position with George Brodie & Son, bankers, and for one year and a half he remained with them, but again was offered a position with another bank, the German Savings, which was a successor of the German National Bank, and continued with this house for fourteen years. When the scheme of opening a new bank was broached, Mr. Walker was solicited to take charge of it, and commenced as its cashier and manager, on February 25, 1889. He is also director and treasurer of the Little Rock Trust Company, and a stockholder and director of the Arkansas Granite Company. Mr. Walker is also treasurer of the Ladies Building Association, as well as of the Royal Arcanum and Knights of Honor. In religious faith he is a member and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. On January 4, 1866, he was married to Miss Lizzie D. Cox, of Harrodsburg, Ky., by whom he had six children, four of whom are living: Robert D., Mary E., Creed and Bessie. Mrs. Walker and her two eldest children also attend the same church.
Mrs. Myra C. Warner. No true history of this section could fail to make mention of this esteemed lady, whose connection with the affairs of Arkansas Female College, of Little Rock, has given her wide and honorable acquaintance. As early as 1872 a number of prominent citizens of this place began to see the necessity of establishing a school where their daughters might be educated, and at the same time be kept within the circle of home influence. The result of their efforts was the establishment of the Arkansas Female College. Twelve directors were selected, of whom Hon. G. A. Garland was president, Judge William C. Ratcliff, secretary, and Dr. J. H. McAtomont, treasurer. In order to insure the confidence of the public, the Methodist Conference was asked to take the school under its management, and make it a Conference school. Dr. Winfield, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, was elected financial agent; Gen. L. M. Lewis, president of the faculty, and Mrs. M. C. Warner, principal. The president of the faculty has always been president in name, and Mrs. M. C. Warner has adjusted the school affairs. At the end of four years Gen. L. M. Lewis resigned, since which time the subject of this sketch has found all the duties incident to an institution of this kind devolving upon her. The Methodist Episcopal Conference withdrew their interest also, but Mrs. Warner has remained faithfully at her post of duty, true to the cause of education, in which she glories, and in which she is spending her life. She has seen over sixty of the daughters of many of the best families in Arkansas graduate from her school, and the alumni in the early years of the school has always been kept up-the only successful alumni in the State. The successive presidents of the school board have been Hon. G. A. Garland, Maj. Blocker, Judge English and Hon. J. G. Fletcher. The person to whom the true honor of the fame of Arkansas Female College is due is Mrs. Myra C. Warner, the present principal, and the only one of the original members still identified with it. She is a native of New York State, born in 1833, and grew to womanhood there, graduating from Alfred University with two degrees, A. B. and A. M. Ten years from that time the school conferred the degree of D. D. upon her also. She came to Little Rock in 1852, taught a private school for two years, and then went North. She returned after the war, opened a private school, and taught the same until she became principal of Arkansas Female College. Mrs. Warner is a woman eminent as an educator, and in scholarly attainments has no equal in the State. She is Scotch-Irish on her father's side, and on that side, too, is related to the Carrolls, of Carrollton. On the mother's side she is connected with the Huntingtons. She and her people are strict Presbyterians.
John Wassell (deceased) first came to Little Rock, in 1837. He was born in Kidderminster, England, the center of the great carpet industry, in 1814. At the age of eighteen he left England and came to America, intending to join an uncle in Philadelphia; but upon arriving at that city he could find nothing of his relative, except information that he had gone to Pittsburgh. He then traveled to the latter place, making the entire distance on foot, and journeying over the Allegheny Mountains, but on his arrival learned that his uncle had left for Cincinnati. He made the trip to that city on foot, and there had another disappointment, for his uncle had returned to England. While in Cincinnati he apprenticed himself to a carpenter and learned the trade thoroughly, but his path, while engaged in this work, like most instances, where the apprenticeship is among rough co-workers, was not smoothed with roses. He was earnest and perservering, however, and soon distanced all in his trade. His first venture was in answering an advertisement in the city paper from a man in Grand Gulf, Miss., who wanted some work done. Mr. Wassell corresponded with him, obtained the contract and left for that place with a gang of men, remaining there for one year. He subsequently made a trip in the same manner, by seeing an advertisement for proposals to do the carpenter work in the new State house at Little Rock, Ark. He secured the contract and, coming to that city, did the work. In 1837 he and Miss Margaret Spotts, of Louisville, Ky., were united in marriage; they came to Little Rock at once and went to housekeeping in that part of the State house now the Governor's office, remaining there until the building was completed. Mr. Wassell has since continued to reside in Little Rock, and during his stay has erected most of the old and substantial buildings of the city. He afterward moved to Lonoke County, where he farmed for seven years, but at the end of that time returned to Little Rock, where he became part owner of a paper called the Old Line Whig, the organ of the Whig party of this State. Some time later he concluded to go into mercantile life, and opened up a general supply and steamboat store on the levee, continuing in that business for two or three years. During this time he bought considerable land on the Arkansas River, below Lewisburg, and erected a large saw-mill. This business he carried on until the country was captured by the Federals in 1863, when he sold his saw-mill and returned to Little Rock. Mr. Wassell was a party in a case to be tried, and his attorney insisting on a certain line of proof contrary to Mr. Wassell's judgment, it resulted in the attorney's withdrawal from the case; and the case being called at this juncture, Mr. Wassell acted as his own attorney, by leave of the court, though he was at that time not a lawyer. Mr. Wassell gained a complete victory, much to the surprise of his former counsel. His ability of legal kind thus displayed led his friends to urge upon him the practice of law, which after preparation he undertook, about 1870, and enjoyed a large and lucrative practice; his success as a lawyer being, principally, marked by victories gained against the opinions and belief of what other attorneys viewed as the law of cases. He was one of the originators of the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad, the founder of the deaf- mute institute, of which he was its first president; he, with individual means, providing for the education of several deaf mutes. Mr. Wassell was also the first president of the Home Water Company, and during the reconstruction period was appointed mayor of the city by President Johnson. Under his administration the city hall was built, the first fire engine bought, the first grading of streets commenced (on West Markham and Center), and Mr. Wassell was one of four registrars appointed to register the voters of Arkansas, and was chairman of the board. He was also the representative of the Dun Mercantile Agency in Little Rock up to the time they established an agency in that city, and was also vice president of the First National Bank for a great many years. He practiced law with great success up to the time of his death, in 1881, at the age of sixty-seven years. He was strictly an independent man, and attributed all of his success to industry and perseverance. Mr. Wassell was one of the founders of the Christ Episcopal Church of this city, and was senior warden of the same from its foundation almost up to the time of his death. He never used tobacco or liquor of any kind. Mr. and Mrs.Wassell were the parents of eight children, of whom four are now living: Rebecca E. (wife of William M. Randolph, a prominent attorney, of Memphis, Tenn.), Albert, Samuel S. and Herbert. The mother is still living and resides in Little Rock, enjoying remarkably good health for one of her age, seventy-four years. She is a native of Delaware. Albert, the eldest son, is a lawyer by profession, but has not yet engaged in active practice. He was married, in 1877, to Miss Leona H. McAlmont, of Little Rock, a daughter of Dr. Corrydon McAlmont. Four children were born to this union, of whom two are now living: Cory and Ruth. Mr. Wassell is a member of the Christ Episcopal Church, and his wife is a Presbyterian. Samuel S., the second son, is a practicing attorney of this city. He was born in Little Rock, in 1854, and was educated at Cornell University, from which institution he graduated in 1876. He then went to Memphis, Tenn., and read law in the office of Randolph, Hammond & Jordan. In 1877 the junior partner withdrew from the firm and Mr. Wassell took his place, changing the firm name to Randolph, Hammond & Wassell. The yellow fever epidemic of 1878 forced them to leave the city, and Mr. Wassell returned to Little Rock, where he was admitted to practice and has since been engaged. His office is located in the Wassell Block, a building erected by himself and brother Herbert. In April, 1878, he was married to Miss Elizabeth McConaughey, a daughter of J. W. McConaughey. This union gave them three children: Frank J., Samuel Mc. And James Bracy. Herbert, the youngest son, is engaged in the real-estate business, and is also manager of his mother's property and the real estate left by his father. He is yet unmarried, and, like his brothers, is a member of Christ Episcopal Church.
Claibourne Watkins, M. D., is a descendant of one of the oldest families of Little Rock, his grandfather, Maj. Isaac Watkins, who emigrated to the State from Kentucky, in 1821, having become one of the first settlers of this city. His son, Hon. George Claibourne Watkins, was born in Shelbyville, Ky., and became the third chief justice of Arkansas. The foundation of his legal education was laid at Yale College, Connecticut. In 1837 he returned from Yale College ripe in scholarly attainments for one so young, and was immediately taken into partnership with Chester Ashley, who, in his knowledge of law, was without a peer in the State. Mr. Watkins was an arduous student, and rose in his profession with astonishing rapidity, being elected at the early age of thirty years to the office of attorney general of the State, resigning at the end of two years to make room for a professional friend. In 1852 he was elected chief justice of the supreme court, resigning this position also at the end of two years, owing to the death of his legal partner, James M. Curran. Before leaving the bench he settled many arrears in business, which he had found on taking the office, and unhesitatingly expressed his views on many important questions, many of which (according to high authority) have never been overruled. He was a zealous Confederate during the war, and three of his sons fought for the Southern cause. His oldest son was promoted from the ranks to the position of lieutenant-colonel of the Eighth Arkansas Volunteers, and fought, without receiving a wound, in eighteen hard battles, but, in his twenty- second year, fell at the head of his command, in the battle of Atlanta. Judge Watkins was married, in 1841, to Miss Mary Crease, her death occurring in 1855. His second wife was Mrs. Sophia Curran, a daughter of William S. Fulton. In 1872 Judge Watkins' overtaxed energies gave way, and his friends thought it advisable to give him a change of scene. He was taken to the springs of Virginia and after- ward to Colorado, being attended by his son, Dr. Claibourne Watkins, but his vital forces could not be recruited, and he died in the city of St. Louis, while on his way home, December 7, 1872. Dr. Claibourne Watkins was a son by his first wife, and was born in Little Rock, in 1844. After receiving a common-school education he supplemented this by attending a college in Maryland, and would have taken a degree in letters and science but for the opening of the Rebellion. He dropped his studies to aid the Southern cause, and became a member of the Eleventh Arkansas Regiment, being captured soon after at Island No. 10. He remained a prisoner six months, was then exchanged and became a member of Price's army, but was captured a second time at Port Hudson. He made his escape from prison at New Orleans, and joined Taylor's army at Mobile, surrendering at the close of the war, at Jackson, Miss., at that time holding the rank of captain, to which position he had been promoted from a private. He returned to Little Rock, and entered the Government hospital, and in 1868 graduated from the Jefferson Medical College. Since that time he has won his way to the front, and the reputation which he bears throughout the State is well deserved. His wife, who was a Miss Mildred Farley, was born in Mississippi, their union taking place in St. Louis, Mo. They have four children: Annie, Mary, Mildred and Gertrude.
J. M. Watkins, physician, Little Rock, Ark. Dr. Watkins is a young man of decided intellectual ability, is ever ready to obey the call of all classes, and is in truth a physician of thorough learning, and one who has been very successful. Originally from Izard County, Ark., where his birth occurred in 1859, he received his literary education in La Cross, Izard County, and studied medicine under his father at that city for some time. He then graduated from the well-known and far- famed Vanderbilt University, in 1882, thoroughly prepared to enter actively upon the discharge of his professional duties, and located at LaCross, where he practiced six years. Going to Lee County he remained only a short time when his health failed and he was obliged to come to Little Rock. Here he has resided since February, 1889. He is a member of the Arkansas State Medical Society, Pulaski County Medical Society and other medical associations. He owns considerable real estate in Little Rock. His father, O. F. Watkins, is a native of Tennessee, receiving his education in Franklin, that state. He graduated from Louisville University, and later married the mother of the subject of this sketch, Miss Elizabeth Martin, who bore him twelve children, ten now living. The father then located in Alabama, but later came west and made his home in Izard County, where he has resided since 1844. He has been retired since the close of the war, and has given his time to farming and stock raising, being one of the largest owners in his county. The mother is still living. Grandfather Watkins was born in North Carolina, was of Irish descent, was a farmer, and died near Nashville at the age of eighty years. He was the owner of a good property. Grandfather Martin was from Missouri, came to Arkansas and located in Izard County, where he died in 1848.
Dr. J. P. Webb, a well-known citizen and prominent chair manufacturer of Little Rock, was born in Caldwell County, Ky., in 1831, and is a son of Charles H. and Cassandra (Ford) Webb, both natives of the same State. The father was one of the leading physicians in Princeton, Ky., and in fact considered one of the most skillful in that part of the State. His death occurred in 1844 at the age of fifty years, while the mother survived him until the year 1865, shortly after the Civil War had ended. They were the parents of nine children, of whom three daughters and one son are yet living. J. P. Webb was reared in his native county and graduated from the old Cumberland College at Princeton. Choosing medicine as his profession, he commenced that study in the office of the noted Dr. James A. Carr, and also attended medical lectures at the University of Louisville, Ky., from which institute he graduated in 1851, although he never practiced any but simply used his knowledge of medicine for his own benefit, and a natural desire to know the secrets that profession. In early life the Doctor was engaged in the commission business for eight years, and afterward spent ten years in the dry-goods business with great success. His next venture was in steamboating on the Cumberland, Tennessee and Ohio Rivers until 1869, when he came to Little Rock, where he embarked in the wholesale boot and shoe business, but was forced to sell out some time later, on account of his wife's failing health, and return to Kentucky, where she died. On his return to Little Rock he formed a partnership with Mr. T. W. Wilson, in the book and stationary business, under the firm name of Wilson & Webb, and continued at that with success for eighteen years, selling out the business in May, 1888. The Doctor then became interested in the manufacture of chairs, and has been secretary and treasurer of the Little Rock Chair Company since it's incorporation. Dr. Webb was married to Miss Nannie Machen, whose father, Frank Machen, was one of the largest planters in Caldwell County, Ky., before the war. One child was born to this union, Augusta. Mrs. Webb died in 1870. The Doctor is of a modest and retiring nature, and it is only his intimate friends who are cognizant of the kindly, affectionate spirit he possesses. He is a citizen of unexcelled standing and true worth.
E. C. Webrfritz, one of the best known citizens of Little Rock and proprietor of the Union Machine Works of that place, is a native of Germany, and was born in Bingen- on-the-Rhine. When a boy fourteen years old he was apprenticed to the machinist's trade, and remained at it for three years. He then went to England, and found employment at his trade for one year, and in 1864 came to America, locating first in St. Louis, where he remained for about eight years. Finding the opportunities in St. Louis for a poor man were few and far between, so moved to Little Rock, and after noting the enterprise and rapid growth of that city, he concluded to remain. He first obtained a position with Messers. D. R. Wing & Co., and was soon after made foreman of the machinist and foundry department, remaining with them seven years. For the next eighteen months he was engineer of the Home Water Company, and at the end of that period went with R. L. Cobb & Co., assisting in the organization of the Southwestern Foundry and Machine Works. Mr Webrfritz soon retired from this firm, and in July, 1885, with but little capital, but any amount of pluck and enterprise, established the present industry, which is now one of the best paying in Little Rock. He also owns some city property in good localities, and several lots in the famous summer resort, Mount Nebo. His residence and shops are combined, making them convenient to each other, as he is a man who gives the strictest attention to his business. Mr. Webrfritz served one term as alderman of the First ward, being elected by 300 majority. In secret societies he is a member of Barbara Lodge No. 12, K. of P., and is Past Chancellor Commander of that Lodge. He also belongs to Germania Lodge No. 910, K. of H., in which he is Past Dictator, and the A. O. U. W., being Past Master Workman, and is president of Little Rock Turn-Verein and director of the Mechanics' Loan and Building Association.
William G. Whipple, mayor of Little Rock, was born at Warehouse Point, on the Connecticut River, Conn., on August 4, 1834, and is a son of William J. and Permelia Cook (Woodward) Whipple, of Connecticut and Massachusetts, respectively. The father was a prominent citizen, who died in 1873, at the age of sixty-four years, while the mother died in 1861, at the age of fifty years. The family of the latter were noted for their longevity, a number of them yet living, and all over eighty years of age. William G. Whipple is one of the most intellectual men in Little Rock. He received a superior education in his youth and early manhood, first graduating from the Wilbraham Academy, in Massachusetts, in 1852, and then attending and graduating from the Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn. Choosing law for his profession, he entered the Albany Law School at Albany, N. Y., and after his graduation went to Milwaukee, Wis., where he commenced practicing, and remained until 1868. During that time he was a candidate for the United States prosecuting attorneyship for Milwaukee County, but his party being in the minority he was thus defeated by his opponent. In 1868 he went to Little Rock, and shortly afterward was appointed United States district attorney, serving in this office with distinction for three years. He resumed his practice at the end of that time, and for five years was a partner of Judge Yonley. In 1887 Mr. Whipple was elected mayor of Little Rock on a non-partisan ticket, and without opposition, and in 1889 was re-elected on the same ticket with a majority of over 10,000. His administration has been one that gave satisfaction to the people in almost every detail, and has brought about numberless reforms. On September 1, 1887, electric lighting was introduced into the city, by which twice the area formerly lighted by gas is now lighted by electricity, at one half the former expense. The plant cost the city $27,000, and is run at an annual expense of $6,000. There are 112 lamps of 2,000 candle power each, and five towers consisting of five lamps each in different parts of the city. Since 1887 the streets have been paved with granite blocks, macadam and gravel, four miles in the heart of the city, and eight miles additional at different points have just been completed, besides several miles in course of construction. Besides this about sixty miles of brick, stone and concrete sidewalk have been built, and nine new sewer districts opened, making a total of nineteen sewer districts now in the city. The city has purchased, recently, an Aveling & Porter steam roller to pave their streets with, weighing twelve tons and costing $5,800. For over forty years a town branch "cut off" had been talked about, but nothing definite had ever come of it until the new administration took hold of things, and in June, 1888, this project was carried out. It is six feet in diameter, and carries away a large amount of water from the town branch, thereby saving an overflow in the business portion and considerable valuable property that would otherwise be carried away or damaged by water. Since Mayor Whipple has taken the reins of government, the city has imbibed a new spirit of enterprise and improvement, and among other things a dummy railway has been constructed about three miles in length within the past eighteen months. The mayor takes a deep interest in immigration, and also the financial condition of the city. Under his administration the city bonded debt has been refunded, amounting to $167,000, and bearing interest at 6 per cent, and would have fallen due within the next ten years, but it has now been refunded at 10 per cent, on twenty years' bonds ---a creditable showing. Little Rock can only assess a 5 mill tax, while Forth Worth assesses 15 mills, San Antonto 12 and Dallas receives $100,000, where Little Rock only gets $37,000 in taxes. With this small assessment, however, the city has always enough to pay current expenses, although Little Rock was between $3,000 and $4,000 in debt for current expenses when Mayor Whipple took charge of his office. His administration has been a success in every sense, and he has filled the office of mayor with commanding dignity and wisdom. He is junior warden of Trinity Cathedral (Episcopal), and has been chancellor for three terms of three years each of the Episcopal Diocese. In secret societies he is a Master Mason, and also a member of Knights of Honor. Mayor Whipple was married in 1870 to Miss Mary S. Dodge, a daughter of Dr. R. L. Dodge, an old and respected citizen of Little Rock. They have one son, Durand, eighteen years old, who graduated from the Little Rock University in the class of 1889, and is now reading law in his father's office. To Mayor Whipple's enterprise and business sagacity is largely due the present state of progress and prosperity that has fallen to Little Rock. He is a gentleman of high honor and sound judgment, and enjoys the confidence of the people to a marked degree.
Col. Beverly D. Williams, widely known by reason of his prominence as a planter of Pulaski County, now residing in Little Rock, was born in Perryville, Boyle County, Ky., and is a son of William S. Williams, a native of the same county, and a printer who learned his trade under Amos Kendall, afterward postmaster-general of the United States. The older Williams moved from Kentucky to Tennessee in 1840, locating at Memphis, where he resided and carried on a successful land business until his death, in 1860. He was married to Miss Harriet Dickerson, of Stafford County, Va., by whom he had three children, one dying in infancy; Marion W. (who was wife of Hial S. King, and died at Memphis in 1865) and Beverly D. (the principal of this sketch). The mother died in Kentucky in the year 1830. Beverly D. Williams was born on July 4, 1822, and received a somewhat limited education in his youth on account of the few schools in his native place at that period. In 1841 he was married to Miss Narcissa B. Mitchell, but lost his wife at Crab Orchard, Ky., who died in 1868. In the fall of 1872 Col. Williams was married to his second wife, Mrs. Annie M. Waters, widow of Dr. John Waters, of Memphis, and a grandfather of Mr. Felix Goundy. Four children were born to his first marriage, all of whom are living: Parthenia (wife of S. P. Fort, of Brinkley, Ark.), Harriet (wife of George W. Batterton, of Danville, Ky.), Hammond O. (clerk of the court of Pulaski County) and Emma (wife of Paul Tuck, residing in Memphis, Tenn.). Mrs. Williams has one son by her first marriage, Dr. John Waters, of Little Rock. In 1842 Mr. Williams was appointed deputy sheriff of Boyle County, Ky., and in 1844 became high sheriff of the same county. In 1840 he was again appointed deputy sheriff and re-elected in 1848. At the expiration of his term he commenced planting, but in the meantime had studied law under Judge Mitchell, and was admitted to the bar, in 1840. He practiced law and continued in his planting enterprises for a short time, but in 1853 he went to Louisville, Ky., where he became engaged in pork-packing with the firm of Ousley, Kenwood & Co. He remained in this business for three years, and then went to Leavenworth, Kas., to take charge of what was known as "The Pike's Peak Expedition," becoming agent and general manager for Messrs. Jones & Cartwright and Majs. Russell & Wadell. He left Leavenworth on April 1, 1859, with instructions to go to Fort Riley and Junction City, and then strike out for Denver, Colo., the nearest and best route according to his own judgment. After leaving Junction City, he was instructed to leave seven men, one woman and twelve mules at each station of twenty-five miles apart until he reached Denver; those left behind to be supplied with tents and provisions, and to make these places stations for a stage route to be subsequently established. The expedition reached Denver May 12, having started with 160 men, women and children, and 400 mules, besides forty wagons and stages that had started on his track and overtook him before he arrived at Denver. Upon reaching that city, he sent the stages back, thus establishing the only stage-line between Leavenworth and Denver, the trip being made in from seven to nine days. Col. Williams also had orders from the company to establish headquarters at some convenient place, and, accordingly, he purchased about 1,700 lots in the heart of Denver. These same lots are now valued at $5,000. While in Colorado, Col. Williams examined the gold mines at Gregory, Russell's Gulch and other points, purchasing all the gold-dust he could buy, which he had melted into the form of a brick, and sent to Leavenworth, where it was placed on exhibition, and first proved to the world the actual wealth to be found in Colorado. Col. Williams remained with the stage company for about eight months, and in the meantime a Provincial Government had been formed for the people of the (then) Territory of Jefferson, now Colorado. A legislative body was called together and put the Territorial Government machinery in motion. Col. Williams was elected by the people as a delegate to Congress, for the purpose of obtaining from that body recognition for the people as a regular Territory of the United States. He remained in Washington during the whole of the XXXVIth Congress, and in February, 1861, their object was attained, the Territory acquiring the name of Colorado. The Colonel then returned to that place, and was nominated by the Democratic party for re-election, but was defeated by his opponent, Hiram P. Bennett, on the Republican ticket. In 1862 Col. Williams returned to Kentucky and enlisted in the Fourth Regiment of Kentucky Volunteer Infantry, Federal army, as first lieutenant, and was immediately detailed as quartermaster to go on the staff of Gen. James S. Jackson. He remained in this capacity until the battle of Perryville, where Gen. Jackson was killed, and Lieut. Williams was then appointed captain by President Lincoln, and assigned to the staff of Gen. Alex McDowell, serving with distinction until the close of the war. On that occasion he was ordered to St. Louis as a mustering-out officer, and in the spring of 1865, was stationed at Benton Barracks, mustering out all the troops under Gen. Bonneville, and in September of the same year, he was himself mustered out. In November, 1865, he located at Memphis, Tenn., and was appointed secretary and treasurer of the Memphis & Little Rock Railway, and remained with that road for eight years in different capacities, and when the road was completed, in 1872, he brought the first through train from Memphis to Little Rock. Col. Williams retired from railroading in 1873, and engaged in planting cotton on his wife's plantation in Jefferson County, Ark., in which pursuit he has continued to the present time. In 1875 he purchased a fine residence on the corner of Fourth and Ringo Streets, from Col. Logan H. Roots, and moved into it with his family. His plantation now consists of 1,100 acres in cotton and 300 acres in corn, oats and other grain. In 1881 Col. Williams was elected a member of the legislature from Pulaski County, and served one term. He is at present a prominent member of the "Old Hickory Club," one of the leading Democratic organizations in Arkansas. In religious faith, Col. Williams and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
Hammond Orne Williams, county clerk, Little Rock, Ark. The subject of this sketch has been so prominently identified with the interests of Pulaski County, as to render him well and favorably known, while his official career has demonstrated him to be one of the most capable and efficient of public servants, whose integrity and honesty of purpose is unquestioned. He owes his nativity to Boyles County, Ky., where his birth occurred on October 12, 1845, he being the third in a family of four children born to Beverly D. and Narcissa B (Mitchell) Williams. [See sketch of father.] Hammond Orne Williams attended the common schools of Kentucky until the beginning of the war, and in 1865 was a student at the commercial college at Dayton, Ohio, where he completed his educational advantages. In May, 1866, he came to Arkansas, landing at Devall's Bluff, where his father was then residing. The next day, and when twenty years of age, he was appointed express messenger and the United States mail agent on the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad from Devall's Bluff to Little Rock, where he continued until December 1, of the same year. He then changed to a position of the same character on the John B. Davis Steamboat Line, running from Memphis to Jacksonport on the White River, making one trip per week. He remained thus employed for two years, and was then appointed railroad agent at Devall's Bluff, and also agent for all steamboats running up White River. On September 1, 1872, he engaged in merchandising, but still continues as steamboat agent. On October 13, 1874, he closed out his business to his partner, and was elected sheriff of Prairie County, serving in this capacity for two terms. On November 1, 1889, he moved to Little Rock, and became check clerk for the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad at Argenta acting as such for three years. He has since been employed by several railroad and transfer companies in a like capacity. On March 12, 1886, he was appointed deputy sheriff by Robert W. Worth, the sheriff of Pulaski County, to take charge of a posse of men to guard railroad property during the railroad strike of that year. On April 9, Mr. Williams was attacked by a large number of men and received numerous wounds. After recovering he received the nomination for county clerk from the Democratic party on July 13, 1886, being elected by a majority of over 900 votes, on September 6. In 1888 he was re-elected to the same office by the opposing party. Mr. Williams was married December 8, 1869, to Miss Jennie L. Sylvester, of Arkansas County, Ark., a daughter of Capt. John Sylvester, an old steamboat captain, and niece of Capt. James A. Sylvester, who captured Gen.Santa Anna in the Mexican War, in 1846. Her mother was a native of Massachusetts, and at an early day the family moved to Tennessee. After the father's death the mother married Col. W. H. Halliburton, who is at present a member of the legislature from Arkansas County, and in that county she is still residing. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Williams were born four children, a daughter and three sons, all living: Mary, Beverly D., Jr., Hammond O. Jr., and Jake B. Mr. Williams is a member of the K. of P. and of the Masonic fraternity.
Elias C. Wilson, a substantial farmer and stock man of Pulaski County, has been a resident of that county since 1856, and was born in South Carolina on March 19, 1825. His parents were Jesse and Margaret (West) Wilson, the father born in Virginia and moved to South Carolina with his parents when only three years old. Shortly after their arrival in that state the parents, Isaac and Melanie Wilson, died, and their children were bound out. Jesse was received on a farm and married in South Carolina. In 1853 he moved with his family to Arkansas, where he commenced family are of English descent, their forefathers settling in Jamestown, Va., at a very early day. Isaac Wilson was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and won golden opinions from his superior officers in the struggle against the mother country. Nine children were born to Jesse Wilson and his wife, all of whom lived to maturity and were married, and six yet living: Elias C., Major, Magness, Thomas and John. Elias was the oldest, and was reared and educated in South Carolina, where he was also married in 1846 to Miss Jane Pierce. His wife died in 1862, after their removal to Arkansas, leaving four children, of whom two are yet living: John F. (a prominent merchant in Little Rock) and William W. (who resides in San Antonio, Texas.) In 1866 Mr. Wilson was again married, his second wife being a pleasant and attractive widow lady of Pulaski County, Mrs. Tennessee (McCraw) Bell, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs.McCraw, of South Carolina, who were among the early settlers of Arkansas. By this marriage Mr. Wilson and his wife had nine children, of whom seven are yet living: Bettie, Randolph, Elias, Joseph, Hattie, Thomas and Nannie. Mr. Wilson's first settlement was about ten miles above his present residence, where he has a large farm and three years later he bought the land upon which he now resides. He owns 1,080 acres altogether, and has placed 450 acres under cultivation. This has all been accumulated by his own industry and good management, and his experience in farming has enabled him to select the finest soil in that locality. It is well watered by springs, besides several good wells that he has built himself, and is well adapted for stock-raising purposes. In 1861 Mr. Wilson enlisted in Company C of the fourth Arkansas Infantry, and gave three years' active service to the Confederacy. He accompanied Gen. Price in his raids through Missouri and took part in many engagements. In all of his battles he was never wounded, although exposed to the hottest fire, and he was equally as fortunate in escaping from sickness. In March, 1864, his company was disbanded, and he returned to his home and family to enjoy the peace a soldier loves so well after a long and arduous campaign. In politics Mr. Wilson is a Democrat, and cast his first presidential vote for Buchanan. He is one of Pulaski County's most enterprising citizens, and a man of integrity and truth, and enjoys a wide-spread popularity. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson both attend the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
D. R. Wing, senior member of the well-known manufacturing firm of D. R. Wing & Co., is a native of Oswego, N. Y., and was early in life instructed in the machinist's art, being regularly indentured to the Lake Ontario Iron Works, then one of the largest machine shops in the state. In 1858, after serving his full term of apprenticeship, he left to travel through the south, and after a tour of inspection of the principal manufacturing centers from Richmond, Va., to New Orleans, he decided to try his fortunes in Central America. After visiting Yucatan and British Honduras, he finally landed at Truxido, Spanish Honduras, where together with his companions, he was placed under military surveillance on suspicion of being a filibuster, Gen. Walker with his army then being in Nicarauga, the adjoining State. After the expiration of thirty days, he was furnished with passports and permitted to go into the interior, being limited to the department of Olancho, where he was employed in placer mining with moderate success. Returning to the States he finally located at Atlanta, Ga., and entered the service of the Western & Atlantic Railroad, then, as now, owned and operated by the State, and was connected with the mechanical department of the road for ten years. In the winter of 1868, he came to Little Rock, Ark., in the capacity of master mechanic of the Memphis & Little Rock Railroad, remaining with that company five years, after which he filled the same position with the Little Rock & Fort Smith Railroad for four years, and then associated himself with C. E. Stephens and founded the present firm, taking charge of the molding and machinery departments. As an evidence of the masterly minds that control this manufactory, the business has grown from its infancy to one of the largest industries in the Southwest, and sends its products all over the Southern country. Mr. Wing is active in city affairs, being alderman from the first ward, is a gentleman of sterling worth, and one of Little Rock's most enterprising citizens. His word is recognized as authority in the iron circles of Arkansas, and he is always in the front rank in forwarding the progress of his adopted State.
Fred Wolters, the manager of the Tennessee Brewing Agency, Little Rock, Ark., came originally from the Kingdom of Prussia, Germany, where his birth occurred in 1852. When fourteen years of age, he left for America to join his parents, who had preceded him in 1853, and on arriving here he was sent to Blackburn College two terms. After this he teamed for some time, and then learned the cooper's trade, working as an apprentice three years. He then became foreman of the cooperage established by his father at Carlinville, Ill., and subsequently proprietor of the same, working in all sixteen years. At the end of this time he went to Memphis, entered the employ of the Tennessee Brewing Association, and so highly did they esteem his services, that after two years he was placed as general agent over the agency established for their business in that place. He was married in November, 1874, to Miss Eugene Zaepffel, who was originally from Alsace, France, where her birth occurred in 1854, and three children are the result of this union: Hellen, Oscar and Nellie. Mr. Wolters is the oldest of seven children born to his parents: Henry (in Little Rock), Lizzie (is the wife of Eugene Glaekler), Gussie (is in Memphis, Tenn.), Albert (is engaged in the grain business in Illinois), Bernard (is in the drug business in Havana, Ill.) and Charles (has the old cooper shop in Illinois). The father's name was Fred Wolters.
W. B. Worthen, a prominent banker, broker and real-estate dealer in Little Rock, is of English-Welsh descent, and was born in Arkansas, on September 17, 1852, as the son of George A. and Louisa B. (Booker) Worthen. Mr. and Mrs. Worthen, who were natives of Kentucky, came to Arkansas in an early day, and settled in Little Rock when it was in its primitive state. His education so far as schools were concerned, was completed in the freshman's course in St. John's College, but he has always been a great student, and is thoroughly posted on the topics of the day. After he left school, he joined a surveyor's and civil engineering corps, aiding to lay off several additions to Little Rock. Entering into D. F. Shall's real estate agency, he subsequently, after the death of Mr. Shall, formed a partnership with Gordon N. Peay, upon whose death, which occurred some little time later, he associated himself with E. W. Parker, and added banking and brokerage to the real-estate business. Mr. Worthen has since bought Mr. Parker's interest, and is now the sole proprietor. The straightforward manner in which he carries on his business interests secures for him, what he well deserves, a liberal patronage. Mr. Worthen's choice of a life partner has proven a very happy one. His wife is an attractive, accomplished lady, and a general favorite in her wide circle of friends and acquaintances. They have an interesting family of three children. Mr. Worthen is a member of the Knights of Honor and Royal Arcanum. In politics he is a Democrat, and in all enterprises that betoken the good or growth of the country, his name is among the foremost.
J. V. Zimmerman, whose career as a citizen and business man, as well as one of the oldest residents of Little Rock, dates from an early period (he having lived here for thirty-two years) was born in Montgomery County, Penn., and is a son of William and Mary Zimmerman, natives of the same state. The great-grandfather was a native of Holland, who came to America before the Revolution, and afterward took an active part in that event. J. V. Zimmerman remained in the State of Pennsylvania until the year 1857, attending school at Norristown, and afterward learning the jeweler's trade with the firm of Leibert & Brown, manufacturing jewelers. His natural aptitude and quick perception soon put him in full knowledge of his art, which his employers were not slow in finding out, and though a young man, he was placed in charge of the entire establishment, remaining with them until the year 1857. In June of that year he arrived in Little Rock, and was engaged by Mr. D. C. Fulton, a prominent jeweler and watch-maker of that period, to take charge and manage his establishment. This he did with great success until the war, when he entered the service of the Capitol Guard of Little Rock as sergeant. During the Rebellion he took part in the battle of Shiloh, after which event Gen. Hardee promoted him to the rank of lieutenant, and soon after that general's forces were reorganized he he joined Hindman's command, and was assigned to duty as a lieutenant of artillery in Capt. W. D. Blocker's battery. The promotion of Capt. W. D. Blocker to major also promoted Lieut. Zimmerman to the captainacy, in which capacity he served until the surrender. During Price's second raid through Missouri Capt. Zimmerman's battery lost two guns, and Maj. W. E. Woodruff's old battery was then consolidated with Capt. Zimmerman's, which the latter commanded. After the war he returned to Little Rock and established himself in the jewelry business on Markham Street, and Capt. Zimmerman can now claim the distinction of being one of the oldest jewelers in the city, as well as one of its most successful business men. He was married in 1867 to Miss Mary Fisher, a daughter of Jacob Fisher, of Texas, but formerly of Alabama. Three children have been born to this union: Julia, Jessie and Mary. The latter, a bright and interesting child, died at the age of five years.