The Oregon Trail

The Oregon Trail

Map of the Oregon Trail

©1995 by Beverly Whitaker, Genealogy Tutor

Landmarks numbered on the above map:

  1. Ft. Kearny
  2. Courthouse Rock
  3. Chimney Rock
  4. Scott's Bluff
  5. Ft. Laramie
  6. Independence Rock
  7. South Pass
  8. Ft. Bridger
  9. Soda Springs
  10. Ft. Hall
  11. Ft. Boise
  12. Whitman Mission
  13. Oregon City
  14. Ft. Vancouver


Route of the Oregon Trail

Starting points: Independence, Westport, St. Joseph, and Fort Leavenworth. Alternate routes along the way included Sublette's Cutoff and the Lander Cutoff. After 1846, there was also a choice at The Dalles between rafting down the Columbia River or taking the new Barlow Road across the Cascades.

Landmarks: Fort Kearny, Ash Hollow, Courthouse Rock, Chimney Rock, Scotts Bluff, Register Cliff, Fort Laramie, Independence Rock, South Pass, Fort Bridger, Soda Springs and Steamboat Springs and Beer Spring, American Falls, Three Island Crossing, Flagstaff Hill, Whitman Mission, The Dalles, Fort Vancouver.

Downoad a 2-page Fact Sheet (free) about this trail in PDF format.

The Oregon Trail

For more information about this and other migration trails, return to the

RoadTrails Web Page

Link to GenTutor Directory of Genealogy and History PagesCheck our Directory (new URL)

for Notes and Links to Our Genealogy and History Web Pages

Genealogy Resources

Link to Directory for genealogy resources

Family Connections

Migration Routes

Religious Features

Link to Directory for Religious Features

Email: Genealogy Tutor Beverly Whitaker


Copyright © 1995-2009, Beverly Whitaker