Landmarks, Dallas, Texas, July-December 1889
Back to Main Page
To Landmarks, January-March 1889
To Landmarks, January-March 1889, General Index
To Landmarks, July-December 1889, General Index




Fences and Houses Endangered--A
New Bridge Swaying Under the

     HUTCHINS, Tex., July 5.---The Trinity river is on a regular old-fashioned high lonesome. Its natural banks are no longer recognized, but its angry waters are sweeping out over the bottom lands, threatening destruction to fences, crops and even houses in some places.     
     Vining's mill and gin at Dawdy's ferry is partly submerged at this writing, and the waters are still rising. If the roof should be reached, it is almost certain that all will be swept away. The county bridge at this point, which is now pending acceptance by the commissioners' court, is swaying under the tremendous force of the flood, and is likely to go down at any moment. The eastern approach is now covered with water, and with the present rise of four inches per hour, eighteen hours will carry the waves over the floor of the main span. Howard Fielding's rustic of the Adirondacks ought to charter the Trinity at this point. The shekels would flow into his coffers from the pockets of the sight-seers till his boom would only be equaled by that of the Trinity.

- July 6, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 2.
- o o o -


A Parade Through the Streets and
What Became of It.

     What has come over the city? was the question that naturally intruded itself into the mind of the citizen as he came to his business this morning and, instead of a pleasant walk down a freshly sprinkled street with its usual busy scenes, there was a hot, dusty street, and such a gathering of people all along the sidewalk. A conglomeration of whites and blacks, and the number of wagons, evidently from the country, at that early hour made the scene more impressive.
     The absence of sprinkled streets was easily explained in the fact that, owing to the overflow of the pumping station, the city had no water to spare for such purpose, and the number and exceedingly remarkable mixture of people had drawn out through the announcement that a labor parade was to come off at 10 o'clock and further, that Dallas was, to-day, to be the seat of a great convention.
     The delegate with a resolution in his side pocket and a heavy problem weighing on his mind was a conspicuous figure among the mixed crowd who were sight-seeing.


     About 10 o'clock, the tap of a drum announced what was supposed to be the parade. The start was at the intersection of Main and Austin streets. The turnout headed down Main street, and those who looked out upon it were unable to conclude whether it was the parade that was announced, or whether it was some enterprising cigar firm with a band and equipments taking advantage of the event to get in some advertising.      It turned out to be the sure enough parade that had been announced.
Here was the order: A band composed of white men with brass instruments; representatives of a journeyman painters' organization on foot, one of whom carried a banner and another held a likeness of Henry George and some of his single tax sayings inscribed on a banner; cigar makers union; negro band; a colored organization of laborers; advertising wagons.
     The members of the negro band, with their bright uniforms of red and blue, elicited more attention from the crowds than any other feature of the parade.
     The float feature of the line comprised banners inscribed, smoke so-and-so's cigars.
     Another wagon carried a life-size bottle, on one side of which was the likeness of the patentee of the medicine and the three remaining sides were taken up with inscriptions, "Use Dr. Blank's root extracts, cure all pain,"
     Still another was an axle grease wagon, carrying a pyramid of the grease as it is put up in boxes, and on top of the pile was a Grover Cleveland likeness of the man who makes it.
     The cotton mills were represented, as were also Blankenship & Blake's factory, and a Dallas real estate and building company---all very creditable, had the parade been what it was intended to have it. But, it was a disgusting failure.
     The march was up Main street and down Elm, and when the column reached its staring point, there was a general scramble for the street cars, and the next place of attraction was the fair grounds, where the programme was after the fashion of a sort of a go-as-you-please make-up.
     It is a matter of regret that the parade had to be postponed until to-day. Had it been possible for it to have been carried out on the fourth, as intended, it doubtless, would have been a very creditable affair, participated in by the various labor organizations of the city and surrounding country, as well as the business firms and manufactories of the city.

- July 8, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1.
- o o o -

East Dallas Notes.

     Gaston addition is nearly occupied. Eleven new houses are being constructed in that quarter.
     Mrs. Sarah Harwood is erecting two large handsome residences on Live Oak street in Peak's addition.
     East Dallas is improving rapidly. Nearly every lot in Stearns' addition has been purchased by home builders and ten new dwellings have been started in course of erection in the last ten days.

- July 10, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

Real Estate Transfers.

     E. M. Powell and Luther Rees to the First Congregational Church, their church lot on Bryan street, $10.

- July 10, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1.
- o o o -


     E. P. Cowen offering to sell the city, 250 acres of land at $200 an acre for park purposes. The land is a part of the Knight survey and is three miles from the courthouse. Five and ten years time is offered, the rate being 6 per cent, or city bonds at par; in either case, the city to spend $5000 annually on the grounds for a term of ten years. Referred.
     The report further recommended converting the old sand pit in the city park into a beautiful lake, which can be done at nominal cost.
     The mayor called attention to the flooded condition of the site for a garbage crematory and the matter was referred to the crematory committee, who are to act in conjunction with the city engineer and ascertain the cost in affording the proper protection.
     Mr. Hughes, ordering the chairman of the committee on parks to construct a lake in the gravel pit in the city park. Referred.
     Mr. Good, instructing the city secretary to advertise for bids for wiring the city hall for electric lights. Referred.

- July 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 1-3.
- o o o -


     There is a lump of coal displayed in Bryant's show windows on Main street, which was taken from a mine 11 miles east of the terminus of the Texas Trunk.
     The board of examiners in pharmacy for this judicial district, has been meeting from day to day over Williams' drug store since July 8th, for the purpose of registering and examining all druggists who may apply.     The law went into effect on the 6th of this month, and hereafter no man will be allowed to sell drugs by retail in Texas who does not comply with the law. The board will meet again to-morrow morning at 9 o'clock.

- July 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


The Work of Straightening Out Is
Nearly Completed.

     The city officials are getting straightened out to housekeeping in good order. The office furniture and carpets are being placed and the hall is assuming an air of comfort, which robs a long day's confinement within its walls of some of the monotony and makes it a real pleasure.
     The mayor's office is particularly inviting and cosy. It is in the northeast corner of the building above the basement. The private office is adjacent to the council chamber and is separated from the main office by large folding doors. The furniture and carpets were purchased and placed under Mayor Connor's personal and his good taste in such matters, like his excellent business judgment, is hard to excel.
     The new hall is an ornament to the city. It is a credit to the live progressive people who make up the population of Dallas, and the best part of it is that those who live now and pave the pathway for the future are enabled to enjoy some of the benefits and luxuries that arise from hard work and good business tact. Such characterzes the masses of Dallas and her government representatives.

- July 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The new road law, providing among other things, that the commissioners court of each county in the state may appoint not exceeding four road commissioners to the county, went into effect on the 7th inst. Will the commissioners court of Dallas county appoints these commissioners, or, do they think the interests of the people will be better subserved by remaining in direct charge of the roads themselves? The court should weigh this matter well and give the people the most efficient road service possible, if the compensation of its members is reduced a little.
     The foregoing paragraph from the Mesquite Mesquiter is a timely allusion to the road question, and should receive the careful attention of the commissioners of Dallas county. The last legislature failed, or refused, to enact a road law adequate to the demands of the black land belt of North and Central Texas, but an effort should be made to give the measure adopted a full and fair trial in order, if possible, to bring about a desired improvement in the system of working and managing dirt highways. The old law was manifestly inadequate to provide an efficient road system for the sections mentioned, and while there is some dissatisfaction with the statute of the Twenty-first legislature on the subject, it will, perhaps, be found more adapted to the purpose. At all events, it is a movement in the right direction, and much improvement might be accomplished by putting it in operation. The present time is the opportunity to act if anything of value is to be done this year.      Road-working is a difficult or an impossible undertaking in the winter and spring seasons because of weather conditions, and the annual losses to trade and commerce from impassable highways make it inexcusable folly to delay action when a chance for betterment of the roads presents itself.

- July 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The Oliver Chilled Plow Company asking permission to lay a side track to their new warehouse on the corner of Broadway and Commerce streets. Referred.
     The matter of abating the Scruggs stock yard as a nuisance was referred to the city health officer.
     The same committee recommended that the street car company have permission to lay a double track on Swiss avenue. Adopted.
     The same committee reported in favor of widening Fuqua street through Freedmantown from the Central railway to its junction with Washington avenue. Adopted.
     The same committee recommended a final settlement with the contractors for paving the public square. Adopted.
     The committee on parks reported favorably on the building of a fence around the North Dallas park and recommended that the secretary be instructed to advertise for bids for the work. Adopted.
     The garbage furnace committee recommended the throwing up of an embankment around the site for the furnace to protect it from overflow. Adopted.
     Reports from committees appointed to condemn property for the widening of North Harwood street, the opening of Wood street, the opening of Ashland street; the opening of Highland street, the widening of Griffin street, the opening of Allen street and the opening of Cochran street were read and adopted, and the city attorney was ordered to draw ordinances covering the cases.
     The tellers were allowed until the next meeting to report, and the council then opened the bid of Joseph Laing & Co.--the only one offered---on the paving with bois d'arc of Elm street from Jefferson to Houston and of Houston from Elm to Main street. Paving per square yard, $1.55; curbing per lineal foot, sandstone, 54 cents; limestone, 85 cents. The contract was awarded the bidders.

- July 15, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1-2.
- o o o -

An Important Transaction.

Mr. Ed C. Smith purchases Siler's Transfer Line.

     W. P. Siler, the proprietor of the well-known Siler's transfer line, has sold the property and business to Ed. C. Smith, who will hereafter control and operate it. Mr. Siler will be connected with the business for some months yet, at the expiration of which time, he will leave for North Carolina. Mr. Smith has purchased eligible grounds on Ervay street near Wood and Jackson, and will soon begin the erection of commodious stables and an office thereon.

- July 15, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The East Dallas Baptist Church is having plans prepared for a new house of worship.

- July 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1.
- o o o -




Fine Business Structures Costing
From Ten Thousand to One Half
Million Dollars Each.

     There is a vast amount of building under way in Dallas, and it is building of a substantial and ornate character. There is scarcely a block in the business portion of the city that one can walk around without coming in contact with piles of building material and jostling up against busy workmen. It is surprising; brick and mortar are on every hand.
In that section of the business part, lying between the river and the Central Railway, the observer finds the following buildings under way, taking them by streets:


     On the north side, just west of Akard street, the McLeod hotel, six stories and basement, brick, with stone front, to have passenger and baggage elevators, steam heated throughout, fire escapes, electric lights and all modern conveniences. Basement and first floor to be used for private offices, hotel office and dining rooms; the remaining five stories to be used as sleeping apartments, of which there are 128. Cost $75,000.      The foundations have been laid and frames for the basement windows are in.
     F. M. Cockrell, five-story brick, office building 50x85 feet, north side, between Murphy and Sycamore streets, passenger elevator and all modern conveniences. Cost $30,000. It is a perfect gem of beauty and the contractors are now finishing the inside work.
     Mrs. Belle Shumard, three-story brick 50x80 feet on the north side just east of Akard street, cost $18,000. The walls are about half-way up.
     F. M. Leftwick, three-story brick 25x80 feet, adjoining the above, cost $9000. Work has made about the same progress as on the building noted above.
     Middleton Bros., four-story brick 50x100 feet, pressed brick and stone front, northeast corner of Ervay street, cost $50,000. The foundations have been placed and work is progressing on the walls.
     John Bookhout, four-story brick 25x100 feet, pressed brick and stone front, adjoining the Middleton Bros'. building, cost $30,000. The foundations are in.
     C. T. Rowan, three-story brick, corner of Akard street. The foundation is being placed. It will cost $12,000.
     Miss Mamie Cochran, two-story brick 40x50 feet on the north side near Pearl street. Cost, $3000. Receiving the finishing touches.
     Messrs. Gibson and Henderson will soon commence removing the two buildings adjoining the west side of the North Texas National Bank building and erect on the site a very fine, modern seven-story building. This improvement will begin within the next few days.


     Jno. B. Louckx, three-story iron front brick, 25x80 feet, on the south side of Elm street, just west of Ervay street, $6000.
     M. Donohoe, three-story iron front brick, 25x60 feet, adjoining the above, $5300. The walls of these buildings are up to the second story.
     C. W. Guild, four-story brick, 200x50, running from Elm street through to Pacific avenue, basement half through fronting on Pacific avenue, for manufacturing purposes. Coast, $40,000. The walls are up to the second story.
     Sanger Brothers', addition to store, one brick with pressed brick front and stone trimmings, five stories and basement, 50x100 corner Austin. Cost, $40,000. Work is progressing on the basement and the foundations.
     Oram and Chilton, five-story brick, pressed brick and red stone front, south side between Ervay and Akard streets, $40,000.
H. L. Ervay, corner Market street, improvements on building. $5000.


     James Oliver, four-story brick warehouse, corner of Broadway street, $15,000. This structure is climbing up towards the third story.
     W. J. Betterton, two-story brick 44 1/2x100 south side, adjoining the opera house, $12,000? [five digits]. The building is about completed.
     Five-story addition to the St. George Hotel, north side $25,000. Work is making rapid progress in order to have the building ready for the next fair.
     A six-story and basement structure 128x200 feet at the corner of Akard street, to be erected by the Oriental Hotel Company at a cost of $500,000. The plans have been adopted, the building leased, and the company is now advertising for bids on excavating for the basement.
     The city of Dallas, a modern, three-story patrol station adjoining the city hall, $8000. Excavating for the foundation is progressing.
     On Live Oak street, the Leachman building is being finished inside. It is three stories and a basement, and has a fine and attractive front. Cost $12,000.
     At the corner of Broadway and Columbia streets, the Dallas Elevator Company is having an elevator erected that will hold 1,000.000 bushels. Three hundred men are at work on the structure, which is 75x300 feet, and will soon be completed in order to receive the new crop. Cost $175,000.
     A. D. Lloyd is building a four-story flouring mill, brick, 45 x 50 feet, boiler room and engine in rear, Swiss avenue near Houston & Texas Central railway, 200 barrels; cost $10,000. Also, grain elevator, capacity 50,000 bushels, Swiss avenue, near Houston & Texas Central railway; cost $15,000.

- July 17?, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


     There is a large force of men and teams at work on Ross avenue to-day laying the foundation for pavement, placing the curbing in position and reconstructing the street car tracks, and soon that thoroughfare will be one of the best in the city.
     Sanger Bros. have purchased several more lots in their block, and now own all except the two corners on Main street. They will erect on this property gradually, so as to not interfere with business, one of the greatest buildings in the south. It is understood that plans are being prepared.
     The Episcopalians will give a lawn party to-morrow night at the residence of Mrs. Arbuckle, corner of Young and Browder streets, the proceeds of which, will be for the benefit of the college of that denomination, now nearing completion in East Dallas. A phonograph will be a feature that will add materially to the evening's enjoyment.

- July 17?, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 3.
- o o o -

Lawn Party.

     There will be a party on Mr. James Arbuckle's lawn, corner of Young and Browder streets, Friday evening, from 7 to 12 o'clock for the benefit of the Episcopal college. Orchestra, refreshments and pleasant attractions for the little folks. Choice music and recitations later in the evening. The wonder of the age, the Edison phonograph, will be on exhibition for first time in Texas. Don't fail to see it. A cordial invitation is extended to all. Gate admission 10 cents.

- July 17?, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 3.
- o o o -

Real Estate Transfers.

     J. J. Moon and wife to R. C. Buckner, 12 1/2 acres of land in the town of Orphan's Home, $990.

- July 17?, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 5.
- o o o -

[Heading and portions of text missing]

     ...At [one] point, the water has attained the highest mark since 1884, and the "oldest inhabitant," that that infallible chronicler and oracle of flood phenomena, declares that it is but a few inches lower than in 1866, which is a historic year in the legends of the Trinity.
     The river has been gradually rising for several days, but it was not until yesterday evening that the full impetus of the rise commenced. By measurement, the rise from 4 o'clock of yesterday to 9 o'clock this morning, was five feet. Another register indicated a rise of 18 inches between the hours of 5 and 9 o'clock this morning. From 9 until 12, the rise continued very rapid, [at] which latter hour it began to abate, and at 2 o'clock, the river became stationary.
     Since yesterday evening, large crowds [of] people have been attracted to the river banks, the bridge at the [wes]t end of Commerce street affording an eligible view of the wide expanse [of] waters. As the flood continued to [gat]her force and volume, every minute [app]rehensions as to the safety of the [brid]ge cause the commissioners to or[der] its clearance, and accordingly, Deputy Sheriff Coe, armed with authority [to] enforce the order, dispersed the [cr]owd and erected a barrier at the [ea[stern approach and posted danger [sig]nals.
     The flood is something in the na[ture] of a calamity to the people dwell[ing] on the lowlands that skirt the eastern bank of the river, and more unfortunate, still, [th]ey are a class of people who cannot [sus]tain the loss entailed without seri[ous] hardships. Doubtless, there has [be]en some damage done on the west [sid]e of the river opposite the city, but the T
IMES-HERALD has been unable to obtain advices from that quarter.
     A T
IMES-HERALD man visited the submerged districts this morning in quest of notes for a description of the flood and the damages resultant. Along the banks of Town Branch, a stream which flows _____ river though a deep de___, stretching from a point on Jackson street, many dwellings, occupied mostly by colored people, are under water, the surface of which reaches to the eaves of some of the houses. The water backed up into this branch from the overflow of the Trinity. Quillman's stable, which stands on the bank of Town branch and on the east side of Lamar street, is five or six feet under water. The storehouse standing just south of this place is also surrounded and has been abandoned. On the west side of Lamar, the store of a colored man named Rice[?] has three feet of water on the ____r, and a number of little cottages [in t[he vicinity, are in a like condition. [Th]e residents moved their household effects to safer quarters. The factory [of] the Dallas Cooperage Company, which is situated west of the Rapid Transit track, is surrounded by water, which reaches halfway to the top of the building.
Along the Rapid Transit railway, about 200 yards this side of Browder Springs creek, about a dozen colored families have been driven from their [cabins]. Most of them transferred their household goods to places of safety, [and] there are cases in which they abandoned their houses, leaving the contents to the mercy of the waters. On Broadway, near the new elevator, several shanties lately occupied by colored people, shared a similar fate. In the [nor]thern part of town, along the Missouri Pacific railway, about 100 families have been dislodged from their [build[ings and been compelled to seek [safety] on the elevations in the vicinity. [These] too, are poor people, who can [ill] afford to incur the loss which has [been] visited upon them.


     [T]here is some interruption of transit [on th]e railway system centering at Dallas ________Oak Cliff railway and the road has been doing a heavy business, many people taking passage in order to get a view of the surroundings. The track of the "L" from the crossing of the Missouri Pacific, south for about half a mile distant, looks more like a pontoon bridge than a railway. At one point on this stretch, the water is flowing over the track. This morning, a force of men were engaged at the iron bridge, removing all driftwood that floated against it as a preventive against possible damage or destruction. Rock revetments were constructed at each abutment of the slough bridge or trestle to avert the current in order to save that structure. The current at this point has considerable force and there is some danger, but the bridge will doubtless stand the trial.
     The track of the Lancaster road in the southern part of town is out of sight, and trains have ceased running. With the exceptions here enumerated, the railway system of Dallas is in operation. The Dallas & Henrietta train pulled out this noon on regular time. The Texas & Pacific has repaired the breach between Dallas and Fort Worth, and the line is open from west to east. The Santa Fe and the Houston & Texas Central are running regularly, and the officials in this city do not anticipate an interruption.


     The overflow of the water works at Turtle creek, which resulted in covering the two giant pumps, upon which the city depends for its water supply, with between forty and fifty feet of water, has set thinking heads to planing and devising means whereby a similar disaster, that is likely to occur at any in the future, may be averted.
     Chairman Garrison, of the water commissioners, speaking for that body this morning, stated that they have decided upon what they believe to be a sensible, practical course which they shall recommend to the city council to-morrow night. This plan involves the transfer of the pumping station from its present location to higher ground, where overflows never reach. The locality desired can be reached in a distance of a few yards by moving across the Missouri Pacific railway track. To summarize, he said ten thousand dollars will be required to repair the damage at the station, and as a safeguard against future freshets, it will be necessary to expend five thousand dollars in building an embankment around the station.      The embankment feature, by the way, he said, is impracticable to meet the ends desired, because it cannot be built higher than the bottom of the windows of the station; and hence, it could not stand against such a rise as this one. Again, the present pumping station is inadequate to meet the growing demands of the water works. It will not admit of another large pump, which will be required when the proposed system of water closet sewers is established, which an estimate from the city engineer shows will daily require 4,500,000 gallons of water in addition to the amount at present consumed. The transfer will not necessitate the purchase of land for the site, since the city owns about 80 acres out there. Concluding, Mrs. Garrison stated that the proposed improvement placed on a safe, permanent basis, and on a scale large enough to meet the demands of the city for years to come, would not cost over $20,000.
     He expressed the opinion that high water will never materially affect the stability of the two large reservoirs.


     A cry of distress went up this afternoon from the dusky denizens of Frogtown, that delectable part of the city which infringes upon the dumping ground, and is situated between the ______[ca. 1 paragraph torn/missing]___________________and the population_____ own congregated on the highest point of their island to await relief or their fate. Their precarious situation was observed by those on the outside, and every boat that could be commanded, was brought into life-saving service. About 3 o'clock, a runner appeared at the office of the chief of police to make known the situation, and that official, at once, started out a wagon and force to collect all the boats possible and dispatch them to the scene, where, it is said, there is a miniature Johnstown sensation.

- July 18, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 7, col. 1-3.
- o o o -


     Work began yesterday on the foundations of the new three-story patrol station that is to be erected on Commerce street adjoining the new city hall.

- July 18, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The dam at Spring Lake, Oak Cliff, is to be repaired without delay.
     The new county school superintendent says he will organize a teachers institute.
     Capt. Lack Randle has some specimens of excellent coal found in abundance within a few miles of the Dallas, Pacific and Southeastern road.
     The Electric Society meets Wednesday night. One of the attractions will be an exhibition of a Phonograph, latest improved, which is said to be without a fault.
     Judge J. D. Thomas has bought of Mr. Geo. Meyers, the building on the corner of Jefferson and Commerce streets, formerly occupied by the South Bend Plow Company, for $12,500.
     A building permit has been issued to the M. K. & T. railway company to erect a two-story freight depot on Jefferson street at a cost of $16,000. The site for the building is near the gas works.

- July 20, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8?, col. 1.
- o o o -


The Enterprise of a Dallas Musician

     Prof. C. Reik, a well-known local musician, has organized a Fantasma company, most of the performers having been obtained in this city, and will start out in a short time on a tour of the United States and Europe. The first performance will be given at Toledo, Ohio, on or about August 1 next.

- July 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Arrangements will soon be completed whereby the patrol wagon will be on duty during the night.
     The paint factory is assured. The projectors are now casting about for a suitable building in which to conduct their enterprise.
     From various sections of the city comes a complaint of bicycle riding on the sidewalks. An ordinance for suppression of the nuisance is in demand.
     The health officer states the cellars in block 62 are in better condition than ever before. They have been cleaned and limed, and it is not necessary to fill them.
     A meeting of the stockholders of the cotton mills will be held next August to consider the proposition to sell certain real estate belonging to the mill company and pay off some of its bonded indebtedness.
     The noise created by the running of vehicles over the bois d'arc pavement is very distractive to the administration of the city court, which occupies the northeast wing of the basement in the new city hall.

- July 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


The Quakers Buy $235,000 Worth in
North Dallas.

     A telegram received here to-day from Hon. Henry ______, stating that he had closed a sale and received the cash for two tracts of land just north of this city, as follows:
     Four hundred and ninety-two acres of the Caruth farm, adjoining the Cockrell Fair Land Addition on the east for $150,000, and 234 9/10 acres of the Joe L. Cole place northwest of the Fair Land Addition for $85,000.
     This transaction will enlist Philadelphia enterprise along with Philadelphia capital in the up-building of Dallas, and the development here of the finest city in the south. It means a big steel plant in connection with the Llano iron furnaces, factories, more dummy lines, and new suburbs to meet the growing demand for healthful homes.      Dallas is to be congratulated on Col. Exall's success in this one of his several undertakings for the development of Texas and Dallas.

- July 24, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


One of the Oldest Suburbs Soon to
Become a Part of the City.

     On the first of next January, Dallas will extend her lines to make an important and valuable acquisition. East Dallas will come in as two wards. It is a plucky suburb and never yielded to the advances of the mother city until broad, well-paved avenues, good sidewalks, waterworks, street cars and other adornments were secured to make up her importance. She has a fine school building, and her water system is all that is needed.
     East Dallas is one of the oldest and one of the most desirable suburbs of Dallas, being the home of a number of the wealthy and influential citizens. The street transportation needs are met by several lines of street railway, including a branch to the Episcopal College building, which has just been completed and will be opened to the public September 1st. East Dallas offers some of the finest homesites to be found anywhere in Texas, and they are being occupied rapidly with beautiful and costly dwellings. One improvement badly needed, and which becomes more expensive the longer the work is delayed, is the opening of Washington avenue, which the old city contemplates extending and macadamizing in a few months to McKinney avenue. By widening it through East Dallas, would be secured one of the finest drives in the city from the north side to the fair grounds.
     Between the avenue and the college lies as fine [a] section of country as was ever placed at man's disposal. It is building up rapidly, and East Dallas is maintaining her position as one of the city's most important suburbs.

- July 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The city marshal has the dog pound in shape and will begin catching dogs next Monday.
     J. P. Hughes, contractor on the Lancaster extension of the Missouri Pacific, is pushing the work as rapidly as the weather will permit.

- July 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


Which is the Beginning of Work on
the New Hotel.

     The Oriental Hotel Company have let the contract and work will begin as soon as the weather will admit on the excavations for the basement of the half-million dollar hotel to be erected at the corner of Commerce, Akard and Jackson streets.
     Mr. Thomas Field, president of the company, states that other contracts will be let and work will be pushed as rapidly as possible until the building, which has already been leased, is completed.
     This will place Dallas in the foremost ranks as a hotel center, which will be the means of increasing the volume of travel through here and secure for the city, many important gatherings.

- July 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


To Be Erected By the Missouri, Kan-
sas & Texas Railway.

     The Missouri, Kansas & Texas depot to be erected in this city will, it is said, the finest passenger depot in the state. It will be located on the south half of block 29-28 as shown by the official map of the city. The location is between Market and Jefferson streets, and in point of accessibility, is very desirable. The Missouri, Kansas & Texas does nothing by halves, and it is going to build a depot that will be a lasting ornament to the city and of unmeasured service to the traveling public.

- July 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -

Dallas Stenographers to Meet.

     Dallas, Texas, July 20th, 1889.
     The D
ALLAS TIMES-HERALD: A meeting of the stenographers of the City of Dallas is called to meet in the lecture room of the Y. M. C. A. hall, 761 Elm street, at 8 p. m., Friday July 26, 1889, for the purpose of discussing the advisability of forming a local association. Everyone who takes a kindly interest in the art of shorthand is cordially invited to attend.
Yours truly,
__. T. BOURK,

- July 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 7, col. 2.
- o o o -

[Editorial Page]

    Where the old Times office used to be north of the courthouse, "The Times" stands out in bold black letters across the building. An enterprising baker occupies the old printing house and adapting himself to the sign already painted on the front, calls his baker "The Times" and his delivery wagon is so labeled.

- August 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 2.
- o o o -

[Editorial Page]

    The First Baptist Church construction is delayed a few weeks by failure to get their brick, the brick supply being inadequate to the demand. The building will be a beautiful one. The church people are having an engraving made, and it would have appeared in the TIMES-HERALD this evening, but for an unavoidable delay in the engraving. It will, however, be printed in the morning News to-morrow or Monday. Up to this date, the TIMES-HERALD has been first to publish illustrations of public and prominent private buildings; but the News is catching on.

- August 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 1.
- o o o -

A New High School.

    Col. J. R. Cole, an old and popular educator well known throughout Texas, will establish a select high school on Ross Avenue, with the opening of the coming scholastic year. Col. Cole was for many years president of the Sherman Female College, later president of the State A. A. M. College, and for the past four or five years, superintendent of the Abilene Public Schools, which he systematized and perfected into graded public schools equal to the best in Texas. Col. Cole is a fine scholar; an accomplished gentleman, thorough disciplinarian, and altogether an instructor having few equals. His two accomplished daughters, who are also experienced in teaching, will assist the colonel. Already, about forty pupils have been enrolled, and the school will be full by opening day. As a teacher of boys, Col. Cole has no superiors, while his daughters, with his aid, are thoroughly capable of taking the very best of care of the minds of the girls entrusted to them. Dallas is fortunate in securing a high school with Col. Cole in charge.

- August 6, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Nearly every city of any consequence is experimenting with the Brown-Sequard discovery. Dallas physicians should maintain the city's reputation for being up with the times in all things, and make a test of the elixir.

- August 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

Select School.

     Prof. J. R. Cole will open a select school near Ross avenue, Dallas, about the first of September for boys and girls, limiting the number of pupils. His two daughters will be his assistants, and girls will not be charged extra for music. For information, apply to W. H. Flippen at his bank on Elm street.

- September 2, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 4.
- o o o -


     Albert Ulrich, architect, left last night for Kansas City, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Chicago and other prominent cities on business. While away, he will select the passenger elevator, stained glass, copper work and other modern improvements for the C. W. Guild building at present being erected.

- September 2, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

To My Patrons and the Public.

     My residence has been changed to 718 Browder street. Re-opening of instruction on the piano, September 2.
          Piano teacher from Europe.

- September 2, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     Trinity water is clear again and the waterworks superintendent says it will hold its limpid color until the next big rain.

- September 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     Work is progressing on the East Dallas Baptist Church.
     A large paving force is busy bois d'arcing Elm street, beginning at the eastern limits of the city and working westward.

- September 4, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -

Building Permits.

     Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway Company---Two-story brick passenger depot on Pacific avenue, between Jefferson and Market streets..............................$15,000
     Orr & McElroy---Two-story brick and stone addition to hotel, Commerce and Main streets, west of Capital hotel.................................................$4,000

- September 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

Lemin Bros' Show.

     The Lemen Bros. opened up an engagement in this city last night on the old compress grounds to a large crowd. The performance was very good and gave general satisfaction. Some of the feats are equal to the best performed in first-class circuses. Another performance will be given to-night.

- September 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     For pure air, delightful breezes, good streets, no mud, picturesque scenery and elegant home-sites, the North Side is unsurpassed.

- September 6, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 3.
- o o o -


A Few Pointers About Its Magni-
tude and Importance.

     In 1880, Dallas had about five miles of street railway in operation. To-day, sixteen miles are in operation and five miles will be in operation before the close of the year, making in all, twenty-one miles.
     The system at present gives employment to 101 men whose wages are $40 each per month.
     Fifty cars are required in the service and 251 mules.
     The company has the largest stables in the state, located on Main street in East Dallas. They are fitted out with every modern appliance and convenience and they were built on a scale having the increased business of the future in view.
     The enterprise requires the maintenance of repair shops which are located opposite Shady View Park. The best workmen are employed and especially in the finishing and decorating line the class of work turned out is equal to that of the east.
     The new lines soon to be put in operation are the Live Oak street line, the Hall street and cemetery line, the Ervay street extension and an extension of the Harwood or Belt Line.
     The company has ordered new cars for the cemetery line.

- September 6, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     It is said that the temale vendors have formed a trust.
     Physicians and midwives are required now by city ordinance to register their names, places of residence and office with the city secretary. A liberal penalty is provided for failure to comply.
     The want of brick is retarding Dallas to which it will continue to be a growing obstacle until the brickmaking capacity is increased. Growth of the walls of several new buildings have been shocked for this reason and a well-known and leading citizen remarked this morning: "Why, we can't get brick to go in an ordinary chimney."

- September 7, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The Oriental Hotel Company have taken out a permit for the construction of their $500,000 hotel structure.

- September 10, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


In a Well Known Eastern Trade

     In the last issue of Manufacturers' Record, published at Baltimore, Dallas is represented as follows:


     Street Railway--The Dallas & Oak Cliff Railway Company are extending their line about half a mile.
     Currie & Burlew, representing an Illinois syndicate, have purchased the West Dallas Railway, now under construction.


     The Central National Bank, reported last week as organized with capital of $250,000, will absorb the East Dallas Bank. Maurice E. Lock is president.
     The name of the $1,000,000 bank lately mentioned as to be started, will be the Banker's National Bank. The proposed officers are W. J. Keller, president; Clarence Gano, vice-president, and A. Hansel, cashier.


     Bridge---E. G. Bower, county judge, will receive bids until September 12 for the construction of an iron bridge across the Trinity river at Rock Ford crossing. Particulars on application.


     W. C. Connor, mayor, wants competitive plans for for the large market-house reported last week. It will be about 100x160 feet, with auditorium above with capacity for seating 4,000 to 5,000 persons.

- September 10, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


Battles of Lookout Mountain and
Missionary Ridge on Canvas.

     Messrs. H. L. S. Kniffin, J. G. Henderson, F. R. Malone, B. S. Wathen, Henry Exall, B. Blankenship, J. Summerfield and Alex. Sanger have incorporated the Dallas Cyclorama Company. They have gone to work and now have erected in Edgewood Park on the Rapid Transit road in South Dallas, a building which is 400 feet in circumference, having a side wall of fifty feet. In this building, about the 28th inst., will be spread to view 400 feet of canvas 50 feet high, giving a vivid illustration of the celebrated battles of Missionary Ridge and Lookout Mountain. The painting was done in Berlin and cost over $40,000.
     The cyclorama has "come to stay," and it will offer the Dallas people many novel attractions.

- September 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The new Bijou theatre at the city park opens to-night.
     The dumping grounds of the city are under water again and the garbage haulers now fall back on the crematory.

- September 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


A High Rate, It is Alleged, Throt-
tling a Texas Industry.

     A gentleman interested in the brick business in Dallas was heard to remark to-day that the expense involved in shipping brick from his yards in Henderson county to Dallas is $10.80 per thousand. He delivers them in Dallas for $38 a thousand, and he added that if the railroads would do the fair thing in rates, he could put them in Dallas for $28.
     The beautiful pressed red brick that are brought from St. Louis, it is said, cost in that city from $20 to $22 a thousand. They are delivered in Dallas at all the way from $40 to $50.
     It is asserted that the Texas pressed brick are just as neat and attractive as the St. Louis article, and those who are in the business, state that if the railroads would adjust their rates to give the Texas brick makers a chance, a St. Louis brick would never enter the Texas market.
     With such obstructions as this in the matter of material removed the building era of Dallas would move with greater velocity than it is now carrying.

- September 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -




Families Forced to Seek Safety on
the Highlands--The Water Sup-
ply of the City Again Cut Off.

     The treacherous Trinity is reported to be within about two feet as high as it went in the July rise. The rise was more rapid than it was in July. People who reside on the low lands in the city have had their homes flooded and are compelled to seek places of safety last night.
     Sanitary Officer Busbee, who is well acquainted with the past record of this stream and its liability to go on a tare at any time during a rainy spell, started out quite early this morning to see if anything was needed in the way of relief work. He had proceeded but a few steps from his home when he met a woman who was crying. She was leading a little girl by the hand. As to the cause of her distress, she stated that she was compelled to wade deep water and flee from her home to escape a promised death from drowning. And, now that she and her little girl were safe, her house and contents were being washed away, and as she had not seen her husband since the previous evening, she greatly feared he was drowned.
     Mr. Busbee found Mr. Loeb, who is acting mayor, and a relief expedition was at once fitted out and sent to the place under command of Mr. Busbee. The homes of four families, all fatherless, were in peril.  The water was sweeping through the floors, rocking furniture right and left, and the frightened and imprisoned occupants were pleading piteously for relief. Some of the stronger men of the party waded water that reached their armpits and carried the furniture of the houses to the bank, while others, with the assistance of one boat, landed the women and children. While they were thus engaged, a man, who proved to be the husband of the woman whom Busbee met when he first started out, arrived on the scene and took a position on the bank from which he complacently viewed the busy rescuers. His wife asked him where he had been and why he was not in the water aiding the men in saving the things from his house. He replied that he was not at par with tramps, referring to the rescuers, and that he did not have to engage in such past time. There was strong talk of pitching him into the stream. The unfortunate families with the articles of household ware were distributed about among the residents of the vicinity.
     The rush of the water caused the superintendent of the waterworks to adopt the same safety measure which he put into effect in the July rise by flooding the pumping station to prevent the walls of the building from collapsing. The pumps are now covered with water and he requests the T
IMES-HERALD to say to the people that they must use the most rigid economy with their water supply. The Turtle creek plant is worthless, so far as obtaining a water supply is concerned, until the river recedes sufficient to uncover the pumps, and the Browder Springs supply is limited.
     The brick men have suffered, if anything, more than they did before, because the flood was not anticipated. This time it was not the local rains, but the heavy water fall in the Trinity basin north and west.
     Farmers report considerable damage to their crops. In many places, corn was blown down by the hard winds, and where it is lying on the ground, weevil have attacked it.
     At noon, the river is reported to be within two feet of the mark made in June. The water is causing small game, varmints and snakes to retreat from their hiding places in the bottom [in] the highlands in large numbers.

- September 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

The Bijou.

     This new candidate for public favor in the list of places of amusement, formerly the City Park Pavilion, was opened last evening by the Arnold & Griffin Lyceum Theatre Company with a drama entitled "A Word of Honor." As the drop curtain had not been put in place as well as some other appliances, it was impossible for the company to give a smooth performance. The drama will be repeated to-night, and the manager says everything will be in apple-pie order. The Bijou has a seating capacity of 1000, pretty scenery, a large stage and ample green room accommodations. A large audience was present, and, doubtless, the major portion will attend to-night, when the performers will not be so heavily handicapped.

- September 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     Complaint of bicycle riding on the sidewalks continues to come in.

- September 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -




But it is Known That a Strong Ef-
fort is Being Made to Get a Branch
of the St. Louis Republic.

     The past two or three days, rumors have been afloat concerning the establishment in Dallas of another morning newspaper. The name of the paper connected with these rumors is the St. Louis Republic, which, it is said, will set up a branch in Dallas. Probing every source resulted in a failure to fasten particulars. Nearly every business man of prominence has heard them; many say that within the past month, that they have been approached on the proposition, but they are not prepared to particularize, and in every instance an evasive answer is given, which is conclusive evidence, that much is known.
     However, this much has been state as facts: The St. Louis Republic, how, or when, or where, or whether in so many words is immaterial, proposed to establish a branch in Dallas if Dallas capital would subscribe $100,000 in stock. A subscription paper was at once started, and this week saw the stock subscribed. The deal is to be closed this week and one source of information says the paper will issued from Dallas during the fair.
     Full particulars will be given in a few days, provided, of course, the movement does not turn out a failure.

- September 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     A German daily and weekly newspaper will soon be issued from Dallas.
     The Dallas county medical association are in session this afternoon in the auditorium of the new city hall.
     Three complaints were filed before the Humane Society yesterday, which is doing business at the old stand.
     The Second Cumberland Presbyterian Church building on the corner of Harwood street and Grand avenue in South Dallas is nearing completion.

- September 14, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Work is progressing on the new First Baptist Church.
     The lumber has arrived for the North Dallas Baptist mission.
     A large shipment of Granbury hard limestone for the foundation of the new hotel on Commerce street has arrived. Also, several carloads of English cement for the foundation have just arrived.
     Dr. Carter, the city health officer, the city engineer, and C. T. Garrison, Sam Cline and W. H. Harris, a comittee appointed for the purpose, visited the Engle garbage furnace or crematory this morning for the purpose of testing it with a view to its acceptance for use by the city. The test was begun at 10 o'clock this morning with four wagon loads of swill, two dead horses, two dogs, three barrels of spoiled meats and some loose garbage. It was all consumed in two hours after heating the furnace. The experiment was very satisfactory and the matter will be favorably reported to the city council for their action.

- September 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


Mayor Connor Says the Paper Means
Millions to Dallas.

     Mayor Connor has returned from St. Louis.
     His mission embraced an effort to get a branch of the St. Louis Republic established in Dallas. He stated that he would be one of twenty men of Dallas to make up the required $100,000 in stock and he was ready to pledge his word that if the stock was made up now the paper would be issued from Dallas by the first of next January. While he was gone, he had four interviews with Mr.. Jones of the Republic on this subject. Mr. Connor stated that his object was not to tear down, but to build up. He aided in getting the News to Dallas because he knew it was worth money to the city. He is working to get the St. Louis Republic here for the very same reason. It means millions to Dallas. It is a paper of national reputation, and said he, "I am going to do everything I can to impress [the] people that now is the time for them strike." The News, he said, is a good paper. He has no war to make on it, but he is laboring solely for the best interests of Dallas. The Republic will reflect the political sentiments of the people, and if it comes here, it will reflect the local interests of Dallas and it will be known as a Dallas paper. It can occupy the field now, whereas, if it should delay action twelve months, the probabilities are that another paper would come in the constant growth of Dallas suggests another paper and its coming is inevitable.
     Hence, it develops that the T
IMES-HERALD's "morning paper" item of last week was well founded and the probabilities now indicate that another morning paper will be established in Dallas at an early date.

- September 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Isaac Taylor, of St. Louis, architect for the Field Hotel, arrived in Dallas to-day and will superintend the laying of the foundation. Mr. Taylor was architect for the Southern Hotel at St. Louis.

- September 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

"The Fall of Paris"

     The manager of this wonderful exhibition, W. P. Pinkston, is in the city, and has closed a contract with T. L. Marsalis and others for a series of exhibitions of this truly wonderful production. "The Fall of Paris" is a grand and magnificent representation of events as they occurred in and around Paris before, during and after the Franco-Prussian war and requires a stage 400 feet wide and 100 deep, 400 costumed characters, 50 horsemen, 100 soldiers, a battery of artillery, electric lights, etc. There are 9000 square yards of scenery and it is said to be the finest of its kind in the world, showing all the places and public buildings of interest in and around Paris. There will be a grand review of the French armies by Napoleon III, sham battles, marches, drills, etc. The bombardment of Paris and the pyrotechnic display will be a sight magnificent to behold. A visit to "The Fall of Paris" will be a visit to Paris.

- September 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -


     The Lone Star Salt company of Colorado City, will make their headquarters in this city very soon. Satisfactory arrangements have been already made for the removal.

- September 18, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Workmen are engaged in laying a cement pavement on the north side and front of the new Methodist Church on Commerce street to-day.
     As lots on Elm, Main and Commerce streets advances in value, the owners utilize the space above ground, and as a result, to-day, a large number of four to seven-story buildings are approaching rapid completion.
     Mr. Marsalis will raise the grade of the West Dallas railway something near four feet higher through the river bottom than was contemplated by the former company. There is a well founded rumor that the Oak Cliff and West Dallas railways are very soon to be connected and operated as a belt line.
     The county commissioners court of Dallas county are in session to-day at the court house and engaged in opening the bids on the proposed wagon and foot bridge to be constructed across the river three quarters of a mile below the one upon Commerce street.

- September 20, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Late yesterday evening, while experimenting with the garbage furnace, the upper part of the structure caught fire and came very near burning up. The damage done is very slight.

- September 21, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

Two New Bridges.

     The county commissioners court, yesterday evening late, awarded the contract for a new iron bridge to be constructed for a new iron bridge to be constructed at the foot of Commerce street, and to take the place of the old one, to L. S. Leversedge of Dallas for $9000. Oliver & Bros. of Houston, were the successful bidders and secured the contract for a new iron bridge at the Rock crossing on the Trinity river for $8500. A large number of bids were filed and the court experienced no trouble in reaching a conclusion.

- September 21, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     The committeee on municipal affairs present the following report, which, after a lengthy discussion, was recorded:
     Your comittee on municipal affairs, to whom was referred the resoltuion of Alderman Loeb, Edwards and Kivlen, concerning the establishment of a central market, beg leave to submit the following report and suggestions:
     1. That while it is difficult to determine the exact center of business, it is the opinion of your committee that it should be located between Commerce on the south, Ross avenue on the north, Harwood street on the east, and Stone street on the west, this being a central part of the city, and if located within these limits, would assure the success of the market and cut off all unnecessary speculation.
     2. That we deem it impracticable to erect an auditorium on the central market, the main feature of which would be a series of iron columns and arches, iron roof and a central dome for a produce exchange, with a tower on top of same.
     4. That we deem a central market [to be] a place of general distribution to local markets elsewhere in the city ____ produce of the county or necessity of life, and should be vacated and opened up at a certain hour of the day. And, we again report favorably on the establishment of a central market and recommend that this report be referred to the finance committee to devise ways and means for the execution of the project.

- September 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 1.
- o o o -




From the St. Louis Republic Com-
pany Laid Before Them by Mayor
Connor at Saturday's Meeting.

     In response to a circular note issued by Mayor Connor a few days ago to the citizens of Dallas requesting their attendance at a meeting to be held at the mayor's office Saturday afternoon at 4 o'clock, a large number of solid and enterprising gentlemen assembled at the designated place at the hour named. A majority of them have been identified intimately with all the great enterprises of Dallas, and as will be seen, they assembled for business and entered earnestly into the work that had called them together.
     About 4:30, Mayor Connor arose and stated the object of the meeting. He had, he said, some days previously received information that the managers and proprietors of the St. Louis Republic desired to establish a daily morning paper in Dallas, upon receipt of which, he had arranged to go to St. Louis and confer with them. The conference was of the most satisfactory nature. He had received a direct proposition from them, agreeing to come to Dallas and establish a first-class modern daily newspaper, having the same features and news service as the St. Louis Republic, provided the people of Dallas would meet them half way, subscribing half the stock necessary to carry the project into effect. The mayor said that if the people of Dallas would subscribe $100,000 to the stock of the paper, the St. Louis Republic would take a like amount, and would commence publishing in Dallas on January 1, a paper to be called the Dallas Daily Republic. In advocating the acceptance of the proposition, Mayor Connor dwelt upon the importance of the enterprise and the benefits that would accrue to Dallas. He had no hostility toward established concerns, but he would favor the acceptance of the proposition just as he would favor the getting of a new cotton factory, the establishment of another bank, or any other enterprise calculated to upbuild the fortunes of Dallas. He thought the News was a good paper and that competition would make it a better paper. He read from Mr. Jones the following conditions:
     1. That a company be organized under the laws of Texas with a capital stock of $200,000, the citizens of Dallas to subscribe $100,000, leaving $100,000 to be taken "by us," and the stock to be issued and fully paid up.
     2. The would guarantee on the subscription of the stock, the publication in Dallas of a first-class newspaper, to be known as the Dallas Daily Republic--a newspaper that will satisfy even the ambition of Dallas."
     Several gentlemen were called upon for an expression, but all declined. Capt. Lemmons finally came to the front and made a rousing speech in favor of the proposition. Among other things, he said the Republic was a paper of the people and would fight their battles against combinations, corporations, cormorants and the like.
     Capt. Thomas Field said there was nothing more to be said on the subject. It was in order to subscribe to the stock.
     Mr. Hugh Blakeney commended the editorial and managerial ability of the News, but declared that it was not a Dallas paper. It was the tail end of the Galveston News, and the people had soured on that kind of thing. He must be convinced that the Dallas Republic would not bear the same relation to the St. Louis Republic before he would subscribe.
     The mayor explained that the Dallas Republic was to be an independent concern. The St. Louis paper did not insist on a majority of the directors. It would be published in the interest of Dallas and Texas. Payments on the stock were to be made, he said, 10 per cent on the filing of the charter, 15 per cent in sixty days, 25 per cent in ninety days, 25 per cent in four months and 25 per cent in six months.
     Subscription to the capital stock were then declared in order and, in a few minutes, about $15,000 had been taken. A committee on stock was provided for and the meeting adjourned until next Saturday at 4 o'clock. It is understood that several persons have subscribed since the meeting on Saturday.

- September 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


     They have commenced work on the new passenger depot of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad between Jefferson and Market streets on Pacific avenue.

- September 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -

The Dallas Daily Republic.

     Prominent citizens of Terrell, Sherman and McKinney have written letters to prominent business men in Dallas, endorsing the movement of Dallas enterprise in the effort to secure the publication in this city of the above paper.
     Each town promises a large subscription (bona fide) to the new paper as soon as started, and a rather singular coincidence connected with these letters is the fact that they all say that rather than see the paper fail to come, they will take stock in the enterprise themselves.
     There are two general committees, a committee of physicians, one of lawyers, one of manufacturers, one of lumbermen and one of real estate men, all at work in Dallas soliciting stock to the Dallas Daily Republic. They will all report progress at the meeting next Saturday evening.

- September 24, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Wm. Ernenwein, the decorator for the fair, will erect an arch on Main street which promises to be an ingenious, out of the ordinary and withal a novel attraction. Gas pipe will be used exclusively in its construction.  One column will represent the Washington monument, forty feet high, and the other column standing just opposite across the street, will represent the Eiffel tower, fifty feet in height. Spanning the street, there will be an arch twenty-five feet high and sixty feet wide, and in its center, there will be a large Texas star with "Welcome to Dallas the Queen," most exquisitely executed and standing out in bold relief upon its five points. One hundred and twenty-five colored incandescent electric lights will illuminate this magnificently decorated work of art each night during the fair.

- September 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     The work of the street sweeper, which is being prosecuted on the various thoroughfares of the city at night, is pronounced by competent judges as first-class.

- September 26, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The dirt being removed from the excavation for the $500,000 hotel is being used to fill in the lot just north of the hotel across Commerce street.

- September 27, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Nelson & Fisher, contractors for the city, are building a one-story frame cottage at the pest house.
     The street sweeper commences work at noon of each day now and runs until midnight. Six hands and two teams are required with the machine to remove the dust and sand from the gutters.
     The McLeod hotel on Main street has reached the second story, not including the basement and the work in the uncompleted portion is moving upward as fast as brick, mortar and men can build it.
     The recent action of the city council repealing the ordinance prohibiting the peddling of meat and abolishing the butchers' license was a wise and judicious enactment. Fresh meat, like any other country produce, can now be bought upon the streets and right at your door from first hands.
     Several two-horse teams are at work to-day hauling dirt and filling in the space between the stone curbing and the iron fence enclosing the county court house yard. It will be leveled and made a nice sidewalk. A cement pavement added to this excellent foundation would greatly improve the appearance of the square.
     The well being sunk by the Queen City Electric Light Company on Swiss avenue has reached a depth of thirty-five feet, but without striking water. The company will continue to go down until a fine supply of water is secured. A 100-horse power boiler will be a valuable addition to their works, which they are now arranging for.

- September 28, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 9, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


New Bank Building.

     The old wooden structure is being torn away from the lot situated at the junction of Elm and Live Oak streets, and work will begin at once upon the new four-story pressed brick building of the Central National Bank. The new structure will have three fronts, with the main entrance facing Elm street. The two upper stories will be used for offices, the high basement by the Jarvis-Conklin Mortgage and Trust Company and the main floor by the Central National Bank.

- October 1, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Capt. Tom Field is negotiating for Texas granite to be used in contstructing the first story of the mammoth half million dollar hotel on Akard street. This granite is found in Burnet county on the Coloardo river and it is the same material used in building the state capitol. Its appearance in the hotel building would be a splendid card for the granite company, Dallas and the state.

- October 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

City Council Meeting.

     The health officer's report recited that 98 patients were admitted to that institution in September, and with the 24 left over from August, the total number of patients was 122. Of this number, 4 died. He asked that the hospital be enlarged to accommodate at least 20 patients more. Referred.

- October 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 1.
- o o o -


     Sidewalks are being [laid] around the county courthouse.
Presence of the street sweeper has no terror for the sprinkling wagon, which keeps up its daily rounds.
     The keeper's four-room cottage, located at the city's pest grounds, has been completed and accepted by the city. Its cost was $900. Dr. Carter says a road is needed to reach the grounds.

- October 4, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


The Advantage of a Market House
and Inspection System.

     "Free meat" has already entered in competition with the product from the slaughter houses and is being peddle from the streets, in instances much cheaper than the price fixed by the butchers. This system has its advantage in offering a long-suffering people cheaper meat, but a disadvantage exists in the fact that it is sold indiscriminately and the purchaser runs the risk of being imposed upon through the offering of a poor quality of product.
     Under the old system, the butcher was taxed. In addition, he pays high rent for quarters. These two items he must get back from his patrons and at the same time realize a legitimate profit on his investment, labor employed and his own time. Hence, the product of the butcher shop comes high.
     Mr. F. R. Rowley, late alderman from the fourth ward and now city auditor, was the first to advocate the idea of the city building a market house and operating it, not for revenue, but in the interest of the great mass of people who are forced to pay exorbitant prices for meat. He proposed to charge rental fees sufficient only to maintain the expense of keeping the market in good condition, thus doing away with the high rents paid by butchers. It was not proposed to force market men to occupy the market house, but the advantages it would offer under this system of management would hold out inducements to the market keepers and the public alike that would result in the establishment of a central market place. By this means, a method of inspection could be enforced that would give protection to the public against the exposure of unwholesome food. The city would not be at the expense of keeping the house, because the occupants would be charged a nominal fee for this purpose.
     Such a building, located in the center of a large block of ground, would furnish a place, also, for the people from the country to expose their produce for sale, such as wood, hay, corn, oats, wheat, butter, chickens, eggs, etc., and, in fact, it would become the market center of the city. The market house system has advantages that no other can offer, and sooner or later, it is safe to say, it will be adopted in Dallas.
     In adopting the "free meat" ordinance, it has been suggested that in order to give some protection to the public, a wise provision it would have been to require parties, before exposing meat for sale, to repair first to the city chemist, secure its inspection for a small, and obtain a certificate.

- October 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     The paint factory which Col. Wm. Ernenwein proposes to have in operation by the 10th of November, finds a ready market. About 12,000 gallons in advance orders have been placed.
     Another large gin manufacturing enterprise is organizing in Dallas and will begin operations in the near future. It will give employment to betwen twenty-five and thirty hands and everything used inthe make of the gin will be produced in Dallas.

- October 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

The Cyclorama.

     This most extraordinary and wonderful work of art, the greatest battle painting now on exhibition in this country, was opened to-day by the managers to the public at Edgewood place, located on the Dallas Rapid Transit Railroad, midway between the fair grounds and the Grand Windsor hotel. A reporter of the TIMES-HERALD was early upon the ground this morning, anxious and eager to get a look at what he had been told and led to believe was a realistic representation of the most desperately fought battle ever having occurred during America's history. It was grand, it was awful and impressively sublime to stand in the midst of the rush and roar of a battle where you can see the real movements of two powerful armies numbering, respectively, 70,000 and 50,000 human souls engaged in a hand to hand conflict to the death. Here you can see upon this side the face of a soldier wear a smile of triumph, whose cheeks are flushed with victory. Then, turning your gaze, is riveted upon a stern and unrelenting countenance of one who is struggling against fate who would gladly welcome death rather than submit to defeat. To stand and watch the two wings of the federal army closing around the smaller forces of the confederacy and see with what valor and courage the boys in great stand their ground and fight as man never fought before and will never fight again, is a picture worth seeing, and costing as it did, $40,000, and requiring seven months devoted to its execution, it cannot be expected that in a short newspaper article, anything but a mere outline and introduction can be given of its wonder and grandeur.

- October 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The new McLeod is towering upward at a rapid rate.
     A weeping catalpa has been discovered at 820 Jackson street.
     Col. C. C. Slaughter has sold the American National Bank corner to Prather & Ardrey for $50,000.
     It is given out that the finest building yet erected in the city will go on the corner occupied by the American National Bank.
     A large force is at work grading Lamar street to the cotton mills. This thoroughfare presents, all during the day, an almost unbroken train of wagons carrying cotton to the mills.

- October 8, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -


     The electric light plant is in position at the fair grounds and the main building will be lighted to-night. Exhibitors who are behind should take advantage of the light and put in some night work.

- October 9, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


A Workman on the Keeper's Build-
ing Charged With Being the Thief.

     Sanitary Officer Busbee, yesterday, arrested W. B. Fair under the charge of theft of household goods from the pest house. Fair was one of the workmen engaged in building the keeper's house on the grounds, and while there, he reported to the department that tramps were sleeping in the building, and it was supposed that they were the thieves. When the officer told Fair of the great risk he was running in taking the things, and the danger of spreading the disease, his unconcerned reply was that has had the varioloid.

- October 9, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -




Expressions on Various Topics of
Timely Interest, All Involving De-
velopment in Some Way.

     The question of the validity of the new forty-fourth judicial district court is being raised by attorneys of the Dallas bar. Under the peculiar construction of the act creating the new district and the manner of selecting its presiding officer, a man may be tried before a court in whose election he had no voice. To present for adjudication, the rights of a man before a tribunal, in establishing which he was not permitted to exercise the suffrage act, and without his consent, is claimed by several well posted legal minds to be clearly unconstitutional. Through the operation of the act, the county is divided into two districts. The people are permitted to vote only for the candidate coming from their side of the line. While in one sense, it is a dual court, having concurrent jurisdiction, the electoral power is not dual. In entering cases on the docket, they are assigned in the order of their number, the even numbers go to one court, and the odd to the other. Thus, it follows that a man will be arraigned before a court in whose election he took no part nor parcel, which amounts to taking the man from his own district into another for trial without due process of law.
     Mr. H. W. Smith, county treasurer of Dallas county, settled in Dallas in October, 1860, just twenty-nine years ago. Mr. Smith says he is an astonished beholder at the rapid advancement of the county and city. When he first came to Dallas, he could stand on the courthouse square and throw a stone to the business limits of the city. He says: "Where the North Texas National Bank and E. M. Kahn block is, there was about one acre in a beautiful cedar grove where we held our Sunday school picnics, and the rising young orators would soar away on wings of eloquence. The last picnic I attended on this spot was in 1869. The town never made perceptible advancement until after the railroad reached here in 1872, and from that time forward, it has been a steady, but a marvelous, growth. When I first came to the county, unimproved lands were selling at $2 and $2.50 an acre. Seven and eight miles from the city, the same lands are bringing $25 and $30 an acre, and I consider them cheap at that. In those days, settlers hauled water seven and eight miles, and to-day, all over this country, you can go a few feet into the ground and get plenty of water. They, you might have bored through to China and no water. My father built the first house between Dallas branch and Turtle creek and we sank four wells each from 40 to 60 feet deep, but not a drop of water. To-day, it is there in abundance. A solution of the phenomena, I contend, lies in the fact that then the sod was not broken on the prairies, and when rain fell, it ran off like water from a duck's back, but as soon as the sod was broken, the earth drank in the rain fall and the result is the prairie is as well watered to-day, as other sections. Another explanation is in the fact that the rainfall was not as regular and plentiful here as it is in this progressive day. The majority of the settlers then did not care to acquire land. They were fully gratified with a small patch to cultivate and the great waste of commons where their herds rustled unaided. Another fact in connection with the history of this section is that the poorest lands were settled first. They offered inducements in the way of a limited supply of firewood and water, and they were the first to be occupied. If a settler came in and located on the high prairie, the rest would laugh at him for getting so far away from water and fuel. But, this country has a great future before it, notwithstanding the wonderful changes that came in a quarter of a century. Land are valuable, but if the question of good public roads was settled, their value would be greatly enhanced. Dallas county farmers spend just twice as much time as would be required in getting to market over good roads. Rainy weather is a loss and they are forced to take good weather to come to market when their time is in greatest demand on their farms. With good roads, they could often utilize a rainy spell and trot off to market. I think macadam will furnish the future roads of this county, and when we get them, you will see greater activity in the retail trade of the city and greater prosperity among the farmers."

- October 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


     Mr. Murphey, engaged as one of the contractors on the grading of the Dallas, Pacific & Southeastern is in the city and says that the road will be ready for track-laying in a short time, that the work of grading is being vigorously pushed.

- October 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     M. D. Garlington is contemplating plans for the erection of a six-story building at the southeast corner of Elm and Lamar streets.

- October 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -

To the People of Dallas.

     The Dallas Cotton and Woolen Mills was established about two years ago. The cost of the plant is as follows:
Real estate, including cottages.........$ 75,000
Cost of machinery.......................... 160,000
Cost of erecting machinery................ 20,000
Cost of mill building......................... 70,000
Cost of water works......................... 10,000

     On this amount of investment only $150,000 has ever been paid in on account of capital stock. The indebtedness of the mill is as follows:
Capital stock paid in........................$150,000
Debt ot Security Mortgage Co. Secured by mill bonds
................................................... 90,000
Due National Ex. Bank, secured........... 25,000
Due North Tex. Nat'l Bank, secured...... 25,000
Due City National Bank, secured.......... 10,000
Due Seaboard Nat'l Bank, secured........ 6,675
Due Whiten Machine Shops................ 15,000
Due Blankenship & Blake Co.............. 53,000
Sundry Liabilities.............................   14,000
Total..............................................     358,000

From which deduct value of cotton and m'dse on hand
Notes, accounts and cash...... 35,000 $50,675

     The real estate belonging to the mill is worth $50,000 more than it cost, and the mill is earning over $1000 net per week, and cannot fill half the orders for its product.
     But, we must have relief from the debts. Do the citizens of Dallas appreciate fully the importance of this great industry. Will they come forward and put it on its feet finanically. Can we afford to allow it to go?           Respectfully,
           S. D. B
           Pres. Dallas Cotton Mill.

- October 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The city engineer recommended that the owners of sprinkling wagons used on the streets, be required to widen the tires of their wagons to four inches, and that crane hydrants, whre they get their supply of water, be retired to unpaved streets. Referred.
     Under the call of committees, the hospital and health committee report having been unable to find a keeper for the physicians' house at the pest ground, and recommended that an appropriation of $15 a month be made to secure one. Adopted.

- October 14, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 5.
- o o o -


     The foundations for the new passenger depot of the M. K. & T. are in position.

- October 14, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -

A Rich Gift.

     The will of Mrs. Juliette A. Fowler was probated to-day. Among other items she charitably bequeathed for the benefit of indigent women and orphan children, fifteen acres of land to be forever held for that trust and applied to the maintenance of a home for them. For the erection and equipment of the home, she donates seven acres of the Nussbaumer tract, two tracts of land out of the W. H. Overton survey, a lot in East Dallas, one on Juliette street, her stock in the merchants' exchange and the cotton mills and other property, reserving burial expenses.

- October 14, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

City News.

     The city has a standing bid of $15 a month to any one who will come and occupy the keeper's house at the pest grounds. The cottage is newly finished and has four rooms, and as a further inducement, there are 47 acres of ground, a portion of which is in cultivation. It is on one of the highest points in the city.

- October 16, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     SEVENTY miles of the Dallas and Pacific railroad have been graded and is ready for the iron and ties. It is this fact that has aroused Fort Worth to renewed effort to build the Albuquerque. But that road will supply the requirements of the northwest in the way of transportation for years to come, and people who have money are not so blind as to recognize the fact. The Fort is probably embracing the opportunity to do some advertising.

- October 17, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 2.
- o o o -

City News.

     The work of laying cement sidewalks around the courthouse is about completed.

- October 17, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 3.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     Those who claim to be informed, say there will be a base ball league in Texas next season that will finish the season and furnish the patrons with ball contests worthy of their patronage.
     A change is going on at the corner of Main and Murphy streets. The Pacific Express Company is changing its front to Elm street, and the City National Bank will extend their apartments to include the space vacated by the express company. The Fourth National Bank will occupy the corner of Elm and Murphy, adjoining the express company's office.

- October 18, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 1.
- o o o -


The Auditorium Finely Finished
and Furnished.

     Services will be held for the first time to-morrow in the auditorium of the First M. E. Church on Commerce street. Owing to the half-completed state of the building, the congregation up to the present time have been worshipping in the Sunday-school room. As finished and furnished, there is not a finer place of worship in the city than the new auditorium, which is 60x80 feet and will seat about 1000 people.

- October 19, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


Garbage Crematory Rebuilt--Cattle
and Horses Dying.

     Sanitary Officer Busbee says the city is as clean as a pin, and its general sanitary appearance is substantiating evidence of his assertion. During the fair, he kept his force busy until midnight and the numerous attractions did not deteriorate any from the efficiency of the health department in general.
     The garbage crematory is complete again. Upon its trial the first time it burned down with the trash pile, or was so much disabled that it was worthless. This time, its construction is on a better basis and it will meet any test.
     The force has had a great deal to do recently in the way of hauling out dead horses and cattle, which seem to be dying at a rate that indicates the presence of some infectious disease.

- October 30, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 1, col. 5.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     The roof is on the new freight depot of the M. K. & T. road and the building is receiving its finishing touches.

- October 30, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Committee reports were presented as follows:
Hospital and health--Recommending a new location for the city hospital, or as alternate, the erection of an addition to the present hospital. Referred.

- November 4, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


Extending Carrier Districts

     Postmaster Witwer has applied for additional help in the office and for an addition to the carrier force with a view of extending the free delivery system. His efforts find encouragement in the fact that the department has promised to send an inspector here to investigate and report on the situation. Mr. Witwer is doing all within his power to secure better facilties for the community, whose demands are increasing along with the business increase which is very rapid.

- November 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

Building Permits.

     The class of building under way in Dallas now and the amount of money going into buildings may be seen by the following, which includes the most prominent public and private structures being erected, and some nearing completion:
     Seven story hotel, corner Commerce and Akard streets by the Oriental Hotel Company, cost $500,000.
     McLeod Hotel, seven stories, on Main street near Akard street, cost $100,000.
     First Baptist church, corner Ervay street and Patterson avenue, $50,000.
     Catholic church, Bryan and Masten, $60,000.
     Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway, freight depot, brick, two stories, corner Jefferson and Carondelet streets, $18,000.
     Middleton Bros., four-story, pressed brick and stone, corner Main and Ervay streets, $50,000.
     C. W. Guild, five-story brick 200x50 feet, running from Elm street through to Pacific avenue, basement half through fronting on Pacific avenue, $40,000.
     Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway Company, two-story brick passenger depot on Pacific avenue, between Jefferson and Market streets, $15,000.
     Mrs. E. J. Thomas, three-story building 50x200 feet on Griffin street from Camp to Patterson avenue, $30,000.
     John Bookhout, Main, near Ervay, four-story pressed brick and stone, 25x100, $30,000.
     C. T. Rowan, three-story brick, corner Main and Akard streets, $12,000.
     And last, but not least, may be mentioned among building enterprises and others, a new morning paper, which local capitalists say is assured unless the St. Louis Republic backs down, and which, the Republic says is assured, unless Dallas capitalists back down.

- November 8, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

Gilmore's Band Coming.

     Capt. Frank M. Robinson of Denison is in the city arranging with Capt. Sydney Smith for the coming of Gilmore's band. This famous band of fifty people will stop here the 28th and 29th on their way from San Francisco to New Orleans and give a series of concerts.

- November 8, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     A building permit has been issued to Geo. Hamm to erect a building for a sausage factory on Leonard street to cost $1000.

- November 9, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Proceedings began Saturday night at the regular meeting of the city council by reading and acting on petitions as follows:
     A medicine company, asking for the right to erect tents on Main street between Akard and Ervay streets. Referred.

- November 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 3.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     The McLeod Hotel has reached the seventh story.
     The auditorium in the new city hall has been supplied with 682 opera chairs.

- November 11, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 6, col. 3.
- o o o -


     The bridge over the Trinity at the foot of Commerce is again wearing out under the excessive travel of half or two-thirds of the county. Nothing in Dallas county is needed by city and county people more than three or four bridges over the Trinity on the different roads leading into the city. The county commissioners have contracted for two--one at the foot of Commerce, in place of the small one there now; and, one in the vicinity of the Cotton Mill, and the construction might be hurried up. In the meantime, the court might contract for at least one more, just below the grain elevator.

- November 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 1.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     It is understood that Postmaster Witwer has applied to the postal department at Washington for an addition to the force of letter carriers. At present, there are sixteen routes, while the population of Dallas entitles the city to at least eighteen carriers.
     Would it not be advisable for the occupants of private residences to attach letter boxes to their gateways and by this means protect their letter and newspaper mail from getting saturated in rainy weather? The papers that are so frequently thrown upon the veranda, or cast hurriedly over the fence by the hasty newspaper boy, would be received in good order, and the mail carriers would also be saved a great deal of delay and inconvenience.

- November 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 1.
- o o o -

A Popular Grocery Firm.

     The attention of the readers of the TIMES-HERALD is called to the advertisement of Messrs. Thompson & Co., fancy grocers, at 909 Elm street. These gentlemen started business in Dallas now going on three years, and from a small beginning have increased their business so that, to-day, they rank with the very best houses in the city. They are polite always, careful in filling their orders and absolutely correct in their business methods, and no firm has made more friends than they have during their business career in Dallas. They fully deserve their success in every particular, and the TIMES-HERALD takes pleasure in recommending them to the citizens of Dallas. The senior proprietor, Mr. V. B. Thompson, or, as he is familiarly called, "Tiney," is always to be found at this store, and a more genial, whole-souled, lively little fellow is not to be found in Dallas to-day---always in a good humor and has an anecdote to fit almost every occasion. Call and see "Tiney," get his prices, re-weigh your goods and then see if you don't endorse him as strongly as the TIMES-HERALD does.

- November 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 2.
- o o o -




Leaped from the Third Story Burned
and Bruised---Supposed Incen-
diary---Loss and Insurance.

     The Capitol Hotel was a smoking ruin this morning. The interior of the walls had been glutted during the early morning hours by the fire fiend and nothing but the bare, smoking stone walls were left to mark the place where a few hours before, seventy-five comfortable rooms were filled with guests for the night. The Capitol had three floors above a basement, and it extended through from Main to Commerce street, the location being about midway in the block between Akard and Field streets. The basement was a bar and reading room. The first floor contained the office fronting Main street, dining room and billiard and bar room. The two floors above this were divided into about seventy-five sleeping apartments arranged in rows on each side of the building, long hallways dividing them, and these were all filled last night with guests.
The fire broke out between 3 and 4 o'clock this morning and a drummer by the name of Briggs, it is said, sounded the first alarm.
     G. W. Houghaling, the night clerk, on duty, and he says of the fire: "I was in the office in conversation with J. W. Moore, when about 3:45 this morning, we heard the cry of "fire! fire! fire!" We rushed to the sidewalk, because the alarm sounded as if it came from the saloon in the basement. Discovering nothing there, I ran up the steps to the second floor and down the long hallway to my room, No. 68, fronting Commerce street. Through an opening in the hallway, I saw smoke issuing up from the floor over the basement. Securing my grip, I turned to leave, and in two minutes after I went up and began to kick in doors and arouse the guests, the hall was filled with thick smoke and was soon ablaze. I am positive every guest in the building was aroused. At 3:15, I called a man out of room 42 on the second floor and he dressed and came down and took a cab to meet the cannon ball train. The alarm of fire was given fifteen minutes after he left."
     J. W. Moore said: "As soon as the alarm was given, I went up on the second floor, and after waking Mr. McElroy, I went to room No. 8 and carried a sick man to a place of safety. I think the fire originated in room No. 25 or 27. It burned very rapidly, but every guest was alarmed in safe time."
     Mr. Orr, one of the proprietors, said the fire originated at the south end of the second floor above the basement.
     The building was enveloped in flames in a remarkably short period of time, and the scene at the fire was calculated to send a thrill of horror to the stoutest heart. The fire escapes at each end of the building were in active use for a few moments and down the flights of steps came half clad men and women, the majority in their night clothes, piling in among the heavy trunks and baggage that was sent rolling down to the sidewalk. Once in a place of safety, each guest became a self-constituted committee to look after life and property, and the cool judgment of the clerk, Mr. Houghaling, who did what he could to avert a panic among the inmates, probably prevented a fatal occurrence. The firemen, who had arrived in the meantime, were busy with hose, hook and ladder, and it was remarkable almost that no lives were lost, although sensational rumors this morning had as many as twenty charred remains piled among the debris.
     A fire the magnitude of this, however, is never without its hairbreadth escapes and its thrilling adventures. Some fireman is always singled out as a hero if there are many ladies in danger, but last night, there were only twelve or thirteen, and these escaped, all but three who were carried out by the employes.
     W. K. Miller, employed with Alcott & Manor, had the most thrilling adventure. His room was on the third floor in the south end of the building, and to a reporter who saw him on his couch at the city hospital this morning, he said: "I awoke choking with smoke. As I sprang out of bed, I caught my pantaloons in one hand and opened the room door leading into the hall. It was livid fire, and I shall never forget that awful flame as it struck me in the face raising these blisters and burning my hair and mustache. Closing the door quickly and nearly falling in my tracks, I turned and open the window. The flames broke through the transom over the door and I had not a second to spare. I looked out the window and saw the roof of a building. It was a little south of me and I was not sure I would land on it. But, I made the leap, which I would have done if it had been ten miles below me. I struck the tin roof badly burned and bruised and a fireman carried me down." Mr. Miller landed on top of the theatre adjoining the hotel. His hands and face were blistered and his ankle was badly injured.
     Mr. McElroy, a proprietor of the hotel, was closed in on the second floor in room No. 10. He made the leap from a window as a part of the partition wall in his room fell. When he landed on the roof of the building below his room, his clothes were ablaze and the firemen turned the hose on him.
     T. A. Dolan, an ex-newspaper reporter, was caged on the third-story in the room at the north-west corner of the building. He managed to escape down the fire ladder, after enduring for a time the mental tortures of death by burning.
     The hotel business was the property of Orr and McElroy. Mr. Orr said this morning that their loss was $18,500, insured for $8500.
     H. Kruegl was the owner of the bar and billiard room. He places his loss at $5000, insured for $2500.
     The building was the property of Henry Hamilton, whose loss was $16,000, fully insured.
     The inmates lost their personal effects with the exception of a few trunks saved. A number lost everything but their night robes. An estimate of the loss on this line is not obtainable.
     The fire department is complimented by everybody for quick and effective action. Considering the advanced state of the fire before an alarm was turned in, and the combustible material in the building, which made a very rapid blaze, they did splendid work. The hotel could not be saved; the building adjoining, including the Capital theatre, were not damaged. Even the cloth awnings were intact.
     Incendiarism is generally believed to have originated the fire, in evidence of this theory is cited the fact that only last Sunday morning, the department was called to put out a fire that had started in the room behind the bar room in the theatre building. It originated in a pile of refuse lumber, which gave out a strong odor of kerosene oil.
     Upon a recommendation from the city engineer, Mayor Loeb, pro tem, appointed P. J. Butler, A. B. Bristol and John Paul a committee to inspect the ruins and report on the walls, which are considered a menace to public safety.

- November 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


     Capt. J. M. Strong was appointed an agent of the court to secure right-of-way through the bottom for approaches to the Rock Ford bridge. In this connection, a proposition was read from T. L. Marsalis offering to donate the right-of-way from the river on the west side to a junction with First street, Oak Cliff. It was accepted by the court.

- November 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3-4.
- o o o -

City Notes.

     Another serenading company is doing the south side of town. They call themselves the "Wienerwursts," and are excellent musicians.
     The steam roller belonging to J. Laing & Co., street contractors, is riveted in the mud on Young street. It weighs 1600 pounds and bids fair to be a fixture till the mud dries up.
     The general store of F. Brittain in Flanders Heights was burned Tuesday night. His loss was $2000. The job is charged to a supposed burglar because the glass in the door was knocked out when the fire was discovered.
     The committee appointed yesterday to investigate the condition of the Capitol Hotel walls reported that they could be made secure and safe by proper bracing. An ordinance makes this course necessary in cases of this kind, otherwise, the city engineer says he would, as a safety measure, have leveled them to the ground without ceremony.

- November 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1-2.
- o o o -


     Dr. W. H. Howell is building a new residence on Masten street close to the old Catholic convent.
     Mr. John F. Murphy has purchased Mr. Welbourne's interest in the Arlington Hotel, and is fully equipped to entertain guests.
     The city garbage furnace underwent a satisfactory test yesterday with a charge of seven loads of low grade garbage and the carcass of a horse. The refuse was consumed in three hours.
     The overflow on Hawkins street has now become a veritable canal. The bull frogs in the vicinity are making preparations for the coming winter. The inhabitants of the neighborhood owe a debt of gratitude to the philanthropic individual who laid planks across the water at the junction of Live Oak and Hawkins streets.

- November 15, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -

Street Improvements.

     Dallas is still prosecuting the work of paving her streets as rapidly as the weather and other circumstance will permit. Forces are at work in various portions of the city laying bois d'arc and other kinds of paving material. For some two weeks, a large force of men and teams have been removing the soil on North Lamar street preparatory to constructing bois d'arc pavement. The work extends from Ross avenue to the conjunction with McKinney avenue, a distance of half a mile, more or less. A few more days' work and the layers will be ready to begin work. When this stretch is completed there will be a continuous line of paved streets extending from Lamar at Commerce street northward to McKinney avenue thence east on the avenue for about one mile.

- November 15, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


Texas Shows Best at Chicago Fat
Cattle Display.

     A. Nussbaumer writes from Chicago under date of the 16th inst. "We are the biggest bugs in Chicago." The inference is that the writer has made an impression on Chicago and is enjoying its results. The remainder of the letter shows this to be a correct conclusion. He says: "The judges in the fat cattle show yesterday made their awards. J. B. Wilson took every premium on Texas cattle; also took second premium competing against the world with thirty-eight entries in the ring. The second grade of two-year-olds had a very close call, the Williamson county bunch being only a tail's length behind. The steer that took the second premium competing against the world was the little bald face which J. B. calls the "kid;" he also captured the sweepstakes premium as the best Texas steer of any age. They judge cattle here by the size of the bone and by the best loin and back."
     Mr. Wilson is a Dallas county stockman and his success at the Chicago show places Dallas county at the head of the state for fine cattle. Mr. Wilson is so well pleased with his display that he will probably ship his herd to Liverpool, England, and make a display there.

- November 18, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     The city is now operating the new garbage furnace. It is doing splendid work.
     The Health Journal of preventive medicine, published in this city, is waging an unrelenting war on patent medicine quacks.
     The Rabbi of "Serat Israel" congregation, Louis Ratner, has gone into business and now occupies the stand recently vacated by "Caswieg," corner of Jackson and Ervay streets.
     Bitter complaints are being made by some of the prominent business men of Dallas as to the obstruction of the traffic by the "cutting up" of Young street between Ervay and Browder, as well as that of Akard street between Commerce and Young. Wood street is also obstructed, which renders it most inconvenient for the citizens of South Dallas to make their way to the business centre of the city. But Dallas must be improved.

- November 19, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 3.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     J. B. Ehrick has opened a cigar establishment opposite the court house.

- November 19, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 2.
- o o o -


Another Modern Improvement En-
tering the Courthouse.

     The contractors, to-day, commenced the excavations beneath the county courthouse floors to place the furnaces for the heating apparatus, which the commissioners ordered at their last session at a cost of about $2700. The furnaces will be placed respectively at the east and west wings of the building. The commissioners meet again Saturday when they will receive estimates on the cost of heating apparatus for the county clerks office, which is soon to be enlarged to double its present size.
     The courthouse has undergone great improvement the past six months. The courtrooms and jury rooms have been overhauled, the floors laid with neat carpets, the finishings repainted and new furniture supplied, and altogether it will soon as be as modern as any building in the city.

- November 20, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 8, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The "Petite Comedy Co." have decided upon playing "Borrowed Plumes" at their annual performance in Turnverein Hall.
     Would it not be a good idea to take down the "washed out" decorations which the patriotic spirit of our merchants prompted them to erect during the fair. Such action would greatly improve the appearance of the city.
     A. W. Flemming, a Massachusetts man, has come to this city with the avowed intention of starting a frog farm. He believes that there is a great profit in the business when manged by men who thoroughly understand the routine. Mr. Flemming thinks he will have no trouble in obtaining a lease of undrained land on the Trinity river close to the city which will prove favorable to the growth of the frog; and, moreover, he believes that the Dallasites will cultivate a taste for this toothsome reptile.

- November 21, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2-3.
- o o o -



Nevertheless All Should Have

     A few days ago, Webster & Wood opened up the North Park Addition containing 500 beautiful lots. These gentlemen agreed to place on the market, 50 lots at $100 a piece. While maps, etc., were being arranged, a great many lots were spoken for and verbal promises made that those who spoke for them should have lots. Within 3 days after they were put upon the market, the 50 were sold, and still some of those to whom promises were made are without their lots at that low price. To carry out their word to all of these parties, Webster & Wood will offer 75 other lots just as good if not better. The first who come will be the first served and they would ask that you call early at their office, 912 Main street, and select.
     P. S. Not only those promised, but others will have a chance to buy while the lots last. North Park Addition is well located near North Dallas park grounds and fronting Broad streets. A street railroad will soon be operated to this future pleasure resort and popular resort and popular suburb of Dallas. Call early and secure a lot.

- November 21, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


How It Struggled for Popular Fa-
vor and Died for Want of It.

     The meeting which was called to devise ways and means to place the public library on a basis to continue existence, proved an utter failure.  The public spirited citizens who were appealed to, failed to respond and Dallas is without even the nucleus of a public library. A number of years ago, leading citizens, among whom was the late Hon. J. C. McCoy, organized themselves for the establishment of a public library. They paid rent for rooms and met all the incidental expenses cheerfully and, the small number of volumes in the course of time, grew to be upwards of two thousand, comprising some of the best standard literature of the day. The expense of keeping up the library and paying rent for a location suitable, finally became too much for private individuals to carry and Mr. F. R. Rowley, among others, asked for, and secured, the promise of a room for the library in the new city hall and proposed that the city council should take the books free of cost and have untrammeled control of the library. But, when apartments were assigned, the library was counted out and the council apparently deemed the matter of insufficient importance to accord it any interest. As a last effort, in behalf of an institution which every city should take pride in sustaining, the appeal to the citizens was made with the results given above.
     Mr. Rowley then offered the association a room at his place free of rent, which was accepted and the books have been arranged there, where stockholders may enjoy the same privileges they did when a building was rented in the city. If enough public interest is not shown to re-establish the library, the stockholders will make the best disposition of the books that is possible.

- November 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 3.
- o o o -


A Neglected Matter to Receive At-
tention Soon.

     The absence of a system for numbering buildings in Dallas has been the outgrowth of endless confusion in departments of business life and the cause of a great deal of worry and thought upon the part of those delegated to find a system that would suit everybody. Everybody is willing to admit that Dallas is a city and the matter complained of is chargeable only to neglect. The city engineer's office is besieged almost daily with business men wanting to secure correct numbers for their buildings. One of the largest firms in the city have contracted for a two-year's supply of printed stationery and they are unable to furnish the printers the numbers of their place of business and the city cannot supply it, which insures to the firm considerable useless expense or a botch job in changing numbers on their printed matter. Thus it goes. The absence of the system confuses the delivery of mails and newspapers.
     Some time ago, an ordinance was passed by the city council adopting a system of numbering. It was unsatisfactory to some of the aldermen who succeeded in securing a vote to reconsider. It has been lying in that shape ever since. A special committee, with Alderman Garrison chairman, was then appointed to cast about and recommend the best system practicable. Mr. Garrison was visited by a T
IMES-HERALD representative, and he says after investigating a great many systems his committee has decided to recommend the one in vogue in Philadelphia, which is considered the best in the world. This system strikes a dividing line at right angles and the names of the streets are designated north, south, east or west as the case may be. Each block, regardless of its length, will have one hundred numbers. Where it is possible to form a junction between short and long streets, the name of one will be discontinued, and this will tend to simplify the work.
     If the plan is adopted, Mr. Garrison estimates that within two weeks afterwards, the city may be numbered and ready for business on an accurate business.

- November 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 4.
- o o o -


     Last evening, Mr. Philip Miller sold out his interest in the Live Oak saloon to Mr. Jim Skelton of this city.

- November 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3-4.
- o o o -

Deeds of Trust Filed.

    I Sokalosky, has filed a deed of trust on his barroom fixtures and fixtures and furniture in the saloon at the corner of Griffin and Elm streets to secure Freiberg, Klein & Co. and the Dallas Brewing Company in the payment of a note for $1100. A similar instrument has been filed in which J. B. Able conveys his interest in the saloon, corner Swiss avenue and the Central Railroad to secure Chas. Meisterhan in the payment of $100.

- November 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     The ordinance regulating the speed of railway trains in the city limits says they shall not run exceeding five miles an hour. A city official suggested this morning that the city limits be denoted on a sign board to be erected on each road, and that officers be stationed on each road to see that the ordinance is not violated.

- November 22, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -


     The city, to-day, purchased 9 1/2 cords of wood for the garbage furnace for $30. The freight was $950.
     The Cockrell Fairland Addition Company and Col. Henry Exall are negotiating for an electric light plant, an electric railway and a system of water works to be supplied by artesian wells. These improvements fall to North Dallas.

- November 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     Plans are being prepared for a two-story addition to the city hospital to have twenty rooms.
     The mayor and city engineer have given instructions to tear down the walls of the Capitol hotel and work will commence to-morrow morning.
     A clash is about to occur between the city and higher courts on the question of jurisdiction. It is brought about by the grand jury indicting keepers of house of infamy, over which the legislature in the new charters gives the city exclusive jurisdiction.
     That the Catholic population of Dallas is determined to look after the orphan members of the church is apparent from the active steps they are taking to erect a spacious building, the foundation of which, is already laid in Oak Cliff.
     Four geese, plucked, cleaned and ready for roast, were stolen Saturday morning from the Dutch "Gasthaus" on Pacific avenue. The disappointed boarders and inmates made a general search, but the birds had flown from the vicinity.
     A splendid banquet was given at Mayer's garden on Saturday night in honor of Maclyn Arbuckle, by the enthusiastic admires of his dramatic genius. The elegant supper, which was served at 12 o'clock, was set off by numerous bouquets presented by ladies of his acquaintance. Some lively and almost eloquent speeches were made on the occasion, not the least of these being the address delivered by Mr. Arbuckle, senior, whose patriotic references to "Bonnie Scotland," the land of his nativity and the birthplace of many great dramatists, was hailed with great pleasure by the convivial guests. The party broke up at 3:30 in the morning, after oft-repeated good wishes toward the promising young dramatist.

- November 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1-2.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     Those of our citizens who are philanthropically inclined cannot fail to recognize the need of a comfortable fire-proof hospital for the city. The matter has been overlooked too long, and it is quite time that something definite should be done. Will anybody come forward in the interests of humanity and donate a lot towards the erection of the building?

- November 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


The Stockholders of the Queen City
Electric Light Company in the City.

     A party of leading citizens and capitalists of Ft. Wayne, Ind., who are stockholders in the Queen City Electric Light Company, arrived in the city from the north this morning and registered at the Windsor. The following gentlemen comprise the party: Brainard Roverson, I. S. Knight, Joseph P. Smith, W. H. McGroth, R. T. McDonald and M. M. M. Slattery.
     The party drove over the city to-day and were pointed out the many points of interest to visitors and the vast number of buildings under process of construction. A T
IMES-HERALD reporter was given a pointer to the effect that the gentlemen are here with a view to re-organizing the Queen City Company and placing the same on a solid and lasting footing.

- November 25, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


B. F. Taylor to Retire from the St.
George--Jos. W. Hill his Successor.

     On December 1st, B. F. Taylor will retire from the St. George Hotel, and will be succeeded by J. W. Hill, for the past four years the practical manager of that hostelry under the different proprietors. All the papers were drawn up and signed yesterday. Mr. Hill has obtained a lease of the hotel for five years and has also purchased the furniture and fixtures of the same. Mr. Hill became identified with the St. George six years ago, and is a hotel man to the manor born, and is a great favorite with the traveling public. Affable, quick-witted and a Chesterfield in deportment, render his regime, the St. George, is bound to retain its present popularity with the public.

- November 26, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Yesterday evening, Frank Graves went fishing on the Trinity river where the city sewer empties into the river. Despite the untempting locality and the filthy condition of the water, Mr. Graves caught 42 catfish in a short space of time. The bait used was worm and minnow.

- November 26, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -

The Bicycle Nuisance.

     The attention of a TIMES-HERALD reporter has been repeatedly called to the manner in which the bicycle boys, in certain parts of the city, appropriate to themselves the pavements and public sidewalks, making it uncomfortable and ever perilous for ladies to promenade in the vicinity. It is impossible to use the footpath on certain streets, especially on Sundays, without feeling that you are infringing upon the rights of the young "gent" who requires the space as a sort of tramway for his iron horse. The young autocrat rattles down the pavement and the nervous lady must step on the roadside or risk being run over. Now, the question arises, to whom belongs the use of the sidewalk, or rather, for what species of thoroughfare is it intended? If for the pedestrian, then let him enjoy it exclusively and without impediment. If on the other hand, it is to be looked upon as a highway for vehicles, the less money there is expended on improvements of this kind the better for the city, and for those who are taxed for funds for the building of sidewalks. Why not pass an ordinance prohibiting such irregularity and, by so doing, earn the good will of every lady in the city.

- November 26, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 5.
- o o o -


Suit Filed by a Late Theatrical Man-

     James C. Parton has brought suit against T. L. Marsalis in the Fourteenth district court, claiming damage in the sum of $7,500 on three counts. He asks $1500 for six weeks time spend in superintending the construction of the pavilion at Oak Cliff, or $250 per week, and the balance for securing dramatic attractions for the theatre, alleging foreclosure to perform alleged contracts existing between himself and the defendant.

- November 27, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 2.
- o o o -




And What is Being Accomplished
to Meet the Demands and Turn the
Building Boom Loose--Cheaper

     Mr. C. A. Gill is good authority on matters pertaining to building and architecture. He superintended the construction of the new city hall and that stands to show his qualifications as a master builder. Mr. Gill stated to a TIMES-HERALD reporter this morning that there is no slack whatever in the volume of building in Dallas. In fact, he said, if the brick famine was removed, the amount of building to be put under way immediately would astonish the natives. Parties have approached him for estimates on large structures, but have been forced to defer action for the cause given.
     "Mr. Gill, is there no relief from this brick famine?" "Not immediately, but plans are maturing which, in my judgment, will furnish builders all the brick they want next spring. A large company is organized and has, under advisement the project, which they will put into effect if a test of Dallas material satisfied them, that it will produce first-class brick. They have samples of the soil in hand. I am satisfied it will make good brick. This company proposes to manufacture a high grade of pressed brick. They will adopt scientific principles in tempering the brick, a feature that is greatly neglected as a rule by brick makers, who turn out various grades from the same kiln. It is only necessary to use a little care in heating the kiln to secure the best results."
     "Brick are very dear when shipped from other cities, are they not?"
"When shipped, the freight is about $12 per thousand. A good class of brick deliverd ont he cars cost about that much, making the total cost to Dallas builders about $24 per thousand for the ordinary rough brick. Of course, finishing brick come much higher."
     "There is some complaint about the cost and supply of cement. Do you know of any movement to remedy this?"
     "Cement that we not pay $3.50 per barrel for, it is said, can be manufactured here for $3.50 per ton. A party, who, by the way, is not talking much about his enterprise, says he can make it for that the cost to consumers he proposes to lessen to $1 per barrel. It is said that raw material exists in abundance and within cheap transportation, for the manufacrure of adamant wall plaster, which has the appearance , though I have not made a close examination, of being a very superior product."
     "Have you heard any complaint on account of the scarcity of lumber?"
"None whatever. The lumber supply is abundant and there are enough lumber dealers in Dallas to keep prices down to a small margin."

- November 27, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 1, col. 2-3.
- o o o -


     It is not generally known that Mr. R. S. Munger of this city is operating the largest iron foundry in the state. He makes all the casting for his extensive manufacture of gin machinery and a column recently cast at his works weighed 33,000 pounds.

- November 28, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


Thomas Field to Build Six Stories
and a Basement.

     A building permit was issued to-day to Thomas Field to build six stories and a basement adjoining the Oriental hotel on the east. The building will be of stone and brick, and it will front 47 feet on Commerce street, running back 200 feet to Jackson street. Its cost will be $60,000.
     A portion of the building will be set apart for commercial purposes and it is a part of Mr. Field's design to devote a part to a Turkish bath, which will be as fine as anything of the kind in the country.

- November 29, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 1, col. 4.
- o o o -

Another Fine Building.

     As noted in the TIMES-HERALD yesterday, Bishop Garrett has purchased for the congregation of St. Matthews (Episcopal) Cathedral, a large lot at the north corner of Ervay and Canton streets. The old Cathedral property on Commerce street sold recently for $60,000. The new property was purchased for $14,000, and it is proposed to erect on it, a cathedral to cost $100,000. The plans include, also, a $5000 rectory to front Canton street.

- November 29, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 1, col. 4.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     In addition to the six-story building to be put up by Thomas Field, two more six-story and basement buildings are to go up on Commerce street soon.

- November 29, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 1, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The walls of the McLeod hotel have reached a height that takes in the seventh story. Every passer-by gazes upward twice to take a good view of the majestic structure.

- November 29, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3-4.
- o o o -


What Has Been Done and is Being
Done in the Line of Charity.

     The Dallas Police Benevolent Association was organized Sept. 30, 1888, and it has enjoyed a year of prosperity and healthy development as will be seen from the annual report of the secretary and treasurer for the fiscal year just closed.
     The association is doing good work of charity, and aside from the assessments from its members, the treasury is largely dependent upon the liberality and public spirit of those for whom the members of the association devote their time and risk their lives in the protection of life and property.
     The associaton endeavors, however, to return value for the assistance rendered at the hands of the public, if not in dollars and cents in a social way. To that end, they have arranged to give a benefit ball on the night of the 19th inst. in the handsome auditorium of the new city hall.      Every detail is being arranged to make it a pleasant and enjoyable affair. Music for the occasion will be furnished by Day's orchestra.
     Mr. M. W. Kirby, secretary, reported total receipts $922.
     Mr. Ed. Cornwell, the treasurer, reported this amount turned in by Mr. Kirby and disbursement as follows:
Sick benefits...........$271.25
Burial of Ed Desmond..80.50
Cash balance on hand..............$570.25

- November 30, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     Mrs. Thomas' three-story factory building being erected at the corner of Camp and Griffin streets is reaching upwards.
     While workmen were engaged in tearing away the walls of the Capitol hotel this morning, the largest portion of the front fell with a great crash. Fortunately, no one was beneath to get caught in the trap.

- November 30, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


The Garbage Furnace.

     Last night, the city crematory consumed at one charge, nine wagon loads of swill, seven loads closet matter, nine barrels slaughter house refuse and the carcasses of three horses and one cow. To meet the demands of the city, it is found necessary to operate the furnace only eleven hours out of every twenty-hour at an expense of $7 per day. The cost is some larger than was required under the old method of dumping, but the advantages of the new method from a sanitary point are not to be estimated by dollars and cents.
     The health officer, Dr. Carter, is highly pleased with the success of the furnace.

- December 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 2.
- o o o -

[No Heading]

     Our city and Wm. H. Garretson, the contractor, may well feel proud of the success of the garbage furnace. Officer Busbee reports it as consuming everything he can throw into it in a most satisfactory manner. We learn from Mr. Webster, Mr. Garretson's business manager, that other cities are investigating it, and even the United States government post at San Antonio is arranging to build one at once. Garretson is a hustler, and his reputation as a builder is well known, and we bespeak for him great success with his Garbage Cremation Furnace.

- December 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 2, col. 3.
- o o o -


     A young lady in South Dallas is burning the midnight oil in the production of a novel that will treat of Dallas and Dallas society in the days of the "dug out" and the "prairie schooner."

- December 3, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3-4.
- o o o -

Building Permits.

     Since the TIMES-HERALD report of yesterday, the following have been issued:
     Buell & Connelly, two-story frame planing mill, corner Montezuma and Hawkins streets, $4,000.
     Colored Lodge A. F. and A. M., two-story frame lodge building, corner Peak and Juliette streets, $1800.

- December 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     A pair of hearses with rich silver mountings and far more extravagant in price than any yet shipped to Dallas have just been received by P. W. Linskie.
     Maj. J. I. Reeks and Messrs. J. R. Figh and others have gone to attend the National Brick Makers' convention which meets at Philadelphia on the 10th inst. While absent, they will investigate the latest improved brick making machinery with a view of enlarging Dallas brick works.
     J. J. Brick has just completed a modern natatorium in the city park. The pool is 70x30 feet, ranging in depth from 3 to 7 feet. The water is supplied from an artesian well. There are a number of bathing apartments for both sexes, and the addition of a fine Turkish bath is contemplated. This is an enterprise that was suggested by the T
IMES-HERALD about two years ago, and it congratulates Mr. Brick upon his success in supplying it.
     The farmers and others who hitch their horses in front of the court house fail to recognize that a city ordinance has been passed, making it a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $10 for any person who ties his horse or team to the posts. The notices attached to the trees are distinct and clear, and yet, the officer on the beat called the attention of a T
IMES-HERALD reporter to five cases of infringement this morning.

- December 5, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2-5.
- o o o -


     A survey of the Lambert heirs' claim of forty acres out of the Elizabeth Robertson survey has been completed.

- December 6, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 3, col. 3.
- o o o -


Celebrated Brewerymen Visit the
City to Add to their Investments.

     Adolph Busch, A. E. Faust, Carl Conrad and G. Hausman, the noted brewerymen and St. Louis capitalists, are visiting the city.
     Yesterday, the party was driven over the city, and last night, they enjoyed the hospitality of Swope & Mangold, proprietors of the Dallas Club Saloon, in the form of a bountiful repast. They saw more of the city to-day, and about noon, were introduced to a number of local capitalists in the mayor's office. Champagne mingled freely in the discussion of business topics, and the future of Dallas. Mr. Busch says he has been interested in the welfare of Texas for years. At present, he has already invested in the state over $1,000,000. The object of his present visit is to make additional investments. He desired to add a plant to his business in Dallas, and he thought it would be but a short time before such would be the case.

- December 9, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 4.
- o o o -


     The block book of the city, which is being made by Frank Dormant, is nearly completed. East Dallas is yet to be added. It shows every addition, subdivision, block and lot with the name of the owner. It is indexed so that any piece of property in the city may be readily located and the owner's name ascertained. Eighteen months have been consumed in its preparation.

- December 10, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 5.
- o o o -


     A Board of Trade will be organized this evening by the business men of the city, in the Gaston building. More than 100 gentlemen have signed the call.
     It is rumored that the owners of the Grand Windsor contemplate building an addition to that stately edifice at an early date, to meet the demands of their business.
     A memorial window dedicated to [the dead] president of the Confederate States at the establishment of Fellman, Grumbach & Harris, continues to draw large crowds. In the center of the window is a life-sized portrait of the departed statesman. On the right hand side of the picture is a dove with an olive branch in its tiny bill and below is a letter written to a Dallas gentleman by Mr. Davis. The floral decorations and heavy black drapery complete the decorations.

- December 12, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     The patrol system spoken of in these columns yesterday, meets with great favor. In the hands of first class men, the police patrol would be a great aid to the regular force in protecting life and property and in driving from the city, objectionable character.
     Prof. J. W. Bode says of the proposed Oak Cliff Female Seminary: "We propose to erect buildings at a cost of over $300,000 on the beautiful tract of land in Oak Cliff donated to the corporation by Mr. T. L. Marsalis. The tract embraces twelve acres, situated on an eminence overlooking the city and surrounding country. The land is worth at least $16,000, at present, and, of course, it will grow in value as the city increases in population. The shares are $100 each, and every subscriber will be issued certificates of stock, which, in turn, can be turned in as tuition, if desired. Lands to the amount of over $50,000 have already been donated to the college by citizens anxious to see the institution made a success. The largest donation made by any one person was that by Col. James D. Thomas, which consisted of 250 acres of rich land in Brazoria county, worth at least $10 per acre."

- December 13, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 7, col. 1.
- o o o -


The Second Annual Ball of the Dal-
las Police.

     Artistically decorated and brilliantly lighted, the splendid and spacious City Hall never looked to better advantage than on the occasion of the second annual ball given by the Dallas police. Twelve months ago, the members of the force gave their first entertainment at the Turner building, but last night's ball eclipsed the preceding event, the committee on arrangements having let nothing undone that could possibly add to its success. During the past few weeks some eight or nine hundred tickets had been disposed of, and of that number, 225 couples appeared upon the floor and did ample justice to the choice programme supplied by Prof. Day's band. The music of the first six dances were original arrangements, entitled, "The Mayor's March," "The Alderman's Lancers," "Chief Police," "Assistant Chief Police," "Judge Quadrille" and "Policeman's Waltz." The spirit with which the dancers responded to these themes was the best possible warranty of the composer's skill.  Among the ladies present were some whose personal grace and beauty would have marked them out in any assembly, and there was an excellent opportunity for the unprejudiced observer to pass a verdict in favor of the Dallas girls as, being on an average, more presentable than those of any other city in the state.
     The reception and floor committees were tireless in their efforts to dispense hospitality, and their endeavors were so far crowned with success, that the guests were pleased beyond the utmost expectation.

- December 20, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 2.
- o o o -


     On February 1, Lee Cohn will be found in the finest barbershop in the south at the McLeod Hotel. Mr. Cohn will expend $8000, he says, in furnishing his place.
     Col. N. A. Taylor of Abilene pronounces Trinity river water unfit for use, artesian wells an impossibility in Dallas, and recommends the piping of water from Bosque river.

- December 20, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 3.
- o o o -


     Contracts have been let covering, with the exception of 75x200 feet, the block on which the Oriental Hotel is to be built with six-story buildings. The vacant lots will soon be provided with handsome buildings and the block will be the finest in the city.

- December 23, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 5, col. 1.
- o o o -


     A scavenger's wagon team and load went over the approach to the garbage crematory yesterday. The fall was sixteen feet and it was full of disaster.
     The sale of the Alliance building was reported by the T
IMES-HERALD Friday last. The morning paper, with commendable enterprise, makes known the fact that the building has been transferred to other parties this morning.

- December 24, 1889, Dallas Daily Times Herald, p. 4, col. 2.
- o o o -