Kinsearching April 15, 2012




Marleta Childs
P. O. Box 6825
LUBBOCK, TX 79493-6825

     Another list in the publication, TRANSACTIONS OF THE TEXAS STATE MEDICAL ASSOCIATION, TWENTY-FOURTH ANNUAL SESSION HELD AT TYLER, TEXAS, APRIL 26, 27, AND 28, 1892 (Galveston: J. W. Burson Co., Printers and Publishers, 1892), gives the names of the officers since the organization was formed on 15 June 1869 in Houston through the April 1892 session. Appearing on an unnumbered page, the roster furnishes the date and place of the annual meeting, the person’s name, and the office he held.

June 1869 – Houston, TX

T.J. HEARD, president

R. H. JONES, first vice president

D. R. WALLACE, second vice president

A. CONNELL, secretary (Note: CONNELL held this office, 1869 – 1872).

F. HASSENBERG, treasurer

June 1870 – Houston, TX

R. H. JONES, president

R. W. LINDSAY, 1st vice president

W. J. LOCKE, 2nd vice president

W. P. RIDDELL, treasurer (Note: RIDDELL held this office, 1870-1871.)

June 1871 – Houston, TX

D. R. WALLACE, president

L. HUDSPETH, 1st vice president

J. T. NORRIS, 2nd vice president

June 1872 – Houston, TX

R. T. FLEWELLEN, president

J. A. MCQUEEN, 1st vice president

D. F. STUART, 2nd vice president

J. LARENDON, treasurer (Note: LARENDON held this office, 1872 – 1892.)

April 1873 – Waco, TX

D. F. STUART, president

H. W. BROWN, 1st vice president

J. M. MORRISON, 2nd vice president

S. O. YOUNG, secretary

April 1874 – Dallas, TX

A. G. CLOPTON, president

T. D. WOOTEN, 1st vice president

M. H. OLIVER, 2nd vice president

W. A. EAST, secretary (Note: EAST held this office, 1874 – 1879.)

April 1875 – Austin, TX

H. W. BROWN, president

L. R. MAYFIELD, 1st vice president

M. A. TAYLOR, 2nd vice president

R. H. HARRISON, 3rd vice president

April 1876 – Marshall, TX

R. H. HARRISON, president

John H. POPE, 1st vice president

T. W. WILEY, 2nd vice president

W. H. PARK, 3rd vice president

(To be continued)

Kinsearching Home Page