Bordering south Georgia in the North Central/Suwannee River Region of Florida, Columbia County was formed in 1832 from Alachua County. In 1858, parts of Columbia were split off to form New River and Suwannee counties. Columbia's county seat, Lake City, is at the intersection of I-10 and I-75 about 55 miles west of Jacksonville and 95 miles east of Tallahassee. Columbia is bordered by the Florida counties of Baker, Union, Alachua, Gilchrist, Suwannee, and Hamilton, and the Georgia counties of Clinch and Echols.