New York Vital Records

New York State Vital Records Office

New York State Dept of Health
Vital Records Section
Genealogy Unit
P.O. Box 2602
Albany, NY 12220-2602
(518) 474-3077

Please note: Genealogy Requests take six months to process.

You may also send your request directly to the local registrar or town clerk of the city, town or village where the birth or death occurred. A marriage license may be obtained from any town clerk in the state. The time periods listed below for obtaining a vital record are waived if the applicant is a descendant or has been designated to act on behalf of a descendant of the person whose record is being requested. The $11.00 fee for a genealogical copy includes both a copy of the certificate (marked "For Genealogical Purposes Only.") and a search of their files for up to three years. If they can find no certificate for the event, you will receive a "No Record Certification" form.

New York State Archives New York Department of Education
Cultural Education Center, Room 11D40
Albany, NY 12230
(518) 474-8955

Record Type Cost Dates Comments
Birth $15.00 Since 1881 Genealogy copies are $11.00 and are available if the certificate has been on file for at least 75 years and the person whose name is on the birth certificate is known to be dead.
Death $15.00 Since 1880 Genealogy copies are $11.00 and are available if the certificate has been on file for at least 50 years.
Marriage $5.00 Since 1881 For genealogy use are available if the certificate has been on file for at least 50 years and the bride and groom are both known to be deceased.
Marriage Fees vary 1880-1907 For marriage records and licenses issued in the cities of Albany, Buffalo or Yonkers, apply to:
  • Albany: City Clerk, City Hall, Albany, NY 12207
  • Buffalo: City Clerk, City Hall, Buffalo, NY 14202
  • Yonkers: Registrar of Vital Statistics, Health Center Building, Yonkers, NY 10701.
Divorce $15.00 Since Jan. 1963 If the records are not available at the State office, they should be available from the County Clerk in the county where the divorce was granted.
Divorce Since 1847 Since 1847 divorce actions in New York have been handled in the supreme court for the county in which the divorce was heard. New York divorce files, however, are sealed for one hundred years. In colonial times, petitions for divorce had to be made to the governor or legislature, and only a few were granted. The court of chancery granted divorces from 1787 to 1847. These older records are in the State Archives.

New York Counties:
Albany, Allegany, Bronx, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Kings, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Nassau, New York, New York City, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westchester, Wyoming, Yates

Go Back to State Vital Records Information

| Site Map | | Gathering | | Organizing |
| Set-Up | | Records | | Research | | Links |