Hubble Sequence

Hubble Sequence


Source [Date accessed 17 Apr 2000]

Proposed by Edwin Hubble in 1926.

Galaxies are divided into three general classes (morphologically): ellipticals, spirals - normal and barred, and irregulars. At the time this was thought to be the evolutionary stages of galaxies.

Back to Beatrice Tinsley

Date Created 1 June 2000
Last Updated 11 June 2000