100F Longe

On May 30, 1868 John T. Sanders, Grand Master of Indiana, granted a charter for the Odd Fellows' Lodge to L. D. Richmond, Santford H. Shoemaker, J. H. Tuttle, W. H. Miller, Samuel Dusang and Phillip M. Rudy.

On June 6, 1868, the lodge was instituted by D. D. Crittenberger, Deputy Grand Master and on which date the following were admitted as additional charter members by initiation:

James Perdue, Henry Stewart, A. M. Makepeace, John A. Stewart, Cary Fenwick, William Harmon, Joseph Lonsdale, H. C. Summers, Cilas M. Shoemaker, W. W. Cornelius and John Polk Shoemaker.

Fetrow Company Formed

In 1893, James Fetrow came to Daleville and established a lumber yard. A few months later he was joined by his father and together they operated the yard until the father's death in 1895. James Fetrow was then assisted by Santford Shoemaker to manage the yard in connection with the Kirby Lumber Company of Muncie for four years. At that date, Mr. Fetrow became sole proprietor and continued thus until the business was closed out in 1933.

The location in the west part of town remained the same throughout the firm's forty years of service to the community.

Visits of Riley and Porter to Daleville

James Whitcomb Riley frequently visited Dalville. It is thought that some of his poetical inspirations were found in the vicinity of Daleville. His famous poem "Out to Old Aunt Mary's," was said to have been written for a lady then living on Henry Brandon's farm. Riley also painted signs. He painted one for Henry Rader's blacksmith shop and another one for John Bender's shoe shop.

Another famous person to visit Daleville was Gene Stratton Porter. She spent some time on the farm of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Richman getting material for one of her books. Mr. Andrew Richman, of Daleville, was a small boy at home at that time and had several chats with the naturalist.

Daleville Post Office

The post office of Daleville, Indiana was established in 1857. The first postmaster was William Suman, who was commissioned September 1, 1857. He was followed by George Campbell Leathers, November 26, 1858. Ezekiel McCall came next, June 8, 1859. He served during most of the Civil War until January 20, 1864, when James Gray was appointed.

Andrew J. Cornelius was named March 19, 1867 and then James Gray was reappointed February 4, 1869. He was followed one year later, February 14, 1870 by Henry C. Summers. William W. Cornelius was appointed the same year, December 12, 1870 and within a month Hiram B. Brattain was named on January 6, 1871. The same year, October 9, 1871, John Price was commissioned.

The following year, September 6, 1872, J. P. Shoemaker was named and then came Samuel B. Garrett on April 27, 1884. Next George O. Suman was appointed October 28, 1885 and a third appointment of James Gray on April 29, 1889. N. Newton Barnard took over on October 8, 1890 and on April 29, 1893 Charles W. Fletcher was commissioned. He was followed April 8, 1897 by his brother-in-law, Charles F. Diltz.

Charles H. Forrest was appointed August 26, 1901 and then came Frank E. Barber, October 11, 1904. Riley M. Shoemaker was appointed April 30, 1910 and died in office February 23, 1916. Earl C. Stewart was commissioned May 13, 1916 and served until the office was advanced to 3rd class. Roscoe N. Shroyer was appointed October 20, 1921 and continued in office until June 4, 1930, when Jesse E. Green received his commission. Earl C. Stewart was again appointed May 15, 1935.

Rural Free Delivery was started about 1898 with Charles Lambert as carrier. About 1900 he was replaced by Charles Hayes who carried the mail in the winter and Otho H. Brandon carried in the summer months. About 1902 Willard B. VanMatre took over and carried until he retired on

April 1, 1934.

Rural Route No. 2 was started about 1906 with John E. Scott as carrier who continued until April 1917 when Omar L. Laird was transferred here from North Dakota. No. 1 and No. 2 were consolidated on April 1, 1934, with Omar L. Laird as carrier. When the route was started it was about 20 miles in length. On October 12, 1974, the route was again divided into two routes. At the present time, Route No. 1 consists of 55 miles and Route No. 2 consists of 24 miles.

Our present postmaster is Mr. Robert (Bob) Williams, who was commissioned July 17, 1947.