The Coxsackie Declaration of Independence

On May 17, 1775, the inhabitants of Coxsackie signed a Declaration of Independence. There are 225 signers, most of them Dutch freeholders from the Coxsackie District of the Colony of New York.  The Declaration was found in an attic at Albany, New York and donated to the Durham Center Museum in New York.

The Declaration
Persuaded that the Salvation of the Rights and Liberties of America, depends, under God, on the firm union of its Inhabitants, in a vigorous prosecution of the Measures necessary for its Safety, and convinced of the Necessity of preventing the Anarchy and confusion which attend the
Dissolution of the Powers of Government:
THAT the Freeholders and Inhabitants of Coxsackie District, in the County of Albany, being greatly alarmed at the avowed Design of the Ministry to raise a Revenue in America, are shocked by the bloody Scene acting in the Massachusetts Bay; Do in the most solemn manner, resolve never to become Slaves; and do also associate under the Ties of Religion, Honor and Love of our Country to adopt and endeavor to carry into Execution whatever Measures may be rendered by our Continental Congress, or resolved upon by our Provincial Convention for the purpose of preserving our Constitution and opposing the Execution of several arbitrary and oppressive Acts of the British Parliament, until a reconciliation between Great Britain and America or constitutional principles (which we most ardently desire) can be obtained; and that we will, in all Things, follow the advice of our general Committee, respecting the purpose aforesaid, the preservation of Peace and good Order, and the Safety of Individuals and private property.
Dated at Coxsackie the Seventeenth of May in the Year of our Lord, One Thousand seven hundred and seventy five. (signed by 225 citizens of
Coxsackie - only 211 still legible)
John Schuneman V.D.S.
Theunis Van Vechten
James Barker
Henry Van Bergen
John L. Bronck
Jacob Hallenbeck (signed with +)
William Hallenbeck (signed with +)
Anthony Van Bergen
John A Whitbeck
Samuel Van Vechten
Pieteer Conyne
Thomas Hoghtelen
Michael Collyer (signed with +)
Francis Salisbry Jr.
Johannes Jansen (signed with +)
Lambert Van Valkenburgh
Casper Hollenbeck
Myndert V. Schaick
William Van Bergen
Casperse Hallenbeck
Peter Bronck
Leonard Bronck
Abraham Hallenbeck
Peter Vanette (signed with +)
Wilhelmus Vandenburg
John Vanette
Wessel Salisbury
Carperse Halenbeck
John Groog
Abraham Salisbury
Reychert Van den Berk
Richard Johnson
John Vosburgh
Richard Vandenberg (signed with +)
Henry Wabber
Arout Van Schaick
Jacob Van Loon
Jacob Hallenbeck
A. Doonhalten
Ebenezer Stanton
William Brandow Jr.
Edward Groom
Haedirick Schram (signed with +)
Clement Overbagh
Benjamin van Gerdener
Frederick Schram
William Jones
Reuben Stanton
Reuben van der Berk
Wilhelme Sammon
Jno Moore John (signed with +)
John Goes (signed with +)
Cornelius Connine
Richard Ten Broeck (signed with +)
John Hallenbeck (signed with +)
John Munday (signed with +)
James Donney
Joseph Groom
Albert Van Loon
Joachim Ryal (signed with +)
David Rose
Gererdus Neukirk
Matthias Hallenbeck (signed with +)
Storm Prosa
Christian Blodaar
John Persaly
Burent Albartsen
Benjamin Cornelius Dubois
Benjam Dubois
Henry Irison
Nikasas Yare
Matthias Van Con Jan
Caspar Pare
John Romear
Benjamin Essex  (signed with +)
John van Steinburg
Gared Peresen
John C. Claus
Jeremiah Steenbergh (signed with +)
John Wall (signed with +)
James White (signed with +)
John Snyder (signed with +)
Nicholas Van Loon
Martin Hallenbeck
John V. Schake
John W. Bught
Nickolas V. Schake
Peter Van Burgan
John Parree
Isaac Collyer (signed with +)
Jacob Livingston (signed with +)
Thomas Templar (signed with +)
Joseph Nesbit
William Groom
Henry Knoll
Isaac Witbeck
William Wells
Samuel Stogles Salisbury
Hendrick Smith (signed with +)
William Smith (signed with +)
George Rosa
Martin G. van Bergen
Wilhelmus Dederick (signed with +)
Jary Van Loon
Johan Wesdernich
Solomon Schut
Nicholas V. Scake
Dirk Van Veghten
John Vosburgh (signed with +)
Frederick Dederick
Johan Niew
J. Wood
Wilhelmus Oorbagh (signed with +)
Laurance Dubois
John Van Housen
William Klauw (signed with +)
Jon Spoor
Johannis Sousa
Petrus Van Loon
Albertus Van Loon
John Rouge
Pet Schram (signed with +)
Dirck Spoor
Andres Eaghler (signed with +)
William Cudney (signed with +)
Frederick Scheck
John Bronck
John Van Loon
Casper Hallenbeck
Matthias Boom (signed with +)
Pete Janson (signed with +)
John H Schurmerhorn
Hugh Denniston
Laurence Winney
Stephen Haight
Thomas Garnett
John Ellis
John Lampman (signed with +)
Mod. Van Sand
Henry Oothoudt
Samuel Allen
Abraham Camer
Wilhelmus Lampman
Herman Becker (signed with +)
Casper Hallenbeck
Nicholas Van Loon
Robert Thomas
Jacob Shoup (signed with +)
Peter Van Loon Jr.
Abraham Van Loon
Hendrick Rose (signed with +)
William Rea
Philip Conyne
Reychert van den Berk
John Schrader (signed with +)
Arent Cooss (signed with +)
Philip Conine Jr.
John van den Berk
Peter Conine
Jam. Hearn
Benjamin Smith
Peter Smith
John Curby (signed with +)
Francis Salisbury
Cornelius Dubois
John Dubois
Thouny D. van Veghten
Cornelius Schermerhorn
Jacob Egbertsen Jr.
Thomas Fish
Peter Bogardus
Thomas Aston
Johannes Brandow (signed with +)
John Casper Van Hoefer  (signed with +)
Thomas Burdick
Arent Fedder (signed with +)
Peter Soufer
William Schutt
Jacob Cook (signed with +)
Coenrad Flaake
Coenraet Hoghtaline (signed with +)
Richard Houghtaline (signed with +)
Baltus Van Slyk
Jeremiah Conine (signed with +)
Peter Van Slyk
Philip Bronck
Martin V. Bargen
Petrus Brandow (signed with +)
Jacob Van Vechten
Abraham Salisbury
Heiybartus Dubois
Benjamin Dubois
William Brandow (signed with +)
Gysbort Oosterhoudt
Garret P. Steenbergh (signed with +)
Egbert Bogardus
Johannes Van Garde (signed with +)
John Person
Johannis Conyn
Nicholas Planke (signed with +)
Abraham Van Garde
Jam. C. Van Waganen
Richard Conways
John Taylor
Goefrie Brandow

Table of Contents

Salisbury page  


Phipps Family Page

If you have comments or suggestions, email me at

This page created with Netscape Navigator Gold