Gilmer County, West Virginia
The Gilmer County Historical Society
Copyright 1976 by The Gilmer County Historical Society Glenville, W.Va.
First Printing, December 1976
Second printing, June 1977
Library of Congress Catalog Number: 76‑53113
Scanned into an electronic image and set in 11 point Arial type at Elyria, Ohio
October 20, 2000
Henry Irvin Allman ...................................................... 10
Noah Johnson Amick ................................................. 10
Mrs. A.H.[Fostaline] Anderson .................................... 11
Miss Alice Arbuckle .................................................... 13
Alma Janet Arbuckle .................................................. 14
James Erie Arbuckle................................................... 14
James Harvey Arbuckle ............................................. 15
John Ernest Arbuckle ................................................. 16
Lorena L. Arbuckle ...................................................... 17
Mildred Almonta Ruddell Arbuckle .............................. 18
George Arnold ............................................................ 19
Dallas C. Bailey ........................................................... 20
Guy F. Bailey ............................................................... 21
Charles Ebbert Barnett ............................................... 22
Leonidas H. Barnett ................................................... 23
Willie Creed Barton ..................................................... 24
Frank and Evelyn [Jones] Beall ................................. 25
Warren Wellington Beall ............................................. 26
Wilbur Beall ................................................................. 27
Farley Warren Bell ..................................................... 28
Floyd Warren Bell .................................................... 29
Jesse Edwin Bell .................................................... 30
John Sant Bell .................................................... 31
Lora D. [Bower] Bell ................................................... 32
Roy Wellington Bell ..................................................... 33
Nelson M. Bennett and Alexander Stump Families ... 34
Ralph W. and Flora S. Bennett .................................. 35
Homer Hays Berry .......................................................36
Haymon Harrelson Boggs .......................................... 37
Jacob Boone, Sr. ........................................................ 38
Mary Elizabeth Bush Border ....................................... 39
James Mitchell Bramlett ............................................. 40
Rev. Richard Caldwell Bramlett ................................. 40
Mrs. Richard C. Bramlett ........................................... 41
Woodville and Minnie Brown ...................................... 42
The Burkhouses .......................................................... 43
Early History of Burks in Sand Fork ............................ 44
Archibald Burk[e]s ...................................................... 45
Carr Bailey Bush ......................................................... 47
Granville McCutcheon Bush ....................................... 47
Dr. Isaac Newton Bush [Dentist] ................................. 48
Ivan Hall Bush ............................................................. 49
Meta Hays Bush ...........................................................50
James A. Butcher ........................................................ 51
Thaddeus W. Byrne .................................................... 52
Eugene Opet Chimene, MD ........................................ 53
Daniel Luther Coberly .................................................. 54
Ethel Pearl Collins ........................................................ 56
Boyd Collins ................................................................ 57
Spencer Collins ............................................................ 58
Currence B. Conrad ..................................................... 59
Conrads ....................................................................... 60
Charles Slavens Cooper .............................................. 61
Everett Roy Cooper MD ............................................... 62
Alvin Lee Cottrill ............................................................ 64
Philip Cox Jr. ................................................................. 65
Bantz Woodell Craddock .............................................. 66
Harvey Lewis Craddock ................................................ 67
Geneva Arbuckle Brannon Craddock ........................... 67
Hugh Nelson Craddock ................................................. 68
Joe Nelson Craddock .................................................... 69
James William Cunningham ......................................... 70
Roscoe A. Darnall .......................................................... 71
Frank Davis .................................................................... 72
Robert Ephriam Davis ................................................... 74
Worthy Davis ................................................................. 75
Harry George Decker...................................................... 76
Dr. Elmer H. Dodson ..................................................... 76
Angelo Fisher Eagon ...................................................... 77
Clark Ellis ........................................................................ 79
Winifred Craddock Ewing................................................ 80
Eula Joe Craddock Ewing .............................................. 81
Dr. James Edward Ewing. D.D.S ................................... 82
Dana Lyda Farnsworth .................................................. 83
Hunter J. Farnsworth ...................................................... 84
George Firestone ............................................................ 85
Elias Beasley Fisher ....................................................... 86
Gideon Camden Fisher .................................................. 87
Fleet A. Fling ................................................................... 88
Henry Henson Fling ........................................................ 89
John Fling ........................................................................ 90
Ernest W. Floyd ............................................................... 91
J.F.W. Floyd .................................................................... 92
Thomas R. Floyd ............................................................. 93
Gainers of Gilmer County ................................................ 94
Lee Gainer ....................................................................... 95
Dr. Patrick Ward Gainer .................................................. 96
John Randolph Garrett .................................................... 98
Christian Gluck ................................................................ 99
James Harvey Hall .........................................................100
Asa Hardman ................................................................. 101
Carl Hardman ................................................................. 102
Francis Gainer Hardman ............................................... 102
Theodore Haumann ...................................................... 103
French N. Hays ............................................................. 104
John Edward Hays, Sr .................................................. 105
John Elliott Hays ........................................................... 106
John Martin Hays .......................................................... 106
Peregrine Hays ............................................................. 109
Samuel Augustus Hays ................................................ 110
Samuel Lewis Hays ...................................................... 111
Adam Heckert ............................................................... 112
Susan Roxie [Bell] Henderson ...................................... 113
Linn Bond Hickman ....................................................... 114
Abraham Lincoln Holt .....................................................115
Roland Holt .....................................................................117
William Henry Jack ........................................................ 118
Levi Johnson ..................................................................119
Hallie Lee Shock Jones ................................................. 121
John B. Jones ................................................................ 122
Josiah Daniel Webster Jones ....................................... 123
Two Daughters of J.D.and Hallie Jones ........................ 124
Lloyd M. Jones ............................................................... 125
Albert S. Kelley. TH.D .................................................... 126
Robert Franklin Kidd ...................................................... 127
John William Killingsworth ..............................................128
Fred Lewis ...................................................................... 129
Charlie Hannibal Lewis ................................................... 131
Captain Oliver Hazard Perry Lewis ................................ 132
Jacob Lorentz, Jr. ........................................................... 133
Jacob Lorentz, Sr., and John ......................................... 134
John Dolan Lynch ........................................................... 136
John R. Lynch ................................................................. 137
William Brook Lynch ....................................................... 138
Roy B. McGee ................................................................ 139
Hester Ann Heck McGinnis ............................................ 140
Howard J. McGinnis ........................................................ 141
John William McVaney ................................................... 142
C.W. "Judge" Marsh ....................................................... 142
Laura E. Marshal ............................................................ 143
Thomas Marcellus Marshall ........................................... 144
Charles Lewis Maxwell ................................................... 145
Henry M. Messenger .......................................................147
Solomon Mick ................................................................. 147
George Wallace Miller .................................................... 148
George Washington Miller ............................................. 149
William McClellan Moss ................................................. 150
William Elliot Mowery ..................................................... 150
Riley Murphy .................................................................. 152
James Croner Musser, Sr. ............................................ 153
Ivy Lee Myers ................................................................. 154
Jessie Campbell Norris .................................................. 155
Milton G. Norris ............................................................... 156
Captain Daniel Ulysses O'Brien ..................................... 157
Bertha E. Olsen .............................................................. 158
Ed Orr ..............................................................................159
Homer B. Powell ............................................................. 160
Ruby Virginia Lamb Pritt ................................................. 161
James Alexander Pickens .............................................. 162
Oren Radabaugh ............................................................ 164
C.O. Rafferty ................................................................... 166
John and Margaret Lockard Ralston ............ ................ 166
Clacy Allen Reed ............................................................ 167
George Pinell Reed .........................................................168
Lewis S. Reed ................................................................. 169
Robert E. Lee Reed ........................................................ 170
Effa Stalnaker Rinehart ................................................... 171
Nora Virginia Roberts ...................................................... 172
Edward Gay Rohrbough, AB, AM, LLD. PhD. ................ 172
Charles Stephen Ruddell ................................................ 173
Dr. William Andrew Rymer ............................................. 175
William Wesley Rymer .................................................... 176
William Harley Satterfield ................................................ 177
Bessie Boyd Bell Scott .................................................... 178
Ray Scott ......................................................................... 179
John N. Shackleford ........................................................ 180
Jacob H. Shiflet ................................................................ 181
Thurman V. Shock Family ............................................... 182
John V. Smith ................................................................. 184
Dr. Waitman T. Smith ..................................................... 185
John Snider ......................................................................186
John Miles Snider ............................................................ 187
William H. Snider ............................................................ 187
William Perry Snider ........................................................ 189
Children of William Harrison Snyder ............................... 190
James Sommersville ....................................................... 190
Delbert Stalnaker ............................................................. 192
Dr. Guy Stalnaker ............................................................ 193
Colonel Salathiel Goff Stalnaker ..................................... 194
Thurman Stalnaker .......................................................... 195
Major William H. Stalnaker ............................................. 196
Frank M. Steele .............................................................. 197
William F. Steele .............................................................198
Elliott Stump .....................................................................199
Michael Stump ................................................................ 200
Michael Absolom Stump ................................................. 201
Miranda H. and Minerva [Conrad] Stump ....................... 201
Boyd B. Stutler .................................................................203
Goff Summers ................................................................. 204
Goff L. Summers ............................................................. 205
The Peter Summers Line ................................................ 206
David Blackman Taylor ................................................... 206
Dr. James Aloysuis Tierney, Sr ...................................... 207
A.L. Turner ...................................................................... 208
Washington "Watt" Warren ............................................. 209
The Crusading Weekley Clan ......................................... 210
Noah L. Wells .................................................................. 211
Floyd West ..................................................................... 212
John Wellington West .................................................... 213
Edna Stump White ......................................................... 215
Horace Laban White ...................................................... 216
Blanche Whiting Keysner and Clay Whiting .................. 217
Charles Thomas Whiting ................................................ 218
Hunter Whiting ................................................................ 220
Samuel Whiling, Sr ......................................................... 221
Samuel Fletcher Whiting ................................................. 222
Clayborne D. Wilfong ...................................................... 223
Frank B. Wilfong ............................................................. 224
Ota K. Wilfong, Sr. .......................................................... 225
Ira H. Williams ................................................................. 226
Roy Lawson Williams ...................................................... 227
Harold Edgar Will ............................................................ 228
Everett Whiting Withers .................................................. 229
Herbert Franklin Withers ................................................. 230
Herbert Howard Withers ................................................. 231
Edgar M. Wolfe ............................................................... 232
Granville Wolfe ................................................................ 233
John G. Wolfe ................................................................. 234
Carey S. Woofter ............................................................ 235
Carey S. Woofter ............................................................ 235
Emery Judson Woofter, D.D .......................................... 236
John Woofter .................................................................. 237
Newton M. Woofter ........................................................ 238
Homer G. Woodford ...................................................... 239
History of Woodfords and Ellysons ............................... 240
Scott Van Horn .............................................................. 241
Albert Ruddell Yerkey .................................................... 242
Aaron Bell Young ........................................................... 243
Guy B. Young ................................................................ 244
Lyda Duane Zinn ........................................................... 245
GILMER COUNTY, WEST VIRGINIA
This booklet is a collection of biographies of Gilmer County people assembled in 1976 by members of the Gilmer County Historical Society. Although every reasonable effort was made to get people to furnish and sponsor biographies of persons living, or dead, we regret that many thaf should have been included are missing.
We believe that the reader will fmd that this collection is a valuable record of the growth of Gilmer County. As announced at the onset of the collection, this was to be, and is, strictly a collection of rather brief biographies or histories. For this reason all lengthy offerings have been divided into multiple biographies, or edited to suitable length.
Those involved in the collection of this material were Bessie Boyd Bell Scott, Hazel Fisher Gerwig, Myra Lynch Mick, Nelson Wells, and Donald and Bayard Yaung.
These brief sketches of eventful lives, concerning sterling characters, is but our attempt to let the reader see them though the eyes of those who knew them, sons and
daughters, relatives and friends.
HENRY IRVIN ALLMAN
Henry Irvin Allman, son of the late James Madison and Virginia L. Wilson Allman was born in Lewis County on September 8, 1873 and died in Gilmer County on October 23, 1944. His parents purchased a farm on the head of Tanner Creek, Gilmer County in the late 1800's. The farm is now owned by a great grandson C. Marling Bailey.
On June 21st 1896 he married T. Faye Zinn, the eldest daughter of the late Marion Bukey and Alice Bush Zinn of Sinking Creek. They had three children, Joy Allman Bailey, wife of Clay M. Bailey of Smithville. Floy, now living in Charleston and James Marion Allman. deceased in July, 1955. His widow Nellie Erwin Allman, now lives in the house built by Marion's parents.
Mr. Allman was educated in the public schools of the county. He followed farming all his life. He was a firm believer in caring for the fertility of the soil ‑ leaving it for posterity in better condition than he found it.
Sponsor: Joy Allman Bailey
NOAH JOHNSON AMICK
Noah Johnson Amick came to Gilmer county from Nicholas county, West Virginia, in 1913. He was born at Snow Hill in Nicholas county on January 21, 1887, the son of Jack Johnson Amick and Algenora Nutter Amick. Mr. Amick attended Business College in Parkersburg and taught school in Nicholas county before coming to Gilmer county.
Mr. Amick was married to Laura Starling in 1912. She was a daughter of Thomas J. Starling and Victoria Carver Starling of Runa, West Virginia. They came to Gilmer Station where he was employed as a bookkeeper for Colburn Coal Company. In 1915, he was employed by R.A. Darnall as clerk and bookkeeper in Mr. Darnall's General Store. In 1921, he became Mr. Darnall's partner thus forming a partnership which lasted for 43 years.
The Amicks had two daughters: Starling (Mrs. Nelson Wells) of Sand Fork Road, Glenville, and Anne (Mrs. Jack Keith, Jr.) of San Diego, California.
Mr. Amick was an active workers and member of the choir in the Evangelical United Brethren Church on Copen Creek, an active member of the Masonic Lodge at Burnsville, and for several years, served as Worthy Patron of the Burnsville Chapter of the Order of Eastern Star. He served as a member of the Board of Education of Glenville District and was later appointed by the State Superintendent of Schools, W.W. Trent, as a member of the first county unit Board of Education.
Mr. Amick had many avocations, a marvelous zest for life, a deep appreciation for nature and was an exceptional raconteur, much sought after by friends and acquaintances who enjoyed listening to him. He was a collector of early mountain rifles, and a gunsmith who enjoyed traveling, hiking, and camping.
Upon retiring, Mr. Amick came to live at his home near Sand Fork where he enjoyed the companionship of his neighbors and friends and continued his active participation in community affairs and the Sand Fork Baptist Church. Mr. Amick died on May 19, 1960.
Sponsor: Starling Amick Wells
MRS. A. H. [FOSTALINE] ANDERSON
In Sept. 1945, Mr. A.H. Anderson moved his family to Glenville, W.Va., where he joined the Science Department of Glenville State College. With him came his wife, Fostaline, and four children. A son, William H., now heads a pulmonary research clinic and is one of the deans of the medical school at the University of Louisville, KY. He is the father of six children. A daughter, Kathleen, who lives in Rome, Italy, has one son, and she does editing and translations for the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. A second son, Cyril D., Ph.D., lives in Seabrook, Texas, and is affiliated with Pan American Airlines. He is the father of four children and grandfather of one boy. The third son, Judson R.. who lives near Brownsville, Pa., is a school bus and heavy equipment mechanic, an Army Reserve sergeant, and the father of one child.
The ten years spent in Glenville were happy ones for the Andersons. They became affiliated with the Presbyterian Church and took an active part in church, civic, and collegiate affairs. During this time, Mr. Anderson earned his Ph.D. in genetics from W.Va. University. He was a member of the Glenville Rotary Club. The children were attending various schools and were quite busy.
Mrs. Fostaline Anderson, always full of far‑reaching ideas,
contacted the Federal Postal Authorities to learn what specifications must be met before mail delivery service for Glenville could be obtained. A postal inspector came and decided in favor of this service, but before it could be completely approved, the streets needed to be marked and the houses numbered. Through the proper channels, Mrs. Anderson obtained pipe, cut to proper lengths, for street marker posts from a well known gas company. It was their contribution. The town was canvassed for money to finance further requirements. Miss Irma West obtained street names from court records. Glenville Womans Club President, Mrs. Paul Woodford, and Mr. Tate Hyer were a great help. Photographs by Dr. Byron Turner were much appreciated. It was a GREAT DAY when the mail truck rolled up Mineral Road. The citizens of Glenville cooperate to the fullest when there is something to be done for the town.
The years in Glenville greatly enriched the lives of the Andersons.
Sponsor: Mrs A.H. Anderson
MISS ALICE ARBUCKLE
Miss Alice Arbuckle was born in Gilmer County, W,Va., on August 4, 1881. She is a daughter of James Harvey Arbuckle and ‑Margaret Elizabeth McClintic Arbuckle. She was educated in the county schools and attended Glenville Normal School in 1903.
Miss Alice, as she is known throughout Glenville, is one of two members of her family now (1976) living and one of two charter members of the Woman's Club of Glenville now living. She was elected the first secretary of the club when it was founded in 1916. The other living charter member is Mrs. Edward G. Rohrbough, the first president.
Miss Alice recalled for a history of the club published in 1976 that shortly after the Arbuckles had moved into a new home in the Brooklyn Addition of Glenville, W.Va. that a large truck stopped in front of the house. The driver began unloading large framed pictures. He seemed to know what he was doing, but the Arbuckles had no idea why he was there. Going along with the situation, the pictures were arranged "all over the house". Later, the family learned that the Woman's Club was having an art exhibit in their house.
Miss Alice says that some of their friends accused her and her sister Alma of "wanting to show off their new furniture" which they had just bought, and incidentally, some of which she still uses in her present home on High Street, Glenville.
Miss Alice and her brother. John Ernest Arbuckle, veteran president of the Kanawha Union Bank, are unable to explain their longevity. However, their father, was one of ten children who lived to be 80 or more. Their mother almost attained 97 years.
Sponsor: Ernest Lee Arbuckle
ALMA JANET ARBUCKLE
Alma Janet Arbuckle was born August 6, 1890 in Troy, a daughter of James H. and Margaret Elizabeth Mcclintic Arbuckle. She was a descendant of the Handley, Shanklin, Alexander and Hunter families of southern West Virginia and of the Mann and Mcclintic families of Bath County, Virginia.
She was a graduate of Glenville Normal School; attended summer sessions of West Virginia, Virginia, Columbia and Ypsilanti Universities. She taught at Alum Bridge, Wallace and Glenville. Miss Alma, as she was affectionately known by the students at Glenville State College. was librarian from 1923 to 1955. The Alma Janet Arbuckle Children's Center named in her honor is located in the Robert F. Kidd Library.
As a member of the Presbyterian Church in Glenville, Alma taught Sunday School class and was active in many areas of the church. She was a member of the Eastern Star for many years and a charter member and president of the Women's Club. After her retirement in 1955 she traveled some. She died January 29, 1975.
Sponsor: Ernest Lee Arbuckle
JAMES ERLE ARBUCKLE
James Erle Arbuckle was born October 4. 1885, at Linn, the son of James H. and Margaret Elizabeth McClintic Arbuckle, He was a descendant of the Handley, Shanklin, Alexander and Hunter families of southern West Virginia and of the Mann and McClintic families of Bath County, Virginia.
He attended Wesleyan Seminary one year; one year at Virginia Polytechnic Institute at Blacksburg, Virginia; and graduated from the State Normal at Glenville in 1908. While still in school he worked part time in the County Clerk's office and continued for some time working there when Mr. Rymer became clerk. After he and his brother John E., bought a farm he managed it until employed by the Federal Land Bank of Baltimore. Erle married Lorena Lee Fries on August 31 1921. They had one son, Ernest Lee. He was a member and Elder of the Presbyterian Church in Glenville and belonged to the Masonic Lodge. Erle died in July, 1963.
Sponsor: Ernest Lee Arbuckle
JAMES HARVEY ARBUCKLE
James Harvey Arbuckle, the son of Alexander and Caroline Handley Arbuckle, was born July 19, 1846 in Greenbrier County, Virginia. He served in the Confederate Army in Company K, 14th Virginia Cavalry. This Company was with General Lee when he surrendered to General Grant at Appomattox.
After the war, Mr. Arbuckle came to Glenville as a clerk in the General Store of W.T. Wiant where he remained several years. He then went to Bath County, Virginia, married Margaret Elizabeth McClintic, and brought her back to Gilmer County where he operated a store at Linn. During this time, the family lived at Troy or at Linn. In 1902, Mr. Arbuckle was elected Clerk of the County Court of Gilmer County. In 1903, he moved his family to Glenville.
After leaving the store at Linn, Mr. Arbuckle traded in lumber and cattle. While in office, he traded his property in Troy for a farm below Glenville where he and two sons, John E. and Erle, continued in business until his death on December 6, 1926, Mrs. Arbuckle died in November, 1948.
Mr. and Mrs. Arbuckle were the parents of six children: Eustace M. was born December 6, 1876, and died April 25, 1934; John Ernest was born February 24, 1879, and is the president of Kanawha Union Bank in Glenville; Alice C. was born August 4, 1881, and is still living in Glenville; Mary Elizabeth was born November 5, 1883, and died Sept. 17, 1897; James Erle was born October 4, 1885, and died in July, 1963; and Alma Janet, born August 6, 1890, and died January 29, 1975.
Mr. Arbuckle was a member of the Presbyterian Church. He was buried in the Stalnaker Cemetery below Glenville.
Sponsor: Miss Alice C. Arbuckle
JOHN ERNEST ARBUCKLE
John Ernest Arbuckle, one of six children of James Harvey Arbuckle and Margaret Elizabeth McClintic Arbuckle, was born in Troy, W.Va., Feb. 24, 1879. He was educated in the local schools. He reports that when he first came to Glenville to work, he served as a deputy under Sheriff Jake Moore. Since Sheriff Moore maintained his offices in his store in Sand Fork, Mr. Arbuckle slept in the sheriff's quarters in Gilmer County's second courthouse. This was about 1900.
In 1901, Mr. Arbuckle was hired as a bookkeeper for the Little Kanawha Valley Bank of Glenville, W.Va. He was elevated to cashier in 1904. In 1906, April 24, this bank was consolidated with the First National Bank of Glenville. The new bank was named the Kanawha Union Bank and he became its cashier.
Under his careful and progressive policies, the KUB has grown with the years. In 1916, expanding business forced the directors to erect a substantial brick structure at the corner of Main and Bank Streets, the NE corner of the lot presently occupied by the Federal Building. With continued growth and the purchase of the Glenville Banking and Trust Co., March 28, 1955, the present structure at the corner of Main St. and Conrad Court was constructed and occupied in February 1961. By 1957, John E. Arbuckle had become president of KUB and remains active in this position in 1976 at 97 years plus.
On October 6, 1909, Mr. Arbuckle and Mildred Ruddell were married. She was a daughter of William K. and Anna Eagon Ruddell. Since she was talented in music and gave lessons to many, his Interests were broadened in this field. However, his interests also included horses and farming. With his father and a brother, Erie, they acquired some 1,500 acres of fine farm land near Glenville and raised Kentucky saddle horses and cattle. They also acquired oil and gas interests and coal‑bearing property.
During most of his life, John E. Arbuckle has been active in Weston and Glenville lodges of the Masonic order. He is a charter member of the Glenville Rotary Club and served as treasurer for 50 years. Both he and his wife were very active members of the Glenville Presbyterian Church, he as an elder and she as organist until a few years before her death, June 11, 1975
Sponsor: Miss Alice Arbuckle
LORENA L ARBUCKLE
Born January 19, 1886, second daughter of J.N. & Margaret E. Fries. Born at Dayton, Virginia. Her father J.N. Fries, founded Shenandoah College, then at Dayton, now in Winchester, Virginia,
Descendant of the Robinson, Cather, Boyd, Patrick, Steere, Lee and Washington families of northern Virginia.
Educated at West Virginia University (where she was one of charter members of Chi Omega sorority), and Columbia University.
Taught at New River Preparatory School (now West Virginia Tech), Montgomery, and Glenville Normal School. Professor of English Married J. Erle Arbuckle, August 31, 1921. One son.
Member of St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Berkeley Springs, W.Va. One of charter members of Glenville Woman's Club.
Died, Weston, W.Va., February 15, 1971. She was an English and Latin scholar, having written several articles for the Reviews of both universities.
Sponsor: Ernest Lee Arbuckle
MILDRED ALMONTA RUDDELL ARBUCKLE
For fifty‑five years, from 1905 until 1965, Mildred Arbuckle was organist at the Glenville Presbyterian Church. She followed her mother, Anna Yencey Eagon Ruddell, who had been organist for many years. She also taught music at Glenville State Normal School from 1906 to 1909 and again from 1918 to 1919 end gave private piano and voice lessons to many young musicians.
Mrs. Arbuckle's musical background came as a result of training and heritage, for her maternal grandfather, Dr. Charles Eagon, was well known for his foot‑tapping fiddle music. She received her formal music training at Baldwin Seminary in Staunton, Va., where she won a gold medal for outstanding piano achievements, and also studied at the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music and at the famous Chautauqua Institute, New York.
Mildred was born in Glenville on October 6, 1886, the daughter of William Kerr Ruddell and Anna Yancey Eagon Ruddell. She lived most of her life on Court Street in a house that was removed in 1960 and replaced by Pickens Hall Dormitory. Her father ran a general dry goods store located in the building which now houses the Country Store operated by the West Virginia State Folk Festival, Inc. The original reed organ from the Presbyterian Church is on display in the Country Store.
Mrs. Arbuckle had one sister. Mary Ruddell Wheeler, and one brother, Charles Stephen Ruddell, who are both deceased. Her paternal grand parents, Stephen and Sarah McCutcheon Ruddell, operated the Ruddell Hotel in Glenville.
On October 6, 1909, she was married to John Ernest Arbuckle. His parents, James H. and Margaret Elizabeth (Betty) McClintic Arbuckle, came to Gilmer County from Greenbrier County. Mrs. Arbuckle was a charter member of the Woman's Club of Glenville which was founded in 1918 and was the second president from 1917 to 1918.
Her father's sister, Ellen Ruddell King, is remembered as the author of the words to the West Virginia State Song, "The West Virginia Hills."
Mrs. Arbuckle died June 11, 1975, at the age of eighty‑nine. Mr. Arbuckle is ninety‑seven years of age and remains active as President of the Kanawha Union Bank, a position he has held for many years.
Sponsor: Alice Arbuckle
George Arnold (1806‑1887) married Rebecca Green (1813‑ ?), October 30, 1830. They were the parents of ten children: Elizabeth Ann, James Seamore, George Green, William Pitt, Nancy Esther, Eliza Moriah, Floyd W., Rebecca Jane, Mary Elenor, and Thomas Wirt.
On Sept. 28, 1854, James (1834‑1909) married Sarah Elizabeth Lodge (1834‑1905). They are buried at Otterbein cemetery, Gilmer County. They had ten children: John M., Rebecca Ella, Hugh Warder, James William, Virginia Lee, Thomas Jackson, Blanch, Van, Mirth D., and Eliza.
Rebecca Ella Arnold (1857‑1933) on Nov. 15, 1874 married Bruce Summers (1852‑1934). They are buried in Otterbein cemetery. They had thirteen children: Arthur, Porter, Stella, Ona, Worthy, Goff, Everett, Arnold, Goldie, Ora, Marion, Hu, Manoka.
Goff Summers (1884‑1943) married Mary Lynch (1891‑ ) on Sept. 3, 1913. Their children are Marybell (Mrs. Elmer J. Shaver), Ella (Mrs. Lloyd M. Jones), Susan (Mrs. Guy Kleis), and Goff Lynch.
Sponsor: Mrs. Lloyd M. [Ella Summers] Jones
DALLAS C. BAILEY
Dallas Carr Bailey was born on Leading Creek in Gilmer Co., Oct. 9, 1879. He was a son of Jacob F. and Jane (Springston) Bailey, and grandson of Carr Bailey and John G. Springston, two of the early settlers of this section of Virginia (now West Virginia). Mr. Bailey attended Glenville Normal School, and afterwards taught two years in this county. He then worked for railroads for two years as brakeman and conductor.
He returned to Gilmer County and was engaged in the lumbering industry for three years. Afterwards he taught in the Bailey School on Leading Creek for two years.
Mr. Bailey re‑entered Glenville Normal School in 1909 and graduated in 1912. He served as principal of Enterprise Graded School in Harrison Co. for five years and as principal of Kenova Schools in Wayne Co. In 1918, Mr. Bailey was elected County Superintendent of Schools in Gilmer Co. and served from July 1, 1919 to June 30, 1923. During his term, much advancement was made in the educational field in Gilmer Co. Junior high schools were established at Rosedale and Normantown, and high schools were at their beginning in the county.
Mr. Bailey was appointed principal of the Shinnston Public Schools in 1923 where he remained for fourteen years. He attended summer schools, and at Fairmont State College graduated with an AB degree in 1929. He held both a high school and collegiate certificate, as well as a Life Supervisors Certificate.
Mr. Bailey was married to Pauline Gillespie of Sutton, W.Va., August 1926. He had one sister, Mrs. Homer B. (Ora) Powell.
Mr. Bailey was a staunch advocate of the principles of the
democratic party, and his religious faith was that of the Baptist Church. He was affiliated with the Masonic Lodge, the Knights of Pythias, and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
Mr. Bailey died November 16, 1938.
Sponsor: Ora Bailey Powell
GUY F. BAILEY
Guy F. Bailey was born at Linn, May 5, 1907, and died April 17, 1972. His parents were Eustas Boyd Bailey and Ollie Talbott Bailey.
As an older student, he graduated from Troy High School in 1929 and, thereafter, he continued to operate the family farm. In 1933, he helped organize the Bailey Reunion and served as its president until his death. During these early years and through his life, he was a collector of historical material and pictures covering both Gilmer and Lewis Counties along with information on the Bailey family. Mr. Bailey was a member and trustee of the Rock Grove Baptist Church and also a Sunday School teacher.
On July 23, 1934, he was married to Lena Brown, daughter of George and Alma Cather Brown. They had four children: Mida (Mrs. Don Peterson), a teacher at Buckhannon‑Upshur High School; James Bailey, an engineer for Dowell at Glenville; David Bailey, United States Air Force recruiter, Atlanta, Georgia; and Brenda (Mrs. Rodney Somerville), teacher's aide at Troy Grade School.
Guy Bailey was a long time member of the Gilmer County Historical Society and was president at the time of his death. He was also a member and vice‑president of the Lewis County Historical Society. As the author and publisher of the "Bailey Family History", he made a distinct contribution to the history of this region.
Sponsor: Mrs. Guy Bailey
CHARLES EBBERT BARNETT
Charles Ebbert Barnett was born January 22, 1875, in Doddridge County. He was the son of Allison Barnett, a Baptist Preacher and farmer, and Mary Catherine Hickman Barnett. He died August 12, 1953, in Parkersburg, West Virginia.
On August 23, 1905, he married Grace Regina Haumann, the daughterof Theodore Haumann and Mary Susan Brannon Haumann at the home of the bride's parents in Glenville. To their union were born: Frederick Haumann Barnett, Susan Dorothy Barnett [Fulton), Mary Roberta Barnett (died shortly after birth), Charles Truman Barnett, Charles Ebbert Barnett, Jr., John Reginald Barnett, and Marjorie Grace Barnett (Shreve). Mrs. Grace Barnett died January 29, 1966, in Charleston, West Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Barnett are buried in Otterbein Cemetery, just east of Glenville, where the parents of Mrs. Barnett are buried.
Mr. Barnett was active in the civic and political affairs of Gilmer County and a prominent Mason and member and official of Glenville Baptist Church, where he served on the Board, taught classes in the Sunday School, and sang in the choir.
He served as Clerk of the County Court of Gilmer County in 1927‑1933; as Chief of the Land Department in the office of the Auditor of the State of West Virginia; as Director of Area 6 National Bituminous Coal Commission, and with the Board of School Finance, West Virginia State Department of Education from which position he retired in 1950 and moved to Parkersburg where he lived until his death.
Mrs. Barnett was quite active in civic and church affairs in
Glenville, Parkersburg, and Charleston during her residence in those cities. In Glenville, she taught for a brief time in Glenville Normal School, was an officer, teacher, and pianist in the Baptist Church of Glenville, active in the Glenville Women's Club, and, with Mr. Barnett, was active in the work of the Baptist Temple in Charleston.
Upon the death of Mr. Barnett, she moved to Charleston, where she lived with her daughter, Susan, until her death.
Mr. and Mrs. Barnett will long be remembered for their civic and religious work during the years they lived in Glenville and Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Frederick H. Barnett
LEONIDAS H. BARNETT
Leonidas H. Barnett, son of Rev. Alison and Mary C. (Hickman) Barnett, was born in Doddridge county, West Virginia, May 5, 1868. Until he was twenty years old he lived on his father's farm, receiving a public school education. On June 12, 1895, he was graduated in the law department of the University of West Virginia, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Laws. In October of the same year he began the practice of his profession at Glenville, Gilmer County, W.Va. In 1893, he had married Maud, daughter of David and Matilda Coplin of Doddridge County W.Va. and to this union was born a daughter, Muriel, on September 21, 1898.
In 1900, he was elected prosecuting attorney of Gilmer County, and he was re‑elected in 1904. Again in 1912, Mr. Barnett was elected to this office. He was a director and vice‑president of the First National Bank of Glenville. He was a member of Glenville Lodge, No. 105, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Glenville. Mr. Barnett was a life‑long Democrat and Baptist, and in 1906 was made chairman of the Democratic executive committee of Gilmer County. Twice he was mayor of Glenville. In 1920 he moved his family and law office to Weston, W.Va., and also purchased a farm at Beverly, Randolph County, WVa. which was a source of real pleasure and relaxation as he continued to practice his profession until his sudden death, April 26, 1936.
Mr. Barnett was considered one of West Virginia's most able trial lawyers and a man of fixed and firm convictions which he did not hesitate to state and support.
Sponsor: Muriel Barnett Allen
WILLIE CREED BARTON
On September 10, 1882, Willie Creed Barton was born, an only son of David and Martha Harris Barton. David was born in Harrison County, January 8, 1849, died July 25, 1929. Martha was born in Barbour County, January 13, 1853, died July 22, 1929. Willie had four sisters, two which came with them to Gilmer County, two buried in Barbour County.
Willie was six months old, when he and his family moved to Gilmer County. Later buying a farm from A.L. Holt, in 1922, located on the Little Kanawha River, above the mouth of Leading Creek. David, Martha, and two sisters were buried in the family cemetery, on top of the hill, above the family home.
On September 16, 1916, Willie was married to Maude Radabaugh, daughter of Ernest and Malinda Ellyson Radabaugh. They continued to live on the farm.
Three sons were born: Hoy Creed, October 8, 1917; Willie Albert, November 22, 1919, and Troy, April 17. 1923.
The Bartons had three grandchildren: Larry, son of Willie and Goldine; Brenda, daughter of Creed and Nancy; and Cheryle, daughter of Troy and Wilda. One great‑grandchild, John David, son of Larry and Evelyn.
Willie was 5' 11", weighing 165. black hair, blue eyes. As a farmer, he planted corn, cured meat, raised livestock, owning a saddle horse. He loved his black collie dog, Nick. He and Maude churned their own butter, had cottage cheese and buttermilk.
Willie died September 3, 1962, of a heart condition. Maude died September 21, 1971, also, of a heart condition. They were buried in the family cemetery.
Sponsor: Creed Barton
FRANK AND EVELYN [JONES] BEALL
Evelyn Jones Beall is the youngest daughter of J.D. and Hallie Jones. Her husband is Frank Beall, Jr., a son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Beall, all of Glenville, W.Va. Evelyn and Frank Jr., completed the academic course at Glenville State Teachers College in 1929. Both taught for a time, he a band instructor in Gilmer and Marion Counties.
In 1942, they moved to Latrobe, Pa., where he worked as a chemist with David Chapman, Hugh Hurst, William Rafferty, Bayard Young, and Bob Stalnaker (all graduates or former students of GNS) in helping operate a munitions plant during WW II.
Following the war, the Bealls moved to Florida where Frank played in dance bands for a time, then joined the staff of the Dade County Health Department.
The Bealls have two children, Susan Warren Beall and Frank Beall, III. Susan married LTC W.A. Bradley, Jr., of Jasper, FL, They had three children: W.A., 3rd; Elizabeth; and James David. Since James David was born on his great grandfather's birthday, March 4, he was given a name with his initials to "J.D." in honor of his great grandfather. They are all now living in Darmstadt, Germany, where Col. Bradley is serving with the U.S. Army. They own a permanent home in Fairfax County, Va. Frank Beall, III, is not married He is living (1976) in Greensboro, N.C. He is employed by Executive Helicopters Inc., and is the pilot for a crew of AT&T Communications technicians. Frank previously served five years with the U.S. Army and was a helicopter pilot in Vietnam. His rank at the time he was discharged was Captain. He received several awards for his service, among them the Purple Heart and the Distinguished Flying Cross.
Evelyn J. and Frank Beall are living in Miami, FL., where they have been permanent residents since 1950.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Frank Beall Jr.
WARREN WELLINGTON BEALL
Warren W. Beall was born November 13, 1836. the 13th child of George H. and Mary Ann (Parsons) Beall, who lived on the Little Kanawha River, above the mouth of Cedar Creek, where B.G. Roberts now lives.
W.W. Beall married Sarah Ann Brannon, sister of Sant and Towny. Their children were: Gertrude (Mrs. J.N. Shackleford), deceased 1920; Robert 1863‑1947; Frank, 1870.1934; Ernest, 1870‑1959; and Roy Wellington, 1882‑1960. All were natural musicians; playing horns and stringed instruments. Frank became a band director. Ernest was a noted whistler, and county surveyor.
Uncle Warren had a farm on Nutter Run. He was a logger and teamster. His dwelling on Beall View Drive was recently razed.
"Uncle and Auntie" were kind to their country relatives, taking us into their home, while we attended school. "Uncle" escorted this little co‑ed to the big front door when she entered the Normal in January 1905.
Sarah Ann (Brannon) Beall died, April 22, 1921. Warren W. Beall died, May 13, 1926, at age 90.
Some of his family are buried in the old cemetery adjacent the GSC campus.
Much information was furnished by grandson, Wilbur Beall.
Sponsor: Bessie Boyd Bell Scott
Wilbur Beall was born in 1895, a son of Robert Newton Beall and Anna Stern Beall. His father was a son of Warren Wellington and Sarah Beall and his mother was a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Stern. He has two sisters: Beulah Gifford, Tucson, Arizona; and Elizabeth, wife of Hayward Stalnaker, Clarksburg, W.Va. Mrs. Bessie Boyd Bell Scott is a cousin.
He enrolled in Glenville Normal School in 1911 and was graduated in 1914, having earned twelve letters in sports and played tuba in the first school band.
Following school, he worked for the Westinghouse Electric Co. Then he enlisted in the U.S. Air Service during WW I. and was discharged a Lieutenant. After a time with the Virginia Electric Co., he opened a business in Glenville which he sold after five years.
His next job was with the State Highway Dept., which he left to open the popular Grill Soda Shop. After 43 years, he sold The Grill.
Wilbur Beall has held many elective offices during his busy business career. Among these were the following: Three terms on the Glenville City Council; Mayor of Glenville for five terms; past president of Glenville State College Alumni Assn.; presently member of GSC Alumni Committee; chairman of the local chapter of Red Cross: chairman for five years of the Draft Board and gasoline rationing board during WW II; and past president and secretary for 20 years of Glenville Rotary Club. He is a member of the American Legion and has been a member of the Glenville Masonic Lodge for 50 years. He helped organize the Gilmer Co. Recreation Center and the Glenville Golf Club of which he is a lifetime member.
During his service as Mayor of Glenville, Town Hall was purchased, the first property owned by the City. The corporate limits were also enlarged which increased the population from 600 to 1800. Parking meters were installed during this time and the city Police put in uniform for the first time. He was instrumental in having a communication system installed in Town Hall which made state wide communication possible. His last four years as Mayor were spent in upgrading the sewer and water systems. This made it possible for the Kinney Shoe Corp. to locate a major plant here which employs 275 people with a yearly payroll of some $1,000,000.
Wilbur Beall was married to the former Bernyce Bush of Clarksburg, W.Va. She received a Standard Normal certificate at Glenville Normal School in 1918 and an AB degree in 1943 at Glenville State College. She served as president of the Woman's Club of Glenville in 1927‑28; 1946‑47 and 1947‑48. She was also active in other community affairs until her recent death.
Sponsor: Bayard Young
FARLEY WARREN BELL
Born July 15, 1899, died November 19, 1952, Farley was the youngest child of Floyd Warren Bell and Lora D. Bell.
He attended Bristol High School and one year, 1916‑17, at Glenville Normal. He graduated at Shinnston High School 1918, and that same year married Martha Watkins, on May 25th. He attended Muskingum College 1920‑23, and graduated from Davis‑Elkins College, in 1924.
A memorial trophy case, gift of his sisters, Roxie Henderson and Bessie Scott, was dedicated at Davis & Elkins, June 1, 1974. Attending were several members of his family. A tribute was spoken by his classmate and friend, Clyde B. Hutson.
Farley was a star athlete in football, basketball and baseball. He was, also, a highly successful coach. His Mannington football team won State Championship in football, in 1930. At Victory High, in Clarksburg, he won State Championship in basketball.
During census taking in 1940, he was director of the Fourth Congressional District.
He was District Director of Civilian Defense during the WW II years.
When the Veterans Administration Hospital opened, in Clarksburg, in 1950, he became Chief Special Services.
After a brief illness he died November 19, 1952. He was buried in the Shinnston Masonic Cemetery. His wife, Martha, who died, February 10, 1973, is buried beside him. They left a daughter, Marjorie. She is Mrs. Kenneth Joseph Hodson, Washington, DC.
Sponsor: Mrs. Marjorie Bell Hodson
FLOYD WARREN BELL
Floyd Warren Bell was born June 1, 1858, on the L.K. River, above mouth of Cedar Creek, a member of a pioneer family from near Parsons. My mother, Lora D. (Bower) Bell, was born Sept. 27, 1861, in Philippi. They were married Dec. 21, 1882. They had four children: Jesse, Bessie, Roxie and Farley. All of them became school teachers. Mother was substitute teaching when she married.
Father had little formal education. He kept account books, showing debits and credits. Father was a farmer and stockman. For 14 winters he drove his ox team, getting logs out of the woods to the river for rafting. He had a book on board feet measurement and one on rates of interest.
Father and Mother soon had their own home. They owned many good properties in their lifetime, the last one being, "Home Place" in 1911. This house was built, in the 1870's, for Dr. C,W. Eagon, a two‑year job. It was a show place, with pea fowls.
Our parents sent us to school, boarding us away from home for extra weeks. Father enjoyed fox chasing and kept good hounds. Mother read fiction for rest and relaxation. Father said she ought to read something that would do her some good. He read the newspaper, and the Bible.
They were Democrats and Methodists, first at Job's Temple.
Father attended a school of penmanship, singing schools at Pisgah, and went to farmers institutes. He went to programs, in which any of his family was involved; to plays, commencements, to see Farley graduate at Davis & Elkins and Juanita's at GSC, and to see a football game at Marshall.
He said he was the only person still riding a horse along the road. Father died of a stroke, October 16, 1937, at age 79. He is buried in the Stalnaker Cemetery.
Sponsor: Bessie Bell Scott
JESSE EDWIN BELL
Jesse Edwin Bell was born October 3, 1883, on Mill Seat Run near Dekalb, the son of Floyd and Lora Bell.
He taught school at Third Run, Trace, Slab Fork near White Pine, and at the Cather School on Big Run of Leading Creek. He attended Glenville Normal School. He married, Ivy Mae Reed, daughter of Louis and Joanna Goff Reed, June 7, 1907. Their three children were Juanita, Jesse Jr., and Ladde, who all became teachers. Mae was teacher of organ, and Jesse played the guitar, fiddle, banjo and mandolin. Jesse was, also, a breeder of and dealer in Hereford cattle. Later he was a representative of the Federal Land Bank, with headquarters in Parkersburg.
He was an instructor in the veterans‑on‑the‑farm training program. In preparation for this job he had special training at WVU.
Now approaching 93, Jesse operates a TV set 16 hours a day, trying to keep up with world news.
Sponsor: Jesse E. Bell, Jr.
JOHN SANT BELL
John Sant Bell was born June 19, 1870, the son of Isaac and Caroline Cain Bell and the grandson of Townsend and Catherine Parsons Bell and Wallace and Dorcas Kerns Cain.
He was married on August 24, 1895, to Theodosia Ernestine Pickens, the daughter of George and Rachel Kennedy Pickens and granddaughter of Alexander and Polly Beall Pickens and Russell and Rebecca Dennison Kennedy. She was a student of Glenville Normal School and a teacher.
John Sant and Theodosia Bell were the parents of seven children. Those still living are:
John Brook Bell of Whitesville, West Virginia.
Madge Bell Roberts of Glenville, West Virginia.
Mildred Bell Gainer of Tanner, West Virginia.
The Bells lived at Dekalb where they managed a general store and post office for many years. Mr. Bell was also in the timber business. He timbered the eight hundred acre Bennett tract on Millseat where he built a tramroad to aid in getting timber in the Little Kanawha River.
Sant Bell was a Methodist and a staunch Republican, his father being a Union soldier. He lead an active life and died April 7, 1953 at the age of eighty‑one. Both he and his wife and four of their children are buried in the cemetery at the Mt. Pisgah church.
Sponsor: Mrs. Mildred B. Gainer
LORA D. (BOWER) BELL
Lora D. Bell deserves a separate section. She was born September 27, 1861. She was of Scotch Irish ancestry, with black hair and blue eyes.
She was a real pioneer wife and mother. She spun yarn and knitted stockings. She, also, knitted mittens of two colors. She dried and pickled vegetables, and made dresses for her daughters. She was a good cook and without recipes. Especially delicious were her custard pies and apple sauce pies, buttering them while hot and sprinkling them with sugar.
My mother loved flowers. She brought red trilliums from the woods. She made Christmas bouquets from cedar sprays, some of which were dampened and dusted with flour.
She had a collection of 200 salt and pepper shakers. She enjoyed looking at them and thinking of the people who had sent them.
Her side saddle is a family relic.
She had a pet collie "Reno" who would sometimes bring the cows.
Mother lived another 15 years, after Father's death, in 1937. During this time she was chosen to unveil the historical marker at a Job's Temple Reunion. Once on Mother's Day, her picture was in the window of a photographer's studio, in Huntington. Her last year was brightened by a parakeet, "Schuyler", whose antics amused her. She thought he must be a Republican the way he chattered on a certain occasion. She died of angina, November 7, 1952, at age 91.
Information by: Bessie Boyd Bell Scott
ROY WELLINGTON BELL
Roy Wellington Bell was born in Glenville, W.Va., January 31, 1884, and died August 8, 1960. He was a son of Warren Wellington and Sarah Ann Brannon Beall. He married Merle Heckert, daughter of Miles and May Somerville Heckert, May 30, 1913. They had two children: Anna Mae, born April 8, 1914; and Miles Wellington Bell, born February 20, 1917. Both were born in Glenville.
In September 1917, the family moved to Clarksburg, W.Va., where the father served as a city fireman for 27 years, then worked for the State Road Commission. Like many of the Bells, Roy W. was an excellent musician and played with many bands and musical groups during his active life. His wife is also a musician and has been a distributor for the Fine Arts Sterling Silver Co. for 29 years.
Their daughter, Anna Mae, married Robert Thomas Combs April 12, 1936. He is Vice‑president of the Union National Bank of Clarksburg. She is a music teacher in the Clarksburg schools and director of church choirs. They have four children: Karen Combs, born March 26, 1941, now Mrs. Gary Miller; Commalee Combs, born January 13, 1943, now Mrs. Daniel Terango; Robert Thomas Combs, II, born October 8, 1944, and married to Barbara Rinehart; and James Wellington, born May 18, 1948, and unmarried. Their son, Miles Wellington Bell, is superintendent for Consolidated Coal Co., Carbondale. Ill. He married Winifred "Fritzie" White July 11, 1943. She is a music teacher and choral director. They have two children: Miles Wellington Bell, II, born December 26, 1946;
and Frederick Johnson Bell, born June 27, 1956.
Sponsor: Merle Heckert Bell
THE NELSON M. BENNETT AND ALEXANDER STUMP FAMILIES
Nelson M. Bennett, my grandfather, was a son of John and Sintha Bennett who was born on Steer Creek, Dec. 18, 1842. March 19, 1863, he married Sarah E. Rutherford, daughter of Philip and Emzy Rutherford, at the home of the bride in Cedarville, W.Va. She was born March 15, 1845.
Their children included the following: Robert F. married Amanda Mathews; Ernest R. married Dessie Poling; Ralph W. married Flora A. Stump; Frank B. married Hallie Stump; Emma E. married Charley Miles, Glenville's well‑known blacksmith; Rue C. married Isaac Hinzman; Minnie married Clarence Stump; Myrtle A. married "Buster" Boone; Ina M. married Rev. Whitt Stump; and Nellie G. married "Doc" Stump.
The Nelson Bennetts lived in the old Bennett home that stands (1976) at the corner of W. Main and Walnut Streets. He was a well known lawyer in Gilmer and surrounding counties. On occasion, he appeared before the State Supreme Court. He was noted for his ability as a chancery lawyer: never accepted criminal cases. He assisted materially in the affairs of Glenville and Gilmer County. His office was located on the corner of property later owned by the Ralph W. Bennetts on Main St. Later, they moved to his farm on Steer Creek. He died of small pox when the disease was carried into Gilmer Co. by a Mr. Bush. Grandmother died at the age of 93. Both are buried in the Bennett Cemetery on Rush Run.
Alexander Stump, my other grandfather, was born in the Steer Creek community and married Cathryn "Aunt Katy" Godfrey. The children of this union included: Alexander "Doc" Stump married Hannah Pearcy; Ollie married Ella Keesling; Elmer married Elizabeth White; Olie married Ell Bell; Mary married Jackson Bell; Susanna married John Fogle: Serepta married Ivan Wilson: and Flora A. married Ralph W. Bennett.
Grandfather was accidentally killed by a yoke of oxen while logging a clearing at the age of thirty‑eight.
Grandmother Stump, "Aunt Katy", was well known throughout the valley. She maintained a boarding house, was midwife to scores, and attended the sick and afflicted. The day was never two stormy or hot, and the night never too cold or dark that she failed to make her rounds, either by foot or on horseback. She lived with the Ralph Bennetts the last seventeen years of her life during which time she was completely blind. She died at age 89. Both she and Grandfather Stump are buried in the Stump Cemetery on the farm.
Sponsor: Earle W. Bennett
RALPH W. AND FLORA S. BENNETT
Ralph W. Bennett, son of Nelson M. and Sarah E. Rutherford Bennett was born June 21, 1873. February 10, 1895, he married Flora A. Stump, daughter of Alexander and Cathryn Godfrey Stump, at Stumptown, W.Va. To this union were born three sons: Earle W. of South Charleston, Harry V. (deceased) who lived in Glenville, and Ralph Glenn of Clarksburg.
Earle married Odessa Chenoweth of Glenville on Dec. 27, 1919. She was the daughter of Elliott and Harriet Chenoweth, a granddaughter of Jasper Newton Kee who was Clerk of the Gilmer County Court for some 42 years, and a niece of John Kee, Congressman from the 5th W.Va. District. She was a graduate of Glenville Normal School in 1919, and a music graduate of GSC in 1933.
Harry married Ruth Powell, daughter of French Powell. He owned and operated Bennett's Sport Shop in Glenville.
Ralph Glenn married Jane Tetrault, a nurse in the VA Hospital, Clarksburg. He was employed by the Harrison County Board of Education.
Ralph and Flora Bennett established a large country store in Stumptown Nov. 14, 1895, and operated it in addition to three farms. In 1918, they moved to Akron, OH, and operated a boarding house. They came to Glenville in 1922 and opened a general store. They were in the mercantile business for 52 years.
Ralph Bennett died April 11, 1947, at the age of 74 years. Flora S. Bennett died March 6, 1970, at the age of 95 years. Both are buried in the Stalnaker Cemetery below Glenville.
An excerpt from The Glenville Democrat, 1965 reads in part: "Mrs. Bennett, truly a Grandma Moses", loves to paint and to manage her 2‑story brick house on East Main St. She is a friendly lady and one who takes a keen interest even today in civic and church affairs and in the welfare of her legion of neighbors and friends.
Sponsor: Earle W. Bennett
HOMER HAYS BERRY
Homer Hays Berry, son of William Jemison and Frances Valera (Hays) Berry, was born June 10, 1877 near Glenville, West Virginia. He attended public schools in Gilmer County and the Glenville Normal School (see Glenville State Normal catalog, 1894). In his youth he worked in local coal mines, ran log rafts on the Little Kanawha River, and did carpenter work. From June 27, 1898 until April 10, 1899 he served in the U.S. Army as a corporal in Company L. 2nd Regiment of West Virginia Volunteers. After discharge, he taught school and worked as a carpenter until 1914 when he was appointed Postmaster at Burnsville, West Virginia. From 1923 until 1928 the family lived at Morgantown, West Virginia where Mr. Berry was a construction contractor. In 1928 he moved back to Gilmer County and from January 8, 1929 thru January 7, 1931 he was Deputy Assessor under Charles G. Hays, but then resumed carpentering until retirement.
Mr. Berry contracted construction of, or worked as a carpenter on an addition to Glenville High School, the gymnasiums at Tanner and Troy, the "College Barn" at Northview and many business buildings and private residences. Mr. Berry's hobby was reading and he was very fond of poetry, particularly poems by Robert W. Service and H.W. Longfellow.
He died Oct. 10. 1959, at the family home, Hays City Addn., Glenville.
Mr. Berry was married to Fanny Belle Clowser on October 9, 1903. Their children are: Creda Morris, Burnsville, West Virginia; William J., deceased; Kenton C., Piedmont, California; Walter H,, Seattle, Washington; Edith Bell. deceased; Robert V., Parkersburg, West Virginia; and Charles R. of Athens, Georgia. Mrs. Berry, born March 4, 1890 on Lower Level Run in Gilmer County, continued to live at the family home in the Hays City Addition until her death September 2, 1970.
Sponsor: Charles R. Berry.
HAYMON HARRELSON BOGGS
Haymon Harrelson Boggs was a son of William French Boggs and Nellie Alkire Boggs. He was born at Lockney, W.Va., January 5, 1903. Following his birth, his family moved to Virginia and owned an estate on the James River near Richmond. He grew up there.
Haymon Boggs attended Blackstone Military Academy and was graduated with honors. He then attended the University of Virginia Law School. He graduated from this institution in June 1925. Following graduation, he came to Glenville to practice law with a cousin, Attorney Carey Bennett.
April 25, 1931, he and Catherine Larkey of Chemical, Upshur County, W.Va., were married. They had two sons: Haymon Harrelson Boggs, Jr.. and John Larkey Boggs. There are three grandchildren: William Haymon and Catherine Elizabeth, children of Haymon, Jr.; and Loren Dane, son of John.
Mr. Boggs was a Baptist. a Mason, and served for many years in the Glenville Lions Club and Rotary Club.
In 1927, he began serving as Gilmer County Prosecuting Attorney, a position that he held for thirty‑three years. He was a member of the W.Va. Bar Association, and the National Bar Association.
Haymon H. Boggs died April 8, 1966. He was buried in the St. Boniface Cemetery. His widow continues to maintain their home in the Brooklyn area of Glenville.
Sponsor: Mrs. Haymon H. [Catherine] Boggs
JACOB BOONE, SR.
Jacob Boone, Sr., son of Katherine and Jacob Boone, was born in 1805 in Franklin County, Virginia, near Boone's Mills. He married Martha Sands (born in 1811), daughter of Lucy and Mathew Sands.
Jacob Boone was the father of several children: Polly (1829), Lunicy(1831), Samuel (1833), Katherine (1835), Elizabeth (1838), Anna (1840), Susan (1842), Thomas (1844) who died in the Union Army Camp in Warm Springs, Virginia, in 1862, Daniel (1846), Henderson (1848), Lucinda (1850), Jacob Jr. (1852), and Jordan (1856).
Jacob Sr. lived on Bear Fork. He was considered to be one of the best tanners in the county.
Sponsor: Hadsell Ball
MARY ELIZABETH BUSH BORDER
Mary Elizabeth Bush Border was born in Alice, W.Va., January 21, 1921, a daughter of George Eli Bush and Belle Sheets Bush. She was married to John Paul Border on September 24. 1958. in Alice by the Rev. J.W. Flesher. John Border was born in Petroleum, W.Va., on May 19, 1916, a son of Robert and Katie Turner Border. He died February 4, 1962. They had no children.
Mrs. Border's father was born December 1, 1863, in Alice, and died June 23, 1936. His parents were Billy Bush who was born in 1838 and died in June 1906, in Alice;. and Pheopha Elizabeth Smith, born in 1838, and died in January 1907, in Alice. She was a daughter of George Smith. They were married in November 1861. Billy Bush was wounded in the chest while serving in the U.S. Army in 1863.
Mrs. Border's mother was born August 19, 1879 in Jane Lew, W.Va., a daughter of Ben and Lottie Hudkins Sheets, who were married in 1878. Belle Sheets Bush died January 9, 1954.
Mrs. Border's brothers are Theodore born December 6, 1919; and Asa Bush born May 15, 1923.
Her father's brothers and sisters were Jasper Lee Bush, Mary Jane Bush, Cora Ellen Bush, Andrew Newton Bush, and M.E.H. Bush.
Her great grandfather was one of three Bush brothers who came to America on a sailing vessel. One settled in Weston, one in Tanner, and her father in the village of Alice, W.Va. He married Sarah Collins and they had seven or eight children including Billy Bush. Eli Bush had a leg shot off during the War of 1812.
Mrs. Border's hobbies are crocheting original patterns which include historic and Biblical subjects and making quilts.
Sponsor: Mary Elizabeth Bush Border
JAMES MITCHELL BRAMLETT
James Mitchell Bramlett. a son of the Rev. Richard and Lilly Puckett Bramlett, was born June 25, 1894, at Mt. Zion, Ga, The family came to West Virginia in the early years of this century.
James Bramlett was a World I veteran, having served as a U.S. Navy Ensign. He attended Glenville Normal School and completed the Short Normal course in 1920 and the Standard Normal course in 1921. Later, he earned an AM degree at West Virginia University.
On February 2, 1922, he married Pearl Laird.
Mr. Bramlett was a school teacher. He taught in many schools of Gilmer County and served as principal of Normantown High School for nine years between 1930 and 1945. He also served as a principal in Kanawha County until his retirement about 1959.
He died February 18, 1967, after a short illness in the VA Hospital at Clarksburg. W.Va., at the age of 72. He had been living with his wife at 216 Howard Street, Glenville, W.Va., at the time. James Bramlett was a member of the Trinity United Methodist Church and the Gilmer County Lodge 118. AF and AM.
Sponsor: William 0. Bramlett
RICHARD CALDWELL BRAMLETT
Rev. Richard Caldwell Bramlett (1858‑1918) was one of the last of the Methodist Episcopal church circuit riders to serve Gilmer county traveling on horseback or by horse and buggy. His churches at which he preached and held revival meetings included the communities of Glenville, Normantown, Crooked Run, Dekalb, Tanner and others.
Rev. Bramlett was born near Lawrenceville, Georgia. His father, John O. Bramlett, served as a Confederate cavalryman in the Civil War, was captured by the Union forces and died as a prisoner of war. One of the earliest vivid memories Rev. Bramlett recalled in later life was of the flames and destruction wrought by Gen. W.T. Sherman's army marching through Georgia, "from Atlanta to the sea," burning buildings, destroying animals.
Feeling called of God to preach His Gospel, but unable to read or write, as a future minister he was enrolled at Tennessee Wesleyan, Athens, Tennessee. Twelve years later he was graduated summa cum laude in the college class of 1884. A classical scholar he could and did read the Holy Scripture in the original Hebrew, Greek and Latin texts.
Lillie Alice Puckett of Gainsville, Georgia and the young minister were married in 1891 and four of the children born to the marriage lived to maturity. Two of his sons and a daughter were at various times teachers in Gilmer County schools.
From the Glenville Circuit Rev. Bramlett went to the Cowen Circuit in Webster County. He died there from pneumonia, believed to have been caused by exposure to severe winter weather suffered while riding to one of his churches. He is buried in a grave plot contributed to his memory by the IOOF of Cowen.
Sponsor: William O. Bramlett
MRS. RICHARD C. BRAMLETT
Mrs. R.C. (Lillie Alice Puckett) Bramlett (1866‑1951) born in Dawson, Georgia, an orphan at ten, grew up an only child in the home of an aunt and uncle in Gainsville, Georgia.
Miss Lillie's elementary schooling was at home and at Professor LaHaute's Female Seminary and Academy, at Gainsville. She studied what a proper southern girl of the time should ... reading and literature through McGuffey's Eclectic sixth, writing a clear legible hand, ladylike conduct, ciphering through long division and fractions. She was a champion at orthography; she could outspell her teacher. Her foster parents bought her a melodeon which she learned to play by note, becoming a child church organist. An adult, she read widely and he continued conscientious study of the Bible until the day of her death.
A relative and a church official introduced Miss Lillie to her future husband. She and Richard C. Bramlett were married December 22, 1891.
All four of her eight children who lived to maturity were graduated from Glenville State. Sons James and William (Jim and Willie) taught in Gilmer County. Son Paul played the lead in the senior class play, 1934. Daughter May after teaching in Glenville married attorney Fred B. Deem, credited with authorship of college and state song, "Hail, West Virginia".
After her husband died Mrs. Bramlett bought a home in Glenville and lived there the rest of her life, "a circuit rider's widow," as she described her life style, a leader of church activities. One of these was the adult Bible study class which she led through more than thirty years and which was commonly called "Mrs. Bramlett's Sunday School Class." This class with its dedicated devoted students gave her especial fulfillment, pleasure and joy.
Sponsor: WillIam O. Bramlett
WOODVILLE AND MINNIE BROWN
Woodville and Minnie Mae Sommerville Brown, descendants of pioneer families of Broad Run in Lewis Co. and Good Hope in Harrison Co. brought and moved to the C.S. Hudnall farm of about 200 acres at Stouts Mills on Sliding (Hill) Run in 1914. Around 1902 they had left Buffalo Creek in Harrison Co. with their children, dogs, horses, and cattle, traveling on foot, in buggy, and by wagon and moved to Copen in Braxton Co. where they had bought a farm, believing that construction of the Coal and Coke Railroad and the opening of the mines would make possible a better living for the family. They had crossed Gilmer Co., spending a night on Lynch Run at Cal Sommerville's and fording the Little Kanawha River at the Gilmer ford. The three youngest of their thirteen children. Ethel, Freda, and Frank, were born in Braxton Co. Stella and Statie, twins, Olive. Audra, Willie, Edith, Oral, Zella, Race, and a baby who died at birth were born in Harrison Co. By 1914 they has accumulated enough money to buy a good farm and did, living and farming there until Woodville's death in 1942.
Woodville Brown was the son of Waldo Bailey and Mary Elizabeth Norris Brown. The Baileys and Browns having come from Virginia to Broad Run before 1800. Minnie Sommerville was the daughter of William Sommerville whose father James was born in Ireland and Edith Burnside Somerville. Two brothers of Minnie and a sister of Woodville's, James and Rose Brown Sommerville of Crooked Run and Cal Sommerville, were also Gilmer Co. residents. By one of history's quirks Gilmerton, Scotland, a village outside Edinburgh, is the location of the Drum, the Sommerville family property for four centuries, 1406‑1800.
Sponsor: Mrs. O. H. Brown
Albert F. Burkhouse Jemima Arminda McCulty Burkhouse
born 1850 born 1862
died 1926 died 1932
A. E. Berkhouse Alma Ethel Berkhouse Berry
born Jan. 22, 1891 born Jan. 22, 1891
died Apr. 4. 1970
Albert F. Berkhouse was born in Pennsylvania where he learned the wheelwright business. He was an apprentice to the owner of the business. He came to West Virginia where he met and married Jemima McCulty whose people came from Calhoun County. They were the parents of eight children: Talmag, Gay, Lydia, Esty, Ethel, Mary, Freer, and Frank. Frank (residing in Akron, Ohio) and Ethel (85 years old and residing in Baldwin, West Virginia) are still living.
They wanted to secure a place where we children could get an education. So in June 1891 they came to Glenville where he set up a shop on Bridge Street. There he did carpentry work, such as wagons, sleds, buggies and other things. He worked at this until he helped lay the pipe for the water company. When all pipes were laid the company hired him, where he worked as an engineer for 21 years. He and Frank were coming home from work when he suffered a heart attack and died.
Of the children, six earned a diploma; five as teachers and one as a druggist. Alva Esty. the druggist, earned his license as a druggist at Morgantown. He first worked for James Tierney. Then he bought the store and worked there till he retired. Then he worked for Mr. Goff Summers until he died on April 4, 1970.
Sponsor: The Gilmer County Historical Society
EARLY HISTORY OF BURKS IN SAND FORK
One morning about the middle of August James Hughes, William Lowther and Ellis Hughes, left the West Fork River, south of Weston, and started westward toward Parkersburg. Their aim was to reach the headwaters of Leading Creek and follow it to the Little Kanawha River. By mistake they arrived on the headwaters of Sandy Creek (presently known as Sand Fork Creek) and traveled to the point where it enters the Little Kanawha
River. These were among the first white men to enter what is now Gilmer County and the town which is Sand Fork (Layopolis).
In about 1803, Thomas Burk, who was then about thirty years of age, secured the job as chainman for the two noted surveyors Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon. Thomas worked at this service until about 1807. He received sixty cents a day and his family of two sons, John and Samuel, together with their mother lived on this salary and farm income.
John Burk, born in Virginia 1791 and died November 6, 1872, and his wife, Elizabeth (Cline) Burk born in Virginia 1795 died January 23, 1877, made their way to what is now Linn. There they turned south until they reached the waters of Sand Fork Creek and followed it to its mouth. There at the junction of Sand Fork Creek and the Little Kanawha River, they settled in a one room log house which they built on the north bank of Sand Fork Creek.
After some difficulties, John Burk received a grant for this land for services rendered to the State of Virginia. This land grant which was on sheepskin was surveyed on 26 December 1814 by virtue of an official Treasury warrant No. 5294 issued 9 November 1814 and signed by the Governor of Virginia, James Pleasants, on 27 July 1825. The land involved was a one hundred acre tract on the northeasterly side of the Little Kanawha River and on both sides of Sand Fork Creek.
The John Burk's had at least three children, Hattie. Joseph and Archibald.
Sponsor: Dr. Ronnie L. Burke
Archibald Burk, son of John and Elizabeth, was born 20 August 1835 and married Malinda S. Moyers on 13 December 1860. Malinda was born 9 April 1842 in Pocahontas County to Philip Moyers (died in 1867) and Susanna (Harold) Moyers who died 24 January 1881.
The Archibald Burk's children were born as follows; Luther, January 5, 1862; Dora A., August 16, 1863; Almira J., September 10, 1865; John A., July 31, 1867; Arthela E., November 6, 1869; Anthony M., December 10, 1871; Mary L., April 26, 1874; Roman C., May 4, 1878; and Edna M., August 2, 1883.
Archibald Burk obtained the segment of the original land grant which was to the south of Sand Fork Creek from his father on August 23, 1865 (Deed Book 4B page 291). In addition to this land, Archibald obtained several parcels of land from various individuals, and at one time owned approximately three‑hundred acres in and around the town of Sand Fork. Archibald was a farmer, justice of the peace, and postmaster.
His real estate was divided in 1903 to Anthony M. and Cora D. Burk, and Roman C. and Flossie Ann (Doyle) Burk. Reportedly these two sons, Anthony and Roman, received the land under an agreement they would pay for the education of Luther who became an M.D., eye, ear, nose and throat specialist, and John who became an M.D., general practitioner, Anthony and Roman made their homes in Sand Fork.
Roman Burk, born May 4, 1878 died January 15, 1947, married Flossie Ann (Doyle) who was born April 2, 1884 and died December 22, 1966. Flossie was the daughter of Rev. Alexander Doyle and Ellen Norman. Their children were Lucy T., Roy H., Arch, Rolly, Harold, Ned R., Eva and Jack. It was this generation in which some of the individuals added the "e" to the original Burk name. Currently some of Roman's children and grandchildren utilize the name Burk while others use Burke.
Sponsor: Dr. Ronnie L. Burke
CARR BAILEY BUSH
Carr Bailey Bush was the son of George F. and Joanna (Springston) Bush. He was born on January 3, 1849, and died on August 19, 1934. He was a citizen of prominence, a farmer, a stockman, merchant, board of education member, a justice of the peace, and a member of the Gilmer County Court for eighteen years.
He married in Gilmer County to Virginia Woodford on September 29, 1870. She was born in Barbour County on September 17, 1853, and died in Gilmer County on May 4, 1939, a daughter of Jackson and Louisa Woodford.
They lived most of their married life on Sinking Creek and were among the first settlers of that area.
They were the parents of the following children:
1. Missouri Bush Peterson of Coxs Mills, West Virginia
2. Jackson Woodford Bush of Glenville, West Virginia
3. Ira Benton Bush of Charleston, West Virginia
4. Ava Bush (Powell) McGee of Coxs Mills, West Virginia
5. Maud Bush Allman of Weston, West Virginia
6. Gertrude Bush Norman of Parkersburg, West Virginia
7. Asa Gerald Bush of Richmond, Virginia
8. Dr. Ernest R. Bush of Oklahoma City. Oklahoma
9. Elmer Bush of Coxs Mills, West Virginia
Carr Bailey Bush was very devoted to his family, community and church. He was one of the builders of the Horn Creek Baptist Church in Gilmer County. He was a deacon and faithful member of this church until his death. He and his wife are buried in the church cemetery.
Sponsor: Mary McGee Currey
GRANVILLE McCUTCHEON BUSH
Granville McCutcheon Bush was horn in Glenville, West Virginia April 25, 1858 to Abraham Bush and Mary Bush. It is believed that the ancestors of Granville McCutcheon Bush came to Glenville, West Virginia from Spotsylvania Courthouse and before that, from Jamestown. Va., having landed in Jamestown aboard the "Neptune" in 1618. Mr. Bush moved from Glenville, West Virginia to Montague County, Texas to the town of Nacona, Texas and was married to Miss Scottie Davis, daughter of J.L. Davis, a former Texas ranger and frontier guard before and during the Civil war, and one of the party who recaptured Cynthia Ann Parker from the Indians. Twelve children were born to Mr. and Mrs. G.M. Bush of whom two are still living today. They are Granville McCutcheon Bush II of Lyons, Kansas, and Jo LeRoy Bush Crayne of Long Beach, California.
Granville McCutcheon Bush III, grandson of Mr. Bush, and Granville McCutcheon Bush IV. great grandson of Mr. Bush, are also living in Lyons, Kansas, and have visited recently in Glenville, West Virginia in search of more information concerning their grandfather and great grandfather and other relatives. Mr. Bush was a cattleman, abstractor. mortgage loan and real estate man in Texas and passed away in Nacona, Texas. He was a member of the Methodist Church, and served as a steward for his church for many years. He died on June 29, 1913.
Sponsor: Granville M. Bush
DR. ISAAC NEWTON BUSH [DENTIST]
Isaac Newton Bush was born at Tanner, W. Va., April 3, 1856 and died at Burnsville, W. Va. May 2, 1931. Son of George Sampson Bush (1835‑1904) and wife Sarah Ellen Fisher (1836‑1866), grandson of Abraham Bush (1811‑1867) and wife Rachel Goff (1812‑1849), Philip Fisher (1800 1848) and wife Mary Bush (1807‑1876); great grandson of George Bush (1774‑1834) and wife Mary Woolf (1782 1831), George G. Goff (1782‑1867) and wife Joanna Goff (1782‑1861), Charles Fisher (1770 ‑) and wife Eunice Straton (1771‑1862); great great grandson of Salathiel Goff (1748‑1791) and wife Elizabeth L. Gray (1753‑1839), John
Turton Goff (1738‑1803) and wife Monacah Carrico (1745‑1815).
He married at Tanner, Gilmer Co. Sept. 15, 1881 to Albina Virginia Harris born Philippi, Barbour Co. June 21, 1858 and died Burnsville, Braxton Co. March 12, 1936, daughter of Jacob Harris (1833‑1915) and wife Mary Jane Anglin (1834‑1896). They lived at Tanner until 1907 when they moved to Burnsville, Their five children were born at Tanner: Ethel Maude (1882‑1954) married James Lexington Bell; Walter Scott (1885‑1944) married Nora Hardman; Opie India (1891‑1928); married Frederick Daniel Lemon; Eula Madge (1893‑1963) married Frank Amos; Ortho Jewell married Sabra Brosius.
Sponsor: Beryl Bush Griffin
IVAN HALL BUSH
Ivan Hall Bush was born on December 1, 1880 on Horn Creek in Gilmer County. He was the son of Alfred and Erriga Eliza Hall Bush and spent most of his life at Glenville, West Virginia. He died March 3, 1967.
His grandfather, Abram Bush, came to Gilmer County from Lewis County and married Rachel Goff on November 17, 1831.
His father. Alfred, at the age of 18 joined the Cavalry of the Confederacy and served three and a half years during the Civil War. After the war he moved to Texas but returned to Gilmer County in 1867. On October 19, 1871 he married Erriga E. Hail and became a farmer on Horn Creek and later at Linn, West Virginia.
Ivan Hal Bush was educated in the schools of Gilmer County. He attended Glenville Normal School, then taught school for four years. In 1907 he graduated from Mountain State Business College of Parkersburg, West Virginia. He was employed for some five years by the South Penn Oil Company. Later he operated a garage in Glenville for some twelve years. He was employed by the Gilmer County Welfare Board and by the State Road Commission.
Ivan H. Bush married Meta Hays on December 8, 1911. They are the parents of Dr. Ivan H. Bush, Jr., physician of Oak Hill, West Virginia, Dr. A. Kyle Bush, Surgeon, Philippi, West Virginia, Waitman Noel Bush, employee of the Fairfax County School system, Falls Church, Virginia, and Marjorie Given, wife of Henry Given, Strange Creek, West Virginia, a retired school teacher.
Mr. Bush was a councilman and former mayor of Glenville, West Virginia, Past Master of Gilmer County Lodge AF and AM, No. 118, Glenville, West Virginia, a thirty second degree Mason, a life member of the Knights of Pythias, Auburn, West Virginia, a devoted husband, beloved father, and a loyal member of the Glenville Baptist Church.
Sponsor: Dr. A. Kyle Bush
META HAYS BUSH
Meta Hays Bush, wife of Ivan Hall Bush, was born September 28, 1887 near Smithburg, Lewis County, West Virginia. When a young child she moved with her parents, Meta O. Balsley Hays and John M. Hays, to Gilmer County where she spent the rest of her life, She died August 15, 1968. Mrs. Bush's father, Reverend John Hays of Troy and Glenville was a prominent local Baptist minister throughout Gilmer, Upshur, and Lewis counties during the early 1900's. He was the descendant of John and Elizabeth Cummins Jackson who settled in Upshur County near Buckhannon in 1768. Stonewall Jackson is also a descendant of John and Elizabeth Cummins Jackson. Mrs. Bush's mother's family settled in Buckhannon, her
great grandmother being Catherine Powell Padgett, a cousin of General Robert E. Lee and the wife of Lindsay Padgett of Lynchburg, Virginia. Margaret Padgett Married George Washington Baisley, Mrs. Bush's grandparents.
Meta Hays Bush was educated in the Gilmer County schools and taught school for three years. She married Ivan Hall Bush on December 8, 1911. They are the parents of Dr. Ivan H. Bush, Jr., a physician of Oak Hill, West Virginia, Dr. A. Kyle Bush, a surgeon of Philippi, West Virginia, Waitman Noel Bush, Falls Church, Virginia, employed by Fairfax County Schools, and Marjorie Given, wife of Henry Given of Strange Creek, West Virginia, a retired elementary school teacher who taught in Gilmer, Wood, and Braxton counties.
Mrs. Bush was a devoted wife and mother, a loyal member of the Glenville Baptist Church and the order of the Eastern Star.
Sponsor: Dr. A. Kyle Bush
JAMES A. BUTCHER
James A. Butcher was born September 22, 1928 at Cedarville, W. Va. He is the son of Burke and Ora Snyder Butcher. His paternal grandparents were James Alvin Butcher. M.D. and Florence Hinzman Butcher. His maternal grandparents were Andrew Jackson and Mary Susan Burke Snyder. James' brothers and sisters are: Roland (deceased), Mary Hazel (Mrs. Albert Lilley), Louise (deceased), Robert, Mabel (deceased), Teresa (Mrs. Jennings Jarvis).
He attended Gilmer County public schools, graduated from Glenville High School in 1948, Glenville State College 1953, a Master of Arts Degree from West Virginia University 1955, a Doctor of Education Degree from The American University in 1966. He began his career as a teacher‑principal at Lookout Elementary School, Barton, Webster County in 1951, principal at Jumbo 1953, Upper Glade 1954, Cowen Graded School 1954‑1959, Assistant Grant County Superintendent 1959‑1961, Professor of Education at The American University 1965‑1967, Chairman of Division of Education and Director of Teacher Education 1967, and President of Shepherd College 1968 to the present.
He served in the U.S. Army Engineers. He was baptized into the Cedar Creek Baptist Church in November 1952 and now belongs to the Martinsburg Baptist Church.
On June 2, 1950, he married Evelyn Roe, daughter of Roland and Inez Bailey Roe of Cedarville. They have the following children ‑ Janice Lynne born October 27, 1959, Hugh Glyndon born August 29, 1961 (deceased August 31, 1961), and Mark Lyndon born August 29, 1961.
He is listed in "Who's Who in American Education", a life member of the National Education, West Virginia Education Association, Kappa Delta Pi, Phi Delta Kappa, a 32‑degree Mason, Member of Osiris Temple, Martinsburg Rotary Club, and Shepherdstown Men's Club.
Sponsor: Mrs. James A. Butcher
THADDEUS W. BYRNE
Thaddeus Warsaw Byrne was born May 19, 1880, at Sutton, W. Va. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Byrne. According to relatives. "Thad" Byrne went to Kansas when a small boy, fell from a hay mow there, and suffered a back injury which caused him to be a cripple for the rest of his life, though he was always able to work.
After returning to Sutton, for a time he lived with an uncle and aunt, Mr. and Mrs. John Byrne. About 1901. he served as a cook in a lumber camp and held other jobs in Braxton County.
Mr. Byrne came to Glenville, W. Va., about 1903 with Senator and Mrs. John N. Shackleford. For several years he operated a confectionery here. For more than fifteen years he managed the Glenville motion picture theater for C.W. Marsh. and was employed at this job by the Marsh estate when he became ill.
"Thad" Byrne was a widely known fox‑hound fancier. He was the operator of the Show Girl Kennels on Kanawha Drive near Glenville.
"Thad" Byrne died. September 7, 1953, at 73 years of age, in a Sutton, W. Va., hospital where he had been a patient for a week. Although he had one sister, Elizabeth, his only known surviving relatives at the time of his death were cousins living in central West Virginia.
Sponsor: Donald B. Young
EUGENE OPET CHIMENE
In early 1920's, Gilmer County was abuilding new Court House and negotiating with U.S. Public Health Service for a county unit.
Dr. Eugene O. Chimene, M.D., with a Masters in Public Health from Columbia was assigned to Gilmer. City‑born and bred, the hills, valleys, mud streets and deeply rutted roads of W. Va. were something to be mastered that first winter.
By his job dedication, he won the hearts, respect and support of all. Few "outsiders" had they seen try harder.
When his little Studebaker roadster couldn't cope, he went to Bert Withers' livery for a saddle horse. Fun loving Art Chapman, Fred Lewis, "Judge" Marsh and others trailed along to watch. Ascending gingerly ‑with all their help ‑ he ordered the aged mare "Commence, Commence, COMMENCE!!!...as he wiggled and wiggled in saddle to start the motor.
The only public telephone to outside world was in the Whiting House lobby ‑ which was the spot for evening loafers seeking amusement. They kibitzed his phone courtship of a young lady met on previous assignment at Minneapolis, Kansas.
"Doc" married Bereneice M. Rosenwald in Salina, Kansas, Sept. 22, 1925, the niece of fabled Julius Rosenwald. On Uncle's birthday, each niece and nephew got $250,000 in Sears Roebuck common stock. "Doc" received a year of study at The Sorbonne.
Folks were sorry to see the little Frenchman leave Gilmer,
and watched with interest the career that followed.
Returning to the United States he opened his office as Diagnostician in Clarksburg's Goff Bldg., but he was years ahead of his time ‑for West Virginians weren't ready for such fees.
In Spring of 1928, he was appointed Director of the Texas Health Dept. with offices in Austin. Departing West Virginia, he took with him a Gilmer Countian, "Eddy" Orr, whom the Rosenwald family placed in St. Johns military school at Sauna.
Sponsor: Edward N. Orr
DANIEL LUTHER COBERLY
Daniel Luther Coberly was born near West Milford, Harrison County on Jan. 1.1869, the only child of Nathan Granville and Isabelle (Dawson) Coberly. His grandparents were Daniel and Elizabeth (West) Coberly. and Edward and Miriam (Reed) Dawson. His great‑grandparents were James and Titia (Jett) Coberly. his great great‑grandparents were James Stall and
Mary Coberly of Hampshire County, West Virginia.
In March 1875 D.L. Coberly's family moved to Cedar Creek where, five years later, they bought the Coberly Farm six miles south of Glenville, Gilmer County. His education was limited to twelve terms of district school. His main occupation was farming, although he worked at other trades such as timbering, carpentry and masonry. He married Ella Jane Rhoades (11/25/1870‑3/26/1942) on May 5, 1889, and raised ten children: Arnetta Bertha (1890‑1948), Adelaide Beatrice (1892‑1960), Art Bernard (1894‑ ), Araminta Bell (1896‑ ), Vera Blanch (1899‑ ), Alpha Reta (1901‑ ), Alta Edith (1904‑ ), Artho Buhl (1906‑1969), Isom Oppolance
(1909‑1967), and Champ Clark (1915‑ ).
D.L. was appointed school trustee in 1890 and served continuously for 21 years. He was elected a member of the Board of Education in 1910, and reelected in 1914. He resigned in 1916 to be the Democratic nominee for County Commissioner. Being duly elected, he served as a member of the County Court for two years and as president for four years. At that time he was instrumental in the county's purchase of the Gilmer County Fair Association Grounds north of Glenville.
He was a charter member of the Glenville Division of the Citizen's Telephone where he was elected, and several times reelected, treasurer He was a charter member of the Letter Gap Council organized in 1896 and later elected Vice‑ Councilor, Councilor, Financial Secretary, and Representative to several State Councils. He was also a member of the Independent Order of Oddfellows at Glenville.
Mr. Coberly was instrumental in the organization of the Dawson Baptist Church (named for his maternal grand parents) in September 1924. There he was elected to the offices of Church Clerk, Treasurer, and Deacon, and there his funeral was held after his death, June, 1962.
In February 1926 D.L. Coberly spoke at the Dawson School. His subject was "Fifty Years on Cedar Creek" and he recalled, "Fifty years ago, most of this country was in forest. Fifty years ago, wildcats were as plentiful as foxes are today. Fifty years ago, I heard them squall and fight on the bridge point; their screams would cause the cold‑chills to ascend my spine with such rapidity that it would almost knock my hat off," And so described the Centennial Year 1876 in Gilmer County, West Virginia.
Sponsor: Gary Coberly
ETHEL PEARL COLLINS
(Ethel) Pearl Collins was born April 11, 1908, a daughter of Opha and Margie Ann Miller Engle of near Tanner, W. Va. Her grandparents were John Wesley and Matilda Marteney Engle and Preston and Rebecca Wiant Miller.
On May 27, 1930, she was married to Adrian Collins, who is now a retired employee of the Hope Natural Gas Company. The Rev. Wade Blackshire united the couple. They lived during their married years in Gilmer or Calhoun County. At Nobe, they had a general store; at Tanner, they operated a bowling alley.
While the couple had no children, they opened their home from time to time to many nieces and nephews. One nephew, Richard Collins, lived with her and her husband from the time of his mother's death in 1966 until his marriage shortly before Pearl Collins' death. Mrs. Collins was active in church and community endeavors. She was a member of the Trace Fork United Methodist Church. She learned to sing in very early childhood from her father, a well‑known singing school teacher, and performed publicly in religious singing groups and as a soloist throughout her life. She was a great‑niece of Mr. H. E. Engle, composer of the music for "The West Virginia Hills". Pearl Collins died in her
home in Tanner, W. Va., on December 6, 1975.
Sponsor: Adrian Collins
Boyd Collins is a son of Spencer and Cordelia Maxwell Coffins. He was born in Glenville, W. Va. He is married to Dovie Octavia Sommerville. He has been a farmer in Center District, Gilmer Co.; mayor of Glenville; sheriff of Gilmer County; and presently (1976) is a member of the Gilmer County Court. The Boyd Collins have three sons:
Boyd Winston was born Jan. 21, 1925. He is a 1941 graduate of Normantown High School; AB degree Glenville State College, 1948; MA at West Virginia University, 1949. Saw U.S. Navy service in the South Pacific, 1944‑46. His first principalship was at Browntown, Va. Presently, principal of Springfield, Va., schools. He married Betty Jo Simon in 1949. She has AB degree from GSC, 1950. Has taught at Browntown and Springfield, Va. They have two children.
James Spencer, the second son, was born Dec. 6, 1924. He is a 1942 graduate of Normantown High School and completed 1.5 years at GSC before entering the U.S. Air Force, 1943‑45, for extensive service in Europe. He received an AB degree at GSC in 1948, and MA and EdD at Columbia University, N.Y., 1952‑53. He has filled principalships at Oak Hill, W. Va.; Garret County, Md.; Belair, Md.; and Montclair, N.J. Presently, is Superintendent of Schools at Chatham, N.J. He is married to Monoka Nicholson, Glenville, who received an AB degree at GSC in 1948. She has taught school and done some office work. They have three children.
The third son, Jackson Merrill, was born May 19, 1931. He is a 1948 graduate of Normantown High School. After varied service including engine instructor in the U.S. Air Force, 1950‑54, he received a BS degree at the University of Maryland. Presently, he is a salesman for Hugh T. Pack, Realtor, and VP and Chief Appraiser for the Citizens Building & Loan Assn., Inc., Silver Springs, Md. He is married to Ella Marlene Brown, Glenville. She holds an AB degree from GSC. She served as a Home Demonstration Agent in Roane County, W. Va,, 1953‑54. Presently, she teaches in the Hillendale and Cannon Road Elementary Schools, Silver Springs, Md. They have two children.
Sponsor: Doyle Sommerville Collins
Spencer Collins was born April 10, 1861. He lived with his grandmother, Elizabeth Collins, and two brothers and two sisters in West Glenville, W.Va. Following grade school, he attended Glenville Normal School and was graduated in 1882. He was appointed to complete the term of T.F. Kennedy as Gilmer Co. Supt. of Schools and was elected for the following term, Jan. 1, 1887, to Dec. 31, 1888.During this period, he had been "reading" law; took the Bar examination; passed; and opened his law office.
While serving as School Superintendent, he met a Ritchie County girl, Cordelia Jane Maxwell, who was at GNS to take the Uniform Examination for a teaching certificate. At sixteen, she had taught summer school in Ritchie. She continued to teach with her first school in Gilmer Co. being at Walnut Grove. Later she taught at Letter Gap and stayed at the Simpson Westfall home. In all, she taught 12 years.
In the meantime, Spencer had established his law practice. They were married May 19, 1892, in the log house of her parents on Spring Fork of Grass Run, Gilmer Co., where they had moved some years before. Louis and Margaret Mitchell Maxwell had moved their five sons and two daughters to this farm and were having the West brothers of Glenville build an eight‑room house from lumber cut on the place.
The Spencer Collins began housekeeping in a small cottage at the mouth of Sycamore Run. His grandmother, Elizabeth, born March 4, 1799, came to live with them. At over 100 years, she died July 27, 1899. Spencer became ill the following year and died suddenly (age 39) on July 10, 1900.
Spencer had left a 40‑acre tract on W. Main St., Glenville. Cordelia had the West Brothers construct a large frame house facing the road which ran near the Little Kanawha River. Allen Rader made palings to fence the yard of the attractive place. Here she lived out her years. She was born March 23, 1864.
The Spencer Collins had these children: Eustace who married Opal Rutherford and had one daughter; Beatrice, deceased; Herbert Spencer who married Opal Ralston and had five children; Pearl who married M.P. Boyles of Clarksburg and had two children; Ruby V., born Oct. 12, 1900, and died Sept.1, 1901; and Boyd who married Dovie Sommerville and had three sons.
Sponsor: Dovie Sommerville Collins
CURRENCE B. CONRAD
Currence Benjamin Conrad was born January 29, 1812, at Bulltown in what is now Braxton County, W.Va., a son of John and Elizabeth (Currence) Conrad. In Lewis County, March 27, 1833, Mr. Conrad married Ann Haymond (born Dec. 7, 1813, died April 23, 1878). Her parents were Wilson and Nancy (Byrne) Haymond.
Mr. and Mrs. Currence Conrad had eleven children: viz. Minerva, Nancy, Catherine, Amanda, Benjamin F., Louise, Wilson H., Elizabeth A. Thursey M., Julia A., and Lydia (married M.B. Morris of Glenville).
Mr. Conrad was appointed justice of the peace about 1840 in Lewis County, and served until Gilmer County was formed in 1845. Then he served as J.P. in Gilmer County until 1852, and during the same time served as commissioner of revenues. He was elected Clerk of the Gilmer County Court in May 1852, and continued to serve until the reorganization of the State government in 1861.
In the Richmond convention of 1861, Mr. Conrad represented the district composed of Gilmer, Calhoun, and Wirt Counties, and he voted against the ordinance of secession. Opposed to the Civil War from conscientious motives, he took no part in it, but remained on his farm.
In 1870, Mr. Conrad was elected Clerk of the Gilmer County Circuit Court, and began his duties Jan. 1, 1871. By successive re‑elections, he continued in this office until Dec. 31, 1896, when he retired due to ill health.
Mr. Conrad was in the Virginia militia ‑ ensign at eighteen years of age and had advanced to brigadier‑general at the outbreak of the Civil War. In politics, he was a Democrat. It is said that the name for the town of Glenville was suggested by Mr. Conrad because of the "glen" or valley in which it is located.
On October 22, 1897, Mr. Conrad died at eighty‑five years of age. His remains were taken to the old homestead on Sand Fork and laid away by the side of his wife.
Sponsor: Mrs. Alice Young Pennington
50 Years in Business
Hallie and Leland Conrad celebrated the beginning of their 50th year in the restaurant/hotel/motel business on Thursday, October 23, 1975, coming a long way since their early days when they needed instruction in the art of hamburger making. "We started in 1926 with nine stools and four small tables," said Leland. "After buying out Okey McCartney for $1,100, we were on our own‑without knowing a single thing about the business." The Conrads sold their 228 acre Dusk Camp farm when they decided to give up farming and try to make it another way. "Hez Greenlief taught us how to make a hamburger sandwich sold in those days for 10 cents (slice of pie for a nickel, T‑Bone steak, 50 cents with three side dishes and dessert)," Hallie recalled.
Their first restaurant was located on the site their present
establishment, but the surrounding environment was quite different in those early days. "A mud street ran in front of the place, . .boats ran up and down the river nearby. . Blair Gainer drove the only taxi to and from Gilmer Station. . .Charlie Griffith's stable and livery were right across the street. . .they used to grind wheat and corn at a nearby mill." From that modest beginning, the Conrads built up a thriving and reputable restaurant business and constructed a 42‑room motel beginning in 1965. They also operate a 64‑room hotel adjoining the restaurant. Leland Conrad has also operated a taxi service for nearly 30 years. "We built five times on this side of the street over the years," said Leland. "We put this all together like a jigsaw puzzle, bit by little bit."
Mr. and Mrs. Conrad have two children. Hunter Jackson Conrad, formerly assistant principal at Morgantown High School and Associate Dean of Student Affairs at Fairmont State College, who now operates the family business, and Madelyn (Mrs. William M. Kidd) of Sutton, W.V.
Sponsor: Madelyn Conrad Kidd
CHARLES SLAVENS COOPER
Charles Slavens Cooper (1844‑1921) was the son of James Harvey Cooper (1810‑1881) & wife Julia Ann Whitman(1817‑1903) of Jesse Run near Tanner. In 1863, Charles rode the best horse his parents could provide to Greenbrier County to enlist in Company E, 19th Virginia Cavalry, C.S.A., commanded by Colonel William L. Jackson. The 19th fought in several engagements in West Virginia, including the battle at Droop Mountain; wintered near Warm Springs, Virginia; then joined General Jubal Early's army in the attempt to capture Washington. They were delayed by the battle at Monocacy in Maryland and had to turn back at Fort Stevens within sight of the Capitol. After refording the Potomac River at Whites Ferry, Company E engaged Federal Calvary in Loudoun County, Virginia, where on July 15. 1864, Charles Cooper and several other Gilmer County troopers were captured. They were sent to Harpers Ferry, shipped by rail to Washington and then to Elmira, New York, where Charles survived the bitter 1864‑1865 winter in unheated prison quarters.
In 1867, Charles was married to Mary Jane Hall (1845‑1886), daughter of John Hall (1817‑1896) & wife Rebecca Springston (1814‑1897) of Cox Camp Fork of Horn Creek. Charles and Mary Jane settled on Stone Lick Run, where they reared eleven children: Cora E.. Malana L., Okey J., Victor F., Edna C., Price W., Homer E., Everett R., Sidney W.,Eric J., and Grover C. Cooper.
In addition to being good citizens and progressive farmers, the principal contribution of Charles and Mary Jane Cooper to Gilmer County was their love for and support of public education. Their zeal for learning was considered somewhat eccentric by their tolerant neighbors, but they produced a family of school teachers to whom two generations of young in Gilmer and neighboring counties were indebted.
Sponsor: Dr. Homer C. Cooper
EVERETT ROY COOPER
Dr. E.R. Cooper who died February 21, 1976 was one of Gilmer County's eldest residents. Almost from the time he began to practice medicine in Gilmer County in 1915 until 1941 when he accepted employment at Weston State Hospital, his name was a common household word. Many are the miles he rode on horseback to bring healing and comfort to his patients.
Everett Roy Cooper, the eighth child to be born (Oct. 11, 1878) to Charles Slaven and Mary Jane Hall Cooper learned early in life the importance of hard work, honesty, and respect for one's fellowman. Growing up was not easy. He was not a robust healthy child as his brothers and sisters were and during the summer of his seventh year, his mother died. The family remained together and all attended school as much as possible. Charles Slaven Cooper whose schooling had been cut short because of the Civil War encouraged his children to get all the "book learning" they could.
Everett, like his elder brothers and sisters, began teaching at an early age. They passed teacher examinations in order to achieve teaching certificates. Glenville Normal School came later. He graduated from there in 1904 and after teaching a few years in southern West Virginia, he enrolled in the School of Medicine at West Virginia University in 1909. In June of 1912 he was graduated and later that year he was given his degree of Medical Doctor from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Baltimore, Maryland (now University of Maryland).
After having served his internship at Johns Hopkins Hospital (Baltimore) he went to Nicholas County as physician for the Pardee and Curtin Lumber Company at Levisey.
In 1914 he set up an office in Troy. He remained there until 1934 when he and his family moved to Glenville to make college more available for his son and daughter.
In 1941 he was asked to work at Weston State Hospital. He accepted and became so interested in the work there that in 1947 he studied psychiatry, passed the examinations and became a Fellow of the American Psychiatric Society. From then until his retirement, he worked in the Mental Hospitals of West Virginia. Often being the only licensed psychiatrist on the staff. He retired at the age of 82, fifty years of this time spent in the practice of medicine.
Sponsor: Mary Lee Cooper Massey
ALVIN LEE COTTRILL
Alvin Lee Cottrill (January 19, 1869‑November 23, 1948) was the son of Mortimore and Sarah (Cottrill) Cottrill of Mt. Clair, Harrison County, West Virginia. The family moved to Gilmer County about 1885 and included Rev. Frederick Cottrill (M.E.Church), Jane Cottrill Davis, Mary Ellen Cottrill Helmick, Alvin Lee Cottrill and Alda Cottrill.
Alvin Lee was a school teacher of regular school terms and subscription schools; helped build and support the M.E. Church of Dusk Camp; district road supervisor and surveyor; veterinarian. He moved to Glenville, Gilmer County in 1913. While living there he owned and managed the 375 acre farm on Stewarts Creek known as the Sunny Side Stock Farm where purebred Hereford cattle are raised. He was the mayor of Glenville for many terms; designed and managed the building of Glenville's first water filtration plant (1923); trustee of the Glenville Methodist Church (Trinity United) for more than twenty‑five years; Sunday School Superintendent for many years; stockholder of the Glenville Banking and Trust Company; stockholder in the Gilmer County Fair Association; a one‑half owner of a feed store; member of the Independent Order Of Odd Fellow and helped organize the Otterbein cemetery on Route 5.
Alvin Lee married Angelina Jane Davis in 1895. Their two children were: Floda and Nellie who are both graduates of Glenville State College. Floda married Daniel Moss in 1923. Their children were: Evelyn Virginia and Mary Ellen. Evelyn married Thomas Carlton Arnold. They had two children; Leslie Thomas and Linda Marie. Mary Ellen married Herbert Bowlin and had two children; Daniel Patrick and Barbara Lyn. After the death of Daniel Moss, Floda married Preston Irby and now resides in Clarkston, Washington.
Nellie married C.M. Engelke in 1935. Their two children, Alva Lee and George Howard are both graduates of Glenville State College. Nellie lives in Glenville, West Virginia.
Sponsor Nellie Cottrill Engelke
PHILIP COX JR.
Philip Cox, Jr. was born on Hacker's Creek in Lewis County, W.Va. June 1, 1836, son of Philip Sr. who was a son of Isaac, the first Cox of this line to make his way from New Jersey to Harrison County after the Revolution. Philip was married in Glenville January 7, 1864 and, in the year following the close of the Civil War, he took up his residence in the county. He followed the trade of shoemaking.
Benjaminnie, daughter of John and Lucinda (Beckner) Herbert, was his wife. One of their daughters, Clara Grace, married Rev. Friend Hiram Cox, a Baptist minister, thus uniting two lines of Cox's. Ancestors of Friend came from Pennsylvania and Ohio.
Philip Cox Jr. was a member of the first county court which convened at the home of Salathiel G. Stalnaker March 25, 1845. Philip was also a commissioner at the first election. The court divided the county into districts; and, with several others, Philip was elected constable of the second district. The Kanawha River and its waters formed the first district.
He assisted Michael Stump and Steven L. Burson in making rules and laying out the bounds of the prison, not to exceed 10 acres of land adjoining the house of Salathiel Stalnaker. He served on a committee to select lots upon which to erect the necessary public buildings.
Lest there appears to be a discrepancy in dates from 1845 to the year Philip settled in Glenville, he purchased land on Cove Creek in 1842 and served in the Civil War for three years.
Sponsor: Hiram Leonard Cox
BANTZ WOODELL CRADDOCK
Bantz Wooddell Craddock, born 11/14/87, Glenville. Son of Joe Nelson and Virgie Woodell was educated at Glenville Normal and College of Law, West Virginia University. He was admitted to the practice of law in West Virginia in 1910. Craddock practiced law in Pocahontas County before settling in Gilmer County for his lifetime. He served as Prosecuting Attorney, Gilmer County for three terms, and in mid 1930's was appointed Assistant United States Attorney, North District, West Virginia, at which position he served until illness forced his retirement. Craddock died in 1950 and is buried in Glenville.
Mr. Craddock, in 1912, was married to Hallie Whiting and to which marriage three children were born: Bantz Whiting, residing in West Union, West Virginia. Marjorie Estelle, deceased, and Samuel Nelson, residing in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Mr. Craddock, a member of the Methodist Church, was active in civic organizations serving as the first president of the Glenville Rotary Club, 1926, as a member of the Masons, the Knights of Pythias, and the Democratic Party. Craddock's interest in politics was evident by his seeking elected political office on local, state, and national levels, Craddock often served as spokesman before state government committees or boards on behalf of the "Normal" School subsequently to become Glenville State College, the Gilmer County Board of Education and Gilmer County Commissioners.
Bantz Craddock was considered a highly successful lawyer by his contemporaries and his practice was during an era when the populace of rural central West Virginia gave particular note to the finesse and expertise of the practicing attorneys before the bench and jury.
Sponsor: Samuel N. Craddock
HARVEY LEWIS CRADDOCK
GENEVA ARBUCKLE BRANNON CRADDOCK
Harvey L. Craddock (July 26, 1875‑ February 15, 1917) was the son of Hugh Nelson Craddock and Susan Paulina Brannon Craddock. He attended public school in Glenville and later operated a combined grocery store and confectionery on Main Street. On June 14, 1889, he married Geneva Arbuckle Brannon. Their two children, born in Glenville, were: Hugh Harvey (deceased) and Susan Paulina (Mrs. John Henry Purse) of Danville, Virginia.
In 1914 he, with his family, moved to Weston and operated the H.L. Craddock Ford Garage, dealer for Lewis and Gilmer counties, which was one of the first Ford agencies in West Virginia.In Glenville, he was a member of the Blue Lodge, A.F. and A.M. and in Weston, he was a member of the Knights Templar.
Geneva Arbuckle Brannon (August 19, 1875 ‑ November 12, 1965) was the daughter of John Sanford (Sant) Brannon and Susan Holt Ewing. She attended public school in Glenville. Mrs. Craddock was a member of the Order of Eastern Star and later was Worthy Matron of the Weston Chapter. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Glenville and for many years was a Sunday School teacher and choir member. Her church activities were continued at the Weston Methodist Episcopal Church and at Christ Methodist Church in Charleston, West Virginia. Such devotion for her church and organizations did she display that her friends liked to say that Mrs. Craddock was first a Methodist, then an Eastern Star, and then a member of the Republican party.
Sponsor: Susan Craddock Purse
HUGH NELSON CRADDOCK
Hugh Nelson Craddock, son of John and Mary Gardener Craddock, was born in Albermarle County, Virginia, on November 17. 1823. He followed the occupations of boatman on the Rappahannock and James Rivers and pilot on the Kanawha River before coming to Parkersburg in 1861. He enrolled on November 7, 1861 in Company D, 11th Regiment of the West Virginia Volunteer Infantry, and was commissioned as Sergeant of Company I of the 10th Regiment on July 16, 1865 when the two regiments were
combined. On August 9, 1865, he was honorably discharged at Richmond, Virginia, after having been in skirmishes at Elizabeth and Arnoldsburg. in engagements at Cloyd Mountain, Bungos Mills, Staunton, Lexington, Cedar Creek, Petersburg, and Richmond. Mr. Craddock was present at the surrender at Appomattox and saw his brothers in the Confederate forces; they did not speak.
Mr. Craddock was married to Sarah Paulina Brannon on March 5, 1863. She was born in Gilmer County on March 1, 1846. Their children, born in Glenville, were: Joe Nelson, born February 21, 1864, newspaper editor, Gilmer and Braxton counties, and, later, Mayor of Clarksburg; Charles Bert, born September 29, 1872, newspaper editor, Calhoun county, Post Office employee, Greely Colorado; Harvey L., born July 26, 1875, Glenville and Weston merchant; Clara Brannon (Mrs. Noah L. Wells), born May 26, 1877 and Frankie Byron (Mrs. Fred M. Whiting). born May 19, 1886.
Mr. Craddock followed the lumbering and boating business to Parkersburg from Glenville until his health failed in December. 1883, he and his wife entered the innkeeping business at the Central Hotel on Main Street in Glenville. The hotel was purchased on September 11, 1890, and was under the management of S.P. Craddock, proprietor, until it was sold in the early 1920's.
Both Mr. Craddock and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Hugh Nelson Craddock died February 27, 1901, followed by Sarah Paulina Craddock, who died January 1, 1928. They are buried in the cemetery at the college.
Sponsor: Nelson Wells
JOE NELSON CRADDOCK
Born in Glenville, West Virginia, on February 22, 1864, Joe Nelson Craddock was the son of Hugh Nelson and Sarah Paulina (Brannon) Craddock. He was a newspaper man by profession having supplemented his education through attendance at Glenville Normal School and through apprenticeship in the printers trade which he started at the age often. His first independent venture in journalism came at the age of eighteen, in the spring of 1882, when he established the Mountain Echo at Webster Springs. Mr. Craddock was the editor and publisher, along with his
brother Herbert, of The Grantsville News. In Glenville, he founded both The Stranger and The Imprint and wrote a column for The Glenville Democrat under the name of "Ole Eph".
On June 6, 1884, he married Virgie B. Woodell of Green Bank, Pocahontas county. She had been a teacher in Webster Springs. Six children were born: Winnie (Mrs. O.M. Ewing) of Canal Zone, Bantz W. Craddock of Glenville, Eula (Mrs. J.C. Ewing) of Canal Zone, Ava (Mrs. C.C. Stanard) of Weston, M. Pauline (Mrs. C.E. Elliott) of Orlando, Fla., and Thelma (Mrs. J.E. Cruise) of Clarksburg.
Mr. Craddock moved to Clarksburg in 1914 to accept the editorship of The Clarksburg Exponent. He remained with the paper one year. In 1915 and 1916, he was mayor of Broad Oaks and in 1917 was elected as the first mayor of Greater Clarksburg. Mr. and Mrs. Craddock were active members of the St. Paul Methodist Church South.
Joe Nelson Craddock died on September 28, 1925 in Clearwater, Fla. He was followed in death by Mrs. Craddock who died March 3, 1959 in Clarksburg. Both are buried in the Masonic Cemetery in Weston.
Sponsor: Thelma Craddock Cruise
JAMES WILLIAM CUNNINGHAM
James William Cunningham was more frequently known as "J.W." or Bill by his many friends. He was born at Hazelgreen, Ritchie County, W.Va., March 21, 1887, a son of George Fillmore and Florence V. Snodgrass Cunningham. His grandparents were Elijah C. and Kathryn Baker Snodgrass and James Larkin and Eliza Fox Cunningham. (James died Oct. 10, 1887; Eliza died Oct. 1, 1909.)
The Cunninghams moved to Gilmer County, W.Va., near the turn of the century.
After attending Glenville Normal School in 1908, J.W. Cunningham taught school between 1910 and 1920. These included Trace Fork, Tanner, Cherry Grove, Sinking Creek, and Upper Laurel. At Sinking Creek school, some of the male students jokingly say they "wore‑out" three teachers that year. They are reported to have included Avon Ellyson, Carl and Paul Woodford, and possibly R.J. Woodford's sons, Doyle and Tracy. In any event, Harlan Hauman taught for two months and said that he had had enough. Asa Cooper found the next two months enough. It fell Bill
Cunningham's lot to "keep" school for the final two months . These young teachers jokingly referred to their brief tenures as the "fall, winter, and spring terms".
Following this experience, Bill Cunningham worked in the booming oil and gas fields around Tanner from 1920 to 1922. In 1922, he opened a store in Tanner and operated it to 1943. During this period, he was also postmaster from 1923 to 1938, After closing the store, he traded in oil and gas royalties.
On March 6, 1915, J.W. Cunningham and Audrey Snider, daughter of W.P. and Clara Clayton Snider, were married. They reared four children: Worthy Millard, who retired as Lt. Col., U.S. Army, in 1962, and died May 18, 1971; Geraldine, an employee of the Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., Akron, 0.; Janette, teacher at Gilmer County High School; and Clara Belle, now Mrs. James B. Ferrell, Paden City, W.V.a. There are three grandchildren: Charles William Cunningham, Wichita, Kan.; and James Douglas and Jill Anne Ferrell, Paden City, W.Va.
J.W. Cunningham died on Oct. 24, 1962, in the Camden‑Clark Memorial Hospital, Parkersburg. Services were held in the Tanner home on Oct. 28, 1962, and was the first conducted by Mr. J.J. Spurgeon as an independent funeral director.
Sponsor: Mrs. J.W. [Audrey Snider] Cunningham
ROSCOE A. DARNALL
Roscoe A. Darnall came to Gilmer County in 1906 from French Creek, Upshur County, where he was born, March 17,1884‑son of Robert A. Darnall and Malinda Rexroad Darnall. He was Station Agent and Telegraph Operator for the Coal and Coke railroad‑which was the only point in Gilmer County touched by railroad. (This line later became the B. and 0.) In 1909 and 1910, Mr. Darnall served as postmaster and entered the mercantile business in 1911. The same year, he opened a Feed store in partnership with his brother, Porter.
Mr. Darnall was married in 1916 to Myrtle Starling of Runa, West Virginia, who came to Gilmer as a school teacher.
In 1917, Mr. Darnall entered into the coal business.The firm became known as Gilmer Fuel Company.
In 1921, Mr. N.J. Amick became a partner in the mercantile business with Mr. Darnall. This partnership lasted for 43 years. The two men were also partners in the Automobile business from 1930 to 1940.
From 1930 to 1940, Mr. Darnall expanded his coal operations with office and coal‑yard in Baltimore, Maryland, serving thirteen eastern states.
Mr. Darnall and his associates, Porter A. Darnall, Ruth Steele Darnall, and N.J. Amick. were instrumental in initiating action which led to paving of the road from Glenville to Gilmer Station‑only access to the east and south by rail.
During the years, Mr. Darnall became an extensive land owner‑active in church, civic affairs and politics. He also became a member of Masonic Lodge and Burnsville Chapter Order of Eastern Star.
Mr. and Mrs. Darnall enjoyed travel in this country and abroad.
Mrs. Darnall died April 27, 1974. Mr. Darnall, at 92, still manages his Gilmer Fuel operations and maintains his keen interest in civic affairs and in local, state, and national politics.
Sponsor: Starling Amick Wells
Frank Davis (January 14, 1849‑April 1, 1920) was born in Greene County, Pennsylvania and attended college at California, Pennsylvania. He was the son of Ephraim and Maria Conger Davis (about 1831‑October 17, 1904) who came to Dekalb from Brownsville, Pennsylvania. Ephraim operated a sawmill on Holt's Run. After his death, Maria married Jacob Harris.
Frank had nine brothers and sisters of whom we have record. Mary Jane (1851‑1895) married Robert Stuart Whiting (1853‑1944) Pernella Ann (about 1857‑1932) never married and was a nurse at Weston State Hospital and in New York City; Hannah Louise was also a nurse in New York City; Harriet died while young; Hiram went back to Brownsville, Pennsylvania to settle; George graduated from West Virginia University and taught school in Gilmer County to earn money for law school, contacted pneumonia while teaching and died, never married. David died while young: Harry homesteaded in California and died there, never married;
Charles settled in the state of Washington.
Frank married Louverna Elizabeth Whiting (April 1, 1848‑July 25, 1942) daughter of Robert and Sarah Jane McCray Whiting and sister of Robert Stuart Whiting on July 12, 1873. Eight children were born: Robert Ephraim (April 17,1874‑October 4, 1957) married Ida May Bell; Della M. (February, 18 ‑1966) married Sam E. West who served as assessor in Gilmer County; John William (December 20, 1879‑March 10, 1971) married Edna Pearl Goff (April 27, 1887‑July 18, 1947), daughter of Robert F. and Virginia "Jenny" Lamb Goff; Charles Everett (August 28, 1880‑April 22, 1892) drowned in the Little Kanawha River near his father's sawmill while helping to guide logs: Oliver C. (November 8, 1883‑February 2 1972) married Ruth Barnes, daughter of A.L, and Louisa Robinson Barnes of Clarksburg; Harriet (January 9, 1886‑January 9, 1886‑January 9,
1886); Ola (July 1. 1890‑April 12, 1922), a twin, never married; Oda (July 1, 1890‑May 11, 1927), a twin, married Charles Johnston of New York City.
Frank Davis operated a sawmill which was later a gristmill. The building still stands at DeKalb on property now owned by descendants of Frank Davis.
Della M. and Sam West lived at DeKalb and at Glenville. They were the parents of two children Sam, Jr. (July 22, 1915) and Mayfield (July 7, 1913). Will and Edna Goff Davis lived on Leading Creek. They had one son, Robert Leroy,(June 26, 1920).
Oliver "Ollie" was a farmer and lived at DeKalb on the farm that was owned formerly by his parents. He was also skilled at hammering saws. Ollie and Ruth were the parents of three children: Cora (1936‑1936); Linda (April 29, 1938). a secretary for Consolidated Gas in Clarksburg; Charles (August 2, 1940), who with his wife the former Melody Shackleford, daughter of Cecil and Olena Radcliff Shackleford, owns and operates the Davis Clothing Store in Glenville. They have one son, Charles William (June 8. 1971). Ollie served for many years as trustee of the Pisgah Church at DeKalb.
Sponsor: Bradford W. Davis
ROBERT EPHRAIM DAVIS
Robert E. Davis, the son of Frank and Louverna Elizabeth Whiting Davis, was born April 17, 1874. He married Ida May Bell (May 9, 1875‑February 17, 1963), daughter of Alfred dune 11, 1837‑January 13, 1897) and Amanda Wiant Bell (January 25, 1844‑October 5, 1897), on March 23, 1899. They lived near DeKalb on land settled by Ida's grandfather and grandmother Townsend (about 1785‑October 15, 1875) and Catherine Parsons Bell (about 1795‑July 10, 1885).
Robert and Ida were the parents of seven children: Paul C. (January 7, 1900‑) married Hester Burr of Nicholas County. They live in Charleston. Evelyn (February 12, 1903 ‑ January 28, 1980) married Oren Radabaugh of DeKalb. Allison B. (April 15, 1906‑) married Eula Wilson of Oxford, Doddridge County. They live in Columbus, Ohio. Bradford W. (June 15, 1909‑) ,married Edith Cooper, daughter of Eric and Lillie Newton Cooper, of Gilmer County. They live in Wilmington, Delaware. Eloise M. (April 25, 1912‑) married Harry Warfield of Vienna, West Virginia. They live in Newark, Ohio, Dorothy (November 11, 1915 ‑ June 17, 1949) never married. Loretta (1919‑1923). Robert E. was a member of the DeKalb District Board of Education about 1925‑26 and served as trustee of the Pisgah Methodist Church at DeKalb. He was also known throughout the county for his soil improvement practices and his knowledge of livestock. Robert Ephraim died October 4, 1957, and is buried beside his wife and family in the Pisgah Cemetery.
Sponsor: Bradford W. Davis
Worthy Davis, a son of A.W. and Susan H. Davis, was born April 4, 1873, in Harrison County, (then) Va., in the community of Kenchelee. He came to Gilmer County in the fall of 1894 and attended Glenville Normal School. He taught at the following schools in Gilmer County: Sliding Run, Gluck Run (two terms), Lockney, Butcher's Run, and Cedarville (two terms).
He and Myrtle Snyder of Cedarville were married Sept. 26, 1900. She died Sept. 2, 1913. They had five children: Clifford, Mary, Rodney, Helen, and Leona.
In 1901, Mr. Davis was appointed postmaster at Cedarville and served four years. He was commissioned a Notary Public in 1902 and maintained this office to the time of his death April 1, 1957.
Mr. Davis was elected County Superintendent of Schools in Gilmer county in 1902; and was re‑elected for a second term, serving from July 1, 1903 ‑ July 1, 1911.
In January 1912, he moved his family to Texas, but returned in December of the same year. In 1914, he was elected Clerk of the Gilmer County Circuit court and served two six‑year terms from Jan. 1 1915, to Dec. 31, 1928. He also served as a Commissioner in Chancery.
In 1928, he was elected Justice of the Peace of Glenville District, Gilmer County, and served from Jan. 1 1929, to Dec. 31, 1932.
On Aug. 10, 1933, Mr. Davis was appointed Deputy State Tax Commissioner of Gilmer, Braxton, Webster, and Nicholas Counties, and served eight years. He was elected Sheriff of Gilmer County in 1944, and served from Jan. 1, 1945 to Dec. 31, 1949.
Miss Virginia Coleman of Lynchburg, Va., and Worthy Davis were married June 29, 1927. She lives on Brooklyn Drive in Glenville.
Sponsor: Mrs. Virginia Coleman Davis
HARRY GEORGE DECKER
Harry George Decker was born November 18, 1897 at Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, and died at Sand Fork, West Virginia, December 10, 1943. He was one of seven children born to Frank Levi Decker and Clara Keefer Decker.
When he was still a young boy, Harry came to Sand Fork where his father was employed by the Eureka Pipe Line Co. at the Sand Fork oil pump station. He attended grade school at Sand Fork until he was 13 years old, then began working, along side his father, as the youngest engineer and telegraph operator working for the company and received the same rate of pay as his father.
Harry drove one of the first automobiles in Gilmer County and later operated the first Auto Service and repair garage in the county along with his brother Frank, Jr. In later life, he operated a successful automobile sales agency, an oil and gas well drilling business, and sold auto and life insurance.
In the early 1920's, he was married to Floy Blanch Bailey and to them were born three sons: Billy D., Harry Joe, and Robert L.
Sponsor: B.D. Decker
DR. ELMER H. DODSON
Elmer H. Dodson was born February 11, 1852 at Camden, Lewis County. He attended Glenville State Normal School and graduated June 14, 1874. In 1875 ‑ 1876, he was assistant teacher in Glenville State Normal School and then went to Bellevue in New York for his medical training.
August 7, 1878, Dr. Dodson married Lucy Bell Fetty and moved to Glenville to begin his practice. The children of this marriage were: Raymond Dodson who graduated from Glenville State Normal School in 1896. He had two children, Dorothy Dodson Vial and Elmer H. Dodson who was Mayor of Charleston for one term. Raymond was a lawyer.
Edna, born April 3, 1879, graduated from Glenville State Normal School in 1897. She never married and lived in Spencer.
Nelle, born June 14, 1889, graduated from Glenville State Normal School in 1910, married Lorentz Hamilton and lived in Grantsville. They had two children, Victor Hamilton, a lawyer in Grantsville, and Lorentz C. Hamilton, a lawyer in Washington, D.C.
Two sons, Ross and Brooke were medical Doctors. Brooke remained in the Army Medical Service after World War I.
Ruth Lindell Dodson, born 1887, married Clyde Porter of Huntington. They had two children. Priscilla Carter and Clyde Porter Jr., both deceased as are all of Dr. Dodson's children.
While in Glenville, Dr. Dodson operated a drug store in connection with his practice. This was probably the first drug store in Glenville.
About 1897 Dr. Dodson moved to Spencer and practiced in the Spencer State Hospital where he remained until his death, Feb. 11, 1911.
Sponsor: Mrs. Myra Lynch Mick
ANGELO FISHER EAGON
Angelo Fisher Eagon was born at Glenville, W.Va., on May 7, 1909; the son of James L. and Cora Fisher Eagon, and the grandson of Dr. Charles Eagon. He has one sister, Katherine Gillespie, presently living at Falls Church, Va.
After finishing three years of college at Glenville State College, the family moved to Huntington, W.Va., where he was graduated from Marshall College in 1931. He received his Master's degree from W. Va. University in 1939. From 1931‑1943, he taught at Barboursville, W. Va. In 1943, he spent a brief period as an instructor at the University of Kentucky. In 1944, he went to the U.S. Department of State as chief of the Periodical Branch. From 1952‑1957, he served as Cultural Affairs Officer at the American Embassy at Vienna, Austria.
In 1959, Eagon was appointed Music Advisor to the U.S. Information Agency and to the Department of State. He remained in this position until 1966, when he was appointed Head of the Division of Fine Arts and as Professor of both Theater and Music at Colorado Women's College, Denver, Cob. He retired from this position in 1974.
In the field of music as a pianist and as an administrator, he was Consultant to the Department of State in its Cultural Presentations Program from 1959‑1973. He has won several scholarships in piano at the Cincinnati Conservatory and College of Music and at Juilliard School of Music. In 1969, he served as a member of the jury of judges at the first Van Cliburn Piano Competition at Fort Worth, Texas. In Denver, Cob., he was a member of the jury of judges in competitions sponsored by the Denver Symphony Orchestra. He has published a 3‑volume catalog on concert music by American composers.
In 1945, Eagon and Anne Duke Woodford of Paris, Ky., were married. They have three children: James, Katherine, and Anne. The couple presently live in Woodbridge, Va.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Angelo Eagon
Clark Ellis was born November 18, 1894 at Weston, West Virginia, and moved with his family to Gilmer County in 1898. His parents, John James Ellis of Lewis County and Mary Bell Bird of Roanoke, were married in November of 1891. Also born to this union was another son, Ray Ellis, who married Rhoda Baker of Letter Gap.
Mr. Ellis attended the local schools and during World War I served his country with distinction as a member of the Expeditionary Force in France. He was married to Vera Blanche Coberly of Cedar Creek on May 11, 1920 in Clarksburg. In their early married life they lived in Akron, Ohio where Mr. Ellis was employed by the Knickerbocker Moving and Storage Company. Upon returning to Glenville he was an oil and gas field trucker for many years, and later owned and operated the Glenville Service Station. Mrs. Ellis was an employee of the Glenville Midland
Company for several years.
Clark Ellis was a member of the First Baptist Church of Glenville. He was a longtime Sunday School teacher, head usher, Deacon, Trustee and served faithfully in many other positions. He was elected to serve as a member and President of the Gilmer County Court, and was a member of the American Legion.
One daughter was born to this union, Verna Dean, who married Norman Sheets August19, 1949. They are the parents of two daughters, Deana Kay and Stephanie Jan.
Following an extended illness, Mr. Ellis died November 26, 1975 and was interred in the Stalnaker Cemetery.
Sponsor: Verna Dean Ellis Sheets
WINIFRED CRADDOCK EWING
Winifred Craddock Ewing was born in Glenville, January 14, 1886. She was the daughter of Joe Nelson and Virgie Woodell Craddock, attended school in Glenville and was a graduated of Glenville State Normal School. In August 1907 she was married to Ora Moore Ewing, also of Glenville, left her West Virginia home and arrived in the Canal Zone on a steamship out of New York. Her husband had been appointed in Washington to work under Colonel William Gorgas for the Office of Sanitation in Ancon Hospital. Mr. Ewing had first arrived on the Isthmus in 1906 and had returned to Glenville to marry and bring back his bride to the Canal Zone.
Mrs. Ewing had not planned to teach on the Isthmus, but there was a great need for teachers and nurses. Her first teaching assignment was in Empire, later she was transferred to Las Cascadas and had to ride the 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. train from and to Ancon each day. She also taught at different schools along the route of the construction work.
Mrs. Ewing and her sister Eula Ewing were among those who made the first transit of the Panama Canal and she vividly remembers how impressed she was on October 10, 1913 when the Gamboa dike was blown up, the Culebra Cut flooded and the Canal put in operation.
Mrs. Ewing worked for the Red Cross helping to provide food, clothing and homes for the children and widows of construction workers who died while building the Panama Canal.
Mr. Ewing died in 1949 and Winifred Ewing remained as house mother at Canal Zone College until the spring of 1971 when she retired at age 85, and moved to the home of her daughter Winifred Ewing Hausman in Panama City where she now lives. Another daughter Virginia Stich lives in Los Rios. Mrs. Ewing states that the outstanding benefit of living on the Isthmus, then, as well as now, is the unique conglomeration of different nationalities that one encounters. "In the early days, I don't think there was another place like it in the world, French, Chinese, German, Greek ... they all were here."
Sponsor: Thelma Craddock Cruise
EULA JOE CRADDOCK EWING
Eula Craddock was born in Glenville, September 3, 1889, and died in Clarksburg, January 11, 1968. Her parents were Joe N. Craddock and Virgie Woodell Craddock of Glenville. She was educated at Glenville Normal School and prepared herself for a teaching career and taught in West Virginia Schools. In August, 1911, she married Cecil Johnson Ewing, an engineer on the canal, and traveled to the Canal Zone where she resided until 1962.
For many years, she taught kindergarten classes and worked for the Canal Zone Government. Later, she taught English in the Mission School for several years. After retiring from her position in the Canal Zone, she traveled to Japan, living there for a year and teaching in the G. I. School and working with servicemen who needed tutoring. Her career of service included being house mother for the Kappa Alpha fraternity at Oklahoma City University and house mother for the Delta Zeta sorority at Glenville State College when Mrs. Ewing returned to the States. In this last position, the circle was completed. She had returned to her
While in the Canal Zone she wrote for the newspaper, "The Star Herald", published in the Republic of Panama, witnessed the final construction years and the ceremonious opening of the Panama Canal in 1914.
Mr. and Mrs. Ewing had two children: Susan (Mrs. Edwin Bishop) of Colorado Springs, Colorado, and Johnson Craddock Ewing.
Sponsor: Mrs. Edwin Bishop
JAMES EDWARD EWING
Dr. James Edward Ewing, D.D.S., b. 2‑27‑1865, Glenville, was a son of Capt. James M. and Susan (Holt) Ewing. His full brothers and sisters: Homer, Alfred, Abby and Gertrude Ewing.
Dr. Ewing's father, Capt. Ewing, commanding Gilmer County's Co. G, 10th W. Va. Infantry Volunteers, Federal forces, was killed in action near Winchester, Sept. 19 1864, five months before birth of the son.
Capt. Ewing's widow on Dec. 6, 1865 married Capt. Ewing's 1st Sgt., John Santford Brannon. Dr. Ewing's half‑brothers and half‑sisters were: Imogene, Maude, Guy, Eva and Dr. Earl Brannon, M.D.
Sant Brannon reared both families, sending Ed Ewing and John Brannon through dental or medical school in Baltimore.
In Baltimore, Md., 4‑24‑1901, Ed Ewing married Maude Madelyn VanDuyn, b. 6‑1‑1873, Wilbur, Nebr. Both were Episcopalians. Their three children: Susan Adelaide, b. 6‑20‑1903, d. 6‑17‑1912; Lucy Rebecca, b. 9‑5‑1904, m. 1‑2‑1925 at Clarksburg, Raymond A. Goff, b. 12‑24‑1901 at Spencer, son of Hiram F. and Jennie B. (Hughes) Goff; and John Edward "Bo", b. 4‑6‑1912, d. single, May 1946.
Raymond A. "Beanie" and Lucy R. (Ewing) Goff had two daughters: Susan Irene, b. 4‑17‑1926, m (1) 10‑23‑1944, Jack M. Sexton, m (2) 8‑14‑1958, Frank E. Kirschner; Anna Lee, b. 3‑19‑1929, m (1) 1947, 0. Lloyd Estep, m (2( 5‑30‑1952, Harry Loudermilk.
Dr. Ewing d. 11‑16‑1933 at Glenville and wife. Maude M. (VanDuyn) Ewing, d. 11‑3‑1 956 at Masonic Home near Parkersburg. Both buried in pioneer College Cemetery Glenville.
Sponsor: Edward N. Orr
DANA LYDA FARNSWORTH
Dana Lyda Farnsworth was born April 7, 1905, in Troy, West Virginia, the son of Henry Lyda and Isabell (Waggoner) Farnsworth. He married Elma Morris, March 18, 1931. He attended Glenville Normal School, West Virginia University, received A. B. in 1927 and B. S. in 1931, and Harvard University, receiving M.D. in 1933. During World War II, he served in the Medical Corps of the U. S. Navy.
Dr. Farnsworth's entire professional life has been devoted to the health of college and university students. He served first at Williams College as Director of Health, then Medical Director of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and from 1954 to 1971, held the joint appointments of Henry K. Oliver Professor of Hygiene and Director of the University Health Services at Harvard University.
During his career, Dr. Farnsworth has served as President of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry, President of the American College Health Association, Chairman of the Fourth National Conference on Health in Colleges, and Chairman of the First International Conference on Student Mental Health. He served on the Joint Commission on Mental Health of Children from 1966 to 1970. He served as Council Member of the American Psychiatric Association from 1958 to 1961. From 1963 to 1972, he was a member of the American Medical Association Council on Mental Health, of which he was Chairman from 1967 to 1970.
Dr. Farnsworth has authored or co‑authored eight books. His major works are MENTAL HEALTH IN COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY and PSYCHIATRY, EDUCATION, AND THE YOUNG ADULT. He is Editorial Director of two medical journals, "Medical Insight" and "Psychiatric Annals." He has been awarded ten honorary degrees, the most recent ones, Doctor of Laws by Harvard University in 1971, Doctor of Science by Rockford College in 1972, and Doctor of Laws by Allegheny College in 1973. In 1968, he received the Edward Hitchcock Award presented by the American College Health Association, and in 1970, the William C. Menninger Memorial Award presented by the American College of Physicians. As of July 1, 1971, he became the Henry K. Oliver Professor of Hygiene Emeritus at Harvard University and Consultant on Psychiatry in the Department of Behavioral Sciences in the Harvard School of Public Health.
Sponsor: Elma Jean Woofter
HUNTER J. FARNSWORTH
Hunter J. Farnsworth was born September 30, 1896, in Troy, West Virginia; son of Henry Lyda and Isabell (Waggoner) Farnsworth; married Lillian Finley November 26, 1919, died October 20, 1975, in Greensboro, North Carolina. He is buried in the Farnsworth Cemetery at Troy, West Virginia.
Graduated from Glenville Normal School (now Glenville State College) in 1916. During World War I he served in the U.S. Navy. He was a fifty year member of the Masonic Order of Knight Templar.
He taught school for two years in West Virginia before going to work for a stationer in Clarksburg, West Virginia. On July 30, 1925, he joined the ‑ Sheaffer Pen Co. He was with this company for 37 years until his retirement in July 1962. At the time of his retirement, he was division manager for the Sheaffer Company in North Carolina.
Even though he moved to North Carobina in 1925 he remained loyal to West Virginia and kept a continued interest in the happenings of the state of his birth.
After retirement he became interested in organizing and directing the West Virginia Club of Greensboro, North Carolina. He contributed numerous articles about West Virginia to "The Hillbilly", "The Glenville Democrat" and "The Salem Herald".
At the time of his death he was working on a history of Gilmer County, West Virginia.
Sponsor: Elma Jean Woofter
George Firestone ‑ a graduate of the school of experience, an ardent supporter of education, and one held high in the affectionate regard of the students, alumni, and instructors of Glenville State College ‑ was born in Lewis county, W.Va., in the year 1868.
At Glenville Normal School, he was appointed custodian of the Old Building by Robert Ruddell, member of the Board of Trustees, and Robert Carr, member of the Board of Regents, and assumed his duties in the autumn of 1894, under Principal W.J. Holden. When Edward G. Rohrbough became president of the institution in 1908, George Firestone, his faithful lieutenant, regulated class periods by tapping a large dinner bell placed outside the building.
During his career, which extended over forty‑five years of service with the college, Mr. Firestone was always popular with the students and instructors because of his unfailing kindness and good humor, his sympathetic interest in the problems of the students, his rugged honesty, and his unswerving devotion to duty.
Mr. Firestone was elected to honorary memberships in the College Chemistry Club in 1932 and in the Holy Roller Court in 1935. One of the buildings on the campus, Firestone Lodge, was named in his honor. He was the sponsor of the college graduation class of 1925, and entertained the class with a banquet. The Kanawhachen for 1937, the college yearbook, was dedicated to George Firestone.
Mr. Firestone had a native appreciation for music and art, but his greatest love and appreciation was for nature. The stately trees and much of the shrubbery adorning the campus were set out and cared for after he became associated with the college.
Although he had no family of his own, a sister, Mrs. Charles Starcher, lived in Glenville for several years. Her husband was one of the earliest commercial photographer in Gilmer County. George Firestone won for himself the affection and esteem of all those who knew him in Gilmer County and elsewhere.
Sponsor: Mary E. Young
ELIAS BEASLEY FISHER
Elias Beasley Fisher ‑ born in Lewis County August 25, 1829, died 1902; son of Adam Fisher, farmer, born in Virginia (now Lewis County) June 27, 1798, and Elizabeth (Butcher) Fisher, Born February 16, 1801 in Virginia, died December 4, 1871 on Horn Creek, Gilmer County. He was First married to Sarah Ann King on December 9, 1852. She was born in Lewis County December 12, 1832. Their Children were John Wesley Fisher, born December 10, 1853, Lewis Co., died at St. Mary's Hospital, Clarksburg, West Virginia, buried at Cox's Mills, West Virginia. Adam Fisher, born June 26, 1856 in Lewis County. He married Sarah McDonald of Gilmer County, lived at Burnt House, West Virginia for many years, later moved to Hallsville, Ohio, where he died and is buried there. Elias Beasley Fisher's second marriage was Emily Robinson, born in Wetzel County December 14, 1 837, married December 18, 1860. She died December 14, 1918 at Cox's Mills, West Virginia. They were the parents of Scott Fisher born November 26, 1861, Gilmer Co.; died November 21, 1896; Samuel R. Fisher, born December 1863, Gilmer Co., died March 11, 1867; Mary Olivia Fisher born November 1, 1866, Gilmer Co., died in 1946 at Glenville, West Virginia; Ulysses Grant Fisher born May 29, 1868 in Gilmer County died 1933 at Columbus, Ohio; Gideon Camden Fisher born February 16, 1869 in Gilmer County died September 21, 1956 at Glenville, West Virginia; Bertha Edith Fisher born February 2, 1875, in Gilmer County, died August 20, 1950 at Harrisville, West Virginia; Charles Walter born October 22, 1877, Gilmer Co., died February 15, 1923 at Cox's Mills, West Virginia.
In Edgar R Sims, Index to Land Grants is recorded the following; Elias Fisher 147 Acres wts. of Little Kanawha, also to Adam & W.H. Fisher, Charles & J.M. Fisher on Pike Fork, Buckhorn Fork, Horn Creek and Panther's Fork in Gilmer County, in 1849, 1851. 1853 and 1855,
Sponsor: Hazel Fisher Gerwig
GIDEON CAMDEN FISHER 1869‑1956
Gideon Camden Fisher was born on Big Run of Horn Creek, Gilmer County, on February 16, 1869, He was the son of Elias Beasley Fisher and Emily Robinson Fisher. He married Flora Williams, a former school teacher, in 1893. She was the daughter of Aaron Williams and Serena Haddox Williams.
G.C. Fisher engaged in farming and cattle raising. He was also well known as an auctioneer. He first bought a small farm on Big Run, but only lived there a short time before he moved to a farm which he had purchased from Milton Norris in 1896. This farm was on Middle Run near Latonia. Only a few families lived there at the time. The first school and church in the community was built on this farm land. The church known as the Eliam Baptist Church still stands, but is only used once a year when relatives and friends meet there for a reunion. A few years ago the school building was sold by the Gilmer County Board of Education and removed.
In 1902 this farm was sold to Sylvester Maxwell. Then G.C. Fisher moved to Glenville where he lived until his death September 22, 1956. Here he continued to purchase land and farms in several parts of the county.
He was a Methodist and a Republican. He served as member of the Gilmer County Republican Executive Committee for many years.
He was the father of two children; Hazel Fisher (Gerwig) and Elias H. Fisher who died March, 1938.
Sponsor: Hazel Fisher Gerwig
FLEET A. FLING
Fleet A. Fling was born on Bullfork of Tanner Creek in Gilmer County, February 15, 1900, a son of George W. D. and Alice Maude (Cunningham) Fling. He spent his childhood on his father's farm and in Northview of Glenville, where the family lived for a few years before returning to the home farm.
On August 16, 1924, Mr. Fling married Pearl Riddle, a daughter of Samuel S. and Daisy (Hinzman) Riddle. Mr. and Mrs. Fling had four children: viz. Reta Mae (married Kermit Stalnaker), Jack (married Doris Williams), Janell (married Dale Hanlin), and Joe (married Colleen Woofter). His brothers and sisters were Forest, Chase, Chester, Madge Nutter, Mae Carper, Mabel Kemper, Georgia Neil, and Lillian Springston.
Fleet Fling was a well known stockman and farmer. He had worked for the Hope Natural Gas Co. and the McCall Drilling Co. He served for a few years as clerk at the State Liquor Store in Glenville. He had been a mail carrier.
Throughout his life he was an active civic, church, school, and political worker. Mr. Fling served six years as member and president of the Gilmer Co. Board of Education, and also six years as member and president of the Gilmer Co. Court. He was a member of the county Draft Board.
Mr. Fling was affiliated with the Democratic Party, the Grass Run Community Grange, and the Knights of Pythias Lodge at Tanner, W.Va. He attended the Roseville Methodist Church where he served as Sunday School Superintendent for several years. As hobbies, he enjoyed singing hymns and talking with people whenever the opportunity afforded.
In 1966, Mr. Fling became ill and was taken to a Parkersburg, W.Va., hospital where he died on September 24, 1966. He was buried in the Roseville Cemetery near his home farm in Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Reta May Fling Stalnaker
HENRY HENSON FLING
Henry Henson Squires Fling was born in what is now Gilmer County near Tanner, West Virginia, April 21, 1844. His parents were George and Hannah Bush Fling. On Nov. 6, 1864, H. H. Fling married Mary Talbott of Barbour County, daughter of Robert Talbott and Mary Woodford Talbott (a descendent of Gen. William Howe, Commander‑in‑Chief of the British Army in America from 1775 to 1778).
Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Fling were the parents of twelve children: viz.George, Perry, Rosie, Lillie, Henson, James, Clark. Bertha. Mary Ellen, Lovie Hannah, Gertrude Lee, and Eva Myrtle.
H. H. Fling's principal occupations were those of millwright and farmer. He lived for a few years in each of the W.Va. communities of Tanner, Auburn, Smithville, and Grantsville; but finally in 1880 he settled on a large farm adjoining the community of Alfred (now called Roseville) on Bullfork of Tanner Creek in Gilmer County. Here he built a rather large (for that time) three‑story frame building which he outfitted with a saw mill, grist mill, and textile mill. Mr. Fling operated these facilities to supply the needs of local residents as well as for others who learned of the good quality of his work.
In addition to the mill work, Mr. Fling and his family operated their large farm where they raised cattle and sheep.
On Sept. 18, 1900, Mr. Fling died, and he is buried in the Tanner Baptist Church Cemetery along with his parents, grandparents, and other relatives. Mrs. Fling lived for several years after her husband's death. She continued to operate the farm with the aid of her eldest son, George, but the mill work was discontinued. Mrs. Fling died on Dec. 21, 1927, and is buried at Tanner, W.Va., beside her husband.
Sponsor: Guy B. Young Heirs
There are at least two versions of the birth of John Fling: One states that he was born in Barbour County, W.Va.; the other indicates that his Irish parents died when he was very young, and that he was reared by a family named Polen, or Poling, near Baltimore. Hence, his birth date and the names of his parents are not known.
In Barbour County, he married Elizabeth Gainer, daughter of Michael and Folly Gainer, in 1816. He brought his family to the mouth of Tanner Creek in 1829, then moved to the Boylen (Boilen) place at the mouth of Laurel Creek in 1836. He died, by drowning, when he fell from his horse while returning from muster roll call at Dekalb, Gilmer Co., W.Va., in 1861, at Mill Seat. Following his death, Elizabeth received a pension, probably because he had been a soldier in the War of 1812 (according to T.C. Miller and Hu Maxwell in "West Virginia and Its People").
The children of John and Elizabeth Gainer Fling were as follows: George, born July 2,1817, married Hannah Bush, May 18, 1843; Jane, born July 28, 1819, married William Wilson of Tanner, W.Va.; Henry, born July 14, 1821, married Eunice Fisher, 1847‑1872, then married Rebecca Holbert, 1874; Levi, born August 9, 1823, married Elizabeth Bush Heckert; Mary (Polly), born Nov. 26, 1825, married David Ayers of White Pine; Saniford, born Feb. 24, 1828, who was killed by a runaway horse while carrying the mail to Charleston; Sarah "Saffie", born Dec. 22, 1830, married Thomas Hardman; and Gainer, born Feb. 13, 1835, married Elsie (Ailcie) Bush.
Elizabeth Gainer Fling was a very large woman who was born in 1794 in Meadowville, Barbour Co., Va. (now W.Va.) She died Dec. 23, 1867, below Tanner. She and John are buried in the Baptist Cemetery, Tanner, W.Va. Elizabeth Gainer Fling was a child of Michael Gainer and his first wife Folly. Others were Mollie who married Francis Vannoy; Neal (Lee's grandfather); Bryan (or Bryan or Brian), Granville's grandfather; and Francis (Presley's father).
His children by his second wife were Michael (Catherine Wigner's father); Nicholas (Willie's father); George; and Peggy.
These Gainers came from Barbour County about the same time as John Fling and family, and settled along lower Tanner Creek, Gilmer Co., W.Va.
Sponsor: Great‑great‑grandchildren: Bayard, Donald, Maynard, and Mary E. Young
ERNEST W. FLOYD
Ernest W. Floyd: Was the son of Jessie Lewis Floyd (1854 ‑1913) and Angelletta Stout Floyd (1858‑1896). He was born 1881 four miles up the Little Kanawha River above Glenville. As a young man he attended Glenville Normal School for a short time, but soon began working in the store on Main Street, Glenville, owned by Charles T. Whiting who became his father‑in‑law on September 8, 1902. The bride, Bertha Minerva Whiting, was the daughter of Mr. Whiting and his first wife, Sarah Stump Whiting. To this marriage, two children were born, Ernest Paul Floyd, 1904, and Dorothy Ann Floyd (Gibson), 1911.
For many years Ernest Floyd was the owner and operator of "The Brick Store" at the corner of Main Street and Conrad Court. During these years he regularly traveled to Baltimore, Philadelphia and New York City to bring new merchandise and new merchandising ideas to Glenville and Gilmer County. He was also an incorporator of the Glenville Banking and Trust Company, and a longtime member of the Glenville Baptist Church.
In 1924 Ernest with his family moved to Huntington, West Virginia, where he was again a merchant until moving to California in 1934. There he died in 1958‑Bertha in 1966.
Their son, Ernest Paul Floyd, married Edith May Steere September 10, 1932. She was born May 5, 1909. This couple has two children: Jayne Potter Floyd, born September 16, 1938; and Richard Paul Floyd, born November 14, 1940.
Jayne is married to Roger Valdes. They have two children: Carrie Jayne, born April 29, 1963; and Cynthia Ellen, born May 16, 1968. Richard Paul married Katherine Kilham July 3, 1965. They also have two children: Andrea Elizabeth, born September 20, 1969; and Jonathan Paul, born July 16, 1972.
Sponsor: E. Paul Floyd
J.F.W. Floyd was born in Gilmer Co., the son of Thomas R. (1817‑1914) and Martha (Yerkey) Floyd (1816‑1881). Mr. and Mrs. T.R. Floyd moved from Marion Co. in 1845 and purchased, from the gov., 1000 acres of land east of Glenville on the northern side of the Little Kanawha River. There they settled to rear a family of seven: Mrs. George (Elizabeth) Reed; Mrs. John (Martha) Killingsworth, 1845‑1926; John H., 1849‑1918; Mrs. Hiram (Rebecca) Brannon, 1851‑1904; J.F.W. (Jim), 1853‑1928; Jessie L., 1854‑1913; Mrs. Berry (Mary) Wright. Thomas R. Floyd farmed and bored salt wells. One of the wells was located 5 mi. east of Glenville. It was 800 ft. deep and in boring he kept a record of the strata of rock. His sons continued in the farming of the land.
Jim married Frances Idella Keith (1858‑1927), daughter of Robert and Susan (Robinson) Keith who came to Gilmer Co. in 1848. They were married April 3, 1881. They had a daughter, Mrs. W.R. (Murrel May) Moffett, 1882‑1924; and a son, Cecil L., 1886‑1909 who was unmarried and a teacher in Marion Co. Murrel had two children, Mrs. Teddy (Flo) Peters, 1906‑1969 a teacher; and Howard L. Moffett, 1907‑ . Many of the Floyd descendants were farmers and teachers.
Jim's paternal grandparents were Michael and Elizabeth Floyd. Maternal grandparents were John, 1788‑1865, and Abigail (Childers) Yerkey, 1789‑1861.
The land on which the Otterbein Church and Cemetery are located was deeded to trustees of the church by Thomas R. Floyd in 1851. The Floyds down to the present generation have helped to maintain the church and many of the deceased have been interred in the Otterbein Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Lambert Fitzwater
THOMAS R. FLOYD
Thomas R. Floyd: Born March 28, 1817‑Mannington, Virginia; died near Glenville March 26, 1913. Thomas Floyd was the lineal descendant of Richard Floyd who came from England to Virginia in 1640; later moving to Long Island, New York. The grandfather of Thomas was Henry F. born 1750 on Long Island. Henry served as an enlisted man in the American Revolutionary Army before settling in Marion County, Va. His brother, William Floyd, was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence for the State of New York.
Thomas Floyd came to Gilmer County to drill salt wells. The exact date of his arrival is not known but one of his sons Jessie Lewis Floyd was born near Glenville June 16, 1854. The pay for drilling wells was land, which permitted Thomas to acquire gradually land enough to become an important farmer on the little Kanawha River approximately four miles above Glenville.
The wife of Thomas was Martha Yearkey‑December 16, 1816‑September 24, 1881.
Sponsor: E. Paul Floyd
GAINERS OF GILMER COUNTY
The history of the Gainer family in Gilmer County begins with the arrival of George and Sarah Johnson Gainer from Randolph County in 1845. George Gainer was an early resident of Allegany County, Maryland, where, in 1797, court records indicate his purchase of a parcel of land. The Census of 1800 of Allegany County also lists him along with Bryan Gainer as heads of household, each having young siblings, and giving rise to speculation that they were brothers.
On the arrival of George and Sarah Gainer to Gilmer County, along with most of their grown children and grandchildren, a settlement was established along the waters of Tanner Creek. The particular parcel of land chosen by George and his wife consisted of fifty acres at the very mouth of Tanner Creek and purchased from Benjamin Vannoy for four hundred dollars. The Gainers were farmers and lumbermen. This latter activity probably accounts for their closeness to the Little Kanawha and its main tributaries.
George Gainer was born prior to the Revolutionary War. His wife, Sarah, daughter of Robert and Mary Johnson was born about 1780. They were the parents of ten children, eight boys and two girls, and were, namely:
1. Brian, born 1794, married Mary Clark, 1818.
2. Cornelius, 1802‑1867, married Mary Right, 1822.
3. Elizabeth, married John Fling.
4. Mary, married Francis Vannoy.
6. Francis, 1814, married May Black, 1836.
7. Michael, 1815, married Mary Smith, 1837.
8. Nicholas. married Phoebe Poling, 1843.
9. George, Jr., 1824, married Margaret.
10. John, 1826, married Mary Phillips.
George Gainer died in the Fall of 1845. His wife, Sarah, lived beyond 1860. They are buried in the old cemetery, situated near the Chestnut Grove Baptist Church, at Latonia, on the waters of Tanner Creek. Most Appalachian Gainers are thus of this lineage with traceable family ties.
Sponsor: Earl Gainer
Lee Gainer, who lived to be 92, was a rugged individual and he reared a rugged clan. Lee Gainer's parents were Frank N. Gamer, born February 20, 1834. and Mary Jane Black Gainer, born September 26, 1841, and died December 23, 1910.
Lee was first married to Roanna Richards, born March 7, 1872, and died June 13, 1908. Following her death, he married Ola Whiting, born December 9, 1887. and died February 2, 1972. Of these unions 17 children were born: Blair. Harley, Lloyd, and Lee Scott, deceased; Tom, Eldred, Harold, Merrell, Lynn, Thelma, Mildred, Ronnie, Fred, Jimmie, and three other children who died in infancy.
His first‑born son, Blair, as a very young teenager, operated for his father a livery stable in Glenville. Blair served in the U.S. Army infantry in the First World War and was wounded in combat action.
Returning, Blair engaged extensively in gasoline boating on the Little Kanawha River in company with his father, operated a taxi service and bakery, served a term as sheriff of Gilmer County, and at the time of his death, December 2. 1946, held a responsible position with the Sate Road Commission.
Lee Gainer's other children, too, distinguished themselves in their respective careers ‑ education, athletics, business, and agriculture.
The center of Lee Gainer's varied enterprises was the village of Latonia, on Tanner's Creek near its confluence with the Little Kanawha. It was there he operated a general store, directed boating and timbering operations, and farmed extensively on three separate tracts. He was a major landowner in Gilmer and Calhoun and served as a member of the Gilmer County Court. He is especially remembered for his operation, in association with his son, Blair, of two noted river boats, the Gainer I, a passenger craft, and Gainer II, principally freight, plying the Little Kanawha particularly between Gilmer Station and Glenville. These
boats were specially constructed to permit their operation in very shallow water.
Andrew (Old Hickory) Jackson, the frontiersman who became President, was referred to as "a man with the bark on". So was Lee Gainer.
Sponsor: Albert J. Woofter
PATRICK WARD GAINER
Dr. Patrick Ward Gainer was born in Parkersburg, W.Va., a son of Lloyd M. and Katherine Gaston Gainer. However, early in his life, the family moved to Tanner, W.Va. This move had great significance in his life. In 1912, at about the age of eight, Pat Gainer attended a singing school conducted by Isaac B. Smith. Here he learned shapenote singing. This knowledge combined with a well tuned ear enabled him to listen to old timers sing folk songs and then write down the music and the words. (This at collection began at an early age before tape recorders.) As a result, Pat Gamer has made one of the most extensive collections of Appalachian folk music and culture in the country.
Dr. Gainer is a graduate of Glenville Normal School (1920‑1924); received an A.B. degree in 1927 and a M.A. degree in 1928 at W.Va. University; did graduate work at Uni. of Chicago in 1932; and received a PH.D. at St. Louis University in 1933. He also taught at St. Louis from 1928 to 1942, directed the university glee club for ten years, and a men's choir for five.
From 1942 to 1945, he was a director of U.S.O. activities in the Caribbean and South Atlantic area. From 1946 to his retirement in 1972 he taught Old World Folklore, Folklore of the Southern Appalachian Region, Milton, and Nineteenth Century Literature, at WVU.
He and his wife built their "retirement" home in Tanner on a part of the farm where he grew up. She is the former Antoinette Kizinski who was born in Radom, Poland. Her family came to this country when she was five. They have, five children: Patrick A.; Thomas G.; Miriam G. Goder; Michael K.; and Nicholas I.
With his love of folklore and culture, Dr. Gainer came to Glenville in 1950 and founded and directed the W.Va. Sate Folk Festival for ten years. Since his formal retirement, he has returned for the past several years to teach classes in Appalachian Folk Culture at Glenville State College during the week of the annual Festival. He has also taught evening classes in this field at Parkersburg Community College. He has contributed to the summer craft workshop at Elkins. His lectures and song demonstrations are in constant demand by a wide range of schools and clubs.
During the W.Va. Centennial Year of 1963, Dr. Gainer was state chairman of the Folklore Commission of W.Va., and edited a special song book for the occasion. He has made a record album, written many articles, and more recently published two books: "Folk Songs From the West Virginia Hills" and "Witches, Ghosts, and Signs". His honorary awards are too numerous to list.
Sponsor: Mary Ellen Kennedy
JOHN RANDOLPH GARRETT
John Randolph Garrett, son of Isaac and Sarah Ann Burgess Garrett, was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, in October, 1845, and was about four years of age when his parents came to what is now Gilmer County, West Virginia. His father's family consisting of John, Elizabeth, William, and Martha, brought with them from Virginia, seven slaves, one of whom, Milt Perkins, was near John's age and with whom John had a very good relationship.
Mr. Garrett was reared on the pioneer farm in Gilmer County and gained his education in the old time subscription schools. On the 21st day of September, 1865, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Garrett and Miss Drusilla Stout of Stouts Mills, Gilmer County. To this union the following children were born: Horace, John, Homer, Grover, Rosa, Ella, and Lovie, all of whom are now deceased.
Mr. Garrett enjoyed a career of successful achievement as a representative of farm enterprise in Gilmer County and later was actively engaged in lumbering operations in this section of the state for twenty‑two years. His religious affiliation was with the Baptist Church and his political allegiance was given to the Democratic party. In 1898, Mr. Garrett was appointed deputy sheriff of Gilmer County, in which capacity he served for six years. In 1904 and again in 1912, he was elected sheriff. One of his sons, John M. Garrett, followed in his father's footsteps and served a sheriff or deputy sheriff of Gilmer County for a period of 28 years. He, whose name initiates this review, also served as a member of the Board of Education of Glenville District. He was a stockholder in the Kanawha Union Bank at Glenville and served as a director of same for two years.
His loved and devoted companion of years was summoned to eternal rest on the 13th day of March, 1920. Mr. Garrett followed her in death March 21, 1941, at the age of 96.
Sponsor: Mrs. Clark C. Coberly
Christian Gluck was born in Germany on May 17, 1815, a son of Joseph and Eleanor M. Gluck. His parents migrated to America in 1835 and settled in Baltimore, Maryland.
Mr. Gluck was a cabinet maker by trade but, for a while, worked on the railroad being built between Baltimore and Washington, D.C.; then he obtained employment in a piano factory.
Mr. Gluck attended the United Brethren Church in Baltimore where German language was used in services, and here he met and later married Anna Catherine Erehart in 1839. She was born in Germany, July 16, 1809, a daughter of Adam and Eve Erehart. There were four children born to this union: Joseph C., Eleanor, Andrew, and William Thomas Gluck.
In 1841 Mr. Gluck and some other German families of the U.B. Church migrated from Baltimore to what in now central West Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Gluck first settled on Stewart's Creek about three miles from Glenville. Here he continued his trade as cabinet maker. In 1851 Samuel L. Hays, who had obtained the contract to build the first county court house in Glenville, hired Mr. Gluck to supervise all the carpentry work in this building. Also, Mr. Hays sold Gluck a 69 acre farm on the Little Kanawha River, two and a half miles above Glenville, where he settled after building a two‑story log house there. (Gluck Run takes its name from this Gluck family.) After the court house was finished, Mr. Gluck built furniture of good quality and made coffins as needed in the neighborhood.
On January 5, 1860, Mrs. Gluck died. Mr. Gluck married again in about a year to a widow, Mrs. Sam Whiting. She was born in 1816 and died October 10, 1880. Mr. Gluck died February 12, 1886, and is buried in the Otterbein Cemetery in Gilmer County.
Sponsor: S. Norris Gluck
JAMES HARVEY HALL
James Harvey Hall was born January 29, 1873, in Lewis County, a son of William H. and Mary (Erwin) Hall. On October 7, 1896, he was married to Myra Belle Dent at her home in Troy. W.Va. There were six children: Gypsy L., Mamie, Virginia, Dolly, and twins Jimmie and Belle.
Mr. Hall was reared on a farm in Lewis County, attended the local schools, and continued his association with the home farm of his father until the time of his marriage. He then settled on a large farm in Gilmer County. He gave his undivided attention to the management of his farm, as one of the progressive exponents of agricultural and livestock industry in Gilmer County. He dealt in fine Hereford cattle.
Mr. Hall was active in political circles for several years with the Republican Party, and he became one of the best known men in Gilmer County. He won the nomination and was elected sheriff of Gilmer County and served from 1921 to 1924. He is credited with being the only Republican ever to hold a major political office in the county. He established his home in Glenville and, for a time, operated an auto service station here.
Mr. Hall was a stockholder in the former Glenville Bank and Trust Company; was affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and with Gilmer County Lodge, No. 118, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; and he and his wife held membership in the United Brethren Church of Troy. W.Va.
Mr. Hall died at the family home, January 7, 1955, following an extended illness. Burial was in the Stalnaker Cemetery near Glenville.
Sponsor: Belle Hall Brinkley
Asa Hardman was born at Tanner, W.Va, a son of Thomas and Drusilla Kelly Hardman, March 26, 1877. He was a merchant in Tanner from 1900 through 1922. After giving up his store, he was employed at the Cunningham store from 1923 to 1940.
Hardman then became custodian at the Tanner High School. He died suddenly in the school building on Saturday, January 27, 1946. As a result of the high regard in which he was held at the school and in the community, his funeral services were held in the school auditorium. He was buried in the Stalnaker Cemetery below Glenville.
On December 24, 1899, Asa Hardman and Anna Mae Law were married by the Reverend E. I. Woofter. They had four children:
Ross of Tanner
Eva (Mrs. William Currington, Akron, Ohio)
Lena (Mrs. Milton Bishop, Logansport, Indiana)
During his adult life, Asa Hardman was an active member of the Tanner K or P Lodge No. 68.
Sponsor: Ross Hardman
Carl Hardman was a son of Francis Gainer Hardman and Julia Ann Cooper Hardman. He was born May 20, 1883, and died July 29, 1943, with burial in the Mt. Liberty Church cemetery near the area known as Roseville. (This area once had a post office in the Ralston store named Alfred.)
On July 6, 1906, Lona Law and Carl Hardman were married. They lived in, or near, Tanner most of their married life. Their children were Virginia Riddle of Glenville, W.Va., and James W. Hardman who was living in Hampton. Va., when he died February 9, 1975.
Their grandchildren are Richard D. Riddle, son of Virginia, and Julia Gainer Swenson and James Stephen Hardman, children of James W. Their great‑grandchildren are Richard Dean Riddle, II, Robert Elliott Riddle, and LeeAnn Riddle; and James Scott Swenson and John Lee Swenson, who are twins.
Carl Hardman and his brother Earl Hardman operated a grist mill in Tanner in the early years of this century.
Sponsor: Virginia Riddle
FRANCIS GAINER HARDMAN
Francis Gainer Hardman was born Aug. 20, 1854 at Tanner, W.Va. Died at Tanner, W.Va. Feb. 25, 1949. Son of Thomas Hardman (1824‑1904) and wife Sarah Fling (1830‑1864); grandson of Benjamin Hardman (1794‑ ) and wife Sira Leah Cunningham (1793‑1864), John Fling (1790‑1861) and wife Elizabeth Gainer (1794‑1867); great‑grandson of Joseph Hardman, III. (1764 ‑ 1860) and wife Dorcas Riddle, Thomas Cunningham (1761‑1826) and
wife Phebe Tucker (1761‑1845).
On July 29, 1876, Francis married Julia Ann Cooper, born Feb. 13, 1855, died July 25, 1937. Daughter of James Harvey Cooper (1810‑1881) and wife Julia Ann Whitman (1 81 7‑1903) of Jesse's Run a branch of Tanner's Creek. They settled at Tanner, W.Va., and were the parents of five children.
Estella Jane (1878‑1968) married Albert Wolfe.
Minnie Ellen (1879‑1964) married Granville Wolfe. (brother of Albert).
Earl (1881‑1965) married Elizabeth Hersman Singleton.
Karl (1883‑1943) married Lona Law.
Nora (1885‑1967) married Walter Scott Bush.
Francis like his father, grandfather, and great grandfather before him was a miller. His great grandfather Joseph Hardman,HI, built a mill on Cedar Creek in 1816. He helped his father operate the mill at Tanner until 1882 when he moved to White Pine, Calhoun Co. to operate a mill there. In 1886 he moved to the mouth of Leading Creek to take over the operation of the mill there from his uncle Francis Gainer Fling (he was named after this uncle). He operated this mill until 1900 when he moved back to Tanner to again operate the mill there. He was also a farmer and for several years a member of the Gilmer County Court. (All the mills mentioned above were grist mills).
Sponsor: Grandaughter Beryl Bush Griffin
Theodore Haumann was born in March, 1858, in New York City, the son of German immigrants who died very shortly after their arrival in the United States. He died in Glenville on July 12, 1947, in the home in which he had lived since his marriage.
On October 1, 1882, he married Mary Susan Brannon in the Glenville Baptist Church. To their union were born: Grace Regina Haumann (Barnett), Hubert Haumann, Harlan Paul Haumann, Hannibal Haumann, Aimee Cunningham Haumann (Simon), Alma Beatrice Haumann (Odom), and Evelyn Haumann (died in infancy). Mrs. Susan Brannon Haumann died in her home in Glenville in early January, 1919. Both Mr. and Mrs. Haumann are
buried in Otterbein Cemetery.
Mr. Haumann was a fine carpenter and cabinet maker as well as an undertaker during his entire adult life. He helped build most of the public buildings in Glenville and Gilmer County a well as many of the finest homes in the town and county. He is best remembered for the beauty of his work in cabinet making for his designs were largely original and the workmanship of wondrous artistry and perfection. Many of his products are highly treasured by collectors of fine wood products of original design and from the hands of an artist.
In his early days he was deeply interested in civic affairs and participated in local activities, particularly in the musical circles.
Although both Mr. and Mrs. Haumann were reserved, quite‑mannered people, they and their family were always active in religious affairs and local problems whose friendship was treasured by all who knew them.
Sponsor: Frederick Haumann Barnett
FRENCH N. HAYS
French N. Hays was born at Arnoldsburg in Calhoun County, Va., (now W.Va.), on June 29, 1858. He was a son of Peregrine and Louisa Ann (Sexton) Hays. Mr. Hays was married to Miss Mary E. Cain on July 22, 1882, by the Rev. Mr. J.W. Miles. There were two children. A daughter, Lucille (Mrs. Max W. Wilcoxen), graduated from Glenville Normal School and from W.Va. University with an A.B. degree. She was a librarian at Glenville Normal from 1913 to 1916, and taught English from 1920 to 1923. Later, she lived in Texas. A son, Harry W. Hays, attended Glenville Normal School and became an insurance company manager in Parkersburg, W.Va.
French N. Hays was educated in the common and select schools, and at the Glenville Normal School. He became noted as a farmer and as a dealer in livestock. As a hobby, he was enthusiastic about horse racing and took an active part in the sport.
Mr. Hays was interested in civil and political affairs. He was a life‑long Democrat. He represented Gilmer County in the West Virginia House of Delegates in the years 1893, 1899, 1901, 1903, 1905, 1907, 1909, 1913, 1919, and 1921; thus having served ten terms. He was assigned to and served on several important committees of the House, such as Taxation and Finance, Education, and Rules.
While engaged in active campaigning in 1920, he suffered from a slight stroke of paralysis, and was taken to a Parkersburg hospital where he recovered sufficiently to go to Charleston and attend the legislative session; but his health continued to fail. Mr. Hays returned to his home in Glenville after the session, and died there on November 2, 1921.
Sponsor: Bernard R. Hays
JOHN EDWARD HAYS, SR.
Mr. Hays was born August 14, 1883 in a one room log cabin, at Jackson's Mill. He was the son of John Martin Hays and Meta O. Balsley Hays.
His mother, was a teacher and held much pride in being the first teacher of Dr. E.G. Rohrbough, former president of Glenville State College.
His father, a Baptist minister, was a second cousin of Stonewall Jackson and was born and reared near the site of Stonewall's home.
Having been crippled from birth, Mr. Hays was unable to attend school until he was 10 years of age. After being taught by his mother, he was enrolled in the 4th grade upon entering school.
At the age of seventeen Mr. Hays received a teacher's certificate and began teaching in September 1900, receiving twenty‑two dollars and fifty cents per month.
After teaching ten years he was elected County Superintendent of Gilmer County, which office he held for two consecutive terms.
On December 21, 1916, Mr. Hays married Ruby M. Mearns, who was also a teacher for 12 years. He was the devoted father of Jessie E. Ford, John E. Hays, and Mary E. Full, all of Akron, Ohio.
Mr. Hays was secretary of the Board of Education when Sand Fork High School was erected in 1921.
After teaching and supervising he retired in 1938. Even after retiring he maintained an interest in Sand Fork Schools.
He was a member of the Harmony Baptist Church and was a Sunday School teacher for twenty‑seven years.
His life reflected what can be accomplished even with a handicap.
On December 21, 1963, he died of a stroke at the age of 80 years. He was buried in the Sand Fork Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mary H. Full
JOHN ELLIOT HAYS
John Elliott Hays, third of the thirteen children of Samuel Lewis and Roanna Arnold Hays, was born in Harrison County, April 15, 1821. His grandparents were John and Elizabeth McCullough Hays and George and Roanna Prunty Arnold.
His parents moved to Stewart's Creek in what is now Gilmer County in 1833. He attended Ohio University at Athens. Ohio, and chose law as his profession.
On May 14, 1845, he married Henrietta Frances Lewis of Washington Bottom, near Parkersburg in Wood County. She was born in Mason County on April 12, 1827, the eldest child of William Linton and Eliza Warth Lewis. Her grandparents were Jonas and Frances Toy Wyatt Lewis and John and Priscilla Cox Warth.
The young couple settled near Glenville on a farm that belonged to Samuel L. Hays, built a new house and lived there the rest of their lives. John Elliott practiced law in Gilmer and neighboring counties, and like his father and elder brother, Peregrine, served in the Virginia legislature at Richmond before the War between the States. During the war, John Elliott served the Confederacy as a purchasing agent, securing supplies for the Confederate armies.
John Elliott and Henrietta Frances Hays were the parents of nine children, all of whom lived to maturity and had children of their own: Alice, born February 23, 1846, married John Waugh; Frances Valeria (Lee), born October 31 1848, married William J. Berry; William Linton, born April 28, 1851, went to Colorado as a young man and married there: Roanna Eliza (Lida), born September 5, 1853, married Nelson Bush; Mary Julia, born July 27, 1856, married George Evans; John Elliott, Jr., born April 15 (His father's birthday), 1859, married Louise Kerns; Henrietta Virginia (Jennie), born December 7, 1861, married William Powell; Emma Elizabeth, born December 5, 1866, married William Perry Brown; Charles Gordon, born August 17, 1869, married Affie Blanche Riddle.
John Effiott Hays died in Clay County, where he had gone on a business trip on January 28, 1892. His wife died at the family home March 28, 1916. They are buried in the family cemetery on a hill overlooking the Little Kanawha River, near the mouth of Dry Run. Five of their children, Alice, Julia, Emma, John E., and Charles, are also buried there.
Sponsor: Mrs. Paul C. [Ruby] Stalnaker
JOHN MARTIN HAYS
John Martin Hays son of David Jackson Hays (1840‑1896) and Minerva Smith Hays ( ‑1870) was born August 3, 1861 and died October 26, 1941. His grandparents were John Henderson Hays and Mary Jones Jackson Hays.
Mr. Hays received his education in the public schools and although he never obtained a degree from any college or university, he was a lifelong student. John M. Hays married Meta O. Balsley (1857‑1953) on October 26, 1882, the daughter of George W. Balsley and Margaret Padgett Balsley of Buckhannon. John M. Hays was a farmer at the head of Smith's Run. In 1892 he moved to Troy and later to Glenville. Although he had preached the Word of God for several years, he was not ordained until November 9, 1904 at the Troy Baptist Church. He served as pastor of the Redemption Baptist Church in Doddridge county, Three Poplar, Dusk Camp, Hepsibah, Tanner, Horn Creek, Mt. Carmel, Sand Fork and Dawson in Gilmer county. He was a member of the House of Delegates from 1925‑1929.
The children of John M. Hays and Meta O. Balsley Hays were: John Edward (1883‑1965). He was a well known school teacher and educator of Gilmer county and lived at Sand Fork. He served as Superintendent of Schools and principal of Glenville Grades. David Cecil, D.V.S. (1885‑1975). He was located at Starkville, Mississippi in the service of the United States Department of Agriculture. Minervia Meta Alice Bush (1887‑1968). She was a former teacher.
Sponsor: Marjorie Bush Given
Peregrine Hays, son of Samuel Lewis and Roana (Arnold) Hays, was born in Harrison County, Va., October 7, 1819, and in 1833 came with his parents to what in now Gilmer County, then part of Lewis County, Va. His father was instrumental in the establishment of Gilmer County in 1845.
On May 10, 1849, Peregrine Hays married Louisa Ann Sexton, who was born on French Creek in that part of Lewis County now included in Upshur. Augustus and Anna L. Sexton were her parents. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hays were recorded: Mary, born March 31, 1850; George Warren, born July 29,1851 (was State senator, 1883‑1885); Annie Roana, born February 5. 1854; John B. Floyd, born March 29, 1856; Napoleon French, born June 29, 1858; Samuel Augustus, born March 31, 1861; and Olive A., born 1862 (married T.M. Marshall), died November 14, 1955.
Peregrine Hays was a member of the Virginia legislature, 1855‑56, and of the West Virginia legislature, 1876‑77. He was the first sheriff of Gilmer County elected by the people, which was in 1851. Prior to that time, after the establishment of Gilmer County, the oldest magistrate was sheriff. From the establishment of the county until the adoption of the constitutional changes of 1850, he was a magistrate of the county. He was sheriff of Calhoun County, 1860.
Mr. Hays served the cause of the Confederacy in the field, during the Civil War, was captured in a fight with federal troops, and for a time was a prisoner of war at Camp Chase, Columbus, Ohio.
Mr. Hays settled in Arnoldsburg about 1840, and within a span of fifteen years lived in three counties without changing his home site. In 1840, Arnoldsburg was in Kanawha County, in 1845 in Gilmer, and in 1856 in Calhoun.
Peregrine Hays died January 6, 1905. and is buried in the family
cemetery below Arnoldsburg, W.Va.
Sponsor: Bernard R. Hays
SAMUEL AUGUSTUS HAYS
Samuel Augustus Hays was born in Calhoun County, Va. (now W.Va.), March 31, 1861. He was the son of Peregrine Hays and Louisa A. (Sexton) Hays. He attended the State Normal School at Glenville, graduating in 1878, and in 1884 graduated from West Virginia University law school at Morgantown, W.Va.
Mr. Hays practiced law at Glenville for ten years, and maintained a law office here for several years afterwards. From the law, his energies became absorbed in the timber business. In 1913 he was appointed collector of internal revenue for the district of West Virginia, and moved to Parkersburg for his official term. He held that office until 1921.
Mr. Hays was a member of the firm of Hays and Gilkeson, stocks, bonds, and commercial paper; and he was also president of the Wiant and Barr, Wholesale Hardware Company. For several years he served as president of the Kanawha Union Bank at Glenville (which began business in 1906).
Mr. Hays was a thirty‑second degree Scottish Rite and Knight Templar Mason and Shriner. He was a Democrat and a member of the Presbyterian Church.
He married Susan Adelaide Ewing, who died in 1891, leaving two children. The son, Matthew, died in 1918, at the age of twenty‑nine. The daughter Genevieve M., married Fred M. King of Parkersburg, W.Va.
Sponsor: Bernard R. Hays
SAMUEL LEWIS HAYS
Samuel Lewis Hays, born October 20, 1794, in Harrison County, Va. (now W.Va.), was one of three sons of John Hays from East Lammermoor, Scotland, and Elizabeth (McCullough) Hays of Fauquier County Va. He wed Roanna Arnold of Lewis County on June 15, 1817. There were twelve children: viz. Elizabeth (married John Webb), Peregrine (married Louisa A. Sexton), Othello, John Elliot (married Fannie Lewis), Samuel L. Jr. (married Elizabeth Gather), Norvell, Mary (married Shelton Furr), Drusilla (married Levi Johnson), Calhoun, Warren, Edmond, and Roanna. The last three children named all died in infancy.
Following the death of his first wife, Mr. Hays wed Nancy Covert who was born in 1798 and died in 1863. His third wife, Emma (hand) Fletcher (1817‑1887), was a widow of Sauk Rapids. Minn.
Mr. Hays became a member of the Virginia legislature in 1829, and by successive re‑election he served in the session of 1830 to 1833, 1835, 1844, and 1850. He was a member of Congress in 1841‑1843, and a member of the Virginia Constitutional Convention in 1850.
Mr. Hays served as a member of the first county court ever held in Gilmer County, March 24, 1845, at Dekalb. The court appointed him one of the school commissioners for the county. In 1851, he received the contract to build the first court house in Glenville.
An historical marker in front of an old brick house near Glenville reads: "Samuel Lewis Hays ‑ Built this home in 1837 on a 1000 acre tract, and laid out the town of Glenville in 1845. As a member of the Virginia Assembly, he urged the building of the Parkersburg ‑Staunton Turnpike. As a Congressman, in 1842, Hays appointed Thomas Jonathan (Stonewall) Jackson as a cadet to West Point. President Buchanan named Hays as Receiver of Public Moneys, 1857‑60, Sauk Rapids, Minn. Died 1871 and buried there."
Sponsor: Bernard R. Hays
Among the early settlers in Troy District, Gilmer County, were Adam Heckert, his wife and ten children. They came to Troy, Harrison County, Virginia, about 1810.
Adam Heckert is believed to have been born in Pennsylvania of German parentage about 1770. He married Sarah Eller about 1793. He secured patent rights from the state Virginia for 185 acres of land in what is now Troy District. The family found the country covered with dense forest, wild animals numerous, and Indians not unknown. They selected a site for their home on the left bank of Leading Creek at Troy, cleared the land and built a log cabin.
After a few years, the father and his sons built a fine brick home for the family. By this time Lewis County had been created from Harrison. Adam Heckert was truly aggressive and industrious and also a true craftsman. He and his sons made and baked the bricks themselves and carried them across the creek to the building site. The stone foundation of the two‑storied house bore the date of 1820. No nails were used in the construction; the rafters were fastened together with small wooden pegs or pins made by hand. The house was beautifully furnished with objects of rare Americana. It is now demolished and the fine furnishings scattered and gone.
Adam Heckert, Jr., later built a dam for water power to run a mill for grinding corn and wheat. The Heckerts also built the first sawmill in the area.
Sponsor: Virginia West
SUSAN ROXIE [BELL] HENDERSON
Roxie Henderson was born May 23, 1894, daughter of Floyd and Lora Bell. She graduated from Glenville Normal, in 1911. Cam Henderson, also, was a member of the 1911 class. He had attended the academies of Waynesburg and West Virginia Wesleyan. Both taught one year, then were married, August 20, 1912.
They went to houskeeping in Bristol, where Cam became the principal of the new high school and Roxie became a teacher.
Roxie received a Certificate in vocal music at Salem College, in 1917, and Cam received an AB Degree. Cam went to coach at Muskingum College, in 1920, and Roxie received an AB from Muskingum, in 1922.
The Hendersons went to Elkins, in 1923, to coach at Davis and Elkins. They lived there 12 years. Their only child, Camille Sue, was born there, January 10, 1928. Roxie took more lessons in music and sang in a quartette and the choir of the Presbyterian Church, of which she became a member.
In 1935, Cam became coach at Marshall. Roxie received a Master's Degree at Marshall, in 1942.
She taught at Milton High School for 17 years, from 1942‑1959, when she retired. Meanwhile, Cam had retired. He went to visit Camille, who was teaching in the University of Kentucky. There he died in his sleep, May 3, 1956.
In the 1960's, Roxie went to Washington, because Camille was there. Roxie had an apartment in the Woodner Hotel. Here she lived happily, reading historical novels and playing Duplicate Bridge, at which she became a Life Master.
She made annual trips to "Home Place." The last one was April 11, 1975. She enjoyed the cardinals, the flowering shrubs, and club dinners. She went about her self‑imposed chores singing in her clear soprano.
One weekend Camille and husband George Waldeck came for a visit. All went on a pilgrimage to the Henderson farm, in Harrison County. A few days later, Roxie suffered a heart attack and died in her sleep in the morning of May 18, 1975, five days before her 81st birthday. She was buried in the Henderson plot of the Stalnaker Cemetery.
Sponsored by: Camille Sue Waldeck, LaPaz, Bolivia
LINN BOND HICKMAN
Linn Bond Hickman was born in Weston, West Virginia on February 21, 1906, the son of C.R. and Arabella Bond Hickman.
Mr. Hickman married Pauline Roberts, the daughter of Dr. John and Nora V. Roberts of Glenville in 1936. She died in 1947. They were the parents of one, daughter, Ann Lynne (Mrs. William B. Lorentz, Jr., a former resident of Glenville now living in Winston Salem, North Carolina with three children: Pamela, Lisa, and Chad).
Mr. Hickman married Goldine Woodford in 1963. She died in 1972.
Mr. Hickman graduated from Weston High School and received his A.B. degree with the first graduating class at Glenville State College. He received his B.J. degree from the University of Missouri School of Journalism, and furthered his education with a Graduate Fellowship at Syracuse University.
Mr. Hickman's occupations were numerous and varied. He was Principal of Polk Creek Elementary School in Lewis county, a reporter for the Clarksburg Exponent, a teacher of English and Journalism at Glenville State College. news editor of The Glenville Democrat, and sole owner of The Glenville Democrat and the Glenville Pathfinder from 1953 until 1971.
His membership and elective offices in organizations include Chairman of Farming for Better Living for twenty years. member and past President of the Glenville Rotary Club, President of the Gilmer County Board of Education, President of the Gilmer County Cancer Society, Chairman of the local chapter of the American Red Cross. President of the Glenville State College Alumni Association, member of the West Virginia Press Association, Chairman of the Gilmer County Board of Health, member of the Honorary Fraternity for Outstanding Journalists, elder of the Presbyterian Church. and, at the time of his death, volunteer Business Manager of the Gilmer County Medical Center.
Mr. Hickman was always active in improving the educational and health needs of the citizens of Gilmer county. At the time of the death, The Glenville Democrat had this to say: "He had a Hickman smile for everyone he met, an undying faith in the people of the county, charity for all, and energy that seemed to know no limits" To this could be added his deep devotion and love for his family, and his immense enjoyment of the times he spent at his "Woodpatch" on Sycamore Run.
Mr. Hickman passed away on June 3, 1972.
Sponsor: Anne Lynne Hickman Lorentz
ABRAHAM LINCOLN HOLT
Abraham Lincoln Holt, b. June 1, 1861 in Gilmer Co. Va.. d. March 13. 1924. Glenville, W.Va. son of John Fletcher Wesley Holt b. 1809 Springfield. Pa. d. Dec. 4, 1882, and Elizabeth McKissic (2nd wife) b. Nov. 11. 1820. d. Nov. 2. 1907, dau. of Susan McCauley McKissic and Mr. McKissic. J.F.W. Holt was one of five sons of John V. Holt, b 1769, Hog Island. Surry Co.. Va. d. Nov. 10, 1853, Springfield, Pa. and Susanna Cobun. b. Sept. 23, 1776, Monongalia Co. Va., d. Springfield, Pa.. M. Mar. 6, 1797. who settled in Weston, Va. Jonathan in 1831, and James, Mathew, John Fletcher Wesley, and Francis Asbury in 1832. J.F.W. Holt moved to what became Gilmer Co. about 1840‑45, where he and his brother Mathew were business partners, operating stores along the Little Kanawha River.
A.L. Holt m. Cora Edna Shock, Dec. 5, 1900, b. May 1 1872 Cedarville, Gilmer Co., W.Va., d. June 10. 1934, dau. of James Franklin Shock (lumberman, and sheriff of Gilmer Co. at one time) b. 1845, Augusta Co., Va., d. Dec. 9, 1897 Cedarville, W.Va., and Delila Hines Shock. b. 1842, Braxton Co., Va., m. Aug. 9. 1870, d. 1907, Burnsville, Braxton Co., W.Va.
Children of A. L. and Cora Holt:
1. Ronald Cabot ‑ born 1901, died 1902
2. Karl Lincoln ‑ born Oct. 7, 1903, died Oct. 1918. Died while attending Staunton Military Academy during 1918 Flu epidemic.
3. Elizabeth Clyan ‑ born May 6, 1906, died May 24. 1965. Married Clarence F. Morrison, M.D. They had four children Alpheous Lincoln, Elizabeth Ann, Karl Fisher and Sam Holt.
4. Helen Marguerite ‑ born June 27. 1913. Married April 28, 1931, Robert H. Mollohan, U.S. Representative from First District, W.Va., born Sept. 18, 1909. Their children were Robert Holt, born Jan. 9, 1933, married Doris Freeze, children, Patricia Ann and Sally Ann. Kathryn Clyne, born July 27, 1938, married Richard Moats, children Richard Dennis Jr. and Debra Susan. Alan B., b. May 14, 1943.
Abraham Lincoln Holt was an attorney, graduating from W.Va. University. He attended Jefferson Medical School for a time, changing to law so he could be in W.Va. to administer his father's estate. He was a Methodist, an active Mason, and a Republican.
Sponsor: Helen Holt Mollohan
Roland ("Crip") Holt, born April 15, 1887 at Glenville, was reared by grandparents, John and Sarah J. Holt. He attended the public school of Glenville and in 1904 the Normal School academy.
A custom tailor, for a number of years he operated a combined cleaning and pressing and tailor business in a small building that stood approximately where the "Log Cabin" filling station was reconstructed.
He was Mayor of Glenville about 1920. That task was taken lightly; but he was deeply involved in state and national affairs of his Republican party. Known for his humor and wit, he was a favorite story‑teller at many of his party's conventions.
For a time, while residing in Clarksburg, he was the "Ghost writer" for "Red" Swiger's daily editorials in Clarksburg Telegram. Returning to Glenville, he edited the Pathfinder for Henry Woodyard and for a new owner, Linn B. Hickman.
He was married in Clarksburg on June 24, 1919 to Gertrude Harris, daughter of W.E. and Viola (Welch) Harris. His wife graduated in 1917 from Glenville Normal. They were the parents of three sons: Roland, Jr., b. 10/2/1920; m. Jean Spelsberg, 10/23/1943; John William, b. 10/18/1922; in. Delores (Richards) Jenkins, a widow, 10/28/1948; Harris, b, 8/11/1924; m. Bon Seal Romesburg, 8/11/1962.
In his last year, "Crip" Holt resided in Moorefield, Hardy County, at home of John William, where he died November 29, 1968. Burial was in the Holt‑Wiant/family section of the pioneer College Cemetery in Glenville.
Sponsor: Edward N. Orr
WILLIAM HENRY JACK
According to H.H. Hardesty's famous 1883 "History", William Henry Jack was one of four children born to Henry McCoy Jack who had married Nancy Penelope Townsend, May 2, 1852. William Henry was born Aug. 9, 1858; Hester Elizabeth was born April 23, 1854, died Feb. 25, 1857, and is buried at French Creek, Upshur County; Adam Lee was born Aug. 27, 1863; and Leona Ardela was born Oct. 18, 1868. Death dates are not now available for these last two children. Henry McCoy was born Nov. 9, 1826, at McDowel, now included in Highland County, Va., the son of Jacob and Hester (Siron) Jack. His parental grandparents came from Ireland- maternal ancestors came from Germany. Both families settled at an early date in Pendleton County. Henry’s parents were born, reared, and married in Highland County, Va. They moved to Upshur County in the fall of 1830, and there died; the father in 1851; the mother some years later.
Henry McCoy was elected the captain of the militia in Lewis County when 18 and held the commission for 8 years. At the same time, he served as constable for 4 years and as deputy sheriff for 4 years. He enlisted July 20, 1861, in Company D, 31st Virginia Infantry, and served under "Stonewall" Jackson, being discharged an orderly in August 1863.
Nancy P. Townsend was born Feb. 11, 1828, in that part of Lewis County now included in Gilmer County, a daughter of Ezekiel T. and Elizabeth (Stout) Townsend. Daniel Stout, her grandfather, was the first settler on the Little Kanawha River in now Gilmer County. Her parents were born, reared, and married on its banks, and there lived their wedded life, and there buried.
Henry McCoy Jack came from Upshur County, Nov. 29, 1859, to Otter District, Braxton County, on Cedar Creek, in very poor circumstances. By the time of the Hardesty interview, he had one of the finest farms in the county. 1000 acres: 600 in sod for pasture and the remainder well timbered. He had from 100 to 250 head of cattle, 100 to 300 head of sheep, fine horses, and other stock. His address was Townsend's Mills (now Cedarville).
With this background, William Henry Jack became a leading force in Cedarville as merchant, timberman, and coal operator. He and Andrew Jackson Snider were instrumental in building a United Brethren Church that would seat 500. It had a very large bell to which Gottlieb Mohr had connected an electrical system so that it would strike the hour. Will, as he was known, built the largest and finest three‑story frame house in the county. His innovations and energy helped make the area a very thriving community. On Nov. 20, 1880, he married Margaret (Maggie) E. Blagg of Braxton County. In 1889, he represented Gilmer County as a Delegate in the State Legislature.
The Will Jacks had four children: Walter (1881‑1914); Warder Lee (1882‑1946); Madge (1889‑1918); and William Henry, Jr. (1899‑1918). About 1903, they moved to Weston, W.Va. His wife who was born in 1857 died in 1906. He died in 1926.
Sponsor: Patricia Jack, daughter of Warder Lee Jack
Levi Johnson was born on a farm in Barbour County, (then Virginia), Jan. 20, 1818. He was one of five children of Robert and Elizabeth Huffman Johnson. He died April 20, 1904. (Note: Another record shows that he was born Dec. 20, 1818, and died April 26, 1904.) He married Drusilla Hays, daughter of Samuel Lewis Hays and Roanna C. Arnold Hays. They had eight children as follows. Florence, who married Harvey Leach; Frank; Samuel: William Ada:Lenor (Mrs. Charles Newton); Lelia (Mrs. Robert Franklin Kidd): and Minnie (Mrs. Homer L. Ewing).
Levi Johnson was County Clerk of Gilmer County from May 26, 1845 to May 20, 1852. His records may be found in Deed Book No.1, page 1, through Deed Book No. 2, page 202, in the Gilmer County Courthouse, Glenville. W.Va. Thus, he was Gilmer County's first County Clerk following the brief tenure of James M. Camp, Jr., who had been appointed clerk pro tem, at the first meeting of the court at the residence of Salathiel C. Stalnaker, March 24, 1845. The court had attempted to elect a clerk from a field of candidates that included Benjamin Riddle, Philip Cox, Jr., Currence B. Conrad, Anthony Conrad, Isaac Arnold, Henry Stump, and George H. Beall. However, when four ballots all resulted in ties, Camp was appointed.
Johnson was appointed Gilmer County Circuit Clerk Feb. 1, 1854, when Thomas Marshall died in office. Johnson was elected to this position May 6, 1854, and again July 1, 1858. His next elective office was as Superintendent of Gilmer County Schools for a two‑year term, 1875‑76. In 1881, he was the Delegate from Gilmer County when the State Legislature met at Wheeling from Jan. 1 to March 15, 1881. (A Gilmer County school history states that he was a clerk in the House of Delegates when the State Capitol was located at Wheeling. However, the 1922 W.Va. "Blue Book", which gives his listing as a full Delegate, as above, fails to confirm this. The school history is dated 1937.)
During his life, he worked for 8 years as a clerk in the post office at Glenville. He was probably one of the 32 local residents who met before April 13. 1872, to begin collecting funds for a building for the newly established Glenville Branch of the State Normal School. (The State Normal School was at Huntington, now Marshall University.) A GSC Mercury for June 4. 1935, shows that he was one of 18 who contributed $25 each to the fund. Of the 60 who joined in this effort, four gave $100 each, five gave $50 each, and many of the others gave from $5 to $40 each. This followed the establishment of the branch school by act of the State Legislature on February 19, 1872.
During his life, he owned much property at and/or near the present location of GSC Pickens Hall. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge in Parkersburg.
He is buried in the Glenville Cemetery behind Glenville State College, near the graves of his son‑in‑law and daughter, Senator and Mrs. Robert F. Kidd.
Sponsor: Patty Jack
HALLIE LEE SHOCK JONES
Hallie Lee Shock Jones was the daughter of Philip Troxell Shock and Amanda Perkins Shock. The Shock and the Perkins were farmers and merchants. Philip had settled in a little town on the Little Kanawha River in Wood County, W.Va., where he owned a general store. It was here that Hallie Lee Shock was born on march 9, 1883. Her mother died when she was four years old, and she went to live with her Uncle Jim and Aunt Delilah Shock on Cedar Creek, just below the village of Cedarville, W.Va. It was here that she married J.D. Jones on Dec. 14, 1902.
Hallie Lee had been a pupil in the elementary school on her uncle's farm where J.D. Jones had been a teacher for two terms. She was ten years younger than her husband.
Several years after the death of her mother, her father remarried and moved to Hot Springs, Arkansas, then to Conway, and finally to Enola, and a small farm in the foothills of the Ozarks. It was there that he died in 1932 and was buried in the church yard of the Baptist Church he had attended, close to his home.
J.D. and Hallie Jones came to Glenville following their marriage. They bought their first home in the Brooklyn Addition of Glenville. In 1914, they bought a home on Main Street in Glenville. It was here that J.D. Jones died on Feb. 4, 1936. Mrs. Jones continued to live in the home and enjoy the friendly gathering of neighbors in the cool shade of her front porch. However, this was cut short as she neared eighty when the Federal government took the home site for the Federal Building which was completed in March 1966. Following this traumatic experience, she lived for various periods in the Charleston, W.Va. and Miami, FL, areas until her death March 5, 1973, just four days before her 90th birthday. She was buried beside her husband in the Otterbein Cemetery on the Little Kanawha River above Glenville.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Frank Beall, Jr.
JOHN B. JONES
John B, Jones was born in Gilmer County, West Virginia, August 2, 1877. He was a son of Alfred M. and Mary Wyers Jones. On April 5. 1903, he was married to Miss Cordelia Burwell, and to this union were born; Orlan Jones, Adren G. Jones, Irene Jones (Mrs. Fox), and one child deceased.
Mr. Jones was a well known Gilmer County man whose principal occupations were those of school teacher and farmer. He taught for many years in the Bell School on Sinking Creek and in the Cather School, as well as in other schools in the county, so that his total time in the teaching profession was thirty‑five years. He had renewed his State elementary teaching certificate and had acquired a Life Certificate. It was about 1933 when he retired from teaching. When the West Virginia Teachers Retirement Act came into effect, Mr. Jones was one of the first three in Gilmer County who were eligible.
While living in Troy District, Mr. Jones served one term on the Troy District School Board. He had been affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, lie was a member of the Farm Bureau of Gilmer County and a member of the Retired Teachers Association.
Mr. Jones became a member of the Horn Creek Baptist Church in 1899, and moved his membership to Glenville in 1906, where he became a deacon of the church. On June 28. 1959, the 109th anniversary of the First Baptist Church of Glenville, Mr. Jones was honored by being elected as Deacon Emeritus of the church (also. Luther D. Edwards and Guy B. Young were similarly honored).
Mr. Jones died at his home on Stewart's Creek road on December 23,1965, at 88 years of age. Interment was in the Woodford Cemetery at the mouth of Leading Creek in Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Adren Jones
JOSIAH DANIEL WEBSTER JONES
J. D. Jones was born March 4, 1873, the second child of Daniel Chapman Jones and Sarena Riddle Jones. He had an older sister, Granville, and brother, John, who died in infancy. Shortly after the death of John, the mother also died. Sarena and son John were buried in the Glenville Cemetery on the hill above the Glenville State College property. The grave of the father, Chapman Jones, is not known to this writer. Since he was born in Allegheny County, Va., he may have returned to that area in his later years.
Following the death of the mother, the two children, ages 4 and 3, went to live with their grandmother, Nancy Norman Riddle, at her home on Grass Run near Letter Gap, W.Va. She was their guiding hand through their childhood days. Her indomitable spirit, through much adversity, prevailed in the character of the two children.
When they were teenagers, they came to Glenville to work. J.D. (as he was always known) continued to attend school as he could afford with time and money. In 1897. he was graduated from Glenville Normal School, and in 1901, from West Virginia University Law School. On Dec. 14, 1902, J.D. Jones and Hallie Lee Shock were married at the home of her uncle, James Shock, on Cedar Creek, near Cedarville, W.Va. They came to Glenville to live at the very start of their marriage. They soon bought their first home in the Brooklyn Addition. In 1914, they bought a home on Main Street where the Federal Building now stands. They had three daughters: Ruth, Justine, and Evelyn.
J.D. Jones was a teacher and Attorney‑at‑Law. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge in Glenville, a 32nd degree Mason, and a Shriner, belonging to the Nemesis Temple, Parkersburg, W.Va. He was a charter member of the Glenville Rotary Glub and served as president at least one time. While not a member of the Glenville Baptist Church, having been baptized a Methodist when he was a baby, yet he supported and attended the Baptist Church with his family. He was a teacher of the Men's Bible Class which honored him by naming it "The Jones Class" for a number of
years. He donated the land where the present College Street Methodist Church now stands, and supported that church in many ways during its early years.
He belonged to the Republican Party and served as a delegate to the party's national convention in June, 1932.
He served in the Spanish‑American War from June 27, 1898, until April 10, 1899, with the rank of Corporal. Company L, 2nd Regiment of W.Va. Volunteers, was made up entirely of Gilmer County men. The captain was D. U. O'Brien of Glenville, and the chaplain was the Rev. A.S Kelly, also of Glenville.
J.D. Jones died at the home on Main Street Feb. 4, 1936, at the age of 62. He is buried in the Otterbein Cemetery near Glenville.
Sponsor: Frank and Evelyn [Jones] Beau, Jr.
TWO DAUGHTERS, OF J.D. AND HALLIE JONES
Ruth Jones is the eldest daughter of J.D. and Hallie Jones. She married Jean Valjean Roberts. They had two daughters, Emily Jones Roberts and Jean Lee Roberts.
He died about 1956 and is buried in his native Roane County, W.Va. She worked as a state audit clerk for a time following his death. She was a 1923 graduate of Glenville Normal. Emily Roberts married Robert Augur, a native of Illinois. They have four children, Robert. Jr., Michael, David, and Allyson Ruth. Their home is in Sepulveda, CAL. At the present (1976), Mrs. Ruth Jones Roberts is living with the Augurs in Sepulveda.
Jean Lee Roberts married Clarence Moran of Charleston. W.Va. They have three children, Mia, Mary, and Terry. They live in Charleston. The second daughter of J.D. and Hallie Jones is Justine. She married Dr. T. Elam Cato of Rome, Tennessee while he was serving as Health Officer for Gilmer County, W.Va., about 1930. Sometime later, they moved to Miami, FL, where he headed the Dade County Health Department for 24 years prior to his death at 63 in July 1967. At the time of his death, he was working on a comprehensive plan to provide free health service for children in low income families in southern Dade Co. His pioneer work in mass immunization for polio was featured in a Time Magazine article in 1960. The Florida Public Health Association gave him special recognition for his work with migrant workers, senior citizens, and Cuban refugees. He helped plan and construct the Dade County Medical Center. His widow lives in Coral Gables, FL. They had no children. Prior to her marriage, she had completed courses at Glenville Normal School in 1924 and 1929.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Frank Beall, Jr.
LLOYD M. JONES
Lloyd M. "Casey" Jones born October 28, 1911 at Richwood, West Virginia; parents, William M. and Mintie Rader Jones; grand parents. James William Jones and Vivian Bell Cram Jones; A. Clark Rader and Lumina Huff Rader; married December 28, 1941 at Glenville to Ella Summers born July 4, 1916. at Akron. Ohio; parents Goff and Mary Lynch Summers: grand‑parents John Randolph Lynch and Mary Elizabeth (Taylor) Lynch; Bruce Summers and Ella Arnold Summers. Two children, William Goff Jones, born August 7, 1945, an attorney in Charlotte, North Carolina and Sarah Elizabeth (Mrs. Carl E. Ingram) born January 26, 1949, now living in Virginia Beach, Virginia where her husband is a Navy pilot.
Lloyd is a 1934 graduate of Glenville State College and Ella 1937. Lloyd taught one year at Richwood High School and was Business Manager of Glenville State College 1934‑1966 (except for World War II service 1942‑45) and Assistant to Vice‑President of Administration and Finance at West Virginia University 1966 until retirement in 1973.
Ella taught in high schools at Tanner. Widen. Rainelle, Glenville, and Morgantown where she retired in 1975. Current address: 1421 Anderson Avenue, Morgantown, W.Va.
Sponsor: Ella Summers Jones
ALBERT S. KELLEY
Dr. Albert Sidney Kelley was born in 1869 in the Leading Creek area of Gilmer County, W.Va., a son of Thomas and Rachel Ann Kelley. His formative years were ones of hardship and adversity after the early loss of his father. His initiative and perseverance enabled him to attend, and graduate from, public school. Glenville State Normal School, Denison University, Crozer Theological Seminary, and the Southern Baptist Seminary.
Dr. Kelley married Emma Delephene Griffith of Boone County, W.Va., in 1891. Mrs. Kelley taught school while her husband completed work for his Th.D. degree (Doctor of Theology). From the union of Dr. and Mrs. Kelley four children were born: Albert G. Kelley. 1895‑1971; Arlan S. Kelley, born 1900; Ruth Ann Kelley Steinbeck, 1902‑1969; and Grace Kelley Fields, 1909‑1957.
Dr. Kelley was licensed to preach by the Leading Creek Baptist Church in 1889. He was ordained into the ministry in August 1896 at the First Baptist Church of Glenville. W.Va. Here he served as pastor from June 7, 1896. until December 19, 1903. Dr. Kelley held pastorates in both West Virginia and Pennsylvania during sixty years of active work. He was instrumental in establishing many Baptist churches throughout West Virginia during this period. From 1917 to 1940, he was executive secretary of the W.Va. Baptist Convention. During his tenure in this position, he traveled well over a million miles of West Virginia hills in his work.
In 1898 and 1899 Dr. Kelley served his country and fellow men as Chaplain of the 2nd Regiment, W.Va. Volunteer Infantry, during the Spanish‑American War. Later, he was affiliated with the United Spanish‑American War Veterans and served as W.Va. state chaplain.
Albert Sidney Kelley was conveyed to "that house not made with hands" on May 14, 1956, leaving behind his devoted progeny and innumerable friends for whom he will have paved the way.
Sponsor: Mrs. C.F. Steinbeck, Jr.
ROBERT FRANKLIN KIDD
Robert Franklin Kidd, a teacher, editor, lawyer, legislator,
orator, and humorist was born February 11, 1853. in Upshur County, one of 13 children of Thomas and Margaret Kidd. Educated in the public and private schools of that county, he became editor of the Buckhannon Banner while reading law with C.C. Higginbotham of Buckhannon and John Bassel of Clarksburg.
He was admitted to the bar in 1882 and at the same time accepted the principalship of Glenville Normal School. He served in this capacity for two terms.
He began practicing law in Glenville and in 1886 was first elected to the House of Delegates from Gilmer County. He declined a second term. In 1898, he was elected to the State Senate, serving until 1914, and again from 1922 until 1928. He was serving as a member of the House of Delegates at the time of his death, June 8, 1930. His grave site is located just off the campus of Glenville State College, near Clark Hall, the original Robert F. Kidd Memorial Library.
The naming of the library for him was a tribute in an act of the 1929 Legislature in recognition of his long service in that body and to the College. Senator Kidd was a Mason, a member of the Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen.
In 1884. Kidd married Lelia Rosalie Johnson. This union produced six children: Lenore Lucille (Mrs. W. Lee Jack); Edith (Mrs Charles C. Morris); Johnson Camden: Robert F. Jr.; Drusilla Virginia, who taught more than a thousand Glenville fourth graders during her tenure in the public school; and Paul Hays who followed his father into the legal profession and also represented Gilmer County on the house of Delegates. continuing to work for the upgrading of Glenville State College.
Sponsor: Patty Jack
JOHN WILLIAM KILLINGSWORTH
John W. Killingsworth, son of Ammon and Mary Mowry Killingsworth. was born November 7, 1843 in Randolph County, Virginia and died March 2, 1920 in Gilmer County. He served in the Confederate Army from 1862 to the end of the war. He returned to Randolph County and then went to Lewis County where he worked on the farm of W.H. Harrison about a mile from Weston.
While visiting his sister. Mrs. Julia Ann Wright, in Gilmer County, he met and married Martha Ann Floyd, (1845‑1926), daughter of T.R. and Martha (Yerkey) Floyd. They were married January 14, 1869, and lived on a farm in Gilmer County. In addition to farming, John cut limber, hauled it to the Little Kanawha River. and floated it to market in Parkersburg, He hauled merchandise for the various stores in the county from the nearest railroad in Weston, and helped to operate a threshing machine. He also worked in the oil fields. At one time, he had more than twenty teams in the fields.
John and Martha had six children. They were: Thomas Lee (1872‑1919), who was twice married. His first wife was Octavia Snider. The second was Nora Smith.
Charles 0. (1874‑1965) worked for the Hope Natural Gas Company. In 1903, he married May Lowther, the daughter of Columbus and Candace Lowther. Charles and May were the parents of two children. Richard H. (187(1‑1939) was a civil engineer for a railroad company, and later became a teacher in Pittsburgh. In 1903, he married Verona Mapel Lynch (1883‑1962), daughter of John R. and Mary E. Taylor Lynch. Richard and Verona were the parents of two children. Bernard (1878‑1878).
Tally E. (1879‑1968) married Ruth Decker, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Decker. They were the parents of four children.
Ida Grace (1884‑1929). In 1913 she married Alvy C. Lynch, son of John D. and Elizabeth Jane Lynch. Ida and Alvy were the parents of three children.
Sponsor: Elizabeth Killingsworth Burrows
Fred Lewis was born March 7th, 1875. His parents, Oliver Hazard Perry and Elizabeth Mills Lewis were married in 1869 and moved from Randolph County and purchased a farm near Conings in Gilmer County. He was graduated from the Glenville Normal School. Taught school several years being principal of the Glenville School, then went to West Virginia University and completed the course in civil engineering and was a registered engineer. He served for several years as county surveyor and then became road supervisor for the county. He worked tirelessly many years getting and building good roads for Gilmer County. He left road work in Gilmer County to be assistant engineer in District 3, then was chief engineer in Districts 6 and 7 of the state.
Mr. Lewis was a leader in civic affairs, was secretary of the Glenville School Board when a new school for Glenville was obtained and served many times on the school board. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church serving the church as a deacon for many years. He was a member of Glenville Chapter No. 113 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; was worthy master of the lodge, Deputy State District Grand Lecturer, was a member of the Odd Fellows and Macabees and first Worthy Patron of Glenville Chapter of Eastern Star.
In 1902 Mr. Lewis married Miss Ann Wilson Norris who inherited her family home The Beeches, here they made their home having five children: Ruby Norris, who died in infancy, Mary Louise, Fred Jr., Ann Wilson, and Elizabeth Frances (Mrs. James Gaynor), Fred Jr. married Mabel Morrison of Sutton and they had one child, Mabel Ann. She married James Dygert of Michigan and they have three children, Sally Ann, Susan Elizabeth, and David Lewis Dygert.
Fred Lewis was a man of the highest integrity, a devoted husband, a loving and understanding father and grandfather, a loyal kind, and interested friend. When he died a former resident of Glenville wrote: "When ever I think of Glenville and its environs, the vision of Fred Lewis comes to my mind. He was a good neighbor; a useful citizen of his county, state, and nation."
He died at the family home The Beeches on May 21st, 1950 and is buried beside his wife in the family cemetery. Fred Jr., died July 1, 1976, at Vienna, W.Va., and was buried in the family plot.
Sponsor by his children: Mary Louise Lewis
Ann Wilson Lewis and Elizabeth L. Gaynor
CHARLIE HANNIBAL LEWIS
Charlie Hannibal Lewis, frequently called "Charlie Checkerboard," was born in the year 1877. He and his wife, Lillie Lewis, lived in Gilmer County W.VA., for more than fifty years. Much of that time they were the only Negroes living in Glenville.
Mr. Lewis moved here from Fairmont in a wagon. He was what may be called "a jack of all trades." He worked as a cook at Glenville State College and as a hod carrier.
He helped build approximately twenty‑one buildings in Glenville, including the college science hail, the gymnasium, the old library (Clark Hall), and some of the dormitories. He has been a mortar mixer, gardener, and butcher. He was a jockey and horse trainer at Beverly and Elkins, W.VA.
"At one time I boxed a little too," stated Mr. Lewis. "In an
exhibition boxing match, I knocked out my opponent in the sixth round. I am distantly related to Joe Lewis," he claimed. Besides being a great story teller, Mr. Lewis also played the banjo and sang. At one time, be sang with a choir which played in Glenville for four weeks. "I like this town and the people," said the friendly old Negro, "and I have a lot of friends around here."
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis were married in Tucker County, W.VA. They had two daughters, ten grandchildren, and several great grandchildren. Mr. and Mrs. Lewis were married for about fifty‑five years.
Mr. Lewis lived on a Lewis Street most of his life. While in Fairmont he lived on Lewis Street, when he worked in Charleston he lived on Lewis Street, and in Glenville his home was on Lewis Street.
Sponsor: Mary E. Young
OLIVER HAZARD PERRY LEWIS
Oliver Hazard Perry Lewis was born March 20, 1836 in Marshall County, W.Va. His parents were John Wilmoth Lewis and Mary Lewis. The family moved to Randolph County on Roaring Creek.
When the Civil War began Captain Lewis and three brothers; Walter, John and Stephen joined the Confederate Army, Company F, the Thirty First WV known as the Randolph Rifles which was attached to General Stonewall Jackson's command. Mr. Lewis was raised from private to 1st Lieutenant, then Captain and was scheduled to be raised to the rank of colonel when the war ended. He was captured after much fighting in many battles; including Bull Run, Seven Day's Battle of the Wilderness,
and Gettysburg. After the close of the war, on June 13, 1865 he was released at Fort Delaware and returned home to Roaring Creek. In 1869 he married Elizabeth Frances Mills and they moved to Conings, Gilmer County. While in prison at Fort Delaware, he carved using a needle and an ebony button he found in the camp, a beautiful and artistic wedding ring for his wife. The ring had a Mother of Pearl heart entwined by an anchor and wreath of roses.
Captain Lewis was a civil engineer and was for a long time county surveyor. Many of the first surveys in Gilmer County were made by him. He was also a farmer of note, respected by all who knew him, and a deeply religious man ever ready to help those who needed him.
To him and his wife were born eight children: Jessie (Mrs. T.C. McQuain), Clemmie Edna (Mrs. Barkit Schulte), Worren, Scipio, Sidney, and Fred. A daughter died in infancy.
Captain Lewis died at his home April 30, 1917 and was buried in the Troy Cemetery.
Sponsored by the children of his son, Fred Lewis, Sr.
JACOB LORENTZ, JR.
Jacob Lorentz. Jr. was a son of Jacob. Sr. and Elizabeth Lorentz. (Hardesty: Grandson of Jacob, Sr.; son of John and Rachel Rigor Lorentz.) On October 30. 1852, he married Mary Sisson Bland. The marriage ceremony was performed by Robert A. Castleman in Weston, Virginia. They had nine children: Edmond T. (1853), Theodoric G. (1855). Charles (1858). William John (1863). Emma (Mrs. C.T. Whiting) (1867). Anna Lee (1869), Grace (1874), Alice (Mrs. Herman Leper) (1877), Mary (Mrs. Jackson Harr) (1861).
After the Civil War, Jacob, Jr., moved his family to Glenville, West Virginia. The old Lorentz home is still standing at 114 Walnut Street. It was on this property that Jacob established a tannery which made leather from raw furs or hides.
The raw hides were placed down in deep vats, stretched to full size and the hides were covered over with either chestnut or oak bark and left in the vats to tan.
After Jacob's death, the tannery was continued by his son Theodoric (Rod), Circa: 1915.
There are three survivors of the Jacob Lorentz, Jr. family living in 1976: Bonnie (Edmond) Lorentz Keith, Andrew (Emma) Whiting, Lestelle (William John) Lorentz Murphy. However the name is being continued by grandchildren.
William John Lorentz married Anna Florence Beall, daughter of Harvey Beall (born 1831) and Amanda M. Brannon (Born Nov. 22, 1835) who had been married in 1854. Ann Florence was born Sept. 18, 1865. William John and Anna Florence Lorentz had two children: William "Skibo" Beall Lorentz and Lestelle Adelaide "Dolly" Lorentz. "Skibo" was widely known for his basketball playing ability at Glenville State College. "Dolly", a graduate of GSC. taught school for a number of years and married B. Cardell Murphy from Clay County, W.Va. They have a daughter Ann Lorentz Murphy. William B. married Mary Garrett. They had three children: Ann Rodney Lorentz, John, and William B.. Jr. The two boys continue the line and name of the Jacob Lorentzes.
Sponsor: Mrs. B.C. [Lestelle L.] Murphy
JACOB LORENTZ, SR., AND JOHN
Jacob Lorentz, Sr., probably never lived in Gilmer County, W.Va. How ever since his descendants played an important role in the development and settlement of Gilmer County, and he is the first known member of this line, his biography definitely belongs in this publication. There are two versions of his beginnings. The local one follows:
Jacob Lorentz, Sr., Abraham Post and Ab Carper migrated from the South Branch of the Potomac Circa: 1800. There being no roads in this area, the men cut a road to Beverly, Virginia. now West Virginia Soon after their arrival at Beverly, Mr. Lorentz started a mercantile business, the only one in that area. As the terrain was too steep for wagons, pack horses were used to carry goods from Richmond, Virginia to Mr. Lorentz's store. Needless to say, only the most necessary items were kept in the store. Barter was the medium of exchange. No money was brought into the area except with the arrival of a drove of hogs or a herd of cattle being driven to the eastern markets or the arrival of a train of pack horses laden with furs and medicinal roots.
The articles sold were necessarily high in price. A relative of Jacob Lorentz. Sr. reported that calico sold for 25 cents a yard nails were 25 cents a pound and cotton 25 cents a yard and other goods correspondingly high.
In time, Jacob migrated to present day Upshur County. Here he became a large landholder and established a mercantile business where the town of Lorentz developed and is still in existence (1976).
Jacob Lorentz, Sr. was a man of great ability. An old photograph of him shows a face of distinction. Very little is known of his place of origin except that he came from Alsace‑Lorraine, which at that time was under the control of France. His wife, Elizabeth, belonged to a German family called Stalnaker whose family claimed to have been of noble birth.
The 1883 Hardesty version stated that Jacob Lorentz was born in Lancaster County. Pa., in Jan. 1776. When 21, he emigrated to Virginia and in Randolph County married Rebecca. daughter of Valentine Stalnaker. In 1807 they moved to Harrison County, where he farmed for four years, then went into the mercantile business. He was justice of the peace here and when this section became Lewis County and in 1852 it became Upshur County. Hence, he served three counties without moving. He and Rebecca had 16 children. She died in 1859. He died April 11. 1866. He started life a poor man, but when he died he was worth $93,939,87, which was justly divided among his children.
John Lorentz, one of their sons, was born near Beverly, April 16, 1806. His first wife was Rachel Rigor who died at Weston in 1870. They had ten children and named one them Jacob, born Jan. 22, 1826. (In this booklet he is listed as Jacob Lorentz, Jr., to distinguish him from his grandfather.)
John Lorentz was a surveyor of Lewis County for six years when it embraced what is now Lewis, Upshur, Braxton, and Gilmer Counties. He held other important county offices and lived at Salt Lick Bridge, Braxton County.
Sponsor: Mrs. B.C. [Lestelle Lorentz] Murphy
JOHN DOLAN LYNCH
John Dolan Lynch was born March 10, 1844. He was the son of Adam Lynch (1815‑1899) and Eliza Snyder Lynch (1822‑1874), daughter of Jacob Snyder. His grandparents George and Mary Gregory Lynch came to Lynch Run from Webster County in 1820. He died in 1929.
John Dolan Lynch married Elizabeth Jane Lance (1851‑1946). He farmed and reared his family on land on Mud Lick Run, a part which was secured by his father, Adam Lynch, through a land grant from the Commonwealth of Virginia.
John Dolan Lynch and Elizabeth Jane Lance Lynch were the parents of six sons and five daughters:
Okey W. Lynch (1874‑1875)
Alvy Clarence Lynch (1876‑1955) married Ida Grace Killingsworth (1884‑1929). They had two sons and one daughter.
Vada E. Lynch (1879‑1971) married Ira Coberly. They had two daughters who died in infancy.
Charles Lynch (1880‑1880).
Bernard Ray Lynch (1881‑1945) married Lona Messenger. They had one son and two daughters.
Ida Blanche Lynch (1883‑1967) married Henry Rollins. They had one son and two daughters.
Howard H. Lynch (1885‑1955) married Mabel Johnson. They had one son.
Judson Elmer Lynch (1887‑1955) married Opal Bell. They had two sons and two daughters.
Ora Lynch (1889‑ ) married Okey Heater.
Bertha Lynch (1891‑1971) married Albert L. Burnside. They had two sons.
Louretha Lynch (1894‑ ( married Worthy Clovis. They had one daughter. Louretha later married Simon Walton.
John Dolan Lynch. His wife Elizabeth Jane, his parents, Adam and Eliza Jane Lynch and two sons Okey Lynch and Charles Lynch are buried in the family cemetery on the farm at the head of Mud Lick Run.
Sponsor: Mary Louise Reese
JOHN R. LYNCH
John R. Lynch, son of William and Rachel Isner Lynch, was born October 17, 1852. His grandparents. George and Mary Gregory Lynch, came from Webster County in 1820 and settled on Lynch Run which was named for them. They acquired a considerable amount of land, part by grant from the Commonwealth of Virginia. George Lynch was appointed as one of the commissioners to superintend the first election after the formation of Gilmer County.
February 16, 1843, William Lynch 1817‑1879), the father of John R., married Rachel Isner, (1817‑1898). He was a farmer and a miller. He was Justice of the Peace about 1858. and served in the House of Delegates in 1871.
In 1883, he built a large mill near the mouth of Lynch Run, a combination grist and saw mill. The community was then called Lynch's Mills until the Post Office was established and called Truebada. William also sent coal from his mine to Parkersburg in large barges.
John R. Lynch was a farmer and lumberman. He served one term as Deputy Assessor and one as Justice of the Peace in Glenville. He was an Elder in the Presbyterian Church for about 59 years. September 28, 1882 he married Mary E. Taylor, (1864‑1951), daughter of David B. and Mary B. Taylor. he died March 20, 1951. John R. and Mary E. Lynch were the parents of 13 children one of whom died in infancy. All the children who lived to be adults were teachers at one time or another. The children were: Verona M. (1883‑1962), married Richard H. Killingsworth in 1903: Grover E. (1885‑1918), married Pearl Hammond in 1911; Lulu (1887‑ ). married Tillotson Fryatt in 1919; William B. (1 889‑1964), married Effie Clovis 1915; Mary (1891‑ married Goff Summers 1913: Frank (1893‑1916); Myra (1895‑ ), married Oscar C. Mick 1917: Robert (1898‑ ) married Ersie Collins 1918; Paul (1900‑1904); Charles S. (1902‑ ), married Katherine Zimmerman 1935; Audrey (1903‑ ) married Cecil M. Jividen 1948: Olive (1903‑ ) married Clyde B. Jividen 1935; Infant 1908‑1908).
Sponsor: Myra Lynch Mick
WILLIAM BROOK LYNCH
William Brook Lynch was born near what is now Truebada, in Gilmer County June 3, 1889. He was the son of John R. Lynch (1852‑1951) and Mary E. Taylor Lynch (1864‑1951) who lived on a farm near Truebada. He was one of a family of thirteen children, eleven of whom lived to adulthood.
On September 15, 1915, he married Effie Clovis, daughter of Benjamin and Ruth Long Clovis. Effie was born November 12, 1888.
Mr. Lynch was a member of the Board of Education of Glenville District which established Sand Fork High School in 1920. The school started operation in 1922, but in 1969 was converted to an elementary school.
He served as Sheriff of Gilmer County one term, from January 1, 1933 to December 31, 1936.
He served as County Clerk of Gilmer County from January 1, 1939 until August 31, 1955. He was also a partner in the operation of a coal mine near Truebada.
Mr. Lynch died January 18, 1964. His wife died December 25, 1973. They are buried in the Otterbein Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Myra Lynch Mick
ROY B. MCGEE
Roy B. McGee was born at New England in Wood County near Parkersburg on February 12, 1889. He was the son of William F. and Mary Whitlatch McGee.
When he was very young, the family moved to Glenville, West Virginia, where his father established a funeral home and furniture store. His sons, Roy and Robert assisted him in the business until they established funeral homes of their own.
Roy married Ava Bush Powell in February, 1908, and moved to Sinking Creek. It was here that he established a funeral home of his own. He was the first licensed embalmer in Gilmer County, having graduated from the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science and granted a license to practice the Science of Embalming by the State Board of Embalmers on July 16, 1914.
On June 4, 1910, a daughter. Mary was born.
He was very active in community projects. In 1922 he organized a "Good Roads Club" and served as its president for several years. The club purchased a tractor and maintained the Sinking Creek road for many years.
On November 29, 1932, his wife Ava, died of pneumonia and in 1945 he married Rugie Fling of Tanner, West Virginia, where he established a funeral home. It is now owned by the Stump Funeral Home of Grantsville.
He was a member of the Horn Creek Baptist Church, the Lions Club of Glenville, and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Newberne. West Virginia.
He died June 22, 1949, and was buried in the Horn Creek Baptist Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Mary McGee Currey
HESTER ANN HECK MCGINNIS
This is a memorial to my mother, Hester Ann Heck McGinnis, a descendent of Johann Yost Heck a German immigrant who settled in Philadelphia in 1733, later moved to Monogalia County, West Virginia. Her great, great, great grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier serving under Washington. Her father died in our Civil War.
When eighteen she married John H. McGinnis in 1879. They had nine children who lived to adulthood and attended Glenville Normal: Ernest, Howard, Albert, Viola, Mabel, John, Carl, William and Rymer. Mother gave up her desire to get an education after her second child was born, but ambitious for herself and her family then resolved to give her children an education.
In 1900 her family moved just outside Glenville, lived in an old house while they built a twelve room house. There was no electricity, refrigerators, washers, dryers ‑ no gas until 1907.
Mother's life changed from a woman rearing a family to one of supporting and educating them. Father and the older children helped. I have a picture of our family with our thirty "Boarders" who were attending Glenville Normal School.
Father died in 1911. Mother's health began to fail with five more children to educate. John was one of the first twenty Gilmer County draftees for World War I, was killed in 1918 leaving substantial insurance proceeds to take care of Mother until she died in 1930.
Six of her children became teachers. Carl K. McGinnis was Gilmer County School Superintendent until he died in 1938. Howard J. McGinnis was president of West Liberty College and East Carolina Teacher's College.
Sponsor: William Heck McGinnis
HOWARD J. MCGINNIS
Howard J. McGinnis (4‑4‑1882‑ 8‑26‑1971) married Nellie Weissman, who was born in 1882 and still living in 1976. Their daughters are Alma (Mrs. Frank Pavlik) of Huntington, NY and Helen (Mrs. Herbert Hadley) Greenville, N.C. Howard was the son of John H. (1849‑ 1911) and Hester Heck McGinnes (1861‑1930). He graduated from Glenville Normal School in 1906, received BS from WVU in 1915, MA from Univ. of Chicago in 1924 and PhD at George Peabody College in 1932. He taught elementary schools of Gilmer County four years, and in Morgantown three years, was principal of schools in Bridgeport, W.Va., taught science at Fairmont State Teachers College for five years, was president of West Liberty State for six years, was registrar of East Carolina Teachers College eighteen years, and was president of East Carolina two years. In 1946 he stepped down, and organized the Division of Field Services, which was responsible for extension work and public relations. He handled extension classes until his retirement in 1950.
A member of Rotary International, Dr. McGinnis served as president of the local club at Greenville. N.C., and as District Governor. He was a Blue Lodge Mason, a 32nd degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a member of the Shrine. His fraternities included Phi Sigma Kappa, Phi Delta Kappa, and Phi Beta Xappa.
Brothers and sisters of Howard J. McGinnis: Ernest (1880‑1928), teacher and County Clerk of Lewis County. Albert (1884‑1945), telephone repairman and farmer. Viola (Mrs. Ott Rader 1886‑1969) housewife. Mabel (Mrs. Harvey Hall 1891‑ ) retired teacher. John (1895‑1918) teacher, died in AEF. Carl (1897‑1938) teacher, Gilmer Co. Supt. of Schools. William (1900‑ ) retired teacher.
Rymer (1904‑ ) retired machinist
Sponsor Rymer McGinnis
JOHN WILLIAM MCVANEY
John William McVaney
Born: May 14,1865
Died: January 23, 1927
John McVaney worked for the South Penn Oil Company for 22 years as an engineer. He had a hobby (in his spare time) as a blacksmith. In his blacksmith shop he was capable of making almost anything. Wagon wheels, furniture, automobile repair, or anything anyone asked him to do, he oversaw or designed the parts.
Mr. McVaney did not take a vacation for 19 years, when he had to leave the shop one of his sons would look after the shop, either Jess McVaney or Tom McVaney.
His wife, Mary Elizabeth Snyder, came here from Ritchie Co. To this union were born eleven children: eight sons and three daughters: Thurman (deceased), Jess (now living in Glenville), Thomas (deceased), Alma Lowe, June, Bess Moore, John. Harry, Jake, Pansy (deceased), and Lorenza Dow.
Sponsor: Mrs. J. L. McVaney
C.W. "JUDGE" MARSH
"Judge" Marsh, as he was widely known for most of his life, was born in the Skin Creek area of Lewis and Upshur Counties on Dec. 20, 1878. He was christened Colonel Woodford Marsh by his parents, Gilbert and Mary (Zinn) Marsh, naming him for a family friend who had been a Civil War hero. Disdaining this, he signed legal documents C.W. Marsh. C.W. Marsh came to Gilmer County at the turn of the Century, entered Glenville Normal School, and completed the Standard Normal course, being graduated with the Class of 1901. It was here during a "Kangaroo court" that be was given the judge handle that he liked. Two members of the court who were to become outstanding prosecutors in northern W.Va. courts selected young Marsh in 1900 to head their tribunal He was selected for his demonstrated fairness and wisdom.
Marsh came to Glenville to prepare for a teaching career. However, he became attached to the area. With a close friend, they founded The Glenville Democrat. After a year, he became sole owner, editor, and publisher, and remained as such for the next fifty years. Gifted with a rapier‑sharp pen, his political editorials were re‑printed from Panhandle‑to‑Panhandle. His influence for others in politics was beyond belief. Once he brought out a relatively unknown jurist and guided him into the Governor's mansion.
Numerous examples of the results his long distance phone calls could be given, if space permitted. He was reared in the faith of the M.E. Church, South, however, was not a church goer. He knew the Bible thoroughly. He gave generously to all congregations.
Marsh served in the U.S. Army during WWI, and returned a First Lt., to settle in a room in the old Whiting House, and to The Democrat. During his absence the paper had been published by Miss Minnie Kendall Lowther, Bantz W. Craddock, and "Squire" Will Kee.
Then he built the Pictureland Theater and apartments and moved there. Through loans to close friends that failed, he acquired much property. There was a disastrous experience in the stock market. But through lean periods, he held on. He bought the other theater in town and closed it. In time, he acquired farms, a few gas wells, the Gilmer County Fair and fairgrounds, and a Jeep. Briefly, he completed the term of State Senator who had died.
But the Jeep was his undoing. On April 22, 1953, while dragging logs up a hillside with the Jeep, it reared and fell on him, crushing his chest. He died shortly afterwards in the Weston General Hospital. He was buried near Buckhannon in the Heavener cemetery.
Sponsor: E. Nicholas Orr, IV
LAURA E. MARSHALL
Laura E. Marshall, the daughter of the late Lorenza Dow and Columbia Snyder McVaney, was born Sept. 27, 1875 at Stewarts Creek, Gilmer Co. She married Charles E. Marshall, brother of T. Marcellus Marshall. first president of Glenville State College, in November 1896. To this union seven children were born, three of whom are still living. They are: A.C. Marshall, West Milford, W.Va., C.L. Marshall, Stout's Mills, W.VA., and Mrs. Lucille Hall. of Glenville with whom she makes her home.
Mrs. Marshall is grandmother of 16, great grandmother of 26 and great great grandmother of 8. She is a member of the Burnsville Presbyterian Church, Honorary member of the Democrat Women's Club of Gilmer Co., and exercised voting privileges in the 1976 primary. She is on her way to 101 years of age, having lived half of our Bicentennial years.
Note: Laura E. Marshall died July 5, 1976, as these biographies were being prepared for the printer.
Sponsor: Mrs. Lucille Marshall Hall
THOMAS MARCELLUS MARSHALL
T. Marcellus Marshall, a former principal of Glenville Normal School, was widely known as an educator and world traveler. He was born May 17. 1851. a son of Mr. and Mrs. Robert R. Marshall of Stout's Mills. W.VA., she the former Sarah Stout. He received his early education in Gilmer County, graduated from Marshall College, and learned much by home study and travel.
Glenville Normal School was begun on January 14. 1873, with T.M. Marshall as acting principal. At first, the Old Brick Court House was lent to the school for use during the first term. Then a two‑story frame house was purchased from Wm. E. Lively and reconditioned for the school. In September, 1873, Louis Bennett was appointed principal, with T.M. Marshall as his First Assistant. In 1875, Mr. Marshall became principal of the school and served through June, 1881. Funds were scarce, and Mr. Marshall often performed janitorial services as well as teaching. Later, he taught for a few years in Indian schools in the West.
Mr. Marshall was unconventional in some ways, often dressing poorly when speaking at local institutes, or even when attending state and national educational meetings. He was very prominent in the N.E.A. for many years, and was its first life director. In his world travels, he visited almost every country. He could converse in at least six different languages.
Mr. Marshall married Olive A. Hays. There were seven children from this union: viz. Cyril, Ida, Sarah, Marie, Elsie, Merle, and Gail. Mrs. Marshall died Nov. 14, 1955, in St. Petersburg, Florida.
A large monument has been erected to Mr. Marshall's memory on the bank of Little Kanawha River, near Stout's Mills. The inscription reads: "T. MARCELLUS MARSHALL; MAY 17, 1851 ‑ NOV. 13, 1925; FIRST NORMAL CLASS, JUNE 12, 1870; PRINCIPAL GLENVILLE STATE NORMAL, 1873; ORIGINAL LIFE DIRECTOR NEA, 1877; INDIAN SCHOOL, SAN JUAN, N.M., 1884; CARLISLE 1893‑94; WHITE CLOUD, KANSAS, 1894."
Sponsor: Gilmer Co. Historical Society
CHARLES LEWIS MAXWELL
Charles Lewis Maxwell, second son of Lewis M. Maxwell, was born on January 12, 1869 at Pullman, Ritchie County. He was united in marriage to Ella Woofter on April 7, 1891 at Dekalb, Gilmer County by Rev. Salathiel Stalnaker. Mrs. Ella Woofter Maxwell was born on April 7, 1874. They became the parents of thirteen children: Clarence deceased 1965, Forest Arbanas of Parkersburg, Albert ‑ deceased 1971, Lucy M. Vannoy ‑deceased 1935, Gilbert F. of Morgantown, Roy C. of Parkersburg, Muriel C. Snyder of Parkersburg, Mildred M. Coger of Dekalb, Charles B. of Dunbar, Hazel M. Woith of Bradenton, Florida, Frankie ‑ deceased in infancy, Pearl L. Bland of St. Albans, Woodrow W. of Parkersburg. There are now seventy‑four living direct descendants of Charles and Ella Maxwell, thirty‑two grandchildren; thirty‑three great grand children and nine living children.
Charles L. Maxwell in 1911 bought the Frances Woofter farm on Little Kanawha River ten miles below Glenville. This was where his wife was reared and part of this large Maxwell family were born and all grew to adult age here.
Mr. and Mrs. Maxwell were both industrious, hard‑working people. They farmed extensively and dealt in cattle and sheep and with thrifty management accumulated enough to rear and educate their large family. They had many friends and were well known for their wonderful hospitality. People liked to visit at "Charlie Maxwell's."
Mr. and Mrs. Maxwell were deeply religious and used discipline in their home. They were always proud and loved to boast of this nice large family. They attended church regularly.
Charles Lewis Maxwell died May 3, 1943, from a coronary and was followed in death by Ella Woofter Maxwell on January 24, 1949. They are buried in the cemetery at the old log Job's Temple Church at Dekalb, Gilmer County. Their daughter, Mrs. Mildred Cogar lives at the site of the old home place, and two sons, Clarence, and Albert, lived on adjoining farms.
Sponsor: Charles B. Maxwell, Contributed by Mrs. Muriel Snyder
HENRY M. MESSENGER
Henry M. Messenger, son of Roswell and Sarah Messenger, married Sarah Ann Keith January 4, 1853. To this union, three children were born: William M., Sarah Margaret, and Benjamine Stickley.
They were settlers taking up two claims of land. After proving up on the land, they cleared it and built their log cabin.
Henry and his wife, his brother Roswell, and John and Nancy Byrd, cut and hewed logs to build the first church in 1861, called Oak Grove United Brethren, and were the first charter members of the church.
A farmer by trade, Henry was taken away at night by a group of night riders in the fall of 1863, He was taken to Andersonville Prison Camp.
In 1864, a letter was written by Clara Barton stating she had attended Henry in his last hours and he had died of dysentery on July 26, 1864. No one knew where his remains were until approximately 1965. His grave is in section 1, grave #4017 of the Andersonville National Cemetery in Georgia.
Henry's son, William, became a farmer and stockman; his daughter, Sarah became a housewife, weaver, and obtained hobbies of knitting and quilting; and his younger son, Benjamin, became a farmer, merchant, surveyor, casket builder, and later had a leather shop in which he made shoes, boots, and ladies half hands.
Sponsor: Mary Messenger Skinner [Granddaughter of Henru M. Messenger.]
Solomon Mick was born near Buckhannon Feb. 10, 1841, the son of Charles and Phobia Mick. He married Mary Elizabeth Lawman Nov. 27, 1860. They became the parents of 16 children.
Solomon Mick not only was the founder of one of the earliest schools in Gilmer county, but became the father and grandfather of Gilmer County's Teachingest Family.
There were no free schools during his boyhood, he attended pay schools until he was well versed in the 3R's.
At the age of 20 he enlisted in the service of his country, where he served three years during the Civil War,
In the year 1868, he moved his wife and five children, by wagon train from Upshur County to Gilmer ‑ locating on the head of Rocky Fork one mile from the junction of Braxton. Lewis, and Gilmer Counties, where I‑79 passes. At this time this was wilderness land, he being the fourth settler to arrive.
Later he and his neighbors met and decided each would build a road through his farm, build a church and school house. Mr. Mick donated a lot for each and contributed much of the material and labor.
The community, church and school prospered ‑ The covenant he had made as he was wending his way into the wilderness, fording streams, bumping over rocks and the rough terrain had now been fulfilled ‑ a road had been built, a church and school established. He was an active member of the Methodist Church and belonged to the 100F Lodge.
He died Feb. 18, 1923, at the age of 82 ‑ leaving a rich heritage of children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren.
Sponsor: Hazel M. Boilon
GEORGE WALLACE MILLER
George Wallace Miller, the son of George W. and Letitia Brannon Miller. He was married to Margaret Jane Collins, daughter of Herbert Spencer Collins and Opal D. Ralston Collins. He lives at Tanner, Gilmer County, and has drilled about one hundred oil and gas wells. He is a graduate of Glenville State College and had an AM. degree from West Virginia University. He coached three sports and track at Charleston High School, Dunbar and Winfield. He taught in Tanner Elementary school and was principal of Tanner Junior High School. In all. he taught twenty‑three years before going into oil and gas operation.
The children are Dr. Michael J. Miller, graduate of Marietta College, Ohio, and George Washington University Law School, Washington D.C.: George Washington Kent Miller, a graduate of Tanner High School and attended Glenville State College. He was killed while working for a service company at Mt. Zion; AnKara Letitia Miller was born in 1940. She graduated from Parkersburg High School, and from Glenville State College, attended West Virginia University and Ohio University. She is married to Mark Richard Downey and lives in Delphos, Ohio.
Sponsor: George Wallace Miller
GEORGE WASHINGTON MILLER
George Washington Miller, son of George W. and Amanda Riddle Miller was born in 1872 at Miller hollow of Third Run in Dekalb District. His father had been a Union Soldier and came to this country while working on the river channel for the Federal Government to improve navigation on the Little Kanawha River. George Washington Miller was married to Letitia Brannon, daughter of Ann Brannon and George Davis, a graduate of Glenville Normal School, in 1896. She taught school at Third Run, Sinking Creek, Glenville and Moundsville. She and her husband were postmasters at Tanner in 1906 and 1909. She died in 1940.
George and Letitia Brannon Miller were the parents of Harry C. who died when he was a freshman in College; Ruth who died while still in elementary school; George Wallace still living at Tanner and is engaged in oil and gas operations after teaching for many years; and Maurice (Tony) who was an athlete at Tanner high School and Glenville State College where he played both football and basketball. Tony coached at Sand Fork, War, South Charleston Junior High and Charleston High School where he was head coach in basketball. He now lives in Washington, D.C.
Letitia Brannon Miller had a brother, Grover E. Brannon. who devoted his life to teaching. He was a graduate of Glenville Normal School in 1914. Of the many schools that he taught in Gilmer County, these included Upper Laurel, Cather, Bailey, and Hardman Fork. He was an unusually good teacher. In the late thirties, he taught adult classes at Laurel and Trace in Dekalb District. He was married to Gladys Waggoner Thorn.
Sponsor: George Wallace Miller
WILLIAM MCCLELLAN MOSS
William McClellan Moss was born on Little Bull Run, Gilmer County, on January 31, 1875, the son of William Marcus Moss and the former Miss Lee Lamb. His paternal grandparents were James and Martha Ann Gibson Moss.
On December 4, 1901, he married Margaret Priscilla Waldeck. Their children are Hall Waldeck "E.T." Moss, Maysel Moss Luzader. Wahneta Moss Blair, William H. "Jake" Moss, and Marguerite Moss Dowling.
Mr. Moss lived practically all his life in Gilmer County. He worked a few years in the timbering industry in the states of Idaho and Washington.
The Moss family lived on a farm on Big Bull Run until the spring of 1919 when they moved to Glenville in order to be closer to a school. Mr. Moss was, at that time, County Road Engineer. For several years, Mr. Moss and Mr. Van Arnold owned and operated a grocery and wholesale feed store in Glenville where the Country Store is now located. They owned a gasoline boat which Mr. Moss operated during the winter months to bring freight from Gilmer Station. At one time, he was employed as County Surveyor. Later, he worked for the State Road Commission as a heavy equipment operator and a general foreman. Mr. Moss also worked as a general contractor on grading and building. He served as an operational engineer at the local County Cannery.
Mr. Moss was a deeply religious man who was always active in the church of his community. In Glenville. he was a member of the Trinity United Methodist Church.
Mr. Moss passed away on August 7, 1966. His wife preceded him in death on November 14, 1958.
Sponsor: Mrs. Maysel Moss Luzader
WILLIAM ELLIOT MOWERY
William Elliot Mowery. the only son of George and Florence (Greenlief) Mowery, was born on May 15. 1882 in Gilmer County.
His father came to Gilmer County in 1880 or 1881 from Barbour County and his mother was an early settler of the county.
Mary J. Cottrill became his wife and his helpmate with the duties of a farm life on Rock Run in Cedarville. West Virginia. She was born February 2, 1884, in Gilmer County, a daughter of Lloyd and Martha Ann (McDaniel) Cottrill.
They were the parents of one son and one daughter:
Dale Edward ‑ born September 27, 1905, in Gilmer County and presently residing in Akron Ohio.
Dollie Lee ‑ born March 28, 1907, and presently residing in Clarksburg, West Virginia.
In their later years, they moved to Harrison County in order to be closer to their daughter and granddaughter, Mrs. Evelyn Gore.
Both Mr. Mowery, who died May 13, 1968, and his wife, who passed away on September 18, 1969, are buried in the Cedarville cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Evelyn Gore
Riley Murphy was born in Gilmer County 1885. The son of James and Hester Ann Murphy. His maternal grandparents were Lewis and Sally Ann Ailtop. Paternal grandparents ‑ Thomas and Fatima Murphy. Thomas Murphy came from Ireland at the age of twelve.
Riley was forced to leave school when he was ten to assist his father with two mail routes which he operated. He was permitted to resume his education at fourteen. He promptly advanced his studies. In 1903, he earned a teaching certificate at Glenville Normal School. For the next several years he taught in many rural schools about Gilmer County including Reip, Spruce, Steer Run, Sun Rise, Cather, and many others. Between 1925 and 1937, he was one of 15 Gilmer teachers who were issued life certificates.
Before retirement age as an educator, he looked for another means of earning a livelihood. With the aid of home study courses, he became a very fine watch repairman. So adept was he in skill that during World War II he was commissioned by the U.S. Government to Langley Air Force Base, Newport News, Virginia, to a position as instrument maker and repairman on fine, precision instruments for aircraft. He received a grade A rating for his services.
A many faceted man, he mastered the art of ventriloquism and with his doll "Jimmy" toured with a home‑town variety show during the 1930's. He plays the violin, guitar, banjo, and mandolin. He is an avid sports fan and enjoys gardening.
Riley Murphy married Josie L. Furr August 22, 1904. Her parents were Floyd and Mary Ellen Furr. She was also born in Gilmer county. They celebrated their 72nd wedding anniversary August 22, 1976. with a quiet family gathering at their home on Brooklyn Drive, Glenville. Morgantown television station WWVU‑TV previewed the event on their seven and eleven o'clock evening news programs on August 20, 1976.
The Riley Murphys reared three daughters. They are Noreen Zerbest of Glenville, Mary Ann Yeager of Huntington, and Kathleen Schultz of Morgantown, all W.Va. Their granddaughter. Margaret K. Zerbest lives in Morgantown.
Riley is a member of the I.O.O.F. Lodge. He attends the First Baptist Church of Glenville.
Sponsor: Mary Ann Murphy Yeager
JAMES CRONER MUSSER SR.
James Croner Musser was born January 31, 1891, at Jane Lew in Lewis County, W.Va. He was a son of J.Q. Musser and Rosa Bailey Musser. He married Miss Edna Phillips, and there were three children: James C. Jr., Ray Baxter, and Dwight L. Musser.
The Rev. Mr. Musser attended and graduated from the Moody Bible institute at Chicago, Illinois. He was ordained at the Broad Run Baptist Church in Lewis County in 1917. His first pastoral charge was at Blue Rock in Duncan Falls, Ohio.
The Rev. Mr. Musser and family came to Gilmer County W.Va., where he assumed his duties as pastor of the Glenville Baptist Church on November 24, 1926. He remained pastor here until February 1941, having served for a period of nearly fifteen years.
Later he went to Kanawha County and served as pastor of the Dunbar First Baptist Church for seventeen years, where he retired. In his earlier years, lie had taught school in Lewis and Harrison Counties.
The Rev. Mr. Musser was a member of the Glenville Rotary Club and the Lions Club. Also, he was a member of the Masonic Lodge AF and AM of Glenville. He was active in promoting youth clubs such as the Boy Scouts, and served a term as mayor of the city of Glenville.
The Rev. Mr. Musser died June 21, 1974, at Largo, Florida. Interment was in the Broad Run Cemetery in Lewis County, West Virginia.
Sponsor: Mary E. Young
IVY LEE MYERS
Ivy Lee Myers, daughter of Marlin F. and America Mansfield Myers, was born in Wayne County in 1882. She attended public school, Oakville Academy, and was graduated from West Liberty Normal School, West Liberty, W.Va. She earned a BA degree at Peabody College for Teachers, Nashville, Tenn. She attended West Virginia University for four semesters. Prior to the BA degree, she completed the Standard Normal course at Marshall College. Huntington. W.Va.. in elementary education. Later, she earned a MA degree at Columbia University. She first taught
in the one room schools of Wayne County. Then she taught in graded schools in Huntington, Pine Grove, and Surnmersville. She also did training work in Nicholas County High School.
In 1925 she came to Glenville Teachers College as an instructor in elementary education. It became Glenville State College before she retired in 1948.
Following her retirement from the college, she worked for several years as a supervisor in Calhoun County.
After she moved to Parkersburg, W.Va., she served as home visitor for St. Paul's Methodist Church for two years and taught in the kindergarten for eleven years.
Many elementary teachers, active or retired, across the nation will remember fondly the sincere effort this dedicated woman made to help them become good teachers of the very young. She died in July 1973 at the age of 91.
Sponsor: Rachel Myers
JESSIE CAMPBELL NORRIS
[Mrs. James Aloysius Tierney]
Eldest daughter of Mary Louisa Campbell and Milton Norris. Born May 15, 1871 at Glenville, West Virginia, at the "Beeches" family home. Married James Aloysius Tierney Sr. of Weston, West Virginia. October 5, 1904. Died July 1. 1912. Two children James A. Tierney, Jr. born November 28, 1906 and Jessie Norris Tierney.
Her early childhood was spent in Glenville. She graduated high school from Bellwood Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky. She graduated at 16 from Glenville Normal School. She later graduated from Mary Baldwin Seminary of Staunton, Virginia. She was a teacher several years at Glenville Normal School. She taught one year at Fairmont Normal School, teaching math. Resigning this position she entered Laura Memorial Medical College of Cincinnati, and adding to her other accomplishments that of graduate physician May 2, 1901. Taking the West Virginia State Medical examination she made second highest score, and because of this excellence was offered and accepted a position as assistant resident physician in State institution for women in Boston, Massachusetts. Later, Physician in Glenville until her marriage.
Perhaps in no other relation in life did Mrs. Tierney reveal so strikingly her rare qualities as that of wife and mother. A successful teacher, a competent physician, she was even in a more eminent degree a devoted mother.
Member of Presbyterian Church.
Sponsor: Mrs. James A. Tierney
MILTON G. NORRIS
Milton G. Norris was born Nov. 10, 1819, in Ritchie County. He was the son of William Norris and the grandson of John Norris, Revolutionary War soldier of Fauquier County, Va. He was married to Sally Lowther, daughter of Jesse Lowther, and granddaughter of Col. William Lowther. William and Sally Norris lived briefly on the river in Ritchie County. In 1833, the family moved into Gilmer County on Cedar Creek. William died Nov. 24, 1861. Sallie died May 22, 1870, Both are buried in the Norris Cemetery on Cedar Creek, Gilmer County, W.Va.
Milton Norris settled in Glenville on January 3, 1869, he and Mary Louise Campbell were married at Grantsville by the Rev, Joseph Smith. She was the daughter of John C. and Ann Wilson Campbell of Clarksburg and Grantsviile. The Campbells had moved to the area from Round Hill Plantation at Winchester, Va.
Milton G. Norris was a surveyor and business man. He served as one of the first county surveyors and invested in much Gilmer County land. He also acquired much land through patents from Virginia, taking lands in payment for his work as a surveyor. Thus he became a very large land owner.
The Norris's chose for their home a beautiful knoll in Glenville containing 24 acres. This was cleared except for 30 large beech trees and the home named "The Beeches". This was a large, substantial house.
Milton and Mary Norris had four children:
Jessie Campbell Norris, born May 15. 1871: married James A. Tierney of Weston, W.Va.
Sallie Lowther Norris, born Feb. 20, 1873; married Hon. Emmett M. Showalter of Fairmont, W.Va.
Ann Wilson Norris, born Dec. 8, 1875; married Fred Lewis of Glenville.
Rebecca Lupton Norris, born June 5, 1877; died in 1902 while on a trip to the West coast.
Milton G. Norris was a scholar with special interests in astronomy, mathematics, and history. He contributed substantially to the development of Glenville and Gilmer County. He and Nelson M. Bennett are credited with acquiring the William E. Lively property, site of the administration buildings of Glenville State College, March 15, 1873, for $2,000 for the group that was founding the Glenville Branch of the State Normal School. This purchase included three acres and a large frame house which T. Marcellus Marshall and a group of volunteers modified for school use the summer. (The first session had been held that spring in the first little red brick courthouse.)
Mr. Norris died at "The Beeches" on July 30, 1896. Mrs. Norris died on July 3, 1908. Both are buried in the family cemetery at "The Beeches".
Sponsor: Dorothy Murphy Tierney and Mary Louise Lewis
DANIEL ULYSSES O'BRIEN
Captain Daniel Ulysses O'Brien, son of General Emmet Jones O'Brien and Martha Ann Hall O'Brien, was born May 7, 1858, in Lewis County, Virginia and attended West Virginia University from 1879 to 1884. His military training was at West Virginia University and he graduated as the highest ranking cadet in the corps.
In 1884, following his graduation, he came to Glenville Normal School to teach. On May 26, 1887, he married Mellie Whiting, the daughter of Samuel H. and Rebecca Chrissman Whiting. Daniel and Mellie O'Brien settled on a farm on Cedar Creek and later moved to Glenville. He continued active supervision of this large farm of 1200 acres until a short time before his death.
When the Spanish American War broke out in 1898, Governor George Wesley Atkinson commissioned Mr. O'Brien a Captain of Infantry and authorized him to recruit a company of infantry in Gilmer County. Adjoining counties had young men who came to serve their country. The company was formed and became Company L Second West Virginia Volunteers. His company consisted of 106 volunteers. They were men of education and standing who offered their services to their country in the hour of necessity. This company was organized in June 1898 and discharged April, 1899. With the close of the war and the discharge of his company for service, Daniel returned to private life to manage his farm.
Four children were in the O'Brien family: Lonnie O'Brien. Alma O'Brien, Mary O'Brien. and Ruth O'Brien (Mrs. Floyd McDaniel).
One grandson, Albert Wilson McDaniel. a graduate of Virginia Military Institute, class of 1951, follows the military tradition. He has served in the army since 1951: Panama Canal Zone, Korea, Germany, Vietnam, on the Army General Staff in Washington, D.C., and in presently serving on The Military Commission to NATO.
Sponsor: Ruth O'Brien McDaniel
BERTHA E. OLSEN
On April 30, 1907 in the railroad city of Reading, England, I was born. Little did anyone know at that time that Glenville in Gilmer County would be concerned with this insignificant event.
On April 21, 1915, the birthday of my youngest brother, the Olsen family of six sailed from Liverpool, England for New York City. After nine days on a stormy Atlantic we sailed past the Statue of Liberty and docked in New York Harbor, this on my eighth birthday.
Never will I forget my Father taking me by the hand and pointing out a large ship docked in the next pier and telling me to take a good look at the Lusitania just one day before she sailed on her last ill fated voyage.
My father, a Methodist Minister, was assigned to a small village church in upper state New York. There, during the following eleven months I saw snow for the first lime, experienced 30 degrees below zero temperatures, tasted ice cream, cottage cheese and pumpkin pie and saw my first black person.
The following April we moved to South Portland, Maine where I completed my elementary and high school education. The family then moved to Boston, Massachusetts and I enrolled in the New England Conservatory of Music, one of the finest music schools in the country.
In November of 1930, I received unexpectedly a telegram from Dr. E.G. Rohrbough, President of Glenville State College, offering me a teaching position on the college faculty. I accepted and on November 17, 1930 began to teach music and never stopped until I retired in May of 1972.
Now, I am proud to say that Glenville in Gilmer County is my home. I hope that in the years of my retirement I can in some way express my gratitude to the people of Glenville for making me welcome and giving me a happy home.
Sponsor: Bertha E. Olsen
Ed Orr, b.4/25/1907 Osceola. Missouri, christened Edward Nicholas Orr IV. Parents: E. Nicholas Orr, III and Allena (Welch) Orr, natives of West Virginia, from Tyler and Doddridge Counties, respectively.
He came to Glenville Normal School for the academic courses, in Spring of 1925, and as correspondent for Clarksburg Exponent. As it was soon publishing more Glenville news than The Glenville Democrat, C.W. "Judge" Marsh hired Orr. A close relationship existed between the two‑off and on‑from then util Marsh's death.
Glenville always was "Home", 'the away at other schools or other newspaper, Orr always returned when Marsh sent word (through intermediaries‑"Piz" Bass or John E. Arbuckle) he needed him.
Orr attended St. John's Military School, Potomac State, WVU (where in four months became news editor of Daily Athenaeum), then Missouri University, returning to Glenville for final semester and A.B., 1939.
Ed Orr taught journalism, two years; news editor, Dominion‑News, Morgantown; copy Editor, Beacon‑Journal, Akron; state editor, Tampa Daily Times.
At Missouri, joined Phi Kappa Psi; at WVU, Journaliers (grandfathers of Sigma Delta Chi, journalism fraternity); since 1927, member of Sons of American Revolution, having five patriot ancestors. A member of numerous historical, genealogical and alumni organizations.
On May 28, 1938, married Ella G. Murray, SN '34 GSTC: A.B, 43, W.Va. Wesleyan. She, born in Lewis County, a daughter of James M. and Mary (Aman) Murray, Mrs. Orr is a Catholic; he an Episcopalian.
Sponsor: Ed Orr
HOMER B. POWELL
Homer B. Powell, son of Glenville's "Dutch" Powell, was reared in Glenville. If he knew his birth date, he would never tell anyone, but at a very early age, he was in the Spanish American War. There was a large family, some of which we do not know. There was French, Lytlo, Ernest, Eva, Dode, Muffle, Lucy, and perhaps two or three others.
Homer met and married Ora Blanche Bailey when she went to Glenville to attend school. She was the daughter of Jacob and Jane Springston Bailey. Aunt Jane, as everyone called her after she came to live in Glenville, was born in 1861, the 1st year of the Civil War. She had a twin brother. At age 16, she married Jacob Bailey and moved to Leading Creek where they farmed until moving the Glenville. Ora had a brother, Dallas Clark Bailey. He went to school in Glenville, and taught in Shinnston schools until his death.
Homer and Ora lived in Webster Springs for several years where he worked on the railroad, This was where their son Homer Bailey was born. Bailey married Agnes L. Rymer, and they live in Weirton, W.Va. They have four children, Helena B. Woods, William H., Richard L., and Agnes Jane Miller. Homer and Ora had two other children, Hayden, who was married to Nellie Cain, and they had two children, Butch and Mary Sue. Daughter, Helen, married Cota Greenlief, and they have lived in Glenville since
his retirement from Weirton Steel Division.
Ora is still living at the age of 92. Homer lived in Glenville for several years before his death. He served as County Commissioner there.
Sponsors: Mr. and Mrs. Homer Bailey Powell
RUBY VIRGINIA LAMB PRITT
Born August 16, 1918 in a logging camp in Webster Co., WV. Her parents were William "Jet" and Merle Varner Lamb. The family returned to Gilmer County to continue logging when Ruby was about one year old.
On the left side of lower Leading Creek in a five room house constructed by her family on Hoot Owl Run, she grew up with her three brother, Herbert, Warren, and Hale Lamb. The Lamb children and neighbor crossed Leading Creek to attend the Cather School. Probably due to the foresight and guidance of their mother, the Lamb children decided to continue their education beyond grade school. The high schools were strictly zoned so they had to attend Tanner High School, a nine mile walk each way from their home. The oldest son made this walk each day, leaving and returning by lantern light. Ruby was thought too small and
young to try the feat, so arrangements were made for her to board with a family near Tanner. After her freshman year, the zoning was relaxed and she could continue her education in Glenville. The four Lamb children overcame hardships of little money and great distance to see each of them gain college degrees. Warren has gone on to receive his doctorate. Three of the Lambs became teachers or coaches. The oldest son, Herbert gained an executive position with Goodyear Rubber Co. in Akron, Ohio.
Ruby taught in one room schools around Gilmer County for several years after her college graduation. Often she had to board with a family close to her school because the roads were impassable most of the year. On December 26, 1940 she was secretly married to Ralph Hale Pritt in Harrisonburg, VA., because it was "illegal" for a woman school teacher to be married. World War II called her husband into service. She taught until Ralph returned from the war; then gave up her career to rear four children. She returned to work in 1970 because of the ill health of her husband (He died in 1972.) She is starting her 7th year as manager of the Guyan Factory Outlet in Glenville.
Sponsor: June Pritt Carr
JAMES ALEXANDER PICKENS
Some tune in the early 1800's, young James Alexander Pickens (some say Alexander J. Pickens) arrived in Gilmer County and settled along the Little Kanawha River below the mouth of Grass Run. None presently know from where or why he came. He married Mary (Polly) Beall, daughter of George H. and Mary Ann Parsons Beall, and to them were born eleven children. Many of their descendants have been homemakers, farmers, and teachers. They were also Democrats and Baptists.
George Houser Pickens (1844‑1905) was Alexander's oldest son. He married Rachel Kennedy (1846‑1927), daughter of Russell and Rebecca Dennison Kennedy, in 1865. To this union nine children were born: Loman and Loys attended Glenville Normal School and taught school briefly. A daughter, Massalona, married Carey Woofter, teacher, registrar at Glenville State College from 1927 to 1945, and a well‑known folklorist. Lafayette and Calvin served on the Gilmer County Board of Education. Russell Hill was employed in a variety of positions and spent most of his life in Gilmer County.
Calvin Curry Pickens (1869‑1951), the oldest of George's five sons, married Ida Stalnaker, daughter of Nathaniel Wellington and Mary Etta (or Marietta) Stalnaker April 17, 1895. They bought a small farm adjoining farms of each of their parents. Their six children were
born here. All his life, Calvin was basically a farmer. However, to supplement the income from the farm, he engaged in timbering. In early 1900, he spent some two years working in the forests of Webster County. For a number of years during high waters in local streams, he helped float logs down Grass Run to the river, join them into rafts, and run the rafts to Creston where they were sold. As a result, he became a skilled riverman.
Calvin's son, Karl Dewey, became a construction worker. Three daughters taught school: Ruth and Madge (Mrs. J.C. Carper) briefly; and Pearl for 42 years.
Pearl Pickens is the only woman, to date, to have served as a high school principal in Gilmer County. She was also the first Dean of Women on the Glenville State College faculty, a position that she held from 1947 to her retirement in 1964. In 1973, she was given the Annual Service Award by the GSC Alumni Assn. In 1974, Pickens Hall was named and dedicated in her honor.
Pearl completed the Short Course at Glenville Normal School in 1920; received an AB degree at West Virginia University in 1925 and an AM degree in 1933. She also did additional graduate work at WVU and at Ohio State University.
Sponsor: A Great Granddaughter of James Alexander Pickens
Oren Radabaugh was born May 9, 1896, on Lower Cedar Creek, the son of Ernest Leslie (April 28, 1868‑September 29, 1911) and Malinda Ellyson Brannon Radabaugh October 29, 1866‑November 1951). He married Evelyn Davis (February 12, 1903‑January 26, 1960), the daughter of Robert E. (April 17, 1874‑October 4, 1957) and Ida May Bell Davis (May 9, 1875 February 17,1963), of DeKalb. To this union four children were born: Robert Fred (August 30, 1930); Mary Elizabeth (May 11, 1933); Roy Leslie (April 8, 1939); and Doris Mae (December 26, 1942). Fred married Rose Willadean Clarkson, daughter of Warren Edwin and Ada Williams Clarkson, of Roane County on August 23, 1958. He is an assistant superintendent for Kanawha County Schools. Roy married Iona Jane Shires, daughter of Edward and Edna Johnson Shires, of near Lewisburg on July 26, 1963. The have two children: Craig Edward (May 6, 1965) and Marcia Jane (January 28, 1969). Roy is an assistant principal in Wood County Schools. Doris and Mary are both teachers in Wood County Schools.
Oren's grandfather was Benjamin Radabaugh (March 25, 1838‑April 2, 1905) son of Benjamin and Fanny Post Radabaugh of Barbour County. Benjamin married Mary Ellen Martin (1847‑1918) in Barbour County on November 23, 1866, He owned property on Gnatty Creek which he sold to his brother, Sandusky, in 1876 and moved with his family to property he had purchased at the Gilmer‑Calhoun line near Nobe. Oren's maternal grandfather was John Ellyson (December 5, 1828‑January 19,1922) who was born near Philippi, Barbour County. He was married to Sarah Woodford (June 13, 1829‑July 5, 1914), daughter of George and Malinda Weaver Woodford, at the age of 20 years and moved to Sinking Creek. He was the third settler to found his home there.
Oren's brothers and sisters: May Brannon (1886‑1968), a half‑sister, married Alvin Cooper; one half‑brother died in infancy (1885); Ethel (December 25, 1889‑January 19, 1944) married Dodson Norman; Maude (August 18, 1892‑ September 21, 1971) married Willie Barton. Pauline (September 16. 1904‑April. 1975) married Hallie Williams; Hoy (September 11, 1907) is married to Pauline Reaser.
Oren served on the Dekalb District Board of Education about 1928‑29 and 1963 to 1969 on the Gilmer County Board of Education. He worked for various oil and gas drilling companies along with farming. He was employed by the Carnegie Natural Gas Company from 1947 until his retirement in 1962. He was active in the Farm Bureau and served on the Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation County Committee. His entire lifetime was spent on Lower Cedar Creek. He died on October 17, 1971 and is buried beside his wife in the Pisgah Cemetery near DeKalb.
Sponsor: Doris Radabaugh
C. O. RAFFERTY
C. O. Rafferty, commonly known as "Lum" or "Squire", was born in Calhoun County in 1875. His parents were John and Matilda Bell Rafferty.
As a young man he worked in lumber camps, cutting timber and taking it by raft on the Little Kanawha River to Parkersburg. He also gave political speeches all over the community.
He married Stella, daughter of Guy and Ida Gainer in 1902. They started housekeeping in a two room house on Middle Run that they were to live in all their married life, building on as their family grew.
He was Asst. Post Master, his wife Stella, Post Mistress, of the Withers Post Office for over 35 years.
He was Justice of the Peace of the Dekalb District for 34 years. He held trials at his home and at the local school house. Some cases were routine, some exciting, others amusing. Some of these trials were paternity suits, with the mother suing for support. Some of the years were during the depression, and in the debt suits, he would try to let people pay in installment payments. In the misdemeanor trials, the lawyers from one or both sides were usually from Glenville.
C. O. and his wife had 7 children ‑ Thurl (deceased), Hale
(deceased), Dale of Akron, Ohio, Clark and Vercil Woofter, both of Norton, Ohio, Victor, now County Commissioner of Wood County, and Audrey Richard of Silver Lake, Ohio. He has 15 grand children and 30 great‑grandchildren.
He had a jovial Irish personality, loved people around him. Their home was the favorite gathering place for young and old in the community. Stella never knew how many she would have for breakfast.
He died Jan. 5. 1951, and is buried in the Turner Cemetery, Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Carolyn Godbey
JOHN AND MARGARET LOCKARD RALSTON
John Ralston was the son of a Civil War Veteran who was born after the death of his father. He was a good business man and owned considerable property and operated stores. The family took the train over the mountains to shop in the stores of Baltimore for furniture, clothes, etc. A.K. Ralston of Glenville is the son of John and Margaret Ralston as well as Opal D. Turner, a daughter also living in Glenville. Mary J. Barker of Glenville is a grandchild along with Herbert Morris Collins of Glenville whose children, Gerold Wayne works in Charleston and daughter, Vicky Beaver, lives in the Cincinnati area.
One of John Ralston's stores was at the now vanished village of Alfred on Bull Fork of Tanner Creek. This area is now known as Roseville.
Sponsor: George Wallace Miller
CLACY ALLEN REED
Clacy Allen Reed, the son of Lewis S. Reed and Joanna Goff Reed, was born in Gilmer county on May 26, 1882. In 1813, his great‑grandfather rode horseback to DeKalb from St. George in Randolph county with his brothers‑in‑law, Benjamin Riddle and William Stalnaker making the Reeds the fourth family to settle in what is now Gilmer county.
On April 15. 1906, Clacy Reed married Mabel Taylor, the daughter of Isaac B. Taylor and Mary C. Floyd Taylor. Mabel Taylor Reed is still residing in Glenville and is 90 years of age.
Clacy Reed was a prominent farmer and stockman in Gilmer county. He was educated in Gilmer county schools and in November of 1934 was elected a member of the Gilmer County Court. He was President of that body at the time of his death. A life‑long resident of Gilmer county, Clacy Reed was an outstanding citizen in the community and county and a man of indisputable character and integrity.
Clacy Reed had three sisters: Eva Elizabeth Reed Floyd (1874 ‑ 1940), Julia Ann Reed Kee (1877 ‑ 1949), and Ivy May Reed Bell (1879 ‑1966).
The Reeds were the parents of two daughters: Ruth Reed Reaser who is residing in Baltimore and Mary Reed Davidson who is residing in Glenville and presently serving as County Clerk of Gilmer County having been appointed to that office on January 1, 1966.
Clacy and Mabel Reed had four grandchildren, Ruth Ann Davidson Baker of Bedford. Pa., Mary Sue Davidson Chesser of Cambridge, Ohio, Elberta Reaser (May, 1932‑ December 1932), and Naomi Reaser Tscheulin of Baltimore, Md. There are eight Great grandchildren: Linda Sue Baker Gardill of Bedford, Pa., Michael L. Baker of Cumberland, Md., Dale R. Tschenlin of Abilene. Tex., Mark S. and Glen M. Tschenlin of Baltimore, Md., Stephen L. Chesser, Jeffrey A, Chesser. and Nancy J. Chesser of Cincinnati. Ohio.
A memorial tribute to Clacy A. Reed at the time of his death on Jun 18, 1939 eulogized his fairness, his dignity and his integrity as a member of the County Court and as a citizen of Gilmer county. He is buried in the Otterbein Cemetery near Glenville.
Sponsor: Mrs. Mary Reed Davidson
GEORGE PINELL REED
George Pinell Reed came from Barbour County with his parents, John and Samantha Reed, and settled in Gilmer County about mid‑1800. Around 1890, he married Rulina Pickeral, and they settled on Leading Creek. They were the parents of seven children:
Thomas A., Born March 3, 1891; Fanny, born Sept. 20, 1892; Ruddell, born Oct. 14, 1896; Gilbert, born June 6, 1899; Brooks, born Sept. 8, 1902; Effie Reed Keller, born May 28, 1905 and Frankie Reed Weaver, born Jan. 4, 1911.
The family moved from Leading Creek to the old Gilmer County Poor Farm, now the Recreation Center. Later, they traded the farm on Leading Creek for the farm East of the Poor Farm where Gilbert and Gladys Shock Reed presently (1976) live. After the death of the parents, George P. and Rulina Reed. Gilbert bought the interests of the other heirs in the home farm on Sycamore Run. In 1946, he razed the old house and built a new home on the site. In 1959, he sold the farm to Roy Foglesong, reserving the house and ten acres. A new housing development quickly developed on the bottom land, known as the Whiting and Young bottoms. Since 1965 some 18 or more houses have been built in this area.
George P. Reed was a farmer and stockman during his adult life. Tom, Ruddell, and Gilbert were all graduate of Glenville Normal School or GSC and teachers. Brooks attended for a time and was an outstanding athlete. The three graduates taught in Gilmer County and other counties in W.Va.
Ruddell left teaching and went into the grocery and meat business, operating the RB Store for many years. Thomas and Gilbert were out of the county for many years teaching, but came back to the farm during the summer months, and kept their own farming interests for many years. Brooks farmed and was a meat cutter for his brother Ruddell. Effie married, raised a family, and lives in Charleston, W.Va., area. Frankie married, raised a family, and has had her own paint and wallpaper business in Weston for a number of years.
Gilbert and Gladys Shock Reed were honored at the 1976 Farm Bureau Good Will Dinner at the Recreation Center. He has been a FB member for 47 years, a director for almost 35 years, and secretary of the Gilmer county FB for the past 30 years or more. He has taught school for 42 years in Gilmer and Braxton Counties. he retired after 22 years as principal of Sand Fork High School in 1964. She taught briefly and for the past several years has been actively involved in FB work and other local clubs and organizations.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Reed
LEWIS S. REED
Lewis S. Reed was born in Barbour county on April 13, 1850, the son of Joshua and Margaret Smith Reed. The family moved to Gilmer county in the 1860's from Barbour county and settled on a farm on the waters of Sycamore Run.
On October 12, 1871, Lewis Reed married Joanna Eleanor Goff of Gilmer county. both he and Joanna are enumerated in the 1880 census for Gilmer county. The family lived on a farm on Big Run of Leading Creek until 1920 when Lewis and Joanna moved to Northview Addition in Glenville where they spent their last years.
Brother and sisters of Lewis S. Reed included George B. Reed (1853 ‑1936), William A. Reed (1858 ‑ 1924), Robert E.L. Reed (1863 1928), Incyphene F. Reed Dobbins (1865 ‑ 1950), Floyd W. Reed (1869 ‑ 1930), Hiram Reed, Lon Reed, James Granville Reed, and Rachel J. Reed.
Lewis Reed died on June 8, 1934. He was preceded in death by his wife Joanna who died on May 14, 1931. Both are buried in the Otterbein Cemetery near Glenville.
Sponsor: Mary Reed Davidson
ROBERT E. LEE REED
The family of R.E.L. Reed has contributed much to education in Gilmer and other counties. Mr. Reed was an early teacher of Gilmer County and also, a stockman and farmer.
He was the son of Joshua and Margaret Smith Reed, who came to Gilmer County from Barbour County. He was one of a family of ten children.
He was married to Mary Homer and the father of four children. Two now deceased are, Ancel C. Reed, former teacher, principal and County Superintendent of Schools, and Andrew J. Reed, bridge architect. They both served overseas during World War I. Mrs. Mamie Kennedy and Willie Reed, both retired school teachers now reside in Glenville.
After the death of his wife, he married Ollie Bell Schrader and was the father of three children, Pearl, deceased, Mrs. Blanche Stalnaker, a former teacher residing in Weston, and Hazel Hurst, classroom teacher of Jane Lew, who was selected as an Outstanding Teacher in Elementary Education, in 1974, whose family and educational history was written in the book Outstanding Elementary Teachers of America.
Mr. Reed's grandson Robert E. Reed, son of Ancel C. Reed, is Guidance Counselor in Weston High School, and a former teacher, principal, and School Superintendent of Gilmer County. His daughter, Janice Collins, is French teacher, in Weston.
Mr. Reed had eleven grandchildren, represented in different fields of employment. He died January 30, 1928.
Sponsor: Mrs. Hazel R. Hurst
EFFA STALNAKER RINEHART
Effa Stalnaker Rinehart, born and reared on a farm in Grass Run, Gilmer County was the daughter of N.W. and Marietta Stalnaker. She was born on December 3, 1888. Her paternal grandparents were Salathiel Goff and Fanny Bush Stalnaker, Her maternal grandparents were Andrew and Margaret Smith Stalnaker, all buried in Job's Temple Cemetery.
Effa received her education in one‑room county schools and in select schools for teacher training. She received her second grade certificate from uniform county examination in the summer before becoming age 16, in December.
The first school she taught at was at Cherry Fork near White Pine, Calhoun County, in 1904. Her salary was $25 per month for a 5 month term, using $5 for board monthly. Then she taught three more terms of six months each for $30 a month.
She married Erley Rinehart, also a teacher, in 1908. He died February 27, 1963. His parents were J.L. and Rebecca Starcher Rinehart. His areas of interest were reading, writing, and flying to visit children in places of interest.
Sponsor: Effa Stalnaker Rinehart
NORA VIRGINIA ROBERTS
Nora Virginia Roberts was born in Normantown, the daughter of Mandeville Boggs.
She married Dr. John G. Roberts of Tesla, Braxton County. He was born in 1865 and died in 1925. They had three daughters: Garnette, 1902‑1972, "Johnnie" Pauline, Mrs. Linn B. Hickman, deceased, and Mrs. Elsie Adams of Galveston, Texas.
Nora V. Roberts was postmaster in Glenville from 1931 to 1935. She was Director of Verona Mapel Hall at Glenville State College from 1938 to 1948.
After retirement, she married J. Lex Beau of Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, where she lived some years.
She is buried in Otterbein Cemetery.
Sponsor: Bessie B. Scott
EDWARD GAY ROHRBOUGH, AB, AM, LLD, PhD.
Born Buckhannon, West Virginia, January 4. 1877, a son of Wm. H. and Ann Conley Rohrbough.
Dr. Rohrbough married Lilian M. Hartman, who was a GNS graduate of 1905. The Rohrboughs had a son, Edward, who is Administrative Assistant to the Governor of Hawaii.
Dr. Rohrbough began teaching at GNS in 1901. He became principal in 1908. In 1930, Glenville Normal became Glenville State College, of which, he was president until his retirement in 1942.
In the early days, he felt that to survive, the school had to do good work, and keep expenses down. An example, of this, is that there was only one telephone on campus at his retirement.
In 1942, he was elected member of the United States House of Representatives. He served two terms and was a member of the committees on Education, District of Columbia and Public Works.
Dr. Rohrbough, was Republican, who never drove a car, and made the coffee at the faculty picnics.
Dr. Rohrbough died, December 12. 1956, of a heart attack, in a Washington hospital. He is buried in the Stalnaker Cemetery near Glenville.
Basic Information by: Mrs. E.G. Rohrbough Washington, DC
Sponsor: Mrs. Bessie B. Scott
CHARLES STEPHEN RUDDELL
Charles Stephen Ruddell was born January 31. 1896 and died February 20, 1975. He was born in Glenville, West Virginia, the son of William Kerr Ruddell and Anna Eagon Ruddell. His grandparents were, Stephen Lewis Ruddell and Sarah McCutcheon Ruddell; Dr. Charles William Eagon and Virginia Loury Eagon.
Charles spent his early years in Glenville, where he attended public schools and Glenville College, later studying Electrical Engineering from 1915‑1918 at West Virginia University. He was called to service in World War I, and served until the close of the war.
Returning to Parkersburg, where his family had moved, he was employed by the Hope Gas Company, until he entered the Court House, as a Deputy Clerk, for the Assessor.
On June 5, 1926, he married Heloise Ball, the daughter of Albert Lee Ball and Nancy Rader Ball. Her grandparents were George E. Ball and Johanna Brannon Ball; George Rader and Sarah Hanna Rader. To this union was born one daughter, Dorothy Louise, now Mrs. Duane Terry. There is a granddaughter, Alison Leigh Terry.
In April 1929, Charles Ruddell was appointed Deputy Clerk of the Circuit Court of Wood County. Then upon the death of the clerk he was appointed to fill the unexpired term. He was elected, and following to five terms of six years each, in all forty‑four years, in the Court House, he retired July 1, 1973. Only twelve men preceded him in this office since West Virginia became a state. He was the first Clerk of the Intermediate Court, established in 1959.
A devout Presbyterian, he served as Elder. He was baptized and received his early training in the Glenville Presbyterian Church.
Charles was a member and past president of the Lion's Club, a 50 year member of Parkersburg, Post #15, American Legion, a 50 year member of Mt. Olivet Lodge # 3 A.F. & AM., and all other Masonic bodies, including the Nemesis Shrine and Scottish Rite.
Charles will be remembered with his camera. Probably, no amateur photographer has ever taken more pictures of people and places. He loved his immediate family and his relatives. He loved good music and good books. He fed his birds and tended his flowers. He never forgot the poor and starving children all over the world.
Information by: Mrs. Heloise B. Ruddell
DR. WILLIAM ANDREW RYMER
William Andrew Rymer was born, August 12, 1871. He was the son of Dr. William M. and Agnes Dixon Rymer of Harrisville, W.Va. He had two brothers, Hosa and Homer, both of whom were doctors. He also had three sisters. Anna, Mollie, and Ella. While going to Medical school, he read and almost memorized the McGuffy Readers. After finishing Medical School, he married Helena Lincoln Mahone (1874‑1948) daughter of a Methodist Minister, Luther D. Mahone and Grandma Mahone. (The only name I knew her by and I think she was a Jaynes.) Luther was a small boy
during the Civil War. He was married when he was 21 years old. Helena had three brothers, Luther, William, and Vincent. And two sisters Minnie and Myrtle. Vincent and Willie had a store in Glenville in the early 1900's.
William came to Glenville from Weston in the late 1800's, and built a home on the hill close to Glenville Normal School. There he raised his family of four children: William Mahone Rymer, born in 1892, married to Laura Moore and lived in Glenville all his life. Worked as a plumber and electrician. They had two children, Lena Ruth and William (Billie).
Mollie (1894‑1948) married Burleigh A. Law, had five children: Burleigh, Jr. killed during an uprising while a missionary in Africa; Maurice; Helen; and Robert and Richard of Weirton, W.Va.
Frederick Ayers Rymer who married Enid Stevens. They had two children: Steve and Sue. He worked for Appalachian Power Co.,Dunbar, W.Va.
Agnes L. Rymer married Homer Bailey Powell. son of Homer B. and Ora Blanche Bailey Powell They have lived in Weirton, W.Va., for many years where he retired from the Weirton Steel Division after 42 years in 1971.
They reared four children: Helen B.. married to Robert Woods, Scott Air Force Base, Illinois. They have four children: Robert, U.S. Navy: Pamela, Illinois college
student: and Sheryl and Vicki at home.
William H. Powell, married to Janet Jackson. Weirton Steel employee. They have one daughter, Kimberly Jo.
Richard L. Powell, he is also a Weirton Steel employee. He is married to Verona Bruester. They have a daughter, Karen Sue.
Daughter, Jane Miller, is a photographic technician at Weirton Steel.
Agnes Rymer Powell worked at the Weirton General Hospital for seven years. For the past 15 years. she has been an instructor of kindergarten and nursery school classes in New Cumberland, W.Va.
William Andrew Rymer brought many children into this world including his own. Some of his grandchildren were also delivered by him. He lived all of his adult life in Glenville, W.Va.. and there he died on January 8, 1925.
Sponsor: Mrs. Homer B. [Agnes Rymer] Powell
WILLIAM WESLEY RYMER
Born December 7, 1840 near Monterey, Virginia, W.W. "Billy" Rymer lived most of his adult life on Bear Fork of Cove Creek, Gilmer County. His father, John Wesley Rymer, moved his family, in the year 1850, to Big Cove Creek while the area was still a part of Lewis County, Virginia. John Rymer was the model for the drawing of the farmer depicted on the obverse side of the Great Seal of West Virginia designed by Joseph H. Diss Debar of Doddridge County in 1863.
Mr. Rymer was a man of great industry. Truly of pioneer stock, robust and hearty. He hardly knew a day of illness until within a few months of his death. He too was a farmer, almost a model one. He loved the soil. A devout Christian man, he lived that kind of a life ‑ a wise father and family man ‑ hospitable and friend to neighbor and passer‑by alike. He literally enjoyed lending a helping hand.
W.W. Rymer and Phoebe Jane Patton were united in marriage January 31, 1869. To that union six children were born. They were John Lewis, Newton E., Mary S., Howard E., Dosha L., and William Ivan. Lewis became a merchant in Auburn, Ritchie County; married Dell Summerville ‑ no children. Newt entered public life in Glenville as Clerk of the County Court Jan. 1, 1909‑ Dec. 31, 1926); married Stella Zinn‑ one child, a daughter, died quite young. Mary S. married Stanton A. Garrett ‑ no children. Howard did not marry ‑ died at age of 33. Dosha married Albert
N. West ‑ lived in Glenville their children; three boys and one girl. Wm. Ivan, farmer and businessman at home in Glenville; married Gay Law ‑their children one son, William L., married ‑ one daughter‑Wm. twice married has two daughters. Dosha is the only living member of the W.W. Rymer family.
Both the Rymer and the Patton families came from England, though by far different routes. William's great grandfather, George Rymer (1750‑1845), came to this country as a youth in 1763. He journeyed to Highland County, Virginia. Twice married, his several male descendants moved farther west. William Patton (1761‑1826) came to Duck Creek in Virginia (now Harrison Co., W.Va.) from Westmoreland County, Pa., having immigrated there from Delaware. The two families finally joining here through Wm. W. Rymer and Phoebe Jane Patton left an indelible mark on Gilmer County history. W.W. Rymer died in 1925.
Sponsor: H. Paul West
WILLIAM HARLEY SATTERFIELD
William Harley Satterfield, eldest of three children of James Clark and Caroline Frances Weekly Satterfield, was born August 22, 1877 at Highland, Ritchie County, West Virginia. His paternal grandparents: Elias Yost and Martha Arnetta Satterfield; maternal grandparents: Richard and Ada Corbin Weekly.
His education ended with the fourth grade. At age fifteen, he started working as a roustabout in the oil fields. He worked up through tool dresser and driller, eventually purchased a string of tools and started his business as a drilling contractor. Over the years he drilled many oil and gas wells in central West Virginia.
He was first married to Anne Nicholson. They had two children, Hazel Olive (Sherman E.) Mackey and Thelma Mae (Thomas R.) Simonton.
On May 13, 1911, Harley was married to Abbie Belle Haught, who was born February 22, 1892 at Olympia, Wirt County, West Virginia. She was one of fourteen children of Elmer Preston and Rachel Dorinda Dawson Haught. Her paternal grandparents were Cyrus and Sarah E. Haught Dawson; maternal grandparents, Ira and Rhoda Baine Haught.
Seven children were born to this marriage: Freeda Maxine (George E.) Conaway; Cora Frances (Harlon W.) Bailey; James Elmer Satterfield (married Eldred Eileen Jimison); Evelyn Ruth (David W.) Persinger; Ola Hester (James H., Jr.) Boggs; Ira Richard Satterfield (married Edith Ann Loudin): Leona Arlene (Dick W.) Beall.
He was a member of Ellenboro Lodge # 50, A.F & AM., and the Royal Arch Masons.
He died December 25, 1961.
Sponsor: Leona Satterfield Beall.
BESSIE BOYD BELL SCOTT
Mrs. Scott was the daughter of Floyd and Lora Bell. She was born July 5, 1891, in the village of Dekalb, probably the only living relic.
She graduated at Glenville Normal School, in 1908, taught two years, then enrolled at WVU, where she was a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma and senior class historian. She received an AB Degree in 1913. She taught five years in East Bank and St. Marys High School.
Bessie taught at GNS and GSC until her retirement, in 1957, with one year's leave to get a Masters Degree in history, at the University of Chicago in 1922.
She spent eight summers doing specialized work and traveling in Canada, Europe and the Canal Zone.
She taught in WVU summer school in 1949.
On retirement in 1957, she founded the Gilmer County Historical Society. She was a delegate to the Democratic National Nominating Convention in Chicago in 1952. The West Virginia Society of the District of Columbia chose her as, "Daughter of the Year" in 196L She was honored by Glenville State College in 1974, when a portion of a dormitory complex was designated, "Scott Wing". She is listed in "Personalities of the South" for 1975‑1976.
She is a member of: AAUW, Farm Bureau, West Virginia Historical Society. all Teacher Organizations, Trinity Methodist Church, and the Womens' Club of Glenville.
Bessie Boyd Bell and Ray Scott were married November 27, 1965. Ray died January 20, 1972.
Presently, Mrs. Scott is a County chairman of the West Virginia Bicentennial Commission. promoting the collection of Bicentennial Biographies of Gilmer County, West Virginia. This project is under the auspices of the Gilmer County Historical Society.
Information by: Bessie Boyd Bell Scott
Ray Scott was born February 18. 1895, in Kanawha County. He was the eldest son of Rev. John Scott and Arminta (Asbury) Scott. He was a graduate of East Bank High in 1916. and of Marshall College in 1928. He was ordained to the Baptist Ministry in 1924. He held pastorates in Logan, 1933‑35, and the Westmoreland Church for six years, and was interim pastor of Fifth Avenue Baptist Church of Huntington for 5 months.
Mr. Scott was employed by the C & 0 Railway in Engine service. He often carried a book, while at work. He became active in the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen and served 16 years on the grievance committee.
Lodge work became a full time job in 1941, when he was elected Editor and Manager of the Magazine for 12 years, and then secretary‑treasurer for nine years, until retirement in 1962.
Ray was 32nd degree Mason in Huntington. and a member of the Scottish Rite Al Koran Shrine, in Cleveland.
Mr. Scott was a student of Shakespeare. He memorized the great soliloquies and set up a program of reading everything that the Bard wrote. It took two years. His favorite was Hamlet.
Ray Scott was listed in "Who's Who in the Midwest."
Ray Scott and Bessie Boyd Bell were married November 27, 1965. They enjoyed six years together. He died January 20, 1972.
Sponsor: Bessie Boyd Bell Scott
JOHN N. SHACKLEFORD
John N. Shackleford was born on a farm near the community of Lorentz in Upshur County, Va. (Now W.Va.), February 18, 1860. He was the eldest of the eleven children of Robert C. and Lucy C. (Hodges) Shackleford.
After having attended the district schools, Mr. Shackleford took a course at the State Normal School at Glenville, W.Va. He married Gertrude Bell, a daughter of Warren W. and Sarah A. (Brannon) Beall, of Gilmer County. There were no children.
Mr. Shackleford taught eleven terms of school, and in connection with business enterprise, he early began to deal in livestock and coal lands. For twelve years he was a traveling commercial salesman, and with his various productive activities, he gained substantial success and secure standing as a reliable and progressive man of affairs.
In November. 1920, Mr. Shackleford was elected to the W.Va. State Senate, as representative of the Tenth Senatorial District which then comprised the counties of Gilmer, Braxton, Pocahontas, Webster, and Calhoun. During the legislative sessions of 1921, Mr. Shackleford was an active member of the Finance committee and served also on other major committees of the Senate. Through his influence an appropriation was made for the construction and equipping of the first men's dormitory at Glenville State Normal School. He did much to gain and retain the requisite appropriations for the colleges and schools of the state.
After the adjournment of the legislature in 1921, Mr. Shacklefords health failed rapidly, and he died of diabetes at his home in Glenville, February 18, 1922 ‑ the sixty‑second anniversary of his birth.
Sponsor: Donald B. Young
JACOB H. SHIFLET
Jacob H. Shiflet was born on February 29, 1860, a twin son of Samuel and Clara Shiflet. He and Nancy M. Conrad were united in marriage on April 27. 1887. in Gilmer County. Mrs. Shiflet was the daughter of Henry L. and Cornelia Elizabeth (Marks) Conrad. She was born on July 9, 1862.
Engaged in farming and making and selling split bottom chairs and baskets, they made their home on the farm which they purchased from Mrs. Shiflet's father at the head of Little Bull Run. There, they raised seven children, all of whom are deceased except three:
Ethel Shiflet Wilmoth ‑ date of birth unknown. died December 2, 1915.
Henry Shiflet ‑ born February 26. 1888, and presently living in Elco, Pa.
Jessie Shiflet ‑ born September 23. 1890, date of death unknown.
Winnie Shiflet Hood ‑ born June 21, 1896, died in an automobile accident on May 30, 1959.
Maude G. Shiflet Bailey ‑ born November 5, 1889, presently residing in Harrison County, West Virginia.
Arthur Everett Shiflet‑ born December 2, 1903, presently living in Harrison County, West Virginia.
Oliver Earl Shiflet ‑ born February 29, 1906, died February 3, 1973.
Mrs. Shiflet's grandfather was Jacob Conrad (Originally Coonrad), who served in the War of 1812 under Captain William Booth. Her grandmother was Eunice Mace Conrad.
Mr. Shiflet passed away on July 31, 1953. He was preceded in death by his wife who died September 19, 1950.
Sponsor: Mrs. Evelyn Gore
THURMAN V. SHOCK FAMILY
Thurman V. Shock, son of Eli Shock and Susannah Stump Shock, was born October 3, 1853. In the early 1870's he went west with the wheat harvest crews and returned to Gilmer County two years later. In 1873, he was a student in the Glenville Branch of the Normal School, its first year. His daughter, Mrs. Gilbert (Gladys) Reed has two or three report cards signed by T. Marcellus Marshall, acting principal of the school. Mr. Shock taught two or three terms of school in Gilmer and Kanawha counties.
May 1, 1878, Thurman V. Shock and Adah Huddleston of Spencer were married. They came to Gilmer County and lived in a log cabin in what is now Rosedale ‑ just below the Gilmer‑Braxton county line. Later they built a home at the mouth of Road Run and lived there until July, 1888. At that time a "cloudburst" flood all but destroyed their home. Soon after that they built another home near the mouth of O'Brien Fork where they lived until his death, December 16, 1928.
There were 13 children born to Thurman V. and Adah Shock, 12 of whom lived to adulthood. When their mother, Adah, died April 17, 1955 there were 11 of the 13 still living.
Thurman V. and Adah Shock celebrated their Golden (50th) wedding anniversary just seven months before Thurman died. As of November 25, 1975, five of their children had celebrated a "Golden Wedding Anniversary." At this date (June 27, 1976) there are three daughters and two sons surviving. The eldest is Waitman T. Shock, Independence, Kansas, who is 89 years old.
Mr. Shock owned 700 acres of land in Gilmer County. He raised cattle and did general farming, and extensive timbering. He cut timber, floated by raft and single log down Steer Creek to the Little Kanawha River at Creston, where it was sold and floated on to Parkersburg. In later years it was sent by railroad from a station called "Shock", which was named for Alexander Shock, an uncle of Thurman. Alexander lived in a log cabin which is still standing at Shock.
Thurman Shuck and his father, Eli, were largely responsible for organizing and building Rosedale Baptist Church, dedicated early in the 1900's. At one time Mr. and Mrs. Shock and 10 of their children were members of that church.
Thurman's home was always "Home away from home" for visiting ministers. Their house may have been full, but if a traveler came by needing shelter or food he was never turned away. A number of young men call the "Shock Place" home and grew to manhood along with the Shock family.
Mr. Shock was president of Center District Board of Education during the time of the construction of Normantown High School, He was instrumental in getting Rosedale Junior High School, the first junior high school in Gilmer County. established and contracted building of the school in 1920.
Sponsor: Mrs. Gilbert [Gladys Shock] Reed
JOHN V. SMITH
John Victor Smith was born December 31, 1881, on Brush Run in Braxton County, W.Va., a son of Jacob and Louisa Stonestreet Smith. On August 22, 1906, he married Clara Shock and lived on Level Run above Cedarville for a number of years until January 1, 1925. To this union were born William Smith, March 12, 1908; Mary Helen Smith (Mrs. R.M. Porterfield), July 17, 1914; and Leon Smith, April 8, 1919.
In his youth, Mr. Smith attended a one‑room school and excelled as a student, especially in mathematics. He worked on the farm and hauled lumber and supplies for people in and around the Cedarville area. When a young man, he worked for awhile in a lumber camp near Richwood, W.Va.
Mr. Smith was employed for several years for the United Gas Company at a small compressing station on Cedar Creek. In 1924. he ran for sheriff of Gilmer County on the Democratic ticket, was elected, and served from 1925 to 1929. At this time, he and his family moved to Glenville.
During the 30s, Mr. Smith worked as W.P.A. Supervisor and built roads in Gilmer County. In the early 40's to mid 40's. he was employed in Akron, Ohio, in defense plant during most of World War II. Afterwards he became Gilmer County road maintenance supervisor from 1946 through 1952. He retired from his position, then served as a deputy assessor. Later, he owned half interest in the Gilmer County Auction Barn until his death, November 20, 1971, at almost ninety years of age.
Mr. Smith attended the Methodist Protestant Church while young, and later attended the Baptist Church at Cedarville and Glenville. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge for many years.
Sponsor: Mrs. Mary Helen Smith Porterfield
DR. WAITMAN T. SMITH
Dr. Waitman T. Smith was born April 20, 1889, in Roane County, W.Va., a son of William R. T. and Catherine (Jarvis) Smith. Dr. Smith was graduated from the University of Louisville, Ky. Medical School in 1913.
On November 11, 1914, Dr. Smith married Grace Looney. Their children were Gwendolyn, James Richard, and Mary Kathryn.
After receiving his degree of Doctor of Medicine, he engaged in active general practice at Spencer, W.Va., until November 1, 1915, when he moved to Glenville. Here he continued his medical practice until shortly before his death. Dr. Smith became one of Gilmer County's more revered and widely known residents. In the early days. "Doc" Smith could be seen riding horseback to visit his patients in the more rural areas of the county.
Dr. Smith was a member of the W.Va. State Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He was a loyal supporter of the principles of the Republican Party‑ and had served as a member and as chairman of the Republican County Executive Committee. Dr. Smith was a member of the Glenville Masonic Lodge No. 118 and the Nemesis Shrine in Parkersburg, W.Va., where he had received his 50‑year pin in 1971. Dr. Smith had extensive holdings in real estate, and was a stockholder in the former Glenville Banking and Trust Company which merged with the Kanawha Union Bank.
Dr. Smith was preceded in death by his wife and son, James Richard. Dr. Smith died on April 5, 1973, and interment was in the Eventide Cemetery in Spencer. W.Va. with Masonic grave side rites.
Sponsor: Bayard Young
John Snider was a soldier in the American Revolution. (Penn. Archives, 5th Series, Volume 6, p. 434.) In Bedford, Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, he married a woman named Susanna. (In John's will, he spells his wife's name Shussana.)
John and Susanna were the parents of five children: David, Catherine, and Abraham, about whom nothing is known; John K., who died before 1800 from wounds received in the Army; and Jacob, the third child, who was born in 1787, in Pennsylvania. He came to Pendleton County and was in the war of 1812. He served two years at Norfolk, Virginia, and came home in 1815.
Jacob Snider married Elizabeth Keller also from Pennsylvania, and came before 1840 to Lewis County and settled on Leading Creek near Pickle Street, W.Va. He was given the job of keeping the Toll Gate on account of services rendered in the war of 1812.
Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Snider were the parents of 16 children. Two sons served in the War between the States, William in the Union Army, and John K. in the Confederate Army.
Mr. Snider's wife, Elizabeth, died in 1864, and was buried in the Snider Cemetery on Stewarts Creek. Jacob died in 1889 and was buried in the Burke Cemetery at Sand Fork.
Sponsor: Thelma Patterson Osborn
JOHN MILES SNIDER
John Miles Snider was born in Ritchie County, near Harrisville, on Easter Sunday, April 17, 1870. His parents were John and Hannah Hoover Snider. He was a brother of William Perry Snider. Since he was a bachelor, he frequently made his home with his brother and his wife at their home on Bull Fork of Tanner Creek.
Johnny Miles, as he was known to his many friends, worked as a stone mason most of his life. Frequently, he was commissioned to make headstones of native stone for graves in the area. He also farmed and dealt in oil and gas royalties in Gilmer, Ritchie, and Calhoun Counties.
He attended Methodist Churches. For 42 years, he was a member of the I. 0. 0. F. Lodge No. 118 in Burnt House, W.Va.
John Miles Snider died May 23, 1949, after his last birthday, which like his birth, fell on Easter Sunday. His funeral was the first conducted in the Martin‑McGee Funeral Home in Tanner.
Sponsor: Mrs. J.W. Cunningham
WILLIAM H. SNIDER
The Honorable William H. Snider was born in 1816 in Pendleton County then Virginia. He came to what later was Gilmer County W.Va. at the age of twenty‑one with his parents Jacob and Elizabeth Kellard Snider. William H. Snider was one of sixteen children. There were many hardships of pioneer life at this time which were experienced by the family.
William H. and his father, Jacob, were foremost in all movements toward the improvement of the county and state and especially interested in its free school system. He was so active and prominent in county and political affairs that he was known to almost every person in Gilmer County.
William served one year in Pendleton County as Sergeant in a company of militia and later served seven years in the same office in Gilmer County. In his early manhood, Mr. Snider, was active in military affairs and was commissioned a Colonel. He later raised a company and served through the rebellion of the Civil War.
He served six years in the legislature, three years in Wheeling and three years in Charleston. In his terms of office he was the friend of all measures related to the free school system. William worked hard toward the establishing of the State Normal School at Glenville and is called "The Father of The School." On his return home from the Charleston Legislature he told his friends, "Had I more legal money I would have brought the State Capitol to Gilmer County."
In 1866‑67 he was school commissioner and was a Trustee for twenty years in his district of Glenville where he lived and reared his family of eight children on his large farm on Stewarts Creek.
He was very industrious and accumulated a snug fortune. Wm. H. Snider was very liberal in his donations to charitable purposes. He donated the land on Stewarts Creek for the cemetery known as "The Snider Cemetery" which is over one hundred years old. Some years later a church was erected on the grounds.
William H. married Penelope Sleeth in 1844 in Lewis County, now West Virginia. Penelope was born in 1827 and died in 1915. William H. died in 1899 and both William and Penelope are buried in the Snider Cemetery on Stewarts Creek.
Many descendants still are living; one grand daughter, Laura McVaney Marshall is living in Glenville and celebrated her 100th birthday September 1975.
Sponsor: Granddaughter Bonnie S. Bray
WILLIAM PERRY SNIDER
William Perry Snider was born in Lewis County, then Virginia, on October 9, 1862. He was a son of John and Hannah Hoover Snider. William Snider was a Notary Public all his adult life. Additionally, he was a carpenter, stone mason, watch repairman, and made furniture. (A complete set of his handmade bedroom furniture is owned by his daughter.)
On January 27, 1895, he and Clara Clayton were married, for many years they lived on Bull Fork of Tanner Creek in a community with a post office called Alfred, now know as Roseville but without a post office. They had two children: Audrey (Mrs. J.W. Cunningham of Tanner, W.Va.), and Orlan D. who died July 3, 1942.
The Sniders attended Methodist Churches. He was a member of the I. 0. 0. F. Lodge No. 118 of Burnt House and a charter member of the K. of P. Lodge No. 68 of Tanner, W.Va.
During the oil and gas boom days of the early 1920Æs, the Sniders opened and operated a boarding house in Tanner. This business was continued by his wife after his death on December 23, 1925. William Perry Snider was buried in the Baptist cemetery
Sponsor: Mrs. J. W. Cunningham
Children of WILLIAM HARRISON SNYDER
The Children of William Harrison Snyder were as follows: Andrew Jackson Snyder, born May 3, 1846; Octavia Belle, born Sept. 20, 1872; Elizabeth Cathryn, born Dec. 18, 1875; Ivy Myrtle. born Feb. 27, 1878; Rector McClen, born Dec. 7, 1879; Ravie
Penelopia, born Nov. 20, 1882; Cora Alvada, born Oct. 16, 1887; Mamie Maud, born March 3, 1886; Virginia Madge, born Jan. 3, 1889: and Ora Lucretia, born Oct. 19, 1891.
Those children who were married in Gilmer County were: Andrew Jackson Snyder married Mary Susan Burk on Jan. 12, 1870, at Sand Fork, W.Va., with the Rev. J.H. Burk performing the ceremony. (The minister was better known as Jonathan.) Octavia Bell Snyder was married to Tom Killingsworth Feb. 3, 1896. Ivy Myrtle Snyder was married to Worthy Davis in September 1897. Rector McClellan Snyder was married to Iva Hudkins in 1928. Ravie Penelopia Snyder was married to Dee Stout in July 1903. Cora Alvada Snyder was married to M.D. Arnold in September 1908. Virginia Madge Snyder was married to J.S. Carper in 1916. Ora Lucretia Snyder was married to Burke Butcher April 19, 1907. Burke and Ora L. (Snyder) Butcher had these children: Roland, Mary Hazel, Robert J., Teresa, Louise, James A., and Mabel.
Sponsor: Robert J. Butcher
James Sommerville and Rosalind May Brown were married Feb. 25, 1885, at the home of her parents, Waldo Bailey and Mary Elizabeth (Norris) Brown, near Good Hope, Harrison County, W.Va.
His parents were William and Edith Burnside Sommerville, Buffalo Creek, Harrison County. His grandfather. James Sommerville, was born in Ireland, Feb. 2, 1795. While quite young, he came to America. He married Elizabeth Post. They had a farm near Good Hope where they are buried.
James and Rose owned a store and millinery shop in Jarvisville. James managed the store, and Rose's sister Susan helped her make the hats. Losses through credit sales drove them to farming. They came to Gilmer County and purchased land on Lynch Run, near a brother, Calvin Sommerville. Dissatisfied, they sold the farm and purchased a tract near Glenville in 1894.
Four children were born in Harrison County: William Art, Susan Ava. Charles Edward. and Tracy. Twins, Lester and Lisle, were born three months after they settled in a log house on Crooked Run, Gilmer County. Lisle lived a month and a day. Later, Nava Bernice and Dovie Octavia were added to the family.
James and Rose bought more land and another log house and moved in. While living here, James and his sons cut trees, sawed them into lumber, seasoned it, and began building a new frame house. Everybody worked on this project, and enjoyed it. They moved into the new house in 1908. One by one the boys left home seeking work. Art married Maude McGahan, Harrison County, and later lived near Weston. Lewis County. They had five children. Ed married Odna Miller of Gilmer County; lived at Good Hope: had four children. Tracy married Lula Ballard, Jane Lew. Lewis County. and had two sons. Lester married Mary Straley: lived in Weston; later Barberton, Ohio, and had two children. Ava married Jacob West of Calhoun County and brought up his three
children by a former marriage and a niece. Tracy's wife died and he married Emma Westfall Jamison. Nava married Gail Snyder; they lived at the Sommervifie home place and have one son. Gerald married Jannetta Garner; they live at Greensburg, Pa., and have one daughter. Dovie married Boyd Creed Collins; they live in Glenville, W.Va., and have three sons.
Sponsor: Dovie Sommerville Collins
Delbert Stalnaker was not a big man physically~ He stood less than five feet seven inches, and yet the example he set of humility and pride in a job well done was exceedingly tall.
The youngest of a family of six boys and two girls, Delbert and his brothers owned approximately one thousand acres on the waters of Grass Run, DeKalb District which reached, in part, to the ancestral grandfather Salathiel's home on the Little Kanawha River at Job's Temple. His father, Richard Marcellus, and his mother, Jerusha Vannoy Stalnaker, built a home and raised their family near the center of the holdings. There was a general store, operated by brothers Jennings and Delbert, the Hardman Fork Baptist Church which is still active today, a post office, and a one room school that has since been torn down and the land returned to the original farm.
Cattle, sheep, horses and the other usual farm animals were raised. Modern machinery was used as much as possible though filth cutting was mostly done by scythe.
Delbert admired learning even though his own formal education had been meager. He inspired his children to study hard and saw that good teachers were hired. When two of his three children were ready for high school, he gave up living on the farm and moved his family to Glenville. His wife, Edna Chrisman Stalnaker, had been a teacher but had discontinued her profession after the children were born.
Since Delbert had always worked on, and had been interested in "good roads", he was hired by the State Road Commission and worked as a laborer and supervisor on the Gilmer County highways for many years. He was an early riser, so 4:00 A.M. found him up, eating his breakfast, and out warming up the truck by 5:00. He received many awards and state recognition for his years of faithful service.
Throughout his life of 84 years, Delbert remained a quiet, uncomplicated man. Basically shy, he was, however, liked and respected by those who knew him. It is a pleasure to remember him, and his shadow remains ever so tall.
Sponsor: Georgia P. McCartney
Dr. Guy Stalnaker was born at Nicut, Calhoun County, West Virginia, December 27, 1887, a son of Lemuel David and Prudence Edith Chenoweth Stalnaker. His grandparents were Jehu C. and Rebecca McMorrow Stalnaker and Robert James and Elizabeth Jane Knotts Chenoweth.
He was educated in the rural schools of his home community and at Harrisville High School. He taught school for a few years in Calhoun County and then entered the University of Louisville Medical School where he received his M.D. degree in 1915.
On October 26, 1915, he was married to Emma Ethel Parks of Scottsburg, Indiana, a graduate nurse from the University of Louisville. She was born in Indiana on January 7, 1891. Throughout his professional career Mrs. Stalnaker assisted Dr. Stalnaker in his office, He began practice in Huntington, W.Va., but after a year or two returned to Calhoun County and opened an office at Arnoldsburg where he remained until 1934, when he moved to Glenville and began practice in Gilmer County. He built a home on Main Street in Glenville and lived there until his death.
Both the Stalnakers were active in the Baptist Church and various civic arid professional organizations. He was especially interested in the Masonic Lodge. From July 17, 1958, to May 19, 1972, Dr. Stalnaker served as Health Officer for Gilmer County For twenty‑five years he served in Voluntary Selective Service work and received citations from both President Johnson and President Nixon.
Dr. and Mrs. Stalnaker were the parents of three children, one of whom died at birth and is buried in Huntington. The surviving children are Leah (Mrs. Frank Martino) of Clarksburg and Guy, Jr., who is married to the former Grace Howard of Grantsville, and lives in Orlando, Florida.
Dr. Stalnaker died on September 12. 1972, and two days later (September 14) Mrs. Stalnaker followed him in death. They are buried in the Benedum Cemetery at Bridgeport. West Virginia.
Sponsor: Mrs. Paul C. [Ruby] Stalnaker
SALATHIEL GOFF STALNAKER
Son of William and Elizabeth (Goff) Stalnaker, was born near Beverly in Randolph County on December 23, 1808 and died in Gilmer County on March 11, 1897. Salathiel came to what is now Gilmer County in 1816 with his father, William Stalnaker, who had received land grants of 30,000 acres for his services as Lieutenant in the War of 1812. The Stalnaker family chose the site of an abandoned Indian village on the Little Kanawha River which they named DeKalb. On this site, the future brick mansion of Salathiel Stalnaker was built by his father's slaves. This home served many purposes: buying and selling headquarters for local farmers, hotel for travelers, post office, wayside inn, and more importantly, as the meeting place for the first session of the Gilmer County Court.
In 1845. Salathiel Stalnaker attended the General Assembly of Virginia to present a request for the formation of a new county since the citizens had become weary of making tong journeys necessary to attend court at Weston or Charleston. Gilmer County was formed by an act of the Assembly on February 3. 1845. The community of DeKalb was designated as the temporary county seat until Tune. 1845. when, by virtue of an election, it was changed to what is now Glenville.
Salathiel was one of the commissioners who laid off Gilmer County in 1845; was the first assessor, serving in 1846: was land assessor in 1856; represented Gilmer, Wirt and Calhoun Counties in the State Legislature at Richmond, Virginia; and served four years as County Clerk of Gilmer County. Stalnaker was married three times and fathered a total of 17 children.
Hardesty lists his three wives with meager details as follows: The first wife was Frances Bush, daughter of George and Mary Bush. He married her near Weston. W.Va. The second wife was Elizabeth Wyant who was born Dec. 10, 1831. The third wife was Nancy J. (Goodwin) Bower, daughter of John and Catherine (Curry) Goodwin. She was born near Pruntytown and married Salathiel at Brooksville, Calhoun County, June 22, 1876.
Sponsor: Jack V. Stalnaker
Thurman Stalnaker, a son of Marcellus and Jerusha Vannoy Stalnaker, was a farmer and trained himself to become a veterinarian. Since he had never gone to school to learn this trade, he refused to charge for his services. However, he was an excellent veterinarian.
Thurman served on the Board of Education and was instrumental in getting a high school built at Normantown. It was started while he was serving on the Board. He also served as overseer of the country roads in Center District.
He was twice married: first, to Clara Lamb, to whom seven children were born, and second, to Goldy Brannon to whom nine children were born. Six of his children are deceased and nine are still living. Following is a list of the living children in 1976:
Thelma Westfall (now living in Virginia); Wilma Furr (living in Okechobee, Florida); Teressla Swisher (Parkersburg); Susan Sullivan (Glenville); Lylis Kaiser (Geneva. Ohio); Lucille McVaney (Glenville); Edra McCartney (Parkersburg): Kermit Stalnaker (Ohio); Keaton Stalnaker (Ohio); and June Kyer (California).
His great grandfather was William Stalnaker who came from Randolph County, Va., about 1816 and built the old brick house that still stands along W.Va. Route 5, about ten miles below Glenville. His slaves are buried across the highway and above the house under an old oak tree which still stands.
Thruman's grandfather was Salathiel Stalnaker, son of William.
Sponsor: Mrs. J.L. [Lucille] McVaney
MAJOR WILLIAM H. STALNAKER
William H. Stalnaker came to what is now Gilmer County about 1816, from Randolph County, Virginia. his settlement was about eight miles below Glenville on the Little Kanawha River. He named the settlement Dekalb after Baron Dekalb, one of his heros of the time. Tradition says that Stalnaker brought 20 slaves with him to produce tobacco, which was the chief crop of that time and later years. The village of DeKalb was laid out an surveyed by Michael Stump and a post office was established here in
Stalnaker built a large brick home and later a brick borne was erected for his son, Salathiel, near‑by. both of these homes were elaborate for the time, but Salathiels home was weakened by flood waters and was later abandoned. In 1880 the bricks from this home were sold to Calhoun County for the building of a Court House. Salathiel's home was the one used a temporary court house for Gilmer County, not William's.
William Stalnaker is buried under a large oak tree, on an elevation not far from his original home site. Two of Salathiel's wives are buried at this same place. William's wife, Elizabeth Goff, survived her husband.
Son, Salathiel, became a well known resident of the area. He was a member of the Virginia General Assembly. On petition of many settlers, be introduced a bill for the formation of the County of Gilmer. Justices of the Peace met at Salathie's residence to organize the new county, and conduct other business necessary in the formation of a new county.
Alas for "Uncle Billy Stalnaker"! It was reported that be liked to socialize with "city slickers" from outside of Gilmer County, and it seems that he lost his large land holdings to them.
Sponsor: J.V. Stalnaker
FRANK M. STEELE
Frank M. Steele was born in Gilmer County at Stout's Mills May 1, 1886 one of ten children born to William F. and Mary Elizabeth Williams Steele. He died in the month of November 1972.
Frank traveled to Washington State and after having spent some time there returned to his home in Gilmer County. In the year 1913 he bought the grist mill from A.E. and Minnie B. May. Within ten years he had rebuilt the old mill, removed the stream engine and replaced it with a natural gas engine. He was instrumental in bringing the first natural gas to Stout's Mills.
In the mill, he made flour, corn meal, cracked corn and graham flour from wheat. He also built an ice house, cut ice from the Little Kanawha River in winter and sold it to his customers in summer. We had cold winters in those days, many times the ice on the river was six or more inches thick. Also in those days passenger boats as well as barges carrying feed were going from Glenville to Gilmer Station.
In later years farmers grew no wheat and little corn, therefore, was very little business for the mill. Frank turned the mill into a dwelling and general store and became a merchant until his retirement. He was in business in Gilmer County about thirty years‑twenty of which was spent in the milling of grain.
One interesting fact, Frank bought back the old grist mill that for a short time had partly belonged to his father, William F. Steele, before the turn of the century. It stands now as a reminder of the past and serves as a summer house for his heirs. Still in the Steele family.
Sponsors: Lorena B. Steele and Delilah Steele Peterson
WILLIAM F. STEELE
William F. Steele born in Rockbridge County near Staunton, Va; 1838, one of five children born to Samuel and Sarah McCurdy Steele. He died in Gilmer County, Stout's Mills, WV., in 1901 at age 63. He served two years in the Confederate Army, was honorably discharged 1865 at age 27. Later the Steele family moved to Weston WV. In Lewis County, William continued his profession as a one room school teacher. He belonged to the Mormon Church and his hobby was music. With aid of the tuning fork, he conducted many old fashioned singing schools in the country.
In 1868, William came to Gilmer County as a teacher and part time farmer. He learned the milling trade from Wm. Lynch at Truebada and before the turn of the century, he was partner of the old grist mill at Stout's Mills, in Gilmer County, WV. David Taylor was his partner. At that time grain was ground with water power from the Little Kanawha River, with the help of the "Old Mill Wheel" shortly before his death in 1901, William sold his share in the mill to the May brothers. Within a few years the "Old Mill Wheel" was replaced by a steam engine powered by coal. William was also the third, one room school teacher at Spruce Fork School No. 9, in 1870‑71, located five miles south of Glenville, two miles from Cedar Creek.
William F. Steele married Mary E. Williams of Weston, WV, m 1874. They had ten children, four of whom are still living: Ruth Steele Darnall, and Esta Steele Moore, both of Buckhannon, WV; Mary Steele Hergner of Youngstown, Ohio, and Martha Steele Steinmetz of Stout's Mills, WV. Only three of their children lived out their lives in Stout's Mills, Gilmer County: Frank and Jay Steele, and Rose Steele Thompson.
Sponsor: Martha Steele Steinmetz
Elliott Stump, born November 13, 1835, was the son of Michael arid Elizabeth Bush Stump. He married Sarah Jane Barr, daughter of Samuel and Rachel Weaver Barr.
Elliott and Sarah Stump had several children: Melvina (1856) who married Henderson Boone; Francina (1858) who married (1) Alexander Rice (2) Fritz Saurburn; Alvira (1860) who married Winfield White; Elihu (1862) who married Lucy Sharps;
James (1867) who died in 1870; Leola (1869) who married A. H. Blackshire.
After the death of his first wife, Sarah Jane, he married Virginia Poling. He was a prominent farmer and active in the Baptist Church.
Sponsor: Hadsell Ball
Michael Stump was born in Harrison County, Va., May 4, 1788. He as a son of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Stump, Sr., who moved from Hardy to Harrison County prior to Michael Jr.'s birth. In 1804 he moved with his parents to the Steer Creek country, then in Harrison Co., afterwards in Lewis Co. (from 1816 to 1845). and since that time it has been included in Gilmer County. Here Michael Stump Sr. began farming and made the first improvement in that section of the State.
In Lewis County, in 1816, Michael Stump Jr. was commissioned a justice of the peace, and in that county, and afterwards in Gilmer, served in that capacity for forty two consecutive years. While a justice in Lewis, he became high sheriff of the county under the law of the day, which provided that the oldest justice should succeed as sheriff.
In the year 1845, he became a member of the first Gilmer County Court. Also, he became the first surveyor of lands that Gilmer County ever had, a profession he had acquired prior to the formation of the county. In the capacity of surveyor, his work embraced the counties of Lewis, Gilmer, Calhoun, Roane, and parts of Putnam.
As a citizen, he had the reputation of being kind, generous, and accommodating; and many of the oldest citizens of the county pointed with gratitude to his benevolence. In the matter of lands, his chief object seemed to be to aid the poor in obtaining homes and to induce emigration to the county, rather than to increase his own wealth.
Mr. Stump and his wife, Elizabeth (Bush) Stump, were members of the Mount Pisgah Baptist Church, that originated in 1835 in Stumptown. One of their sons was Elliot Stump.
Michael Stump died in his 95th year, March 19, 1883, while on a visit to his son's home at Grantsville, W.Va. At the time of his death, he was the oldest resident of Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Donald B. Young
MICHAEL ABSOLOM STUMP
Michael Absolom Stump was a son of Absolom and Kessiah Rucker Stump. He was born in 1845. He died at the age of 17 in a skirmish of the Civil War at Beverly, Randolph County, W.Va., on November 7, 1862. He was a Union Soldier.
Sponsor: Hadsel Ball
MIRANDA H. AND MINERVA [CONRAD] STUMP
Miranda H. Stump was born July 31, 1831, the son of Jesse and Sarah Stump. Minerva Conrad Stump was a daughter of Currence B. and Ann Haymond Conrad. She was born April 25, 1834. (The writer has been unable to find a record of their marriage in the Gilmer County, W.Va., courthouse, however, based on the dates of the birth of their children, it was probably in 1852 or 1853.)
They had two children: Sarah Ann Stump, born Jan. 22, 1854; and Thaddeus J.C. Stump, born Sept. 2, 1859. She married Charles Thomas Whiting, Feb. 11, 1875, with the services being performed by the Rev. John Stump. They had six children: Mrs.
Bertha Floyd, Mrs. Myrtle Smith, Mrs. Bonnie Allen, Mrs. Nell Rymer, Bernice Whiting, Wilbur Whiting. A.C.J. Stump was in the second graduating class, 1875, at Glenville Normal School. No data is at hand to prove that he was the above son.
By 1870, Miranda and Minerva Stump had obviously acquired extensive land holdings and wealth. In 1872, or 1873, he gave $100 toward the building fund for the Glenville Branch of the State Normal School. On July 11, 1872, he sold the Normal School group one acre of land across the street from the present administration buildings for $275. On March 15, 1873, Milton Norris and Nelson M. Bennett bought the present site of three acres for $2,000. Hence, the Stump lot was not used at that time for the school site. Presently, 1976, it may be the GSC parking lot which for many years was the location of the Robert F. Kidd home.
On May 14, 1871, a building committee for the Glenville Baptist Church was formed to obtain a site for a church building. M.H. Stump, Joshua Reed, and John Cather were on this committee. Jan. 5 1874, they purchased Lot No. 10, Main Street, Glenville, from M.H. and Minerva Stump. This transaction is recorded in Deed Book No. 11, at page 5, in the Gilmer County clerk's office. It is the present location of the church building. A church building was completed Dec. 18,1879. Cost $1,462.60.
Miranda H. Stump was a Baptist, Republican, and was known as a man of unusually strong character and deep convictions. He died Oct. 10, 1898, as a result of an accident with a log. He is listed in the records as a farmer.
March 29, 1902, Minerva C. Stump gave $350 toward the purchase of a lot and the construction of a Baptist parsonage, with the stipulation that the building be completed within two years. It was finished in 1904.
She died March 30, 1925. Following her death the large farm across the Little Kanawha River from the Glenville water plant was sold to Dr. W.T. Smith. More recently, it was acquired by Dr. Louis J. Manley.
Sponsor: E. Paul Floyd
BOYD B. STUTLER
Boyd Blynn Stutler, editor and author, son of Daniel E. and Emily B. Heckert Stutler, was born near Cox's Mills, Gilmer County, W.Va., July 10, 1889. He married Catheolene May Huffman on November 26, 1911, and was the father of two children: William Morris and Warren Harding Stutler. He died February 19, 1970.
Mr. Stutler was educated in the public schools of Gilmer and Calhoun counties, and received the Litt. D. degree for Alderson Broaddiis College, Philippi, W.Va., in 1961.
He was a printer for West Virginia newspapers 1900‑7; editor and publisher, "Grantsville News" 1907‑17; chief, W.Va. Division of Public Printing 1920‑28; managing editor, "The West Virginia Review" 1929‑32; managing editor, "The American Legion Magazine," New York, 1936‑54; editor, "National Legionnaire" 1942‑44; war correspondent in South‑west Pacific Theater 1944‑45: and managing editor, Education Foundation, Inc., Charleston, W.Va., 1954‑70.
Mr. Stutler served as mayor of Grantsville, W.Va., 1911‑12; was member, West Virginia War History Commission 1944: was president, West Virginia Historical Society 1958‑59; and was member, West Virginia Civil War Centennial Commission 1959‑65.
He enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1917 and was with the AEF 1918‑19. Mr. Stutler was a member of the American Legion and held several important offices in that organization. He was national commander of the 80th Division Veterans Association
In 1962 the American Association for State and Local History conferred upon Mr. Stutler an award of merit for the articles based upon original research on West Virginia's role in the Civil War. His writings include "Captain John Brown and Harpers
Ferry, " 1926; "West Virginia Yesterday and Today" (with Phil Conley) 1931. revised 1952 and 1966; and "West Virginia in the Civil War, " 1963. He contributed to numerous magazines, newspapers, and radio programs.
Sponsor: Education Foundation, Inc., Phil Conley. Pres.
Goff Summers was born Nov. 20, 1834, the son of Bruce and Ella Arnold Summers. Sept. 3. 1913, he married Mary Lynch, daughter of John Randolph and Mary Elizabeth (Taylor) Lynch. She was born Aug. 5. 1891. Their children are: Marybell, born Aug. 19, 1914. who married Elmer J. Shaver (born Aug. 6, 1912) and they have a son born April 8, 1946, and named James J. Shaver; Ella, born July 4, 1916, who married Lloyd Marlin
Jones (born Oct. 28, 1911), with children William Goff Jones. born Aug. 7, 1945. and Sarah Elizabeth Jones (now Mrs. Carl E. Ingram), born Jan. 26. 1949; Susan, born Sept. 27, 1918. who married Guy Kleis (born Dec. 15. 1912); and Goff Lynch. born Nov. 7, 1924. who married Gloria Rogers (born Aug. 3, 1926), with children Andrew. born Nov. 25, 1949; Julia, born March 21, 1951, (now Mrs. Roger Reed): Marybeth born Aug. 1, 1955, (now Mrs. Danny Shock).
Goff Summers worked in the oil and gas fields of Gilmer County most of his adult life. He died April 24, 1943.
Sponsor: Ella Summers Jones
GOFF L. SUMMERS
Goff L. Summers, son of Goff and Mary Lynch Summers, was born in Glenville, November 7, 1924. He graduated from Glenville High School in 1942 and attended Glenville State College. He graduated from West Virginia University School of
Pharmacy in 1949 and is a druggist in Glenville.
On December 22, 1947, he married Gloria Rogers, daughter of Clifton and Winnie Rogers of Clay County, Gloria was born August 3, 1926, and is a teacher in the Gilmer County Schools. They are the parents of three children.
Andrew Summers was born November 25, 1949. He is a graduate of the School of Pharmacy and also of the School of Medicine at West Virginia University, and is now doing his intern work at West Virginia University. In 1972, he married Barbara McLaughlin who is a teacher in the Monongalia County Schools.
Julia Summers Reed was born March 22, 1951, and is a student at Glenville State College. In 1970. she married Roger Reed of Glenville, who is a graduate in Art from Glenville State College and will teach in the Jefferson County Schools. They have one son, Shannon Goff, born April 25, 1971.
Marybeth Summers Shock was born August 1, 1955. She is a student in the School of Pharmacy at West Virginia University. In 1978, she married Danny Joe Shock of Normantown, who is an X‑ray Technician in Fairmont Hospital.
Mr. Summers is a Veteran of World War II, a Mason, a Shriner, and an Elder in the Presbyterian Church.
Sponsor: Mrs. Gloria Rogers Summers
THE PETER SUMMERS LINE
In a letter dated Nov. 25, 1854 from Rising Sun, Indiana, Peter Summers wrote to his son Samuel Summers at Webb's Mills, Ritchie County, Virginia, urging him to come there, "was you to come to this country you never would want to go to the mountains again. I feel very sorry for you Samuel to think that you always would wish to live in them poor hills." Samuel (1826‑1907) however chose to remain in this area. He was married to Sarah Elizabeth Hewitt (Betty) (1816‑1900). They are buried in Rock Grove cemetery, Lewis County. (Her parents were Charles Hewitt (1772‑ ) and Elizabeth Long (1776‑1853). Samuel and Elizabeth Hewitt Summers had five children: Sephas Alen, Marion Bruce. Mercy Ann, Cinthy Jane. and Samuel Spencer. Samuel and his son Bruce were both blacksmiths.
Bruce Summers (1852‑1934) married Ella Arnold (1857‑1933) on November 15, 1874. They are buried in Otterbein cemetery, Gilmer County. Thirteen children were born to that union: Arthur. Porter, Stella, Ona, Worthy, Goff, Everett, Arnold, Goldie, Ora, Marion, Hu, and Monoka.
Goff Summers (1884‑1943) married Mary Lynch (1891‑ ) Sept. 3. 1913. Their children were Marybell (Mrs. Elmer J. Shaver), Ella (Mrs. Lloyd M. Jones), Susan (Mrs. Guy Kleis), and Goff Lynch.
Sponsor: Ella Summers Jones
DAVID BLACKMAN TAYLOR
David B. Taylor son of Washington and Malinda Chenoweth Taylor, was born in Randolph County July 1. 1829. On March 31, 1851, he married Mary Boggs Ward. daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth Dyer Ward. Mary Boggs \Vard was born August 11, 1830, also in Randolph County.
Shortly before the Civil War, David moved his family to Buff Run in Gilmer County and became a farmer. He served in the Union Army for a short time, but was discharged because of illness. After the war, he moved to Bear Run where be was a farmer and teamster, doing whatever hauling was necessary in the community.
He then bought an interest in the mill at Stout's Mills and lived the rest of his life in that community. He died March 30. 1917. His wife died May 26, 1905.
The children of this marriage were:
Isaac C. (1853‑1891) was a merchant and married Mary C. Floyd in 1880.
Madora (1855‑1940) married James W. Keith in 1879.
Jacob S. (1857‑1938) was a merchant and lumberman. He married Almira J. Burk in 1887. After her death he married Clara Decker.
Levi D. (1861‑1940) was a merchant and Justice of the Peace. He married Aizada Cottrill in 1889.
Mary E. (1864‑1951) married John R. Lynch in 1882.
Jemima 1. [1866‑1953) married Warren W. Snyder in 1888.
Okey J. (1874‑1955) married Myrtle Self in 1897.
Two sons died in infancy.
Sponsor: Myra Lynch Mick
JAMES ALOYSUIS TIERNEY, SR.
Dr. James Aloysuis Tierney. Sr. was born April 1, 1867. at Weston, W.Va. His parents were Patrick and Mary Mulvoy Tierney, both born in Galaway, Ireland.
Dr. Tierney was educated in schools in Weston. He then went to Baltimore and attended Maryland College of Pharmacy (University of Maryland) where he was graduated in 1888. He worked at Bellview Hospital in Baltimore a few years, then returned to Weston and put in a drug store. He also owned one at Lost Creek and Glenville. The one in Glenville was opened in 1902. He was a well‑known druggist in West Virginia. He. in later years, was honored as being No.1 Druggist in West Virginia.
He married Dr. Jessie Campbell Norris of Glenville in 1904. Two children were born to this union: James A. Tierney, Jr. and Jessie Norris Tierney.
Dr. Tierney was very interested in the Democratic Party and he took an active part in the State politics. He was elected to be National Delegate for many National Conventions. He was a delegate when John William Davis of West Virginia was nominated for President of the United States. He was appointed by Governor Kump to set up the State Purchasing Department. He served in that several years.
Dr. Tierney died in August, 1945.
Sponsor: Dorothy Murphy Tierney
A.L. Turner was born near Normantown, in Gilmer County, on Sept. 24, 1895 and has lived in Gilmer County his entire life. A retired farmer and cattleman. He received an 8th grade diploma from the Bird School A trustee for the Turner Cemetery for over 50 years. A member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows for over 58 years.
Member of the Eliam Baptist Church since 1937. Married Lennie Kuhl on March 22, 1916. parents of 8 children. 22 grandchildren and 7 great grandchildren.
Enjoyed vocal music as a hobby and enjoyed it yet. Operated a grist mill (Corn grinding) for 50 years, did blacksmith work, prepared horseshoes for 5 cents a shoe and nailed them on for 10 cents a shoe. Did general carpenter work, helped with thrashing machines and timbering. Secretary for the Lockney Citizens Telephone Co. for more than 20 years, carried the U.S. Mail from Withers to Letter Gap. Still in good health working truck patches and gardening. Had previously been employed by the Hope Natural Gas Co., Cabot Corporation. McCalls Drilling Co., Carnegie and the State Road Commission.
Sponsor: Harlass Turner
WASHINGTON "WATT" WARREN
When elected In 1963, "Watt" Warren became Gilmer County's only member of W.Va. Journalism Hall of Fame. The citation read:
"Possibly West Virginia's most ubiquitous native newspaperman. he typified personal journalism on at least eight or ten papers in Little Kanawha region. He studied under Joe Medill on the Chicago Tribune, set type as a raw youth for Greeley's New York Tribune, held a job under Wash McLean on the Cincinnati Enquirer, and even 'gave Bill Nye a lift' on the Laramie Boomerang. He was associated with James Whitcomb Riley, and Claimed to have helped the Hoosier poet on his career in verse.
"In on the birth of the State Journal in Parkersburg. he also worked on the Gazette at least three separate times. He was editor of the Walking Beam for awhile in the late 70's, then moved into the state's hinterland. His first private enterprise was the Interior, at Spencer. then Warren's Sunbeam in Grantsvllle. Back to Indiana he went as publisher of the Evansville Review.
"Then home to his longest post‑that of founder and editor of the Pathfinder at Glenville. For 12 years he served his creation in every capacity, and made his editorials a force to be reckoned with In the Gilmer Region. A former printer recalls him as wielding a steel hand in a velvet glove, a writer of editorials that were not fiery on the ‑surface, but were copied more extensively than those of any other state editor.
"A striking figure. handsome and heavy‑set, his meticulously tailored clothes. topped by a square‑topped derby, made him Glenville's most familiar citizen. He left Glenville in 1904, moving to Harrisville as editor of Ritchie Gazette, then finally to Braxton County as head of the Central, at which post he died of influenza during the epidemic of 1918."
Washington "Watt" Warren, a son of Samuel Warren, was born in 1853. In Glenville on Sept. 13, 1895, he married Dee Kee, daughter of Jasper Newton Kee and Louise J. (Campbell) Kee. He died Dec. 6. 1918. at Sutton. They had one child, a son "Sammy" Warren.
Sponsor: Ed Orr
THE CRUSADING WEEKLEY CLAN
Not long after Civil War, from Tyler County came fervent members of the Weekley clan ‑ zealous crusaders for the United Brethren faith. Their efforts led to establishment of Cove Chapel, Otterbein, Tray, Oak Grove at Baldwin, Roemetch and Cedarville congregations. The first sermon at Otterbein was in German.
Among the Weekley clan were the Reverends Daniel, Martin L., William ("Moses") and his nephew. William Marion Weekley.
Best known in years to come was William M., the Rt. Rev. William M. Weekley, Presiding Bishop of U.B. Church in America. His education was from a one‑room school and he worshiped in an old log church standing on his fathers farm. He preached his first sermon at age 17.
From 1895‑1905, he was general secretary of Church Erection Board, responsible for new churches throughout the century.
"Bishop Will" ‑ as West Virginians called him ‑ authored "From Life to Life" (1899), "Getting and Giving" (1903), and best known and most widely read "Twenty Years on Horseback or itinerating in West Virginia" (1907). In the latter, he relates in his first year he received $97, and overcoat and several pair of yarn socks.
Upon retirement, he returned to West Virginia. He died Jan. 8, 1926 at Parkersburg and entombment was in IOOF mausoleum there.
Rev. Daniel Weekley's daughter. Sarah Elizabeth, married Henry Clay Heckert at Troy. Jan. 20, 1876. They had one child surviving infancy: Beatrice Clyde Heckert (b.6/30/1884), who married Dr. John W. Funk, M.D. Beatrice's sons: Robert W., B.S.
Otterbein College, 1936; and George R., A.B. Dartmouth College, 1943.
Sponsor: Ed Orr
NOAH L. WELLS
Noah L. Wells was born October 21, 1873, at Harrisville, Ritchie County, son of Isaiah Wells (born Aug. 9, 1796, Fayette Co., Pa.; died May 17, 1876, Harrisville, W.Va.) and Sally Garland Bumpass Wells (born June 7, 1834, Albemarle Co., Va., and died Nov. 12, 1880). Orphaned at an early age, he went to live with the Nelson Robinson family at Bridgeport, Harrison County. As a young man, he came to Glenville in 1893, at the urging of a friend and teacher, Michael Teter, to attend Glenville State Normal School after having completed the terms at Northwest Academy in Clarksburg.
He was married December 23. 1894, to Clara Brannon Craddock, born May 26, 1877, daughter of Hugh N. Craddock and Pauline Brannon Craddock of Glenville. Their children are Eva Garland (Mrs. J. Hoyt Reed) now of Fort Pierce, Florida; Theo Pauline (Mrs. Richard F. Hamill) now of Stafford, Virginia; Nelson L. Wells of Sand Fork Road, Glenville; and Fred W. Wells of Fort Pierce, Florida.
Mr. Wells was a planing mill owner in Glenville, a skilled cabinet maker, created many fine pieces of furniture, and a contractor and builder in Clarksburg, Glenville, Fort Pierce, Fla., and Quantico, Va. He supervised the cutting of the stone and building of the new wall at the college in Glenville.
Mr. Wells was a history buff, an avid reader, a collector of historical materials, and often wrote articles for the column "Do You Remember" by E.E. Meredith of the Fairmont Times. He was a civilian employee at the Naval Mine Depot, Newport News, Va., during World War II.
While living in Clarksburg, Mrs. Wells was a devoted leader and worker in establishing and building the Stealey Methodist Episcopal Church. To note her influence, the church has designated, with a bronze plaque, the Clara Wells Classroom. In Glenville, her church work was continued. Both Mr. and Mrs. Wells were members of Trinity Methodist Church.
Mrs. Wells died in Clarksburg on February 10, 1948, and Mr. Wells died in Fredericksburg, Virginia, on January 10, 1955. They are buried in the Masonic Cemetery at Weston, West Virginia.
Sponsor: Nelson Wells
Lloyd West‑Farmer and Stockman was born near Troy, Gilmer Co., W.Va., Jan. 31, 1883. Died at family residence at Sand Fork. Jan. 2, 1953. Married to Ivy Messenger, (June 17, 1907) daughter of William and Gay Piercy Messenger, Baldwin, W.Va.
Children: Harold F. West, retired elementary school princ. of Kanawha Co. Mrs. Roy (Evelyn) White, Glenville, W.Va.
Lodge affiliation: I.O.O.F. ‑member, first at Troy, then at Sand Fork the last 31 years of his life.
Education only elementary, but people often thought he had been a school teacher; for he had been well taught in writing, speech, and spelling. Two of his teachers were: Mrs. Grace Hawnan Barnett of Glenville, and Cisco D. Brannon, father of Bruce Brannon of Vadis.
Lloyd was an active member of Baptist Church, having served in various offices as a church deacon, as a trustee, as a secretary; and as S.S. Supt. and a teacher. He also was a church song leader.
Lloyd was one of eight children born to Sylvester W. and Hannah Wiseman West. Sylvester was son of George and Eliza Jane Lovell West. George was killed in action at Battle of Winchester, Va. while serving in Co. B, 15th Va. Vol. Infty. under Capt. Michael Eagen of Weston. (Buried in National Cemetery near Grafton, W.Va.) The widowed Eliza reared their six children (ages ranging from three to seventeen years) on monthly pension of $12.00.
Lloyds mother was the daughter of Benjamin and Dorcas Moon Wiseman.
Sponsor: Mrs. Roy [Evelyn] White
JOHN WELLINGTON WEST [1851. 1938]
Known to most of his contemporaries as John or J.W., Mr. West came to Gilmer County with his father while in his early twenties. He was then a carpenter and helped his father build the log home on Stone Lick Run near Cox's Mill. He was engaged as a carpenter. builder or contractor for the next 50 years. He was joined by sons Albert and Rolla in the firm of J.W. West & Sons~ Architects and Contractors. Many buildings and homes in the area standing today show dedication to craftsmanship.
John W. West was born May 11, 1851 on Duck Creek near West Milford, Harrison County, the fifth of sixteen children of Wilson West and Matilda Bailey. Wilson also born on Duck Creek, was the son of Nathan West who with his brother. Job, moved from near Uniontown, Fayette County, Pennsylvania in about 1799 and married Sarah Davisson. This family is directly descendant from Sir Thomas West, Lord Delaware, or De La Warr who helped establish and maintain the colony at Jamestown, Virginia.
J.W. West and Elizabeth Woofter were united in marriage December 12, 1876. She was the daughter of the Reverend John Woofter, a pioneer Baptist minister of West Virginia and his wife Mariah Bailey. The children of John and Elizabeth West were Wade Clarence, Albert N., Neva B., Rolla R., Irma L., and Lyel T. Lyel, who now lives in Glenville, is the only surviving member of the J,W. West family. Wade married Lona Morris ‑ they had three sons and one daughter. Albert married Dosha Raymer, a member of another Gilmer County pioneer family ‑ they had three sons and one daughter. Rolla married Nelle Goddard of Charleston ‑ there were no children.
Mr. West was a member of the Baptist Church from his youth and in 1892 became a charter member of the Rosedale Baptist Church where he was one of the first Deacons, was a Trustee and contracted for and built the church edifice. His daughter, Irma, hand painted the small glass decorative panes for the windows in the church.
Interested most of his adult life in public affairs, though he never sought office, he held considerable influence during the latter years. He passed away February 21, 1938. at his home in Glenville.
Sponsor: H. Paul West
EDNA STUMP WHITE
Edna White is the daughter of Remley "Doc" Stump and Nellie Gay (Bennett) Stump, a daughter of Nelson M. Bennett and Sarah E. (Rutherford) Bennett. In 1938, Edna married Orville Dick White, son of Americus Filander White of Lewis County. W.Va., and Ida Belle (Orrahood) White, a native of Doddridge County.
The Whites have a son, William Richard, who is married to Jane Rockey. They live in Buckhannon and have two daughters: Vicki and Julie.
For the past ten years, Edna White has been recorder treasurer for the Town of Glenville, W.Va. For some 27 years. after completing the Standard Normal course at Glenville State College in 1936, Orvie Dick White has served the local area as Soil
Conservationist. However, because of the importance of her grandfather, Nelson M. Bennett, in the early life of this area, Edna White prefers that this report mainly concern his life since she has some items that others may not have.
Nelson M. Bennett's's paternal grandfather. Joseph Bennett, came from Pendleton County as one of the first settlers on the Little Kanawha River in what is now Calhoun County. He was a soldier in the War of 1812. He died in 1880. Michael Stump. Nelson's maternal grandfather, was born May 4, 1788, a son of George Stump, who brought his family to Steer Creek (now Gilmer Co.) in 1800. He became a JP for Lewis Co. in 1816. Nelsons parents were John and Sintha Bennett. John died Oct. 8, 1874. Sintha died Nov. 19. 1876.
Nelson Bennett married Sarah E. Rutherford. March 19, 1863, at the home of her parents, Philip and Emzy Rutherford, on Cedar Creek. Sarah was born March 16. 1845.
N.M. Bennett was appointed Calhoun Circuit Court Clerk in June. 1865, and held this office until Jan. 1, 1867. In Feb. 1867, he moved to Glenville, immediately began to study law. In May 1868, he was admitted to the bar and practiced with such diligence and fairness that his fellow members presented a Resolution of Respect in his honor to the Gilmer County Circuit Court, June 30, 1900, following his death, Feb. 8, 1900, from small pox. The resolution is recorded in Order Book 11 at page 369.
The children of Nelson and Sarah Bennett were Cynthia Ruhala Hinzman, Emma Ellen Miles. Nellie Gay Stump (Edna's mother), Myrtle Alma, Minnie Robena Stump, Mary ma Stump, Emsy Alice and Fannie Virginia (who died as infants), Robert F.. Ralph Walker, Ernest Rutherford, and Frank Byron.
The Rev. John Stump baptized Nelson in the Mt. Pisgah Church Oct. 16, 1860. June 24, 1865, the church preferred charges against him for using bad language, but accepted his regrets. Dec 25, 1869, the church excluded him for dancing at a hail. These items reported by I.J. Huffman, Moderator, and Elliott Stump, Clerk.
Sponsor: Edna Stump White
HORANCE LAB AN WHITE
Horance Laban White, the son of Remington Breckinridge and Malinda E. (Knight) White, was born in Doddridge County on March 5, 1883. On August 25, 1912, he was married to Nan Cox (born on March 21, 1886, in Oliphunts Furnace, Pennsylvania), a daughter of George W. and Carrie (Layman) Cox.
H. Laban White graduated from Glenville Normal School and from West Virginia University, receiving the A. B. and A. M. Degrees. He taught in rural and graded schools in Doddridge County and was Superintendent of Schools at Williamstown. Spencer and Ceredo‑Kenova. In 1923, he became associated with Glenville State College, first as Extension Director, and next as Professor of Education, and finally, as Dean of Instruction and Dean of the College. He taught at Glenville continuously until his retirement in 1950.
In late 1917, he joined the YMCA Overseas Unit and served with the American Expeditionary Forces in France and Germany. After the Armistice, he was first named Director of Post Schools, following which he was named Director of Education for a southern portion of Germany with the Army of Occupation.
H. Laban White was a Mason. Rotarian, and a member of the State Education Association and the National Education Association and served as President of the State Education Association. In the early days of radio in West Virginia, H. Laban
White had a regular weekly program which drew favorable notice from as far away as Chicago and Baltimore.
He was the father of three children, George Breckinridge White, born August 31. 1913, Eleanor Caroline White. born January 15, 1915, and Horance Laban White, Jr., born May 1, 1916. All are alumni of Glenville State College.
After retiring from Glenville State College, H. Laban White moved to Fairmont where he remained active in writing and newspaper work until his death on November 23, 1954.
Sponsor: H. Laban White, Jr.
BLANCHE WHITING KEYSNER AND CLAY WHITING
In addition to their blood bond as sister and brother, Blanche Whiting Keysner and Clay Whiting shared a second bond through their poetry. They were children of Robert Stuart and Mary Jane Whiting of Gilmer County, W.Va. She was born in 1881 and died in 1965. He was born Jan. 15, 1885, and presently (1976) lives in Glenville.
Blanche Whiting attended Glenville Normal School in 1898, and then taught for two years in a rural school on Cedar Creek. In 1904, she became a registered nurse in Lewiston, Me. She then went to New York City and did health nursing in the Brooklyn public schools until her marriage to Arthur L. Keysner in 1922. In 1930. they moved to Harrisburg, Pa. Here Mr. Keysner died in 1944.
Mrs. Keysner had been writing poetry, articles, and short stories while living in Brooklyn and Harrisburg. Her book of poems: ôFar Hills Are Blueö was published by Wings Press in 1947. From 1950 to 1957, she served as president of the Pennsylvania Poetry Society. She conducted a poetry workshop at the Philadelphia Regional Writers Conference in 1957. She gave many poetry programs while in New York, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.
Clay Whiting's interest in poetry has resulted in memberships in organizations that include the Poetry Society of America; World Poetry Day: Poetry Society of Pa.; W.Va. Poetry Society: and the American Poetry League. His contributions have included Quaderni di Posie, 1970; Centennial Verse of W.Va.. 1963; Fate Magazine; Echoes of W.Va. Poetry Society; From Sea to Sea in Song; Keystone Folklore Quarterly; W.Va. School Journal; the Bloomfield (Pa.) Morning Press; The Glenville Democrat; and others. During 1950‑57, he received a number prizes from the contest of the Poetry Society of Pa.
Sponsor: Clay Whiting
CHARLES THOMAS WHITING
Charles Thomas Whiting was born (October 14, 1852), on Cedar Creek, Gilmer County, a son of Samuel and Mary Susan Varner Whiting. He was the last of four brothers, the other three being Samuel Hess. Watcoat Reger, and William Dolliver.
He was a successful merchant, hotel proprietor, farmer, and orchardist. His occupation by choice was that of farmer. His interest was largely in raising cattle; his favorite breed was the jersey. He owned farms near Gilmer Station, Northview, and in other locations in the county. He cared for a commercial orchard at Oknoko. Hampshire County.
Mr. Whiting first married Sarah Ann Stump, a daughter of Miranda and Minerva Conrad Stump. They had six children: Mrs. Bertha Floyd, Mrs. Myrtle Smith, Mrs. Bonnie Allen, Mrs. Nell Rymer, Bernice Whiting and Wilbur Whiting.
Some years after the death of his first wife he was again united in marriage to Emma Lorentz, a daughter of Jacob and Mary Bland Lorentz, natives of Lewis County. Born to this marriage were: Charles Samuel, Harry, and Andrew Edmonton "Happy" Whiting.
He died at his home on January 24, 1940. He was 87 years old.
Mr. Whiting was a kindly man, sociable and friendly. He kept an open house all his life, and whomsoever crossed his threshold was more than thrice welcomed. He was blessed with exceptional native ability, was well informed, and was an entertaining conversationalist. He was fond of company, fond of people, fond of his own family and children, and fond of other people's children. Before hard roads and automobiles he was the proprietor of the "Whiting House" and made of it a famous resting place. Traveling men would go many extra miles and work additional hours to "lay up for the night" and avail themselves of his generous hospitality, He was a man of great industry, exceptional business ability and was contented and happy when he could be among his purebred Jerseys. Poland Chinas, and Leghorns. Everybody who ever knew him was his devoted friend.
Sponsor: Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Whiting
Hunter Whiting was born in Glenville, W.Va., March 1. 1890, a son of W.D. and Sarah Louise Whiting. Mr. Whiting was a well known West Virginia educator and was a member of a prominent Gilmer County family long associated in business and agricultural interests here.
He attended the local public schools, entered Glenville Normal School, now Glenville State College. during the year 1900‑1901 when what corresponds to a high school education was offered there and the academic certificate issued. Mr. Whiting received the Standard Normal certificate in 1909. was graduated with the A.B. degree at West Virginia University in 1913, and then joined the faculty at Glenville State College. He received the A.M. degree at Howard University in 1922 and studied abroad during the summers of 1924‑1925 and 1930.
Mr. Whiting served as assistant to the president at Glenville State College from 1925 until 1932, and was dean at the college from 1932 until 1935. He became chairman of the division of language in 1950 and served until September 1, 1954, when he retired. Later he did part‑time work at the college during the sabbatical leave of Dr. Espy W. Miller. In all, he served 38 years at Glenville State College.
In 1955 Mr. Whiting was named "Alumnus of the Year" for Glenville State College and was honored at the annual alumni banquet of that year. He was a member of the Trinity United Methodist Church of Glenville.
Mr. Whiting died on January 17, 1969, at the Morris Memorial nursing home in Milton, W.Va., where he had been a patient for several years. Interment was in the Stalnaker Cemetery near Glenville.
Sponsor: Myra Lynch Mick
SAMUEL WHITING, SR.
Samuel Whiting, Sr., was born May 18, 1776, in Sussex County, England. His wife, Sarah Lancaster, was four years younger than he. They were the parents of three sons and two daughters: Samuel, Jr., Robert, Ebenezer. Mercy, and Mary.
Samuel, with his wife and children, came to America on a sailing ship about 1823. After staying about two years in New York, they came to what is now Glenville, West Virginia.
Samuel, Jr. and Robert Whiting remained in Gilmer County and the Whitings of this county are the descendants of these two parents. Mary married a Mr. Sleeth and at his death she married a Mr. Messenger, Mercy married a Mr. Varner.
Samuel, Sr. and his wife, Sarah, moved to Jackson River in Bath County, Virginia, and then to Elk near Big Springs where Mrs. Whiting died unexpectedly.
Upon his marriage to Jennie Hannah, daughter of Dr. Hannah of Locust Creek, Mr. Whiting settled on Droop Mountain in Little Levels District, Pocahontas County, on property that was developed by his son, Ebenezer, and his grandson, George W. Whiting, into a fertile farm of several hundred acres.
In addition to being prosperous farmers, Samuel Whiting, Sr. and his son Ebenezer, were skilled Masons, plasterers, and bricklayers. Some of their work still remains in Renick Valley as evidence of their skill.
Robert Whiting also inherited some of his father's skill, as the house he built near the mouth of Cedar Creek is still standing after about 130 years.
Samuel Whiting, Sr. died in 1856 and according to his wishes was buried on Droop Mountain.
Sponsor: Clay Whiting
SAMUEL FLETCHER WHITING
Samuel Fletcher Whiting was born near the mouth of Cedar Creek, Gilmer County, on April 6, 1851, the son of Samuel Robert Whiting and Sarah Jane McCray Whiting.
He married Sarah Elizabeth Wade on November 5, 1874. She was the daughter of Dennis and Lucinda Jane Townsend Wade.
He lived on a farm at Cedar Creek adjoining his fathers farm. Aside from farming. he was engaged in the timber business most of his life.
Fletcher and Sarah Whiting had six children, Estella Withers, Lee R, Whiting, Daisy Danley, Jessie Rutherford. Hallie Craddock, and Clyde B. Whiting. Sarah Whiting died on April 9. 1895.
Mr. Whiting was married June 3, 1905, to Gertrude Fishback. They had two children, Robert M., and Mary Rogers.
In his youth. Mr. Whiting lost his right arm in a farm accident. An example of his determination and fortitude was that he trained himself to do with one arm. He did most of the things he could have done with both arms.
He was a Republican in politics and was elected to the State Legislature in 1894, the only Gilmer Republican of recent years who had enjoyed that honor. He also participated in the election of the Honorable SB. Elkins to the U.S. Senate.
He was a member of the Pisgah Methodist Episcopal Church for many years. He had many friends and befriended many people.
He died on October 11. 1910. The funeral was October 12 at Pisgah. Theodor Hauman was the undertaker.
Sponsor: Audra D. Cromer
CLAYBORNE D. WILFONG
Clayborne D. Wilfong was born in Gilmer County, W.Va., April 18. 1898, a son of Ota K. Wilfong Sr. and Lecta (Sommerville) Wilfong. On December 27. 1924, at Morgantown, W.Va., he was married to Miss Henrietta Gainer. Their children are Kathryn (Mrs. Lon Wilson), Ellen, (Mrs. Ira Latimer Jr.), and William Wilfong.
Mr. Wilfong attended Glenville Normal School where he completed the short course in 1918 and the standard normal course in 1921. In 1924, he graduated with an AB degree at Davis and Elkins College, and did postgraduate work at West Virginia University. While in college, C.D. "Red" Wilfong was very active in athletics.
He began his teaching career in 1921 as teacher of the Sycamore one‑room school in Gilmer County. After that, "Red" had brief coaching tenures at Bristol. Salem, and Wallace High Schools before coming to Glenville High School as principal for five years (1927, 1928, 1930‑1932); and , also at Glenville, he served ten more years as teacher and coach (1929, 1933‑1941).
The likeable coach guided two basketball teams to the state championships where his Wallace team won a state title, and the Glenville "Red Terrors", which were named for him, won the Class B title in Morgantown in 1941. Later, while he was coaching in Weston, his team qualified to go to the state tournament. He ended his teaching and coaching career at the Weston and Walkersville schools in 1964. During his thirty‑eight years as a coach, he developed many outstanding athletes.
Mr. Wilfong was a member of the United Methodist Church, was a veteran of World War 1, and was a member of the American Legion. He died at the age of seventy years on February 10, 1969, and interment was in the Forest Lawn Cemetery near Weston. W.Va.
Sponsor: Mrs. Henrietta G. Wilfong
FRANK B. WILFONG
Frank B. Wilfong was born In Lewis County, W.Va., December 28, 1886, a son of William and Cyrena H. (Yeager) Wilfong. His father was born in Pocahontas County, June 28, 1830, a son of Michael and Catherine (Simmons) Wilfong. William Wilfong served in the army for about three years during the Civil War. Later, he moved to Gilmer County where he engaged in farming. Also, he served as overseer of the poor from 1874 to 1878, and in 1880 was elected justice of the peace for Glenville District.
Frank B. Wilfong became a school teacher and received the first W.Va. Life Certificate for Teachers issued in Gilmer County. He taught seventy terms of school, forty years in grade school and the remainder of terms in schools for teachers at Truebada. He had students from five counties, and many summers taught two terms. At one time he had fifty‑two teachers as students.
Mr. Wilfong was a member of the Glenville District Board of Education for more than twenty‑five years. He was a member of the Coal Valley Presbyterian Church at Truebada.
Mr. Wilfong married Arthelia E. Burke on March 27, 1889. She was born in Gilmer County, Nov. 6, 1668, and died Feb. 3, 1945. Mr. and Mrs. Wilfong were the parents of five children: viz. Russell B., born Jan.4, 1890, died Aug. 20, 1942; Dr. Clavel T., born Jan. 15, 1893, died Jan. 20, 1962 (was buried in Arlington Cemetery); Lena L. Keith, born Feb. 12, 1895; Helen G. Ralston, born Jan. 18, 1897; EuIa Fair Dodson, born Nov. 14, 1903, died July 12, 1964.
Mr. Wilfong had eight grandchildren and one great granddaughter. He had two brothers: Ota K. Wilfong and Doctor Bland "Dock" Wilfong.
Mr. Wilfong died at the age of 74 years on March 21, 1940. Interment was in the Otterbein Cemetery near Glenville, W.Va.
Sponsor: Helen Wilfong Ralston
OATA K. WILFONG, SR.
Ota Knox Wilfong Sr. was born in Gilmer County, W.VA., April 15, 1874, a son of William and Cyrena Hanks (Yeager) Wilfong. He married Lecta Sommerville on April 19, 1893. She was born December 1, 1876, in Harrison Co., a daughter of William C. and Melcenith (Day) Sommerville. Mr. and Mrs. Wilfong had three sons. Ota K., Jr. of Clay, W.Va., Clayborne D. (deceased), and Harry D. WILFONG of Wheeling, W.Va. Mr. Wilfong had two brothers, Frank B. and "Dock" B. Wilfong; and two half‑brother, Jimmy and Johnny Clayborne.
Mr. and Mrs. Wilfong lived on a farm on Bear Run in Glenville District for about eighteen years. In 1914, he bought a large house and garden in Northview Addition of Glenville, and moved his family here so his sons could go to Normal School. Later, he bought a store building that adjoined this property and operated a general store for many years; but he continued to raise sheep and cattle on his farm. The store was a congenial gathering place for neighbors; it was equipped with a potbellied coal stove. Finally, Mr. Wilfong retired from the store business, had the store building dismantled, and built a small dwelling in its place.
In their latter years, Mr. and Mrs. Wilfong sold their large home and moved to the smaller residence where they lived for the remainder of their lives. This property is now owned by the Catholic Diocese, and the Good Shepherd Catholic Church occupies the space that was Mr. Wilfong's garden. Also, a portion of the property where the Gilmer County Medical Center now stands was owned by Mr. Wilfong. In the early days, he had a corn field and barn for a team of horses and for milk cows on this property.
Mrs. Wilfong died at the family home on March 10, 1953. Mr. Wilfong continued supervising his farm, but his activities were limited due to ill health. He died December 18, 1954. Both Mr. and Mrs. Wilfong were buried at Otterbem Cemetery in Gilmer County.
Sponsor: O.K Wilfong, Jr.
IRA H. WILLIAMS
Ira H. Williams, born August 8, 1862. came to Gilmer County at a very early age and lived in foster homes until age 21. He received his early education in a one‑room log school house. At that time he was living in the home of George F. Bush whose son Asa Bush, a Baptist Minister and a very learned scholar, served as teacher of the local school. They walked 10 miles daily to and from school. After Mr. Williams had completed the work at the one‑room school, he took the Uniform Examination and started teaching. There was a 3‑month term at a salary of $18 per month and he was required to do the janitor's work too. He taught 34 years on a first grade certificate, 33 of them in Gilmer County and the 34th in Lewis County at the Pickle Street School.
In 1884, Ira married Laura Isabelle Lockard. To this union were born 8 children: Okey Lloyd Williams, Mobile, Alabama; Roy Lawson Williams, deceased; Artie I. Williams, deceased; Orpha A. Willis, deceased; Georgia F. Holbert, Morgantown, W.VA.; Roxy Ellyson. Glenville, W.Va.; Gail Williams, deceased; and Beulah Fidjer, Troy, W.Va.
After his marriage, Mr. Williams moved to a farm on Sinking Creek, in Gilmer County, where he lived until the death of his wife in 1928. Between school terms he farmed on a small scale, selling dairy products as a partial source of income. All of his free time was spent in reading. He was a faithful reader of the Bible~ reading it completely each year for 17 years. He was a member of the Horn Creek Baptist Church where he served as Deacon and recorder for the Church.
Six of the children of Mr. Williams taught school in Gilmer County. Eleven grandchildren and 4 great‑grandchildren are also school teachers.
Mr. Williams died in 1954, age 92, and is buried in the Alice Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Jean Moss
ROY LAWSON WILLIAMS
Roy L. Williams, son of Ira H. and Isabelle Lockard Williams was born on Big Run in Gilmer County March 5, 1888. He was married to Miss Bertha Bailey, daughter of Albert and Eliza Nair Bailey on April 20, 1909.
To this union were born five children: Mrs. Ira (Ruth) Reed of Troy, W.VA,: Mrs. William (Bonnie) Erwin of Glenville, W.Va~ Mrs. Russell (Bess) Bush, deceased; Fred Williams deceased; and Eugene Williams (Married to Edith Elder of Ritchie County) of Elyria, Ohio. There are five living grandchildren (One Deceased) and five great grandchildren. His wife Bertha died October 29, 1940.
His early years were spent working a farm and as a teamster for the Hope Natural Gas Company. He retired from the Hope in 1953 after 29 ½ years of service. In 1924 he was sent to Payne Station, near Alice, as an oiler and was an engineer at the time of his retirement.
His second marriage was on July 13, 1949, to Mrs. Laura Sheets who died in 1972.
Mr. Williams was for many years a member of the Gilmer County Republican Executive Committee from Troy District, served on the Selective Service Board during World War H, and was a former President of the Troy District Board of Education, 1928,
Mr. Williams died August 26, 1965 and was buried in the family cemetery at Alice. His wife Bertha and son Fred are also burled there.
Sponsor: Bonnie W. Erwin
HAROLD EDGAR WILT
Harold Edgar Wilt was born January 28, 1889, at Revere W.Va. In Gilmer County. He was the son of J.T. and Alvira (Martin) Wilt. He came from a family of 14 children.
On April 14, 1908, he married Bertha L. Skidmore at the M.E, Church in Weston, W.Va., in Lewis County, They were married by the Rev. D.G. Helmick. To this union was born one daughter, Goldie 0. Wilt, born January 26, 1909. Goldie married Hamilton E. Stewart in September of 1926, She died May 15, 1975, at the age of 66,
Mr. Wilt was an employee of the Hope Natural Gas Co. from 1906 until 1918. He, then, became a field supervisor in Gilmer County for the Pittsburgh & West Virginia Gas Co. from 1918 until the time of his death on September 13, 1949. He was a member of the Trinity United Methodist Church of Glenville and was very active In the church choir. He belonged to the Odd Fellows Lodge at Sand Fork and the Knights of Pythias 7 68 at Tanner. His main hobby was hunting,
At the time of his death, he had five grandchildren. There are now 13 great grandchildren and 2 great great grandchildren. His widow is now residing In Akron, Ohio, She is 88 years old.
Sponsor: Mrs. Bertha L. Wilt
EVERETT WHITING WITHERS
Everett Whiting Withers, younger son of Herbert Howard and Estella Whiting Withers was born September 7, 1905 in Glenville.
His early education was received in Glenville and attended Glenville Normal. He acquired his AB degree at West Virginia University. At the University of Missouri he got a BJ degree.
He taught at Troy District School. Upon completing his journalism education he returned to Glenville State Teachers College teaching English and journalism, also, serving as dorm director for "The Ark".
While teaching at Glenville State Teachers (1929‑1935) he originated and advised the editing and publishing of the first school paper, :The Mercury". Because of illness he resigned from the institution.
After several years of hospitalization he returned to Glenville. Not able to enlist in World War II, he founded and edited, "The Horse's Mouth", a monthly letter from home, full of events of interest for all local service persons. He was aided by donations of money and time of many local citizens.
He joined the staff of Washington and Lee University teaching English. In 1950 he was employed by the United States Geological Survey, Washington, DC, acting as chief Branch of Texts of Survey. This position he held until death January 8, 1962 in Bethesda, Maryland. He was buried in Stalnaker Cemetery.
Married in Virginia December 1947 to Helen Patterson of Galveston, Texas, they had two children, Mary Diana and Margaret Elizabeth.
Sponsor: Mrs. Anne W. Lilly
HERBERT FRANKLIN WITHERS
Herbert Franklin Withers, son of Herbert Howard and Estella Whiting Withers was born June 16 1896 in Gilmer County. His great grandfather,_Alexander Scott Withers wrote "Chronicles of Border Warfare".
Herbert attended public school in Glenville and Glenville Normal where he was active in sports. He transferred to Wesleyan College (1913) became a member of their football team. His interest for athletics continued through life, if not "partaking", "officiating" then "Spectating". During a summer vacation he acted as constable in Glenville.
Graduating from Ohio College of Dental Surgery, Cincinnati, (1918), he joined the army. He held the rank of private until discharge (had not taken state dental boards). He reenlisted in the reserves with rank of captain.
Herbert's first practice was in Buckhannon. He returned to Glenville (1921), bought Dr. Ewing's (Local Dentist) equipment and practiced for fifty years until retirement.
He held membership in the Glenville Presbyterian Church (elder), Gilmer County Lodge # 118 AF and AM, Glenville Chapter of Eastern Star, Rotary (president). Gilmer County Board of Education (president), West Virginia Dental Society, American Dental
Married September 7, 1921 in Toronto, Canada to Janet Duff, daughter of Thomas and Catherine Duff of Chatsworth, Ontario. Their children were Catherine Estelle, Janet Anne and Herbert Scott.
Retiring from practice in 1972, he maintained an active but limited life until death November 10, 1976 of a coronary condition. He was buried in Stalnaker Cemetery.
HERBERT HOWARD WITHERS
Herbert Howard Withers, son of Henry Howard and Dorcas Diana Lorentz Withers was born June 19, 1866 in Weston, West Virginia.
At age four his family moved to Troy where his father operated a general store.
Herbert was the youngest of seven children. Only three children lived to adulthood, John Scott, a lawyer served as prosecuting attorney for Gilmer County and Emma who taught in Gilmer County, wrote and published poems. "Wildwood Chimes".
When Herbert's father was elected sheriff of Gilmer County the family moved to Glenville where he attended the local school. He was an avid reader of the classics. Miss Willa Brand, college literature teacher, recommended students having difficulty with her classes seek help from Bert Withers. (He was called Bert most of his life.)
For many years he owned a livery business and raised horses in Glenville. In 1924 he served as mayor of the town.
Progress closed the livery barn so he spent his later life gardening and farming. It has been said you could set your watch by Bert Withers. Promptly at 5:30 PM each day he led his favorite Jersey cows, Charlie and Marjorie‑Catherine‑Anne up Glenville's Main Street to the barn for milking.
Married December 25, 1894 to Estella Whiting daughter of Samuel Fletcher and Sarah Wade Whiting. they had two sons, Herbert Franklin and Everett Whiting.
He died September 7,1939 and was buried in Stalnaker Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mrs. Anne W. Lilly
EDGAR M. WOLFE
Edgar M. Wolfe was born at Quiet Dell, Harrison County on December 17, 1843. Hu was the son of John and Permelia Keyser Wolfe. When he was seven years old his family moved to Revel, Gilmer County. His wife was Nancy Woodford who was born in Barbour February 22, 1838. She was the daughter of George and Malinda Weaver Woodford. When she was ten years old her family also moved to Revel, Gilmer County. Her great‑great grandfather was General William Howe of the British army in the American Revolution. General William Woodford was married to the daughter of General Howe.
After the marriage on August 6, 1865, Edgar and Nancy Wolfe settled in a log house near the home of his parents at Revel. Here they reared eleven children and lived their entire life.
Their children were Allie, John, Elmore, Lloyd, William, Albert, Flora, Rosa. Granville, Madge and Harlie.
The Wolfes' were devout Baptist and strong Democrats. Mr. Wolfe cast his first vote in 1868 for Horace Greely for President. Nancy Wolfe witnessed the one and only hanging in Gilmer County when she was eighteen years old. She died on August 6, 1936 at the age of ninety‑eight, the oldest person in Gilmer County. Mr. Wolfe died on February 5. 1931, at the age of eighty‑eight, Edgar Wolfe and his wife Nancy are buried at the Woodford cemetery at the mouth of Leading Creek.
Sponsor: John G. Wolfe, II
Granville Wolfe was born at Revel, Gilmer County, April 16, 1880, a son of Edgar Mandelbert Wolfe, (1843‑1931) and Nancy Woodford Wolfe (1838‑1936). His grandparents were John Wolfe and Permelia Keyser and George and Malinda Weaver Woodford of English and German extraction. He was one of 11 children namely‑ Allie Miles, Flora Bailey, Madge Waggoner, Rosa Belle Wolfe, Albert, John G., Lloyd R., Harlie, Elmore and William Wolfe.
After an elementary education in the Cather one‑room school, Granville Wolfe went to work in a mill owned by Francis Hardman who later became his father‑in‑law. After Francis Hardman sold his mill to his brother, Green Hardman, Granville moved to Glenville and worked in the Gilmer Roller Mill with his brother, Lloyd F. Wolfe until 1929 when it was converted to a feed store. Later he owned the Bridge Street Garage and at the time of his death (1933) owned the Kanawha Service Station and Garage.
He married Minnie Ellen Hardman (1879‑1964) on December 24, 1902 at Tanner, W.VA. She was a daughter of Frances Gainer Hardman (1854‑1949) and Julia Ann Cooper (1855‑1937). Her grandparents were Thomas Hardman (1824‑1904) and Sarah
Fling (1830‑1864) and James Harvey Cooper (1810‑1881) and Julia Ann Whitman (1817‑1903).
Their children were Jessie Ellen Luzader, Mary Virginia Bush, Mabel Estelle Wolfe, Eloise Hardman Wolfe, Franklin Granville Wolfe and Earl Wilson Wolfe. One daughter Lucy Frances Killingsworth is deceased.
Granville Wolfe served on the Glenville Independent Board of Education. His other interests were gardening and raising livestock.
Granville Wolfe and his wife Minnie are buried at the Woodford Cemetery.
Sponsor: Mabel Wolfe
JOHN G. WOLFE
John G. Wolfe was born at Revel, Gilmer county, August 14, 1867, the first son of Edgar M. Wolfe and Nancy Woodford Wolfe. His Grandparents were John Wolfe and Permelia Keyser Wolfe, and George and Malinda Weaver Woodford. Both families settled in Gilmer County in 1850, and were of English and German extraction. He was one of eleven children namely: Allie Miles, Flora Bailey, Madge Waggoner, Rosa Belle Wolfe, Albert, Lloyd, Harlie, Granville, Elmore. and William Wolfe.
John G. Wolfe is best remembered as a successful merchant. He began his mercantile career at Revel where he operated a general store and served as postmaster. From Revel he moved to Cedarville where he was in business for eleven years. He then moved to Sand Fork where he opened and ran a general store for three years. From Sand Fork he moved to Glenville where he operated a store for nearly twenty years. The Glenville store was located where the Dalton Store is presently located on Main Street. His brother Elmore served as a clerk in the store. A year after retiring in 1936, John G. Wolfe died of a heart attack on November 3, 1937. He was a Baptist by faith, and a staunch Democrat.
He was married to Della M. Norman (1880‑1950) on July 17. 1902 at her home on Steer Creek, near Normantown. She was the daughter of Elijah G. Norman and Edith Hacker Norman, who were early settlers of Steer Creek. John G. and Della M. Wolfe were the parents of seven children, four daughters and three Sons namely: Marie, Macel, Grace. Monnie, Fred, Woodrow and Clark.
John G. Wolfe and his wife Della are buried at the Woodford Cemetery as are his grandparents and great grandparents. The cemetery is located at the mouth of Leading Creek, in the community of Kanawha Drive, about two miles away from the home of Edgar and Nancy W. Wolfe which still stands.
Sponsor: John G. Wolfe II
CAREY S. WOOFTER
Carey Summers Woofter was born August 14, 1885, at Williamstown, Wood County, W.Va. He was a son of the Rev. Mr. and Mrs. George A. Woofter. He graduated from the Harrisville High School, then Glenville Normal School in 1914. and received AB and AM degrees from West Virginia University at Morgantown, W.Va.
Mr. Woofter taught in the rural schools in Gilmer County for a few years, was a member of the Glenville training school staff before entering the University, and once served as principal of the Grantsville High School. He came to Glenville State College as registrar in 1927 and held that position until 1945 when he voluntarily retired.
Mr. Woofter married Miss Lona Pickens in 1917, and to this union were born two children: James Woofter of Silver Spring, Md, and George Edwin who died at then age of two years. He had one brother, Hansen Woofter, who lived in Texas.
Active in school, church, and community affairs, Mr. Woofter was affiliated with the Glenville Masonic Lodge; was a member of the Harmony Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of Tanner; the Presbyterian Church; and for a decade of so was chairman of the Gilmer Co. Chapter of the American Red Cross. He collected and compiled numerous bits of West Virginia folk lore, had taught extension classes for the College in most of the central West Virginia counties, and served for many years as a member of the Glenville Rotary Club and the College Alumni Association. Few persons in Gilmer County knew as much of the history of this region, and as many of the people, as did Mr. Woofter, who was always ready to help in any worth cause.
Mr. Woofter died of a heart attack in the family home, June 14, 1946. Funeral services were held at Job's Temple, oldest log church in Central West Virginia. Interment was in the Job's Temple Cemetery in Gilmer Co.
Sponsor: Dr. James Woofter
EMERY JUDSON WOOFTER
Dr. E. J. Woofter, a native of Gilmer County, became one of the best known Baptist ministers in West Virginia. His grandfather Rev. John Woofter, had the distinction of serving forty‑six years as pastor of one church, the Leading Creek Baptist Church of
Gilmer Co. His father, Calvin Woofter, was a deacon in the same church for many years. Calvin married Susan Vannoy; both were natives of Gilmer Co. Mr. and Mrs. Calvin Woofter had two daughters and one son, Emery.
Emery Judson Woofter was born on his father's farm in Gilmer Co.. April 25, 1867. For a time he attended Transylvania University at Lexington, Ky. Later he entered the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary at Louisville, where he completed his studies in 1893.
In 1894, Dr. Woofter was ordained to preach at the Leading Creek Baptist Church where his grandfather had been pastor for nearly half a century. His first pastorate was at Glenville, and for eight years he was pastor of the Troy Baptist Church m Gilmer County. On April 21. 1907. he entered upon his duties as pastor of the Salem Baptist Church at Salem, W.Va.. where he remained for several years.
In 1911 and 1914, Dr. Woofter was chosen president of the W.Va. Baptist General Association. He served as president of the W.Va. Baptist Educational Society and was associate editor of the Baptist Banner. In 1918, Salem College conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Divinity. He was a Knight Templar Mason and Shriner and an Odd Fellow.
Dr. Woofter married Miss Alice Gay Bush of Gilmer County. Their three children were Mildred, Mary, and Madeline.
Sponsor: Donald B. Young
The Rev. Mr. John Woofter was born in Lewis County, Va. (now W.Va.). on January 22, 1816, a son of Jonathan and Jeanette (Winans) Woofter. On July 17. 1836, he married Maria Bailey. She was born in what is now Lewis County on November 19, 1814. a daughter of the Rev. Mr. Carr and Sarah (Brown) Bailey. The Rev. Mr. and Mrs. Woofter had eleven children: viz. Florinda, Newton J. Calvin. Sarah Jane, Mary Belinda. Francina, Elizabeth, Preston Columbus. Adoniram Judson, Homer Paca, and Anna Maria. Calvin, the second son, was a soldier of the Confederate Army, serving under "Stonewall" Jackson.
The Rev. Mr. Woofter settled in what is now Gilmer County in 1844, a year before its organization. He helped to organize the Glenville Baptist Church on June 29. 1850. Charter members were Deacon James Cather, Preston Pew, Jasper J. Arnold, Malinda Cather, Jane E. Pew, William B. Holbert, and Mary Stout. The charge to the church was given by the Rev. Mr. Woofter. and the group was recognized as an Independent Baptist Church. The Rev. Mr. Woofter was elected first pastor and served from June 29. 1850 to June 18, 1861. Also, he was pastor for the period from November 28. 1885 to March 1888.
He was a minister of the Baptist faith for nearly fifty years. He did much of the pioneer work of his denomination in West Virginia. He was a leader in missionary enterprise and in church building over a large territory. The Rev. Mr. Woofter had the distinction of serving forty‑six years as pastor of one church, the Leading Creek Baptist Church of Gilmer County.
Ancestors of the Woofters came from South Hampden, England. The name was originally spelled Wooster. The "s" in the name was written "long S" after the familiar chirography of the time, and was often mistaken for an "F". Eventually the spelling "Woofter" was adopted.
Sponsor: The First Baptist Church of Glenville
NEWTON M. WOOFTER
Newton M. Woofter was born on Bone Creek near Auburn in Ritchie County on April 13, 1876. As a teenager, he moved with his parents. Francis and Alice Riddle Woofter. and family to Dekalb of Gilmer County. He worked on the farm and in the timber business. He was a man of many trades: farmer, veterinarian, carpenter, timberman. and soldier.
At then outbreak of the Spanish American War, he rode a bicycle to Glenville where he enlisted with Company L, Second West Virginia Infantry Regiment, and served until cessation of hostilities.
On March 29, 1903. Newton M. Woofter married Hattie M. Westfall, daughter of Johnson and Massalona Stump Westfall, He studied veterinary medicine and practiced over a wide area for many years, in the oil fields and on farms, answering calls at all hours of the day and night. He also farmed, intermingling agriculture with his veterinary practice, and helping his father‑in‑law, Johnson Westfall. on the adjoining farm, especially after Mr. Westfall became elderly.
When the older children reached high school age, in order that they might have advantage of secondary education, the family established residency at Grantsville. There were no school buses then nor any suitable roads for their operation. About that time, the chestnut blight struck and a major timbering operation of necessity was launched on the Woofter‑Westfall tracts, so Newton M. Woofter divided his time between carpentry and feud store operation in Grantsville and the farm back in Gilmer County where two sawmills were converting into lumber the stricken chestnut trees, with selected beeches and oaks also harvested.
Four years passed and by then a high school had been established at Tanner to handle the educational needs of the younger ones of the family ‑so back to Gilmer County and farming with Newton also maintaining a limited veterinary practice for several years. His wife, Hattie. died May 26, 1945, and Newton died November 8. 1958. Both are buried in Chestnut Grove Cemetery.
Their children: Dura A. Gainer. born September 3, 1906; Cecil Bland, born April 28,1907; Lenore Conley, born November 7, 1909, (deceased); Marguerite, born May 10,1913, (died on infancy); Virginia Rafferty, born April 26, 1914; Worthy Woofter,
born June 28, 1916, (deceased); Albert J. Woofter. born December 20, 1918; and Ruth Woofter, Born December 26, 1920.
Sponsor: Albert J. Woofter
HOMER G. WOODFORD
Homer Green Woodford was born on Sinking Creek in Gilmer County, W.Va., August 29, 1876, a son of Franklin and Emmaline Ellyson Woodford. who came from Barbour County in 1849. On June 24, 1900, he married Lola Hersman. There were three children: Holmes B.. Madelyn, and Mary Louise. Mrs. Woodford died suddenly of a heart attack. Nov. 7. 1937. Mr. Woodford's second marriage was in 1947 to Mrs. Lona Hardman. There are two step‑children: Mrs. Virginia H. Riddle and James W. Hardman.
Mr. Woodford attended Glenville Normal School and was a graduate of Mt. State Business College of Parkersburg. W.Va. He passed exams for three renewals of State elementary teaching certificates, and became the proud owner of a life certificate.
Mr. Woodford began his public service in Gilmer County as a school teacher and taught for 31 years. Also he devoted part time to farming. Then he was elected assessor and served from 1917 to 1921. Four years later he was elected Circuit Clerk and served in this office more than thirty years (all of this under Judges Jake Fisher and Charles Duffield). He also served for a short time as Democratic County Chairman.
At the time of his retirement as Gilmer Co. Circuit Clerk on Jan. 1, 1963, Mr. Woodford was the oldest clerk in the State in point of service, and therefore was recognized throughout the State as the dean of West Virginia Circuit Clerks.
Mr. Woodford was a member of the First Baptist Church of Glenville. He died May 27, 1964. at the University Medical Center in Morgantown, W.Va., and burial was in the Woodford family cemetery at the mouth of Leading Creek in Gilmer County.
Sponsor: Bayard Young
HISTORY OF WOODFORDS AND ELLYSONS
William Woodford was born in England in 1730 and died in Rockingham County, Virginia. 1779. He was the grandfather of George Woodford. who was born in Philippi. Virginia, (now W.Va.) m 1804 and died in Glenville m 1850.
John C. Ellyson, born December 5, 1828, at Philippi, Va. (W.Va.), was married to Sarah Woodford who was born June 13. 1839. Sarah Woodford was the daughter of George Woodford. She died July 5,1914. Her husband, John C. Ellyson, died January 19, 1922.
Zach Ellyson, son of John C. and Sarah Ellyson, was born August 25, 1861. He was married to Rosa Bailey in 1890, To this union were born six children: Jade Ellyson Goff. Hayward Ellyson. Raymond Ellyson, Avon Ellyson. Audrey Ellyson Elliott. and Aulda Ellyson Hardman. Rosa Bailey Ellyson died in 1935 and her husband, Zach. died in 1946.
The three younger children. Avon. Audrey. and Aulda, attended Glenville Normal School (now Glenville State College) and taught school for a number of years in Gilmer County and Aulda, one year in Ritchie County.
As well as can be determined, the aforesaid Woodfords and Ellysons were mostly farmers who moved to Sinking Creek, Gilmer County, in covered wagons in the early 1800's.
The aforesaid Woodfords and Ellysons were buried at the Woodford Cemetery on Kanawha Drive, Glenville, W.Va.
Sponsor: Mrs. 0.0. Hardman
SCOTT VAN HORN
Scott Van Horn was born March 20, 1889. died July 11, 1962. Married to Lacy Ailtop Oct. 20, 1907. Father of four children all of whom are living. Conley Van Horn, Rockford, W.Va., Edna Turner, Glenville, W.Va., B. Ross Van Horn, Glenville, W.Va, and Robert A. Van Horn, Glenville, W.Va.
Mr. Van Horn was educated in Gilmer County Public. A farmer and stockman, he also operated a stave mill and was owner of country general stores in Cedarville for several years. Later he purchased the Hays farm in Glenville. and operated a dairy farm for ten years. Mr. Van Horn was also in public office, elected to the Sheriff's office on the Democratic ticket 1940 thru 1944. He was very active in the Kanawha Union Bank, serving as vice president until his death. He was a Baptist, member of the Baptist Church of Glenville. Hobbies: Hunting, fishing, and owned many good riding horses, he traveled many states including the western states and later purchased property in Florida and was spending the winters there before his death.
Sponsor: Bayard Young
ALBERT RUDDELL YERKEY
Albert Ruddell Yerkey (Allie) was born March 24, 1881, on Ruddell farm below Glenville. He lived all his life in Glenville District of Gilmer County. He was the son of Henry and Virginia Snyder Yerkey. He was the grandson of William W. Yerkey, a
Baptist Minister, born 1827 and died 1908. William Yerkey came to this county from Virginia. There were several boys in this family and one girl, Catherine, who married Berry Wright. The Arccos were a family of carpenters and stone masons.
Allie's sister, Lenora Y. Cloves, served as school teacher; also, his brother, Oma E. Yerkey, was a school teacher. Lenora Y. Cloves and Oma E. Yerkey are both deceased.
Allie was a planning mill and flour mill operator for May's Brothers at Stout's Mills where he was a resident. Allie was also a riverman for years‑rafting and boating, a timberman, an architect, a carpenter, and a farmer. He worked at Glenville State College for years and helped construct Verona Mapel Hall, the President's residence, and many other buildings at the college. He was a member of the Board of Education from Glenville District and also active in church and community affairs.
On December 24, 1903, Allie married Lona Killingsworth (deceased). She was survived by one daughter Letha, a caterer, one son, Billy Lynn (deceased), and one grandson, Billy Ruddell Yerkey.
Billy Ruddell Yerkey was a school teacher, a mechanic, and a heavy equipment operator for Strip Coal Mining, etc.
Allie died on October 29, 1953, at the age of 72 years. He died at his home in Glenville.
Sponsor: Ms. Letha Yerkey
AARON BELL YOUNG
Aaron Bell Young was born in Harrison County, Virginia (now West Virginia), April 22, 1832, the son of William D. and Matilda Davis Young. In May 1861, Mr. Young enlisted in the Confederate Army, and was commissioned as Lieutenant in the 20th Virginia Cavalry in 1863. He served as captain of a company under General "Stonewall" Jackson, and was wounded at Port Republic, Virginia. After the Civil War ended, he was issued a presidential pardon in October, 1865.
Mr. Young married his first wife, Elizabeth Ann Hanger of Staunton. Va., May 13, 1867. Their children were Alice, Jacob. Arthur, Warren. Guy Bell. and George. Mrs. Young died in Gilmer County, May 2, 1876. On April 14. 1878, Mr. Young married a
widow. Mrs. Samantha McGinnis Coplin. who had one son, Okey Warren Coplin. Mr. Young and his second wife had fifteen children: viz. Wade, Price, Maude, Laura.,Bruce, Harry, Lloyd. Clarence, Emma, Ray, Rex. Wythe. Edna. French, and Carl.
After his first marriage, Mr. Young settled on a farm in Lewis County, but desiring more land, he bought a large farm on Little Cove Creek in Gilmer County where he moved in 1869. He sold this farm in 1902 and moved to Wirt County where he resided until his death.
A.B. Young worked at the blacksmith trade and taught school in younger days. It is said that he drilled the first oil well in Burning Springs with a springpole; but the chief part of his life was given to farming. In 1896, Mr. Young was elected assessor of Gilmer County. Later, in Wirt Co., he was elected County Commissioner.
Mr. Young was affiliated with the United Confederate Veterans and his religious faith was that of the Methodist Protestant Church. A. B. Young died March 15. 1915, at his home near Palestine, W.Va., and was buried in the Pisgah Church Cemetery in Wirt County.
Sponsor: Bayard, Donald, Maynard and Mary Young
GUY B. YOUNG
Guy Bell Young was born Sept. 26, 1874, on a farm near Troy. W.Va. He was a son of Aaron Bell Young and Elizabeth Ann (Hanger) Young. He was married Dec. 25, 1906, to Lovie 11. Fling. and their children are Guy Bayard, Donald Bell. Maynard Fling, and Mary Elizabeth Young. On July 11. 1925, Mrs. Young died, and was buried in Otterbein Cemetery.
Mr. Young was an alumnus of Glenville Normal School (now Glenville State College) and completed work for the law degree in 1903 at W.Va. University where he was a member of Delta Chi law fraternity.
In his early years, Mr. Young taught school, but his principal occupation was in the practice of law. He was recognized as an authority on abstracts and titles, and did key much work for major oil and gas companies in this field.
Mr. Young was a member of the West Virginia House of Delegates in the 1945 session; served as Gilmer County prosecuting attorney, 1929‑1932: was a former deputy county clerk; served on the Glenville Independent District School Board, 1926‑1928: and was a member of the first county unit Board of Education, serving from 1934 to 1940.
Mr. Young served as a corporal, 2nd Regiment. W.Va. Volunteer Infantry in the Spanish American War. He was a member of the United Spanish War Veterans organization, and in 1953 served as state commander.
He was a member of the Glenville Rotary Club. and for many years served as a deacon at the First Baptist Church of Glenville.
Guy B. Young died July 10, 1962. at the V. A. Hospital in Clarksburg, W.Va., and was buried beside Mrs. Young in the Otterbein Cemetery. A resolution from the Circuit Court of Gilmer Co. states, in part: "Guy B. Young was the 'dean' of the Gilmer County Bar ‑ having served longer than any other lawyer before the bar of this court". (59 years.)
Sponsor: Bayard, Donald. Maynard and Mary Young
LYDA DUANE ZINN
Lyda Duane Zinn was born July 21, 1877 near Philippi in Barbour County. He was the son of Mary Jane Farnsworth Zinn and Resin Commodore Zinn. He was the oldest of six children, now all deceased. The other children were Stella Zinn Rymer (Mrs. N.E. Ryrner), Ann Zinn Berry (Mrs. A.W. Berry), Nellie Zinn Wellings (Mrs. John Wellings), Waitman Farnsworth Zinn and Hubert Zinn. When Lyda Duane was still quite young, the family moved from Barbour County to Buckhannon and lived for several years. From there, they moved to Randolph County at Alpena so that Resin Commodore might engage in sheep farming. When Lyda Duane was 12 years old, his father was involved in a bad accident when a team of mules ran away with him. In that accident, he sustained a severe head injury incapacitating him for a considerable period. In order that the family might be near relatives, they moved to Gilmer County and lived on Leading Creek at the mouth of Fink.
As the oldest child of the family, Lyda Duane had to assume responsibilities and a large part of the care of the family. This he was able to undertake with the help of Farnsworth relatives.
The three older children, Duane, Stella, and Anna, by alternately going to school and teaching, were able to put themselves through normal school and to assist the younger
children. Waitman F. Zinn earned a medical degree at Maryland University after doing pre‑medical work at the W.Va. University.
Hubert Zinn attended Ohio State University taking courses in agriculture. Lyda Duane attended West Virginia University Law school and graduated with a diploma in Law in 1903. He then returned to Glenville and with Guy B. Young opened a law office in Glenville.
A few months after opening the law office, he became associated with the Kanawha Union Bank. He remained with the bank until his retirement in 1952. During those 48 or 49 years, he was a well‑known figure and very rarely absent from his duties. For many years, he maintained that he could call every resident of Gilmer County by name.
May 2, 1911, he was married to Jessie Marguerite Hartman, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. J. F. Hartman of Burnthouse, Ritchie County. For the remainder of their lives, they maintained a residence in the Brooklyn area of Glenville. They had one son, Lynwood Duane Zinn, who is now a physician in Clarksburg.
Besides the Kanawha Union Bank, Mr. Zinn's other love was the Baptist Church and the Baptist Sunday School. He served as superintendent of the Baptist Sunday school in Glenville for 48 years. For many years, he was secretary and prime spark plug of the County Sunday School organization.
While the Kanawha Union Bank and the Baptist Church took the boy out of the country to small town living, the boy himself never left the country. All of his active life, he maintained two large gardens, a flock of white Wyandote chickens and two Jersey cows. These were tended before and after banking hours. All were maintained in prime condition.
Lyda Duane Zinn died August 1, 1955, after a rather extended illness and was buried at the Stalnaker Graveyard below Glenville.
Sponsor: Lynwood D. Zinn