Malcolm Bull's Calderdale Companion : Foldout

SideTrack : Halifax ...

Entries beginning Halifax ... and The Halifax ... are gathered together in this Sidetrack.

Town in West Yorkshire on the banks of the Hebble on the eastern slopes of the Pennines, and covering an area of 75,000 acres. The town is the administrative centre of Calderdale.

See Population, New Halifax, Name of Halifax, Parish statistics and Toffee Town

Halifax-Aachen Society
The aims of the Society is to foster links between families in Halifax and in Aachen by exchange visits. Those active in setting up the Society included Arnold Edwards, Leslie Rayner Gaimster and Maurice Jagger

Halifax Act [1555]
This recognised the special circumstances of Halifax and waived earlier legislation, allowing middle men to sell directly to the poore folkes

Halifax Adult Deaf & Dumb Institute
Recorded in 1917 at 11 George Street, Halifax when Mrs B. W. Jackson was honorary secretary

Halifax Advertiser

Halifax Aerated Water Company

Halifax Aerated Water Company

Halifax Agricultural Show
Annual show held on Savile Park in August. Weather spoilt the event in August 1966.

See Yorkshire Show and Harold Victor Leslie Westwood

Halifax Agricultural Society
See Edward Nelson Alexander

The Halifax Almanack & Parish Year Book
Almanac compiled and published in 1865 by Henry Leach. The 1866 edition was printed by Copley Ramsden. Price 3d

Halifax Amateur Operatic Society

Halifax Amateur Orchestral Society
Recorded in 1881

Halifax Ambassador
A street patrol in Halifax town centre. This was introduced in 2003 to patrol the streets in an attempt to make the town centre safer.

In October 2005, it was announced that the service was under threat because of lack of funding

Halifax & Borough Club
Barum Top. In 1973, the Halifax Club merged with the Borough Club to become the Halifax & Borough Club.

The Club closed in February 1980.

It subsequently became a succession of pubs:

Halifax & Calder Vale Agricultural Association
From 1838, the association held an annual exhibition of cattle, horses, sheep, pigs, wool, roots and implements.

In 1874, they were at 18 Cheapside, Halifax when William Irvine was Secretary.

See The Oak Room, Old Cock Inn

Halifax & Calder Vale Agricultural, Steeplechase & Racing Co Ltd
Established Halifax Race Course, Pellon from July 1878 to July 1884. The company held two meetings a year

Halifax & Calder Vale Hunt
Established in the 19th century. They met at the Shoulder of Mutton, Midgley and at Warley. Established the Halifax & Calder Vale Steeplechase

Halifax & Calder Vale Steeplechase
Began in 1877 with a meeting at Mount Tabor

Halifax & District Amateur Cricket Association
Recorded in 1931, when Herbert Sutcliffe attended a prize-giving ceremony

Halifax & District Band of Hope Union
Established in 1858. From 1860, they held their meetings at the Halifax Temperance Hall

In 1905, they were at Halifax Central Hall.

In 1917, they were at Union Street, Halifax when William Henry Duckett was secretary.

See Band of Hope

Halifax & District Brussels Carpet Weavers Association
Established in 1892

Halifax & District Carters' & Motormen's Association
A local trade union. In 1936, it merged with the Transport & General Workers' Union

See Halifax Carters' Association

Halifax & District Carters', Draymen's & Horsemen's Association
Recorded in December 1902, when a meeting of the Sowerby Bridge Branch was held at the Wharf, Sowerby Bridge.

See Halifax Carters' Association

Halifax & District Catholic Amateur Operatic Society
Established in 1956. Their first production was The Mikado at the Marlborough Hall, Halifax on 29th October 1956

Halifax & District Creditors' Association
Recorded in 1917 at Southgate Chambers, Halifax when J. S. Lees was secretary

Halifax & District Farmers' Association
On 30th April 1920 the Association decided that the price of milk in Halifax should be increased to 10d a quart.

On 9th May 1920, there was a demonstration at Savile Park against the price of milk supplied by the Association.

On 17th May 1920, the Citizens' Committee of the Association met at the Saddle Hotel, Halifax, to discuss the price of milk.

On 1st February 1922, the price of milk was reduced to 7d a quart

Halifax & District Installed Masters' Association
Recorded in 1925

Halifax & District Intermediate Rugby Football Union
Recorded in 1907

Halifax & District Licensed Victuallers' Rifle Shooting League

Recorded around 1914, when Samuel Hodgson was a member

Halifax & District Licensed Victuallers' Wine & Beersellers' Protection & Benevolent Association
Recorded in 1917 at the Sportsman Inn, Halifax when Greenwood Dawson was secretary

Halifax & District Master Spinners' Federation
Established in 1913. Clement Holdsworth was first president [1913-1919].

In 1982, it joined the Confederation of British Wool Textiles.

See Halifax Master Worsted Spinners

Halifax & District Medical Society
Recorded in 1900, when Dr Priestley Leech was President

Halifax & District Mineral Water Manufacturers Association Limited

Question: Is this the same as the Halifax Aerated Water Company?


On 4th September 1900, the company was wound up at an Extraordinary General Meeting.

This was a Voluntary Winding Up at the instance of Robinson Brothers Cork Growers Limited

Halifax & District Newspaper Company Limited
In 1894, they published The Halifax Free Press newspaper. They were at Barum Top, Halifax

Halifax & District Perfect Thrift Building Society
Established at 9 Ferguson Street in 1894. T. K. Greenwood was Secretary [1894-1895]

Halifax & District Permanent Bank Limited
Opened by the Halifax Permanent Building Society. The bank was incorporated in 1908. It began trading in 1909.

In 1917, it was sold to the Union Bank of Manchester

Halifax & District Permanent Banking Company Limited
Founded by Sir Enoch Hill. The bank opened for trading in 1909.

They had branches at

In 1917, the company merged with the Union Bank of Manchester Limited.

On 22nd September 1927, it was announced that the Society would merge with Halifax Permanent Building Society of 1853 and Halifax Equitable Building Society to become the Halifax Building Society. The actual merger was completed on 31st January 1928.

Halifax & District Power Loom Overlookers' Society
Recorded in 1865

Halifax & District Property Owners' Association
Recorded in 1917 at Crown Street Chambers, Halifax when Arthur Holden was secretary

Halifax & District Schools' Athletic Association

Officers of the Association have included

Halifax & District Tramways Company
Public transport company established in 1882. The company proposed cable-hauled trams – much like those in San Francisco – for Halifax. The estimated cost proved too great for the Corporation

Halifax & District Warpdressers' Association
Recorded in 1888

The Halifax & Huddersfield Express
Weekly newspaper first published on 12th February 1831. It was a Liberal newspaper. It was published on Wednesdays. Published by Henry Martin and printed by Cawthra & Kitchen. In 1838, the title was changed to Halifax Express with the subtitle Huddersfield, Bradford & Wakefield Journal. It ceased publication in 1841

The Halifax & Huddersfield Punch
Magazine first published in 1878

Halifax & Huddersfield Speakers Club

Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company Limited
See Anthony Bancroft, James Bancroft, Henry Lees Edwards, Holden forgery gang and John Holdsworth

Halifax & Hull Direct Railway Company
In October 1845, the company announced proposals for a railway line passing Hull, Goole, Grimsby, Methley, Halifax via Hipperholme, Lightcliffe, and Cleckheaton with branches to Wakefield.

See Huddersfield & Liverpool Direct Railway Company

Halifax & Ovenden Joint Railway

The Halifax & Ovenden Junction Railway Company
On 6th April 1864, a bill was passed for the railway, which it was proposed to incorporate with a capital of £90,000, and to raise £30,000 by loan. This was to be a line of between 2 and 3 miles from a double junction with the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway to the joint passenger station of that and other railway companies at Halifax to Netherton Mill.

The engineers were Stevenson & Utley.

The cost of the line was estimated at £90,000.

On 15th October 1864, at a meeting of the newly-elected Directors

and Auditors

it was reported that

arrangements had been made with the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway and the Great Northern Railway Company to work the line when constructed, and that each of these companies agreed to subscribe £30,000 towards the £90,000 capital of the company

Construction began in November 1865.

On 2nd May 1867, The Halifax & Ovenden Junction Railway Bill was read a third time in the House of Commons and passed, and received the Royal assent on 12th August 1867.

The directors of the Company included

In August 1870, an act was passed to extend the time for the purchase of lands and for the construction of the railway, and to vest the railway in the Lancashire & Yorkshire and the Great Northern Railway Companies.

See Coal Drops, Halifax

Halifax and Us
A website which presents some aspects of social history within the Parish of Halifax – researched by Ron & Moyra Holgate.

Particularly interesting are details of Burials at

Halifax Anti Corn Laws Association
Recorded in 1839-1846. See Anti-Corn Law League

Halifax Anti-Slavery Petition
In February 1826, petitions against slavery in the West Indies were sent to Parliament with 880 signatures from Halifax, and others with 880 signatures from Elland, 840 from Sowerby, 700 from Hebden Bridge, and 368 from Todmorden

Halifax Anti-Vicar Rate Association
An association formed in 1875 to protest against the Vicar Rate. The association bought property which had been seized for non-payment of the rate, and returned it to the owners. Together with the Anti-Vicar Rate Union, the Association fought for repeal of the 1829 Act.

See Halifax Tithe Commutation Bill [1829]

Halifax Antiquarian Society
Founded in 1900 by a group of local antiquarians including Samuel Henry Hamer, H. P. Kendall, John Lister, and Tom Sutcliffe.

The inaugural meeting was held at the Mechanics' Institute on 8th January 1901.

John Lister was the Society's first president.

Prior to September 1901, reports of the Society's proceedings were published in the Halifax Guardian. After that, they were printed separately.

The Society still holds regular meetings, and the Transactions are published annually

Halifax Antiques Society

The Halifax Arm

Halifax Art Gallery
See Art Gallery Trust

Halifax Art Society
Formed – as the Rembrandt Society – in 1875 by Henry Raphael Oddy and his brother-in-law, R. E. Nicholson. Other founder members were: James William Davis, N. Davy, Major C. C. Edwards, Charles James Fox, Joseph Gledhill, Thomas Palethorpe and W. N. Stepford.

Other past members have included: Albert Edward Black and his daughter Mrs Lewin, Arthur Comfort, Cuthbert Crossley, Rowland H. Hill, Vernon Hill, Sir Matthew Smith and his daughter Mrs Fisher Clay who was the first lady member, R. P. Stafford, Arthur Whitehead, and Tom Whitehead.

See Art Gallery Trust

Halifax Art Union
Established in 1844. In 1875, some members left to form the Rembrandt Society

Halifax Arts & Crafts Society
Recorded in 1905 and 1907, and in 1917 at 8 Carlton Street, Halifax when Fred W. Hoyle and Robert Stafford were joint secretaries.

See Graham S. Nicholas

Halifax Arts Lab
It occupied 2 floors of a warehouse in the Upper George Yard, Halifax [1960s/70s]

Halifax Association
Association for teaching the blind was established in 1860

Halifax Association in Aid of the Deaf & Dumb
Established at premises in Horton Street, Halifax [1888] and at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax.

The aims were to provide instruction and to find employment for sick and needy deaf mutes

Halifax Association of Licensed Victuallers
Recorded in 1839, when they held their annual meeting and had their annual dinner at the Wharf, Sowerby Bridge

Halifax Authors' Circle
The Foldout gives more information about the Halifax Authors' Circle and its members

Halifax Automobile Club
Recorded in 1934.

See Charles Woodall Nicholson

Halifax Auxiliary Bible Society
Recorded in the 18th/19th century.

See Rev Anthony Moss and Joseph Thorp

Halifax Baby Bounty Scheme
At New Year 1908, as an initiative to focus on the problem of child mortality, Mayor William Wallace introduced his Infantile Mortality Fund, whereby the first 100 babies born in 1908 would receive a sovereign on reaching their first birthday.

91 babies were registered at Halifax Town Hall.

The list of children included:

  • #89 Benjamin Thomas Sutcliffe [25th January 1908-1979]
  • #98 Lilian Greenwood [b 26th January 1908]

Question: Does anyone have a list of all the babies who were registered?


On Thursday July 2nd 1908, they were gathered for a group photograph in Ackroyd Park.

81 babies survived and qualified for the prize in 1909

Halifax Baby Week
Started in Halifax on 30th June 1917

Halifax Bank
Financial house established in 1800 by Benjamin Kennett of Wakefield, and two brothers from Wakefield, Francis Ingram and William Ingram. The Bank closed in 1810

Halifax Bank
Earlier name of Old Bank, a part of the Wakefield Gate, route through Halifax

Halifax Bank of Scotland
Abbr: HBoS. The manifestation of the Halifax Building Society after the £28 billion merger with the Bank of Scotland on 4th May 2001. With the merger, the headquarters of the company moved to Edinburgh.

In September 2008, the business was taken over by Lloyds Bank to become a part of Lloyds Banking Group.

Trading of HBoS shares ended on 16th January 2009

Halifax baths
The main public swimming baths were those at Woodside and Park Road.

In the 19th century, Jonas Dearnley Taylor was a leading campaigner for public baths in Halifax.

In 1928, Halifax council considered building new baths at Bull Green.

In 1933, Halifax Corporation Water Works considered the idea of building baths at Cross Field,

In 1935, Halifax council approved plans for open air baths at Manor Heath, but abandoned these in favour of a proposal which became Clare Hall Baths

Halifax Baths & Pleasure Grounds

Halifax Benevolent Union Society
A friendly society established in 1773.

See Mytholmroyd Benevolent Union Society

Halifax Bill Posting Company Limited
Recorded in 1905, when they were at 13 Roebuck Yard, Halifax and William Robinson was Manager

Halifax Birdwatchers' Club
Please contact the Club if you have any information on the endangered species of birds mentioned in the Species Audit for Calderdale at the link below

More information: Contact: Nick Carter / Email: [email protected]

Halifax Bishopric
In May 1877, Sir Henry Edwards presided at a meeting to consider a Government Bill which proposed the creation of a new Diocese at Halifax or Wakefield, in order to serve the increasing population in the district. It came to naught, and the Diocese of Wakefield was created in 1888

Halifax Blue Sox
The name of the Halifax Rugby League Football Club was changed to this at the start of 1996.

Halifax Board of Guardians
The first Board of Guardians for the Halifax Poor Law Union was elected in 1838, following the Poor Law Amendment Act [1834]

See Halifax Union Workhouse and Relieving Officer

Halifax Board of Health
Established in 18??.

See Hugh Alexander Cookson and Halifax Corporation Health Department

Halifax Bonding Warehouse
The Inland Bonding Warehouse stands in Gibbet Street between Hall Street and Stead Street.

It opened in 1862.

On 28th January 1867,

strong winds demolished a new inland bonding warehouse which was being built

The new bonding warehouse opened on 25th November 1867.

On 6th August 1872, 2 men were killed and another injured when a pillar collapsed during building work.

The building is [2010] used by an electrical wholesaler.

See John Hope Richardson

Halifax Book Club
Established in 1???

Closed in the late 18th century

Halifax Boot & Shoe Trades Association
Recorded in 1916 in an obituary for James Wadsworth

Halifax Borough
Halifax received its Charter of Incorporation was placed under the Municipal Act of 1848.

Previously, the town was under the jurisdiction of the Duke of Leeds, Lord of the Manor of Wakefield, and was governed by a bailiff.

In 1847, it was announced that the Borough was to have

In 1865, the borough was extended from 1,220 acres to 3,768 acres, to include Southowram and parts of Northowram.

In 1892, the borough was extended to include Skircoat and Ovenden.

In 1900, Southowram, Upper Warley, Copley and the rest of Northowram were included.

See Back Lane Parliament, Halifax, Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale, Halifax Centenary Schools' Pageant, Halifax Coat of Arms and The Halifax Seal

Halifax Borough Electric Light Works
Built before 1898. The architect was William Henry Dodgson Horsfall.

In 1898, The Halifax Courier & Guardian Almanack [1898] reported that the works

have given universal satisfaction

Halifax Borough Hospital

Halifax Borough Market
Covered market hall designed by John & Joseph Leeming and opened on 25th July 1896

See Markets, Greyhound, Halifax and Halifax Market

Halifax Borough Police Court
Opened in October 1900 next to the Police Station, Harrison Road

Halifax Bottling Company
Ale & porter bottlers at Museum Stores, Harrison Road, Halifax. The owner was John Holroyd Waterhouse

Halifax Bowl
Broad Street/Orange Street, Halifax. The purpose-built 28-lane bowling alley was opened by Coronation Street actress Pat Phoenix on 6th February 1964.

The town council – with a rare display of taste – objected to the permanent erection of a 14-ft bowling pin on the roof of the building, and a campaign for the pin's retention ensued; the pin stayed for 6 months.

The bowling enterprise closed in November 1969.

In 1970, the Presto supermarket took over the building until 1986 when a plan to reinstate the bowling alley failed.

It was [2003] a Netto supermarket.

It was demolished when the Broad Street Development took place

Halifax Bowling Club
Thrum Hall Lane.

Recorded on 3rd April 1909, when a new pavilion was opened.

See Halifax Bowling Club Memorial

Halifax Boxing Club

Halifax Boys' & Girls' Camp
Recorded in 1893

Halifax Boys' Camp, Filey
An initiative by J. H. Whitley for the young people of Halifax

Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Insurance Company
Aka Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Fire & Life Insurance Company. Established [12th January 1846] by a group including Edmund Minson Wavell and Johnson Atkinson Busfeild.

One object of the business was to reduce the premiums charged upon worsted.

In 1846, many local people were officers of the Company, including

Recorded in 1850 at Waterhouse Street, Halifax when Mr F. C. Spenser was Secretary.

It was defunct by 1853.

An article in The Leeds Mercury of 17th December 1853 records that

The nature of the property which this company was designed to insure was regarded as so safe, so little liable to fire, that the insurance of it, even at exceedingly low rates, would be a sure investment; and the proceeds would remain in the locality. The experience of the office, however, has cast all these speculations to the winds. Loss after loss, disaster after disaster, has fallen upon the company

The Halifax Branch

Halifax Brass Works Band

Halifax Brewing Company

Halifax Brick & Tile Company
See George Watkinson

Halifax Brick Company Limited
Originally the Charlestown Brick & Tile Company Limited.

Recorded in 1894

Halifax Brook
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length

Halifax Brotherhood Co-operative Society
Recorded in 1905, when their registered office was at 8 St James's Street, Halifax and Richard Stott was Secretary

Halifax Building & Quarrying Company Limited
Quarry owners recorded in 1874 at Hipperholme and Northowram

Halifax Building Society

On 22nd September 1927, it was announced that Halifax Permanent Building Society of 1853, Halifax Permanent Building Society of 1900 and Halifax Equitable Building Society would merge to become the Halifax Building Society. The actual merger was completed on 31st January 1928.

In 1997, the organisation became a bank, Halifax PLC.

In 2001, it merged with the Bank of Scotland to become HBoS.

See Copley Data Centre, Halifax Building Society Memorial, Halifax Building Society Offices and Round the Table

Halifax Building Society Offices
There are 2 main building in Halifax associated with the Halifax Building Society and its later manifestations, The Halifax and HBOS. These are
  1. the former Head Office on Commercial Street, Halifax. This is now just a Branch Office
  2. the newer Head Office at Trinity Road, Halifax

Halifax Building Trades Exchange Company Limited
Established as a meeting point by local architects and builders in 1898. Halifax was the first town in Britain to have such an institution. They had premises in Town Hall Street East, and later next to the Friends' Meeting House in Clare Road. In 1905, their registered office was at 8 Barum Top, Halifax.

See Building Trades Exchange, Grand Junction Inn, Halifax and Joseph Shedeur Hartley

Halifax Bus Depot
Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport bus garages, workshops and office on Huddersfield Road, Halifax

See Elmwood Bus Depot

Halifax Bus Station

Halifax Bus Station: Crossfields
The Halifax bus station opened at Cross Fields in August 1954; this closed in October 1993.

The bus station comprised five loading platforms: A to E.

  • Platform A being nearest the Broad Street side, E nearest the Great Albion Street side
  • Platforms A to D had six stands each, E had five
  • Platforms A, B and C were used by Halifax Corporation and Joint Committee services
  • Platform D was used by Yorkshire Woollen District services
  • Platform E was used by Hebble Motor Services

A parking area for out of service buses was later provided on the opposite side of Great Albion Street, at the bottom, opposite The Odeon, after demolition of some old buildings.

When the Alhambra was demolished in 1963, a new parking ground was created on the site replacing the earlier one, which was then used in the construction of Albion Court flats.

There was insufficient room at Crossfield for coach services, and Harrison Road, in front of the Police Station was always the traditional departure point. At Wakes fortnight, when there were dozens of coaches operating, they often occupied all the surrounding streets also. Harrison Road was on the opposite side of the town from Crossfield Bus Station, and it was a long and difficult trek for luggage-laden holidaymakers needing to transfer from bus to coach.

Towards the end of its existence, many services were taken out of the Bus Station and terminated in the town centre streets again

Crossfield House was built on the Crossfield site [around 1995]

Halifax Business Exchange
Recorded in 1936 Southgate Chambers, Halifax

Halifax Butchers & Assistants Sick & Benevolent Society

See Halifax Butchers' Association

Halifax Butchers' Association
Recorded in August 1872, when Joseph Mann was president and M. Booth was Secretary.

See Halifax Butchers' Roll of Honour

Halifax Bypass
See Burdock Way

Halifax Cabinet Manufacturers Limited

Halifax Camera Club
An offshoot of the Halifax Photographic Society established in 1891. In 1905, it was at Exchange Chambers, Halifax.

See Jonathan Ingham Learoyd

Halifax Canine Society
They had their headquarters at the Saddle, Halifax

Halifax Canoe Club

Halifax Carters' Association
See Halifax & District Carters' & Motormen's Association and Halifax & District Carters', Draymen's & Horsemen's Association

Halifax Catenian Circle
Catholic social group [2008]

Halifax Catholic Association
Recorded in 1917 at 9 Haley Hill, Halifax when John Mulholland was secretary

Halifax Catholic Registration Society
Founded in 1875 by John Lister to ensure that all eligible Catholics had their names on the electoral roll

Halifax Cenotaph

Halifax Centenary Schools' Pageant
Held at the Grand Theatre, Halifax on 11th-13th March 1948 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the incorporation of the Borough of Halifax.

The pageant presented 10 scenes recounting events in the history of Halifax, including the Civil War and John Wesley

Halifax Central Band

Halifax Central Hall
Union Street.

Originally the old County Court, this was converted into the Central Hall by Thomas Smith Scarborough.

Owners and tenants of the Hall have included

It was demolished with the nearby Lower Market when the area was redeveloped

Halifax Central Library

Halifax Central Library, Square Road
In October 2011, Calderdale Council's Cabinet voted to recommend that Northgate House and the Central Library and archive be disposed of and a new library and archive be built on a site near Square Spire. The Council facilities from Northgate House are to be rehoused in existing Council properties.

Work on the new Library began in 2015

Halifax Central Reference Library

Halifax Central Window Cleaning Company
Recorded in 1905 at Wesley Court, Halifax when the manager was T. Meadowcroft

Halifax Certified Institution
See Craigie Lea Certified Institution

Halifax Chamber Choir
In 1989, the Halifax Madrigal Society became the Halifax Chamber Choir

Halifax Chamber Music Society
See Sir George Dyson

Halifax Chamber of Commerce
Established in 1862.

Officers of the Chamber of Commerce have included

It made history in February 1965 when Mrs E. M. Horsley was elected its first female president.

See Chamber of Commerce, Mr Hal E. Fax, Croftmyl, Barbara Wadsworth and Wakes

Halifax Chamber of Trade
Founded in 1903.

See Joshua Hoyle

Halifax Charity Gala
An annual procession of floats through Halifax to Manor Heath. The event began in 1956.

See Maurice Jagger

Halifax Charity Organisation Society

Recorded in 1887, when their 8th Annual meeting was held at Halifax Town Hall.

Officers of the Society have included

Halifax Chartist Association
Recorded in the 19th century, when those attending meetings included Christopher Shackleton of Queenshead and John Culpan [1886].

The group was strongly supportive of Chartist Ernest Jones

Halifax Chess Club
Established in 1840 / 1847.

In 1853, the celebrated German chess master Daniel Harrwitz, who was on a visit to Halifax, was present at their 13th anniversary meeting at the Royal Hotel, Halifax.

Francis Alexander Leyland was Honorary Secretary [1853]

Halifax Child Study Association
See Walter de la Mare

Halifax Child Welfare Clinic
Established at the Sunday School of Range Bank Congregational Church to provide care for children in the Boothtown / Claremount / Charlestown areas of the town

Halifax Children's Holiday Home, Norland

Halifax Children's Welfare League
Organisation formed in 1911 to enable poor children to spend a week or a fortnight at holiday homes. Originally, the Children's Welfare League rented farmhouses, such as Stones Farm, Triangle, Thunderton Farm, Sowerby, and Longley Farm, Norland.

In 1935, fund-raising appeal raised £3,500 and land was purchased at Norland and work began on a specially-built holiday home, Norland Holiday Home. John Henry Jagger was Treasurer of the League

Halifax Choir Festival
Held at Stannary Congregational Church

Halifax Choral Society
In 1839, the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society became the Halifax Choral Society.

The Halifax Choral Society is the oldest choral society in the world with an unbroken performance record.

Meetings and rehearsals were held at the Talbot Inn, Halifax, the Ovenden Cross Inn, the Broad Tree Inn, and the Union Cross Inn.

A meeting recorded at the Ovenden Cross Inn, under the management of George Moss, Henry Emmet, John Watkinson, Henry Watkinson, and the Hartley family may be that of the Ovenden Choral Society.

Concerts were held at several venues, including Halifax Drill Hall.

Bankfield Museum has a painting [dated 1836] by George Kershaw depitcing 7 musicians of the Society at Savile Green.

In 1842, Felix Mendelssohn composed a setting of the 114th Psalm for the Society who sang it at the Parish Church.

On 26th December 1843, and 31st December 1851, Mrs Sunderland appeared in their concert at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax.

On 1st June 1860, they and Mrs Sunderland appeared at Buckingham Palace in a Command Performance before Queen Victoria. The following day, they appeared at the Crystal Palace, London.

Mrs Sunderland sang at almost every concert given by the Society in the period 1839-1863.

In 1917, they were at 17 Crossley Street, Halifax and Frederick Harold Bentley was secretary.

On 19th December 1935, the BBC broadcast a performance of Handel's Messiah.

See William Cambridge Barber, Abel Wadsworth Dean, Fitzwilliam de Guadelupe English, Friends of Halifax Choral Society, James Hartley, Wallace Henry Hartley, Judas Maccabaeus, Arthur Owen, Shackleton Pollard, Aquila Sharpe, Samuel Smith, Daniel Sugden, Fred Sutcliffe and Mary Tankard

Halifax Chrysanthemum Society
Established in 1899

Halifax Church Choir
The Choir of Halifax Parish Church. Thomas Farrar painted the choir rehearsing at The Ring o' Bells which is said to feature Henry Bates

Halifax Church Institute
Library founded on 8th January 1858.

In 1865, officers of the Institute included Edward Akroyd [President], Henry Edwards & W. I. Holdsworth [Vice-Presidents], and Rev E. Bagott & John Cronhelm [Secretaries]

Halifax Church Lads' Brigade
A group associated with Halifax Parish Church.

See Halifax Church Lads' Brigade Memorial

Halifax Churchwardens
People who held the Office included

See Churchwarden

Halifax Ciné Club
Recorded in 1929.

The Club produced several local films including

  • This town of ours which recorded contemporary Halifax [1972]
  • Saturday Morning Out in Halifax: 1951-1965:
  • New Horizons: 1952:
  • The Opening of the Serbian Orthodox Church: 1954:
  • A film made by Ernest Hardy about the production of the Halifax Courier – title not known

    Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the film?


See Yorkshire Film Archive

Halifax Circuit
A new Methodist circuit was established in 1785. A new Wesleyan district was established in 1791

Halifax Circular
On the 30th March 1791, a group of 9 Methodists sent out the Halifax Circular suggesting that the choice of president and other matters must come before the conference. William Thompson was a signatory

Halifax Circulating Library
Founded in 1768 in the yard of the Old Cock Inn.

In 1769, it was at Upper George Yard. It was open on Tuesdays and Thursdays [10:00 am to 1:00 pm] and on Saturdays [1:00 pm to 5:00 pm].

It closed in 1866.

See Nathaniel Binns and Old Cock Library, Halifax

Halifax Circulation Library
Aka Circulating Library. In 1768, the library was founded at the Old Cock Yard. The library was relocated several times: to rooms near the Theatre Royal in 1818, and then to the New Assembly Rooms. In 1836, the library had a collection of 7000 books. The library merged with that of the Literary & Philosophical Society in 1866

Halifax Citizens Guild
A philanthropic group established in 1905 to provided free school meals to children during the economic depression caused by the winters of 1905 and 1908

Halifax Citizens' Guild of Help
The inauguration of the Guild was recorded on 12th December 1905

Halifax Civic Trust
A group of volunteers established in 1962 to improve, promote and protect facilities in Halifax. Sir Ernest Hall is president of the Trust.

See Beacon Hill

Halifax Clarion Cycling Club
A branch of the Clarion Movement established in 1894.

See Halifax Cycling Club

Halifax cloth
The major produce of the district in pre-industrial times was the coarse woollen kersey. This was often of poor quality as a consequence of the raw materials – until the longer staple was used – but also as a result of poor workmanship, overstretching on the tenter, and outright fraud

Halifax Cloth Hall
See Blackwell Hall, Cloth Hall and Piece Hall

The Halifax Club
Recorded in 1868.

Recorded in 1885, when William Cronhelm died here.

In 1905, it was at Fountain Street / Powell Street, when the secretary was Robert Highley and the manager was George Ball.

In 1917, Charles S. Walker was secretary and Charles Exley was steward

Halifax Club
Harrison Road. A gentlemen's club which evolved from the St James's Club which had opened in 1882.

In 1973, it merged with the Borough Club to become the Halifax & Borough Club.

See Cyril Bottomley and Thomas Shaw

Halifax Club Rooms Company Limited
Recorded in 1905, when their offices were at 22 George Street, Halifax

Halifax Coal Company
Stone quarrying company at Sunny Bank [1800]

Halifax Coal Society Limited
Recorded in 1905 at 10 Parkinson Lane, Halifax and North Bridge Station

Halifax Coat of Arms
Francis Alexander Leyland designed the first arms for the town. These can be seen on the façade of the Halifax Borough Market.

The Royal College of Heralds protested that these were unauthorised arms and had no official recognition.

The present Halifax arms were designed for the centenary of the Borough by Rowland Bretton and approved in September 1947 and include:

  • The Warren coat of arms
  • The head of St John the Baptist issuant from a Saxon crown. The Saxon crown represents Edward the Confessor who held the manor before the Norman Conquest
  • The paschal-lamb – the emblem of St John – on a green field. The green field represents the hills around the town

The whole is supported by two British lions holding in their interior forepaws the white roses of the house of York. With the motto:

Except the Lord keep the city

The closed steel helmet is used by all permitted corporations, and the mantling is of gold and blue

See The Halifax Seal

Halifax Cocoa House Company
Aka Halifax Cocoa House & Refreshment Company. The company sold cocoa, tea and non-alcoholic refreshments, and provided a temperate alternative to beer and ale. Food was also served. They were also social venues offering lectures, and games such as chess, draughts and dominoes.

From around 1877, the company had several premises in Halifax, including Haley Hill and Winding Road.

Others followed at Railway Cocoa House, Church Street, Victoria Cocoa House, Gibbet Street, Borough Cocoa House, King Cross Street, Central Cocoa House, Union Street, Lee House Cocoa Tavern, Lee Bridge Cocoa Tavern, North Bridge Restaurant, Halifax, Railway Coffee Tavern, Halifax, and Sowerby Bridge.

Their offices were at 19 George Street, Halifax. Directors included Richard Horsfall, John Lister, Edward Mortimer and James Turner Riley.

The business closed in 1913 and all the establishments were sold.

See Cocoa houses, British Workman House, Halifax and The Victoria Restaurant & Dining Rooms

The Halifax Comet
Newspaper. First published on 3rd January 1893. The newspaper evolved from earlier publications – The Ha'porth and the Halifax Local Opinion. It was published by Joe Turner Spencer. It was printed by J. H. White. From 1895, it was printed by G. T. Whitehead.

It has been likened to the modern Private Eye magazine.

It ceased publication on 20th August 1904

Halifax Commercial Banking Company, Brighouse
The offices in Thornton Square were built in 1875 on the site of the Old Mansion House.

This was the first bank in Brighouse and the first branch of the Halifax Commercial Banking Company.

In 1887, Brighouse Town Hall was built next door.

It was subsequently a branch of Martins Bank and Barclays Bank

Managers at the Branch included

  • G. P. Sowden [1887]
  • Charles Fowler [1897]

Halifax Commercial Banking Company, Halifax Branch
In 1880, the Halifax branch of the Halifax Commercial Banking Company moved to the Hall End / Silver Street building which was subsequently occupied by the Lloyds Bank.

Officers of the Bank have included John Graham Wheelwright – General Manager [1887, 1897].

This is discussed in the book the collection of Prints by J. R. Smith

Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited

See Halifax Mechanics' Institution Penny Savings Bank, Frederick Hardcastle, T. H. Morris, William Morris, Old Mansion House, Robert Swaine and J. G. Wheelwright

Halifax Commercial Banking Company, Todmorden
An agency for the Halifax Commercial Banking Company opened at 6 New Road, Todmorden [1872]

It became a branch [1914]

It moved to Royd House, Burnley Road [1921]

It closed [1993]

The Halifax Commercial Chronicle
Aka The Halifax Commercial Chronicle, and Yorkshire and Lancashire Advertiser. Weekly newspaper. First published on 4th July 1829 by Nathan Whitley. It was a 4-page publication [2 ft by 18 inches] and cost 7d.

After 79 editions, it ceased publication on 24th December 1830

Halifax Competitive Music Festival
James William Bulmer was President

Halifax Competitive Musical Festival
Recorded in 1922.

See Halifax Music Festival and Halifax Musical Festival

Halifax Concert Hall & Public Rooms Company Limited
Recorded between 1895 and 1949. In 1905, W. H. Mitchell was secretary and their registered office was at 8 Ward's End.

Director of the Company have included John Herbert Lacy Baldwin and Henry Clifford Smith [1949].

See Victoria Theatre

Halifax Concert Society

Halifax Conservative Association
Sir Enoch Hill was Chairman [1922-1929].

On 26th June 1930, new Conservative headquarters opened in Prescott Street, Halifax.

It was listed as the Halifax Conservative & Unionist Association [1936]

See Halifax Junior Conservative Association

Halifax Conservative Union
15 George Street, Halifax.

Recorded in 1905, when James Tattersall was secretary and agent.

Recorded in 1917, when Robert Whitworth was president, and J. Wilkinson was acting agent

Halifax constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Halifax

Halifax Constitutional Club
Queens Road / King Cross. Aka Queens Hall Constitutional Club and Kingston Liberal Club. Built at a cost of £3,000. Opened 6th November 1890 by the Right Hon. G. J. Goschen MP.

In 1917, John Smith was secretary and Lewis Parkin was steward.

On 22nd February 1921, the Club opened at Highfield House.

On 3rd February 1931, there was a police action against the Halifax Borough Club and the King Cross Constitutional Club for the unlawful consumption of liquor.

Members and Officers of the Club have included

See Halifax Kingston Liberal Club

Halifax Convivial Society
Recorded in 1825

Halifax Co-operative Society
In 1941, the Halifax Industrial Society became the Halifax Co-operative Society.

They had stables for around 30 delivery horses in Portland Street, Halifax and a warehouse on Weymouth Street, Halifax.

In 1949, the Society opened the town's first self-service store, at King Cross.

In 1951, the organisation moved into the Arcade Royale which had been purchased by the Co-op in 1949.

In November 1962, the Broadway Supermarket opened on Waterhouse Street, and closed in 1972.

In 1963, the Society joined up with the national Co-operative Retail Services Limited.

In 1970, it left its Northgate headquarters and concentrated its town centre activities on the Arcade Royale.

See Halifax Co-operative Society Library

Halifax Co-operative Society Library
Began in 1873. It was sold to Halifax Corporation in 1881

Halifax Co-operative Trading Society
Established in 1849 by a group which included John Culpan, Joseph Foreman, J. D. Taylor and Benjamin Wilson.

Their first meeting was on 15th January 1849 at the Oddfellows' Hall but they moved to a temperance hotel behind The Sportsman, Halifax, and then to Nicholl's Temperance Hotel.

They paid no bonus, but added any profits to the capital.

They began by buying and selling soap and sugar.

It closed after 5 months.

The Halifax Working Men's Co-operative & Provident Society was formed shortly afterwards

Halifax Corinthians AFC
Football club.

Recorded in the 1940s

Halifax Corporation
See Halifax Borough

Halifax Corporation Band

Halifax Corporation Cleansing Department
The offices & garages were at Hall Street, Halifax, the former Hall Street Livery Stables, Halifax.

Around 1963, they moved to Stoney Royd

Halifax Corporation Health Department

See Boulevard Health Centre, Halifax, Halifax Board of Health and Queens Road Health Centre, Halifax

Halifax Corporation Highways Department

Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport
Abbr: HCPT.

The orange, green and cream livery of the buses was copied from that of Glasgow.

See Elmwood Bus Garage, Halifax, Halifax Corporation Transport, Halifax Joint Omnibus Committee, Halifax Passenger Transport, Geoffrey Hilditch and Skircoat Road, Halifax

Halifax Corporation Sanatorium

Halifax Corporation Sewage Department
See Salterhebble Sewage Works and Sewage works

Halifax Corporation Tramways Act [1897]
Following the Act, Halifax Corporation electric trams began on 9th June 1898

Halifax Corporation Tramways Club
Recorded in 1917 at Town Hall Street East when Ernest Moore was secretary.

On 14th May 1918, the Roll of Honour was unveiled at the Club

Halifax Corporation Tramways Department
See G. F. Craven, Halifax & District Tramways Company, Halifax Corporation Tramways Act [1897], Halifax Corporation Tramways Club, Halifax Tramways Depot and Halifax Corporation Tramways

Halifax Corporation vs Barraclough
On 22nd April 1856, Thomas Barraclough [gentleman], Richard Horsfall, and John Calcroft [mason], were charged with having connected certain private drains with a public sewer without permission. The Town Clerk, Edmund Minson Wavell, prosecuted.

The defendants were discharged on the undertaking not to repeat the offence and to pay the costs

Halifax Corporation Waterworks
Abbr: HCWW. Recorded in 1851.

The abbreviation can still be seen on grates in the streets of the district.

See Brighouse Waterworks, Castle Carr fountains, Luddenden Dean, Hanson Lane Football Ground, Halifax, Richard James Hartley and James A. Paskin

Halifax Cotton Manufacturing Company Limited
Recorded in 1861

Halifax Council follies

Halifax Council of Social Welfare
See Ann Holt's Trust Fund

Halifax Councillors

Halifax County Court
Opened on 31st March 1847. 1867 saw the end of the Manor Courts which the new County Court system had replaced.

See County Court, Prescott Street, Robert Parker, Michael Henry Rankin and West Riding Magistrates' Office

The Halifax Courier
Published on Saturdays. First issued on 8th January 1853.

Founders included

Financial supporters were local Liberals including

The Offices were at

Editors of the Halifax Courier have included

The proprietors were Birtwhistle & Hutchinson [1874] and Hutchinson-Low & Ramsden [1894].

In 1900, it cost 1d.

In May 1921, the Halifax Courier and Halifax Guardian merged to publish the daily and weekly Halifax Courier & Guardian.

The current [2006] manifestation of the paper is known as The Halifax Courier.

It changed from broadsheet to tabloid format in 2007.

In April 2012, there were proposals to move the major thrust of the publication to the Internet

(hopefully with the grammar, spelling and punctuation better than the present online standard)  and with only a single weekly printed edition from the beginning of June 2012.

See John Crossley, Halifax Courier employees who served in War, Halifax Evening Courier, Halifax Today, Francis King, Halstead Nunn, Gordon Sampson and Edward Wood

The Halifax Courier & Guardian
In May 1921, the Halifax Courier and Halifax Guardian merged to publish the daily and weekly papers – the Halifax Daily Courier & Guardian, and the Halifax Weekly Courier & Guardian.

There was a printers' strike on 11th August 1922. The dispute lasted a week but the newspaper continued publication.

During a printing dispute in July 1959, in common with many other papers at the time, the newspaper appeared as a free, daily, foolscap edition of 6000 copies. An example of these can be seen in the attached Photograph.

The weekly edition ceased publication in 1967.

It became the Evening Courier.

Until 26th March 2007, when it changed to tabloid format, it was only one of 2 remaining broadsheet evening papers in the UK.

See Bairns' Fund and Green Final

The Halifax Courier & Guardian: Historical Almanack

Halifax Courier Building
The publishing and printing were carried out in purpose-built premises at 9 King Cross Street.

Designed by Jackson & Fox.

Opened on 20th March 1916.

The offices were extended by acquisition of neighbouring properties on Regent Street. Houses at 1 and 3 Regent Street, and a warehouse at the end of Regent Place were demolished

In 1977, the Courier occupied the whole of Regent Street when the new extension and the Printing Hall were built.

The Printing Hall stands at the junction with Bull Close Lane.

The staff moved to Dean Clough [2015] and the King Cross Street office is now longer used.

The Halifax Courier War & Prisoners Comfort Fund
World War I charity organised by the Halifax Courier. W. E. Denison was manager of the Fund.

See A Spring-Time Saunter

Halifax Court of Requests
The Court of Requests for Halifax (and other parishes in the West Riding) was established in the 14th century to hear cases brought by the poor.

Recorded in 1828, when William Priestley was Treasurer, and Commissioners included

The Court was abolished in 1846.

See Halifax Debtors' Gaol

Halifax Covered Market
Aka Lower Market

Halifax Crescent Club
Junior rugby union [?] club. Recorded in April 1899

Halifax Cricket & Football Club
Held evening floodlit matches at their Hanson Lane grounds in November 1878.

On 5th January 1903, they launched an appeal to reduce the mortgage debt of £8,000.

On 25th May 1905, the members rejected a proposal to sell land on the Thrum Hall estate.

On 19th December 1916, they decided to sell the cricket pitch at Thrum Hall.

See Rev C. S. Quainton, William Henry Wayman and World's Fair Exhibition [1900]

Halifax Cricket Association
Closed in 2005

Halifax Cross
The market cross stood in Old Market.

The Crosse Inn was nearby

Halifax-cum-Heptonstall, Manor of
The manor was granted to William de Warenne by Henry I in 1106, then to Lewes Priory until the Dissolution.

After the Dissolution, this rectory manor became a sub-manor of the Manor of Wakefield.

Owners and tenants have included

See Manor of Halifax

Halifax Cup
See Halifax & Caldervale Agricultural, Steeplechase & Racing Company Limited

Halifax Cycling Club
Established in 1876.

See Halifax Clarion Cycling Club

The Halifax Daily Courier
A daily edition of the Halifax Courier.

See Halifax Evening Courier

The Halifax Daily Guardian
A daily edition of the Halifax Guardian was first published on 2nd January 1906.

On 15th October 1917, the price increased from a ½d to 1d

Halifax Dairies Limited
Queens Road, Halifax. Recorded in 1937.

In 1959, it was taken over by Associated Dairies, the firm which became Asda. The bottling plant employed 100 people and produced 14,000 gallons a day.

In 1969, Associated Dairies, announced that it would be closing the bottling plant. The site was used as a distribution depot

Halifax Debating Club
19th century club

Halifax Dickens & Literary Society
Recorded in 1914, when E. A. Jones was Secretary.

Recorded in September 1915, when they held a meeting at St Mary's School and Mrs George Shillito occupied the chair

Halifax Distress Committee
19th century charitable organisation.

In 1906, they organised a scheme to help people to emigrate to Halifax, Nova Scotia, paying the emigrants' fare of £217 15/-

Halifax District Blind Society
Recorded in 1910.

See Halifax Society for the Blind

Halifax District Ladies' Club Limited
Recorded in 1936 at Bull Green House

Halifax District Nursing Association
Founded in 1911. In 1917, the Clare Road Maternity Home was opened

Halifax District of the Most Noble Order of the Knights of Malta
Halifax Friendly Society [Number 2639] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Halifax Drapers & Hosiers Association
Recorded in 1897, when they complained that their members had suffered loss and inconvenience whilst the lines for the new tramways were being laid in Halifax

Halifax Dukes
The name of the Halifax speedway team. Formed in 19??.

Those who rode for the team included Eric Boocock, Kenny Carter, Jock Shead, and Dennis Gavros

Halifax Dyeing Company
Absorbed by the BDA.

Closed 19??

Halifax Ear, Eye & Throat Hospital
A voluntary service opened in 1886 by Dr John Oakley at his home at Holly House, Halifax. He treated in-patients, out-patients and accidents.

In 1905, F. S. Mitchell was the honorary secretary.

By 1913, the Royal Halifax Infirmary had its own eye, ear and throat department and Dr Oakley closed his hospital and gave the balance of the funds to the new Infirmary

Halifax, Earl of
The title became extinct and was re-created several times.

Halifax Early Closing Association
See Early closing day and William Makepeace Thackeray

Halifax Editions
The term was used in 1862 in advertisements in The Times for Milner & Sowerby

Halifax Education Committee

Halifax Electric Carpet Beating Works
Recorded in 1912 at 14a Broad Street, Halifax when W. H. Broadbent was proprietor

Halifax Electric Company

See Park Mill, Halifax

Halifax Electricity Works
On 9th August 1924, there was a fire at the Works, and the town was plunged into darkness. Cinemas and other businesses were forced to close

Halifax, Elevation of
A newspaper article of 1853 records the following:

Halifax Equitable Bank Limited
An off-shoot of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society, proposed by Joseph Harger Mitchell.

Branches were recorded at

Officers of the Bank have included

See Martins Bank Limited

Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society
See Sir Alfred Arnold, James Bowman, John Caw, Equitable Bank Limited, Halifax, John Mackintosh and Joseph Harger Mitchell

Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society, Brighouse
Bethel Street.

The building is now occupied by The Halifax

Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society, Elland
A daily branch opened in July 1913, when Charles Arnold Briggs was appointed manager

Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society Offices
The headquarters of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society were at the corner of Central Street and Silver Street, Halifax. The site was formerly occupied by The Globe public house.

The building has subsequently been occupied by Martins Bank, Coiners, and Silvers Bar

Halifax Equity Bank Limited
Formed in November 1899. The bank opened its doors for trading 1st January 1900.

In 1913, it became the Equity Bank Limited

Halifax Esperanto Association
Recorded in September 1915, when they offered Esperanto classes in the Board Room of the Victoria Hall, and officers included

  • F. Duckitt – President
  • Miss B. Slade – Secretary

The Halifax Evening Courier
In 1892, Alfred Ramsden, Editor, manager and part owner of the Halifax Courier, founded the weekday evening edition, the Halifax Evening Courier.

The proprietors were Hutchinson-Low & Ramsden [1894].

See Halifax Daily Courier and Evening Courier

Halifax Exchange
In reports of the opening of the Halifax Mechanics' Institute in 1857,
the proposed Exchange

was mentioned as a group of buildings in Crossley Street, including the new Institute, the new Swan Hotel, the Halifax Joint Stock Bank, and numerous handsome shops.

At a meeting of Halifax merchants on 5th December 1863, it was decided to form an Exchange at the new Town Hall.

The forum for local businessmen – manufacturers, merchants and tradesmen – was opened

for the purposes of a trade exchange on specified terms

on 2nd January 1864 by the mayor, William Irving Holdsworth. Addresses were delivered by Edward Akroyd, Sir Francis Crossley, and John Crossley.

On the same day, 180 tradesmen were enrolled members of the Exchange, and the annual subscriptions promised amounted to £162.

An annual charge of £60 was made for the use of the telegraph room, the news room and a large hall at the Town Hall – including the cost of coal, gas and cleaning – for the Exchange

Halifax Excise Office
Recorded in 1850 at Broad Street, Halifax when officials included

  • Thomas Williamson [Collector]
  • Joseph Parkinson [First Clerk]
  • Henry Lowndes [Second Clerk]
  • Nigel Grisley [Supervisor]
  • John Stainburn [Inland Revenue Officer]
  • William Matthews [Inland Revenue Officer]
  • Richard Isherwood [Inland Revenue Officer]

Halifax Exercises
Public religious meetings in the 16th-17th centuries, at which famous local and visiting people – including Dr John Favour, John Barlow, and Michael Briscoe - preached to the crowds. 2 sermons were preached on the last Wednesday in the month.

They were discontinued for a time and resumed about 1620

Halifax Exhibition
Recorded on 13th February 1841, when an item in The Leeds Mercury said that
We are sorry to announce, that owing to the very heavy expense in getting up and conducting the late exhibition, a loss of about £100 is likely to be sustained by the managers

See Halifax Fine Art & Industrial Exhibition

The Halifax Express
Recorded in 1836.

The name of the Halifax & Huddersfield Express from 1838

Halifax Extension Bill [1934]
A proposal to include the urban districts of Luddendenfoot, Midgley, and Sowerby, and the parishes of Coley, Heptonstall, Norwood Green, and Wadsworth within the county borough of Halifax. It was rejected in 1935 after fierce opposition

Halifax Fan Manufacturing Company Limited
Manufacturers of many types of fans at Grantham Road, Halifax

Halifax Farmers' Trading Association Limited
Recorded in 1917 at 12 Wade Street, Halifax when John William Longbottom was secretary

Halifax Fever Hospital
Century Lane, Mount Tabor. Recorded in 1905

Halifax Film Club
A private film club which presents films at the Playhouse

Halifax Fine Art & Industrial Exhibition
Recorded in 1882, 1888, 1893 and 1895.

See Thomas Fleming, Halifax Exhibition, A. B. Halliwell, Stephen Hartley, Greenwood Howarth, James W. Mitchell and Smith & Booth

Halifax Fire Station
A fire brigade station is recorded at Albion Street / Southgate in 1887, when George B. Collins was superintendent.

The first fire station was built on the site of the former Victoria cattle market at the bottom of Gibbet Street in 1???.

In 1936, they named their new 100-ft turntable ladder Miriam in honour of Mrs Miriam Lightowler.

The station was demolished in the 1960s, along with the nearby Corporation Arms, for the Burdock Way redevelopment.

On 9th July 1970, the new station at King Cross was opened by Charles Henry Lucas.

See China Street, Halifax, Jonathan Coulston and Walton Street, Halifax

Halifax Fisheries
Originally Frank Ford Limited

Halifax Floral Society
Established in 18??.

In 18??, the Society held a Carnation Show at the Rose & Crown Inn, Halifax at which the prize for the best bloomed carnation in each class was a copper tea kettle.

See Carnation show

Halifax Flour Society
A society formed on 1st May 1847 to provide a co-operative corn mill following discontent against the Corn Laws, corn dealers' prices, and because much flour was adulterated. The Society sold to the public through agents

2,800 people bought £1 shares, and the Society bought a mill at Bailey Hall.

The first batch of cheap flour was sold from here in 1848.

In 1849, officers of the Society included

  • Henry Taylor [President]
  • Joseph Barraclough [Treasurer]
  • Thomas Sladdin [Manager]

When the Bailey Hall mill became too small, a new 6-storey Bailey Hall was built in 1862. This was one of the most modern grain mills at the time. It opened with a party for 1,400 people on April 7, 1863.

The Society bought more land at Bailey Hall and a new mill was opened in 1880. There was a big fire here in 1886.

The Society was sold to the Co-operative Wholesale Society in 1915. Production then stopped at Bailey Hall and the mill was sold to Paton & Baldwin.

The Society later merged with the Sowerby Bridge Flour Society.

On 8th December 1921, the Society's cashier was attacked and robbed.

The closure of the flour mills at Bailey Hall, in the 1930s, affected the Halifax Branch canal.

See Flour, Flour Society Inn, Halifax and Mark Kendall

Halifax Flower Club

Halifax Flying Club
They had their headquarters at the Saddle, Halifax

Halifax Follies
A popular entertainment group of the early 20th century

Halifax for dash
A 19th century verse reminds us of the conditions in Yorkshire:
Bradford for cash,
Halifax for dash,
Wakefield for pride and poverty,
Huddersfield's for show,
Sheffield's what's low,
Leeds for dirt and vulgarity

Halifax Free Church Girls' Guild
Recorded in 1905 at 9 Regent Street, Halifax

The Halifax Free Press
Newspaper first published by Henry Martin in August 1842 as a monthly and, from 10 September 1842, as a weekly newspaper.

It ceased publication in 1844

George Greenwood published a mid-weekly, halfpenny publication with the same title in the late 1880s.

A weekly newspaper with the same title was published by Richard Skues in 25 March 1890.

In 1894, it was published on Wednesdays by the Halifax & District Newspaper Company Limited.

It ceased publication in 1???

Halifax Free School

Halifax Free Wanderers
Junior rugby union [?] club. Recorded in April 1899

Halifax Friendly & Trade Societies Club
Opened at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax in December 1905.

In 1917, Lewis Wormald was secretary.

This and Friendly & Trades Club, Halifax may be the same place.

See Ancient Order of Foresters

Halifax Friendly Society & General Medical Aid
Recorded in 1905 at St James's Road, Halifax. George Innes was the medical officer

Halifax Fun Fair
A modern fair with swings, roundabouts, booths and fast-food was held at Victoria Fair Ground in the 20th century

Halifax Furnishing Company
Cabinet makers & complete house furnishers at 46 & 48 Northgate, Halifax [1900].

See West Riding Furnishing Company

Halifax Gaol
There have been local jails and lockups at Old Market gaol, Debtor's Gaol in Gaol Lane, Halifax, Dungeon Street, Hanson Lane gaol, Illingworth Gaol, Copper Street, and also at Halifax Police Station.

See Jails & Goals and Jonathan Turner

Halifax Gas, Light & Coke Company
The gas company was formed in 1823 under an Act passed in 1822, and gas was produced in fire-brick ovens and stored in 3 gasometers – with a total capacity of 73049 cubic feet – which were built along the Hebble.

Gas lighting appeared in Halifax on Friday, 15th February 1823.

The company was bought by Halifax Corporation in 1853.

See Halifax Gas Works and Halifax Gas Works Offices

Halifax Gas Works Offices
The offices were built on Mulcture Hall Road around 1898, by the Gas Company of Halifax County Borough Council.

The offices adjoin the Halifax Gas Works.

The architect was William Henry Dodgson Horsfall.

The Halifax Courier & Guardian Historical Almanack [1898] reported

Frontage: 225 ft. Large offices: area 936 sq yards.

Ground floor: drawing office & plan rooms; engineers, engineers clerks, general & coke offices; store room & store keeper's office; telephone room, waiting room, & lavatories. Spacious hall and staircase.

First floor: large committee room, laboratory, photometer, & 4 large store rooms.

Adjoining are 2 convenient houses for night & day foremen.

The workshops are both spacious – cont area of 1,560 sq yards – & splendidly adapted for the various works connected with the making of lamps, meters, & general repairs of every description.

Basement consists of storerooms for pipes & fittings


The Halifax Gazette
Newspaper which published two editions on 24th September 1832, and 6th October 1832. It was printed by Rogers of Northgate, Halifax

Halifax General Cemetery Company Limited
Formed in 1836 by Jonathan Akroyd, Richard Kershaw Lumb, and Ely Bates to create the Halifax General Cemetery.

It was formed in response to overcrowding in the burial grounds in Halifax. The new Cemetery was to be a safe and hygienic place of burial, and also a cemetery whose design and buildings would contribute to the improvement and respectability of the town.

The Cemetery was for use by all religious denominations.

The company offered 500 shares to be sold at £5 each. £1000 of the capital would go towards the purchase of land for the cemetery.

The Offices were at 31 Commercial Street, Halifax.

In 1837, the company established the General Cemetery in Lister Lane, Halifax.

See Simeon B. Cordingley

The Halifax General Dispensary

Halifax General Hospital
Huddersfield Road, Halifax. Originally St Luke's Hospital.

The Calderdale Royal Hospital stands on the site.

See Savile Close, Halifax

Halifax General Post Office
Commercial Street.

The first purpose-built accommodation for the post office was designed by Sir Henry Tanner and opened on 23rd June 1887. It is constructed with the local sandstone. The cost of the building was around £13,000.

It was extended in 1926/1927 when the new automatic telephone exchange was installed.

The building was modernised in 1957 when the telephone exchange was extended and the sorting office was built

See Halifax Post Office

Halifax Geological Society
Recorded in 1863, when they had a field trip up the Shibden Valley

Halifax Geologists' Field Club & Scientific Association
Established in 1874.

It became the Halifax Scientific Society

Halifax Gilbert & Sullivan Society

Halifax Girls' Club
Recorded in 1917 at Victoria Street East when W. H. Ostler was secretary.

On 1st October 1919, the Halifax Girls' Club & Hostel re-opened as a home for young ladies in business

Halifax Glee & Madrigal Society
Musical society established in 1857.

In August 1858, they gave appeared at a concert in Manchester when the choir

numbering from 60 to 70 voices, afforded a pleasant variety to the concert

On 15th September 1860, they appeared at Manchester with Mrs Sunderland, and they were advertised as having 70 voices.

See Halifax Madrigal Society and Colonel William Irving Holdsworth

Halifax Gliding Club
Founded in 19??. Based at Crosland Moor, Huddersfield, then Ringstone Edge Farm, Barkisland.

Closed in 1976

Halifax Glove Shop
Retailers in Crown Street. The shop and neighbouring property was lost when Waterhouse Street, Halifax was created in the 1920s

Halifax Golf Club
Founded at Sunny Vale Pleasure Gardens in 1895. It later moved to Lightcliffe in the grounds of Cliffe Hill Mansion in 18?? – see Bob Hall.

On 4th October 1902, the club moved to south of the reservoir at Ogden. The original 9-hole course was extended to 18 holes in 19??.

In 1953, Cliffe Hill School was built on the Lightcliffe site.

See Lightcliffe Golf Club

Halifax Golf Club (Ogden)
Recorded in 1905 at Tripping Green, Holmfield.

The modern golf club is popular.

See Michael Allen and Halifax Golf Club Memorial, Ogden

Halifax Great War Trail
An organisation set up to identify and describe the locations in Calderdale which were involved in the Great War of 1914-1918

Halifax Green
Former name of Cow Green

Halifax Greyhound Patrons
Recorded on 28th April 1932, when the Social Club was struck off the register.

See Halifax Greyhound Stadium

Halifax Greyhound Stadium
Greyhound racing took place at Thrum Hall, Halifax. Recorded in 1946.

See Halifax Greyhound Patrons

The Halifax Guardian
Subtitled the Huddersfield & Bradford Advertiser.

Conservative weekly newspaper and rival to the Halifax & Huddersfield Express. It was published on Saturdays.

First published by Whitley & Booth at The Castle [1st December 1832].

George Hogarth was editor.

Financial supporters were the local Conservatives.

It was later published by Roberts Leyland.

From 1838, James Uriah Walker was proprietor and their office was at 13 George Street, Halifax.

In 1841, the use of steam technology enabled the paper to increase from 4 pages to 8 pages. The price for the 4 page paper was 7d, of which 4d was newspaper duty.

In 1850, the annual circulation was recorded as 124,000.

The newspaper duty was repealed in 1855 and the price fell to 3d.

After Walker's death in 1864, his son, Thomas James Walker, took over the paper.

In 1894, it was owned and published by the executors of Thomas James Walker.

In 1900, it cost 1d and was typically 12 pages in size.

In 1905, it was associated with the Halifax Newspaper & Printing Company Limited.

A daily edition started in 1906. A weekly edition started in 1???.

Editors of the Halifax Guardian have included

In May 1921, the Halifax Courier and Halifax Guardian merged to publish the daily and weekly Halifax Courier & Guardian.

See William Ackroyd, James Henry Ogden and Prisoners of War Fund

The Halifax Guardian: Almanack & Literary Companion
19th century almanac published by the Halifax Guardian. Recorded in 1912

Halifax Gymnasium

Halifax Hairdressers' Society
Recorded in 1872

Halifax Hanoverian Club

Halifax Harmonic Society
Established in 1792

Halifax Harriers
Recorded around 1909

Halifax Henpecked Club
A successor to the Boulderclough Henpecked Club.

Founder members included Wilkinson Pickles

Halifax High Level Railway Company
Built the High Level Railway. In July 1894, the Company was taken over by the Great Northern Railway Company, and the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company

Halifax High School for Girls Company Limited
Built the Halifax High School for Girls.

Richard Hodgson, was Chairman [1897]

In April 1897, the company was wound up voluntarily. Norcliffe Blakey Spenser was the liquidator

The Halifax Historical Almanack
Almanac published at the beginning of the 1800s by W. Stephenson and Henry Leach

Halifax Home Guard

See Halifax Home Guard Band and Home Guard

Halifax Home Guard Band

See Halifax Home Guard and Home Guard

Halifax Homœopathic Pharmacy & Dispensary
60/62 Northgate. Established in 1856 by John Anderton

Halifax Horticultural & Floral Society
See Louis John Crossley

Halifax Horticultural & Floricultural Society
Established in October 1837. The Society held their exhibitions in a field behind St Paul's Church, King Cross

Halifax house
A general term for the large stone-built halls and houses built by the wealthy yeoman clothier merchants in the period 1580-1680. See Dates of some local buildings

Halifax House, Southowram
In the 1861 census, Number 1 Bank Top is listed as Halifax House.

Owners and tenants have included

  • James Mellor and family [1861]

The Halifax Household Almanack
19th century almanac

Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway
Recorded in December 1863, when shares were advertised to raise £650,000 capital for the venture

Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Reporter
Recorded in 1844

Halifax Hunt
Established in the late-18th / early-19th century

Halifax Ice & Cold Storage Company
Ice manufacturers and cold storers at Thomas Street / Blackledge, Halifax [1905]

The Halifax Illustrated Almanack & Chronological Register
19th century almanac

Halifax Improvements Acts
There were several Acts – 1762, 1763, and 1823 – to improve the conditions in Halifax. A number of Trustees were appointed to control the state of the water supply and the sewerage systems.

The Halifax Improvement Act [1853] allowed the town council to build the Victoria Cattle Market and take cattle-trading off the streets. It also allowed the council to provide drainage and widen the streets.

The Halifax Improvement Act [1862] concerned the carrying out of the waterworks, the cemetery, the street improvements, the maintenance of the Inland Bonding warehouse, the construction of a train way between the Lancashire & Yorkshire Company's railway, and the Gas Works.

Under terms of the 1862 Act, keepers of music and dancing saloons were required to obtain an annual licence. This cost 3/6d and their premises had to close at 11:00 pm and were not to open on Sundays, Christmas Day, Good Friday or any other day of thanksgiving. In August 1868, a number of local pubs applied and were granted licences and some were refused.

See Reservoirs, Castle Carr, Infant mortality and Population of Halifax

Halifax Incorporated Law Society Limited
In 1905, they were at 8 Barum Top, Halifax.

Recorded in 1917 when Herbert Boocock and Harold Ingham Bearder were honorary secretaries, Edward Wallace Norris was honorary treasurer, and Joseph Wallace was librarian.

See James Clarkson, Halifax Law Society, Halifax Law Students' Society, Hopwood Hall, Halifax and Saxon Walshaw

Halifax Industrial Society
The Halifax Working Men's Co-operative & Provident Society became the Halifax Industrial Society in 1861.

See Louis E. Bottomley, Thomas Clarke, Joseph Foreman, The History of the Halifax Industrial Society Limited and John Shillito

Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary
At the instigation of Dr Coulthurst in 1807, a dispensary was built by subscriptions, and offered free advice, medicine and treatment for the poor. It opened in 1808.

The Infirmary closed on 3rd November 1896, and it was superseded by the Royal Halifax Infirmary in Free School Lane.

See R.M.H and Star Seer

Halifax Infirmary Gala
Annual event held at Manor Heath. In June 1936, 20,000 people attended

Halifax Inner Wheel

See Mrs Arthur Pickles

Halifax Institute
See Halifax Union Workhouse, Gibbet Street

Halifax Institution for the Prosecution of Felons
Prosecution society established in 1821

Halifax Irish Society
See Irish Centre and Irish in Calderdale

Halifax Joint Omnibus Committee
Provided bus transport in Halifax. It was 50% owned by British Railways.

See Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Brighouse
In 1897, there was a branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at Huddersfield Road, Brighouse when Edwin Burton was Manager

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Elland
This a branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company opened at The Cross, Elland on 2nd April 1894.

Recorded in 1897, when Samuel Farnhill was Manager

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Hebden Bridge
This branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company was recorded in 1897 when William Bourne was Manager

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company Limited

See John Abbott, Joshua Appleyard, George Beaumont, Beckwith's, John Caw, Herbert Fielden, John Fisher, William Haigh, John Holdsworth, Joint Stock Bank Court, Halifax, John Edward Longbottom, Michael Stocks, John Henry Swallow and The Commercial Bank of England

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Luddendenfoot
There was a sub-branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at Luddendenfoot [1897]

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Princess Street, Halifax
The offices of this branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at Princess Street, now Princess Buildings, were built in 1858.

John Henry Swallow was General manager [1882]

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Queens Road
A branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at Queens Road was recorded in February 1894

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Ripponden
There was a sub-branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at Ripponden [1897].

See John William Widdop

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Sowerby Bridge
In 1897, there was a branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at the Town Hall, Sowerby Bridge when Joseph Hanson was Manager

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: Waterhouse Street, Halifax
In 1834, there was a branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at 23 Waterhouse Street, Halifax

Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company: West Vale
There was a sub-branch of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company at West Vale / Greetland [1897]

The Halifax Journal
Aka Halifax Journal, and Yorkshire & Lancashire Advertiser. Newspaper first published on 6th June 1801. It was a 4-page publication. It cost 6d, including 3½d duty. It was printed by Holden & Dowson at Hall End, Halifax.

J. D. McArthur was editor.

From July 1807, the paper was taken over by J. & B. K. Rogers.

On 23rd February 1811, it was taken over by R. Hurst of Wakefield and became the Wakefield & Halifax Journal

Halifax Junior Book Society
Recorded in 1838

Halifax Junior Conservative Association
Recorded in 1917 at George Square, Halifax when F. S. Bentley was honorary secretary

See Halifax Conservative Association

Halifax Junior Evening Institute
Recorded in 1928

Halifax Labour Exchange
Halifax's opened on 1st February 1910. The first Labour Exchange was on Portland Street – now a part of the Broad Street car park.

Later, the service moved to King Cross Street – the building is still there, an interesting but derelict building almost opposite the Halifax Courier office.

In the 1920s, it was decided that purpose-built premises were needed and an office in Portland Place opened in March, 1928.

In 1984, the building was no longer adequate, in 1986, the Job Centre moved to Woolshops and in 1991 to premises on Horton Street.

See Crossfield House, Halifax

Halifax Labour Union
John Lister was a founder member

Halifax Lacrosse Club
Recorded in 1907

Halifax Ladies' Association for the Care of Women & Girls
Recorded in 1905.

Mrs Rawson was Vice President and her daughter was President [1905]

Question: Does anyone know which of her daughters was President?


Halifax Ladies' Temperance Society
Formed in 1860 to help the Halifax Temperance Society and the local Temperance cause.

In 1917, they were at Central Hall, Halifax when Mrs D. Hanson was secretary.

The Society was disbanded in June 1918, owing to reduced and insufficient funds

Halifax Lads' Club
See John Burdock

Halifax Lark Singing Association
A lark singing society formed in 1879. They held competitions at the New Street Hotel, Pellon

Halifax Law Society
Recorded in 1886, when Edmund Minson Wavell was the first president of the Society

See Halifax Incorporated Law Society Limited and Halifax Law Students' Society

Halifax Law Students' Society
Established in 1881.

See Halifax Incorporated Law Society Limited, Halifax Law Society and George Marvell Riley

Halifax Legs
A deformity reported amongst young boys employed in the carpet industry. It was caused by strain on the legs as the boys pressed dye into the worsted yarn

Halifax Lending Library
A public subscription library was established at Harrison Road in 1769, and another at Old Cock Yard opened in 1823.

In 1845, the Harrison Road Library contained upwards of 10,000 volumes. At that time, John Crowder was librarian.

Following the Public Libraries Act [1850], the municipal library opened on Harrison Road in 1883 – after the Oddfellows' Hall had been rejected – a year after Halifax Public Reading Room. Originally, it had 25,000 books. It became popular and a branch was opened as Bankfield Library was opened in August 1888. In September 1890, the Harrison Road resources were moved to Belle Vue. Bankfield Museum opened as a library in 1888. The Southowram branch opened in October 1920. Skircoat Green had the first purpose-built library in September 1926, and a library at Ellen Royde, Elland in October 1926

Halifax Liberal Association
Established in 1872 when 2 Liberal organisations in Halifax – the Registration Association and the Electoral Association united.

The Association was at 12 Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1917].

Members and Officers of the Organisation have included

Recorded in 1917

See Halifax Women's Liberal Association and Liberal News Room

Halifax Liberal Electoral Association
Established around 1868 by the supporters of Edward Owen Greening.

See Halifax Liberal Association

Halifax Licensed Houses Cricket League
Recorded in 1922-1930

Halifax Light Opera Society
Aka Halifax Light Opera Company, Halifax Light Opera Group.

See Walter Evelyn Wright

Halifax Light Operatic Society

Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society
Established in September 1830.

See Halifax Geological Society

The Halifax Local Opinion
Newspaper which was incorporated with The Ha'porth. It became the Halifax Comet

Halifax Lodges of Freemasons
See Beacon [No 4066] Lodge, Freemasons' Hall, Halifax, Halez Fax [No 4135] Lodge, Halifax Freemasons Memorial, Masonic Hall, Halifax, Pennine [No 4177] Lodge, Probity [No 61] Lodge, St James [No 448] Lodge and Southwood House, Birdcage Lane

Halifax Madrigal Society
Established in 1899.

Harry Shepley was their conductor. They won several prizes under his direction.

At their first concert in 1899, they performed Coleridge-Taylor's Hiawatha's Wedding Feast.

Walter Widdop performed with the choir.

In 1909, they won first prize in the Blackpool Musical Festival.

They won first prize in the Parkinson Challenge Shield [1910, 1911, 1912]. They won first prize in their section at the Blackpool Festival [1911, 1912, 1913].

On 27th May 1912, they won joint third prize in the Paris International Music Festival. They sang for the French President.

On 21st November 1913, members of the Society performed before George V and Queen Mary at Windsor Castle.

George V later requested that the choir should appear at Windsor to sing before the Royal Family and their Austrian Imperial guests, Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria and his wife Sophie.

In October 1923, 130 singers led by John Harry Shepley were the first choir to appear in a Henry Wood Promenade Concert at the Queen's Hall, London.

In 1989, the Society became the Halifax Chamber Choir.

See Halifax Glee & Madrigal Society

Halifax Mail
Mail coach service established in 1836. It was discontinued in 1839 as the railway became popular and stage coach travel declined

Halifax Male Voice Choir
Established in 1931. Disbanded in 2007. Some of the members moved to Elland Male Voice Choir

Halifax-Manchester coach service

Halifax, Manor of
The Earls of Warren gave the Manor to the Priory of Lewes.

The Priory leased the Manor to Robert Waterhouse, but he was dispossessed by Henry VIII.

It then passed through various hands until in 1545 it went to John Waterhouse.

It then passed to Sir Edward Waterhouse, who, in the early part of the 17th century, sold it to Sir Arthur Ingram.

In 1626, Ingram sold the Manor to Rev Thomas Greenwood for £500.

See Henry Dawson, Manor of Halifax-cum-Heptonstall and John Richardson

Halifax Mantle Company
31 Northgate, Halifax. Established around 1881.

In 1890, the proprietor was J. W. Hutchinson.

In 1936, the business was at 7-9 Woolshops, Halifax, and the proprietor was R. J. Emmett

Halifax Market
See Markets, Corn Market, Fish Market, Borough Market, Covered Market, Halifax Markets, Woollen Market, Linen Market, Lower Market, New Market, Old Market, Piece Hall, Swine Market, Shambles, Halifax and Westgate Market

Halifax Markets
The name for a quadrangle of shops which stood at the exterior of the Piece Hall.

See Allan Collinson

Halifax, Marquis of

Halifax Master Builders' Association
Recorded in 1917 at Town Hall Street East, Halifax

Halifax Master Worsted Spinners
A group of local 19th century worsted manufacturers.

Discussing child labour at a meeting at the Old Cock Inn, Halifax in March 1831, they decided that

  1. Operatives aged between 7 and 14 years of age are more capable of long continued labour than those aged 14 to 21 years
  2. The condition of those employed in our worsted mills does not warrant the conclusion that the present usages of the trade are injurious to the health and comfort of the operatives

See Halifax & District Master Spinners' Federation

Halifax, Mayors of

Halifax Mechanics' Hall
In 1894, this was at Town Hall Chambers, Halifax.

See Halifax Mechanics' Institute and Keir Hardie

Halifax Mechanics' Institute
Aka Halifax Mechanics' Institution, Halifax Institute, and Halifax Mechanics' Institution & Mutual Improvement Society.

On 3rd May 1825, Joseph Baldwin, wrote a letter which was distributed to the principal inhabitants of Halifax, advocating the establishment of a Mechanics' Institution in the town.

A Mechanics' Institute was established on 27th May 1825.

See Joseph Baldwin, Bechuanaland chiefs, Rev Russell Lant Carpenter, Evening Classes, Halifax Junior Evening Institute, Halifax Mechanics' Hall, Halifax Mutual Improvement Society, Hall of Science, Halifax, Jonathan Ingham Learoyd, Peter Tarby Macaulay, Mrs Emmeline Pankhurst, Henry Radcliffe, Judge James Stansfeld, The Tichborne Claimant, Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax, John Waterhouse and John Whitworth

Halifax Mechanics' Institution Penny Savings Bank
Opened on 23rd February 1856 to serve the Halifax Mechanics' Institute.

In February 1859, their audit reports showed that the total investments were £4,805 9/10½d, of which £2,500 was invested with Halifax Corporation, and the rest with the Commercial Bank

It became the first Halifax branch of the Yorkshire Penny Bank

The Halifax Mercury
Locally-produced version of The Leeds Mercury newspaper first published in May 1890.

In 1894, it was published on Fridays by Sidney Hallas at 14 Crossley Street, Halifax.

It and ceased publication on 5th January 1895

Halifax Metal Spinners Limited
Recorded in 1953, when Frank Ford was a director

Halifax Midsummer Fair
Horse, cattle and pig fair held on 21st June. Recorded in 1835 when
the show, both of horses and cattle, was poor, and the business inconsiderable

Halifax Millinery & Mourning Establishment
The popular name for the Northgate premises of milliner and draper George H. Gledhill. It stood on the north-west side of the junction of Northgate and Broad Street.

The building was later occupied by S. Arthur & Sons [1936].

It was demolished when the area was redeveloped

Halifax Minster

Halifax Minster Church

Halifax Model Building Society
Unsuccessful society, closed in 188?

Halifax Modern Library
Recorded in 1936 at 17 Northgate when the proprietor was A. Goodburn

Halifax Monthly Choral Society
Established in 1825

Halifax Moor
In the 18th century, the name was used for an area of land between Gibbet Street and Hanson Lane.

More recently, the name has been used for Skircoat Moor

Halifax Motor Company
Car sales business established by Edgar Smith around 1914 at Smith's Garage, Skircoat Road. Edgar and his 3 sons were directors.

They had temporary showrooms in Northgate and King Cross Street.

They had a sales facility at South Parade, Halifax [1970].

In 1972, they merged with Ford dealers in Preston to form the Halshaw Group Limited.

They had a commercial vehicle depôt at New Road / Church Street, Halifax [1972], and a body and paint repair division at Springfield Works, Greetland [1972].

Halifax motto
It has been suggested that Edward Akroyd first used the motto, and it was adopted by the town council around 1862.

In Latin, the motto is:

Nisi Dominus custodierit civitatem

Halifax MPs

Halifax Multiple Sclerosis Society

Halifax Municipal Aerodrome

Halifax Museum
There were 2 branches of the museum: Akroyd Museum and Belle Vue Museum

Halifax Music Club
Established in the 19th century. They originally practised in members' home, but later, they met at several local hostelries, including the King's Head, Halifax, Old Cock Inn, Halifax and Union Cross, Halifax

Halifax Music Festival
See Halifax Competitive Musical Festival, Halifax Musical Festival and Joshua Hoyle

Halifax Musical Festival
Recorded on 10th October 1932, when it was abandoned.

See Halifax Competitive Musical Festival and Halifax Music Festival

Halifax Mutual Electric Light & Power Company
Recorded in 1890, when Blakey Brothers & Emmott Limited were engineers to the company

Halifax Mutual Improvement Society
Established around 1847. They held their meetings at Halifax British School. On 27th November 1852, the Society merged with the Halifax Mechanics' Institute. In 1894, they were at Town Hall Chambers, Halifax

See Mutual Improvement Societies

Halifax Mutual Orchestral Band

Recorded in 1913, when Norman Gott was a member

Halifax: Name
The town is not mentioned by name in Domesday Book. The name Halyfax appears in 1116, and the origin of the name is open to debate.

See Feslei, Horton, Hudley, Orange Town, Toffee Town and Seal of the Waterhouse Charity

Halifax Naturalist
Magazine published by the Halifax Scientific Society and edited by William Bunting Crump.

Charles Crossland was a contributor to the magazine.

Publication ceased after World War II.

8 volumes are recorded

Halifax New Bank
When the Halifax Commercial Bank closed in 1807, William Rawson, Rawdon Briggs, John Rhodes, and John Rawson established the Halifax New Bank in George Street. The Bank was dissolved in 1811, to become Rawson's Bank and the Halifax Commercial Bank

Halifax New Grand Theatre & Opera House Company Limited
Built and owned the Grand Theatre & Opera House, Halifax [1889].

See Arthur Grimmett and J. B. Jennings

Halifax New Market

Halifax New Subscription Library
Established in 1823. It was at Old Cock Yard [1835].

By 1835, they had around 1,500 books.

amongst which are many valuable and useful works, besides a considerable portion of the lighter literature of the day, well calculated to gratify that numerous class of the community, who, from the pressure of business engagements are only able to make their reading a matter of intellectual amusement, and not of severer study

The library was open on Wednesdays and Saturdays [2:00 pm to 6:00 pm].

The Reading Room was said to form a Literary Lounge of very great interest, and an important feature of the Institution

See Halifax Subscription Library

Halifax Newspaper & Printing Company Limited
Printers and publishers. Recorded in 1905 at Halifax Printing Works, George Street, Halifax.

The Halifax Guardian is recorded at the same address [1905].

See Joseph Whitaker

Halifax Newspaper Company Limited
They had offices at 14 Southgate, Halifax. The company was registered in February 1874.

Halifax North

Halifax North End Cricket Club
Their headquarters were at the Albion, Claremount [1905]

Halifax Nurses' Home
Opened on 30th October 1929 by Lady Savile.

Recorded in 1905 4 Savile Terrace, Halifax when Miss Paul was there

The Halifax Observer
Newspaper. First published 18th January 1862, and ceased publication after seven issues.

A second newspaper of the same title was published – by George Greenwood – on 9th August 1884, and ceased publication on 24th December 1887

Halifax, Old
A popular name for Joseph Rideal Smith

Halifax Old Railway Station
An old name for Halifax Railway Station used from 1890.

See North Bridge Station

Halifax Old Smoke Club
See Halifax Smoke Club

Halifax Old Town Hall
Union Street. Between 1840 [when Halifax was incorporated] and 1863 [when Halifax Town Hall was built], the council offices had been dispersed to various places around the town.

Around 1850, the council business was carried out here, at the old town hall which stood at the south-west corner of the junction of Westgate and Union Street.

After 1863, the building was subsequently occupied by a W. H. Smith warehouse, a wine store, a shoe shop, and an optician.

The Town Hall Tavern stood opposite

Halifax Omnibus & Cab Company Limited
8 Portland Street, Halifax. The Company was formed on 11th February 1865. Edward Akroyd and John Crossley were trustees.

The company was registered in May 1865.

A service – with a horse-drawn omnibus – from King Cross to Boothtown started on 10th May 1865.

Edwin Walshaw was Chairman [1867].

The company was wound up voluntarily in February 1867. The liquidators were George Buckley, William Whitaker, and Joseph Pulman

Halifax Opera Society
Founded in 19??. Eric Portman was a member

Halifax Opportunities Trust
See Elsie Whiteley Innovation Centre

Halifax Orange Club, No. 10
Recorded on 5th November 1828, when they had a meeting and supper at the Waterhouse Arms, Halifax in order to assert
their unalterable determination to oppose the Catholic Emancipation

There were several similar Orange Societies in Bradford and elsewhere

Halifax Orchestral Society
Successor to the Harmonic Society. Formed in 1833 by a group which included George Hogarth.

On 21st April 1843, Mrs Sunderland appeared at a concert presented by the Society.

It was dissolved in 1850. The trustees passed the music collection on to the Halifax Philharmonic Society.

See Joseph Henry Frobisher and Richard de Zouche Hall

Halifax Orphanage
See Crossley Orphanage and Crossley & Porter Orphanage Sanatorium

Halifax Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Halifax

Halifax Palace Theatre Company Limited
The company which built the Palace Theatre in 1902. The directors of the company were Frank MacNaughten (managing director), T. R. Sanders (chairman), Edgar Horsfall, C. F. Lawton, and H. Birkenshaw. Because of competition from the People's Palace and the Grand Theatre, business was not so good, and MacNaughten bought out some of the shareholders

Halifax parish
The parish was divided into 3 ecclesiastical districts: Halifax Parochial Chapelry, Heptonstall Parochial Chapelry, and Elland Parochial Chapelry.

The parish comprised the townships listed in the Foldout.

With a total length of 17 miles and an area of 76,000 acres, it was once the largest parish in England.

The boundaries of the Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale coincide almost exactly with those of the original parish of Halifax.

Foldout presents some Census statistics for the parish

See Population, Halifax Act [1555], Nomina Villarum and Townships of Halifax Parish

The Halifax Parish Almanack
First published in 1870

Halifax Parish Church

Halifax Parish Church Hall
See Halifax Parish Church Day School

Halifax Parish Savings Bank
Recorded in 1822.

It seems to disappear around 1870. It is possible that the assets were absorbed by the Yorkshire Penny Bank

Halifax Park & Improvement Act
Royal assent was given on 12th July 1858 confirming the gift of Francis Crossley of People's Park for the benefit of inhabitants of the borough, and authorising the Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses to maintain and regulate the Park

Halifax Parochial Chapelry
This comprised the township of Halifax and the out townships of Sowerby, Northowram, Warley, Ovenden, Southowram, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse, Midgley, Skircoat, and Shelf.

In 1845, it is recorded that

each of the townships had pews in the north gallery of Halifax Parish Church and paid a share of the church rate. In return, they were entitled to a share of the offertory money and of the proceeds of Old Tristram's poor box

See Chapelry, Elland Parochial Chapelry and Heptonstall Parochial Chapelry

Halifax Parochial District
See Poor Law Union

Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society
On 23rd December 1852, at a meeting in The Old Cock Inn, Joseph Dawson put forward a resolution that
a building society be called the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society be established

William McVine seconded the resolution.

The idea was inspired by philanthropists such as Edward Akroyd to offer loans for house purchase, and formed in the Oak Room at a meeting of the Loyal Georgean Society held in The Old Cock Inn in February 1853.

The first officers of the Society included

On 1st February 1853, the first premises of the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building Society was established over Mr Swindell's shop at 19 Old Market, Halifax. The Society paid £10 annual rent.

From March 1853, the Society was open for 2 nights a week at an office in the Union Cross Yard.

In the first year, they moved to Waterhouse Street.

In 1873, the Society built their head offices at the junction of Crossley Street and Princess Street.

In 1921, they moved to Commercial Street.

On 22nd September 1927, it was announced that the Society would merge with Halifax Permanent Building Society of 1900 and Halifax Equitable Building Society to become the Halifax Building Society. The actual merger was completed on 31st January 1928.

See Akroydon, Rev Bryan Dale, Joseph Dawson and Esau Hanson

Halifax Permanent Benefit Building Society offices
7 & 9 Crossley Street.

The offices – aka Town Hall Buildings – at the junction of Crossley Street and Princess Street were built in 1871-1873 as the Head Office of the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society. The design was by Samuel Jackson of Bradford.

The White Swan Hotel and the Marlborough Hall are neighbouring buildings.

In 1921, the Society moved to Commercial Street, Halifax

Halifax Permanent Building Society
See the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society of 1853 and the Halifax & District Permanent Banking Company Limited of 1909

Halifax Philharmonic Society
Established in the mid-19th century. They met and rehearsed at the King's Head, Cow Green.

The Society closed in the 1880s, and amalgamated with the Northgate End Orchestral Society in 1894.

See John Tiplady Carrodus, Halifax Orchestral Society and Sir Charles Hallé

Halifax Photographic Company
Founded by Arthur Frederick Sergeant in Halifax in 19??.

The firm became Lilywhite Limited around 1909

Halifax Photographic Society
Founded in 1885.

Hugh Percy Kendall was President for a time.

See Halifax Camera Club

Halifax Physician
For some time, there was only one physician in Halifax.

Those who held the post included

Halifax Pitt Club
Recorded in 1840

Halifax Playhouse

Halifax PLC
The name of the Halifax Building Society when it became a bank on 2nd June 1997. The head office stands at Trinity Road, Halifax. The data centre stands on Wakefield Road at Copley.

In 2001, it merged with the Bank of Scotland to become HBoS.

Halifax Police Station
The police station has had various locations, including

See Constables for Halifax, Halifax Gaol, Halifax Special Constabulary Band, King Cross Police Sub-Station and Poems in Peace & War

Halifax Police Station: Harrison Road
The new Central Police Station in Harrison Road opened on 29th October 1900.

The Halifax Borough Police Court was next door.

The building was designed by George Buckley & Sons, and also housed the Magistrates Court.

Until 1974, both police stations – Harrison Road and Prescott Street – had their respective courts and cells.

The Harrison Road building now houses court rooms and chambers for Calderdale, and is listed.

See Major Alfred Herbert Richardson

Halifax Police Station: Horton Street
In 1845, a Police Office is recorded at Horton Street where James Rawson was in charge.

The police were then housed at the corner of Westgate and Union Street.

In 1848, Halifax had a police force of 25

Halifax Police Station: Richmond Close
In 1985, the police moved to the new headquarters in Richmond Close.

See Halifax Police Station War Memorial

Halifax Police Station: Town Hall
From 1863, Halifax Police Station was in the basement of the new Halifax Town Hall along with the cells.

At that time, there were 37 members of the police force, under Superintendent Pearson.

In 1901, the force had grown to 100.

On 5th October 1867, it was decided to arm Halifax Borough Police with Colt revolvers and with cutlasses on account of there being known Fenians in the town

Halifax Police Station: Upper Kirkgate
In 1845, a Police Office is recorded at 7 Upper Kirkgate / Dispensary Walk where Thomas Spiers was in charge.

The police were then housed at the corner of Westgate and Union Street.

In 1848, Halifax had a police force of 25

Halifax Police Station: Westgate
In 1851, the property at 21 Westgate, Halifax is listed as a lockup with prisoners

  • Margaret Cadman [aged 41]
  • Henry Hollis, a stuff dyer [aged 45]
  • John A. Day, a farm labourer [aged 40]

Halifax Poor Law Hospital , Salterhebble

Halifax Poor Law Institution
The Halifax Union Workhouse and hospital buildings opened in March 1840. It stood between Gibbet Street and Hanson Lane, Halifax.

From 1891, it was known as St John's Hospital and the Halifax Poor Law Institution.

It was also known as Gibbet Street Institution.

In 1901, a new St Luke's Hospital – aka Halifax Union Poor Law Hospital – was built at Salterhebble to accommodate bed-ridden patients from the overcrowded workhouse

Halifax Poor Law Union
See William Corke, Halifax Board of Guardians, Halifax Union Workhouse and Poor Law

Halifax Post Office

See William Bagnold Akers, Charlotte Bagnold, Tabitha Dewhirst and Halifax Post Office Memorials

Halifax Postmasters
Early postmasters and postmistresses for Halifax included

When the post was established by Government, those who held the post included

Halifax Preserving Company
Jam manufacturers at Blackledge. Partners included J. E. S. Topham [1905]

Halifax Prosecution Society
Aka the Halifax Society for the Prosecution of Felons. Prosecution society recorded in 1796.

See John Pollard & Company

Halifax Public Hall
Recorded in 1897

Halifax Public Reading Room
In 1767, there was a reading room at the Old Cock Yard with a subscription library.

In 1818, it moved to Southgate, adjacent to the Theatre Royal.

It later moved to the newly erected Assembly Rooms on Harrison Road where a public reading room opened at the New Rooms on 20th March, 1882. Halifax Lending Library opened the following year

Halifax Publications
The term was used in 1862 in advertisements in The Times for Milner & Sowerby

Halifax Publicity Week Exhibition
Recorded on 21st October 1931, when 43,958 visitors attended

Halifax Quarterly Choral Society
Founded in 1817 by William Priestley of Lightcliffe.

Meetings and rehearsals were held at the Ovenden Cross Inn, the Broad Tree Inn, the Union Cross Inn, and the Talbot Assembly Rooms.

Joseph Henry Frobisher, was the Leader of the Society. Other members included Henry Emmet, George Moss, Rev Charles Musgrave, John Tankard and John Turney.

In 1839, the name was changed to the Halifax Choral Society

Halifax R. E. S. Gymnasium Cycling Club
The club for the Recreative Evening Schools is recorded in 1907.

See R. E. S. Gymnasium

Halifax Race Course
Highroad Well, Halifax.

See Matthew Naylor

Halifax Rack & Screw Cutting Company Limited
Established in 1953, when Binns & Berry split off their rack and screw cutting operations and bought the Coronation Works, Ovenden.

In 1966, moved to a new purpose-built Coronation Works on Armytage Road, Brighouse.

In 1968, B. Elliott Machine Tool Company bought the business.

Recorded in 2012, when the firm employed 40 workers and received £200,000 from the Regional Growth Fund

Halifax Radical Association
Recorded on 24th March 1840 when a fire broke out in their rooms in Jail Lane, Halifax

See Radicals

Halifax Railway Station
In July 1844, Halifax station for a single branch line was opened at Shaw Syke.

See Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax, Elevation of Halifax, Thomas William Helliwell, Horses at Work Museum and Lamb, Halifax

Halifax Rangers' Rugby Union Football Club
Recorded in 1907

Halifax RAOB (GLF) Hall & Institute
The Halifax branch of the Royal Antediluvian Order of Buffaloes was at 3 Clare Road, Halifax [1920-1971]

Halifax Red Triangle Cricket League
The Red Triangle was a part of the YMCA movement.

See Halifax YMCA

The Halifax Reformer
Weekly newspaper published in August 1847 by Henry Martin. It ceased publication in 1849 and made a short re-appearance in September 1850

Halifax Register Office
In 1878, the office was moved to premises in Carlton Street.

In April 2009, the office was moved to Spring Hall, Halifax. Weddings ceremonies were then conducted at the refurbished Somerset House until 2010

Halifax Repertory Theatre Club
Formed in by a group of enthusiasts with the aim of trying to save the Grand Theatre, Halifax from closure.

G. S. Rose was Treasurer, L. Kendall was Chairman, and Eric Portman was President [1955]. Other members included Annette Anderson, Ivor Burgoyne, Heather Canning, Maurice and Pauline Davis, Conrad Greaves, Vernon Joiner, Mark Kennedy, John H. de Lannoy, Mary Legge, Michael Reeves, Harry Speed, and George Woolley. In January 1956, they had 350 members.

In 1954, they leased the Grand from the Northern Theatres Company.

In May 1954, Portman and Burgoyne devised and staged a musical extravaganza at the theatre before an audience of over 1,000. Around 350 people had to be turned away

At an emergency meeting at the Grand in January 1956, they decided to accept that the theatre was doomed

Halifax Republican Club
Established at a meeting at the Northgate Temperance Hotel in September 1871. 60 members were enrolled at the first meeting. The Halifax Guardian wrote
The Republican movement, it would appear, has reached Halifax, and a club has been formed after the notorious one in London; meanwhile, we can commend the fact to the serious consideration of all Liberals, whilst, to our Conservative friends, we feel assured it will only serve as an additional stimulus to preserve our present constitution and liberty. We want neither Republicans nor Communists in Halifax

On Saturday, 27th January 1872, 130 members and friends held their inaugural and first annual tea party at the Temperance Hall, Northgate. Joseph Firth was in the chair.

See St Crispin Republican Club, Halifax

Halifax Richmond Building Societies
Recorded in 1905, when their registered offices were at 28 George Street, Halifax

Halifax Room & Power Office
Recorded in 1905, when their registered office was at 7 Southgate Chambers, Halifax.

See Room & power

Halifax Rope Company
Recorded around 1910

Halifax Rotary Club
Formed on 4th January 1922.

See Arthur Henry Gledhill, Maurice Jagger and Clifford Ramsden

Halifax Round Table
See John Burdock and Maurice Jagger

Halifax Royal Friendly Society
Friendly society.

It was at

  • 13 Shakespeare Street, Ward's End when W. Smith was secretary [1894]
  • 58 Palace Theatre Chambers, Halifax [1905]
  • Palace Buildings, Ward's End when James Holden was secretary [1917]

Halifax Rugby Club
Founded in 1873.

The club played Rugby Union until 1895, when 22 clubs – formed the Northern Union, which became the Rugby League in 1922.

In 1996, the team became Halifax Blue Sox R. L. F. C.

See Halifax Rugby Union Club

Halifax Rugby Union Football Club
Founded in 1919.

In 1925, they moved to Ovenden Park.

In 1939, the club beat Salford 20-3 to win the Challenge Cup Final at Wembley to a crowd of 55,453 spectators.

See James William Bulmer, Craig Emmerson, Halifax Rugby League Football Club and James Archer Rigg

Halifax Rural District Council
See Sir George John Armytage

Halifax Sailing Club
At Warley Moor Reservoir. Established in 1959.

At an altitude of 410 meters, this is the highest sailing club in Britain

Halifax Sanatorium

Halifax Sand & Gravel Company Limited
Recorded in 1837, when they were at Raw Lane, Illingworth, and they had an office at 18 King Cross Street, Halifax

Halifax Savings Bank
Old Cock Yard.

Officers at the Bank have included Leonard Duncan – Manager [1834], William Tongue – Actuary [1834], and William Tongue – Actuary [1861]

Halifax School Board
School Board set up in February 1871.

Recorded in 1874 at 30 Waterhouse Street, Halifax when Robert Ostler was Clerk.

On 20th July 1874, Queens Road Board School and Boothtown Board School, the first erected by the new School Board, were formally opened by Mr Swallow, the chairman.

Copley Council School was the last school built by the Board [1904].

The final meeting of the Board was on 16th November 1903.

See Lucy Delf, Halifax British School, Joseph Nutter's Scholarships, Robert Ostler, Wilkinson Pickles and Rawson Shaw Scholarships

Halifax Scientific Society
Originally the Halifax Geologists Field Club & Scientific Association.

Recorded in 1917 at 10 Harrison Road, Halifax when James H. Lumb was secretary.

The Society published The Halifax Naturalist.

In the 1980s, the various sections of the society amalgamated into the Natural History Section.

See Alfred Hoyle

Halifax: Seal
There are several versions of the Halifax Seal and the Halifax Coat of Arms.

  • The seal inscribed

    depicts a hanged woman, a yew tree and a monk, and is said to be based on the legend of Ælred and the Virgin. It can be seen on the Calderdale Magistrates' Court building in Blackwall. This was used until Halifax was incorporated in 1848

  • The seal shows

    • The bearded head of St John the Baptist
    • 3 drops of blood
    • The Anglo-Saxon word halez
    • The 3 letters fax
    • The name Warren on the left – the feudal lord of Halifax
    • The name Lewes on the right – the Priory to which the church and lands belonged
    • the inscription
      Sigillum Communitatis Burgensium de Halifax

      Seal of the County Borough of Halifax

Halifax Shakespeare Society
Recorded 1908-1928

Halifax Shirt Company
19th century business

Halifax sign
Barbara Wadsworth designed the road sign which greeted motorists as they entered the district

Halifax Singing Band & Concertina Party
Recorded in December 1904, when they held a mission at Sowerby Bridge Primitive Methodist Chapel

Halifax Skating Rink, Arden Road
Aka Halifax Skating Rink. Roller-skating rink opened in August 1876 by the Halifax Skating Rink Company. The whole building covered 2874 square yards with the asphalt rink covering 2318 of these.

In August 1883, a 6-day walking marathon was held here, the 2 winners walking 191 and 192 miles in their 35-hour walk around the track. The competitors walked from 4:00 to 10:00 daily. In the first session, the winner walked 37¼ miles. In 1887, B. Collins was manager.

The rink closed in 19??

Halifax Skating Rink, Clare Hall
Opened in 1???. Closed in 19??.

An advertisement in 1911 announced

Auction Sale on 25th February 1911 of Fittings and Appointments of a Roller Skating Rink at Clare Hall, Halifax owing to the building being leased for other purposes

Halifax Skating Rink Company
Established in 1875. They established the Halifax Skating Rink

The Halifax Slasher
A series of attacks – variously with knife, razor, hammer – which were reported in and around Halifax for a period of 10 days in November 1938

Halifax Smallpox Hospital
Highroad Well Moor. Recorded in 1907 and 1936

Halifax Smoke Club
Aka the Halifax Old Smoke Club.

Gentlemen's club established at The Cross Pipes in the late 18th century.

They also met in the Oak Room at the Old Cock Inn, Halifax

Halifax Society for the Blind
See Halifax District Blind Society

Halifax Society of Naturalists
Instituted on 27th September 1781. They collected and loaned books, and were an early circulating library.

See Thomas Woodhead

Halifax Soroptimist Club

See Edith Annie Oakley

Halifax South Ward Club
Working Men's Club recorded in 1917 at Adelaide Street when James Hutchinson was secretary

Halifax South Ward Liberal Club
14 Hopwood Lane, Halifax.

Secretaries of the Club included J. Alderson [1905] and A. Putman [1917]

Halifax Special Constabulary Band
A brass band formed from the members of the Special Constabulary in Halifax. Recorded in 1939

Halifax Speedway

Halifax Spiritualist Society
Recorded in 1871, when Abbey Durio Wilson was elected Secretary

Halifax Stamp Office
Recorded in 1845 at 1 Old Market, Halifax when the sub-distributor was Joseph Hartley, and in 1874 at George Street, Halifax when the distributor was S. Mallinson

Halifax Standing Conference of Women's Organisations
See Edith Annie Oakley

Halifax Station

Halifax Statistical Society
Established in June 1838. G. Pollard was President [1838]

Halifax Steam Brewing Company, Hipperholme
Microbrewery at Southedge Works. Established in 2001. They use Whitaker's Cock o' the North logo

Halifax Steam Brewing Company, Rastrick
Independent brewery at Healey Wood Road

Halifax Steam Laundry
Highroad Well. Established in 1877. In 1884, the business was wound up and was taken over by Wilkinson Pickles who had previously worked as a clerk.

In 1895, he employed around 75 workers – mostly women and girls – and they had around 1000 regular clients. 4 horses and 4 vans were required for collection and delivery, washing being done for around 1,000 families.

In 1905, it was listed as a branch of Yorkshire Laundries Limited. The photograph shows that B. Barker was Manager around 1905.

In 1937, it was at Parkinson Lane, Halifax and the proprietors were L. S & J. Halliday.

In 1944, it was at West End, Halifax and the proprietors were L. S & J. R. Halliday.

The building is now known as Maple Works.

See Maple Laundries Limited

Halifax Stocks
The town stocks have stood

Halifax stone
Millers in Clifton gave 14 lbs of flour to a stone, whereas Halifax millers gave 12 lbs to a stone. For this reason, Clifton was popular as a source of cheap flour

Halifax Stone Working Company
In August 1884, Charles Horsfall Denham, a director of the company, was sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment for uttering false balance sheets declaring large dividends

Halifax Subscription Assemblies
Recorded in 1833

Halifax Subscription Concerts
Began in 1827 in the New Assembly Rooms to provide musical concerts for the public. Christopher Rawson was a patron of the concerts

Halifax Subscription Library
Founded in 1767. There was an annual subscription of 5/- plus an entrance fee – or share – of 1 guinea (rising to 5 guineas by the end of the century, and 7 guineas in 1818).

See Halifax New Subscription Library and William Winn

Halifax Summer Fair
Also known as Great Saturday – held on the 3rd Saturday in June. It was described as
from time immemorial devoted to pleasure, drinking and vice

Halifax Sunday Football League
Founded on 14th October 1968 at a meeting at the Corporation Arms, Halifax

Halifax Sunday Lecture Society
Established in 1895 to present lectures on topics in
Physical, Intellectual and Moral Sciences, History, Travel, Literature, Music and Art

The lectures were given on Sunday evenings after church services had ended.

Officers of the Society have included

The Society was at 8 Ward's End, Halifax [1917]

The Society was disbanded in 1950

Halifax Sunday School Union
Founded in 1820 by the Sunday Schools of Square Chapel and Sion Chapel. Other Anglican and Nonconformist schools joined later.

In 1868, there were 85 schools, 3,232 teachers and 20,042 scholars in the Union.

See William Corke, Sunday School Jubilee Sing, Town Hall Chambers, Halifax and Rev John White

Halifax Swimming Club
Established in 1864. The first competition was held at Park Road Baths, Halifax on 29th March 1864

See Ralph Sanderson Barker

Halifax swimming pool
See Clare Hall Baths

Halifax Symphony Orchestra
Founded in 1???. The oldest symphony orchestra in England

Halifax Taylor-Mills
A society recorded in 1917 at 10 Cow Green, Halifax when Whalley & Company were secretaries

Question: Does anyone know the correct name of the society and/or what the members did?


Halifax Teachers' Centre
Bermerside House, Skircoat Green Road.

The Halifax Teachers' War Memorial is here

Halifax Temperance Brass & Reed Band
Recorded around 1900

Halifax Temperance Society
In 1857, The Halifax Total Abstinence Society is referred to as The Halifax Temperance Society.

At that time, Joseph Thorp was President, S. Homer was Secretary, and David Binns was Treasurer.

Other members have included Thomas Tiffany – who may have been President.

On 19th August 1860, the Society opened their new Temperance Hall at Northgate, Halifax.

See Halifax Ladies' Temperance Society

Halifax Textile Society
Founded 1912/1913. At its peak, there were 150 members, including slubbers, worsted manufacturers and spinners, and carpet weavers Closed in March 2008.

See Walter Brenard

Halifax Theatre
The Halifax Theatre stood on the site of the present Theatre Royal was built by voluntary subscription in 1789.

The theatre was subsequently known as the Theatre Royal.

It closed in March 1904 and was replaced by the new Theatre Royal

Halifax Thespians
Local amateur dramatic society which presents a regular series of plays at the Halifax Playhouse

Halifax, Thornton & Keighley Railway
Recorded in 1873

The Halifax Times
Newspaper first published 16th August 1872, and ceased publication on 15th December 1894. The proprietors were the Cooper Brothers [1874] and John Cooper [1894]

Halifax Tithe Commutation Bill [1829]
On April 18th 1829, the Bill received royal assent.
An act for extinguishing tithes, and payments in lieu of tithes, mortuaries and Easter offerings, and other vicarial dues and payments within the parish of Halifax, in the diocese of the county of York for making compensation to the vicar in lieu thereof, and enabling him to grant certain leases of lands belonging to the vicarage

By this act, the annual stipend of £1409 15s 6d was to be paid to the Vicar of Halifax, by the various townships in the parish, in certain proportions, and was to be levied by an assessment on all inhabited houses, corn mills, and arable, meadow, and pasture lands, orchards, and gardens in each township.

See Halifax Anti-Vicar Rate Association and Vicar Rate

Halifax Today
The website of the Evening Courier

Halifax Tool Company Limited

Manufacturer of stone working and drilling equipment.

The local sandstone had a high silica content, and this quickly blunted the traditional tools. Marshall & Sons began producing the more durable tungsten-tipped tools at their factory in Briar Lane, initially for their quarries' own use, and then for wider sale. The Company went on to become a major manufacturer and distributor of deep rock drilling machines that relied heavily on tungsten carbide tipped tools that completely revolutionised blast hole drilling in the quarry and open pit mining industries, at home and around the world.

The Halifax Tool Company was founded in 1948 by the grandson of Solomon Marshall. The trade name was Halco. It was registered as a private company in April 1950.

The name was changed to Marshall's (Halifax) Limited in 1964.

In 1996, the business was sold to Halco Drilling International Limited

Halifax Total Abstinence Society
A Society was founded in 1832 / 1835.

In 1836, the first of their annual teetotal festivals was held. These were held in the Piece Hall.

Rev John White was the founder and first President. Robert McCurdy was the Secretary

In 1857, it is referred to as The Halifax Temperance Society

Halifax Tourist Information Centre
Piece Hall, Halifax. It used to be in a good position in the main courtyard, but in 2006, it was moved on to one of the Galleries – if you can find it.

The former premises are now a – much more profitable – Café

Halifax Town Association Football Club
The Club was formed at a meeting at the Saddle Hotel, Halifax on 23rd May 1911.

A small group of people – including Joseph Bentley McClelland - were willing to guarantee the sum of £1 to ensure the formation of the club.

The first team comprised: J. Chadbourne (Captain), B. Finch, E. Firth, C. Garforth, G. Holdsworth, A. McGill, W. Midgley, C. Morgan, J. Nixon, W. Redding, and G. H. Wild.

In the first match at the Shay on 3rd September 1921, they beat Darlington: 5-1.

On 9th September 1911, they lost to Bradford City Reserves: 2-6.

On 8th June 1912, the club was admitted to the Midland League.

The home ground was first at Sandhall Lane, then Exley (from 1919) which was formerly the grounds for Salterhebble RU club, then finally at the Shay in 1921, when the first match – Halifax beat Darlington 5-1 – attracted a crowd of over 10,000.

The team gained football league status in 1921.

The team were relegated from the Third Division after 72 years in the league, and joined the Vauxhall League in 1993.

The club went into liquidation in Summer 2008.

See Hotspur

Halifax Town Centre Forum
An organisation which works to promote Halifax and its heritage

Halifax town crier
See Bell ringers, Benjamin Cordingley, Simeon Horsfall, John Street, Halifax, David Moorhouse, John Moorhouse, Nathaniel Scholfield and John Simpson

Halifax Town Hall
Opened on Tuesday, 4th August 1863 and was designed and built by Sir Charles Barry and completed by his son, Edward Middleton Barry.

See John Baldwin, Mr Cockroft, Elevation of Halifax, The Prince of Wales visits Halifax, Halifax Town Hall Memorial and Princess Street

Halifax Townships

Halifax Trade Protection Society
Recorded in 1934

See Percy Riley Gray

Halifax Trades Exhibition & World's Fair

Halifax Tradesmen's Association
Established in 1862. The founders included Joseph Binns.

They had offices in Broad Street.

See Frederick Austin Leach

Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Institution
In March 1870, The Leeds Mercury reported

The 15th election of pensioners for the Institution when

were elected


The Institution was recorded in 1917 at 10 Harrison Road, Halifax when Oates Webster was secretary.

See Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Society

Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Society
A friendly society established on 6th November 1863.

At that first meeting, an aggregate amount of £3450 was promised in donations, and Joshua Appleyard said that, when £4000 was raised, he would make it £6000

On 26th January 1864, a public meeting of the subscribers of the Society took place in the Town Hall, and the Rules for the regulation of the Society were adopted. It was announced that upwards of £4000 had been subscribed as a fund, and that annual sums to the amount of £337 had been promised. The Chairman, Joshua Appleyard, in fulfilment of his promise, gave his cheque for £1000.

In 1874, it was recorded at Crown Street, Halifax.

See J. P. Birtwhistle, John Edward Champney, Daniel Jones Crossley, Dr J. W. Garlick, Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Institution, John Holdsworth, William Huntriss, William Nowell, T. T. Ormerod, John Selwyn Rawson and Samuel Lord Watkinson

Halifax Tradesmen's Supply Association Limited
Recorded in 1936 at 3 Broad Street, Halifax when C. Halliday was in charge

Halifax Tram Strike
Started on 22nd August 1906, following the dismissal of Theodore Chadwick, the driver in the North Bridge tram accident.

On 31st August 1906, 20 drivers were brought from Bristol to help.

On 5th September 1906, a 13,000 signature petition was presented to the Town Council objecting to the Tramways Committee's action.

By the 15th September 1906, 40 drivers had returned to work and the strike ended

Halifax Tramways Depot
Built at Mile Cross / Spring Hall Lane / Highroad Well for the electric tramway which opened on 9th June 1898.

It could only accommodate 18 vehicles.

In 1905, the depot was moved to Skircoat Road

Halifax Tramways Male Voice Choir
Recorded in 1924

Halifax Triennial Music Festival
The 2-day festivals were held between 1796 and 1830.

About 1805, the festival was held in Assembly Rooms at the Union Cross, Halifax.

The festivals may have attracted George Hogarth to the town

Halifax Typographical Society
Established in 1836

Halifax Union
See Halifax Poor Law Union

Halifax Union Bank

Halifax Union Club
19th century club. Their meetings were held at the Talbot Inn. Became the Loyal Georgean Society.

See Sir George Savile

Halifax Union Saint Luke's Hospital

Halifax Union Workhouse, Gibbet Street
Following the Poor Law Amendment Act [1834], many workhouses were built across the country.

The Union Workhouse for Halifax and district opened on 25th March 1840.

See Bankfield House, Channel Islands, Halifax Board of Guardians, Halifax Poor Law Union, Officers of Halifax Union Workhouse, Lightowler Road, Halifax, Rev Thomas Markey, Rev Francis Musson, Sarah Rushton, St Paul's Church, King Cross and John Woodhead

Halifax United Trades Club
Recorded in 1905 and 1917 at 22 Mount Street.

In 1917, J. Tyler was secretary

Halifax University Extension Society
Recorded in 1873 and 1915.

In September 1915, the Society gave a course of 6 lectures on The Development of Modern Russia by E. L. S. Horsbrugh BA, at the Lecture Room of the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society

Halifax Vandals
Football club.

Recorded in 1915

Halifax Vegetarian Society
Founded around 1894

Halifax, Vicars of

Halifax Victoria Band

Halifax, Viscount

Halifax Visitor Centre & Art Gallery
A part of the Calderdale Museums facility, located in the Piece Hall

Halifax Vocal Union
19th century musical society

Halifax War Refugees Committee
Recorded during World War I, when Sir Frederick Whitley Thomson was Chairman [1913-1919]. He was awarded the Medaille du Roi by King Albert I of Belgium for services to Belgian refugees

Halifax Watching & Improvement Act
Passed on 17th June 1823

Halifax Waterworks Act [1762]
Dr Cyril Jackson was a Trustee

The Halifax Weekly Courier
Recorded in 1920

The Halifax Weekly Guardian
A weekly edition of the Halifax Guardian.

On 20th October 1917, the price increased from 1d to 1½d

Halifax Welfare Home
Recorded in 1946, when William Ingham died here

Halifax Welfare Home Concert Hall

Halifax West End Glee Union
Established at the West Hill Hotel, Halifax.

Recorded in June 1894, when they gained first prize in the Male Voices section of a choral contest at Hawes.

John Harry Shepley was appointed conductor [1895].

In 1898, the Mixed Choir won 3rd prize in the Bradford Festival.

In 1905, they were at the Griffin Hotel, Halifax when the Secretary was Mr Dobson

Halifax White Swan Company Limited
Established in 1873 for the purpose of acquiring the White Swan Hotel, Halifax – then occupied by Mr H. C. Cain – and carrying on the business of hotel proprietors, cab proprietors, and other useful adjuncts of hotel keeping.

The property was bought for £8,000, and stock and other effects were bought at a valuation. 4000 shares were offered to raise £20,000 capital.

Provisional directors [1873] were

Halifax window
A window with two unequal rows of lights. For example, a row of 3 lights above a row of 4 lights, or 2 lights above 3 lights

Halifax Window Cleaning Association
Recorded in 1905 at 9 Lord Street, Halifax when the proprietor was W. H. W. Harrison

Halifax Wine & Beer Association
See Mark Morrell

Halifax Winter Cattle Fair
Held around Barum Top, Bull Green, Cow Green, and Harrison Road. Around 1856, it was moved to Gibbet Street.

See Great Saturday, Halifax Fun Fair and November Fair

Halifax Wiredrawers' Association

See Fred Leach, Small Wiredrawers' Society and Wire drawing Wire drawing

Halifax Wireless Club & Radio Society
In 1920, they held their meetings at the Halifax YMCA. An old cupboard was converted into a receiving room, and a 100 ft copper aerial was fixed to the roof.

In 1922, The Halifax Courier & Guardian reported a test conducted by members James Reginald Clay [call sign 2YF] and Percy Denison [call sign 2KD].

In March 1928, they held a meeting at the Mikado Café, where J. R. Clay gave a demonstration using a Rice-Kellogg loud-speaking system

Halifax Wireless Installations Committee
Recorded on 25th August 1927, when they held their final meeting

Halifax Women's Liberal Association

See Halifax Liberal Association and Mrs Arthur Pickles

Halifax Women's Luncheon Club
Formed on 14th October 1925

Halifax Women's Vigilance Association
Recorded on 3rd February 1914, when the first annual meeting reported a cash balance of £33 5/9d

Halifax Women's Welfare Clinic
32 Clare Road, Halifax. In 19??, Hattie Fisher led a committee which put forward a proposal to start a family-planning clinic in Halifax. It was rejected, but in 1934, the group opened the Halifax Women's Welfare Clinic at the TOC H rooms in Halifax. The clinic was supported by public subscription

Halifax Woollen Market
On 26th November 1864, a large meeting of people connected with the woollen trade in the Halifax district was held at Halifax Town Hall to consider the proposal to establish a woollen market in Halifax. The movement originated with local manufacturers who travelled to Rochdale market to sell their goods, which are mostly kerseys, linseys, scourers, blankets, and low woollens generally. The meeting, chaired by John Crossley, unanimously carried resolutions in favour of the movement.

On Saturday, 7th January 1865, the first market was held in the Piece Hall. The market was highly encouraging to the promoters of the change. The principal merchants afterwards celebrated the occasion by dining together under the presidency of John Crossley

Halifax Workers' Educational Association
A local branch of the Workers' Educational Association was founded in 1909. The first WEA classes were given at the Municipal Technical College

Halifax Workhouse
A workhouse was founded by Nathaniel Waterhouse in 1635 after Charles I granted a charter to set up a managing committee and a workhouse for the poor, within the town and parish of Halifax. Waterhouse was appointed the first master, and subsequent masters were elected annually by the 12 governors from among themselves. It occupied Waterhouse's house near Halifax Parish Church.

In 1777, the Workhouse accommodated 100 inmates.

It was established to provide a place in which the poor – and vagabonds, ruffians and sturdy beggars – might be set to work, at a time when the parish of Halifax was much impoverished and like to be ruined by the great numbers of poor people daily increasing.

The institution was run by 13 men whose tasks included seeking anyone who was wandering idly around the town, or in the pubs when they should have been at work, and sent them to the Workhouse.

Inmates were required to work from 5:00 am to 8:00 pm in summer, and from 6:00 am to 9:00 pm in winter. There was a whipping-stock for any miscreants.

The inmates were hired out as workers.

In 1830, it was at 8 Upper Kirkgate, with Elizabeth Casson as matron.

In 1840, it was superseded by the Halifax Union Workhouse.

The building became the town's first police station.

See George Barstow, George Buckston Browne, Overseers' Office, Mr Illingworth, Arthur Thompson Longbottom, John William Longbottom, John Power, Margaret Ryan and Vagrants' Office

Halifax Working Men's College
See Haley Hill Working Men's College

Halifax Working Men's Co-operative & Provident Society
A co-operative society established in 1850

Halifax Workshops for the Blind
The foundation stone was laid on 4th October 1924. It was opened on 25th October 1925 by Neville Chamberlain

Halifax Worsted Spinning Company
They had business at Scarborough Mills, Halifax

Halifax Wounded Soldiers' Committee
Established during World War I

Rev William Foxley Norris was involved in organising the Committee

Halifax Yeomanry Band
Founded in 18??. Abel Dean was the first conductor of the band

Halifax YMCA
From 1919, Clare Hall was the headquarters of the YMCA in Halifax.

In the 1920s, the Halifax Wireless Club & Radio Society held their meetings here.

On 20th October 1931, the Hon Mrs Victor Bruce attended an Open Week at the YMCA.

In February 1936, they moved to new premises in Market Street, Halifax. On 1st April 1936, the premises were formally opened by the Mayor, Walter Brenard.

In 1950, Marlborough Hall, Halifax became the headquarters.

See Boys' Red Triangle Hut, Halifax, Halifax Red Triangle Cricket League and Halifax YMCA Pantomime Society

Halifax YMCA Pantomime Society

Halifax Young Women's Institute
Recorded in April 1865 together with Halifax Working Men's College, when Edward Akroydfounder and principal – chaired the annual prize-giving of the 2 institutions

Halifax Zoo & Amusement Park

© Malcolm Bull 2017 / [email protected]
Revised 18:30 on 28th November 2017 / mmh55 / 276