Buena Vista County History & Heritage Project

Buena Vista County History
Newell "Old Settlers"

The list below was compiled by George W. Chaney, himself an old settler of Newell, in commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of Buena Vista Co., in 1915. Those in this listing had lived in the Newell community for 30 years or more.

Allee, George M. Greenwood, Mrs. Eliza Layman, H. T. Rogers, George
Allee, J. J. Griffel, Fred Layman, J. C. Rogers, H. C.
Allison, C. A. Haines, M. C. Lemp, Idda Bowers Rogers, James
Ashley, Thomas Haines, M. W. Lemp, John Rogers, Mrs. James
Avery, E. E. Hanke, H. Lindsay, J. B. Rosselle, C. R.
Bellows, J. F. Hanke, R. Lindsay, Mrs. J. B. Sauter, R. H.
Bellows, Lottie Hansen, Charles Logan, T. J. Sauter, W. A.
Bellows, O. F. Hansen, Mrs. Marie Madsen, Charles Shultz, Carrie
Bellows, T. C. Harvey, H. A. Mankey, Altabell Shultz, Joseph
Boyce, George W. Heath, A. B. Mankey, J. L. Schulz, George
Boyce, William Henderson, John Mankey, Jean Schulz, Herman
Brooks, Dr. J. M. Herrick, George A. McFarlane, A. J. Scovel, H. J.
Brown, J. C. Holtz, J. E. McFarlane, F. A. Scovel, William J.
Campion, C. Housholder, T. F. McFarlane, Mrs. John Shoak, Mrs.
Chaney, George W. Hunter, J. C. Mikkelsen, Anton Smith, R. H.
Cheney, J. F. Hurley, W. T. Mikkelsen, Peter Sorensen, John C.
Cheney, J. S. Huxtable, William Miller, D. C. Springer, Mrs. Laura
Christensen, James E. Jackson, E. J. Nielsen, Hans Stanley, M. S.
Christensen, Mrs. Kate Larsen Jackson, G. J. Nielsen, Mrs. Hans Steger, Matt
Christensen, Mrs. Mary Larsen Jackson, Herbert Newton, John T. Steger, Mrs. M.
Christiansen, H. P. James, A. D. Norton, Mrs. J. T. Sturchler, Mrs. J.
Christiansen, J. P. Jensen, J. P. Olsen, J. P. Sullivan, Thomas
Christiansen, Niels Jensen, Mrs. James Olsen, L. P. Sullivan, William
Clark, Ed Johnson, J. P. Parsons, M. Thompson, J. C.
Conklin, L. Judge, Mrs. P. H. Patzke, M. Thiemann, William
Conley, G. C. Kanaly, Margaret Petersen, Louis Thiemann, Mrs. William
Conley, M. W. Kinney, Mrs. E. S. Piercy, C. Thuesen, M. J.
Conley, Mrs. Olive Kinney, W. E. Piercy, Henry VanCleve, F. B.
Couch, A. E. Kjarsgaard, Louis Point, F. L. Vogel, H. A.
Croucher, J. H. Kjarsgaard, Niels Point, W. C. Ward, John
Croucher, Mrs. J. H. Kladstrup, P. N. Porath, Charles Warden, William
Driver, S. D. Kladstrup, Paul Porath, Mrs. William Wart, Maud
Ellis, H. E. Kladstrup, Peter Post, Albert Waterman, C. D.
Ellis, O. B. Kladstrup, Soren Post, George Waterman, G. L.
Ellison, George L. Langon, M. Pratt, Henry Waterman, W. A.
Erickson, Andrew Larsen, Ole Rasmussen, Hans Waterman, Mrs. W. A.
Evans, J. H. Larsen, Peter H. Rasmussen, M. C. Wetherall, F.
Fitchett, J. T. Larson, Lars W. Rasmussen, Mrs. Hannah Williams, Frank
Fitchett, Mrs. J. T. Larson, Millie Lemp Redfield, F. G. Williams, Henry
Frandsen, Bert Laurenz, Albert Redfield, J. T. Williams, John
Frandsen, William Lawton, W. H. Redfield, Mrs. Jane Witter, August
Fredenberg, G. L. Lawton, Mrs. William Robinson, C. J. Witter, Frank
Fredericksen, Peter Layman, E. P. Robinson, W. H. Witter, William
Galbraith, R. B. Layman, G. B. Rodda, John Woods, J. L.

Return to Buena Vista Co. IHHP

This website created March 21, 2016 by Sheryl McClure.
(c) 2016 Buena Vista County History and Heritage Project