Iowa American History and Genealogy Project-Buena Vista County

Buena Vista County Schools
1935 County Spelling Bee

The County Spelling Bee, held April 3, 1935, produced four participants who qualified to go to Des Moines for the state contests. The winners and first runners up of both the written and oral division represented Buena Vista County at the state level. The first and second place spellers in the written contest were Verna Miller of Brooke and Virginia Larson of Linn Grove. Irene Johnson of Alta and Merle Radke of St. John's in Maple Valley Twp. were the top finishers in the oral division. The following students participated--all were the champion spellers at their respective schools:

Linn Grove: Virginia Larson, Marjorie Rehnstrom and Elsie Fish

Lincoln-Lee: Donald Gibbons and Wallace Braynard

Newell: Ella Iversen, Helen Jensen and Ruth Kladstrup

Alta: Kent Jimmerson, Irene Johnson and Elsa Lindquist

Fairview: Joyce Hansen and Arlene Rydstrom

Brooke: Verna Miller and Mary Lou Anderson

Providence: Ardeth Willadsen and Marian Anderson

Albert City: Norma Sheppard, LaVonne Westholm and Vincent Benna

Rembrandt: Opal Conrad, Bernice Grodahl and Bernard Grodahl

Truesdale: Erma Nasland and Dwaine Wise

Hayes: Dorothy Christensen and Verna Mae Pryor

Sioux Rapids: Phyllis Crane, Jean Anderson and Pauline Faust

Marathon: Everett Anderson, Irene Johnson and Pauline Johnson

Storm Lake Junior High: Everett Nitzke and Ardith Post

Storm Lake South: Patricia Hirleman

Storm Lake West: Robert Lemke

Storm Lake North: Bud Sorenson

Highview: Lila Mae Anderson and Eugene Grodahl

Lincoln #4: Marie Ehmen

Lincoln #7: Russell Nehring

Coon #1: Marvin Miller

Coon #5: Lillian Kjolhede

Coon #4: Walter Wilkins

Coon #8: Mary Maddox

Elk #3: Roger Matzdorff

Elk #4: Theone Stanley

Grant #2: Marvin Spitzer

Grant #4: Rosa Blaire Bateman

Grant #7: Lorna Meinking

Grant #8: Hubert Wiley

Grant #9: Betty Richardson

Maple Valley #7: Opal Bruns

St. John's Lutheran, Maple Valley: Merle Radke

Pickerel Lake: Donald Robbins

Scott Center: Clement Kevane

Pleasant View: Betty Johnson

Prairie Creek: Ellen Mackey

Washington #5: Carl Heschke

Washington #6: Bernard Christenson

Washington #7: Neva Benberg

Washington #8: Alice Swanson

Return to Buena Vista Co. IHHP

This website created March 21, 2016 by Sheryl McClure.
(c) 2016 Buena Vista County History and Heritage Project