Search Engine for the Gazetteer

   Search this site      powered by FreeFind






Click pictures to see larger views.

pottbap1.jpg (18515 bytes)


pottbap2.jpg (22873 bytes)



Cowhouse Missionary Baptist Church of Christ in Pottsville was organized in 7 July, 1879, with twenty charter members--(male charter members) Edmund T. Goggin, T. F. May, J. E. Smith, C. C. Collett, J. P. Robinson, W. T. Wenson, C. P. May, W. W. Potts ; (female charter members) Eliza Potts, E. Fyke, M. C. Potts, M. O. Lovelace, A. J. Wenson, M. E. Bratton, S. C. Phillips, L. E. Robinson, M. R. May, S. C. Smith, Jane Collett, and Jodia May

On 25 July, 1879, the Cow House Missionary Baptist Church was admitted to the Hamilton County Baptist Association. This congregation met in the Pottsville School until 1903 when the Bratton family gave land to be used for a church building which was constructed shortly thereafter. 

The name of this church continuously fluctuated between Cow House Baptist Church and Pottsville Baptist Church until 1945/1947.

Pottsville Baptist Church became part of the Hamilton County Baptist Association on 25 August, 1920, and this church was known at Pottsville Baptist Church in 1920, 1921, and 1935. 

On 2 August, 1945, Cow House Baptist Church was admitted to the Hamilton County Baptist Association. In the mid 1940's plans were made for a new building which was built by church members as funds were available. By 1947 the new brick building was completed and the name of the church was officially changed to Pottsville Baptist Church; however, since 1945 this church has been continuously referred to as Pottsville Baptist Church in the minutes of the Hamilton Baptist Association.

Early pastors of this church included:

Joseph Alexander Land, 1879

Presley O’Keefe, 1881

J. E. McCurdy, 1882

D. I. Haralson, 1883

W. N. Leak, 1884

W. N. Leake, 1885

W. J. Hicks, 1886--1893

Jesse Cunningham, 1894--1895

C. C. McCurdy, 1896


Early church clerks included:

J. E. Smith, 1881--1882

W. T. Walton, 1883--1885

J. C. Simmons, 1886--1889

L. S. Bratton, 1890--1892

A. P. Moore, 1894--1895, 1897--1898--1899

H. P. Moore, 1896


Early messengers to the annual association were:

1879--J. E. Smith, D. F. May, W. H. Potts

1881--W. T. Walton, J. E. Smith

1882--J. E. Smith, W. T. Walton, B. F. Wheeler

1883--L. S. Bratton

1884--D. I. Haralson, W. N. Leak

1885--D. I. Haralson, L. S. Bratton, W. N. Leake

1886--D. I. Haralson, B. F. Wheeler

1887--L. S. Bratton, T. S. Vaughan, I. G. Abney

1888--L. S. Bratton, J. C. Simmons, T. S. Vaughn

1889--B. F. Wheeler, O. C. Collett, T. S. Vaughn

1890--L. S. Bratton, J. B. Smith, J. C. Simmons

1891--A. A. Gooch, T. S. Vaughn, J. C. Simmons

1892---L. S. Bratton

1893--J. Boler, A. A. Gooch, J. A. Redell

1894--J. C. Simmons, Jere Wagner

1895--J. C. Simmons, W. J. Boler

1896--T. F. Nichols, L. S. Bratton

1897--L. S. Bratton, B. F. Wheeler, J. C. Simmons

1898--R. Norris, T. F. Nichols

1899--L. S. Bratton, A. P. Moore, Sister Emma Bratton

1907 HCBA Minutes


Home ] Up ]

People and Places: Gazetteer of Hamilton County, TX
Search this site powered by FreeFind

Copyright © March, 1998
by Elreeta Crain Weathers, B.A., M.Ed.,  
(also Mrs.,  Mom, and Ph. T.)

A Work In Progress