Hosted websites will become read-only beginning in early 2024. At that time, all logins will be disabled, but hosted sites will remain on RootsWeb as static content. Website owners wishing to maintain their sites must migrate to a different hosting provider before 2024 (More info)
Ports for NZ Bound

NZ Bound    Index    Search    Hints   Lists  

The main immigrant ports for New Zealand bound vessels were:

North Island, New Zealand South Island, New Zealand


Napier Lyttelton (Christchurch)
New Plymouth Port Chalmers (Dunedin)
Wellington Westport, Greymouth & Hokitika


"The world begins to feel very small when one finds one can get half round it in three months."  Samuel Butler, January 27 1860, on arrival at Lyttelton, NZ from London on  "The Roman Emperor" which sailed September 1859.  He'd originally been booked on the "Burmah", which disappeared without trace. You have landed, you can now get around NZ in seconds.

New Zealand from above

New Zealand Ports Alternative Names or Renamed

	 Onehunga: On the west side of Auckland
Waitemata Harbour: On the east side of Auckland
  Manukau Harbour: On the west side of Auckland
    	  Ahuriri: Napier
	  Moturoa: New Plymouth
       Port Eliot: New Plymouth
    Port Taranaki: New Plymouth
  Lambton Harbour: Wellington
   Port Nicholson: Wellington
	 Port Nic: Whaling slang for Port Nicholson
     Nelson Haven: Nelson
      Port Nelson: Nelson
 Port Marlborough: Picton  
      Port Cooper: Lyttelton Harbour
    Port Victoria: Finally renamed Lyttelton Harbour
	Lyttelton: Port for Christchurch 
     Caroline Bay: Timaru 
    Port Chalmers: Dunedin
	The Bluff: Bluff
     Campbelltown: Bluff
   Port Macquarie: Bluff

New Zealand Bound

"Cook Strait is not a mill pond"